View Full Version : Your young guns

eagleton10
7 Aug 2001, 00:08
It's great to see the Doggies finally have some young talent on their list. While these guys look like they will be serviceable, I wonder which ones will be top liners. I think the most talented youngster we have is Robert Murphy and I believe he will be a top liner.

sigscotty
7 Aug 2001, 02:39
Right now i would have to go with Murph. But i would prefer to reserve my judgement for a year when i can see McMohan at the same point in his career.
I also think Skipper will figure greatly in such discussion about this group in 1-2 years.

PiesPremiers
7 Aug 2001, 06:03
mitch hahn for mine

Top Dog
7 Aug 2001, 16:53
Murph for mine just oozes class

Westy Boy
8 Aug 2001, 02:27
Which one will be a champion?

Realistically - none. I don't see any of them stepping up to that Chris Grant level.

Future guns/ stars:-

Danny Giansiracusa - Watch him - He does not make a mistake - unbelievable for a 19 year old kid. He never seems rushed, always chooses the right option, has unbelievable poise, doesn't get pushed around despite playing against more experienced opponents who are 10-12 kgs heavier, averages close to a goal a game and manages to consistently get 10 to 15 touches playing from a half forward flank (usually from only a little over a half of ground time), and has top notch skills.... all class - as I said, watch his every posession. Gun in the making. - From the poll, it looks like I'm the only one that believes so.

Rob Murphy- Like Gia, some bloody good signs there. Great skills, courageous, fast, and good decision making - once he gets his confidence up, should prove to be another gun.

Jordan Mcmahon - Absolute bullet, great evasive skills, still a bit rusty with his decision making (and disposal) when under pressure, but a quality talent. Was by far our best player in a practice match against WCE earlier in the year, has been a class above all season in the reserves, and picked up 20 odd posessions on debut in the seniors against Port - hasn't been given another chance to prove himself since except for a couple of games where he got a combined 7 minutes of ground time. Expect him to step up big time next year, like Gia did this season after not playing a match in his first season. Way too early to call though.

Good solid players:-

Mitch Hahn - looks like he'll be one of those serviceable players who'll manage to play for a decade. Strong, great grab, "OKish" disposal which should improve.

Luke Penny - Could be anything up forward.... but down back looks like being an honest toiler who can do a job - unless we find another key defender to allow us the freedom to play him up forward. Only 20, so will take a little longer to develop than the smaller blokes.

Lindsay Gilbee - hasn't impressed me as much as the blokes above, but showed a bit during the Geelong match earlier this year. Hard at it, courageous, and seems pretty smart on the field. Could step up once he builds some muscle and confidence.... hopefully will be groomed as a long term rover.

Unknown:-

Pat Bowden - Still to ealry to call - doesn't look to be a star, but could very well provide a quality tall option up forward (possibly groomed to play FF) if he builds up a bit more and doesn't find the step up to senior level to big. *I see you shaking your head at me, LocalYokel! :D*

Wildcard:-

Patrick Wiggins - Destined to be a cult figure i reckon - gotta love those sideburns! :D Anyone interested in joining the Pat Wiggins fan club please say so here. Bloody huge frame for a 19 year old. 41 goals in his first 8 games in the VFL last year, with a large scope for improvement in his kicking for goal. So possibly a 6'6" future full forward, but possibly a long term ruckman (though fitness a little iffy, imo) ... knee reconstruction will be a huge setback though. :(

Would not have a clue:-

Shane Birss, Wade Skipper; Nick Bruton, Ryan Hargrave.

jim440
8 Aug 2001, 10:32
Robert Murphy for me. Seems to have plenty of time and finishes beautifully.

Patrick Wiggins is the most important of the group. What would you do for a 6'6" forward right now?

For Westy Boy - Birss is built like Murphy and has good skills (good mark for his size) but doesn't have the same time with the ball and he doesn't seem intense enough or desperate enough to get it. Still some way from senior footy to me.

Hargrave is a very light 6'2"-6'3" defender who doesn't seem to be big enough for a key position and is not fast or skilled enough for a flank. Has been good for Werribee over the last month, though.

Skipper has been playing seconds for Werribee. Played in the firsts this week and although I missed the game, I notice he was in the best players.

Bruton; two words - Spider Burton.

Captain Sensible
8 Aug 2001, 11:04
PATRICK BOWDEN-Will be a 100 goal a year player within three years.

