View Full Version : Goulbourn Valley Football League

Pages : [1] 2

tige19
19 Nov 2004, 08:17
Does anyone know of some player movements or what is being said in the papers up there about who clubs are recruiting, what sides are gonna be strong what players clubs are losing etc etc.

I know that Mensch and half of the Mansfield side has packed up and left after they won the flag and im sure that Stevens has almost be stitched up by Benalla but does anyone know of anything else up there??.

Thoughts about the League would be great to, it seems the O&M and GV are pretty much the top of coutry footy so info on GV would be good.

cheers

JUBJUB
19 Nov 2004, 08:26
I know that Mensch and half of the Mansfield side has packed up and left after they won the flag

Has Mensch left Mansfield ?
After he was sacked he said he hadn't decided if he'd stay on just as a player.

tige19
19 Nov 2004, 10:58
Has Mensch left Mansfield ?
After he was sacked he said he hadn't decided if he'd stay on just as a player.

Yeah i think that Mensch is going to play in the O&M but thats not 100%, but he has left for sure.

cheers

CherryPie43
19 Nov 2004, 18:28
Saw this about a couple of Goulburn Valley players heading to the WAFL to play at West Perth on the footygoss site:

http://www.footygoss.com/modules.php?op=modload&name=News&file=article&sid=15682&mode=thread&order=0&thold=0

JUBJUB
20 Nov 2004, 06:27
Yeah i think that Mensch is going to play in the O&M but thats not 100%, but he has left for sure.

cheers

Mensch may stay at Mansfield
Interview with Menschy (http://www.geelonginfo.com/readarticle.asp?articleid=13748)

harsh, but fair
21 Nov 2004, 20:05
The reason Mensch got the lemonarde and sarse is simple: he can't coach.
Granted they won the flag and he played a starring role, he had a pretty good side to work with: Trent and Cameron Hotton, Jarrod Kayler-Thomson, Brendan Hehir, Chris Laing, Fraser Stevenson, Josh Walker, etc, etc.
There has been no mass exodus.
Peter Tossol is the best coach in country footy with daylight second and why wouldn't you appoint him if he was available.
His take no prisoners style of coaching didn't work at Wang Rovers, his old club, because Robbie Walker didn't play a game and had no blokes who could step up in his absence and the kids they have got might not be as good as the club thinks.
They also recruited a couple of duds and anything that could have gone wrong did.

TheBigV
23 Nov 2004, 10:15
Danny Stevens has resigned after just being re-appointed coach of Tatura.

goal_umpire
23 Nov 2004, 13:41
Anthony Stevens is looking at playing for the same team as his older brother Grant coaches.

jmain14
23 Nov 2004, 14:30
I didn't know there was a grant stevens, I thought it was garry.

jmain14
23 Nov 2004, 14:38
Saw this about a couple of Goulburn Valley players heading to the WAFL to play at West Perth on the footygoss site:

http://www.footygoss.com/modules.php?op=modload&name=News&file=article&sid=15682&mode=thread&order=0&thold=0
yes, but whilst rochy might be losing a couple this year the big news is that they look almost certain to land key forward anthony 'pumpa' jess. for those of whom haven't heard of pumpa he is a strapping centre half forward capable of big things. a thumping and reliable left foot kick, he might be just what the rochy hierachy require from the big holes left by rasmussen and anderson.

tige19
24 Nov 2004, 08:18
I think you willhear in the very near future that Anthony Stevens has signed for Benalla. The club also looks to be signing 2 former Coburg Tigers along with a few descent minor league players.

Benalla are my tip with Jock Mcpharline coaching to be the big improver in season 2005.

cheers

harsh, but fair
24 Nov 2004, 14:02
The Anthony Stevens-Benalla connection has got a lot of legs.
Stevens' other brother, Brendan, already plays for Benalla, but there is a doubt on the fitness of Gary, who played for Tatura this year.
The brothers want to play somewhere together before their careers over and Benalla has pole position.
Full-forward Ricky Symes will be licking his lips in anticipation of Anthony Stevens pumping the cherry in his direction next year.
He is a century goal-kicker waiting to happen.
Also, bit of mail around Andrew Tranquilli (ex-Collingwood) has signed up with Mansfield and D. Mensch WILL stay at the club which hammered him as coach.
Expect an announcement on the latter sometime next week.
A Mansfield-Benalla GF in 2005 with Shepp United the biggest threat after signing Canberra duo Steve Hazelman and Matt Forys.

harsh, but fair
29 Nov 2004, 18:45
I can report David Mensch HAS re-signed with Mansfield for 2005 and he will be joined at the club by Andrew Tranquilli.
Tranquilli is good mates with Trent Hotton, who is also staying, from their days at Collingwood.
Tranquilli played part of this season with St Albans in the Geelong league, but travelled to Athens to watch his cheese and kisses play for the Opals in the Athens Olympics.
They are going to be tough to beat again under new coach Peter Tossol who has a proven ability to deliver a flag.
Chris McCarty is also set to stay put at Rochester after West Perth failed to clinch him the job he needed to cross the Nullabor.

