View Full Version : Whats up with Mal

campbell
11 Oct 2004, 07:52
He has again given our club a spray in the media.This time the coaching panel and their decisions.He seems an unhappy camper all around.What gives.

http://www.realfooty.theage.com.au/realfooty/articles/2004/10/10/1097406424038.html

Maazo
11 Oct 2004, 11:34
I wish all our players would just shut the hell up for once. Mind you, there is something to be said for players not being robots. He probably saying what a lot of people are thinking.

He was obviously asked about it (player trading) in media commitments for the IR tests. I'd say they've just blown the "bleak future" thing up a bit.

rhino
11 Oct 2004, 13:47
"I have no doubt that in . . . three years' time Brisbane will be in a bit of trouble"

Sounds like he's planning on being elsewhere come then

adey115
11 Oct 2004, 14:43
Never over-estimate what you read in the papers folks. 9 times out of 10 its a mis-quote, or a beat up, turning an out-of-context line into a "story". they don't report the news, the create it, especially this time of year.

fugitive
11 Oct 2004, 15:18
Never over-estimate what you read in the papers folks. 9 times out of 10 its a mis-quote, or a beat up, turning an out-of-context line into a "story". they don't report the news, the create it, especially this time of year.

When it comes to the fortunes of Brisbane Lions who would you trust a Melbourne Tabloid or Leigh Matthews & co.? :rolleyes:

scarlett
11 Oct 2004, 16:55
doesnt too happy does he! lets just hope its being blown way out of proportion :rolleyes:

NoelMugavin
11 Oct 2004, 17:03
i was there when he was int. all out of context, leading questions...mal's problem is he is too honest.

dont be surpized if he doesnt give a "no comment" after this job the media has again done on him.

very tacky..anything for a story..and bent out of shape journalism

rava
11 Oct 2004, 17:11
He may be right with what he has to say. He was the only one to perform in the GF

goaldrush1977
11 Oct 2004, 20:39
I wouldn't be surprised if he copped a rocket from Leigh Matthews when he arrives back home from IR duty.

irish
11 Oct 2004, 21:12
mal opened the gate after the final,now the media will zoom in on him for comment as they do with aka ! his best defence is to refer all media comment to the club !!!NO COMMENT

The Gunner
11 Oct 2004, 22:22
"I have no doubt that in . . . three years' time Brisbane will be in a bit of trouble"

It probably said something like "i have no doubt that in the the near future many of our younger players will step up into much more important/pivotal roles. A lot of clubs are saying that in three years' time Brisbane will be in a bit of trouble."

Media always does stuff like that, giving a "story" a different perspective to make it more interesting

The Gunner
11 Oct 2004, 22:24
But as for him saying we shouldnt have lost Bolton and cupido, bolton was ok but has improved out of sight in a side where he has been given opportunity. But cupido was a hack, a one game wonder, and when he went back down to the reserves was incredibly arrogant, beleiving he was above them. I for one am happy he is gone

adey115
12 Oct 2004, 11:54
I wouldn't be surprised if he copped a rocket from Leigh Matthews when he arrives back home from IR duty.

garbage. mal isn't a serial 'mouther-offerer'. leigh knows how the media works and knows how they create junk out of nothing.

i tell you folks don't read much into it. as noel mugavin said, out of context. the media are parasites this time of year. the public is now interested in footy 365 days a year - thus the media has to create news even if there basically isn't any...

do you all not remember the alleged kerfuffle over Lynchy re-signing last year. media beat up to create a story wasn't it?

xplo
12 Oct 2004, 12:13
Cupido was reasonable. A bit of a sook I reckon.

Bolton would have been nice to keep, Morrison to an extent to. Brett Voss would be handy. They're all in the mid 20's range that were starved of opportunities.

But until Starska and the Docs have 'kryogenic stasis' down to a safe and reliable procedure (I reckon about April), it's difficult to tell these blokes to wait for a spot to come up while their careers tick by.

Sounds, in essense, like Mal is arguing that Whitey and Harty should have been traded after 2001 to keep Bolton and Brett Voss.

Pretty brave trade that.

goaldrush1977
12 Oct 2004, 12:18
garbage. mal isn't a serial 'mouther-offerer'. leigh knows how the media works and knows how they create junk out of nothing.

i tell you folks don't read much into it. as noel mugavin said, out of context. the media are parasites this time of year. the public is now interested in footy 365 days a year - thus the media has to create news even if there basically isn't any...

do you all not remember the alleged kerfuffle over Lynchy re-signing last year. media beat up to create a story wasn't it?
You must have been out of the country when the first incident happened. He even wrote an article in one of the papers, giving the club and the players a spray......
This is the second time that Mal has given the club a spray this time over delisting of younger players......

You obviously don't understand/believe what has happened.

adey115
12 Oct 2004, 12:56
You must have been out of the country when the first incident happened. He even wrote an article in one of the papers, giving the club and the players a spray......
This is the second time that Mal has given the club a spray this time over delisting of younger players......

