View Full Version : AFLST Coach Exodus.

Kingpin
22nd September 2004, 10:43
The Mercury - By Brett Stubbs
There could be up to ten new coaches in the AFLST Premier and Regional Leagues next season, with seven out of eight Regional League clubs changing thier mentors.
In the Premier League, three positions could be up for grabs, including premiers Clarence.
Roos coach Darren Winter is yet to commit for next season although Clarence president Richard Mulligan was hopeful Winter would be at the helm again next season.
Wooden spooner Brighton is on the hunt for a new coach as Des James has stepped down and it is believed the Robins are talking to Tasmanian Devils bigman Cameron Blight.
But the availability of Blight will depend on his commitment to the Devils' VFL cause next season.
Hobart is also on the lookout for a new coach, with Michael McGregor already signing with Regional League club Huonville Lions.
John Klug has agreed to terms with Glenorchy and will stay on at KGV for his third and final season.
After ending the season fifth in his first year, the Magpies finished in third this season going out to eventual premiers and arch-rivals Clarence.
"The finish of the year was a bit disappointing" Klug said. "I was going to jump but I thought we had better go around again one more time." "I felt I was letting a few people down if I walked."

Matthew Smith (New Norfolk), Adrian Goodwin (Kingborough), Scott Allen (Lauderdale) and Brendon Bolton (North Hobart) will also stay in thier respective positions.
Huonville Lions and grand finallist Sorell are the only Regional League clubs with coaches for next year, with current coach Anthony McConnon committing to the Eagles for next season.
After finishing fourth two seasons in a row, Dodges Ferry has decided to part with David Lewis after three years.
The Sharks are currently interviewing for the position, but it is rumoured former Glenorchy champion and premiership captain Danny Ling - who was assistant coach this season and who's son Jamie is a player - is favoured to fill the position.
Triple premiership Cygnet coach Gary Williamson has already indicated he will not be back to go for a fourth flag while Sam Sinnitt (Channel) and Simon McSherry (Claremont) have also parted company with thier clubs.
Kermandie's Todd Pepper will stay on as a player next season but would like to step down as a coach as he and his partner are expecting the arrival of twins.
Perennial Regional League struggler Lindisfarne is another on the hunt for a coach after Kyle Wilson completed his contract obligations.
Whispers suggest former Tasmanian, North Hobart and Lindisfarne player Tim Blanden could return to the Two Blues after winning an Oatlands District Football Association premiership with Swansea.

LFC
22nd September 2004, 11:26
Gavin Cooney to Lindisfarne.

There you go.
You heard it here first.

Kingpin
22nd September 2004, 19:07
New Norfolk - Matthew Smith.
North Hobart - Brendon Bolton.
Glenorchy - John Klug.
Kingborough - Adrian Goodwin.
Lauderdale - Scott Allen.
Clarence - (Yet to sign)
Hobart - (Position vacant)
Brighton - (Position vacant)

Sorell - Anthony McConnon.
Huonville Lions - Michael McGregor.
Dodges Ferry - (Position vacant)
Channel - (Position vacant)
Cygnet - (Position vacant)
Lindisfarne - (Position vacant)
Claremont - (Position vacant)
Kermandie - (Position vacant)

Could be Blanden or Cooney to Lindisfarne, Danny Ling to Dodges.
Brighton apparently spent virtually nil this year on their list and coaches (Source: Brighton board member) and are willing to spend a lot next year to get their performances up to a decent standard (wether they can attract anyone out there to Ponthole is another story).
Former Dodges coach David "Moose" Lewis is in the mix to coach up at Hobart, as are current assistants Allan Matthews and Steven "Woodduck" Woods - with the latter two, Hobart will miss the finals IMHO.
Perhaps more importantly for Hobart, they need a club coach at the moment, given the unstable nature of the place at present.

Any other rumours doing the mill at the moment guys?

LFC
23rd September 2004, 10:46
Further Rumours/Fact(?)

Blight to Brighton
Williamson to AFL Tasmania.
Peter Inness back to Kermandie - Not sure if as coach.

ST, that is true about Brighton and their finances. They didn't pay much at all.

Kingpin
23rd September 2004, 14:19
Further Rumours/Fact(?)

Blight to Brighton
Williamson to AFL Tasmania.
Peter Inness back to Kermandie - Not sure if as coach.

ST, that is true about Brighton and their finances. They didn't pay much at all.

Regarding Blight, I will be surprised if Kingborough let him go that easily, I thought he was tied to them somehow. I know I've seen him at games down there when we've had to go there. It all depends of course on wether he plays on at the Devils or not, I suppose.
He'll do well at the Robins if they can get a few players out there, they do a very good turnover at that clubroom they have out there, so they'd have a few dollars floating about I'd say.

Gary Williamson would be good at AFL Tasmania, they need blokes with common sense in that place.

Peter Innes was a great player at North Hobart then down at Kermandie, he'll be a welcome return down there I'd say.

Another rumour I heard today, is that Hobart are keen to get Kyle "Zinger" Wilson back up the hill - being a premiership player, former colts coach etc, he's a great HFC stalwart and that's what's needed right now.

