View Full Version : The St Kilda Football Club

sainter
24 Jul 2001, 21:11
Can you imgaine what it would be like to be without our great football club?

We've had to live through a lot of bad times and wait for what seems like an eternity for a fleeting bit of success. But when those brief moments of success arrive, how sweet it is. ;)

It seems every football supporter has their own opinion on the events of last week. I respect everyones opinion and some of the people who I happen to disagree with have made a lot of sense. Others, those that seem to have a vendetta against our club, you really have to wonder what they are "smokin". :rolleyes: Especially when their side has just won perhaps one of the greatest matches of all time and is in the midst of an unbelievably successful era yet can't stop talking about St Kilda.

What I do know is that there is a great future ahead for the St Kilda Football Club. Whether you agree or disagree with the clubs decision, I don't think any of us can question the courage associated with such a decision. By sacking Malcolm Blight, the club were admitting that they had indeed made a mistake in the first place. It would have been too easy to stick with someone who had so clearly gave enormous hope to our band of supporters. Someone who is virtually untouchable throughout the media and the rest of the football world. But he was believed to have not been 100% committed to turning our team around and I strongly believe that the correct decision was made. (Again that's my decision and if other saints supporters disagree, that's fair enough) The club were strong enough to notify all members of the decision. And like any board, will be accountable for its decisions at the end of the year.

I was considering taking note of the people that are taking great delight in ridiculing our club. But on second thought, that isn't neccessary. There is nothing better than seeing the red, white and black week in week out. Going to Colonial Stadium every fortnight and seeing the same people turn up every single game is what this club is about. Sticking by a club through the hard times is what it is about. I don't know about everyone else but reading "The Point of it All" a few months ago and just seeing the amount of hardships that our club has gone through over its history, it's convinced me just how fortunate we are to support St Kilda. Because life will go on. We will go through problems and we will eventually overcome them.

Our club has existed for 129 years and will exist for many years to come. Opposition fans will just have to get used to the fact that we aren't going anywhere.

Vaul Darkhour
24 Jul 2001, 21:52
sainter... the wheel is turning.. it's only a matter of time. I do believe in the board and where we're going and I trust that we will get the best coach available next year too.

I don't actually think we have to change St Kilda's culture but to aim it in the right direction. I think the best way to do that is to tackle the issues front on. As a club we need to learn a little arrogance and self worth, for we as a club have learnt humility, not like some other clubs.

Savatage
24 Jul 2001, 22:12
We're on the right track.

Under Blight did you guys know that there was no skills training? There is NO skills coach at St.Kilda.....if Hinkley & Jonas had balls or common sense they would've had enough sense to QUESTION the dunce in charge. They fell by the wayside because they are WEAK, they gave NOTHING to this football club.

Committed players/coaches/administration is the key to success, we are on the way.

Some gun midfielders in the draft & some crucial delistings/trades & we're not far off. Throw in decent weight training for the youngsters, and injury prevention (listening Malcolm?) and we will finally get the lucky break we have craved for years.

GO SAINTS.

sainter
24 Jul 2001, 23:00
Good point Vaul,

I'm sure those characteristics would be something we can learn after we have a little more success. ;)

Savatage,

I'm sure we can find a couple of thousand supporters to offer some advice on who to delist. Now that we are starting to get the youngsters coming through, the likes of which we can start to build a side around, our future is looking bright.

Look for Luke Hodge to be one of our first two selections at the national draft. :D

Disappointing about your favourite player missing out on a Rising Star nomination this week. After two excellent games in a row, surely Wulf would be a big chance next week. Maybe Riewoldt might beat him to do it.

A couple of hours after I posted my first message, Greg Baum's article in tomorrows Age at realfooty does a great job in summing up saints fans.

http://www.realfooty.theage.com.au/news/2001/07/25/FFXB26AKIPC.html

Savatage
24 Jul 2001, 23:13
Sainter: if we get any of the following then we're in business:

Luke Ball
Luke Hodge
Sam Power (brother of Luke)

All Luke related lol!

Mal Brown's son might be a bit of a chance too!

lioness
25 Jul 2001, 00:31
Originally posted by sainter
Can you imgaine what it would be like to be without our great football club?

We've had to live through a lot of bad times and wait for what seems like an eternity for a fleeting bit of success. But when those brief moments of success arrive, how sweet it is. ;)

It seems every football supporter has their own opinion on the events of last week. I respect everyones opinion and some of the people who I happen to disagree with have made a lot of sense. Others, those that seem to have a vendetta against our club, you really have to wonder what they are "smokin". :rolleyes: Especially when their side has just won perhaps one of the greatest matches of all time and is in the midst of an unbelievably successful era yet can't stop talking about St Kilda.

