View Full Version : Lynch=Disgrace

fevola_rockz25
25 Oct 2004, 21:03
What a pathetic member of afl football.
Alastair Lynch Get Lost and don't come back. You disgraced yourself on Garnd Final day 2004 and you have given cheap shots all your career.

Danni
25 Oct 2004, 21:18
Alastair Lynch Get Lost and don't come back. You disgraced yourself on Garnd Final day 2004 and you have given cheap shots all your career.

He may have lost his cool way more than necessary on GF day, but to surmise he was a disgrace for his entire career is nothing short of a cheap shot by you.

I like many on this board have had ample opportunities over the years to make his acquaintance. A gentleman through and through. A man who went through one of the most debilitating illnesses that has no specific treatment and came out the other side to still be able to get out on the field and play the game he loved, and in doing so open his personal plight up to public scrutiny and become an unofficial mentor to those suffering the same illness around the nation.

To wander into the Lions board and slight such a man to his supporters is a cheaper shot than any punch Lynch threw on GF day.

joshhem
25 Oct 2004, 21:27
No point arguing, this just wreeks of jealosy....

The Gunner
25 Oct 2004, 22:26
what a pathetic member of big footy

Lady Lawrence
25 Oct 2004, 22:32
Oh dear YAWN - when will they ever learn - zero tolerance rule applied. Poster banned from this board.

On the subject of Lynch. Gentleman through and through, gonna miss him heaps. Came to Brisbane when few others wanted to and reaped the rewards, through the adversity of health issues and the rest as they say is history. A true champion.

NoelMugavin
26 Oct 2004, 00:13
An absolute legend is Lynchy!

Need i say any more. What Pikey said. May the detractors enjoy their bunk beds.

Arsene Wenger
26 Oct 2004, 00:25
greta player -- left on a disappointing note which will be remembered by all

Danni
26 Oct 2004, 00:31

Not by all - only by those who want to remember him that way.

Me? It might have been 3 full seasons ago now, but my most permiating memory of Alastair Lynch is his face, his emotion, his actions, his celebration at the final siren of the 2001 GF with the ball in his hands. It's been like that ever since that moment, and nothing has changed with 2 further GF wins and the GF loss this year.

Someone mentions Al, and that moment at the end of the 2001 GF is the picture that immediately leaps into my mind.

wickedwitch
26 Oct 2004, 07:40
it's going to take a while to get used to seeing the goal square without him. his command there (especially in most of his encounters with the bunk-bed boys) was a joy to see. wouldn't you just love to see a highlights reel of Lynchy's great tussles.
...and yair...what Pikey said!!

Homer
26 Oct 2004, 08:45
The amount of intellect involved in the initial post is overwhelming... To be so smart must hurt that blokes brain... Although I have a fair and logical explaination... Look at the name again and it all falls into place.

Vidman
26 Oct 2004, 09:56

Me? It might have been 3 full seasons ago now, but my most permiating memory of Alastair Lynch is his face, his emotion, his actions, his celebration at the final siren of the 2001 GF with the ball in his hands. It's been like that ever since that moment, and nothing has changed with 2 further GF wins and the GF loss this year.

Someone mentions Al, and that moment at the end of the 2001 GF is the picture that immediately leaps into my mind.

What she said... beautifully put

Grover
26 Oct 2004, 10:05

im personally very embarrased to have you associated with the same team as me.

Your a poor individual

raffrox
26 Oct 2004, 11:05
Lynch was a champ. Nuff said.

docker_azza
26 Oct 2004, 12:38
Lynch is an out and out champion and a very good bloke off the field too. He is an inspiration aswell. He has fought off his chronic fatigue illness to become one of the best forwards in the game and in finals. He is a very handy goalkicker. And play in arguably the greatest side in the AFL era and win three consecutive flags. His 2001 celebration when the siren went and that goal he kicked whil he slipped then went up and goaled from almost 50m out around his shoulder in the second term of the 2003 GF immediately spring to mind as Lynch's trademark moments. At the age of 36 and still playing career best footy that has got to be something remarkable. Brisbane will sorely miss him.

Hopefully though Bradshaw can take his role and become Brisbanes best forward and they continue to have more strong tilts at the flag and become greater than the Hawthorn sides in the 1980's and very early 1990's.

