View Full Version : AFLST Ins & Outs

WCL
10th October 2004, 19:16
Good someone plaese keep me up to date with all the comings and goings of all Premier League teams.

Cheers

The Scarecrow
10th October 2004, 21:15
I will send a few e-mails over the next few weeks and see which clubs have lost and gained.

WCL
10th October 2004, 21:29
Thanks mate.

Any news of big recruits on the grapevine.

Borne Again
12th October 2004, 20:35
Rumour has it that Jamie Curran of the Dodges Ferry Sharks has quit the club in disgust and is joining his brother at Glenorchy.

I heard this one around the club aswell, earlier this season, some of them say that Jamie is better then Brad.

WCL
12th October 2004, 20:41
The more recruits the better for the magpies, hope they can go 1 further next year.

Borne Again
12th October 2004, 20:47
Apparently Nick Leitch is on his way home to play with the Roos next season, after a year at Mitcham. Although if i rememebr correctly he was a decent player, would like to see the Maggies chase him.

WCL
12th October 2004, 21:08
I don't know, he is a Clarence boy!

We need an ex-AFL player to land in our lap, if this happens we will be premiers for sure.

2005 Year of the Glenorchy Magpie!

Borne Again
12th October 2004, 21:27
Yeah, I agree, the other day me and Dave (The Scarecrow) thought snapping up Ben Kinnear would be the go for Glenorchy, I was watching Kinnear play VFL footy, and he looked at home there, and I thought he would make a good addition to the Magpies line up.

I mean our forward line is Millhouse, Salter, and Chamderlyn(sp?) and I think Kyle (Chamderlin?) still needs some time to develop, and Ben Kinnear being a veteran would make a logical choice. Or maybe another delisted AFL player, I am hoping that Wiggins comes back to the Magpies. Although, I would rather get Simon Wiggins back, he looks to be better.

WCL
13th October 2004, 08:14
Hopefully Salter and Millhouse stick around because we can mould a pretty good foward line around them. Salt seemed to be in trouble against a real quality Full Back.

The Scarecrow
13th October 2004, 14:09
I think the first thing Klug needs to do is sit both down, and tell them to stop leading towards each other. Against Brighton both lead in the same direction, and almost hit each other.

There's been talk around Glenorchy most of the year about Jamie Curran joining the Magpies.

WCL
13th October 2004, 15:53
I just hope they can kick the goals and to do that they need to make sure they stay out of each others way. If they can kick 100-120 Goals between themselves, we will go along way to winning the premiership.

The Scarecrow
13th October 2004, 17:30
Yeah, that is something Glenorchy has lacked since Fell left, a regular goal kicker, we have had some good full forwards, but none of them regularly scored goals. I like the look of Salter, but he needs some work, I am worried about how the ball hits his hands when he marks it. I am worried because if he misses the ball, I think it could really do him some harm.

Millhouse looked good, he regularly goaled when he got a game this season, both men have only just returned to the Maggies, so I would think that next year they will be better. I like Jonthon Bowring, he's looking's good for the Pies.

The best thing about Glenorchy, is that they are all pretty young, excluding Ben Reid who has played a few this year.

The Scarecrow
20th October 2004, 15:49
Just to add, it would appear that Darren Winter's football career is over, now that Nick Davey has replaced him as head coach of Clarence. According to Win Local News it's unlikely that Davey will play.

WCL
20th October 2004, 19:02
Apparently league leading Goalkicker Sean Salter is heading for New Norfolk, players not happy with Matty Bernes being appointed assistant coach and more threatening to leave. Not good signs for Glenorchy, better start recruiting some fresh blood.

Apparently 3 names have been floated for the coaching job down at Hobart, Trent Bartlett, David Newitt and Chris Barry(who coached the Hobart U/17's to the Premiership this year).

The Scarecrow
20th October 2004, 20:01
Just read those over at Southerfootball.com.au I hope they are false, also they have a rumour about Jonathon Bowring in the mix for the job at Cygnet...I hope we don't lose anymore.

WCL
20th October 2004, 20:42
Me too!

The Scarecrow
20th October 2004, 20:48
Seeing as the person that sent it in misspelled Lang's name (LANGE) I tend to feel these rumours are false. Wouldn't be surprised if David Newiett looked for a coaching role somewhere, even though, I don't think he is a good enough coach, I remember the days he was coaching the Glenorchy Colts...