Another story I know too, Hobart FC held thier 1954 Premiership Reunion last week, and most members of the side were steaming mad because the Club had lost the '54 Premiership Flag.
Given the way the Barts have ignored thier traditions in recent years, it doesn't surprise me at all, all the old Tiger premiership flags are all moth eaten and sitting rolled up next to a toilet block in the back of the clubrooms.
I bet if it were St Virgils memorabilia it would be proudly displayed....... :rolleyes:

The Scarecrow
23rd September 2004, 14:44
If the rumour is true about Jamie Ling going back to the Magpies, I think Danny could rejoin them aswell. Would be a good assistant for the Magpies to have. I have heard that this year he was assistant coach with a minor club down the country this year, as he has a farm down there somewhere.

Kingpin
23rd September 2004, 14:58
If the rumour is true about Jamie Ling going back to the Magpies, I think Danny could rejoin them aswell. Would be a good assistant for the Magpies to have. I have heard that this year he was assistant coach with a minor club down the country this year, as he has a farm down there somewhere.

Danny Ling was Assistant Coach at Dodges Ferry under David "Moose" Lewis.
I've also heard that Jamie Ling wanted to leave Dodges.

The Scarecrow
23rd September 2004, 15:38
From what I read Jamie wants to play 150 games with the Magpies, which give me the idea he's going to make the move either next year, or the year after.

LFC
23rd September 2004, 15:58
Regarding Blight, I will be surprised if Kingborough let him go that easily, I thought he was tied to them somehow. I know I've seen him at games down there when we've had to go there. It all depends of course on wether he plays on at the Devils or not, I suppose.
He'll do well at the Robins if they can get a few players out there, they do a very good turnover at that clubroom they have out there, so they'd have a few dollars floating about I'd say.

He's too heavy now I reckon. Seemed to really labour when the going got tough. I think he is well suited to VFL footy, but one more injury and he'll blow out again like this year, and that'll end him for a while.
If Brighton offer a few zeros, like they are supposedly doing, then I imagine he'll just chuck the devils in...

Here's another one I heard today from someone close to the action:

Kurt Hazelwood (sp) back to Tassie. He is good mates with Blight, but also went through school with a number of Lauderdale players. Expect him to be either a Bomber or Robin while he isn't a Devil. If that makes any sense.

The Scarecrow
24th September 2004, 17:30
I think Blight belongs down at Kingston, I watched him against Glenorchy earlier this year, and he looked pretty bad. Adam Daft was beating him easily, before half time Blight smashed him in the neck, and should of been reported at the time.

Borne Again
27th September 2004, 00:02
Ling might stay at Dodges if his dad becomes coach of them, Longman is a big chance at returning, seeing as now he is no longer coaching anyone. Blight wouldn't mind a decent coach, but, he might do a decent job at Brighton, he could only improve.

Good to see Klug stay at the Magpies, I hope to see another good effort this year, hopefully we can break out drought at Boyer next season, it's starting to annoy me that we haven't won there in a fairly long time.

Kingpin
27th September 2004, 17:17
Yeah I heard a fresh rumour too, Jarrod Reid too Hobart.

Most likely scenario with Hobart is Steve "Wood Duck" Woods will coach them in '05. Reason is, he wouldn't want a lot of money to coach unlike McGregor.
And the club probably needs to sort other stuff out first rather than its onfield performances.

Hobart's membership was SEVEN times the size of what it is now, back in 1997 - when we never won a game in the Seniors or Reserves and had been diaboloical for several years before that. The last 5 or 6 years the Club has been very good on the field in all three grades yet can't get any members, and can't get supporters to go to matches. We had no bandwagoners in the mid to late 90's (just hardcore fans) and even though the club has done well on the field, even they have dropped off - I think we know why.

The Scarecrow
28th September 2004, 14:55
What was the mood of the players with McGregor as coach? When I went to see Hobart play at the TCA Ground, it looked as if Hobart had given up on winning the game. After half time they were stil lin with a shot at winning, but feel into a heap, and lost.

It was the same in the reserves game, but they were in front and lost, so maybe a change of coach will be a good move for the Hobart Football Club.

Kingpin
28th September 2004, 23:42
What was the mood of the players with McGregor as coach? When I went to see Hobart play at the TCA Ground, it looked as if Hobart had given up on winning the game. After half time they were stil lin with a shot at winning, but feel into a heap, and lost.

It was the same in the reserves game, but they were in front and lost, so maybe a change of coach will be a good move for the Hobart Football Club.
Yeah. interesting question Crowy.
It was a bit hard to guage the mood at the club at times, in 2003 the mood was a pretty good one early on in the year when he first came to the club (bearing in mind that as an opposition player with Sandy Bay and then at Kermandie, McGregor was hated with a passion by most Hobart supporters) - but there were some who were lukewarm on his appointment at best.

The noticeable thing around the club during that year, was that McGregor was really hard-pressed to speak to a supporter or club member, usually hung around with two or three former team-mates from his days at Southern Cats and Kermandie that were up at Hobart, and never associated with anyone else.
The spirit was quite reasonable around the club even during the rather unsuccessful latter part of the 2003 roster season, when the HFC started tearing through the finals at a rate of knots and made a Grand Final, the place was semi-bubbling.
The side lost the Grand Final by a record margin of 110-points to North Hobart. People were resigned to the fact that Hobart just ran out of tickets in the finish, North were a great side (not 110-points greater in my book), North had an easy finals series and then the creme-de-la-creme of an additional bonus of adding Devils players to thier Grand Final squad, basically, Hobart never stood a chance.
The cracks appeared at the Best & Fairest count a few weeks later, when McGregor got up on the stage in front of the audience and virtually blamed our Grand Final loss on not having an identity, and levelled criticism at several people within the club as "hanging on to the past" - this would not be one of the most popular speeches ever made.
The cracks in the club which had been threatening to blow open for many years had eventually burst open, the supporters and players weren't showing great myrth to one another, the board was being attacked by players and supporters for failing to listen to what the members had voted on, the player list was starting to develop little factions, it was getting messy.