Lynch is a great legend of the AFL.

To cheap shot Brisbane fans with that shot at Lynch that that fev character just did is just so weak and stupid.

Vic Crow
26 Oct 2004, 12:40
Lynch was always one of my favourite non-Adelaide players. An awesome player and seemingly a great guy. My favourite Lynch moment was when he grabbed his own neck to symbolise the Bulldogs' choke. That must've been back in 2000 or 2001 I guess. Hilarious.

goaldrush1977
26 Oct 2004, 13:21
What does it have to do with you? You are only a carlton supporter.

Get over it.

goaldrush1977
26 Oct 2004, 13:22

Well said Danni

goaldrush1977
26 Oct 2004, 13:23
Oh dear YAWN - when will they ever learn - zero tolerance rule applied. Poster banned from this board.

On the subject of Lynch. Gentleman through and through, gonna miss him heaps. Came to Brisbane when few others wanted to and reaped the rewards, through the adversity of health issues and the rest as they say is history. A true champion.
Good call LL. I agree.

Amaruu
26 Oct 2004, 16:44
Wonder how history will remember him though?

SpringChoke
26 Oct 2004, 18:30
He will be remembered as a 3 time premiership player who was still able to dominate a game despite being well into his 30's.

Paralowiepower
26 Oct 2004, 20:52
He will be remembered as a 3 time premiership player who was still able to dominate a game despite being well into his 30's.
Not by me!

Vic Crow
26 Oct 2004, 22:54
Not by me!
Yeah, but you're biased. :p

jc67
27 Oct 2004, 01:02
I just wish he'd taken some boxing lessons.
always wished lynch was a crow.

Asgardian
27 Oct 2004, 02:10
You guys must know you're in trouble when "Suzi" leaps to your defence

Anywayyyyyy............

Sorry to disagree with some Lions, but history proves one thing, a final act is akin to a final chapter of a book, it's the important stuff that everyone remembers.

Here in SA, Marx Kretschmer is forever remembered for that match against Norwood
David Granger is forever remembered for that match against the Bays, and his run in with Cornes
Neil Sasche is forever remembered for that life changing last game of Aussie Rules
THAT Collingwood player will forever be remembered for belting players & spectators, plus kneeing the umpire
John Greening's place in history is because of his last game.

Alastair Lynch will forever be remembered for losing his mind, losing control, and engaging in an act of thuggery not seen on a footy field for many a long day.

30 years from now they'll say, "remember when Port played Brisbane", "Oh yeah, that Brisbane player thought he was Mike Tyson"

This is not a criticism, it's a commentary on human nature.

Maazo
27 Oct 2004, 08:10
Sorry to disagree with some Lions, but history proves one thing, a final act is akin to a final chapter of a book, it's the important stuff that everyone remembers.

Alastair Lynch will forever be remembered for losing his mind, losing control, and engaging in an act of thuggery not seen on a footy field for many a long day.

30 years from now they'll say, "remember when Port played Brisbane", "Oh yeah, that Brisbane player thought he was Mike Tyson"

You're probably right, a lot of people will remember Lynch that way. But I find that these people usually aren't balanced in their view of football. For people who are balanced in their view it's when the players ablilty/performance is outweighed by the undisciplined acts that they are labelled "thugs".

I remember David Rhys-Jones for his football ablilty, Libba the same. But you ask a lot of Lions supporters about Libba and they'll tell you about the scratching incidents involving McRae and Steve Lawrence. But, for me those acts are footnotes to their playing ability.

And you call Lynch's flurry and act of "thuggery". Thuggery is Brodie Holland on Paul Williams, Steve Baker on Kane Johnson. When a player has no inkling of what is coming, that is thuggery.

Look at the tapess and you can clearly saying to Wakelin "do you wanna go?" Wakelin nods and says "yeah, have a go". That IMO is not thuggery is two blokes having a fight. In no way do I condone it - quite the opposite. But, as you say he lost control.

But I agree that history will probably focus on the more memorable incidents of recent GF's and forget that Lynch was one hell of a full-forward.

Homer
27 Oct 2004, 09:00
Geez, its amazing how its Collingwood, Essendon and Port Adelaide people suffering from reds under the bed.