What I do know is that there is a great future ahead for the St Kilda Football Club. Whether you agree or disagree with the clubs decision, I don't think any of us can question the courage associated with such a decision. By sacking Malcolm Blight, the club were admitting that they had indeed made a mistake in the first place. It would have been too easy to stick with someone who had so clearly gave enormous hope to our band of supporters. Someone who is virtually untouchable throughout the media and the rest of the football world. But he was believed to have not been 100% committed to turning our team around and I strongly believe that the correct decision was made. (Again that's my decision and if other saints supporters disagree, that's fair enough) The club were strong enough to notify all members of the decision. And like any board, will be accountable for its decisions at the end of the year.

I was considering taking note of the people that are taking great delight in ridiculing our club. But on second thought, that isn't neccessary. There is nothing better than seeing the red, white and black week in week out. Going to Colonial Stadium every fortnight and seeing the same people turn up every single game is what this club is about. Sticking by a club through the hard times is what it is about. I don't know about everyone else but reading "The Point of it All" a few months ago and just seeing the amount of hardships that our club has gone through over its history, it's convinced me just how fortunate we are to support St Kilda. Because life will go on. We will go through problems and we will eventually overcome them.

Our club has existed for 129 years and will exist for many years to come. Opposition fans will just have to get used to the fact that we aren't going anywhere.

Sainter, that is a very inspiring post. I said a lot of the same things some years ago about my beloved Roys. :(

And I think that is what really intrigues me about St Kilda and its' supporters. Since my favourite player came to your club this year, I have been paying more attention, and what I see in you people is exactly the same guts and determination to stick with your team no matter what, that us Roy people had. You guys have it better though, in the fact that there are more of you, and ALL of you have the attitude, I just find that really inspiring. :) A lot of supporters go through the motions of saying all that, about their clubs, but they don't really believe in their words. You can sense it, I guess having been there and done that.

Sainter, I haven't been near my team since round 4. I didn't want to win that bet. Not sure why, but I knew about a year ago that I wanted to try something other than the Lions. I love that team, have been proud to be a member, but there is just that one little part of me that ceased to exist when Fitzroy did. And now that I am leaving Melbourne for at least a decade, I guess I want to have the comfort of knowing when I do come back, I'll have that little piece of Melbourne to always come back to.

Why the Saints? I lost a bet. But I've come to like the spirit around the place. I need a challenge. :) There's a great mess around the club that needs to be cleaned up awful fast. Nothing I haven't faced before, trust me when I tell you all that!!!!!! :)

This is tooooooooo long and babbly, sorry about that. Guess I just wanted to thank you sainter for giving me the push I needed. :)

anchor man
25 Jul 2001, 00:57
Look I am not going to come in here and pan your club but I do see similarities here with Fitzroy.Trouble with coaches money and players.No money so the good players must be traded off to survive.The playing stock becomes weaker,no players will want to come to play with the club.It is sad but I believe it is inevitable that the Saints will go the same way as Fitzroy.

lioness
25 Jul 2001, 01:28
Originally posted by anchor man
Look I am not going to come in here and pan your club but I do see similarities here with Fitzroy.Trouble with coaches money and players.No money so the good players must be traded off to survive.The playing stock becomes weaker,no players will want to come to play with the club.It is sad but I believe it is inevitable that the Saints will go the same way as Fitzroy.

No. They won't. Their debt is manageable, they have some fantastic players, a coach will always appear from somewhere, overall their situation is NOWHERE near as bad as Fitzroy's was, so save it.

sainter
25 Jul 2001, 12:20
Lioness,

I'm glad you liked that post. The other day when you asked about being a saints supporter, I should have typed that post out then. I have nothing but respect for the way that the Fitzroy supporters stuck by their team right until the merger. You all deserve the success that the Brisbane Lions are having.

Lioness the Pittsburgh Lion/Saint ;)

Anchorman,

There are similarities between Fitzroy and St Kilda. The passion of the supporters for their respective clubs is one major reason. The way that the supporters have stuck with the club through the many bad times is what supporting a football team is all about.

However I don't know how you can equate the St Kilda Football Club of 2001 to what Fitzroy went through in their latter stages. We have no debt. We are not in a financial crisis. We will post a trading loss this year, and that is our first loss for 4 years. We will become one of nine clubs to either post a loss this year or last year.

