View Full Version : Crows big footy Pre-season (Real Crows Supporters Only)

Capitalist
5 Nov 2004, 09:36
Since the Lads are back in training for 05' I think it is time that we started working out how we can be better supporters to help the guys out in what could possibly be a tough year.

Going on the Neil Craig Theory we first we need to identify where we can improve and then work out how we can improve in areas

Top of my List is crowd noise and interaction, while we improved last year it is still not up to scratch (ie we don’t have international standard support)

I have thought of some ways to improve this but do we have any other things that need to be looked at. (yes I would love to get rid of the crap on the big screen but I can’t so don’t complain about that PLEASE !!)

So guys any ideas

Crowked
5 Nov 2004, 10:01
Since the Lads are back in training for 05' I think it is time that we started working out how we can be better supporters to help the guys out in what could possibly be a tough year.

Going on the Neil Craig Theory we first we need to identify where we can improve and then work out how we can improve in areas

Top of my List is crowd noise and interaction, while we improved last year it is still not up to scratch (ie we don’t have international standard support)

I have thought of some ways to improve this but do we have any other things that need to be looked at. (yes I would love to get rid of the crap on the big screen but I can’t so don’t complain about that PLEASE !!)

So guys any ideas

Put an age limit on season tickets. Where my seat is, I am surrounded by oldies who dont make any noise at all. If you say anything out loud they all give you the evil eye. So I spend most of my time behind the goals with real supporters.

You have to wonder what the hell they go for. They sit there, say nothing, dont wear any Crows gear and bag anyone who cheers loud, some of them cant even see or hear whats going on because their eye sight is shot and they have their hearing aids turned down. I just dont get it and I'm sick of it, we have gotta have a clean out and recruit some new younger supporters.

Capitalist
5 Nov 2004, 10:04
Put an age limit on season tickets. Where my seat is, I am surrounded by oldies who dont make any noise at all. If you say anything out loud they all give you the evil eye. So I spend most of my time behind the goals with real supporters.

You have to wonder what the hell they go for. They sit there, say nothing, dont wear any Crows gear and bag anyone who cheers loud, some of them cant even see or hear whats going on because their eye sight is shot and they have their hearing aids turned down. I just dont get it and I'm sick of it, we have gotta have a clean out and recruit some new younger supporters.

I reckon we lobby the SANFL to have 18-40 yr old bays :D (not the bays the people in them)

i agree they do stiffle the crowd a bit but we cant just get rid of them cause they are old !!

Actually i wonder how hard it would be to get a section assigned to something - so if people sit there they no its going to be shouting and carrying on

No 1 Draft Pick
5 Nov 2004, 10:06
My observation from watching the Crows game at AAMI on TV in recent yrs (after leaving ADL in mid-90's) is that the crowd noise is often quite passive. There are certainly exceptions to this but overall I think the noise we generate for the large crowds we get to our games should be consistently higher.

Partly this may be due to demographics - I remember reading a survey that the Crows have a higher % of members over 55 and perhaps also female members (im not 100% sure on this second point), and as a broad generalisation this may contribute to lower noise levels

SpringChoke
5 Nov 2004, 12:19

I wouldn't be too quick to bag some of these oldies. My nan is pretty quiet at the footy, and if things get close she pulls out the knitting to prevent, as she says, a heart attack. Mind you, she also takes a very long bus trip to watch the boys train at least once a fortnight regardless of the weather. She has managed to brainwash her 13 great grand children into being one eyed Crows supporters, some against their will. Her life revolves around all things red, blue and gold.
Just because she doesn't own a pair of thunder sticks and shout obsentities, doesn't make her any less of a valued supporter than you or I.
Mind you, I agree that supporters who give you or I a dirty or uncomfortable look for being loud need to be re-educated in the art of supporting a footy team.

- PC -
5 Nov 2004, 12:54

Your probably right but why not approach it from a different angle?

Have you talked to them about why they are at the game? Have you asked them who their SANFL club is? Find out if they are supporting the hatred of PA or are genuine football lovers...some have even been left memberships by dead hubbies. Become the person in your bay to get EVERYONE involved.

I know the people at Subiaco hate me..especially when I stand up before the game and ask if they know how to sing ''pride of south australia'' If they dont I give a rendition to remind them.After each quarter as I go to the bar I make sure I look at as many as I can with a big smile on my face and get them fired up. I think unfortunately with a 85% home crowd the opposing banter is sometimes lost and also kids today thinka ''get F***** crowboy'' is somehow funny.

