View Full Version : Tfl
WCL
16th October 2004, 19:54
What was the best thing about the old TFL?
How would you rate the TFL compared to the SANFL, VFL and WAFL, in standard and appeal.
How do you rate todays situation to the TFL in the late 90's.
How would a combined side of the SFL and the NTFL go against the SANFL, VFL or WAFL
The Scarecrow
16th October 2004, 20:55
Watching some of the old TFL Vs VFL, and SANFL, back in the 90s we would of had a great chance. These days though we would be up against AFL players in all 3 leagues now.
Early 90's would ve 3 times as good as the league is today, learning towards the end of the 90s to now they would be equal.
WCL
16th October 2004, 21:00
So the Standard and appeal of the league now would be about the late 90's standard. Is the league improving? Is it possible to get the league back to the early 90's standard? How?
The Scarecrow
16th October 2004, 21:11
It's starting to improve, what I think the league needs is for clubs to have family days, like a get together for fans and players. I went to one of these a few years ago, it was good. Face painting, Glenorchy team sprint (that Brent Fenton won, and did nothing for the rest of th season!) something to get people back into. Footy Clinics, Kids Comps (Handball Comp, Kicking for Goals, practice with the players,) Adult Comps (Trivia, Longest Kick, etc.)
The problem is, the familes don't feel that have to go anymore, there's nothing to get excited about at the game. I suggest we also have Kids Fun Bags (club stickers, small flag, macdonals coupon, etc.)
I'm sure some of this can, and should be done for the better of the league.
WCL
16th October 2004, 21:18
All great idea's, get in the Glenorchy club's ear and suggest these to them, I remember going to a similar thing where they had rides and an auction with Dougie Hawkins, David Schwartz and Paul Hudson.
Make it our mission to save Tasmanian football, when we have better ideas than those idiots from football Tasmania. We may as well run the show ourselves
The Scarecrow
16th October 2004, 21:30
All great idea's, get in the Glenorchy club's ear and suggest these to them, I remember going to a similar thing where they had rides and an auction with Dougie Hawkins, David Schwartz and Paul Hudson.
Make it our mission to save Tasmanian football, when we have better ideas than those idiots from football Tasmania. We may as well run the show ourselves
I agree mate, look at all the great ideas we have, no one down here would take them and make them reality.
WCL
16th October 2004, 21:32
Why Not?
Kingpin
16th October 2004, 21:35
The best thing about the old TFL was that it had a status in football, it was watched and recognised by the community, and people would recognise TFL clubs as who they supported rather than all AFL like they do now.
It was very well publicised, in the way that the AFL is now. The TV would feature it strongly, the papers would cover everything, and so would the radio.
The players were instantly recognised and well known around the place. The matches had a big profile, and people would be talking about them in the pub or street or wherever, wondering who was going to win.
They were that popular in the late 80's that the TFL even had those "ClubCall" lines. Which was usually a recorded message that told you who was in and out of the upcoming teams - with clubsong playing faintly in the back ground.
Most of the clubs even had thier own offices, I know even Hobart had its own office with a small staff!!!
Club merchandise could be seen being worn around the streets, the playing standard was very strong.
Crowds were great in the late 80's - South Launceston was not so good with an average of around 830, New Norfolk 1100, and Sandy Bay 1300. But the rest were quite strong.
The late nineties saw the guts ripped out of it, the playing standard might have been pretty reasonable, but the public didn't give a stuff.
The AFL had taken too strong a foothold in the public eye, local football was suffering badly as a result.
The standard of TFL in the late 80's was very very good, by the late 90's it was good, but it had lost a lot of public appeal, with constant stuffing around the league's credibility was shot.
However it was 5 times the standard of the current SFL to be honest, they would struggle to beat the NTFA and can't beat the NTFL.
