View Full Version : Night football should be banned
BaHaReep!
11th November 2004, 09:58
I am a Subiaco resident and live very near Subiaco Oval. I think it is disgusting that the AFL is allowed to cause a disturbance almost every week through the football season by having those flaming floodlights on.
The combination of the crowds and the lights upsets my shih-tzu no end and he often then barks through the night.
I have spoken to Subiaco Mayor Tony Costa about the problem at length and he is considering putting up large black blankets on top of the stands along the top of Roberts Road to try and stop light from escaping but I think a better idea would be to play the Subiaco home games through the summer when the evenings are lighter and less floodlighting would be required.
I know some of you must feel the same way.
Kooley
11th November 2004, 10:01
I am a Subiaco resident and live very near Subiaco Oval. I think it is disgusting that the AFL is allowed to cause a disturbance almost every week through the football season by having those flaming floodlights on.
The combination of the crowds and the lights upsets my shih-tzu no end and he often then barks through the night.
I have spoken to Subiaco Mayor Tony Costa about the problem at length and he is considering putting up large black blankets on top of the stands along the top of Roberts Road to try and stop light from escaping but I think a better idea would be to play the Subiaco home games through the summer when the evenings are lighter and less floodlighting would be required.
can i please have some of what you're on?
mocaholic
11th November 2004, 10:02
I am a Subiaco resident and live very near Subiaco Oval.
Long way from Box Hill.
riccardo
11th November 2004, 10:03
You do know that the AFL agreement has night games at Subi finish by 10pm to accomodate for the floodlight issue?
I haven't even been to Perth, and I knew that. I suggest you check your facts before you post in future.
Hit And Rum
11th November 2004, 10:04
I am a resident of neighbouring Ballajura and wholeheartedly agree. I am kept up at night by lights flashing through my windows and men in beanies making a lot of noise.
Please stop this at once.
BaHaReep!
11th November 2004, 10:06
You do know that the AFL agreement has night games at Subi finish by 10pm to accomodate for the floodlight issue?
I haven't even been to Perth, and I knew that. I suggest you check your facts before you post in future.
10pm?! 10pm?! 10pm is the middle of the night for me!!!
If you had my prostate you'd understand where I'm coming from!
I simply refuse to be disturbed by these floodlights which promulgate bands of yobboes cheering in the streets afterwards!
The sooner night football is banned the better.
iameviljez
11th November 2004, 10:09
I gotta say that without night footy, my nights until 10 oclock would be very, very boring.
Crowked
11th November 2004, 10:11
We have residents in West Lakes here in Adelaide who feel the same way.
I suggest you either move or go to the footy because its here to stay.
mocaholic
11th November 2004, 10:12
I simply refuse to be disturbed by these floodlights which promulgate bands of yobboes cheering in the streets afterwards!
If I had your prostate I'd be in a lot of trouble with the mrs.
And if you 'simply refuse to be disturbed', then why are you disturbed?? Plus if Freo were playing there, there wouldn't be a lot of cheering going on recently....
Thanks mate, you've certainly cheered me up today. Great post. Weird as all get out, but great nonetheless.
Crowked
11th November 2004, 10:17
Jeez mate, maybe moving is your only option.
Just out of a lack of other interests, how is your prostate affected by night footy?
Hit And Rum
11th November 2004, 10:21
Cant they play night footy only at the MCG and only v North Melbourne. When they fold next year we want have this annoying night footy problem anymore.
BaHaReep!
11th November 2004, 10:24
Jeez mate, maybe moving is your only option.
Just out of a lack of other interests, how is your prostate affected by night footy?
It makes my prostate throb every time I hear "S G I O Go Eagles Go"
Abracadabra
11th November 2004, 10:29
I think a better idea would be to play the Subiaco home games through the summer when the evenings are lighter and less floodlighting would be required.
Your idea's ********house in the 1st place cause Footy is played in Winter.
BaHaReep!
11th November 2004, 10:31
Crikey, is it?
itsintheblood
11th November 2004, 10:33
Simple solution. MOVE!!!! Night footy is here to stay.