ANT JESS
1 Dec 2004, 11:48
It is said to be "Official" that Chris McCarty will stay put in Rochester, however also said to be "Official" is that Chris's older brother and 300 game player Simon is on the move to the Mighty Echuca United Eagles next season.

jmain14
1 Dec 2004, 15:01
yes, I can confirm that chris has decided to stay however I am more inclined to think that he didn't make the move over to perth because of a lack in pubs over there with rainbow signs out the front. he is obviously on a good wicket here in melbourne being so close to dt's and all, and I would say that that pub alone is what has kept him in victoria and not because he couldn't secure employment in wa.

tige19, when you said benalla would be the big improver next year were you implying their under 14's or 16's side?? I assume you weren't talking about the seniors, as they have been talking about being premiership contenders for years but continue to let their supporters down with ordinary recruiting.

madtiger
2 Dec 2004, 11:33
I know that Echuca, having been the force in the GV for the last 4 years or so may struggle having lost almost their entire backline to other clubs in the area. Also Echuca yougsters Anthony baker and Micheal Walker have also signed with Echuca United in the Murray league along with Simon Mcarty from rochester and Luke Jones from the Bendigo Bombers.

tige19
3 Dec 2004, 11:01
\
tige19, when you said benalla would be the big improver next year were you implying their under 14's or 16's side?? I assume you weren't talking about the seniors, as they have been talking about being premiership contenders for years but continue to let their supporters down with ordinary recruiting.

jmain14 i think you will find they have bought in a couple of fairly handy recruits and along with there injuries back they will become one of premiership favourites.

Who have they recruited that have ended up being dud recruits?? from what i know the club looks after its own and only goes outside for say 2 or 3 players a season.

cheers

tige19
8 Dec 2004, 09:58
Can anyone tell me how Tatura are shaping up for the season, have Seymour kept all there Northern Bullants players for the upcoming season?? whos looking the goods at the moment boys??.

cheers

jmain14
8 Dec 2004, 10:16
tatura have lost stevens and mark richardson, and not only have seymour retained their bullants players from last season but they look to be picking up a few more. their coach, steve daniel, must be pretty well respected as they seem to get a few (and pretty bloody handy players). i'd say they'd have to be the side to beat, as they were pretty unlucky in the finals this year really and the indications are they will only get better.

madtiger
8 Dec 2004, 11:51
the word around is that Echuca,Tatura and the Shepp Swans are struggling financially so may not be able to recruit any big name players

tige19
8 Dec 2004, 12:17
the word around is that Echuca,Tatura and the Shepp Swans are struggling financially so may not be able to recruit any big name players

Find it hard to believe Tatura are struggling with cash, they always seem to be able to spend a fair bot of money and with Richardson gone you would think that they would have a bit more in the bank.

I know Echuca havent got alot of cash but know nothing about Shepp Swans, Benalla look to be strong this year as well as seymour.

Should be a good season coming up.

madtiger
8 Dec 2004, 14:52
My mail is that Tatura have run out of money and that many of their players have been asked to take paycuts and that some of their better players are looking elsewhwere and talking to other clubs.

footyman
9 Dec 2004, 17:14
seymour retained their bullants players from last season but they look to be picking up a few more. their coach, steve daniel, must be pretty well respected as they seem to get a few (and pretty bloody handy players). yeah Saad Saad and Adam Reid apparently.

jmain14
10 Dec 2004, 13:09
yeah Saad Saad and Adam Reid apparently.
yeah they got both of those plus some chisholm bloke, mark pilling and james kelly (both supposed to be key position players). they are going to be bloody hard to beat hey.

CherryPie43
11 Dec 2004, 12:53
Mark Pilling?
is this the guy from the WAFL that played at Box Hill a couple of seasons ago?

Joe Mama
12 Dec 2004, 21:27
Tatura is very financial, because they raise a lot of money through thier social club and they cook meals and run the canteen, for the many events that the Tatura Showgrounds host every year, International Dairy Week, Indoor Polo, Rotary dinners, the Tatura Show, and many horse and dog shows, and plus they have bought equity in a racehorse, but you are right, Tat won't be spending huge ammounts, but they will recruit enough to be competitive, and if they were broke, Murchison would be one of the first clubs to recruit a few players from Tatura, (they get heaps of our juniors every year, so it's only fair).

Echuca on the other hand has cashed up clubs like Echuca United and Moama to contend with, but the Shepp Swans (like Seymour) had a window of oppotunity to win a premiership and they let it slip, they still have some good players like Jason Rachele and the Yze brothers, but they have no depth which was exposed last year, as they had a horrid run of injuries.

tige19
13 Dec 2004, 09:45
Anthony Stevens will be annoucned to the papers after christmas as a signing for Benalla along with 2 ex Coburg Tigers.

