View Full Version : Yu-Gi-Oh
I am posting this on this board because I get the impression there's a few more younger posters on here.
I just took the kids to see the movie, and man we found it hard work (wife and I that is), but the kids seemed to like it. Also a couple of young lads at work (very early twenties) are massive fans and tell me that it has a massive cult following.
Am I becoming one of those dreaded old farts?
Would I be going to the footy with knitting needles if I barracked for the Crows?
What do people on here think of it?
?
:D Most definitely & welcome to the club :)
Never even heard of Yu_Gi_Oh let alone seen the movie so i guess that would make me a Grand Master of the Old Farts Club. :cool:
Markthirtytwo
6 Nov 2004, 11:54
Cant beat me, I'm the Great Grand Master :D
Blue Red and Gold
6 Nov 2004, 12:01
dont fret, im only 21 and I have never heard of this yu-gi-oh thing before either, I thought it might of been a star wars character :o
Obviously Im also a huge star wars fans :D
Never even heard of Yu_Gi_Oh let alone seen the movie so i guess that would make me a Grand Master of the Old Farts Club. :cool:
Ahh noddy, we salute you, oh Grand Master of the Old Farts Club!!
As I age and head towards Old Fartdom, you will be the pinnacle of old Farts that like all others I will aspire to!! :p
As for Yu_Gi_Oh, you've missed nothing. It's the latest kiddy craze with kiddy heroes and dragons and all that crap - actually nothing more than a great big money-making rip-off with TV series, DVD's swap cards, and other merchandise.
As for the junior Old Fart, PAfolwr, you're a braver man than I am Gunga Din sitting though a whole movie of that crap!! :D
bluecrow
6 Nov 2004, 12:40
Oh don't get me started. I don't get the whole craze?!! :confused: I have little kids (like anywhere from 4-20 haha - so big kids too) coming into work all the time buying the packs of 7 cards ($7 for $7 cards, $40 for a collectors tin :confused: ). Save your money kiddies!
dyertribe
6 Nov 2004, 13:03
Yu-Gi-Oh... My... God.
portentous
6 Nov 2004, 14:15
I had to sit through with my 2 boys too and it made absolutely no sense to me. Nothing new there I guess........It's not quite as bad as Pokemon though.
I am posting this on this board because I get the impression there's a few more younger posters on here.
I just took the kids to see the movie, and man we found it hard work
You're not alone. I've seen a bit of it and it is hard work to watch.
In fact its awful compared to seom of the Japanese cartoons I used to watch as a boy - Transformers, Battle Of The Planets, Voltron etc.
Yu-Gi-Oh
sounds like a good crap to me
maccas_no1
6 Nov 2004, 17:09
My daughter is neo-pets mad ATM, Im like what??? What are neo-pets???? I know you get them from McDonalds but thats it :confused:
Coughlan
6 Nov 2004, 17:18
Apart from younger kids, i dont know many people over 12 who like it, who arent nerds that spend there whole life playing crap computer games
Stiffy_18
6 Nov 2004, 18:28
Who or what the hell is Yu-Gi-Oh?????? :confused:
http://www.pokezorworld.com/yu-gi-oh/pics/yamiandmarik.gif
Stiffy_18
6 Nov 2004, 20:12
Never seen it, never heard of it
Does that mean I am old????:(:p
NikkiNoo
6 Nov 2004, 20:17
You're not alone. I've seen a bit of it and it is hard work to watch.
In fact its awful compared to seom of the Japanese cartoons I used to watch as a boy - Transformers, Battle Of The Planets, Voltron etc.
Voltron - I LOVED Voltron, especially the one with the lions instead of the cars, boats and places. I lived in Hawker in the Flinders during my formative years so the only tv we got was really the abc - the best cartoons! voltron, simba, astro-boy, banana man etc
Never seen it, never heard of it
Does that mean I am old????:(:p
Nah.
Just lucky. :D
How'd you go with your assignment?
Stiffy_18
6 Nov 2004, 20:35
Nah.
Just lucky. :D
How'd you go with your assignment?
Phew:p
Excellent. Figured it out at 3 am. Just had one of the closing brackets in the wrong spot so it game me a different result than it should have. Fixed that and it worked like a dream :D
Noddy, Macca et al, thanks for your support.
I humbly accept the invite to join the old fart club. Strength in numbers.
BUT
No Yu-Gi-Oh during Video nights please.
Gone With The Wind I can put up with for a little while. Last Tango in Paris, Spaghetti Westerns and anything with Nastassja Kinski is fine (actually the more Nastassja the better :cool: ). I'll even sit through Dr Zhivago if I have to, but please please please, no Yu-Gi-Oh.
