View Full Version : whitnall -> Doggies
astro_toby
1 Oct 2004, 23:34
CARLTON - Whitnall, 2nd round pick
BULLDOGS - Pick 6(and possibly bowden?)
This would suit bulldogs as eade on sen had mentioned they need to find a successor to Grant at CHB, and whitnall would provide a LONG TERM solution, leaving the bulldogs with a strong, developing back spine of HARRIS & WHITNALL.
As for CARLTON, this suits because they need early picks. they have developed a list of good young mid ranged players, but lack natural future stars. Walker is one, but they need a few more. They have little trade bait power because of a certain lack of depth in the side. and if patty bowden could be worked into it, a double win, as his solid marking up forward would help replace whitnall and continue being able to play morrell down back.
Cheer Red Blood
1 Oct 2004, 23:35
Whitnall is a forward.Why he has ever been played in the backline is over my head.
bomberbluey
1 Oct 2004, 23:38
Why would the Bulldogs give up a potential 10 year gun they could draft with pick 6 for big Lance? Lance was born 20 years too late... he could have dominated in the 80s but is too slow for today's game as a CHF!
scooter600x
1 Oct 2004, 23:42
Whitnall is a fat, injury prone hack.
No thanks.
astro_toby
1 Oct 2004, 23:42
i agree with him being a forward. looks a little lost down back. he would still suit the doggies as a CHF too, with rawlings up forward. i think they has lost a little confidence in bandy in that position and dont want another "Trent Bartlett" situation happening..(god bless his soul....)
I just think carlton will most certainly be seeking the highest draft pick as they can for whitnall - the need natural stars there.
Cheer Red Blood
1 Oct 2004, 23:45
What stars aren't natural? Ok, I'll give you Buckley, anyone else?
Why would the Bulldogs give up a potential 10 year gun they could draft with pick 6 for big Lance? Lance was born 20 years too late... he could have dominated in the 80s but is too slow for today's game as a CHF!
Excellent post dude..simple logic really!!!
astro_toby
1 Oct 2004, 23:54
because next year when Grant is retired, Bandy possibly delisted if he cant get his body and form together, bowden most likely elsewhere, P.Street most likely delisted because he makes lance look like the roadrunner - they only have Harris at full back and Rawlings at FF As quiality key position players. And God help you if Darcy gets injured, especially if Jade has another "episode". I think Whitnall can improve alot, don't write him off because he has had a bad run with injurys. that footy brain is still in there, and the body can heal. once lance's now minor injuries heal up, dont be suprised if his fitness improves 10fold, ppl forget that whe you get injured you cant train, and because he has naturally a big frame( perfect for a smart strong forward ) he could be invallulable - his football smarts would not be lost in that self destructive - but very (potentially )talented doggies forward line.
i have big wraps for the doggies, ive seen them plenty over the past 4 years and they are closer than most think. ppl forget that the bulldogs and geelong teams are essentially at the same stage as each other, and up until this years, the doggies had always been the better side - this was the first time in a few years that geelong had been able to beat the dogs. I think Eade will help develop those young guys to the next level sooner than later, just like Geelong did this year
bomberbluey
1 Oct 2004, 23:57
they only have Harris at full back and Rawlings at FF As quiality key position players.
Mate, pick 6 will be of much more quality than Lance... Pick 46 will be more quality!!!
astro_toby
1 Oct 2004, 23:59
What stars aren't natural? Ok, I'll give you Buckley, anyone else?
by natural stars i mean gamewinners. Fevola is too tempramental to have the whole team relying on him. and stevens, lappin, campo, and teague are all top line workers. they need some fresh kouta's and williams in the squad. maybe even a brent heaver......
bomberbluey
2 Oct 2004, 00:02
they need some fresh kouta's and williams in the squad. maybe even a brent heaver......
Brent Heaver? With a plaer like him, Carlton should have a flag in a couple of yrs, easy!
astro_toby
2 Oct 2004, 00:10
Brent Heaver? With a plaer like him, Carlton should have a flag in a couple of yrs, easy!
PFHT!! NO WAY!! they probably need a Clape too.