Any idea who the 2 Coburg boys are?? and you would think with Anthony Steven,Jock Mcpharline and Ricky Symes at Full Forward along with the 2 Coburg Recruits they will be fairly hard to toss as well.

cheers

madtiger
13 Dec 2004, 11:32
Tatura is very financial, because they raise a lot of money through thier social club and they cook meals and run the canteen, for the many events that the Tatura Showgrounds host every year, International Dairy Week, Indoor Polo, Rotary dinners, the Tatura Show, and many horse and dog shows, and plus they have bought equity in a racehorse, but you are right, Tat won't be spending huge ammounts, but they will recruit enough to be competitive, and if they were broke, Murchison would be one of the first clubs to recruit a few players from Tatura, (they get heaps of our juniors every year, so it's only fair).

Echuca on the other hand has cashed up clubs like Echuca United and Moama to contend with, but the Shepp Swans (like Seymour) had a window of oppotunity to win a premiership and they let it slip, they still have some good players like Jason Rachele and the Yze brothers, but they have no depth which was exposed last year, as they had a horrid run of injuries.

Moama are definatley not cashed up Todd Viney took care of that!!!

tige19
15 Dec 2004, 08:54
Who from up in the GV area can let everyone know who are some of the signings and the chances of some of the clubs in the GV now. I know Seymour look strong with the Bullants boys ( names would be appreciated ) and Mansfield look to still be strong.

Not alot has been said about Euroa,Rochester,Maroopana,Echuca,Tongala and the Shepp sides.

I would be interested in any descent names going to the GV, apart from the rumors floating around Anthiny Stevens head.

cheers

jmain14
15 Dec 2004, 13:41
Who from up in the GV area can let everyone know who are some of the signings and the chances of some of the clubs in the GV now. I know Seymour look strong with the Bullants boys ( names would be appreciated ) and Mansfield look to still be strong.

Not alot has been said about Euroa,Rochester,Maroopana,Echuca,Tongala and the Shepp sides.

I would be interested in any descent names going to the GV, apart from the rumors floating around Anthiny Stevens head.

cheers
euroa - scott clayton from the kangaroos
rochester - possibly anthony franchina and anthony jess but losing a ********** load
mooroopna - don't think they have recruited any big names but have retained their big name players from last season
echuca - who gives a stuff??
tongala - adrian 'biffs, bumps and...' baker and the fonua brothers from broadford
shepp sides - pretty sure no one cares about them either, think anthony mellington might be coming back to shepp

footyman
15 Dec 2004, 14:46
I was reading the Shepparton News before, saw an article about Benalla picking up a couple of Coburg Tigers listed players. Shannon Downey and Adam Cosham have joined a couple of local recruits Stuart Cooper and Matt Sharp. Sharps apparently meant to be very good. Anyone seen him play? The two Coburg players go alright, have seen them play a few times in the VFL reserves.

NakedDeadGuy
15 Dec 2004, 15:03
As already said, Simon McCarty looks like leaving Rochy for Echuca Eagles, and Tank McPhee (broke league games record in 2004) is a fair chance to be going to Locky.

jmain14
15 Dec 2004, 16:12
As already said, Simon McCarty looks like leaving Rochy for Echuca Eagles, and Tank McPhee (broke league games record in 2004) is a fair chance to be going to Locky.
both are correct mate, only simon is definately going to echuca united and signed a couple of weeks ago. if you don't mind me asking nakeddeadguy - who are you?? are you from rochy??

AllBlacks60
16 Dec 2004, 14:44
I was reading the Shepparton News before, saw an article about Benalla picking up a couple of Coburg Tigers listed players. Shannon Downey and Adam Cosham have joined a couple of local recruits Stuart Cooper and Matt Sharp. Sharps apparently meant to be very good. Anyone seen him play? The two Coburg players go alright, have seen them play a few times in the VFL reserves.

Sharp comes from Violet Town, whom are the Benalla All Blacks biggest rivals. Sharp is a very handy player around the goals but when is "roughed up" a bit he is totally thrown off his game, but in the same token is a very very good player, he also won the Central Goulburn Football League Best and Fairest in 2003. He will be a great addition to the Benalla Saints.

NakedDeadGuy
17 Dec 2004, 19:09
both are correct mate, only simon is definately going to echuca united and signed a couple of weeks ago. if you don't mind me asking nakeddeadguy - who are you?? are you from rochy??
Not from Rochy mate, bro in law is highly involved and I've seen a lot of games over the past 5 years or so. Probably seen 40 odd games in that time, nephew played 3rds and 2nds and I know a few of the blokes there. How bout you jm, I'd guess if you're about 18-23 and from Rochy you would've went to school with my nephew and had a beer with me at the Cri.

grub29
19 Dec 2004, 11:52
Mark Pilling?
is this the guy from the WAFL that played at Box Hill a couple of seasons ago?
Yeah he's from the WAFL.Played with the Northern Bullants a few years ago like most of the Seymour side.

