View Full Version : Tasmanian Team of The Century Local Side
The Scarecrow
14th October 2004, 20:27
Alright, seeing as most of our talented locals were over looked by the people selecting the Team of The Century, now it's time to pick a side from local players only (IE those who stayed in Tasmania and played no AFL footy)
Nominations from each club, I will do Glenorchy.
Glenorchy
Danny Ling
Michael Styles
Stephen Cox
Kim Excell
Jack Rough
Kevin Baker
I'm a sure there are many more, I will add some more.
WCL
14th October 2004, 20:29
Matty Bernes :D
After his "99" GF performance he would be in any of my teams ;)
WCL
14th October 2004, 20:31
Matty Bernes :D
After his "99" GF performance he would be in any of my teams ;)
Is it Statewide?
If so.
Northern Bombers:
Steane Kremerskothen
The Scarecrow
14th October 2004, 20:34
Yeah, we can add any local player from any league in Tassie.
The Scarecrow
14th October 2004, 20:41
North Hobart
Michael Maple - Exellent player, nice bloke too, champion at both Glenorchy and North Hobart.
Byron Howard
WCL
14th October 2004, 21:10
New Norfolk:
Sproule (of the seventies variety)
Robbie Dykes
The Scarecrow
14th October 2004, 21:19
Also to add to the list
Don Dykes(Glenorchy)
David Pearce(Glenorchy/Clarence)
Stan Dac(Glenorchy?)
Paul Dac (New Norfolk)
Justin O'Dwyer(Glenorchy)
I will try and think of some more.
WCL
14th October 2004, 21:22
Have to wait for Tiger for Hobarts.
Trevor Sprigg (Glenorchy)
Danny Noonan (Clarence)
The Scarecrow
14th October 2004, 21:24
I would add Brenton Tapp, but I don't know if he was good enough to get into this list, I saw him listed in the Hobart side.
WCL
14th October 2004, 22:03
Glenorchy:
Gary Linton
Barry Strange
Benny "Bucket" Atkin
Clarence:
Les Mclements
Grant Fagan
Hobart:
Alan Appleton
Steve Gilbee
Dean Borne
14th October 2004, 23:00
Members of the 1983 Premiership side should get a mention, maybe even the 1975 one.
WCL
15th October 2004, 14:55
So Far:
Clarence:
Les Mclements
Grant Fagan
Danny Noonan
Glenorchy:
Gary Linton
Ben Atkin
Barry Strange
Danny Ling
Michael Styles
Stephen Cox
Kim Excell
Jack Rough
Kevin Baker
Trevor Sprigg
Don Dykes
David Pearce
Stan Dac
Justin O'Dwyer
Hobart:
Alan Appleton
Steve Gilbee
Brenton Tapp
New Norfolk:
Paul Sproule
Robbie Dykes
Paul Dac
North Hobart:
Michael Maple
Byron Howard
Dean Borne
15th October 2004, 15:58
Robbie Devine has been a fairly good player for North Hobart over the years, Darren Travena might sneak in for North Launceston, maybe even Nathan Howard.
Kingpin
15th October 2004, 16:34
So Far:
Clarence:
Les Mclements
Grant Fagan
Danny Noonan
Glenorchy:
Gary Linton
Ben Atkin
Barry Strange
Danny Ling
Michael Styles
Stephen Cox
Kim Excell
Jack Rough
Kevin Baker
Trevor Sprigg
Don Dykes
David Pearce
Stan Dac
Justin O'Dwyer
Hobart:
Alan Appleton
Steve Gilbee
Brenton Tapp
New Norfolk:
Paul Sproule
Robbie Dykes
Paul Dac
North Hobart:
Michael Maple
Byron Howard
Paul Sproule played for Hobart not New Norfolk.
Alan Appleton was a member of Hobart's 1955 Reserves
Premiership (It's only reserves premiership)
Brenton Tapp, good player, but not in the best ever category, never played in a Grand Final.
Hobart
Burnie Payne
Mal Pascoe
Dennis Powell
Kerry Wilson
Steve Gilbee
Mark Browning
Scott Wade
Paul Courto
Wayne Petterd
Ian Stewart
Michael Winter
The list could go on, and on, and on......... :p
WCL
15th October 2004, 16:38
Sorry about that mate.
Now lets combine them and put them into positions.
Any from Sandy bay?
Dean Borne
15th October 2004, 16:48
Shawn Satori, Chris Smyth, I think there was a few others.
Dean Borne
15th October 2004, 16:49
Forwards: Matty Bernes, Byron Howard, Paul Dac
WCL
15th October 2004, 17:25
Backs: Michael Styles,, Paul Sproule
Half Backs: Ben Atkin,
Centres: Kim Exell
Half Forwards:
Forwards: Matty Bernes, Les Mclements
Rucks:
Interchange: 6
Lets fill some gaps
The Scarecrow
15th October 2004, 18:35
Rucks: Kevin Baker
Half Backs: Stephen Cox,
Centres: Kim Exell, Don Dykes, Ian Stewart
Half Forwards: Michael Maple,
Forwards: Matthew Bernes, Les Mclements, Byron Howard
Interchange: Donny Holland
I added Donny Holland.