My advice would be to slowly get the people involved...or if not tell them to ''F*** off old lady'' :p

Capitalist
5 Nov 2004, 12:56
my question being can we fix the problem ?

I agree with cornsey that we need small groups of people in all the areas making noise !

if you get a large enough group (maybe 15-30) they can start making noise and the the crowd will start to go along with it as long as it isnt to crude or offensive

dyertribe
5 Nov 2004, 13:12

The problem is the crowd is 99.9% partisan Adelaide. Because of season-ticketing, we simply don't have the crowd interaction - the desire to outyell and outbarrack the other opposition fans - that MCG blockbusters or finals do.

But this isn't a problem limited to the AFC/AAMI.

The same problem afflicts St. James' Park (cap. 52100), the home ground of Newcastle United in the English Premier League. Thanks to the season ticketing system and all-seater policy, crowds are so pacified that you can hear a pin drop if and when the team go a goal down - and before the Taylor report in the wake of Hillsborough, the Toon Army were considered the best fans in Britain, and worth a goal's headstart at home.

Obviously crowds are raucous when a goal goes in or when a big team such as United or Arsenal visit - just like Footy Park - but in general it's just far too quiet - just like Footy Park. Initiatives such as 'singing sections', where rows of diehards are lumped together to sing and basically indirectly lead the crowd, but its hard to have that work across such a large stadium.

It's hard to know that the answer is.

Mad Dog
5 Nov 2004, 13:27
This is a tough one......I don't kknow if there's much you can do...I start to squirm when we talk about organised pockets around the ground to get everyone fired up. It might work for a week or two but soon enough people will grow tired of conforming ....just as they have with that ridiculous crow-o-metre. (can that FFS!!).
I can't see banning oldies as an option.....my Nana would hunt you down Crowked - hell hath no fury like my Nana deprived of the Crows (and she would make more noise than half the teenagers)
DTs comment about the make up of the crowd is core to the issue. Showdowns are never a problem.
The other factor too is team performance. I can remember games this season where we have tried our guts out and lost...and the crowd has been vocal the whole way thru.
On the other hand I can recall games where we've been in front early.....the usual suspects (players) have thought they've done their bit and put up their feet for the next 3 qtrs and looked forward to the first qtr highlight reel, fumbling and really poor skill and decision making has crept in...we've fallen behind and lost by a goal. No surprise the crowd feels annoyed and shows their displeasure by remaining silent or just throwing in the odd ironical cheer when someone happens to bend their back to get a ball.
*tells self...dont be negative dont be negative*
We've never been great barrackers because of the crowd split...close games are always loud and exciting...we just all need to do our bit and join in when someone gets going...like the boys behind us on the outta side with the Goooooooooooooooo...yooooooooouuu .......Croooooooooooows chant.
I don't know if a contrived solution is best - but I'm happy to try anything.

Crowked
5 Nov 2004, 13:34
Hold back your grannys and grandpys lads, I wasnt serious about getting rid of them. But their lack of enthusiasm and voice is a problem. I go home with out a voice after every game. How and why the hell does some one bring their knitting to the footy?

Capitalist
5 Nov 2004, 14:52
I suppose I should post some of my ideas

Examples could be

WE pick a player on Big footy at the start of the game we do the old drone voice of his name eg 1st round if playing has to be stevo so as the siren sounds just start with S-T-E-V-O – S-T-E-V-O etc (I think you get the point) also when ever its up his end.

Also when the clock is running down we losing my 5 points – pick a forward or midfielder (anyone who you think could win it for us) and do the same thing, hearing 45 thousand people scream your name is going to give you some confidence

After a Goal instead of just chanting Adelaide, chant the name of the player, lets face it everyone loves and ego rub.

I can’t work anything out for the defence as yet except “kick it truck” or “smash him”

My most controversial would be the possible starting of the Big Footy Crows Supporter Group but I realise we like to post on the Internet so trying to get people to the game to make some noise would be hard.

I realise these should be spontaneous things and planning them is lame but we need to start somewhere, I think once we start getting it in to people that it is O.K to make noise we will have to good old days back when a crows was louder then a State of Origin game ever got.

SpringChoke
5 Nov 2004, 14:53
Hold back your grannys and grandpys lads, I wasnt serious about getting rid of them. But their lack of enthusiasm and voice is a problem. I go home with out a voice after every game. How and why the hell does some one bring their knitting to the footy?