BaHaReep!
11th November 2004, 10:36
Move?! I've been here since 1908! I was born in this same house, which my mother built with her bare hands out of mud and twigs!
Subiaco is actually named after my late father, Aloysius Subiaco, who invented the suburb in 1874!
what the!
11th November 2004, 10:36
Any thread that discusses prostates must be good for bigfooty though so continue on.
What a winner this thread is. Maybe you could be issued with the eye masks you get on long distance flights to help you sleep. Bugger the blankets that would be a far cheaper option.
BaHaReep!
11th November 2004, 10:40
Any thread that discusses prostates must be good for bigfooty though so continue on.
What a winner this thread is. Maybe you could be issued with the eye masks you get on long distance flights to help you sleep. Bugger the blankets that would be a far cheaper option.
Do they make miniature ones for my shih-tzu?
JUBJUB
11th November 2004, 10:46
I get the feeling you're taking the pi.ss out of us.
Hit And Rum
11th November 2004, 10:50
You poor old man.
"Itsintheblood" volunteered on PM to personally administer your prostate tests with his "biological auto-attached" tester.
For your sake BaHa I hope it isn't Intheblood.
mocaholic
11th November 2004, 10:53
Move?! I've been here since 1908! I was born in this same house, which my mother built with her bare hands out of mud and twigs!
Subiaco is actually named after my late father, Aloysius Subiaco, who invented the suburb in 1874!Bah. What unadulterated rot!
Subiaco is an aboriginal word, derived from the fact that a land claim was made against an early settler, Brian Ackow.
They wanted to sue B. Aco.
itsintheblood
11th November 2004, 10:54
You poor old man.
"Itsintheblood" volunteered on PM to personally administer your prostate tests with his "biological auto-attached" tester.
For your sake BaHa I hope it isn't Intheblood.
What the.....
Are you smoking something H&R?
BaHaReep!
11th November 2004, 10:55
Marn Grook!
itsintheblood
11th November 2004, 10:55
Subiaco is actually named after my late father, Aloysius Subiaco, who invented the suburb in 1874!
So you're almost 100 years old, and still have a prostate? You should be given a medal.
WZA
11th November 2004, 10:56
The sooner someone punchs you sqaure in the spine, the better. You're horrible at stirring the pot, please leave.
KTHXBYE!
BaHaReep!
11th November 2004, 10:59
The sooner someone punchs you sqaure in the spine, the better. You're horrible at stirring the pot, please leave.
KTHXBYE!
WZA! We used to be friends! What changed? Was it the time I told you I had unnatural longings for your mother?
Hit And Rum
11th November 2004, 11:05
What the.....
Are you smoking something H&R?
Are you offering?
Maybe give some to BaHa for medicinal reasons.
mocaholic
11th November 2004, 11:09
Marn Grook!
Bless you.
Hit And Rum
11th November 2004, 11:10
What the.....
Are you smoking something H&R?Are you offering?
Maybe give some to BaHa for medicinal reasons.
WZA
11th November 2004, 11:22
WZA! We used to be friends! What changed? Was it the time I told you I had unnatural longings for your mother?
HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!
Crowked
11th November 2004, 11:32
You have some serious issues dude, and they have nothing to do with night footy.
Bigger ones than the apparent need for West Ghost supporters to chant a sponsors initials.
Mr Q
11th November 2004, 12:07
Come here little fishy.....
We have residents in West Lakes here in Adelaide who feel the same way.
I suggest you either move or go to the footy because its here to stay.
The fishing's good today isn't it.
I think you should throw this one back, its too small as yet
They're just about jumping into your boat now.
maccas_no1
11th November 2004, 17:13
So that makes you 96, just die and then you wont have a problem, not much light 6ft under ;)
BaHaReep!
11th November 2004, 17:15
Gee I reeled in a few whoppers today.
Cheers Mr Q.
All good fun.
Count Zero
11th November 2004, 17:32
Gee I reeled in a few whoppers today.
Cheers Mr Q.
All good fun.