Heaver was a lil joke dude, just to remind ppl of a player most have probably forgotten....like david bourke
No thanks - the trade price is too steep. Whitnall is too big a risk to part with pick 6. Won't happen.
Also, there is no way a Whitnall trade to anywhere can happen without Carlton agreeing to fund a large part of his over the odds contract. No-one will pay him 500K+ (if that's the true figure). Unless someone's heard that Carlton are offering to pick up a decent chunk of the tab, I don't see the point speculating on Whitnall moving. Everyone will pass.
lukedarcy14
2 Oct 2004, 00:17
i would like this to pull off but if he was in the team the spine should consist of
harris
rawlings
west
whitnall
grant
It would be set like that
astro_toby
2 Oct 2004, 00:21
No thanks - the trade price is too steep. Whitnall is too big a risk to part with pick 6. Won't happen.
Also, there is no way a Whitnall trade to anywhere can happen without Carlton agreeing to fund a large part of his over the odds contract. No-one will pay him 500K+ (if that's the true figure). Unless someone's heard that Carlton are offering to pick up a decent chunk of the tab, I don't see the point speculating on Whitnall moving. Everyone will pass.
as a carlton member, that will suit me fine too. i think ppl's memories are shorter than their penis's. a injury free whitnall = a full training / fitter whitnall = a footballer as smart as any who has a body that can take more marks than any other player in the competition( he once did you know....)
he may be big, and he may be red, but just give Whit a chance....
4for brisbane
2 Oct 2004, 00:27
sure the blues would love a great deal for lance
but who would trade anything other than a really late pick for someone that slow and fat/unfit
astro_toby
2 Oct 2004, 00:41
sure the blues would love a great deal for lance
but who would trade anything other than a really late pick for someone that slow and fat/unfit
A late pick?? thats disrespectful. he has got TALENT. his footy smarts are incredible. he can TRAIN and get fit and trim, now that he is no longer INJURED. lynch hardly ran for the past 2 years, but he was still a class player because of his strength and smarts. whitnall probably has lacked the quality inside 50's that lynch got in the past few years too. Whitnall, given half a chance to get fit and get some quality players working around him, can become a very valuable asset again, and suggesting he is worth a late pick is just screwed up. a late 1st round pick maybe..
as a carlton member, that will suit me fine too. i think ppl's memories are shorter than their penis's. a injury free whitnall = a full training / fitter whitnall = a footballer as smart as any who has a body that can take more marks than any other player in the competition( he once did you know....)
he may be big, and he may be red, but just give Whit a chance....
I like Lance. Last year I would have gladly given pick 6 for him straight swap. But it's now another year since he last played good quality consistent football. The risk that he won't ever be back to the Whitnall that ran around as a 20yo has risen to the point it's quite significant.
I can't see anyone wanting to run that risk unless the trade and salary cost isn't too high.
TheHeatleyStand
2 Oct 2004, 00:50
Mate, pick 6 will be of much more quality than Lance... Pick 46 will be more quality!!!Ok wo is a likely for pick 6 then? and how do they play??
Just name the 10 year gun for pick 6 this year. :D
You sound like you know what youre talking about. See if you can name a tall.
I know you have Henneman already for pick 6 this year??? :rolleyes:
Thalidomide
2 Oct 2004, 00:53
Bandy is a star
astro_toby
2 Oct 2004, 00:54
Ok wo is a likely for pick 6 then? and how do they play??
Just name the 10 year gun for pick 6 this year. :D
You sound like you know what youre talking about. See if you can name a tall.
I know you have Henneman already for pick 6 this year??? :rolleyes:
Aaron Fiora was pick 3 - Pettifer was 8 - walsh was 5 and he hasnt developed at all yet
dees_best
2 Oct 2004, 00:58
A move to the Doggies wouldn't really suit big Lance.
He'd much prefer a career with Pies.
But I dont know if there would be enough room for Eddie and Lance in the Lexus Centre.
davo dog
2 Oct 2004, 08:19
A move to the Doggies wouldn't really suit big Lance.
He'd much prefer a career with Pies.