jmain14
20 Dec 2004, 07:24
Not from Rochy mate, bro in law is highly involved and I've seen a lot of games over the past 5 years or so. Probably seen 40 odd games in that time, nephew played 3rds and 2nds and I know a few of the blokes there. How bout you jm, I'd guess if you're about 18-23 and from Rochy you would've went to school with my nephew and had a beer with me at the Cri.
ha ha yeah not long been 23, and yeah have spent a little bit of cash over the bar at the cri over the past 5 years or so. not as cool now as kyney has left and briggsy has taken over. he tends to shut up a lot earlier than kyney and if he isn't careful he will lose all his patrons. looking forward to xmas eve there though as that is always a blast that night. who is your nephew ndg??

pumpa jess
20 Dec 2004, 08:04
ha ha yeah not long been 23, and yeah have spent a little bit of cash over the bar at the cri over the past 5 years or so. not as cool now as kyney has left and briggsy has taken over. he tends to shut up a lot earlier than kyney and if he isn't careful he will lose all his patrons. looking forward to xmas eve there though as that is always a blast that night. who is your nephew ndg??

Anthony Stevens has signed with Benalla, they will be a pretty good side this year and would now have to be one of the favourites.

Mainy, heading to the cri Xmas eve are you?

ndg who is your nephew, both of us play or have played at Rochy.

jmain14
20 Dec 2004, 08:38
Anthony Stevens has signed with Benalla, they will be a pretty good side this year and would now have to be one of the favourites.

Mainy, heading to the cri Xmas eve are you?

ndg who is your nephew, both of us play or have played at Rochy.
yeah I will be there pumpa jess. should be a good night hey. for those of you who will also be in the area I will be having a spa party afterwards. address is rmb 3580 singer rd bamawm. special guests include strongarm and pearcey, and the late mail is that breona may be in attendance - that is if ski** hasn't picked her up by then.

pumpa jess, last time I saw you at the cri you were pretty smashed and were wagering a shyte load of bets ha ha.

** denotes now has a girlfy located in wodonga

ThatThis
20 Dec 2004, 10:04
http://news.mcmedia.com.au/story.asp?TakeNo=200412204472987
News link from the Shepp News

purple hills
24 Dec 2004, 13:25
jmain14 can you confirm that anthony franchina is joing the tigers??

also a young lad by the name of ryan anderson was seeing a sarah tucker from wangaratta for a while. can you let me know what he's been up to of late??

Joe Mama
24 Dec 2004, 18:38

also a young lad by the name of ryan anderson was seeing a sarah tucker from wangaratta for a while. can you let me know what he's been up to of late??

What about Rasmussen leaving to go to Rushworth (two heads country), and Ohlsson leaving Tonny ?, it seems those inbred hicks from the forest are going to be strong again, but back to the GVFL., how do you rate Rochy's chances now that you've lost a few ?.

But, it's too early to predict what's going to happen in 2005, I know is that Mansfield won't be as strong with Chris Laing leaving to go to Mernda (YAY!) amongst others, and I don't think that Tat will be up there, Seymour's picked up Saad Saad from Northcote Park, so they'll be strong in 2005, but like most things we're going to have to wait.

jmain14
29 Dec 2004, 07:05

nah sorry purple hills, I can't confirm franchina will definately be a rochy tiger next year although it seems that he is a fair chance.

yeah I can update you on ryan anderson. he has been offered a shyte load of money by the seoul demons in the south korean league and has accepted. started his pre-season yesterday I believe. yeah I was familiar with his history with the beautiful sarah tucker, although he seems to have moved on from her as last time I caught up with him he had 2 birds on the go - clarkey and jerko.

have you met ryan anderson's sister purple hills?? bit of a stunner from all reports.

hank1
2 Jan 2005, 13:24
Mooroopna look to be leading the race for Blake Campbell's signature, has come out and said Ky, Tonny and Mooroopna are in the race but would expect him to join his older brother at catland. All 3 clubs have thrown good money at him. Kyabram look like they will improve from last year with Chris Atkins returning full time, Paul Newman back from Melbourne/Sandringham, Heath Barnett back from a Knee reco, and a fair chance David Newman may saddle up.
Echuca has local products Luke Agg and Xavier Campbell returning after playing elsewhere for the past few years at Moama and Sturt(SANFL) respectively. They come along with Nathalia coach Dylan Butler returning to take over the coaching reigns.

purple hills
4 Jan 2005, 11:01
yeah jmain14 i met ryan anderson through his sister. ryan sure lucked out with the good looks genes there didnt he. has he gone to korea as a result of falling out with the girls has he??

also saw a bloke who looks like his cousin ben anderson taking some pretty good screamers on a bin at pyramid rock festival. is it true that he is leaving tigerland??

blake campbell would be a pretty handy pickup hank1 except he's too injury prone. he throws his shoulder out blowing his nose.