Tremendous fun BHR :D I got a great laugh out of this thread. I don't know which was funnier, your inventiveness or the pomposity of those that wouldn't recognise comedy if it built a floodlight tower and shone it in their houses :D
scotty13
11th November 2004, 17:40
Yeah here in Alice SPrings is the same. Damn the AFL for the night games, cant get any sleep on Friday or Sat night cause of the lights in Melb, Bris, Syd, Adel, Perth or Darwin. :D
Hit And Rum
11th November 2004, 17:45
Your telling me this wasn't a real issue, I feel so gipped like the last time I joined the save Packers + Murdochs Relief Charity Mission.
You fughing post whore BaHa!!!!
johnnyhoward
11th November 2004, 19:19
i gotta admit, i didnt get the joke until you mentioned the bit about you being born in 1901! but after that, I read the thread again, and its a comic masterpiece :D
SaveFeriss
11th November 2004, 19:36
:cool:
The Old Dark Navy's
11th November 2004, 20:27
Funny thread. Pity that it comes after the rep points have been made worthless.
goaldrush
12th November 2004, 08:27
NO WAY. I disagree.
mocaholic
12th November 2004, 08:29
NO WAY. I disagree.
It's taken until page three of this thread for most of the punters to see the light. And what do we get to at the end? <sigh....>
goaldrush
12th November 2004, 08:40
It's taken until page three of this thread for most of the punters to see the light. And what do we get to at the end? <sigh....>
:rolleyes:
joshhem
12th November 2004, 08:56
The story so far:
http://www.win-the-lotto.com/u/04/315/18/suzi.jpg
W.C. Fry
12th November 2004, 09:38
I too disagree!
I live right opposite to subiaco but i dont mind the night games because the extra light helps my grass grow better after all those silly people trample all over my lawn. I would like subi to have night games every weekend.
docker_azza
12th November 2004, 09:59
I disagree. The simple fact is that the oval came before those trendy townhouses nearby. Long before them. If people chosse to live there than they have to put up with the cons of living there such as the noise generated by footy games, concerts etc.. Its like building a townhouse estate right next to the WACA ground and all these people move in them and startn complaining about the WACA. If they choose to live there, they have to realise that there are a few cons associated with it aswell. Its the same for the Claremont Showgrounds, Gloucster Park and Burswood.
milo
12th November 2004, 10:51
I too disagree!
I live right opposite to subiaco but i dont mind the night games because the extra light helps my grass grow better after all those silly people trample all over my lawn. I would like subi to have night games every weekend.
No, no, no.
I live near Subi Oval too, and those bloody great big flood light thingies are fading my curtains.
We vote against daylight saving (to protect my curtains) and now I have to deal with this!
Will it ever end.
BaHaReep!
12th November 2004, 10:54
No, no, no.
I live near Subi Oval too, and those bloody great big flood light thingies are fading my curtains.
We vote against daylight saving (to protect my curtains) and now I have to deal with this!
Will it ever end.
I wholeheartedly agree.
Plus the extra daylight makes my cows' milk turn sour.
Plus my trendy townhouse was here long before Subi Oval, which was only built last Tuesday.
Hit And Rum
12th November 2004, 10:56
I am a blind deaf mute who has two glass eyes, a pair of prosthetic ears and I live in a lead lined box in the slum districts of Zagreb. I find the noise and lights from Subi increasingly annoying.
Please stop this immediately.
BaHa listen to us sane people we are behind you. Those who seriously want to stop it have no feelings for other human life and think a game is more important.
Supporting you,
Sukmy Kokubitch
docker_azza
12th November 2004, 10:57
Why, oh why did they choose to build a whole heap of villages and houses near a sports stadium. Why do people choose to live there without taking into consideration that there is a sports stadium nearby that may cause a few distractions. Typical snobs who always whinge and complain and should live somewhere else.
milo
12th November 2004, 11:00
Why, oh why did they choose to build a whole heap of villages and houses near a sports stadium. Why do people choose to live there without taking into consideration that there is a sports stadium nearby that may cause a few distractions. Typical snobs who always whinge and complain and should live somewhere else.