The Scarecrow
16th October 2004, 21:40
I think the main problem in the SFL has been that the league has always been a TFL retirement home. I could count a lot of former TFL players that finished their careers there over the years. Still a few there, in some of the teams they have players so out of shape, it wasn't funny. It was like watching a game of the Super Rules (not to knock the crazy old guys, they play well considering.) even in the Premier League you have players that should have retired (Winter, Gardner, Reid, Devine,etc.)
We need to start to breed some youngsters, if not, I cannot see the league every gettting any credibility back. Which would be sad, because with all the faults in local footy, I would still rather sit there and support my club, then goto a Devils game..
Jerome
16th October 2004, 21:44
What was the best thing about the old TFL?
The day they beat the SANFL in 1995.
******** that was funny! I loved it, you should've been over here for that one! Does anyone have that on tape?
Kingpin
16th October 2004, 21:49
I think the main problem in the SFL has been that the league has always been a TFL retirement home. I could count a lot of former TFL players that finished their careers there over the years. Still a few there, in some of the teams they have players so out of shape, it wasn't funny. It was like watching a game of the Super Rules (not to knock the crazy old guys, they play well considering.) even in the Premier League you have players that should have retired (Winter, Gardner, Reid, Devine,etc.)
We need to start to breed some youngsters, if not, I cannot see the league every gettting any credibility back. Which would be sad, because with all the faults in local footy, I would still rather sit there and support my club, then goto a Devils game..
That comment is so true, it aint funny.
I used to operate the scoreboard for some of the SuperRules games when they were at the TCA Ground, and there were quite a few blokes playing in that that also played in the SFL.
And there were a lot of blokes that had been around for eeeeeeeeons still playing in the League, the Reserves is even more pronounced like this.
I remember some teams like Cygnet, Channel, Lindisfarne etc having players in the reserves that were wayyyyyy into thier 40's. There were more fat blokes than a bikie barn out there on the field.
Country football, is what the old TFL has descended into.
WCL
16th October 2004, 21:51
That's no good. Still if Glenorchy's attendance is about the same as what South lonnies, that's not bad. Somehow the standard must be lifted. Even if all the Devils players dropped back into the clubs, it wouldn't make a huge difference. Interstate recruits and ex-afl players are the way to go.
The Scarecrow
16th October 2004, 21:52
******** that was funny! I loved it, you should've been over here for that one! Does anyone have that on tape?
I was going to tape it, forgot the damn tape....I remember when the TFL in I think 1997 beat the VFL (was still just the VFA then) could of beaten Westar Rules if Bennett have of played Jordon istead of an injured McClaine...we were thrashed in the ruck until Scotty Jordon took over.
The Scarecrow
16th October 2004, 21:58
That comment is so true, it aint funny.
I used to operate the scoreboard for some of the SuperRules games when they were at the TCA Ground, and there were quite a few blokes playing in that that also played in the SFL.
And there were a lot of blokes that had been around for eeeeeeeeons still playing in the League, the Reserves is even more pronounced like this.
I remember some teams like Cygnet, Channel, Lindisfarne etc having players in the reserves that were wayyyyyy into thier 40's. There were more fat blokes than a bikie barn out there on the field.
Country football, is what the old TFL has descended into.
It was so bad, Darryl Holmes was still getting a regular senior match, and at the time he was with Lindisfarne, he was well past it. I remember Dale Hall playing for them, he was still a great player at his age for Lindisfarne. Of course he was beating country footballers, but he still looked as good as he was when he was younger.
Even worse a Curt Lockley playing for Claremont, now this guy was old when I was still only a little kid, when he was with the Magpies under Ling.
I could of probably played a lot of games in the SFL, good or not, man I should of signed up 300 games with Lindisfarne with 2 bung knees, CLUB CHAMPION!!! :D
WCL
16th October 2004, 21:59
That would of been awsome if anyone has it on tape I would love to see it. I remember the WAFL one, I think Jon Dorotich was playing full forward that day. Mclean was so overatted and Jordan had one of the worst kicks ever but was still better than mclean, I think Craig "Spider" Carter was better than both of them in any position on the ground.