Anyway, sent an e-mail to Stevo with the rumour in it asking if it's at all true, I will post the answer as soon as he replies.

WCL
20th October 2004, 21:01
Thanks mate, he is a good bloke Stevo, should of asked him if he was pulling on the boots for one more season, if these rumours turn out to be true, then we could probably use him.

The Scarecrow
20th October 2004, 21:06
I remember in I think either 2001, or 2002 he pulled on the boots and played in the reserves, we were very under maned. Personally, I would like to see him out there, he's not too old to play (though the main reason was he wanted time with his family) now they don't travel as much, he could play.

WCL
20th October 2004, 21:13
Exactly, get into his ear and tell him the city of Glenorchy wants him to play, that should be enough. He is one player who could put bims on seats out KGV. Just on the Salter issue, don't the eagles have enough big forwards, i think valley of love is getting a bit restless and wants some return for their commited support.

What do you reckon the crowd averages for each team would be this year, team by team.

The Scarecrow
20th October 2004, 21:36
I think if the Eagles got too many tall forwards their forward line would be a little slow, I think the high crowds might come from the same teams as this year (Glen, Clar, NN) I think if Hobart become Tigers again, they will get a fairly good crowd.

WCL
22nd October 2004, 19:34
Yeah I think that crowds and membership will grow again next season.

How many members do each of the clubs have?

The Scarecrow
22nd October 2004, 21:06
I'm not sure, only figure I remember hearing is the Hobart one which wasn't good.

I'm going to become a member this year.

WCL
23rd October 2004, 08:31
Good on you, good to see you supporting the club in the best way possible.

Kingpin
24th October 2004, 12:42
I can't be exact of numbers, but I know Cygnet had over 250 members this year.
Hobart got to around 61 apparently, I actually requested a membership form on five occasions last year, and the "we'll get that to you" response was the usual one - never received it, so I refused to buy one on principle.
With this new group at the helm I will be getting one.

I reckon New Norfolk would be doing well, as would Glenorchy.
They should publish thier membership numbers, but I doubt they will - it could be embarrasing for some.

WCL
27th October 2004, 20:07
You would expect Glenorchy and New Norfolk to be up nd in excess of 500 Members, I would expect North hobart and Clarence to be around 3-400, Kingborough has around 250, Lauderdale would be around the 200 mark, Brighton would have about the same as Hobart.

I am not sure these are just rough estimates of what they would actually be.

I am going to write to the Mercury and ask them for next year if they would be able to put the starting line ups for all teams in the Prem League as well as having a preview on the Games.

The Scarecrow
31st October 2004, 21:48
I think with Glenorchy having a successful season, and being the Magpies, I think some more members will come back to Glenorchy. Although we failed to make the Grand Final, I think this young side can only get better, if we can keep it together.

WCL
1st November 2004, 15:42
It's final, Sean Salter, league leading Goalkicker from Glenorchy is heading for New Norfolk, tragic news for the pies :(

The Scarecrow
1st November 2004, 15:47
Where did you hear that?

The Scarecrow
1st November 2004, 15:51
Just read it on the Southern website, Glenorchy still has Dean Millhouse who looked good this year, I am sure he will step up, not sure who Brad Owen was, so he won't be missed that much. Sad news, but we'll move on, I am sure we can find someone to replace Salter.

WCL
1st November 2004, 15:57
We better, otherwise we might be in a bit of trouble.

The Scarecrow
1st November 2004, 16:14
I think New Norfolk's problem's will still be there, Salter, though a good forward drops too many marks, and isn't that good man on man. He's good on the lead, but not that great in contests.

The Scarecrow
1st November 2004, 21:44
Just a small update on Brad Lang, the GDFC are currently in talks with him, could be a good sign he might play on next season.

tassieswan
2nd November 2004, 15:37
Salters one of the best kicks in the league in my opinion.

The Scarecrow
4th November 2004, 07:25
I was watching him down Kingston, and he didn't kick too bad in the wind, shame about the accuracy though. I think he kicked 2-1 or 1-2 or something like that.

I wish him well at New Norfolk, maybe after a year there he will come back.