But I dont know if there would be enough room for Eddie and Lance in the Lexus Centre.
our 20 mil training facility could easily accommodate a big fat porker like lance. he'd much prefer a pallet of pies!
Robin Hood
2 Oct 2004, 11:05
CARLTON - Whitnall, 2nd round pick
BULLDOGS - Pick 6(and possibly bowden?)
This would suit bulldogs as eade on sen had mentioned they need to find a successor to Grant at CHB, and whitnall would provide a LONG TERM solution, leaving the bulldogs with a strong, developing back spine of HARRIS & WHITNALL.
As for CARLTON, this suits because they need early picks. they have developed a list of good young mid ranged players, but lack natural future stars. Walker is one, but they need a few more. They have little trade bait power because of a certain lack of depth in the side. and if patty bowden could be worked into it, a double win, as his solid marking up forward would help replace whitnall and continue being able to play morrell down back.You obviously barrack for Carlton...
I wouldn't mind Lance in a Bulldogs jersey IF Pagan doesn't want him but he is a forward not a back and I wouldn't be giving up pick 6 for him.
If by all reports there are 6 to 10 stand outs in the draft then it turns into a lottery then I would hold on to all early picks.
Aaron Fiora was pick 3 - Pettifer was 8 - walsh was 5 and he hasnt developed at all yet
Luke Livingston was pick 4
its believed that after the first 4 or 5 picks the draft just starts to drop off and then its definetly a lottery
astro_toby
2 Oct 2004, 12:21
so what did Footscray give up for Jackovich again?? also, i guess you wouldnt want a big useless forward like whitnall hey, because you guys have had so much "quality" in your forward positions in the last 10 years - "Cook, Simon Minton-Connell,, Jackovich, Kinsley Hunter, Trent Bartlett, Saunders and a whole load of other uselss p*i*k's and hacks" -
as if your guys would have any right talking down a player like Whitnall
Bulldogs need to rebuild from the bottom up, they shouldn't be trading any of their good picks. Whitnell might be good for them, but I don't think he'd be worth what they would have to give up to get him.
davo dog
2 Oct 2004, 12:26
so what did Footscray give up for Jackovich again?? also, i guess you wouldnt want a big useless forward like whitnall hey, because you guys have had so much "quality" in your forward positions in the last 10 years - "Cook, Simon Minton-Connell,, Jackovich, Kinsley Hunter, Trent Bartlett, Saunders and a whole load of other uselss p*i*k's and hacks" -
as if your guys would have any right talking down a player like Whitnall
you sir are a ******** wit of the highest order!
stmookeyj
2 Oct 2004, 12:27
At least we have won more finals with those 'hacks' than you have.
astro_toby
2 Oct 2004, 12:31
Bulldogs need to rebuild from the bottom up, they shouldn't be trading any of their good picks. Whitnell might be good for them, but I don't think he'd be worth what they would have to give up to get him.
I dont think the doggies need a hell of a lot more early picks. they have several early pick players in their team(cooney, ray, Faulkner, Walsh, Murphy), and plenty of other good young players too. a ready-made, long term key position player is ideal for them. remember no grant after next year, and some possible de-listings to other experienced key players.
astro_toby
2 Oct 2004, 12:35
At least we have won more finals with those 'hacks' than you have.
won more finals than carlton?
remember 97-98 was your chance, and you blew it. Carlton had a chance and took it in 95. thats worth a hell of a lot more than all those finals you got flogged in against adelaide and brisbane. 97 has your big shot, would have had the saints and you would have flogged them
The_GTrain
2 Oct 2004, 12:35
Would Carlton expect pick 6 how bout robbins birss and mcguiness
dees_best
2 Oct 2004, 12:44
Carlton would jump at Robbins, Birss and McGuiness IMO.
Pagan has a knack of getting the best out of his players and they would thrive at the Blues.
Birrs would be a good get for Carlton.
Not the best skills but a genuine tough footballer.
davo dog
2 Oct 2004, 12:47
how about no fat chicks, we keep 6 and draft our own stars!
dees_best
2 Oct 2004, 12:50
If you're calling Whitnall a fat chick that is quite disturbing to see who you portray as women.