WCL
16th October 2004, 22:02
could of probably played a lot of games in the SFL, good or not, man I should of signed up 300 games with Lindisfarne with 2 bung knees, CLUB CHAMPION!!!
:D
Did you play footy with Glenorchy. why arn't you still playing, is it because of the knee's.
The Scarecrow
16th October 2004, 22:09
:D
Did you play footy with Glenorchy. why arn't you still playing, is it because of the knee's.
Yeah, I was with the Glenorchy juniors, played from 1992, to 1995, in 1996 I fell and hurt my knee, probably cracked the bone. I have had pain there for awhile now, I was looking forward to play again in around 1997, but gave it up thanks to a sore knee, that I re-injured this year.
WCL
16th October 2004, 22:10
My favorite thing about the old TFL, was that it was a family environment mixed with fair dinkum footy fans and the atmosphere was like an AFL game, especially the old Glenorchy V Clarence games, oh the old KGV grand stand were "rockin". It was so high profiled, when it was an even comp and I still believe that going to see Sandy Bay V Glenorchy in the rain in front of about 2-3000 supporters ( was some special game that was pumped up pretty heavily, couldn't imagine their being that many people there if it wasn't) in the early 90's, was better than going to the SCG, to watch St. Kilda play Sydney and St. Kilda breaking the swans long record of wins at home in front of 40,000. That game between the Gulls and the pies was so tense and the fans at Queenborough were going nuts, great atmosphere.
WCL
16th October 2004, 22:13
Yeah, I was with the Glenorchy juniors, played from 1992, to 1995, in 1996 I fell and hurt my knee, probably cracked the bone. I have had pain there for awhile now, I was looking forward to play again in around 1997, but gave it up thanks to a sore knee, that I re-injured this year.
That stinks!
I have played one game for Glenorchy and that was last year, I was over for about 4 weeks during the holidays and wanted a game of footy so went down and played, kicked 4 goals and then the Tassie Hol's kicked in and there wasn't any games.
Kingpin
16th October 2004, 22:13
Is that the one where it was p*ssing down at North Hobart all day?
Or am I thinking of the Westar Rules game?
I thought we actually beat them both, and lost to the VFL at the MCG.
WCL
16th October 2004, 22:16
I just remember seeing the Westaer game on tv and it was really wet then, so maybe you were thinking of it.
Kingpin
16th October 2004, 22:22
My favorite thing about the old TFL, was that it was a family environment mixed with fair dinkum footy fans and the atmosphere was like an AFL game, especially the old Glenorchy V Clarence games, oh the old KGV grand stand were "rockin". It was so high profiled, when it was an even comp and I still believe that going to see Sandy Bay V Glenorchy in the rain in front of about 2-3000 supporters ( was some special game that was pumped up pretty heavily, couldn't imagine their being that many people there if it wasn't) in the early 90's, was better than going to the SCG, to watch St. Kilda play Sydney and St. Kilda breaking the swans long record of wins at home in front of 40,000. That game between the Gulls and the pies was so tense and the fans at Queenborough were going nuts, great atmosphere.
I remember 2300 turning up to watch Hobart and Sandy Bay meet in the early rounds of 1986, the Bay thought they were "the sh*t", and Hobart under Peter Hudson had an exciting group of young footballers.
Hobart beat them pretty well that day, and the terraces were loud.
Same match forward to 1991, 1064-people were there. Most of them were Hobart supporters, and we beat them well to end a losing streak and get us towards the finals in showery weather.
The last time we met at Queenborough, 871-people were there, it was Round 2 1997.
Hobart were not in good shape, nor were Sandy Bay for that matter, but the Bay still won by 151-points.
It was actually a good atmosphere for the match and it seemed like there were a lot more there. That was the last match the Bay ever won at Queenborough.
Went for a wander around Queenborough about 3-4 months ago, looks in reasonable shape inside it, better than 85% of SFL grounds.