Once is more than enough. :eek: :D
Phew:p
Excellent. Figured it out at 3 am. Just had one of the closing brackets in the wrong spot so it game me a different result than it should have. Fixed that and it worked like a dream :D
No matter what programming you do it's amazing what difference one stray bracket can do, and from what I saw, in this type it's even more so.
Stiffy_18
6 Nov 2004, 20:58
No matter what programming you do it's amazing what difference one stray bracket can do, and from what I saw, in this type it's even more so.
So true.
One astray bracket can throw up SO many errors or might give you completely different output to what you are after.
The reason I don't like lisp is because it has a LOT more brackets than any other PL I have ever come accross.
Skippy_14
6 Nov 2004, 21:36
My younger brother watches it. Just another crappy Japanese cartoon. The only good cartoons are Captain Planet and Garfield.
Last Tango in Paris
Ah yes, I remember THAT scene!! :D
You're obviously not quite ready to join the old fart's club yet!! :p
dyertribe
6 Nov 2004, 21:57
Is that the one where butter wouldn't melt in Marlon Brando's mouth?... :D
That's the one!! Actually the butter never even got close to his mouth!! ;) : :D
Leigh Roy
7 Nov 2004, 00:56
What's Cat People like, Paf?
Bananaman was the stupidest thing ABC ever had on - I am trying to find nostalgia about that old Wizard of Oz cartoon they showed but I can't. Astroboy was great as well.
Coughlan
7 Nov 2004, 06:17
looks very crap
Markthirtytwo
7 Nov 2004, 10:33
That's the one!! Actually the butter never even got close to his mouth!! ;) : :D
Actually there was more than one scene.
ITS COMING BACK TO ME NOW!!!!!!!!!!
What's Cat People like, Paf?
Haven't seen it for a long time, but it was one of only two movies where I have fallen in lust with an actress.
The other was Jessica Lange in The Postman Only Rings Twice. :)
You're obviously not quite ready to join the old fart's club yet!! :p
Nothing like a strong dairy scene to stir the blood in Crows supporters. :p
Haven't seen it for a long time, but it was one of only two movies where I have fallen in lust with an actress.
The other was Jessica Lange in The Postman Only Rings Twice. :)
Now that scene on the kitchen table is one i "can" remember. :)
& my back is still paying the price. ;)
Voltron - I LOVED Voltron, especially the one with the lions instead of the cars, boats and places. I lived in Hawker in the Flinders during my formative years so the only tv we got was really the abc - the best cartoons! voltron, simba, astro-boy, banana man etc
I know what you mean about the Voltron Lions. I brought all five of those Lions when I was a boy. I grew up in tasmania and all we had was Channel 9/Tas TV and the ABC.
I was never a fan of Danger Mouse, Astro Boy or Banana Man
However, ABC kids TV in the 80's was legendary. Helluva line up back then, I forgot to mention Ulysses 31, Lost Cities of Gold and Starblazers. When you got sick of cartoons there was always Dr Who, Monkey or The Goodies to watch.
maccas_no1
7 Nov 2004, 20:00
I know what you mean about the Voltron Lions. I brought all five of those Lions when I was a boy. I grew up in tasmania and all we had was Channel 9/Tas TV and the ABC.
I was never a fan of Danger Mouse, Astro Boy or Banana Man
However, ABC kids TV in the 80's was legendary. Helluva line up back then, I forgot to mention Ulysses 31, Lost Cities of Gold and Starblazers. When you got sick of cartoons there was always Dr Who, Monkey or The Goodies to watch.
The TV hasnt inproved at all in Tassie Jerome, there is WIN (Ch 9) Southern Cross which is a combination of Ch 7 and Ch 10 programmes for example at 6:30pm Neighbours and then 7:00pm Home And Away :rolleyes: ABC, SBS and Digital Television Network which you can only access if you have a digital set top box :( I have heard the AFL coverage is very good in Tassie on free to air TV though.
Capitalist
7 Nov 2004, 20:04
I just took the kids to see the movie, and man we found it hard work (wife and I that is), but the kids seemed to like it. Also a couple of young lads at work (very early twenties) are massive fans and tell me that it has a massive cult following.
Would I be going to the footy with knitting needles if I barracked for the Crows?
im 23 and i dont understand it at all one of my friends have all these DVD's (he is 26) makes no sense at all.
NikkiNoo
8 Nov 2004, 20:48
You made me remember lots more of my favourties - lost city of gold! Pigsy! and any time goodwin gets the ball my sister and I sing "goodie, goodie, yum, yum" :D