WCL
15th October 2004, 20:36
Backs: Michael Styles,,Paul Sproule
Half Backs:Stephen Cox,, Ben Atkin
Centres:Kim Exell, Don Dykes
Half Forwards:Michael Maple,, Paul Dac
Forwards: Matty Bernes, Les Mclements, Byron howard
Rucks:Kevin Baker
Interchange:Donny Holland, Danny Ling,
Ian Stewart, played for richmond and st. kilda, therefore is ineligible for this team. Unless of course this is a completely different Ian Stewart.
The Scarecrow
15th October 2004, 21:12
Who would we make Coach?
The Doctor
15th October 2004, 21:12
North Hobart TOC candidates
John Devine
Don McLeod
Jimmy Wright
Dennis Scanlon
John Bone
Dickie Collins
Graeme Strang
David Noonan
Harry Dwyer
Leigh McConnen
Dennis Keats
Steve McQueen
Richard Heerey
Hobart
Bugg
Munari
Gaye
Bishop
Sandy Bay
Elliot
Mackay
Adams
Glenorchy
absolutely nobody!
New Norkfolk
The Brownings
Clarence
Bowden
Riewoldt
The Scarecrow
15th October 2004, 21:40
Not even one Glenorchy player? Why? There have been many champion players play for Glenorchy....
the croucher
15th October 2004, 23:19
I'd prefer a Hall of Fame concept instead of Team of Century...
but for sake of enjoyable off-season discussion: -
Among the players that need to be excluded from consideration
(due to playing VFL or in WA or SA)
are the following:
L McClements, D Noonan, T Sprigg, P Sproule, B Payne, M Pascoe,
M Browning, S Wade, I Stewart, J Devine, J Wright, D Scanlon,
L McConnon, A Bowden.
some possibilities for the various lines:
B: Des James - AD Tynan - Ike Hayes
HB: Jack Dunn - Barry Strange - Don Gale
C: Kevin McLean - Rex Garwood - Neil Conlan
HF: - Geoff Long -
F: Hec Smith - Ross McCrimmon -
Ruck: Jack Rough - John Leedham
Rov: Horrie Gorringe
Bee
16th October 2004, 00:48
North Hobart TOC candidates
John Devine
Don McLeod
Jimmy Wright
Dennis Scanlon
John Bone
Dickie Collins
Graeme Strang
David Noonan
Harry Dwyer
Leigh McConnen
Dennis Keats
Steve McQueen
Richard Heerey
Hey Doc, good players there from the mighty Dees, but you haven't included one of the best and toughest of all (well according to my uncle that is). Des Graham! I can remember my uncle, and other rellies, always talking about Dessie Graham and how good, how tough and how courageous he was. In fact they still bloody talk about him. Do you know of him?
The Doctor
16th October 2004, 07:22
Hey Doc, good players there from the mighty Dees, but you haven't included one of the best and toughest of all (well according to my uncle that is). Des Graham! I can remember my uncle, and other rellies, always talking about Dessie Graham and how good, how tough and how courageous he was. In fact they still bloody talk about him. Do you know of him?
Yeah I thought of Des Graham but he was a bit before my time. Never actually saw him play. He will get in for sure such is his legendary status.
Could add these names to the Demons TOC even though they didn't play for the club much
Percy Jones
Paul Williams
Simon Minton Connell
Also forgot Micky Ramsdale from my earlier post.
bakerman
24th October 2004, 10:31
What about the Fox brothers and Hunnibells. Roger Steele from Sandy Bay. Craig Hoyer. Just a few more
Kingpin
24th October 2004, 12:24
What about the Fox brothers and Hunnibells. Roger Steele from Sandy Bay. Craig Hoyer. Just a few more
Yeah all impressive names there.
Graham & Wayne Fox could make a number of teams lists, Glenorchy, New Norfolk and Hobart.
The Hunnibell's could make either the New Norfolk or Clarence, I think they played in a number of grand finals and were in the 82 New Norfolk Premiership. Big "Clag" Hoyer was good at Hobart in the mid to late 80's when the Tigers were lifting themselves out of the doldrums under Hudson and Browning.
Roger Steele was an excellent footballer and is a definate starter in a Sandy Bay ToTC, won a William Leitch medal, was a Seagull Premiership player.
Another name could be Garry Williamson, was in the 82 New Norfolk Premiership side, transferred over to Clarence and was a William Leitch medallist in 1991. Didn't win any flags with the Roos, these were the days when Clarence were great in roster seasons but were Finals flops. Retired from TFL after the 1991 season and coached in the Amatuers and in the Huon, won a flag with Cygnet in 1994, then joined Hobart in 1996, when they were in real trouble. He was Hobart's last TFL coach, but stuck at the job admirably when most others would have walked out. When Hobart went to the SFL, he tookover Sorell, getting them into the finals a few times, before joining the SFL executive for a while as the Media Liason Officer. Got the coaching bug back and has since coached Cygnet to a treble of premierships in 2002-03-04.