I was in the country. I understand. Mal Michael "wrote an article"?. Er, not to my knowledge. I believe someone else wrote an article using some quotes from Mal Michael, and given my previous comments about the way the media works, I believe there is a large proportion of 'beat up' in most things that are written. For example, in the post GF backwash Mal made a passing comment about teammates appearing to have written their Norm Smith Medal speeches prior to the game - it was his creative way of saying it appeared some players thought the Lions had the game won prior to the game being played. Of course, "the media" turned that into the following quote:

"In a damaging revelation, it was also reported that Brisbane players had prepared their Norm Smith Medal speeches before the game."

If he'd said "I think some of our boys thought the game was in the bag before we played it and it was reflected in the way we played" then that line would not have got a run. Instead he comes up with a creative response and wham, the media turns it into a "damaging revelation".

You seem to believe everything that is placed in front of you by the media. That makes you their target market. Congratulations. You're the kind of gullible person the football media thrive on. Its the Orson Welles 'War Of The Worlds' approach to football.

Sid
12 Oct 2004, 17:51
Have there been any responses to his comments yet? I actually agreed with his first public comments but im surprised he came out and said this. It'll be interesting to see if theres actually anything behind these comments. Although a lot of people are having this feeling about the lions, why confirm it from the players themlseves?

Homer
12 Oct 2004, 19:55

You are a deadset tool. Mal Michael has never written an article. Give us proof, lets see HIS name in the author position.

All he has said in essence, is that we will need to start a rebuilding phase over the next 3-4 years.

But as a Hawthorn supporter, I guess honesty is a long way off... You never really recovered this year after Browny slapped your boys around in Hobart.

Stick your useless, unknowledgable trolling nose somewhere else.

You obviously don't understand basic common sense and the English Language!

goaldrush1977
13 Oct 2004, 00:05
You are a deadset tool. Mal Michael has never written an article. Give us proof, lets see HIS name in the author position.

All he has said in essence, is that we will need to start a rebuilding phase over the next 3-4 years.

But as a Hawthorn supporter, I guess honesty is a long way off... You never really recovered this year after Browny slapped your boys around in Hobart.

Stick your useless, unknowledgable trolling nose somewhere else.

You obviously don't understand basic common sense and the English Language!Have a read of the Sunday Age in the sport section, Homer. It does have his name on it because he wrote the article.

Homer
13 Oct 2004, 00:07
Being a Queenslander, I'm assuming this particular story is available online... Could you please pass on the link, or maybe scan the article for us Northerners?

adey115
13 Oct 2004, 11:27
http://www.realfooty.theage.com.au/realfooty/articles/2004/10/10/1097406424038.html

Mal Michael. aka. Stathi Paxinos.

Gullible, absolutely gullible. Yes it has his name on it, because they've used his surname in the heading. He didn't write the flippin' thing though.

kimp
13 Oct 2004, 12:27
She couldn't possibly mean that article could she?

adey115
13 Oct 2004, 12:33
it wouldn't surprise me if she does... i only recall mal getting two articles in the age of recent - this one and the one immediately post GF that I've mentioned above. if there are any other articles "written" by Mal feel free to point them out.....

Homer
13 Oct 2004, 12:38
Its not usually fun playing with people of a far lower intellect, but when they are so sure they know everything, the pleasure does increase markedly.

adey115
13 Oct 2004, 12:59
I don't like getting into the "your an idiot" stuff where possible - more than happy to prove a point via proof or intelligent reasoning/opinion.

It does however grate on me to the max when people believe word for word what is actually written in the media. I work in a media-related industry and I've seen over the years how journalists "create" news rather than report it. Twisting of the truth, taking out of context comments... what you don't hear in these reports on Mal was what question was actually asked of him - was it "in three years if the Lions young players don't come through, will the Lions be in trouble when players of your age start to retire?". That would explain Mal's answer. Instead we don't hear what the actual question at the interview was - instead its turned into Mal sounding like he's making some outlandish comment about the Lions being gone in a few years.

Reality is that the majority of people then take this as absolute gospel, when 95 out of 100 times its utter bull, simply in order to "create" news. What makes its worse is when some people then believe he's actually gone out and written an article, then turn it into a "why has he done this, the club is going to be angry" garbage.

Bottom line is, "this created" news sells newspapers. Or it gets people to read their website (which has advertising on it). Its profitable. I read it too so I'm guilty of buying it - I "buy" it in the handing over of money sense, I just don't "buy" it in the believing it as actual gospel sense. Whereas a large proportion of the public does. As I said earlier, "The War Of The Worlds"....

xplo
13 Oct 2004, 15:28
Absolutely. In online/newspaper publishing and it's all about 'working' a headline enough to hook you into reading the opening paragraph. Take reasonably dull little shards of the truth and polish them into a sparkly, glittering setting.

Newspapers aren't books. They know you aren't going to read it from cover to cover, so if you want to get read, you need to write copy that grabs them by the ears and shakes them -- and if it happens to be completely true, even better!