WCL
16th October 2004, 22:28
I would like to see Kingborough move there. It still has the best atmosphere out of all grounds in Tassie IMO. I would love to see 6 or 7000 there to a game, god it would be good, what a buzz for the players. Even though I support Glenorchy i still have a soft spot for Hobart and Sandy Bay, I guess it is because they were treated so poorly in the last few years which is about all I remember of TFL.
Kingpin
16th October 2004, 22:33
I would like to see Kingborough move there. It still has the best atmosphere out of all grounds in Tassie IMO. I would love to see 6 or 7000 there to a game, god it would be good, what a buzz for the players. Even though I support Glenorchy i still have a soft spot for Hobart and Sandy Bay, I guess it is because they were treated so poorly in the last few years which is about all I remember of TFL.
Yes that's true, I've seen Queenborough with big crowds before and it is a great atmosphere.
It's a pity it is so hemmed in and cramped the way it is, but at the Peel St end its great with terraces.
Yes both Hobart and the Bay were treated appalingly in there latter years in the TFL, and I know people from other clubs who stopped going to the football after they (Hobart and Sandy Bay) were forced out of the TFL.
Never even rated much of a mention in the media after all that service.
WCL
16th October 2004, 22:39
They should not have been kicked out and should have recieved more attention from the league to help them be built up and become forces once more. For mine the League should have been like this and stayed like this:
Glenorchy Magpies
Clarence Roos
Hobart Tigers
Sandy Bay seagulls
New Norfolk eagles
North Hobart Demons
North Launceston Bombers
Launceston Blues
Devonport Power
Burnie Dockers.
Why the blues stayed the raiders after devonport changed I don't know, some things really baffled me in those years. Look at the competition above, what an absolute beauty, if it was competitive, it would be a better comp than the SANFL.
Kingpin
16th October 2004, 22:52
They should not have been kicked out and should have recieved more attention from the league to help them be built up and become forces once more. For mine the League should have been like this and stayed like this:
Glenorchy Magpies
Clarence Roos
Hobart Tigers
Sandy Bay seagulls
New Norfolk eagles
North Hobart Demons
North Launceston Bombers
Launceston Blues
Devonport Power
Burnie Dockers.
Why the blues stayed the raiders after devonport changed I don't know, some things really baffled me in those years. Look at the competition above, what an absolute beauty, if it was competitive, it would be a better comp than the SANFL.
It would've been good, but the big problem was that nobody went.
AFL on television, constantly negative media coverage, every club in the league was near to broke at one stage or another in the 90's.
And the fees to host games were an even bigger crippling debt, there weren't enough good players to go around causing the standard of the not-so-good teams to be poor (look at Hobart in 94,95,96,97) also look at North Hobart 96,99, New Norfolk 98,99 and Devonport Power 2000.
Launceston and South both pulled out because they could see the writing on the wall some years earlier, that the league was haemorraging.
The big factor was that the money just simply wasn't there to fund it, and clubs were struggling from years of paying for the new "boom recruits" and "gun coaches". Basically they overspent bigtime, and all almst died from doing it.
The list of clubs that almost went under that is known from Statewide days is staggering.
- Hobart
- North Hobart
- Glenorchy
- New Norfolk
- South Launceston
- Burnie Dockers
- Devonport Power
- Sandy Bay (Folded 1997)
It is also rumoured that Clarence and North Launceston had also had money trouble at various stages throught the competition. Launceston were only in it from 1995-97.
But if it were popular, and well resourced, and had good lists in each team, it would be an awesome competition.
WCL
16th October 2004, 22:59
People just needed to accept it and go back and watch it, attendance=money mone=recruits recruits=attendances. Sadly this wouldn't happen because of cr**y publicity, really the clubs should of managed the whole thing better and the league should never of let it slip, they had one of the best leagues in Australia and the ruined it.
Well look out, if I have to re-build tasmanian football and local football all over the country by myself I will have a crack which is more than I can say for some people.