That's Granny Choke for you mate, she's a wild one. I think the knitting also takes her mind of the fact that dropping that second tab of acid probably wasn't such a good idea when in a crowd of 40,000.

Boom, boom.....Sorry, god i'm bored....

How many more days to the Wizard Cups starts. By the time footy finally comes around, i'll be that desperate I will be going to watch Ayres coach the Warragul thirds.

Crowked
5 Nov 2004, 14:57
Granny Choke.

Now that mental image is gunna bother me for months. :o

Mad Dog
5 Nov 2004, 15:13
I think the knitting also takes her mind of the fact that dropping that second tab of acid probably wasn't such a good idea when in a crowd of 40,000.

:D

Scotty's_Girl
5 Nov 2004, 17:42
How many more days to the Wizard Cups starts. By the time footy finally comes around, i'll be that desperate I will be going to watch Ayres coach the Warragul thirds.

106 days. ;) :(

Rave Slave
5 Nov 2004, 18:39
You want the answer its simple and should be done ASAP:

Remove the alcohol ban.

I know some disagree and the drunks can be a problem but with adequate security this problem can be easily averted. Half the chants goin round today are made up by drunk imbeciles and all i can say is that i love seeing nothing more than a rowdy drunk taking the plss out of anyone and everyone.
It revs up the crowd and whatsmore encourages me to buy more beverages
all in all a win-win not just for me but for football in general :p

dyertribe
5 Nov 2004, 18:44
adequate security

Half a dozen old men and young girls in redcoats? ;)

Rave Slave
5 Nov 2004, 18:52
Half a dozen old men and young girls in redcoats? ;)

Thats what i call crime prevention DT :D
Besides i don't want it any other way - i'd be scared to drink if they employed the hells angels & after all my whole post above was basically me trying to incinuate i wanna get sloshed at the footy and start chanting a la wembley stadium again :p

Stiffy_18
5 Nov 2004, 18:58
You want the answer its simple and should be done ASAP:

Remove the alcohol ban.

I know some disagree and the drunks can be a problem but with adequate security this problem can be easily averted. Half the chants goin round today are made up by drunk imbeciles and all i can say is that i love seeing nothing more than a rowdy drunk taking the plss out of anyone and everyone.
It revs up the crowd and whatsmore encourages me to buy more beverages
all in all a win-win not just for me but for football in general :p
Now I disagree with this strongly. Don't get me wrong I like a drink like the next bloke BUT EVERY TIME I have gone to the footy where alcohol was allowed its been with some incidents. Increased security or not, it will NOT solve the problem.

Quite frankly, if someone needs to get on the ******** to get them in the barracking mood then we are in the wrong business. There is QTR time break, half time break and 3QTR time break for us to go down and get a drink. I am quite happy with no alcohol policy. Us being quiet has nothing to do with whether there is booze around or not. Port play in the same stadium, under the same rule but I doubt you would call them quiet.

dyertribe
5 Nov 2004, 19:01
Thats what i call crime prevention DT :D
Besides i don't want it any other way - i'd be scared to drink if they employed the hells angels & after all my whole post above was basically me trying to incinuate i wanna get sloshed at the footy and start chanting a la wembley stadium again :p

Repulicious :D

NikkiNoo
5 Nov 2004, 20:35
sorry rave slave gotta disagree with the alcohol bit (although we have been known to smuggle in some kahula and milk in 2 litre cartons disguised as chocolate milk, oh and some firetrucks too - dads with big bags laden with rugs and food and drinks and dragging two little girls don't really get searched to hard :D) But I do feel very uncomfortable at the mcg with the amount of alcohol that can be bought. The drunks at the footy i have found to be quite angry mean drunks and not funny at all.

The crowd is a problem, I know quite a few years ago the north melbourne cheer squad hard no seats all together for a game. We helped them sort out their problems with the red coats, looked after their bags while they held up the banner, but the other people around us (who include a whole row that says absolutly nothing during a game :mad: ) didn't want them there. They had no idea that banter can be fun, not brought up on the sanfl culture.