jmain14
4 Jan 2005, 12:15
yeah jmain14 i met ryan anderson through his sister. ryan sure lucked out with the good looks genes there didnt he. has he gone to korea as a result of falling out with the girls has he??

also saw a bloke who looks like his cousin ben anderson taking some pretty good screamers on a bin at pyramid rock festival. is it true that he is leaving tigerland??

blake campbell would be a pretty handy pickup hank1 except he's too injury prone. he throws his shoulder out blowing his nose.
not sure whether ryan has gone to seoul for chicks or for footy reasons, he seemed to be going fairly well with the birds before he left australia so I can't see why that would be the reason. yeah his sister, larissa, is a dead set knock-out and the reports are that she has been popular with the majority of ryan's friends.

yeah big benny has left tigerland for west perth. saw some of those hangers he was taking over the bin as well, although I did see him drop a few. apparantly the ball wasn't the only thing he dropped for the night.

hank1, are you from around ky?? also, I noticed you made mention of david newman in your previous post - I think he owned a greyhound called tecky's roady didn't he?? showed a bit of promise apparantly.

hank1
4 Jan 2005, 18:17
Yeah Tecky did go alright Mainy, I believe it was cut down in its prime by a broken leg or something. He was a part-owner with some spastic by the name of Matt Doolan, you may know him pretty well also.
Back onto the GV. true about Blake purple hills, don't know what the progress is with his body but if it holds together should be a handy addition to the comp.
Tank McPhee announced today that he is staying put at tigerland to add to his games record tally. So some good news for Rochy after a bleak couple of months.

tige19
4 Jan 2005, 21:42
Ok boys so rounding up a bit at the moment we can say that Seymour will be one of the favs along with Bennala,Mansfield and say Tatura?? if you blokes who up there (from melbourne here) could put up a little bit of a list of recruits for clubs or potential recruits that would be awesome.

Seen a bit of Saad Saad during his time at Bullants and i tell you that the guy can play, he is explosive of the mark and has a great leap is only say 5ft9 5ft10 but is electrick.

Anyway that list of players would be good. Cant wait for the GV to start playing some practise matches it seems this season will be fairly exciting.

cheers

jmain14
5 Jan 2005, 09:41
sorry tige19, couldn't really be stuffed preparing the list of all the comings and goings - I wouldn't think I'd be up to date with it all anyway as all I go on is what I read in the paper and word of mouth.

latest news is that brett warbuton has turned down the tatura coaching job and has opted for another year at the swans instead. means the bulldogs are still without a senior coach.

hank1
5 Jan 2005, 10:58
Club Ins
Benalla Anthony Stevens,
Adam Cosham, Stuart Cooper
Matt Sharp, Shannon Downey
Echuca Luke Agg, Dylan Butler,
Xavier Campbell
Euroa Scott Clayton, Dean Clayton
Kyabram Paul Newman, Chris Atkins
Heath Barnett(Reco),
David Newman?
Mansfield Andrew Tranquilli
M-rpna Blake Campbell?
Rochy Anthony Franchina?
Seymour Saad Saad, Luke Jackson(Reco)
Mark Pilling, James Kelly,
Ben Chisholm, Adrian Wilson,
Ben Bailey(Reco), Adam Reid
Shepp Matt Byers, Anthony Mellington?
Swans Brett Creighton, Rachele Bros
United Canberra recruits
Tongala Adrian Baker, Fonua Bros.
Glen McIntyre

hank1
5 Jan 2005, 11:09
Outs
Echuca Michael Walker, Anthony Baker
Mansfield Brendan Hehir, Chris Laing,
Jarrod Kayler-Thompson,
Warren Smith, Nathan Reynoldson
Christian Thompson, Justin Hotton
Rochy Ben Anderson, Simon McCarty,
Tim Rasmussen, Brenton Gray
Steve Rasmussen, Daryl Harrison
Swans Jason Traianidis
United Duane Hueston
Tatura Danny Stevens?, Lee Warnet
Mark Richardson, James Thompson
David McDonald

hank1
5 Jan 2005, 11:23
as you can see from these lists Seymour would have to be pretty warm favourites at this stage of the year, Mansfield will drop of a little but they showed they were a 10goal better side to anyone else in the finals last year so they can afford to, 2nd and 3rd Rochester and Tatura will drop off and will hope to cling on to a finals berth at best. 5th and 6th Echuca and Shepparton have recruited solidly and will look to hold there spots in the 6. Benalla will be big improvers and the Swans and United will be pushing for a top 6 berth. Euroa will improve but it might not be enough to get them back into finals contention. Kyabram will be very competitive but like Euroa may find the going tough against the better sides. Mooroopna and Tongala will tread water for atleast another year.

jmain14
5 Jan 2005, 12:52
good work hank1 - you're pretty familiar with what's going on in the gv hey. also you can add jeremy campbell to the outgoings for rochy.

who are you anyway hank??

hank1
5 Jan 2005, 18:02
can't let too much on mainy, you know me though. Yeah did here that Campbell may have been leaving but hadnt had confirmation, I think AC at Drouin may be on the cards?
Oh and the Canberra duo to United I couldnt think of are Steve Hazelman and Matt Forys, was mentioned on here by Harsh but fair. Cheers.

tige19
5 Jan 2005, 22:14
Gee Hank your on the ball mate, im keen to know as much about the GV clubs and there recruits as i can because ill be spending a fair bit of time during this year in the GV area so ill see plenty of games of footy.