The supporters, so incensed by what was going on at the club, walked out en-masse, and refused to attend games for the rest of the year.
Members who felt that they hadn't been listened to by many of the newer people coming into the club affecting change in the place, tore up thier memberships (that's those 50-or so who actually bought them)
Certain players weren't getting on well with the coach (at least nine walked out over the summer and during the year), others were best mates with him - it became a very unstable situation.

The lack of spirit shown (as you eluded to) has been widely discussed by supporters at the club, there has been the call to reintroduce a flat rate payment for a senior and reserves game, similar to 1999/2000 when the club was so successful. As currently there is bickering over money, certain players wanting more than they're worth etc.

One thing is sure, I'd much rather see Hobart battling it's way through the season (hopefully making the finals) as the Tigers, rather than being a semi- successful and passionless club as they are now.
There is no heart in the place, what-so-ever.

LFC
29th September 2004, 11:58
Danny Ling to coach Dodges Ferry.
Its in today's Mercury.

Craig McLeod to stay on as playing assistant coach ($$)

The Scarecrow
30th September 2004, 18:44
I would thing that Jamie Ling will stay at Dodges now, unless he really wants to play at the Magpies next year.

WCL
30th September 2004, 19:05
I think Ling may return to the pies mainly because he has said he would love to play at a more proffesional and higher standard of footy.

Will be interesting how the coaching merry-go-round unfolds.

The Scarecrow
30th September 2004, 19:13
He'd be very useful at the Pies next year, if the Devils are going to keep stealing Henley.

Borne Again
30th September 2004, 22:32
I think Glenorchy might actually get Ling back, I think he will want to try and make a name for himself, rather then play for the team that is coached by his dad.

I had always hoped that Danny Ling would come back to Glenorchy and be assitant coach again. He did wonders under Paul Hamilton, I reckon he is what we are missing at the moment.

Kingpin
30th September 2004, 22:39
New Norfolk - Matthew Smith.
North Hobart - Brendon Bolton.
Glenorchy - John Klug.
Lauderdale - Scott Allen.
Kingborough - Adrian Goodwin.
Clarence - Darren Winter {Yet to re-sign}
Hobart - N/A {Possibles: Steve Woods, Alan Matthews, Jarrod Read, Kyle Wilson, Grant Fagan}
Brighton - N/A {Possibles: Blight}

Sorell - Anthony McConnon.
Huonville Lions - Michael McGregor.
Dodges Ferry - Danny Ling.
Lindisfarne - N/A {Possibles: Blanden, Cooney}
Cygnet - N/A
Channel - N/A
Kermandie - N/A
Claremont - N/A

Still eight out of the sixteen clubs to name coaches for next year in the two divisions.

Borne Again
30th September 2004, 22:50
I am surprised Bolton's still a coach, I really didn't think he was that great.

LFC
12th October 2004, 15:19
Craig Roberts has been announced coach of Channel.

Don't be all that surprised if Adrian Goodwin coaches Clarence next season.

Bartlett apparently a strong chance to lead Hobart.

Stay tuned...

Kingpin
12th October 2004, 17:55

Stay tuned...
Is that the Craig Roberts that has been a longtime player for Kingborough?

Very interesting rumour regarding Goodwin, wonder why he's getting out of Kingborough after they had such a good year? Maybe be the lure of coaching the Roos might be too tempting.

Trent Bartlett at Hobart hey? Must admit that's one I've definately not heard, but this new coterie group of former businessmen more than likely would've spoken to him, as they have a few others. Should be some big changes up the hill next year.
Rumour getting about that Hobart are intending to build a viewing area in the back of the Main Stand, taking out rows of seats at the back, so as people (sponsors, the elderly) can sit in comfort and watch the match behind glass from a decent position. The other glassed in area next to the Stand in front of the bar is almost impossible to see half the ground from, so that'll be good to see if that gets built. :)

WCL
12th October 2004, 18:09
Trent Bartlett at Hobart hey? Must admit that's one I've definately not heard, but this new coterie group of former businessmen more than likely would've spoken to him, as they have a few others. Should be some big changes up the hill next year.

I've heard the Bartlett rumour around the place, including the Hobart Guestbook. Some interesting conversation there.

That would be great if the stand gets the veiwing area, especially for the elderly.

Hobart looks to want to become the Panthers, for proof have a look at what Hutch has done to the website, top left, is an interesting plug for the Hobart Panthers, this combined with discussion on the Guestbook and all things are pointing towards the Panthers, but only if the Tiger can't be retained.

Looks like the Hobart may be getting some of their act into gear.

Borne Again
12th October 2004, 20:11
If Bartlett lands the job at Hobart would he be a playing coach? I have heard he has been considering retiremnet from football. So if he lands the coaches job, chances are he will probably retire.

Hobart Panthers is the best idea, I like that idea better then the Lions, I hated the idea for the uniform they would be wearing. It would make more sense for them to have this one.