I didn't choose to live near a sports stadium, I chose to live near the Llama Bar.
BaHaReep!
12th November 2004, 11:01
I am not a typical snob, I am a 96 year old who has lived in Subiaco since 1908 (when it was actually called West Kilttown). Over the years they have built this giant monstrosity of a stadium next door to me which would be great if used for constructive sports such as Greco-Roman wrestling or marbles, but instead they play Australian Rules football there.
Moreover the lights used for night games are so bright I can feel they're giving me cancer of the scrote.
People who supprt night games at Subiaco should be hung up by the vas deferens and pummeled with butternut pumpkins until they see my point of view.
Hit And Rum
12th November 2004, 11:02
I will live anywhere that is walking distance from a Jesters. Subi it is then!
Tezmyster
12th November 2004, 11:07
I disagree. The simple fact is that the oval came before those trendy townhouses nearby. Long before them. If people chosse to live there than they have to put up with the cons of living there such as the noise generated by footy games, concerts etc.. Its like building a townhouse estate right next to the WACA ground and all these people move in them and startn complaining about the WACA. If they choose to live there, they have to realise that there are a few cons associated with it aswell. Its the same for the Claremont Showgrounds, Gloucster Park and Burswood.Interestingly enough this doesn't seem to apply. In Brisbane's Fortitute Valley they now have noise restrictions in place due to the people complaining about the live bands there. The area was a mecca for live entertainment and yet people still moved there, then complained regardless. Stupid people, stupid laws.
milo
12th November 2004, 11:16
Interestingly enough this doesn't seem to apply. In Brisbane's Fortitute Valley they now have noise restrictions in place due to the people complaining about the live bands there. The area was a mecca for live entertainment and yet people still moved there, then complained regardless. Stupid people, stupid laws.
Too bloody right.
I heard that if Subi was renamed Crazy Johns they were converting two floodlights to disco and the other two to strobe.
Then we’ll have all those irresponsible young people hanging around popping marijuana and smoking that ecstatic stuff.
Where are the Freemasons when you need them.
docker_azza
12th November 2004, 11:16
Interestingly enough this doesn't seem to apply. In Brisbane's Fortitute Valley they now have noise restrictions in place due to the people complaining about the live bands there. The area was a mecca for live entertainment and yet people still moved there, then complained regardless. Stupid people, stupid laws.
Agreed. If they put stupid laws like that for Subi, then the whingers who get their way will ruin it for everybody.
Anyway I remember Connolly suggesting transforming Subiaco Oval into a 'Telstra Dome' with a closed roof a while back. It doesnt seem to be a bad idea. The lights will be under the roof of the stadium and not on poles above the stadium shining for people to complain. And there wont be much noise heard when the roof is closed. A simple idea that should make the residents nearby happy.
BaHaReep!
12th November 2004, 11:19
Agreed. If they put stupid laws like that for Subi, then the whingers who get their way will ruin it for everybody.
Anyway I remember Connolly suggesting transforming Subiaco Oval into a 'Telstra Dome' with a closed roof a while back. It doesnt seem to be a bad idea. The lights will be under the roof of the stadium and not on poles above the stadium shining for people to complain. And there wont be much noise heard when the roof is closed. A simple idea that should make the residents nearby happy.
No way, I won't be happy until the lights are turned down to "mood lighting", the crowd wear gags, the players wear carpet slippers instead of boots, and the Sherrin is replaced with a cotton bud.
Tezmyster
12th November 2004, 11:49
http://www.austadiums.com/stadiums/photos/gabba1.jpg
Note the height of the lights compared to the stadium and the location of the residents next to it. No major complaints, and the neighbours love the fact they can make money using their yards as a parking lot :cool:
BaHaReep!
12th November 2004, 12:53
http://www.austadiums.com/stadiums/photos/gabba1.jpg
Note the height of the lights compared to the stadium and the location of the residents next to it. No major complaints, and the neighbours love the fact they can make money using their yards as a parking lot :cool:
Will you be my best friend?
Tezmyster
12th November 2004, 13:02
Will you be my best friend?Go play with your shih-tzu :p
BaHaReep!
