View Full Version : Your WAFL Team

docker_azza
23 Oct 2004, 17:18
Go Bulldogs

As someone said. 'There are only two types of supporters. Those who support South Fremantle and those who wish they did'.

Considering they are in my recruiting zone and their headquarters are freo oval its easier to barrack for them.

crazzzy_grrl
23 Oct 2004, 17:29
Go the might black ducks!!!!!! :D

It's in my family to support them, so even though i live between the subi and west perth areas, go SWANS!!!!!

sinepari
23 Oct 2004, 18:11
last time i checked, swans n ducks were different species, but hey, rock on!!

crazzzy_grrl
23 Oct 2004, 18:18
last time i checked, swans n ducks were different species, but hey, rock on!!

Oh well... you know what i mean :D

raboyle
23 Oct 2004, 18:35
I must ask, does any of the WAFL teams have anything like a cult following?

I follow Central District in the SANFL and the following there is pretty good, I stand with the beer squad who make a lot of noise and chanting.

Is there anything like that in the WAFL?

BTW I'd be more inclined to follow South Fremantle... only because they are called the Bulldogs. ;)

Adelaide Hawk
23 Oct 2004, 18:54
The great John Wynne played for West Perth. That's good enough for me.

ImperialPurple
23 Oct 2004, 19:32
We are the Mighty Bulldogs always fighting on
with victory and flag our goal
With guts and determination we put the rest to shame
Because our fighting spirit wins the game

We're the Bulldogs (yes we are)
South Fremantle (yes we are)
The mighty Red V, that stands for victory

etc, etc... :D

JF_Bay_22_SCG
24 Oct 2004, 13:41
I must ask, does any of the WAFL teams have anything like a cult following?

I follow Central District in the SANFL and the following there is pretty good, I stand with the beer squad who make a lot of noise and chanting.

Is there anything like that in the WAFL?

BTW I'd be more inclined to follow South Fremantle... only because they are called the Bulldogs. ;)

I think you'll find that the support for SANFL footy is a quite a bit more passionate and fervent than at WAFL level. I know as a fact that there is a small group of supporters who make up Subiaco's unofficial Cheer Squad (they are all on RWO for some reason, two are Sydney fans!)

Never thought Cheer/Grog Squads were actually a big part of WA footy culture in any case. Do correct me if I'm wrong you Sandgropers.

JF

Port1978
24 Oct 2004, 22:29
I think you'll find that the support for SANFL footy is a quite a bit more passionate and fervent than at WAFL level. I know as a fact that there is a small group of supporters who make up Subiaco's unofficial Cheer Squad (they are all on RWO for some reason, two are Sydney fans!)

LOL, & the other one's a Port supporter! :p

Oh, & Subiaco for me! :D

goaldrush1977
25 Oct 2004, 12:02
Subiaco

Cro_Pavo
25 Oct 2004, 12:09
Go the Swans! ;) :D

Ray Nolan
25 Oct 2004, 12:28
Not that I follow it closely but it's always been Swan Districts in the WAFL for me.

Portmagpies
25 Oct 2004, 14:21
Not that I follow it closely but it's always been Swan Districts in the WAFL for me.

Likewise.

But only because they're black and white.

sapaul
25 Oct 2004, 19:10
Go BulldogsAs someone said. 'There are only two types of supporters. Those who support South Fremantle and those who wish they did'.

So you ticked Perth as well? :confused:

wellsy
25 Oct 2004, 20:29
East Perth, premiers 2005.... hopefully :D

Port1978
25 Oct 2004, 23:36
East Perth, premiers 2005.... hopefully :D

Nup, Subiaco back to back! :D

synista
30 Oct 2004, 20:06
East Freo and Claremont 4 me, my dad was bron in freo and claremont has its share of old freo players so i go 4 both :D

Raskolnikov
30 Oct 2004, 20:50
East Perth - went on a family holiday to Perth in the mid 80s and chose them as my team based on the fact that I love their colours and emblem.

eagleskickass
30 Oct 2004, 23:34
Nup, Subiaco back to back! :D
second that!
GO YOU GOOD THINGS
Pity my mate won't be back playing for em this year, still recovering from cartilage replacement. Larks will be great next year but!

Monocle
30 Oct 2004, 23:44
I only ever played in four team jumpers.

1. Hollywood Primary School
2. Dalkeith / Nedlands
3. Scotch College
4. Scotch Old Boys

Therefore it should come as no surprise that my WAFL team is Claremont.

Luke Logan
30 Oct 2004, 23:59
Dat, Duda, Duh! East Perth!
East Perth Forever Boys! East Perth are we! East Perth the mighty royals! East Perth the Greatest Team of all!

Mine are the Royals!!!

YOTC
31 Oct 2004, 00:03
Dat, Duda, Duh! East Perth!
East Perth Forever Boys! East Perth are we! East Perth the mighty royals! East Perth the Greatest Team of all!

Mine are the Royals!!!
Now we all know why you are insane.

Port1978
31 Oct 2004, 23:19
second that!
GO YOU GOOD THINGS
Pity my mate won't be back playing for em this year, still recovering from cartilage replacement. Larks will be great next year but!

Yeah.....GO SAMMY!!!! :)
We're probably gonna need him more next season with Smithy likely to be off to the AFL :(

wellsy
1 Nov 2004, 00:23
Yeah.....GO SAMMY!!!! :)
We're probably gonna need him more next season with Smithy likely to be off to the AFL :(

If Smith does go i think Subi could struggle for a forward to kick the bags of goals they need unless they sign someone else. You are pretty dominate around the other areas of the field but up forward you wont be the same without Smith thats for sure.

eagleskickass
1 Nov 2004, 18:59
wellsy, did you not see Larkins in the GF? Im more than certain a whole year up forward would net him heaps of goals, he spent a fair chunk of time down back. Anyway, MAYBE west coast will take smith so Subi can keep him:D

Carn Subi!

(Sam is actually a really top bloke as well as a good footballer!)

masai
2 Nov 2004, 10:59
Duckies.

Where are the sons of Nowotny, Boucher, Mullooly, Baker, Narkle, Shine etc?.

wellsy
2 Nov 2004, 23:48
wellsy, did you not see Larkins in the GF? Im more than certain a whole year up forward would net him heaps of goals, he spent a fair chunk of time down back. Anyway, MAYBE west coast will take smith so Subi can keep him:D

Carn Subi!

(Sam is actually a really top bloke as well as a good footballer!)

Nah i didnt watch the GF, i had it on but i wasnt concentrating and then i thought going to play a game of tennis was better so i did that :D

What happened? :D

I just think Smith is a very vital cog of the Subi machine although he can be replaced if need be i just dont think it will be the same. So many of your goals obviously went through Smith but now you will have to find other outlets. Lets say Larkins kicks 40 goals there is another 60 goals to find from other avenues to make up for Smith's absence (if he leaves or gets picked up mind you). Easy in principle, harder in practice really.

zero
3 Nov 2004, 00:03
my granddad played for claremont colts before missing out on a senior playing career to go and fight the germans in north africa. every one of his many, many spawn have been claremont fans ever since