WCL
12th October 2004, 20:40
Even a Non-playing Bartlett is better than no Bartlett so I think this may be a good move to get him on board.

Borne Again
12th October 2004, 20:49
Yeah, I think he is a better choice then McGregor, might even be able to lead them further in the finals next year. I would expect a different Hobart next season.

Borne Again
12th October 2004, 20:53

Stay tuned...
I could see that, Winter's getting on in years, and has been around a very long time, I couldn't see him running out next year, as player or coach. Maybe he will move down Kingstonn and coach Kingborough?

WCL
12th October 2004, 21:11
Wouldn't it be funny, if Goodwin stuffs it up. Clarence go from premiers to wooden spooners in 1 year.

And Glenorchy beat the Hobart Panthers (Bartlett as Coach) in the decider, in front of 10,000 at North Hobart

Borne Again
12th October 2004, 21:21
I would love to see that, I have a feeling that Glenorchy will pick up better this year, they are still a very young side, with some very talented younger players coming through. IMO Dave Heath, and Luke Horne, are the future of the Magpies line up, as is Salter, Milhouse, McIver (Damien and Matthew) Timmy Green will be in the leadership group soon.

I am looking forward to getting to more game next year, living with my brother should help me get to see the Maggies more. Even though I have grown up a Cygnet supporter, I have been losing interest in them, I want them in the Premier League, I want to see them challenged by the bigger name teams.

Kingpin
13th October 2004, 10:29
The Mercury - Wednesday 13th October 2004.

Former Glenorchy player Adam Henley has signed on as playing coach of Kermandie in the AFLST Regional League next year.
Henley, 26, will play half-back for the Robins. The club's coach for this year, Todd Pepper has committed to staying on as a player.
Kermandie will announce its assistant coach and other recruits in the next few weeks.

WCL
13th October 2004, 11:49
Bit of a loss for the pies, but we should be able to cover it.

The Scarecrow
13th October 2004, 14:12
Looks like Bennetts will have to stand up next year to help cover the loss of Henley down there. Brad Curran will also have to step up in the backline aswell.

WCL
13th October 2004, 15:49
will be very interesting, to see how the coaching merry-go-round all pans out for next year. I believe that the biggest signing would be Bartlett if he decides to coach Hobart. Would be the first big name they have enticed in awhile which is good to see.

The Scarecrow
13th October 2004, 17:38
I think Bartlett would be something Hobart needs to help with team morale, if Bartlett stays long term, I think Hoobart could be a threat in the finals, maybe not this year, but probably next year.

Kingpin
13th October 2004, 17:46
will be very interesting, to see how the coaching merry-go-round all pans out for next year. I believe that the biggest signing would be Bartlett if he decides to coach Hobart. Would be the first big name they have enticed in awhile which is good to see.

Yes it certainly would.

Just trying to remember Hobart's coaches down the years here:
2003-04: Michael McGregor
1999-02: Steven Gilbee
1998.....: Ray O'Rourke
1996-97: Garry Williamson
1993-96: Wayne Petterd
1993.....: Greg Lane
1988-92: Mark Browning
1986-87: Peter Hudson
1984-85: Scott Wade
1982-83: Bruce Greenhill
1980-81: Paul Sproule
1978-79: Mal Pascoe

Really only Hudson, Browning and Sproule that were "big" names in the football world, although Wade, Pascoe and Greenhill were well known in Tasmanian football circles.

WCL
13th October 2004, 18:00
You have to go back to the late 80s before you can find a high profile coach, which is pretty amazing. It will be good for Hobart and even better if he plays(unlikley).

The Scarecrow
13th October 2004, 19:58
Yes it certainly would.

Just trying to remember Hobart's coaches down the years here:
2003-04: Michael McGregor
1999-02: Steven Gilbee
1998.....: Ray O'Rourke
1996-97: Garry Williamson
1993-96: Wayne Petterd
1993.....: Greg Lane
1988-92: Mark Browning
1986-87: Peter Hudson
1984-85: Scott Wade
1982-83: Bruce Greenhill
1980-81: Paul Sproule
1978-79: Mal Pascoe

Really only Hudson, Browning and Sproule that were "big" names in the football world, although Wade, Pascoe and Greenhill were well known in Tasmanian football circles.
Scott Wade is a high prolfiled idiot, does that count?

WCL
13th October 2004, 20:22
Scott Wade is a high prolfiled idiot, does that count?

Your not wrong. Has he been sacked yet?

The Scarecrow
13th October 2004, 20:33
Sadly, no, he's just there so he can annoy us, if only they could really see he is a moron.

Kingpin
13th October 2004, 21:06
You have to go back to the late 80s before you can find a high profile coach, which is pretty amazing. It will be good for Hobart and even better if he plays(unlikley).

True, that was the case for many clubs back then, having high profile coaches.
Unfortunately, by doing that all the clubs that did it almost fell over some years later as result of paying for them.
I know that Hobart were still paying for the Browning era, ten years after he left. And in some respects still have outstanding debts from that period.
The HFC President at the time (Geoff George) was a banker, and lead the charge from the front to pull Hobart out of a long standing mire on the field, trouble was, the spending was crazy for a little club like Hobart - and four years after he left, the club was $300,000+ in debt to the ATO.

North Hobart had the same troubles a few years after Mark Yeates left, Burnie had to be bailed out from near bankruptcy by the Burnie City Council not long after Peter German left.
New Norfolk spent several years in the doldrums in the mid-to-late eighties after thier good years of '81, 82, 83, because of trying to buy premierships.