12th November 2004, 13:08
Go play with your shih-tzu :p
I can't, he's sleeping now after the floodlights kept him awake last night.
Tezmyster
12th November 2004, 13:21
I can't, he's sleeping now after the floodlights kept him awake last night.And what exactly do they play in the middle of November on a Thursday night :confused:
scmods
12th November 2004, 13:22
Actually, the Eagles were playing at Subiaco last night. and they didn't go too bad considering the wet weather.
BaHaReep!
12th November 2004, 13:22
And what exactly do they play in the middle of November on a Thursday night :confused:
The Eagles played there last night.
Tezmyster
12th November 2004, 13:48
The Eagles played there last night.Simple solution, buy thicker curtains, you've had about 90 years to save for them so you should have the money :D
SonOfReep
22nd February 2007, 09:37
With footy starting again this weekend (and a Sunday night game at Subiaco to boot) - TOPICAL BUMP
The Majestic
22nd February 2007, 10:29
I can see the protests starting now, damn football causing peoples troubles!
malteaser
22nd February 2007, 11:29
Actually, news from the wise old heads down at the "Catery". The dought which was caused by the lights, because they use so much water. Have decided to hire Geelong members to hold candles around the boundary line. This has casued problems as they did not know what end to light. They became frustrated and rioted down the streets of Geelong, causing too much noise and damaging the burnt out cars on the street.
vinnie_vegas69
22nd February 2007, 11:45
I get the feeling you're taking the pi.ss out of us.
NO!
You don't say... :rolleyes:
phoenix_rise_
22nd February 2007, 11:46
What a great thread. Worth the time to read. :thumbsu:
vinnie_vegas69
22nd February 2007, 11:57
I am not a typical snob, I am a 96 year old who has lived in Subiaco since 1908 (when it was actually called West Kilttown). Over the years they have built this giant monstrosity of a stadium next door to me which would be great if used for constructive sports such as Greco-Roman wrestling or marbles, but instead they play Australian Rules football there.
Moreover the lights used for night games are so bright I can feel they're giving me cancer of the scrote.
People who supprt night games at Subiaco should be hung up by the vas deferens and pummeled with butternut pumpkins until they see my point of view.
Good work here, but you're letting yourself down by feeling the need to go over the top so that people will know you're kidding.
You need to keep it more low-key, because the more people that take you seriously, the funnier.
Ghost of Punt Road
22nd February 2007, 12:06
Did you come into possession of your residence before or after the lights went up? For most who have this issue it will be a case of: You paid less, you got less when you bought your house.
Obviously for some it is bad luck.
Warwick
22nd February 2007, 12:09
Move.
Angry Dragon
22nd February 2007, 12:20
Move.
Whoosh.
Well in the 3 years since the original post it's good to see something is being done about it with the redevelopment at Rushton Park.
SonOfReep
22nd February 2007, 12:34
Move.
Why don't u make him???// big bully
peppy la pew
22nd February 2007, 13:20
Why don't u make him???// big bully
Great thread, distant relative SoR ?
bzparkes
22nd February 2007, 13:32
Ahaha, this thread made me crack up, good work. I'm quite surprised though at the amount of people who fail to recognise a joke when they see one. Nice :thumbsu:
bzparkes
22nd February 2007, 13:33
Did you come into possession of your residence before or after the lights went up? For most who have this issue it will be a case of: You paid less, you got less when you bought your house.
Obviously for some it is bad luck.
Move.
3 years since the post was started and it's still sucking people in. Sometimes the oldies are the best.
SonOfReep
22nd February 2007, 13:53
Great thread, distant relative SoR ?
Started by my dear old Dad.
Hawkamania!
22nd February 2007, 15:17
Yeah! And while we're at it lets keep those pesky kids off our lawns as well.:rolleyes:
SonOfReep
22nd February 2007, 15:38
Yeah! And while we're at it lets keep those pesky kids off our lawns as well.:rolleyes:
Well they bloody well should, that's what a footpath is for, lawn is expensive stuff to keep tidy.