Been told by a few of the boys that the round 1 clash between Mansfield and Benalla is gonna be a massive game so im thinking of heading down that way to see that one.

Seymour look bloody strong at this stage but they always seem to promise alot and deliever little if wat im lead to believe is right, id still say Mansfield will be in the top 2 or 3 and Tatura wont be far off either, Benalla by the sounds of things look like the big improvers and seem to be the team everyone is talking about with Anthony Stevens and a couple of VFL players and good local footballers coming to the side.

Anyway keep the news coming guys.

cheers

TheBigV
10 Jan 2005, 08:01
Travis Ryan has just been appointed Tatura coach for the next 2 years.

Rebel31
11 Jan 2005, 08:12
Club Ins
Benalla Anthony Stevens,
Xavier Campbell
Heath Barnett(Reco),
David Newman?
M-rpna Blake Campbell?
Rochy Anthony Franchina?
United Canberra recruits
Glen McIntyre

Can anybody confirm or deny if Andrew Mills (ex Richmond) is returning to Euroa, and is Robbie Inness staying at Seymour, I think his brother's plays at Yea and a good mate is the new Yea coach?

hank1
19 Jan 2005, 15:06
Clint Whitsed(Bendigo Bombers/Eaglehawk) is a big chance to end up at Rochy with through Schmidt.
Blake Campbell definate at Mooroopna, got him an apprenticeship to go along with a nice pay packet. Also Brad Maxwell may be returning to catland, they have got a couple more on the go, one from Peel Thunder through Derek Hall, so could be finally on the way up.

hank1
19 Jan 2005, 20:37
As mentioned on another thread earlier, Michael Loughman going to Rochy, he has signed and is on his way to tigerland. Clint Whitsed is likely to make up is mind within the next week if he will also cross to the GV tigers from the Bendigo Bombers. Rochester still hold hope of getting Franchina although Moorooopna are also well into talks with the x blue. Troy Snelson is heading back to Tongala after stints at Rochy and Rushy.

tige19
20 Jan 2005, 19:59
Gee how much has the GV taken off with big name players from all sorts of levels , VFL,AFL, local stars there all coming to the GV. For sheer big names the GV would have the highest profile footballers outside of the VFL playing in the league.

Gc should be on paper the strongest Comp outside the VFL, not even the Geelong league has half the stars that the GV has and i mean the OM has gone down hill in a big way.

Exciting times in the GV this year , i cant wait.

cheers

hank1
24 Jan 2005, 21:05
The Peel Thunder player going to Mooroopna is Dale Walkingshaw.

tiger of old
25 Jan 2005, 08:47
I grew up in Seymour way back when Seymour were a powerhouse in the GV with the likes of kevin "Butch" Inness[father of cricketer Mathew],Eddie Sheilds,Greg Liddell,kevin Hall and so on.
Hard to believe they have been down for so long and its good for the comp that they finally getting their act togeather.

cheers!

TheBigV
27 Jan 2005, 07:38
Danny Stevens has signed with Shepp United.

GoHoppers
27 Jan 2005, 07:52
Club Ins
Benalla Anthony Stevens,
Xavier Campbell
Heath Barnett(Reco),
David Newman?
M-rpna Blake Campbell?
Rochy Anthony Franchina?
United Canberra recruits
Glen McIntyre

Ben Chisolm isn't a certainty to play at Seymour. It seems Kilmore have got themselves into the mix with a handy offer. If the kid is any good why would he waste his time in a second rate Riddell League with the comp's worst side. As the saying goes "Money Talks".

tige19
2 Feb 2005, 06:53
Just got a date for a practise match that should be failry interesting. On Saturday March 12 Benalla will host Aubury in a night match at Benalla, should be fairly interesting as it will be the first time Stevens and recruits will make an apperance for Benalla and also its against a O&M side.

Is that Danny Stevens who was mentioned did he play for Benalla last season?? if so why the hell would he leave when Anthony goes to Benalla?? is he much chop??

cheers

AllBlacks60
2 Feb 2005, 12:00
Danny didn't play for Benalla, Brendon was the one that played for Benalla and will be playing for Benalla in 2005 as far as I know.

madtiger
2 Feb 2005, 12:19
Danny Stevens coached Tatura last year he is no relation to Anthony stevens

hank1
2 Feb 2005, 14:40
Danny is Anthony, Garry, Brendan and Michael's brother in-law. He is married to their sister Cate. Danny coached Tat the last two years to two GF's one win one loss. He is playing with Shepp United this year. Brendan is staying at Benalla and if Garry's body comes up he will be playing for Tat.