The club decided to sack Malcolm Blight because they felt he wasn't totally committed to the job. A lot of us do happen to support the club in the decision. People are quick to talk about the waste of money involved. The fact remains, Blighty will be paid for this year only. His wage of over $800,000 for next year will not have to be paid. We will save a considerable amount of money next year. And when you consider that our membership was up 24% and our football department was still one of the cheapest in the competition, you can see that we are not in the situation that you think we are in.

You are not allowed to trade players off to survive. This year, all teams had to pay 95% of the salary cap. Next year it will be 92.5% of the salary cap. So basically we pay as much Essendon and your Fremantle every year in the AFL. Fitzroy did fall into a position where they couldn't afford to pay their players as much as other teams. I'm not 100% sure on this but I think that is the reason why the 95% rule was introduced. So that it can't happen again.

I do see similarities between our two clubs. Both teams have young exciting players and with the benefit of more early draft picks, have an excellent opportunity to keep rebuilding.

Like I said earlier, the saints aren't going anywhere.

lioness
25 Jul 2001, 12:39
Yeah, I am just sorry that by mentioning Fitzroy, it started some idiot going!!!! I have been posing the question to myself lately, how DOES a lioness become a saint??? :p I've asked myself harder questions this year. :)

The success the Brisbane Lions are giving us.........it's all been fantastic, especially 1999. It's like following a new team though. The lion is still there, the tune of the song is the same, but make no mistake, it's not Fitzroy. Which didn't bother me at all really till this year. I was watching that 'Passion To Play' doco by the players, and they did a whole bit on Fitzroy, and it was like watching something from so long ago. I watched it over and over, and it suddenly hit me that I'm nowhere near as dedicated to them as I was the Roys. I'm not sure I ever will be.

I didn't mean for my Fitzroy references to start everyone off on how the Saints are just like the Roys.......grrrrrrrrrrrrrr. :mad:

Savatage
25 Jul 2001, 19:13
That was really beautiful Lioness :-)

It honestly touched me, your sincerity & your words...thank you!

lioness
25 Jul 2001, 23:57
Well thanks sav. :) I don't know how you guys all see me, suddenly jumping ship.........truly broke my heart when I started losing passion for the Lions, and then sainter pushed me over here :p (lol, just a little guilt trip there!!!!) but I'm liking it, I have to say. :D It's refreshing to see the same passion and dedication that I once had.

Gosh, it's like the golden rule, you NEVER change clubs. But mine's non-existent. I don't know if that puts me in a different category, probably not!!!!!!! But here I am, wanting to be a part of that time when the brief moments of glory that sainter mentioned become less and less brief, and more and more regular.

Let the #15 jokes fly again :D the lioness has given in!!!!!! lol

Smokin
26 Jul 2001, 09:33
Originally posted by sainter

Well Sainter, if you didnt notice I probably commented on that win on more threads than I have the St.Kilda issue - the difference is I didnt have Saints fans having a go at me for my opinions on the matter. So I replied, I know you shouldnt argue with fools, but I think it's only in the best interests of AFL to at least show Saints fans that you dont have to accept mediocrity and stupidy of a board who obviously has its own agenda in place.

We went thru similar at Essendon - but went the OPPOSITE way about it, and look where we have ended up. We coulda taken the same route, but we had people stand up for the club and I guarantee you we took the best path!

No offense, but it seems the same old crap (I know its a different board, but doesnt matter) going on at St.Kilda, and same thing which hasnt lead to much success in the past.

I havnt got a vendetta against the club - only club I do is Carlscum.

Everyone I know had an opinion on this, and NONE were favourable to St.Kilda. It was interesting seeing saints fans here voice their opinions which obviosly were opinions which sounded very similar to the crap the board was giving, which hardly anybody in the public or media was buying.

It's just interesting to be able to witness the mindset of such supporters.

You guys can be optimistic, fine - Im not for the St.Kilda footy club. Actually, I think Freo hadled their mess in the end much better than St.Kilda, and as a result, even with their pathetic current list, I am willing to place a wager that they will experience a period of long term success before St.Kilda.

Vaul Darkhour - you say that you dont think st.Kilda has to change it's culture, but agree with the board - didnt the board last year say your culture had to be changed before success would be achieved?

Oh, sorry, I can see how your confused as your board has now flipped and decided to say Blight is sacked because he didnt accept your culture, the culture that they wanted changed in the first place!:rolleyes:

Ive said enuff on this issue - I personally am disinterested in the Saints future, sure I would like to see them do well, but i wont lose sleep if they dont.

I am still willing to accept wagers that Freo have a brighter future than St.Kilda, even tho the saints probably have a 10 times better list at present.

sainter
26 Jul 2001, 11:43
Lioness,

I have it on good authority that #15 is very happy with the decision. ;)

Seriously, no one that hasn't gone through the heartache of losing their football team can question you. The way you still talk about Fitzroy shows your loyalty.