Port... Pickett and Burgoyne? Shall we go through their misdemeanours off-field and hang draw and quarter them for it?

Lynchy played 300 games without an issue, he get irritated by a little whiny girl and says "Bugger it, he is ********ing me off, I may as well have a go" but does manage to show great sportsmanship and shake his hand and give a congratulatory word to Wakelin after the game...

Asgardian... Using your logic, the last thing Lynch did was the shake of hand and congratulatory word to Wakelin, showing good sportsmanship.

Lenny29
27 Oct 2004, 10:47
And you call Lynch's flurry and act of "thuggery". Thuggery is Brodie Holland on Paul Williams, Steve Baker on Kane Johnson. When a player has no inkling of what is coming, that is thuggery.
Lynch v Jason Cloke, Gabba 2003, slamming his head into the ground whilst the ball is out of bounds?

Schopp
27 Oct 2004, 13:45
Generally the most recent memories are the most enduring and unfortunately for Alastair that act in the 2004 GF will stick in the minds of a lot of footy fans it was extreme for the footy field and nothing will change that. But to the Lion fans and club he will always be a legend and nothing will change that either.

xplo
27 Oct 2004, 13:55
You guys must know you're in trouble when "Suzi" leaps to your defence

Anywayyyyyy............

Here in SA, Marx Kretschmer is forever remembered for that match against Norwood
David Granger is forever remembered for that match against the Bays, and his run in with Cornes
Neil Sasche is forever remembered for that life changing last game of Aussie Rules
THAT Collingwood player will forever be remembered for belting players & spectators, plus kneeing the umpire
John Greening's place in history is because of his last game.

I think most of us have 'montage' memories of players, rather than single images.

Think about Tony Lockett. I think of :

- a rosy-cheeked country lad in a bad brown suit, wobbling about on the Brownlow stage next to Johnny Platten.
- a devastated, hopping-mad, crutch-throwing bloke in an underground car park
- a brooding madman showing his muscles off to the camera, shortly after hospitalizing Peter Caven on his way to dragging the Saints back from a massive deficit to a win at the SCG.
- a hulking unit hunched over a big torpedo after the siren in Sydney, seconds away from putting the Swans into their first GF in decades.
- kiddies dancing and singing away to 'There's only one Tony Lockett' as he slotted number 1300

Alone none of those images do much justice to Lockett's career, but together they start to give you a sense of it.

I expect Lynch will have some new 'GF2004 images' added to his montage, but it will be a montage none the less.

Paul D
27 Oct 2004, 14:20
Lynch v Jason Cloke, Gabba 2003, slamming his head into the ground whilst the ball is out of bounds?
That's not thuggery, it's a community service.

Asgardian
27 Oct 2004, 14:44
Geez, its amazing how its Collingwood, Essendon and Port Adelaide people suffering from reds under the bed.

Port... Pickett and Burgoyne? Shall we go through their misdemeanours off-field and hang draw and quarter them for it?

Discussing footy issues here is not a silly girly tlt for tat game

Pickett, Burgoyne, Hall, Gehrig, Fevola, Milne, Hueskes, Pike, Tarrant, Gardiner, Carr, Rucciuto, Johnson, etc, etchave all committed indiscretions, but this thread is not about them, it's about Lynch, so why have you bothered to include their names here. Actually I know why, it's a debating tool to be used when you are short of fresh, relevant ideas.

Lynchy played 300 games without an issue, he get irritated by a little whiny girl and says "Bugger it, he is ********ing me off, I may as well have a go" but does manage to show great sportsmanship and shake his hand and give a congratulatory word to Wakelin after the game...

You can hardly say that Lynch's career is as pure as the driven snow, but that is neither here nor there. What Lynch did do was injure himself, got frustrated/angry, lost control, and went the bash. This is not speculation, it is on tape for all to see.

Asgardian... Using your logic, the last thing Lynch did was the shake of hand and congratulatory word to Wakelin, showing good sportsmanship.

This last comment is almost too petty for words, no, I'm wrong, it IS too petty for words, grow up Homer.