The Scarecrow
16th October 2004, 23:04
Glenorchy Magpies
Clarence Roos
Hobart Tigers
Sandy Bay seagulls
New Norfolk eagles
North Hobart Demons
North Launceston Bombers
Launceston Blues
Devonport Power
Burnie Dockers.
The TFL failed not only the clubs, but the fans but not helping any of them, unlike the AFL where they give a handout to help them survive, the TFL decided to throw them in the deep end and told them to try and swim, but they drowned.
Kingpin
16th October 2004, 23:08
The TFL failed not only the clubs, but the fans but not helping any of them, unlike the AFL where they give a handout to help them survive, the TFL decided to throw them in the deep end and told them to try and swim, but they drowned.
100% Spot on Crowy ;)
Kingpin
16th October 2004, 23:16
I'll let you in on example of how greediness upset the apple cart in TFL football.
Hobart's board in the early 1990's decided to come up with a huge club fundraiser. By getting Sports Promoter Wayne Monaghan onside, they combined to bring to AFL clubs down over the summer to play a practice match at North Hobart.
I remember one year they got Carlton & Essendon to play here in near 40*C heat, which kept the crowd down to about 8000.
The following year they got TWO AFL practice matches at North Hobart and made a hulking load of cash out of it.
Then the other clubs kicked up a fuss over it, and the TFL decided it would take over running it for themselves and split it beyween the clubs evenly.
Never mind that Hobart had got of its arse and done the REAL work.
The TFL ended up losing those games, and the money-making ceased. :rolleyes:
WCL
17th October 2004, 09:38
That's Discraceful. Surely that was illegal, even if it was the league that took the money off you. Congrats on 1,000 posts.
Kingpin
17th October 2004, 13:01
It was pretty ordinary of them.
The club got to keep the money that they'd made, a lot of it went to paying outstanding debts from the 80's and continued player payments etc.
The trouble was, by losing the running of those games, we couldn't keep our heads above water after the money we'd made went to expenses, and the club found itself once again in hot water financially, mostly with the ATO.
There was a cast iron way of securing the viability of our club, that greediness of not only other TFL clubs but the League itself, put a stop too.
Then when the money dried up for us, they were the same people to want Hobart out of the League for poor finances etc.
Absolutely pathetic that was.
And thanks for the congrats :D
Jerome
17th October 2004, 17:36
The TFL team that beat the SANFL in 95 played at North Hobart and it didnt rain that day. I think Andy Bennett coached Tassie and SA was coached by John Cahill and had Garry McIntosh, Clive Waterhouse and Crows Rod Maynard and Scott Lee in the team.
I recall beating the TFl beating the new VFL one year and then losing by a few points to the Vics the following year.
The Scarecrow
17th October 2004, 18:46
The TFL team that beat the SANFL in 95 played at North Hobart and it didnt rain that day. I think Andy Bennett coached Tassie and SA was coached by John Cahill and had Garry McIntosh, Clive Waterhouse and Crows Rod Maynard and Scott Lee in the team.
I recall beating the TFl beating the new VFL one year and then losing by a few points to the Vics the following year.
I think that game we lost to the VFL might have been in 1998, I think it was about 25 point loss to Tassie that day. The year before we beat Westar Rules, not sure if that was the WAFL team, or just a team made up of WA players.
WCL
17th October 2004, 21:39
WAFL briefly changed it's name to the Westar Rules in the late 90's. So yes it was the WAFL team.
The Scarecrow
17th October 2004, 21:55
Ah, OK, the next time they met in Launceston wasn't a good game for Tassie, I think in the end Tassie was thrashed in this match. In the last actual North/South game at York Park South won, it's a shame we may never see these games again, I remember going to one in I think 1994 or one year earlier. Shane Fell played for South, and the South won the match. Pretty good game, Shane Fell signed my program that day, I can't remember who he went though. Was too young at the time.