The Scarecrow
5th November 2004, 16:18
Glenorchy under 19's have picked up two star recruits for next season. Nathan 'Rowdy Sasha Lee' Matthews and Matthew 'Calculator' Hamilton will join the reigning premiers next season. Matthews last played in under 15's for Brighton and led the association goal kicking and Hamilton, who has ball skills that are the equivalent to those of James Hird, is returning to footy after taking a year off to focus on cricket.

LFC
8th November 2004, 06:59
ball skills that are the equivalent to those of James Hird.

What are you tripping on Crowy??

The Scarecrow
8th November 2004, 17:15
What are you tripping on Crowy??
I probably should of soured that, someone sent it in to the rumours page on the league's website.

LFC
9th November 2004, 08:15
Thats ok pal, didn't sound like something you'd say..

Just a note on some ins and outs..

Salter (Glen) --> DOSA!! - Not sure on this one, but heard from a fairly 'in the know' source from another OSFA club, will keep you informed. Sounds a little strange to me though...

Britten (Glen) --> Kermandie (TBC)

Millhouse (Glen) --> to Qld (TBC)

Trent Moore (Clarence) --> Lauderdale (TBC)

Ben Stewart (Kermandie) --> Lauderdale

Leon Noel (Clarence) --> Lauderdale (TBC) You gotta love this blokes name, read it normally, and then backwards!! HAHA.

Penwright (Laud) --> Sorell

Longman (Huonville) --> Glenorchy

Haw (Brighton) --> Sorell

Heath Barwin from Sorell is looking for a PL club as he is having a crack at making the Devils. He will be at one of the Eastern Shore clubs, Lauderdale or Clarence.

The Scarecrow
9th November 2004, 08:52
It would be Salter from New Norfolk to Dosa now, he and Brad Owen from Glenorchy signed with them a couple of weeks ago, maybe less.

I read a rumour about Millhouse that he was looking at going to Hobart with Nathan Henley. Hasn't been confirmed, as being a true rumour.

Josh Dykes is rumoured to be back from NZ and is looking to re-start his football career at Hobart.

I have heard about Longman, and Haw changing clubs, though I also heard that Jamie Ling was also going back to Glenorchy.

Borne Again
9th November 2004, 17:38
There have been so many rumours going around, I think I have lost count on who is going where. I have heard that Dean Millhouse was reportedly being sought after by Hobart, aswell as Nathan Henley. I also heard that Glenorchy would get Jamie Curran (brother of Brad) from Dodges.

Jasar
10th November 2004, 17:00
Heard a few rumours today, Matthew Bernes from Glenorchy will be an playing at Kermandie next year, not sure if it's a coaching role but he has gone down there with Adam Henley. I heard the Nathan "Larry" Longman rumour half way through the last season, as Larry wanted the coaching job of Glenorchy. Sorrel are on a huge recruiting drive, with upto 6 Dosa players going there for big dollars next year. Speaking of Dosa, former Glenorchy player Craig Horne was offered the coaching job. But the main rumour that I heard which was from a "Star" Glenorchy player is that some of the senoir players at the club are glad to see the back of Klug. As Klug was not well liked by some players. Should have more rumours by the weekend I'll try and post them for you guys.

The Scarecrow
15th November 2004, 19:00
It would appear that both Millhouse and Henley are happy with Newiett being coach, and will stay on in 2005 with the Magpies. Nothing confirmed either way yet.

Jasar
15th November 2004, 19:36
It looks like New Norfolk will be loosing Kym Harvey for the 2005 season. Kym is being targeted by a few clubs with Dosa leading the way. It's a strange situation with Kym for the fact he hardly played Senior football with New Norfolk last year, but the year before was on the Devil's list. I heard though that Matthew Smith had a list of 28 players who would play senior football for New Norfolk last year and Kym wasn't a member of that list. Really I think Glenorchy should chase him for the fact that he's a very rated crumbing forward, if we could place him up in the forward line with Millhouse we wouldn't have the problem that we had this year, of two leading forwards leading together.

Speaking of Salter, apparently when Klug resigned Salt's tried to get out of his contract with New Norfolk, but Norfolck being happy with there "Star Recruit" wouldn't let him go. Also apparebtly Salt's contract with New Norfolk is fuel money to travel to and from training, and all games. Somewhere between $150 - $200 a game and a full-time job as a sercruity guard.