Homer
27 Oct 2004, 15:15
Discussing footy issues here is not a silly girly tlt for tat game

Pickett, Burgoyne, Hall, Gehrig, Fevola, Milne, Hueskes, Pike, Tarrant, Gardiner, Carr, Rucciuto, Johnson, etc, etchave all committed indiscretions, but this thread is not about them, it's about Lynch, so why have you bothered to include their names here. Actually I know why, it's a debating tool to be used when you are short of fresh, relevant ideas.

You can hardly say that Lynch's career is as pure as the driven snow, but that is neither here nor there. What Lynch did do was injure himself, got frustrated/angry, lost control, and went the bash. This is not speculation, it is on tape for all to see.

This last comment is almost too petty for words, no, I'm wrong, it IS too petty for words, grow up Homer.

If you are not willing to face up and confront facts, then so be it, but don't pay me out for bringing an argument to the table.

Lenny29
27 Oct 2004, 21:12
That's not thuggery, it's a community service.
You must excuse me, I'm off to kneecap Darryl White. ;)

Chasing the Dream
27 Oct 2004, 22:03
Lynchy is an absolute champion, and always will be.

What happened on Grand Final day was a build up of emotion over many years between the great three time premiership full forward and the bunk brothers. Anyone who thinks that Lynch was the aggressor every time against these two is joking, I can remember one of my primary school teachers using the phrase, "It takes two to tango". This was true 25 years ago, and is still true now.

Remember Lynch as you will, but I will always remember the man who held the ball aloft after the 2001 Grand Final, a reward bestowed upon a man who climbed to the top of his mountain the long way.

Danni
27 Oct 2004, 22:17

Hey this is the comment I was replying to. That ALL would remember Lynch that way. All, the whole of (with reference to quantity, extent, duration,amount, or degree), the whole number of, any, whole quantity, whole amount, etc etc etc according to the Macquiarie Pocket Dictionary - my source from my son's desk.

As long as at least one disagrees, then the statement is fasle. Many have since disagreed so that if even possible the statement is even more false.

You don't like Lynch? You wanna have a go about GF day this year in quarratine and use that as eveidence for his entire career? Then yeah, you are gonna get dissent on the statement.

How we think, how we feel, how we perceive, how we react, how we remember, how we analyse, how we live etc is all up to as an individual (unless of course we are members of some cult where our leaders word is the only truth and our own intellect is worthless).

You guys wanna 'debate' the rest, so be it- poor form IMO for it to occur on the Lions board in a post by a deliberatly antagonistic and ill-informed author. It was a 'get your goat' type statement that ended up with the goat butting him in toush. Let the Goat do his job and as for the rest of us, we'll remember Lynch as we knew him, a bloody great inspiration.

Asgardian
28 Oct 2004, 01:47
Danni, if you don't like what I say, come out and point the finger at me, have me banned coz I dare cut crook on a good player who liked to go the bash.

Have me banned, have all others banned, ban everyone who doesn't fit in with your Lions sewing circle. I sometimes wonder why I, or anyone else even bother to discuss footy with mere adolescents in time spent following Aussie Rules.

Be picky on the word "all", have someone else say Lynch's last act on a footy field was to shake hands, of course it was, he aint a sook, but it also isn't the final act he'll be remembered for. I can cite incident after incident which proves this statement, you guys can merely discuss training issues.

BAH, HUMBUG

Maazo
28 Oct 2004, 07:57

I know you didn't start this thread Asgardian, but are you saying that a thread calling Lynch a disgrace and a thug is a fresh and relevant idea?

The Old Dark Navy's
28 Oct 2004, 13:01
I will remember Lynch for the sheer strength of the man. For how he stood up when the heat was on for much of his career. For the way he fought back from so much adversity with his health, drug taunts etc. For the way he transformed from a star fullback to an all round star that played at both ends often during the same match and then finally a gun full forward. Sure, I will remember the battles with the Wakelins but rather than point fingers, my memory will be that of gamemanship. The sly elbows from both parties, the jabs to the gut before the ball arrived. None of them were angels.

Plenty of us have waxed lyrically about the prospect of someone going all out in their last ever match and hypothesised about it happening in a Grand Final. Well Lynchy finally was the one to do it and added to the spectacle all be it comically. I reckon he would be the first to have a chuckle about his prowess or lack thereof on that day.

Never a dull moment Lynchy ... I salute you.

Asgardian
28 Oct 2004, 14:46
I know you didn't start this thread Asgardian, but are you saying that a thread calling Lynch a disgrace and a thug is a fresh and relevant idea?