Maybe we need to invite my bunch of crazy mad spanish friends to attend a game - I went to a gymnastics grand prix on the weekend and we made more noise there with a bunch of 15 people, which then got the rest of the crowd involved, which the gymnasts loved and so did the organisers. It really is that you need a big group of people that sit near each other to start things going. Cornesy's idead of a couple of people in each area will not work. It is one lone voice, they need a group to start the noise.

jo172
5 Nov 2004, 21:19
Alright i went to the G for Hawthorn Vs. Richmond in 2003 (You know the infamous Center bounce) and they had the Tiger Army. They were a rip off of the Barmy army but they were funny bastards. Bring on the Crows Army
:p

Markthirtytwo
6 Nov 2004, 09:16
This is a tough one......I don't kknow if there's much you can do...I start to squirm when we talk about organised pockets around the ground to get everyone fired up. It might work for a week or two but soon enough people will grow tired of conforming ....just as they have with that ridiculous crow-o-metre. (can that FFS!!).
I can't see banning oldies as an option.....my Nana would hunt you down Crowked - hell hath no fury like my Nana deprived of the Crows (and she would make more noise than half the teenagers)
DTs comment about the make up of the crowd is core to the issue. Showdowns are never a problem.
The other factor too is team performance. I can remember games this season where we have tried our guts out and lost...and the crowd has been vocal the whole way thru.
On the other hand I can recall games where we've been in front early.....the usual suspects (players) have thought they've done their bit and put up their feet for the next 3 qtrs and looked forward to the first qtr highlight reel, fumbling and really poor skill and decision making has crept in...we've fallen behind and lost by a goal. No surprise the crowd feels annoyed and shows their displeasure by remaining silent or just throwing in the odd ironical cheer when someone happens to bend their back to get a ball.
*tells self...dont be negative dont be negative*
We've never been great barrackers because of the crowd split...close games are always loud and exciting...we just all need to do our bit and join in when someone gets going...like the boys behind us on the outta side with the Goooooooooooooooo...yooooooooouuu .......Croooooooooooows chant.
I don't know if a contrived solution is best - but I'm happy to try anything.

Agree hole heartedly. The reason I became a member was to give some voice, some atmosphere. Still cant get those around me to continue to support the boys right through the game instead of just after a goal. Sorry that Ad-el-aide chant after each goal makes me cringe. Even became a bit firey myself with the crowd early on and accused them of not being true supporters and being a disgrace. A few didnt return next year. Well not sorry about that.

As I quoted on a different thread, maintain the passion, maintain the rage and keep supporting vocally, perhaps some will get the idea.

Wouldnt count on it.

Just a suggestion - Perhaps a condition of getting your tickets infuture was all members become Bigfooty Adelaide Board members and had to swear to vocally support the team. :rolleyes:

Markthirtytwo
6 Nov 2004, 09:17
Repulicious :D

Is that anything like a Republican ;)

Paralowiepower
7 Nov 2004, 19:44
Old Trafford, home of the famous Manchester United has a chanting end, for people who want to sing and be loud. Football Park needs the same thing for both Port and crows games.
But would people give up their seat to move to behind one of the goals?
Also why is it no crow supporters wave big flags like the Port fans?

- PC -
7 Nov 2004, 22:37
Old Trafford, home of the famous Manchester United has a chanting end, for people who want to sing and be loud. Football Park needs the same thing for both Port and crows games.
But would people give up their seat to move to behind one of the goals?
Also why is it no crow supporters have big fags like the Port fans?
We dont have as many as you guys :p

Sorry had to it was screaming out for it to be done

Rave Slave
8 Nov 2004, 00:05
The crows army suggestion is a great idea - besides although we love to see our team win when it all boils down the key thing is that you have fun.
So many people take their footy WAY too seriously (guilty as charged i know :p ) but forget about the important stuff - THE ATMOSPHERE!

We should really be starting up a group thats not as anal retentive as some of the crows supporter groups - heck whenever i go to the game and payout the opposition i get told off BY CROWS SUPPORTERS!

Its all a bit of fun and in the spirit of the game. I love dishin it out and copping it back - One of my best memories was laying into a power supporter all game of a showdown and him dishing it back. After the game we headed to the pub together got drunk and celebrated the fact that we had a great time supporting our chosen army and that we could remember (vaguely, damn alcohol) what a great time we had in each others company (albeit bagging each other.

This crows army thing is a gun suggestion IMO and i may just have to look into it more - If we could make a quarter of the noise my beloved barmy army made then the crows games would be a much more enjoyable place. After all, we centrals supporters do it best :D

Vic Crow
8 Nov 2004, 10:55
I guess it's not the same at Footy Park but I try to cause as much trouble as I can with the opposition when going to games in Melbourne.
I even sat in the Melbourne cheer squad once with all my Crows gear, including a ridiculous jester hat and a crow puppet that caws.
I don't think I'd venture as far as sitting in the Collingwood or Richmond cheer squad though.
It was a pity we lost that day because I copped a lot of crap.