One last story that I heard was that there was another person interested in the Glenorchy coaching job when John Klug resigned. Apparently Darryn Winter was looking into the job. Now before you Glenorchy guys go and say "Jasar Full Of Sh*t", just remember who broke the news of John Klug to you first!!!!! Now Winter, he really really wanted the job, but the Glenorchy board wouldn't have him or something. I think that maybe we should have gave hime the job, you look at the facts, He's won 5-6 flags as a coach, every year he seems to find some new kid who just seems to jill Glenorchy when ever they play us (Bosworth), and he also seems to get the most out of his most senior players (Cooney). As much as I dislike Winter for a few reason, I think Glenorchy should have really looked at getting him. But anyway that's just my thoughts.

The Scarecrow
15th November 2004, 19:46
I remember Winter wanted the job a few years ago, when we lost Paul Hamilton, from memory the Glenorchy board, and members voted against getting him.

So, there is a chance at Salts returning to Glenorchy then? I think Scott Bennetts might of been another that could of walked, Klug really gave the poor kid a blast this year, if Patchy wasn't there, he would of walked out on the club that day.

LFC
16th November 2004, 07:01
Doesn't Salter work in a pharmacy though?? Bit of a seachange to become a security guard!

You blokes don't really want Winter.. Yeah he can coach, but there'd only be 25 footballers happy being there..

The Scarecrow
16th November 2004, 16:25
I would think there would be unhappy members aswell, last time I heard about him being considered the members were against it.

Jasar
17th November 2004, 07:46
Doesn't Salter work in a pharmacy though?? Bit of a seachange to become a security guard!

You blokes don't really want Winter.. Yeah he can coach, but there'd only be 25 footballers happy being there..

I wouldn't mind Winter there. He's won 3 of the last four flags. I think if he could make Glenorchy into what Clarence have been for the last 15 years it's worth a shot. I think give Newitt a year see how he goes, if he fails give the job to Winter.

Yeah I thought Salts worked in a pharmacy as well, but mind you he wouldn't be a security guard that I would like to run into!!!!!

The Scarecrow
17th November 2004, 20:37
I think some Glenorchy supporters would have a problem with the rougher part of his coaching. He's turned Clarence into a side, but into a team that plays the man, a bit too much. This year's finals series showed that.

I would expect that Newiett will be trialed and then if he does a good enough job, they will sign him again. Personally though, I would of liked to have seen Danny Ling take the job. He did a good job underr Paul Hamilton, even if he was there as an assistant, it would be good for the team.

Jasar
18th November 2004, 06:23
I think some Glenorchy supporters would have a problem with the rougher part of his coaching. He's turned Clarence into a side, but into a team that plays the man, a bit too much. This year's finals series showed that.

I would expect that Newiett will be trialed and then if he does a good enough job, they will sign him again. Personally though, I would of liked to have seen Danny Ling take the job. He did a good job underr Paul Hamilton, even if he was there as an assistant, it would be good for the team.

Come on Porky if Winters coaching is playing the man and they get away with it, great it's all part of the game. You know Glenorchy is not in a Netball league it's a football league and the last time I checked football was a contact sport!!!!

I think if Glenorchy do ever give the job to a pass legend it has to be Patchy. Don't get me wrong I think Lingy is/was great for the club. But Patchy is god at our club. I think that could be away to get both players and supporters back to the club.

Jasar
18th November 2004, 06:58
Just some quick rumours that I heard last night,

* Micheal "Jock" McGregor is having a troubled time at Huonville allready. With the loss of some senior playes, poor old Jock can't seem to get anyone to go down and play with the lions. One name has been mentioned as a possible players, Josh Dykes.

* Sorell look to be BIG improvers in the regional league next year. With 8 new senior players and allready 18 players on the training track it can only look good for the eagles.

* And one last regional league rumour, apparently there is one club who has already payed there assitant coach, their coach and still have $22 000 to pay there players next year. My tip Kermandie.

* Former Glenorchy player Craig Horne has been linked with a few clubs in the off season, but he has decided to stay with Uni for next season at reduced wage from this season.

* One last one, OHA could be on the verge of bankrupt. With not being able to pay for a coach next year, the Ships are having to get club President to coach the senior next season year, should be interesting to see how the ships go next year.