:eek:
astro_toby
2 Oct 2004, 12:51
Carlton would jump at Robbins, Birss and McGuiness IMO.
Pagan has a knack of getting the best out of his players and they would thrive at the Blues.
Birrs would be a good get for Carlton.
Not the best skills but a genuine tough footballer.
i doubt the dogs would give away robbins, he is a heart and soul player for that club, and one of the rare truly tough, big bodied players on their list. i think gilbee and bowden and maybe their second round pick - for whitnall and maybe their 2nd round pick
astro_toby
2 Oct 2004, 12:55
pick 6 doesnt neccesarily mean a good player though, what key position star is gonna be available at pick 6? and would that same player still be available at pick 11 maybe? maybe this then
Footscray - pick6, 2nd round pick
Calrton - Whitnall and 1st round pick
no point drafting the best key position player with pick 6 if maybe their are 10 better quality players placed before him in the draft. good young key possy players are hard to find, and especially to risk with a pick6 (ie walsh&livingston)
davo dog
2 Oct 2004, 13:06
If you're calling Whitnall a fat chick that is quite disturbing to see who you portray as women.
:eek:
i apologise to any women i have offended in comparing them to that whale whitnall. please no large mammals for pick 6.
astro_toby
2 Oct 2004, 13:14
i apologise to any women i have offended in comparing them to that whale whitnall. please no large mammals for pick 6.
if whitnall did end up at the Western Bulldogs, as soon as hit squeezed himself into that guernsy, he would be the best forward down at whitten oval for the last 10 years. not alot of competition i know, but...
dees_best
2 Oct 2004, 13:24
LOL thats the spirit.
:D
Palace03
2 Oct 2004, 14:28
because next year when Grant is retired, Bandy possibly delisted if he cant get his body and form together, bowden most likely elsewhere, P.Street most likely delisted because he makes lance look like the roadrunner - they only have Harris at full back and Rawlings at FF As quiality key position players. And God help you if Darcy gets injured, especially if Jade has another "episode". I think Whitnall can improve alot, don't write him off because he has had a bad run with injurys. that footy brain is still in there, and the body can heal. once lance's now minor injuries heal up, dont be suprised if his fitness improves 10fold, ppl forget that whe you get injured you cant train, and because he has naturally a big frame( perfect for a smart strong forward ) he could be invallulable - his football smarts would not be lost in that self destructive - but very (potentially )talented doggies forward line.
i have big wraps for the doggies, ive seen them plenty over the past 4 years and they are closer than most think. ppl forget that the bulldogs and geelong teams are essentially at the same stage as each other, and up until this years, the doggies had always been the better side - this was the first time in a few years that geelong had been able to beat the dogs. I think Eade will help develop those young guys to the next level sooner than later, just like Geelong did this year
Minson, Skipper, Wight, Walsh. These are 4 boys we are hoping will step up and fill these posistions and possibly one more tall kid in the draft, who wont make an immediate impact but long term we are ok with KPP. Trading for Whitnall would be too big of a risk for Eade.
astro_toby
2 Oct 2004, 14:41
Minson, Skipper, Wight, Walsh. These are 4 boys we are hoping will step up and fill these posistions and possibly one more tall kid in the draft, who wont make an immediate impact but long term we are ok with KPP. Trading for Whitnall would be too big of a risk for Eade.
skipper gpt delisted i thought - minson is a ruckman, walsh is struggling and a chb, and wight has never really imposed himself at all yet. I saw the doggies round 1 play some awesome footy with rawlings at FF - because he straigtened them up, i think with whitnall at CHF Rawlings FF Grant HB HarrisFB -the dogs for the first time in a long time - will have a good spine to complement all those quality midfielders and flankers i.e murphy, west, johno, smithy, gio, etc
Palace03
2 Oct 2004, 14:51
skipper gpt delisted i thought - minson is a ruckman, walsh is struggling and a chb, and wight has never really imposed himself at all yet. I saw the doggies round 1 play some awesome footy with rawlings at FF - because he straigtened them up, i think with whitnall at CHF Rawlings FF Grant HB HarrisFB -the dogs for the first time in a long time - will have a good spine to complement all those quality midfielders and flankers i.e murphy, west, johno, smithy, gio, etc
Skipper will get his chance next year, underrated and has great skills, Wight just needs the fill out and Walsh still not sure about yet. I agree with what your saying about Whitnall but just dont think he is worth the risk, not for Bowden and pick 6 anyway.