WCL
17th October 2004, 22:13
Why would they cut it? as they have done this year. It would be such a buzz for players who may never play a finals match to play in front of a reasonable crowd, agains the best of the best. It really did use the Tasmanian parohcialism well and I believ the North may be killing footy in the south by doing this. Bring it Back!
Kingpin
17th October 2004, 23:22
I think the reason the NTFL decided that they didn't want to play the SFL in the North/South games anymore, was basically because the SFL couldn't win any games - no competition.
The last game held at North Hobart in 2003 proved that beyond reasonable doubt.
I do remember one held at night at York Park (2001/02) where the SFL lead the whole game and the North got up by a point, when Jock McGregor was bought down in the goal square deep into time-on, and the umpire called play on. The South kicked themselves out of that game, but it was a dreadful decision.
They got about 1300-odd up there, on a frozen York Park night, so that was a good crowd.
The last one held was at North Hobart in 2003, and the crowd was 1500-odd, so they draw pretty well.
I noted that the NTFL/NTFA did not draw that many people.
Maybe a case of the North thumbing thier noses at the South because of AFL Tasmania, I believe.
Remember too, a NWFU v TFL game at West Park in 1984/85 (NWFU won, and the Spud-diggers supporters threw mud at Southern journalist David Stockdale in the process) was the catalyst for the start of the Statewide League.
Kingpin
17th October 2004, 23:25
Yes you're right it was 1995.
The rainy match was the Westar Rules match at North Hobart in 1998, and I watched it from my girlfriend at the time's parents place on television, and it was chucking it down.
The Scarecrow
18th October 2004, 19:47
I think the reason the NTFL decided that they didn't want to play the SFL in the North/South games anymore, was basically because the SFL couldn't win any games - no competition.
The last game held at North Hobart in 2003 proved that beyond reasonable doubt.
I do remember one held at night at York Park (2001/02) where the SFL lead the whole game and the North got up by a point, when Jock McGregor was bought down in the goal square deep into time-on, and the umpire called play on. The South kicked themselves out of that game, but it was a dreadful decision.
They got about 1300-odd up there, on a frozen York Park night, so that was a good crowd.
The last one held was at North Hobart in 2003, and the crowd was 1500-odd, so they draw pretty well.
I noted that the NTFL/NTFA did not draw that many people.
Maybe a case of the North thumbing thier noses at the South because of AFL Tasmania, I believe.
Remember too, a NWFU v TFL game at West Park in 1984/85 (NWFU won, and the Spud-diggers supporters threw mud at Southern journalist David Stockdale in the process) was the catalyst for the start of the Statewide League.
And they were annoyed that they had to put out $10,000 to get the team down here for the game.
WCL
18th October 2004, 20:24
I hope they bring some sort of State Game, back, into the comp. I think especially after the first real successful season since 1999, we should have the best players in the State playing against each other. Any news on the Tigers, looks like a few people on the Hobart guestbook might be getting a bit ahead of themselves, it seems they think they have the TIGER back.
Any news on In's and out's yet crowy.
The Scarecrow
18th October 2004, 20:38
Only one so far I think, Out: Adam Henley.
I'll give the club an e-mail and see if they have any lists yet.
WCL
18th October 2004, 20:48
Thanks mate.
What I want to do is put together a Pre-Season form guide, Magazine sort of thing. I will probably get the pix from the SFL Website, but I sort of want to get some team lists for it, so I can evaluate, each teams chances for the year. I am going to do one for the ACTAFL as well and try and sell them at the games. see how it goes and then maybe the next year I could sell some copies to the SFL for the Pre-Season of 2006
The Scarecrow
18th October 2004, 20:50
I got some pictures from some games this year, though they aren't that great, but once I get my new camera I will be able to take some better ones.
WCL
18th October 2004, 20:55
Yeah I have a pretty budget dig camera and I took some pix of the Hobart V norfolk game and they came out ok so I will see how I go.