In fact, if you look at things squarely, every club except Launceston and South Launceston has faced financial problems as a direct result of attempted flag buying in the last twenty years.

Some clubs are still paying them off. :cool:

WCL
13th October 2004, 21:14
What do you think about Bartlett. Plus do you think the salary cap should be raised to $60,000.

Kingpin
13th October 2004, 21:27
What do you think about Bartlett. Plus do you think the salary cap should be raised to $60,000.
I think Bartlett would be a good choice, IF the club could utilise him properly, they would be well advised to go after him.
I think that they would need more money than they have now, there's players who are stating that they haven't been payed since 1996 up there, so this new coterie group will hopefully address some of these situations.
Hobart has a good list, they just need to be directed properly.

I think the $60,000 salary cap could be good, but I doubt a lot of clubs could afford to pay it to be truthful. I'd like to see business plans and financial staements from all clubs concerned before it went ahead. Because if more than 50% of those clubs required to meet that extra requirement could face extreme difficulties meeting it, it wouldn't be a wise decision IMHO :)

WCL
13th October 2004, 21:34
Sounds like the new coterie group is doing a good job although I hope they go for the Panthers, they better not go for the lions otherwise it will be good night Hobart. 1996 was a long time ago, hopefully they can get rid of some of the debt and start paying all players. They just need someone to market the club so as to bring more money into the place.

Kingpin
13th October 2004, 21:48
Sounds like the new coterie group is doing a good job although I hope they go for the Panthers, they better not go for the lions otherwise it will be good night Hobart. 1996 was a long time ago, hopefully they can get rid of some of the debt and start paying all players. They just need someone to market the club so as to bring more money into the place.

Yeah I think they are definately needed up there, the previous board hadn't found a major sponsor (other than the Hotel which the club already owns) in four years. Even then, the Hotel rescinded its sponsorship in protest at the way it had been treated by the board - sad but true.
Basically if this coterie group hadn't come along, I think the club would've eventually gone bankrupt. The Old Players & Officials had raised more money (one bloke alone did most of it), than the board had raised in four years - but the relationship between the Board and the OP&A had soured so badly, and they weren't parting with funds, putting it into a trust instead, allegedly.

I've heard of a player named Rob Veale who played for Hobart between 1992-95 I think, he's still owed money from way back then.

100% correct assesment on marketing, the club does not market itself at all full stop, and hasn't done since the Statewide days, when it was almost all over for Hobart. There have been a lot that have tried, but been knocked back by the boards in charge at various times. I think that the coterie group has a better reputation in the corporate sector and could easily do it.

WCL
13th October 2004, 21:54
Since you are now (allegedly) allied with the Sandy Bay Juniors, maybe the club could do some footy clinics down there and hnd out some family pass's and maybe some Hobart Showbags, as this looks as if where all your support will be coming from. But don't do it untill you find an identity, and if the Panthers get up then maybe some old Sandy Bay supporters may jump aboard.

Kingpin
13th October 2004, 22:12
Since you are now (allegedly) allied with the Sandy Bay Juniors, maybe the club could do some footy clinics down there and hnd out some family pass's and maybe some Hobart Showbags, as this looks as if where all your support will be coming from. But don't do it untill you find an identity, and if the Panthers get up then maybe some old Sandy Bay supporters may jump aboard.

It would be something well worth doing, I'm not sure if Hobart will be with Sandy Bay Juniors or what, although I did read that they were trying to do it.
I think that if the club can't influence the SFL of a need to return to the Tigers (because that's where they'll get most of thier supporters back), the Panthers will be a good thing.
I personally doubt that they will see a return as the Tigers while Regional clubs can vote on Premier League issues, because as sure as hell the Huon clubs will block it for business reasons to help Kingborough. The Kingborough president is a big businessman down in the Huon, and his influence in that regard can be the decisive difference in voting for Kingborough over us, regardless of wether it's right for football or not.

The Panthers may see some old Sandy Bay people jump on, not sure. Most that still go to the football are involved with Hutchins now. However the word Sandy Bay is not a popular word at Hobart at the moment - thanks to one Jock McGregor for that. :mad:

It'll be intersting to see how it all pans out actually.

WCL
13th October 2004, 22:20
Don't you like Jock, I didn't like him that much, a bit up himself and thought he was bigger than the club IMO. Yeah one of my old mans mates used to play for Hobart during the 70s, he won a reserves Best and Fairest, but he to now goes to watch Hutchins, and this shows how much the Hobart marketing has slipped, he didn't even know you had lost the Tiger or what comp they played in. Sandy Bay Juniors are a good club and would definatley be worth an aliance. St. Virgils were ok and I appreciate that many good Hobart players used to play for St. Virgils, but they are a school and football is about getting away from school and work and having fun with your mates.