I do feel guilty :D Especially if our next two years are similar to our recent seasons.

Smokin,

You are entitled to your opinion and so are the people you have spoken too.

However to suggest that the only people to agree with the boards decision were St Kilda supporters is way off the mark. I mean even in the last week, the 4 hosts of "The Game", Ricky Nixon (player manager of 10 saints), Sam Newman (attributed no blame to the club) and Mick Malthouse (http://www.afl.com.au/news/story_240782.htm) have agreed with the decision. I could go on for ages if I felt the need.

I also don't understand why you seem to think that we are accepting mediocrity. We are ridding our club of mediocrity by sacking anyone who is not committed to restoring our clubs on field fortunes. Just like the 12+ players that we will need to turn over at the end of the year, Blighty just didn't have his heart in the job. I'm sure you read the way Macca attacked me the other day for suggesting this. It makes me feel better to read the exact same quote by Mick Malthouse in the Australian newspaper today.

For our board to make this decision, knowing full well the expectant criticism that would come, was courageous. Not only that, it was the right thing to do.

I have a tute now so I'll finish this later. ;)

karnaby
26 Jul 2001, 14:27
It's nice to read that you're still studying although I note you are still spending plenty of time in here.

You've written a couple of great posts over the last week or so and gone on a recruiting spree as well, well done.
Also welcome to lioness (now that's a funny name for a Saints supporter :D)

I would like to suggest that dropkicks went out of fashion quite a long time ago and that it might be best to consign them to history, you have got your study to think of you know :D

Cheers k

sainter
26 Jul 2001, 16:42
Thanks Karnaby.

After my questionable results last semster (in other words not good), I've actually been quite dedicated so far. I've just started using the net more in between classes. ;) Of course as we get towards the business end of semester, the lure of a sleep in and the opportunity to have a look at bigfooty may outweigh a 9am Income Tax lecture . ;)

The recruitment was a little lucky. A poor start to my Fantasy Footy team could have resulted in me having to buy a 2002 Lions membership. :eek:

We will have to keep Lioness up to date with the latest news when she goes to the states.

On your last point, you're exactly right. But you probably know me by now, sometimes I can't help myself. :D

By the way, are you going to the battle for the draft picks at Subi in a couple of weeks? I've noticed Frodo in the West Coast boards claiming their 70 point loss against Geelong as a win because they are closer to to getting the priority pick. If we win, 2 from 2 would be a pretty amazing record for you this year, considering the rest of us are about 6 from 45. ;)

karnaby
26 Jul 2001, 17:46
Sainter

Yes mate, off to subi again, in fact earlier today at another place I wrote:
Really looking forward to us avenging that unfortunate loss to the weagles earlier in the year, that will make it two from two for me, which in the context of the year will be pretty d*mned, satisfactory.
so you're right on the ball with that one. Re you're own stats, might I suggest that it's about time you lifted your game mate, aren't you yelling loud enough? ;)

In it's own way a priority pick is consolation for another crap year, however I'm not interested in seeing us lay down just for the sake of it. Frankly a few wins as a definative signal that we had turned the corner would be preferable for me - some might suggest that I'm being fanciful but they can go & jump in the lake. (btw your other quotee is another one I let thru to the keeper, much n all as that might go against the grain most of the time.)

Cheers

lioness
26 Jul 2001, 22:55
Originally posted by karnaby

Also welcome to lioness (now that's a funny name for a Saints supporter :D)

Thank you. :D Yeah, the name is going!!!!!!! I might just go with my 'alternate' chat name, sainter liked it at the time :D lol. That was right when my computer crashed and burned. wonder if it was a sign. :D lol. I'm gonna spend a while tonight brushing up on player numbers and stuff, I know a few, #15 stands out the most for some reason................:D lol

Vaul Darkhour
27 Jul 2001, 09:41
Good Luck Lioness :)

Sainter - Good posts :)

Smokin - Another direction... another direction.. ugh... :(

anchor man
28 Jul 2001, 01:10
The similarities between Fitzroy and the Saints are very much the same.And the problems will not go away.The saints are in financial difficulties and will trade some of their better players.With the careers of Harvey,Burke and Leowe either finished or close to finishing there is no way out for the Saints.Unfortunately I believe that they are in the process of self destruction,sad as it is.

lioness
28 Jul 2001, 01:39
Yeah but as I have already said, Fitzroy's problems were so much worse. Now go away and stop repeating that rubbish. :mad: NOW!!!!!!!!!

sainter
28 Jul 2001, 02:01
To poor misguided Anchorman

For christ sake...........WE HAVE NO DEBT.