Nope, not at all

In another thread on the Lions board about Lynch retiring, I said he was a champion player, I stand by that.

What I am saying in this thread, is that Lynch is not a thug, but that he will long be remembered for an act of thuggery.

Lynch's final contribution on a footy field was an attempt to knock Wakelin out cold. I am saying that act will be long remembered because it was the final chapter, the punctuation mark to his fine career.

I said Homer was short of ideas, coz he introduced other players into this thread, as if they were a valid excuse for what Lynch did. I reject that concept

Jubair
28 Oct 2004, 15:17

Well he (fevola_rockz25) obviously cant talk, he is a fan of a REAL....well....lets say undisciplined member (fevola) :D of the AFL.

Lynchy was a great ambassador for the Lions and the AFL. it will be very sad :( next year when the lions run out without him. Bradshaw will have to fill a very big gap left by Lynchy.

Jubair
28 Oct 2004, 15:22

Well he (fevola_rockz25) obviously cant talk, he is a fan of a REAL....well....lets say undisciplined member (fevola) :D of the AFL.

Lynchy was a great ambassador for the Lions and the AFL. it will be very sad :( next year when the lions run out without him. Bradshaw will have to fill a very big gap left by Lynchy.

If Lynchy's GF act was a disgrace, why doesnt fevolarockz25 say something about James Hird's public comments about the umpire Scott Mclaren????

Mong
28 Oct 2004, 16:52
Lynch is a champ. Have always admired him as a great player and a nice guy.

Mong

Tezmyster
28 Oct 2004, 23:25
Alastair Lynch Get Lost and don't come back. You disgraced yourself on Garnd Final day 2004 and you have given cheap shots all your career.A true Carlton fan here, only took him about a month after the event to think of this and post it :p

The Old Dark Navy's
28 Oct 2004, 23:28
A true Carlton fan here, only took him about a month after the event to think of this and post it :pI'm a true Carlton supporter. Please don't generalise.

Tezmyster
29 Oct 2004, 00:17
I'm a true Carlton supporter. Please don't generalise.Stereotyping people and groups is unfortunately part of the game, but as with yourself there are always exceptions :cool:

roweman
29 Oct 2004, 01:25

i don't disagree with a majority of the sentiments in this thread and will always remember lynch as a champion, especially as he would always towel up the crows.....

but if he didn't punch like an old woman and had've connected with wakelins jaw, do you think he would've visited him in hospital and congratulated him on his victory then??? you surely cannot suggest that anything alistair did on grand final day remotely demonstrated any kind of sportsmanship.....i would suggest the handshake was out of sheer embarassment as the realisation of his actions had sunk in whilst taking his seat on the pine.....disapointing way to leave the game for such a great....

Maazo
29 Oct 2004, 08:45
Nope, not at all

In another thread on the Lions board about Lynch retiring, I said he was a champion player, I stand by that.

What I am saying in this thread, is that Lynch is not a thug, but that he will long be remembered for an act of thuggery.

Lynch's final contribution on a footy field was an attempt to knock Wakelin out cold. I am saying that act will be long remembered because it was the final chapter, the punctuation mark to his fine career.

I said Homer was short of ideas, coz he introduced other players into this thread, as if they were a valid excuse for what Lynch did. I reject that concept

Fair enough.

I still dispute your use of the word "thuggery", but I guess it's a moot point.

Matt123
6 Nov 2004, 18:56
I will remember Lynch for the sheer strength of the man. For how he stood up when the heat was on for much of his career. For the way he fought back from so much adversity with his health, drug taunts etc. For the way he transformed from a star fullback to an all round star that played at both ends often during the same match and then finally a gun full forward. Sure, I will remember the battles with the Wakelins but rather than point fingers, my memory will be that of gamemanship. The sly elbows from both parties, the jabs to the gut before the ball arrived. None of them were angels.

Plenty of us have waxed lyrically about the prospect of someone going all out in their last ever match and hypothesised about it happening in a Grand Final. Well Lynchy finally was the one to do it and added to the spectacle all be it comically. I reckon he would be the first to have a chuckle about his prowess or lack thereof on that day.

Never a dull moment Lynchy ... I salute you.