Kingpin
13th October 2004, 22:31
Don't you like Jock, I didn't like him that much, a bit up himself and thought he was bigger than the club IMO. Yeah one of my old mans mates used to play for Hobart during the 70s, he won a reserves Best and Fairest, but he to now goes to watch Hutchins, and this shows how much the Hobart marketing has slipped, he didn't even know you had lost the Tiger or what comp they played in. Sandy Bay Juniors are a good club and would definatley be worth an aliance. St. Virgils were ok and I appreciate that many good Hobart players used to play for St. Virgils, but they are a school and football is about getting away from school and work and having fun with your mates.
I hated Jock, thought he was the most arrogant pr*ck ever, worst coach the club ever had. Most of the supporters hated him too, usually any player who has offended against a club for many years, once he joins your club, is seen differently - he didn't endear himself at all to the faithful - and those thoughts were justified.
Yes, I'd believe that story about people not knowing wether Hobart had lost the Tiger or still played, there were people who thought Hobart and North Hobart had merged and were still playing in the SWL when North had called themselves Hobart Demons.
Hobart hasn't looked outside the TCA gates in years, it has become a siege mentality club.
I think Sandy Bay Juniors will be a very good alignment. St Virgils OSFC have suffered serious player shortages since we started taking all thier junior players, and quite rightly they are unhappy about it.
AFL Tasmania are also unhappy as they believe Hobart are just stripping players from St Virgils rather than forming thier own type of junior club, like every other Premier League club has got. As Sndy Bay's senior team no longer exists, it would be a much better alignent IMHO.

By the way, who was you fathers mate, who won the Two's B&F at Hobart?

WCL
13th October 2004, 22:38
Chris Thompson is his name and he is a great bloke. Yeah about the Hobart Demons thing, my dad (a long time supporter of Hobart) thought the same (merged), still it probably kept North Hobart afloat in those latter years of the SWL and believe it or not it probably gave Hobart more exposure than it has recieved in the last 6 years.

Kingpin
13th October 2004, 22:49
Chris Thompson is his name and he is a great bloke. Yeah about the Hobart Demons thing, my dad (a long time supporter of Hobart) thought the same (merged), still it probably kept North Hobart afloat in those latter years of the SWL and believe it or not it probably gave Hobart more exposure than it has recieved in the last 6 years.

Chris Thompson, I don't know the bloke personally, but I'll ask some of the others they will. :)
Yes, I remember North got to the stage before they changed thier name to Hobart Demons (for commercial reasons as the "Harris Scarfe Hobart Demons") where they were paying thier players in drinks vouchers :eek:
They were dead set skint.

Yes, Hobart's only exposure in the last six years would be in the paper with the jumper issue, but this is where the club had the perfect opportunity to play the public sympathy card and get thier way (or get into a position to do it), but did nothing about it. It was left to a couple of supporters to write letters to the paper. It's like a cone of silence up there.

WCL
13th October 2004, 22:52
Beauty mate, anyway Thunderstorms coming got to go.

Kingpin
13th October 2004, 22:58
Ok mate, been good yakkin' see ya :)

The Scarecrow
14th October 2004, 13:42
My dad used to think that Hobart and North Hobart should merge, my only problem was that both clubs would lose their great history. I would really like to see Sandy Bay come back, even though I hated them, I was sad the day they died and the Southern Cats were brought in. That to me seemed to be a smack in the face towards the fans of the Seagulls, and the legends that played for that club.

I have heard many stories about Jock, about how he's a grade A pr*ck and a complete a-hole. Never liked him, probably never will.

LFC
14th October 2004, 14:44
he's a grade A pr*ck and a complete a-hole. Never liked him

Tell us what you really think Crowy!! :D :D

WCL
14th October 2004, 15:46
The ideal would be if Sandy Bay came back and we had the 6 team TFL again, although it doesn't look like happening, therefore, either Kingborough or Lauderdale should take their spot.

The Scarecrow
14th October 2004, 17:44
Tell us what you really think Crowy!! :D :D

I could, but I don't think Bigfootys mods would like it :D

WCL
14th October 2004, 21:18
What do you guys think, 6 team TFL.
Teams:
Glenorchy Magpies
Clarence Roos
New Norfolk Eagles
North Hobart Demons
Hobart Panthers or Tigers

6th team to be either:
Kingborough Tigers
Lauderdale Bombers
Sandy Bay Seagulls

18 round competition(each team plays each other 3 times), regarded in the south as the premier Tasmanian League.

Salary Cap of $60-80,000, dependant on what clubs can afford.

Season Roster attendance of 250,000, with the finals adding another 30,000 on to that.

Devils or no Devils this will succeed.

The Scarecrow
14th October 2004, 21:21
What do you guys think, 6 team TFL.
Teams:
Glenorchy Magpies
Clarence Roos
New Norfolk Eagles
North Hobart Demons
Hobart Panthers or Tigers

6th team to be either:
Kingborough Tigers
Lauderdale Bombers
Sandy Bay Seagulls

18 round competition(each team plays each other 3 times), regarded in the south as the premier Tasmanian League.

Salary Cap of $60-80,000, dependant on what clubs can afford.

Season Roster attendance of 250,000, with the finals adding another 30,000 on to that.

Devils or no Devils this will succeed.
Sounds good, I would add a Pre-Season Lightning Premiership, not sure who I would give the next plce to.

WCL
14th October 2004, 21:25
Lightning Premiership? Played in shorter games on the one day, or full scale Pre-season comp. Idea for Prizes, and maybe abreviate some of the rules like the Wizard cup, and maybe even adopt some of them just to make Tassie footy unique like the SANFL.

The Scarecrow
14th October 2004, 21:32
Lightning Premiership? Played in shorter games on the one day, or full scale Pre-season comp. Idea for Prizes, and maybe abreviate some of the rules like the Wizard cup, and maybe even adopt some of them just to make Tassie footy unique like the SANFL.
That's something I was thinking, I have seen some of the teams in the AFLST this year that didn't get going until about 7 rounds into the season. A Wizard Cup style comp might get some more people back to the football. A cash bonous would make the comp more intesting it will make some clubs take more notice of it, and would help a lot.