And you are right Westy, my head is spinning like Linda Blair in the exorcist. :)
And dont forget the bet-$100 is it?
:cool:

Top Dog
20 Aug 2001, 17:28
Would not have a clue-Shane Birss

He will be a top player i think, looked very impressive on the week end as WWB said and doesnt seem to be rushed and wont make many mistakes. But this is judging from the ressies so i geuss ill have to what and see if im right when he plays his first couple of games, hopefully he'll get to play this week.

bulldogs1
24 Aug 2001, 09:59
I've never seen Wiggins play, so can you tell me who he looks like, body/skill-wise? Spider Everitt, Scott Wynd, etc. How mobile? Thanks. Sounds exciting.

Originally posted by Westy Boy
Which one will be a champion?

Realistically - none. I don't see any of them stepping up to that Chris Grant level.

Future guns/ stars:-

Danny Giansiracusa - Watch him - He does not make a mistake - unbelievable for a 19 year old kid. He never seems rushed, always chooses the right option, has unbelievable poise, doesn't get pushed around despite playing against more experienced opponents who are 10-12 kgs heavier, averages close to a goal a game and manages to consistently get 10 to 15 touches playing from a half forward flank (usually from only a little over a half of ground time), and has top notch skills.... all class - as I said, watch his every posession. Gun in the making. - From the poll, it looks like I'm the only one that believes so.

Rob Murphy- Like Gia, some bloody good signs there. Great skills, courageous, fast, and good decision making - once he gets his confidence up, should prove to be another gun.

Jordan Mcmahon - Absolute bullet, great evasive skills, still a bit rusty with his decision making (and disposal) when under pressure, but a quality talent. Was by far our best player in a practice match against WCE earlier in the year, has been a class above all season in the reserves, and picked up 20 odd posessions on debut in the seniors against Port - hasn't been given another chance to prove himself since except for a couple of games where he got a combined 7 minutes of ground time. Expect him to step up big time next year, like Gia did this season after not playing a match in his first season. Way too early to call though.

Good solid players:-

Mitch Hahn - looks like he'll be one of those serviceable players who'll manage to play for a decade. Strong, great grab, "OKish" disposal which should improve.

Luke Penny - Could be anything up forward.... but down back looks like being an honest toiler who can do a job - unless we find another key defender to allow us the freedom to play him up forward. Only 20, so will take a little longer to develop than the smaller blokes.

Lindsay Gilbee - hasn't impressed me as much as the blokes above, but showed a bit during the Geelong match earlier this year. Hard at it, courageous, and seems pretty smart on the field. Could step up once he builds some muscle and confidence.... hopefully will be groomed as a long term rover.

Unknown:-

Pat Bowden - Still to ealry to call - doesn't look to be a star, but could very well provide a quality tall option up forward (possibly groomed to play FF) if he builds up a bit more and doesn't find the step up to senior level to big. *I see you shaking your head at me, LocalYokel! :D*

Wildcard:-

Patrick Wiggins - Destined to be a cult figure i reckon - gotta love those sideburns! :D Anyone interested in joining the Pat Wiggins fan club please say so here. Bloody huge frame for a 19 year old. 41 goals in his first 8 games in the VFL last year, with a large scope for improvement in his kicking for goal. So possibly a 6'6" future full forward, but possibly a long term ruckman (though fitness a little iffy, imo) ... knee reconstruction will be a huge setback though. :(

Would not have a clue:-

Shane Birss, Wade Skipper; Nick Bruton, Ryan Hargrave.

sigscotty
24 Aug 2001, 21:18
Originally posted by bulldogs1
I've never seen Wiggins play, so can you tell me who he looks like, body/skill-wise? Spider Everitt, Scott Wynd, etc. How mobile? Thanks. Sounds exciting.

Well my mate played against him in an under 18 practice match(ended my mates career, after Wiggins touched him up the Northern Knights didn't wanna know about him), now my mate apparently beat him in the ruck contest, but Wiggins destryed him around the ground, just too athletic. Mind you, my mate is a bit of a plodder in that respect.

I haven't seen him much, but he played full forward during the pre season. Played senior footy in his first season, which under Wallace usually suggests you have got some talent, cos he don't throw them in just for the sake of it.

dogboy23
26 Aug 2001, 18:43
:D I have come up with some players which some of the young guns remind me of i know we would rather them make there own name but i thought it would be an interesting exercise anyway.

Jordan Mcmahon- reminds me of scott camporeale the way he moves and his disposal is similar in quality

DannyG-Mark Mercuri they are both very clever and of similar builds although i expect daniel to be better than mercuri

Murf-He reminds me of a white Andrew Mcleod in some ways the way he just floats around and the way he took the ball off that pack in the first game agaist stkilda

Pat Bowden- I only picked this up from what a friend of mine who is an essendon supporter said but he does have a bit of a James Hird thing happening there.Obviously we would be rapped ifg he turned out half the player hird is

For the record i reckon Jordi will be the best of the players but Scotty Clayton has done a great job at the dogs