Debt is when an entity, in this case a football club, owes money to external sources (creditors). We owe ZILCH.

You don't seem to understand the way the competition works. I explained to you in my last past how the salary cap works. You can not simply trade away your good players to save money. Not that we would EVER trade away any of the three greatest St Kilda footballers of all time.

If you don't have anything constructive to say on the St Kilda Football Club, piss off.

Karnaby,

Give me 6 straight wins to finish the season any day. Still, you can't help think that if we can pick up two more kids as promising as Riewoldt and Koschitzke, then maybe we will look back at this period as the dawning of a new era.

Or am I just getting too melodramtic here?

:D

Lioness,

I'm sure you had to defend Fitzroy on many occassions. That will hold you in good stead for being a saints supporter because there is a lot of defending to be done. ;)

lioness
28 Jul 2001, 15:01
I'm very good at defending. :D Just idiots like our friend anchor man really piss me off cause we explained it all in our last defence, then he posts exactly the same as before. Stupidity. :rolleyes: One thing I do NOT have time for is stupidity!!!!!!!!!!!!!! lol

Was gonna see the Lions tonight at the urging of a friend.......but I'm not in the mood. My team just lost. :( :D

anchor man
29 Jul 2001, 23:03
Self denial of your problems will get you nowhere.Your club have hugh problems and they will not go away.Call me what you like but I am a realist,unlike some others.

lioness
30 Jul 2001, 16:20
YOU'RE a realist????? That's the funniest thing I have heard all day. You are nothing more than a troublemaker. See anchorman, I was there. I had to watch while my mighty Roys fell right before my eyes. And let me tell you, it wasn't instant. It was a long nightmare. Very long. And from my intimate knowledge of that experience, and from what I am seeing at St Kilda, they are NOWHERE near financial collapse. There is no crisis, just another bend in the long road to victory. And you know what?? You can come in here and state your views all you want, you aren't gonna sway any one of us.

sainter
1 Aug 2001, 18:02
Oh dear Anchor man

17 consecutive losses and a trading loss of $1.37 million

By all means continue on proclaiming that you are a realist and St Kilda have serious problems. Then open up the other eye and have a look at the situation in your own backyard. :D

Mouldy Oldie
12 Aug 2001, 10:55
Originally posted by lioness22

Sainter, that is a very inspiring post. I said a lot of the same things some years ago about my beloved Roys. :(

And I think that is what really intrigues me about St Kilda and its' supporters. Since my favourite player came to your club this year, I have been paying more attention, and what I see in you people is exactly the same guts and determination to stick with your team no matter what, that us Roy people had. You guys have it better though, in the fact that there are more of you, and ALL of you have the attitude, I just find that really inspiring. :) A lot of supporters go through the motions of saying all that, about their clubs, but they don't really believe in their words. You can sense it, I guess having been there and done that.

Sainter, I haven't been near my team since round 4. I didn't want to win that bet. Not sure why, but I knew about a year ago that I wanted to try something other than the Lions. I love that team, have been proud to be a member, but there is just that one little part of me that ceased to exist when Fitzroy did. And now that I am leaving Melbourne for at least a decade, I guess I want to have the comfort of knowing when I do come back, I'll have that little piece of Melbourne to always come back to.

Why the Saints? I lost a bet. But I've come to like the spirit around the place. I need a challenge. :) There's a great mess around the club that needs to be cleaned up awful fast. Nothing I haven't faced before, trust me when I tell you all that!!!!!! :)

This is tooooooooo long and babbly, sorry about that. Guess I just wanted to thank you sainter for giving me the push I needed. :)

Lioness,
You have to go where your heart is, club presidents, boards, coaches & players will come & go, but generally club culture will remain. I come from a slightly different perspective in the fact that I was a Bears supporter. Our club didn't really have the time to develop a culture. I was sorry to see Fitzroy go because it was a club with a proud history. I'm glad that for mine it didn't die & disappear & become a memory from a previous era. Whilst it will never be Fitzroy, Brisbane Lions will be a team that has inherited a culture that is strong & proud & I'm glad I'm a member. Finally, I was sad to see both Stevie Lawrence & Brett Voss leave, but I understand that these things occur. Steve could be, like his dad Barry, a top player for the Saints, & Brett may finally be able to step out of the shadow of his brother Michael & prove his worth to the Saints based on his own abilities. Best wishes to both players & the St. Kilda football team for the future.
P.S. I have a soft spot for the Saints, because in the sixties they recruited a lot of good players from Tassie, which incidentally is from where I originate.