The Scarecrow
19th October 2004, 19:58
Right now Glenorchy haven't got any notable pick ups, but they are working hard to get players over Christmas.
WCL
19th October 2004, 20:04
Okay, thanks for that. I heard a rumour that Hobart had got the TIGER back, is this true, if so it is a very good result for footy. All we need to do now is get rid of Kingborough's nickname and they can make it something else, they will soon find out that they won't get any Banwagoners any more and would possibly have to chang their name.
The Scarecrow
19th October 2004, 22:56
I don't think they will let the Tiger go without a fight, if this is true then it's great, I think now Hobart needs to think up a new jumper design.
WCL
22nd October 2004, 20:25
Apparently Hobart will be wearing a black and yellow striped guernsey next year with a HFC symbol in the middle, they are also campaining very hard to regain the TIGER.
What ground in Tassie has the best atmosphere?
The Scarecrow
22nd October 2004, 20:33
For me it would either be KGV Oval, or North Hobart Oval.
Standing behind the goals at KGV Oval, when the crowd is cheering after a goal, is amazing. Even standing down the other end you can hear the roar. Though sometimes it goes against the home team there.
A full North Hobart oval is also amazing, espically during a Grand Final.
WCL
22nd October 2004, 20:40
KGV in the Stand behind the goals is great when both stands are full, the terraces are half half and there are many more around the ground and a goal is scored to win the game, sorry just reminising about a Glenorchy V North Hobart game from years gone by.
North Hobart is great, as soon as you get over 8,000 there the atmosphere is electric and the 99 GF had an awsomw atmoshere as well.
The Scarecrow
22nd October 2004, 22:12
Some great memories, one I had was at North Hobart in I think 1994, Glenorchy/Burnie the feeling after the siren had sounded and we had won. It was amazing, I was only about 8, it's a shame the next week North Hobart thrashed us...damn Byron Howard! Good bloke, it's a shame he didn't stay home against Glenorchy.
Kingpin
24th October 2004, 12:33
Apparently Hobart will be wearing a black and yellow striped guernsey next year with a HFC symbol in the middle, they are also campaining very hard to regain the TIGER.
What ground in Tassie has the best atmosphere?
I'm not entirely sure what jumper Hobart will be playing in next year to be truthful, I can't post it on here, maybe if I send it to Crowy he can upload the the yellow striped jumper your talking about.
I personally don't mind that one, it's a hell of a lot better than the current one used.
Not sure how they're going with the Tiger to be honest, haven't heard anything.
Best atmosphere ground in Tassie would be a full North Hobart, haven't seen a full York Park or Bellerive so I can't comment on those two.
The TCA Ground with a big crowd would also rank up there with North Hobart for atmosphere, it can be very loud with all the noise bouncing off the stands.
In 2000 when Hobart hosted two finals up there against New Norfolk & Cygnet, the noise was like a throwback to the early 90's.
The Scarecrow
25th October 2004, 20:33
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v154/theprototype/Hobartguernseyfront.jpg
There we go, Hobart's jumper, reminds me of the same jumper Collingwood wore in around 1999. Not a bad jumper, if Hobart became the Tigers again, I would add a tiger in the middle.
WCL
25th October 2004, 20:40
Yeah that's the one.Great Guernsey, growing on me by the minute, now all they need is the Tiger, even if they become the Panthers that guernsey would suit. Is this what they will be wearing next year? I hope so, that should get a few more people along to the TCA.
The Scarecrow
31st October 2004, 22:06
I wouldn't mind seeing them adding a little Panther logo onto it, sort of like Collingwood did when they had the same design back in 1999.
WCL
1st November 2004, 15:39
Who knows what is happening, I have trying to keep track of it on the Hobart Guestbook, but they are jumping from one thing to another. I would like to see a decision by the end of the month.
The Scarecrow
1st November 2004, 19:47
Yeah, you get one topic it there, then they switch to another, pretty hard to keep up on a Guestbook.