astro_toby
2 Oct 2004, 15:01
Skipper will get his chance next year, underrated and has great skills, Wight just needs the fill out and Walsh still not sure about yet. I agree with what your saying about Whitnall but just dont think he is worth the risk, not for Bowden and pick 6 anyway.
sorry i was thinking of wiggins, not skipper. maybe so with the trade, either was i think they really should consider lance, i would love to see him play well, and the dogs go well too
The thing is.
Lance always has a good pre-season, gets into great shape and just looks brilliant.
Gets into form as well.
Then, he gets injured. He comes back in six weeks five to ten kilos heavier.
But the sad thing is, it happens every year.
I'd take a punt on Lance, but not with Pick 6.
Anyone prepared to draft Whitnall is taking a risk - A CALCULATED RISK
It all comes to the coaches discussion with the player and what they take from that.
At Carlton he needs to move on because we need a player who can mark, kick, run etc, not just one that is good at thinking about it.
The Bulldogs, Cats etc have enough raw talent to take the risk I would have thought.
If I supported the bulldogs I would have hope for a slightly better return, and Eade will probably give that.
You can have Whitnall and Livingston (backline) for Pick 6 and Bowden.
I have a funny feeling though Lance is heading to Geelong and then the West Coast as close second.
Good Luck to you if he does end up with you and I hope he performs.
i dont know why clubs would want to pick up lance whitnall. His slow, overweight and doesnt have good skills. Not to be a smartass but i honestly cant see him playing good football at any club. If he got into shape and built up either his pace or skills he could be a good player, but i cant see it happening at the moment.
Firstly, lets not put the bag on Lance "Pies and Chips" Whitnall. He IS a good player capable of producing the goods at CHF. I wouldn't mind him at the dogs, but because of a) his fitness b) his injuries c) questions over hisworkethic / desire / committment, I wouldn't give up anything more than our second round pick and a second tier player - someone like McGuinness or Birss.
Captain Sensible
2 Oct 2004, 23:07
The big problem with Lance is his contract. $450,000 is a lot of money to risk on a guy who may not perform.
SurreyBlue
3 Oct 2004, 00:26
i would like this to pull off but if he was in the team the spine should consist of
harris
rawlings
west
whitnall
grant
It would be set like that
Bingo. And with Eade's game plan Whitnall will once again rise to the top but it will annoy the hell out of me so would prefer pick3.
Get stuffed.
Dog Town
3 Oct 2004, 10:21
Whitnall is a required player according to Kernahan so Carlton will have to hang onto him and his contract for a while longer unless something changes between now and trade period.I reckon Geelongs pick 16 is about Whitnalls trade value in terms of draft picks.Somewhere between 10-20.A massive risk to trade pick 6 for Lance given his injury problems.If you could guarantee he wasn't going to break down then he would attract more but he will most likely have another injury interrupted campaign.
Eade has come out and said he is 90% certain they will be retaining their top two picks which in my opinion is good news for the doggies.
SonOfScray
3 Oct 2004, 11:47
Eade has come out and said he is 90% certain they will be retaining their top two picks which in my opinion is good news for the doggies.
Spot on. Someone before mentioned names like Saunders, The Ugg Bootand so on - we have tried picking up gun forwards and it just doesn't work. Skipper, Wight, Walsh and Minson should get some opportunities in 2005 in key positions. We'd be better off developing what we have and recruiting some gun youngsters with the early picks.
Exactly, you need to develop your kids over the next few years, there are plenty of KPPs in this years draft so you can pick up some more this year as well. It'll be 2-3 years before the Doggies are really challenging, that gives time to develop what you've got plus what you will draft this year. No need to go for a quick fix now.