Kingpin
18th November 2004, 13:38

* Micheal "Jock" McGregor is having a troubled time at Huonville allready. With the loss of some senior playes, poor old Jock can't seem to get anyone to go down and play with the lions. One name has been mentioned as a possible players, Josh Dykes.

HAHAHAHAAHAH :D I knew that would happen.
He makes a habit out of doing that at every club he turns up at.

Another rumour that is legit, did anyone see in The Mercury classifieds yesterday that Hobart has called a meeting of members for December 1st at the TCA for the club's board to tell members of thier plans for full AFL alignment with Brisbane Lions?

They have already had a meeting with AFL South and Scott Wade on Monday night and according to the President, they are 90% of the way to doing this (once again, members and supporters haven't even been ASKED yet.

The deal will see Hobart known as the Hobart Lions, playing in the Brisbane Lions strip and changing the club's theme song to "We are the pride of Hobart Town"
A lot of financial members and supporters are extremely upset by the way the board and new coterie group have tried to usher this in, without even doing things according to the club's constitution and asking members.

Hobart had around 60 members in 2004 (down from over 230 in 2003) and at least another 25-30 have indicated that they will cease involvement with the club should this move go ahead. One board member has already resigned because of being "shut out of involvement in respect to meetings".
That last statement means that a few board members are hatching these plans up without the knowledge of other board members, certain board members aren't even being told when meetings are on - it's a disgraceful situation.

There has been so many lies, half-truths, misappropriation of facts, and lack of transparency with important information with respect to members at Hobart that the club could well be in jeopardy in the future.

Be very interesting to see how this all transpires.

WCL
18th November 2004, 15:43
I don't want to put to blunter point on this but:

Hobart Lions = RIP HFC

The Scarecrow
19th November 2004, 18:56
Come on Porky if Winters coaching is playing the man and they get away with it, great it's all part of the game. You know Glenorchy is not in a Netball league it's a football league and the last time I checked football was a contact sport!!!!

I think if Glenorchy do ever give the job to a pass legend it has to be Patchy. Don't get me wrong I think Lingy is/was great for the club. But Patchy is god at our club. I think that could be away to get both players and supporters back to the club.
I reckon he could make some of our softer players play a little harder, my main concern is players walking out on the club.

The Scarecrow
19th November 2004, 19:10
Here are some rumours I have read on the Southernfootball.com.au wensite.

New Norfolk's big bustling under 19 full forward Ricky " Battery" Martin is thinking of leaving the Valley of Love an returning to his former club Glenorchy. Glenorchy premiership coach Graham "Diesel" Bennetts has been chasing the high flying red head since end of season. Ricky won't let on what his contract down at Magpie land is but it is to be believed it involves a free pie before an after every home game. 19/11/04

It seems Kingston are close to signing former Hutchins and Kingston players - Adam Doran and Matthew Abey for season 2005. 19/11/04

New Channel coach Craig Roberts seems to have the magic touch at present. He has apparently signed former Kingborough B&F winner Simon Lampkin to the Saints for 2005. The Saints look like being a more competitive unit already. 19/11/04

It is believed that potential AFL draftee and current Clarence and Mariners player Jarrod Garth has been offered a lucrative deal by Lauderdale if he is not drafted. 17/11/04

The Scarecrow
21st November 2004, 19:19
From Southernfootball.com.au

North Hobart big man Josh Kline may be heading south to Kingborough following talks about his future with the Demons. He is currently playing cricket with Longley and is believed to be keen to start afresh in the family heartland.

Kingpin
21st November 2004, 22:33
I don't want to put to blunter point on this but:

Hobart Lions = RIP HFC

Yes that's right.
But to be truthful, the club may as well be dead.
What has happened in the last few years to Hobart has split the club down the middle so divisively that even if Hobart were to regain its traditional emblem the place still would be divided and people would no longer speak.

Dreadful situation. :(

Kingpin
21st November 2004, 22:46

Further to this rumour, Josh Dykes won't be at Huonville Lions next year.
Dykesy has an open round-the-world ticket an is intent on travelling. Word is, he will spend a bit of time at Hobart in the mean time, but playing wise he won't spend a great deal of time on the park.