WCL
14th October 2004, 21:48
Great idea, just sent that e-mail to Phil Baker by the way, hope he replies.

Cash bonus would be good, and give much more incentive to teams to win.

I know what you mean about not getting going till round 7 or so, Clarence were very shaky and almost looked as if they were going to miss the 5 their for a while, yet they won the premiership.

The Scarecrow
14th October 2004, 22:10
It was a shame they didn't fall in a heap against us as KGV Oval, damn them getting up to win by 7 points...Also damn them for flogging us at Bellerive Oval the 2nd time :( We got one back atleast :D

Kingpin
15th October 2004, 16:08
Great idea, just sent that e-mail to Phil Baker by the way, hope he replies.

I wouldn't count on him replying, or if he does he'll say "I'll let you know more when it becomes available" - you won't hear from him again.
Besides, he probably be sacked as President at the AGM - there's a lot not pleased with him up there.

Dean Borne
15th October 2004, 16:15
I wouldn't count on him replying, or if he does he'll say "I'll let you know more when it becomes available" - you won't hear from him again.
Besides, he probably be sacked as President at the AGM - there's a lot not pleased with him up there.

I tried e-mailing him aswell, a mate of mine is a Hobart supporter, and he was coming down to Tassie. He wanted to know if Hobart was playing any practice matches during the weekend he was down. Of course, he never replied, I don't even think he read the e-mail.

Of course in the end it didn't matter, as my mate never made it down here until the game between Glenorchy/Hobart. So he is one helpful person.

WCL
15th October 2004, 16:41
When's the AGM?

Dean Borne
15th October 2004, 16:52
I just want to comment on Danny Ling coaching Dodges, I reckon he will lift them, I remember him being assistant under Paul Hamilton, and when Danny was senior coach, he was a good coach. Sadly during the early 90s Glenorchy had nothing, and Danny really didn't have much success. Once he was under Paul Hamilton, there was a big change in the side.

With the right side, I could see him leading Dodges to a Premiership.

WCL
15th October 2004, 18:10
Pity he is not coaching Glenorchy to a Premiership.

The Scarecrow
15th October 2004, 18:38
He'd be my choice as coach right now, I'm still not sure about Klug.

Kingpin
17th October 2004, 02:57
I just want to comment on Danny Ling coaching Dodges, I reckon he will lift them, I remember him being assistant under Paul Hamilton, and when Danny was senior coach, he was a good coach. Sadly during the early 90s Glenorchy had nothing, and Danny really didn't have much success. Once he was under Paul Hamilton, there was a big change in the side.

With the right side, I could see him leading Dodges to a Premiership.
I'm surprised Ling hasn't gone back to coach the Pies again, especially after they had failed coaches like McConnon, Riessig etc, he would be like a bit of a "prodigal son" returning home - much like when Gilbee left Hobart for greener pastures in '97, and returned home to coach Hobart to a premiership in '99. Would be good for the club.

The Scarecrow
17th October 2004, 18:55
I'm surprised Ling hasn't gone back to coach the Pies again, especially after they had failed coaches like McConnon, Riessig etc, he would be like a bit of a "prodigal son" returning home - much like when Gilbee left Hobart for greener pastures in '97, and returned home to coach Hobart to a premiership in '99. Would be good for the club.
I was hoping when McConnon left that Ling might of been on top of the list to be the new coach. I have nothing against Klug, I just don't think he is the right man for the job, but time will tell, hopefully Ling will come back and assist Klug.

Kingpin
24th October 2004, 15:39
Updated Senior Coaching Appointments to 24/10/04
Premier League
New Norfolk - Matthew Smith
North Hobart - Brendan Bolton
Clarence - Nick Davey
Hobart - Ian Wilson
Glenorchy - John Klug
Kingborough - Adrian Goodwin
Lauderdale - Scott Allen
Brighton - (No Appointment as yet)

Regional League
Sorell - Anthony McConnon
Huonville Lions - Michael McGregor
Channel - Craig Roberts
Dodges Ferry - Danny Ling
Kermandie - Adam Henley
Lindisfarne - (No Appointment as yet)
Claremont - (No Appointment as yet)
Cygnet - (No Appointment as yet)

The latest according to a mate of mine who attended a players meeting the other night is Hobart have appointed ex-Box Hill Hawks and Werribee assistant coach Ian Wilson.
Sounds like a good aquisition to Hobart.

WCL
24th October 2004, 19:30
I can't see Brighton getting enough support to even get off the ground next year. Brace yourself for a 7 team comp next year.

The Scarecrow
29th October 2004, 10:43
It would seem (according to the rumours on the SFL site) that Gary Williamstown has thrown his hat in the ring to continue on as Cygnet Coach. Jon Bowring from Glenorchy was rumoured to have been appointed Assitant coach, but has stayed with the Magpies.

Garry Splann as reported by Today's Mercury will probably take over the coaching job at Brighton. Des James has been appointed Bench coach for North Hobart next season.