Rochester have signed Clint Whitsed, a key position player from Bendigo.

flagpie
2 Feb 2005, 19:03
Just got a date for a practise match that should be failry interesting. On Saturday March 12 Benalla will host Aubury in a night match at Benalla, should be fairly interesting as it will be the first time Stevens and recruits will make an apperance for Benalla and also its against a O&M side.

cheers

Probably won't get much of a gauge out of that match.

Albury only won three or four games in the O and M last year and they finished second last. The year before that they didn't win a match and finished on the bottom of the ladder.

They haven't recruited anyone of note to change their status in the competition, either.

Benalla will smash them.

Another interesting sub-plot to that match will be Jock MacFarlane up against his old club.

He left Albury in acrimonious circumstances before heading to Corowa-Rutherglen in 2002, where he spent two seasons (including 2003 flag with Ricky Symes) before heading to Benalla.

Before the 2003 grand final Jock was quoted in The Border Mail as saying "I strive each week to play hoping Albury are thinking to themselves they have lost something. It was a club I planned to stay at for the rest of my life".

NakedDeadGuy
5 Feb 2005, 07:20
Well you can forget the Franchina to Rochy story anyway. Signed with North Ballarat VFL during the week. Apparently some dollars to spend at Rochy, just have to find someone to give it to now.

tige19
5 Feb 2005, 07:45
Probably won't get much of a gauge out of that match.

Albury only won three or four games in the O and M last year and they finished second last. The year before that they didn't win a match and finished on the bottom of the ladder.

They haven't recruited anyone of note to change their status in the competition, either.

Benalla will smash them.

Another interesting sub-plot to that match will be Jock MacFarlane up against his old club.

He left Albury in acrimonious circumstances before heading to Corowa-Rutherglen in 2002, where he spent two seasons (including 2003 flag with Ricky Symes) before heading to Benalla.

Before the 2003 grand final Jock was quoted in The Border Mail as saying "I strive each week to play hoping Albury are thinking to themselves they have lost something. It was a club I planned to stay at for the rest of my life".

Big words from Jock there, he is a real friendly bloke and intereacts with people really ive been told so for him to come out and say something like that about Albury there must have been a hidden agenda, maybe thats why they teed up a game against Albury.

How have Mooropana gone did they get Calan Beasy or Blake Campbell?? and is it just Shane Clayton at Euroa this season?? both clubs will need more than a few EX AFL footballers to bring them up the ladder.

Anyone know of anyother praccy games to be held?

madtiger
5 Feb 2005, 14:46
Mooroopna got Blake campbell however Callan Beasy signed with the Bendigo Bombers apparantley, There will be a few teams that have been strong in recent years struggle this year that have been strong in the past, especially Echuca and Rochy.

purple hills
16 Feb 2005, 08:25
Today's Shepp News states that ex Carlton player Darren Hulme has signed with Mansfield

http://news.mcmedia.com.au/

jmain14
16 Feb 2005, 08:58
geez the gv is really stepping up a notch this year hey...

that's 4 ex afl players now at the eagles - hulme joining tranquilli, mensch and hotton.

considering the recruiting of other teams, as previously mentioned, it would have to be the most superior country league wouldn't it??

pumpa jess
16 Feb 2005, 14:15
geez the gv is really stepping up a notch this year hey...

that's 4 ex afl players now at the eagles - hulme joining tranquilli, mensch and hotton.

considering the recruiting of other teams, as previously mentioned, it would have to be the most superior country league wouldn't it??

Yeah the GV would have to be one of the strongest getting around especially with the fall away of the O&M. However there are some other pretty good leagues as well like Geelong and Mornington Peninsula with the big Goose.

jmain14
16 Feb 2005, 14:46
Yeah the GV would have to be one of the strongest getting around especially with the fall away of the O&M. However there are some other pretty good leagues as well like Geelong and Mornington Peninsula with the big Goose.
yeah the geelong league are obviously quite strong however I wouldn't mind betting that the gv have overtaken them now. you are right - the mornington peninsula would have to be up there as well, spearheaded by the goose.

Junkie
16 Feb 2005, 15:09
I am led to believe that the GV will give almost any other country league a run for their money in 2005. If I was a betting man id get on them for country champions. There are a lot of bigger name players heading up that way and something that hasnt been noted is the "very handy, yet not superstar" players that are flocking back to the bush.

It certainly is good to see and from some inside information quite a few clubs have had huge numbers on the track......

Also Shepparton will have some premiership players returning in 2005 some 5 years after they were presented with a medal around their necks.
Young Nick Miller who destroyed Adrian Baker in a final at the age of 17 and also Ben Tremellan who from memory kicked 7 or 8 goals up the other end in the same game.....These sort of players slip under the microscope and are the likely types that bolster the depth of teams on the verge.