Hobart are putting the fealers out for a new Reserves Coach after Nathan Leischke was dumped as coach of the Reserves after steering the club in to the Elimination Final.
Apparently Leischke put in for the job but the Club was not interested in him stating that they would be interested in a non-playing coach because they wouldn't have to pay them as much.
Strong rumour abounds that former Tiger premiership player Kyle Wilson also applied for the job but was not wanted as he had left the club in 2002 after a disagreement with the club. Wilson had coached the Hobart Colts to the Grand Final where they lost to New Norfolk by 11 points and was apparently promised the Reserves job in 2003 but was later overlooked by Board and Leischke was appointed. Wilson spent 2003 & 2004 coaching SFL Regional League cellar dweller Lindisfarne.

Kingpin
28th November 2004, 07:43
HAHAHAHAAHAH I knew that would happen.
He makes a habit out of doing that at every club he turns up at.

Another rumour that is legit, did anyone see in The Mercury classifieds yesterday that Hobart has called a meeting of members for December 1st at the TCA for the club's board to tell members of thier plans for full AFL alignment with Brisbane Lions?

They have already had a meeting with AFL South and Scott Wade on Monday night and according to the President, they are 90% of the way to doing this (once again, members and supporters haven't even been ASKED yet.

The deal will see Hobart known as the Hobart Lions, playing in the Brisbane Lions strip and changing the club's theme song to "We are the pride of Hobart Town"
A lot of financial members and supporters are extremely upset by the way the board and new coterie group have tried to usher this in, without even doing things according to the club's constitution and asking members.

Hobart had around 60 members in 2004 (down from over 230 in 2003) and at least another 25-30 have indicated that they will cease involvement with the club should this move go ahead. One board member has already resigned because of being "shut out of involvement in respect to meetings".
That last statement means that a few board members are hatching these plans up without the knowledge of other board members, certain board members aren't even being told when meetings are on - it's a disgraceful situation.

There has been so many lies, half-truths, misappropriation of facts, and lack of transparency with important information with respect to members at Hobart that the club could well be in jeopardy in the future.

Be very interesting to see how this all transpires.

And now further to this, Hobart's meeting for the 1st December has evolved into the almost bizarre.
The meeting which is "allegedly" a non-voting meeting (therefore supporters, not just financial members) can turn up and have thier say, has seen the club take the extroardinary and unprecedented move of hiring security guards on the doors and banning supporters from attending.
The only people who are allowed to attended are financial members who have proof by way of a members card, honorary life members and the committee, and a selection of players hand picked by the club's committee who are known to be pro-Lions. :rolleyes:
One particular member who bought his membership during the year and was not even given his card by the club, nor was he given a receipt of payment has to bring his chequebook and produce the stub from it to even be allowed into the meeting.
For a VOTING meeting that would be acceptable, but for a non-voting meeting this an absolute insult.

Officially the push to regain the Tiger emblem is dead. Advice obtained by prominant lawyers have decided that we would not win in court.
SFL General Manager Noel Morrison has been quoted as saying "Hobart will never get its colours or old jumper back if I have anything to do with it" :mad:
Morrison has links with the Kingborough Tigers club, and his son is a player there.

What a ****ING JOKE :mad:

WCL
28th November 2004, 19:04
Absloute Discrace, everytime I see Kingborough play I am going to give them hell!!!!!!!!

They have ruined football and Noel Morrison should be sacked.

E.Z. Money
29th November 2004, 19:10
Hobart + Lions = The Death of the HFC.

Kingpin
3rd December 2004, 15:46
CLAREMONT FOOTBALL CLUB, in the SFL Regional League according to strong sources may fold before the start of the season next year.

Apparently the Magpies cannot get anyone to play with them, and are still unable to find a senior coach. Apparently they are also financially under the pump.
Last year the Magpies were unable to field a Thirds side.

In other news Cygnet have appointed former North Hobart premiership player Anthony Cole as coach for next year.

E.Z. Money
4th December 2004, 19:47
So, no more Glenorchy retired players making the trip to Claremont?

Sinn
5th December 2004, 20:40
Latest rumours from the Huonville Lions is that Nick Fookes and Nathan Longman are to be appointed joint assistant coaches for season 2005, they will provide great support to Jock McGregor