Jasar
29th October 2004, 21:21
Heard from a very reliable source today that John Klug wont be coaching Glenorchy next year due to an illness and that David Newitt will be coach of Glenorchy for the 2005 season. Also, Matthew Bearnes has left Glenorchy for an assistant coach with Adam Henley. And that Brad Lang wont be playing football again. Sad News about Kluggy but I think Newie should do OK, even with the loss of many players this year.

The Scarecrow
29th October 2004, 21:22
What happened to Lang?

Jasar
29th October 2004, 21:28
What happened to Lang?

Just had enough of football. He only wants to play football and have fun, and he wan't having that at Glenorchy or the Devils

The Scarecrow
29th October 2004, 21:31
Oh ok, sad to lose him, have we lost anyone else (apart from the one's named)? You should come and check out the AFLST Forum (http://aflst.2.forumer.com/index.php?) we've got some decent topics there.

The Scarecrow
29th October 2004, 22:07
Premier League
New Norfolk - Matthew Smith
North Hobart - Brendan Bolton (Des James will be bench coach)
Clarence - Nick Davey
Hobart - Ian Wilson
Glenorchy - John Klug(?)
Kingborough - Adrian Goodwin
Lauderdale - Scott Allen
Brighton - Garry Splann

Regional League
Sorell - Anthony McConnon
Huonville Lions - Michael McGregor
Channel - Craig Roberts
Dodges Ferry - Danny Ling
Kermandie - Adam Henley
Lindisfarne - (No Appointment as yet)
Claremont - (No Appointment as yet)
Cygnet - (No Appointment as yet)

Byron Howard will be North Hobart's reserves coach

tassieswan
30th October 2004, 14:42
I heard that John Klug has resigned from coach of glenorchy. Another one is that Sean Salter has left for New Norfolk?? im not sure if these are true.

WCL
30th October 2004, 14:57
Hey TassieSwan. Welcome. not good that salter has left (if true). Who do you support. We also have another forum aflst.2.forumer.com/index.php (http://aflst.2.forumer.com/index.php) you should come along and disscuss the burning issues of Tasmanian football on this one as well. A lot of us here post on both.

The Scarecrow
30th October 2004, 15:17
I heard that John Klug has resigned from coach of glenorchy. Another one is that Sean Salter has left for New Norfolk?? im not sure if these are true.
I have e-mailed the club about Sean Salter, there is also a rumour he is off to Kermandie, though whether it's true or false haven't been confirmed at this stage. But I dare say that the rumours of him leaving are false.

tassieswan
30th October 2004, 16:03
thanks for the welcome WCL. I'd have to say i support Clarence footy club in the SFL. I mostly go and watch Old Scholars games where i support OHA. Yes i do hope 'Salts' stays with the pies for next year as i would like to see them do well. Can anybody confirm that Klug has offically left Glenorchy or not?? thanks.

The Scarecrow
30th October 2004, 16:05
thanks for the welcome WCL. I'd have to say i support Clarence footy club in the SFL. I mostly go and watch Old Scholars games where i support OHA. Yes i do hope 'Salts' stays with the pies for next year as i would like to see them do well. Can anybody confirm that Klug has offically left Glenorchy or not?? thanks.
All that I have heard (apart from this rumour) is that he resigned for 2005, I will try and get some info from the club, I have e-mailed them about their Arrivals and Departures, all I got was they were trying to get players right now.

If there is any news, I will post it.

tassieswan
30th October 2004, 16:25
righteo. thanks for that. good to know whats happening around the place.

The Scarecrow
30th October 2004, 16:29
No worries, you could also try www.southernfootball.com.au there's some news there, and a lot of rumours going on there aswell. That should help you.

Kingpin
31st October 2004, 00:18
Yes, Klug resigned due to work/family committments (too much on his plate) and David Newitt is taking charge at Glenorchy.
Cygnet still haven't named thier coach yet, apparently Brighton are close to signing Garry Splann (former North Hobart player) as Senior Coach.

North Hobart has named former Brighton coach of the last two years Des James as assistant coach under Brendan Bolton, with Byron Howard (another former Brighton senior coach) taking the reigns of the Reserves next year.

Lindisfarne I heard were close to naming thier senior coach for next year, can't remember the name of the person though.
According to rumours, former Hobart coach Jock McGregor has had a rocky start at Huonville, and has already upset a few supporters down there....shades of Hobart 03/04.

Lastly, welcome to the boards Tassieswan. :)

The Scarecrow
31st October 2004, 17:55
I'm not to sure about David Newiett, I remember him as Colts coach, and not sure if he's fit for a senior coaching job. Hopefully we can get a decent assistant coach aswell.

WCL
1st November 2004, 15:53
I reckon newy will do alright, he has plenty of respect from the players and the club. He was the 99 premiership captain you know.

The Scarecrow
1st November 2004, 16:09
He's a good player, he would be a better choice when the rumoured Matty Bernes who is a little young. I hope Newy goes well, I like the guy, I am glad he is back with Glenorchy full time, he really played well for us, when he was out there.

tassieswan
4th November 2004, 07:17
Just heard a rumour today that Jarrad Bennet will be coaching Lindisfarne.

The Scarecrow
4th November 2004, 07:40
That'll be good for Lindisfarne, if they can find someone that will take the job.

The Scarecrow
4th November 2004, 17:11
Glenorchy have announced they are looking for a new Reserves coach, it would seem they have sacked, Darren Clark, or he is vacated the job.

The Scarecrow
23rd November 2004, 19:23
Cygnet have appointed former Clarence Premiership player Anthony Cole as coach.