Personally, I think he would be utterly embarrassed with himself and be disgusted with his unsportsman like conduct in what he will always now be remembered for.

BrisGirl
6 Nov 2004, 23:42

Go away you sad person....

Alastair is a Champion here

viccles
7 Nov 2004, 07:48
I think people will forget about Grand Final day and remember what a great performer he was on the field...I know I will

The Old Dark Navy's
7 Nov 2004, 16:14
Personally, I think he would be utterly embarrassed with himself and be disgusted with his unsportsman like conduct in what he will always now be remembered for.As you must be with the quality of your post.

Matt123
8 Nov 2004, 17:28
Why, I think my post is spot on with what most people think other than Brisbane supporters.

Eagles_Rock
8 Nov 2004, 19:56
As you must be with the quality of your post.
Such a good thing to see Blues supporters looking up for each other. :)

Homer
9 Nov 2004, 07:40
Why, I think my post is spot on with what most people think other than Brisbane supporters.

It seems to be a common thread from Collingwood supporters... "Because I think so, everyone else must".

Jubair
9 Nov 2004, 10:03
Personally, I think he would be utterly embarrassed with himself and be disgusted with his unsportsman like conduct in what he will always now be remembered for.

oy u dont say anything about Rocca's astrayed elbow in the PF 2003, that is what most people remembers him for, how he killed the Pies only chance in every 10 or so years of winning a flag.

Jubair
9 Nov 2004, 10:04
It seems to be a common thread from Collingwood supporters... "Because I think so, everyone else must".

spot on Homer! :cool:

Matt123
9 Nov 2004, 15:31
You ask the general football community what they now think about Lynch, and it will be along the same lines as what I think about him.

Jubair
9 Nov 2004, 16:06
u mean the general collingwood community.

Tezmyster
9 Nov 2004, 16:20
You ask the general football community what they now think about Lynch, and it will be along the same lines as what I think about him.You ask the general football community what they think of any high profile player outside of their team and the reaction will typically be the same.

Ask anyone serious about the game who follows and respects every player in it and you'll get a completely different reaction. I'm not a big Collingwood fan, but I know who the great players are, and no matter what stupid things they do you'll never find me in here lowering myself to the level you are now by picking on one individual mistake.

Jubair
9 Nov 2004, 16:26
You ask the general football community what they think of any high profile player outside of their team and the reaction will typically be the same.

Ask anyone serious about the game who follows and respects every player in it and you'll get a completely different reaction. I'm not a big Collingwood fan, but I know who the great players are, and no matter what stupid things they do you'll never find me in here lowering myself to the level you are now by picking on one individual mistake.

very thoughtful tezmyster. :) i should have thought of that.! :o

Vic Crow
9 Nov 2004, 16:32
oy u dont say anything about Rocca's astrayed elbow in the PF 2003, that is what most people remembers him for, how he killed the Pies only chance in every 10 or so years of winning a flag.
Nah, they weren't a chance anyway. :p

Matt123
9 Nov 2004, 17:20
I'm just saying, Lynch will be remembered, rightly or wrongly, for what he did on Grand Final day. Part of the reason for this is because he is never playing again and Grand Final day will be the lasting impression the football community has of him. Look, I don't think it was that bad what he did, because he didn't even connect. If he'd been fair dinkum, he would have got wakelin with one of those punches. And I must say, the fine he received was outrageous. Look at all the fines in court for very serious offences. Often they are not more than $500. Lynch was a champion footballer but my opinion is that he will be remembered for his conduct on Grand Final day.

Lenny29
9 Nov 2004, 18:15
I'm not a big Collingwood fan, but I know who the great players are, and no matter what stupid things they do you'll never find me in here lowering myself to the level you are now by picking on one individual mistake.
My feelings on Lynch are well known, but they were there long before the '04 Grand Final.

troppo
9 Nov 2004, 22:29
I only get to a couple of games every year but was lucky enough to be at the Gabba this season for the clash against the magpies. Unfortunatley a feral family of magpie supporters were sitting right behind us. Everytime Lynchy went near the ball they called him Captain Snooze (ha ha very funny). Late in the game as Lynchy kicked his seventh goal I turned to check their reaction. The feral family of magpie supporters had fled. Lynchy your a legend. :)