In my opinion the team with a bit of luck and the best coaching will take the cake this year. One of around 6 teams are capable in 2005, and a sleeping giant from the past is one team who might just come out of the blocks and suprise a few.........EFC! Apparantly huge numbers on the track @ this early stage in the year.

Another Team to look out for is Benalla, with the experience they have gained and the no questions approach of such players I expect the next 20 in line will grow an inch or 5....... They have always had a talented bunch of youngsters and with the stevens boys leading the way they will be tough to beat, expecially on their own bunghole!!!!!!

For me its Shepp, Euroa or Benalla to get back up the top :eek:

footyman
16 Feb 2005, 18:05
I notice Inside Footy today had an article about Benalla. It seems as though they've been shopping well during the off season.

There's been a bit of talk about them being one of the flag favourites, do you GV watchers think they are going to be good enough?

I'm hoping to drive up to Shepparton one weekend to see the GVFL cos the taslk about the strength of the comp is interesting, wouldnt mind seeing it for myself. Any games early on that look like being blockbusters?

purple hills
17 Feb 2005, 07:52
I notice Inside Footy today had an article about Benalla. It seems as though they've been shopping well during the off season.

There's been a bit of talk about them being one of the flag favourites, do you GV watchers think they are going to be good enough?

I'm hoping to drive up to Shepparton one weekend to see the GVFL cos the taslk about the strength of the comp is interesting, wouldnt mind seeing it for myself. Any games early on that look like being blockbusters?

Yeah the Tonny v Ky clash should be a real cracker!!

jmain14
17 Feb 2005, 07:54
I am led to believe that the GV will give almost any other country league a run for their money in 2005. If I was a betting man id get on them for country champions. There are a lot of bigger name players heading up that way and something that hasnt been noted is the "very handy, yet not superstar" players that are flocking back to the bush.

It certainly is good to see and from some inside information quite a few clubs have had huge numbers on the track......

Also Shepparton will have some premiership players returning in 2005 some 5 years after they were presented with a medal around their necks.
Young Nick Miller who destroyed Adrian Baker in a final at the age of 17 and also Ben Tremellan who from memory kicked 7 or 8 goals up the other end in the same game.....These sort of players slip under the microscope and are the likely types that bolster the depth of teams on the verge.

In my opinion the team with a bit of luck and the best coaching will take the cake this year. One of around 6 teams are capable in 2005, and a sleeping giant from the past is one team who might just come out of the blocks and suprise a few.........EFC! Apparantly huge numbers on the track @ this early stage in the year.

Another Team to look out for is Benalla, with the experience they have gained and the no questions approach of such players I expect the next 20 in line will grow an inch or 5....... They have always had a talented bunch of youngsters and with the stevens boys leading the way they will be tough to beat, expecially on their own bunghole!!!!!!

For me its Shepp, Euroa or Benalla to get back up the top :eek:
benalla and euroa as big improvers I'd agree with - benalla for obvious reasons, and the signs for euroa were pretty good last year and with a good pre-season along with some handy recruiting they're sure to be amongst them. shepp, however, I'd suggest you may be overating their chances a little.

Flat Track Bully
18 Feb 2005, 04:11
benalla and euroa as big improvers I'd agree with - benalla for obvious reasons, and the signs for euroa were pretty good last year and with a good pre-season along with some handy recruiting they're sure to be amongst them. shepp, however, I'd suggest you may be overating their chances a little.

Euroa will NOT make the six...

as an early guess, the top six may look something like this

Mansfield
Seymour
Shepparton
Benalla
Shepp United
Rochester

some may argue against Rochester...but I argue they're like Hawthorn in the 80's and early 90's...pencil them in

pumpa jess
18 Feb 2005, 07:01
Euroa will NOT make the six...

as an early guess, the top six may look something like this

Mansfield
Seymour
Shepparton
Benalla
Shepp United
Rochester

some may argue against Rochester...but I argue they're like Hawthorn in the 80's and early 90's...pencil them in

Yeah sought of agree Mansfield and Seymour would have to be the favourites. I agree with JMain though Shepparton will have there hands full making the top 6 and so will Shepp Uniited. Benalla should play finals which leaves the last three spots which could be taken by any of Rochester, Tatura, Shepparton, Shepp United or Echuca.

Flat Track Bully
18 Feb 2005, 07:05
Yeah sought of agree Mansfield and Seymour would have to be the favourites. I agree with JMain though Shepparton will have there hands full making the top 6 and so will Shepp Uniited. Benalla should play finals which leaves the last three spots which could be taken by any of Rochester, Tatura, Shepparton, Shepp United or Echuca.

Actually the loss of former Vic Country CHF Phil Guthrie to Rumbalara will leave a big hole in the Shepp forward line.

as long as too much isn't left to the great man S.Ash, the Maroons (oops, sory Bears) will be very competitive.

Echuca and Tatura will fall away...not even Andrew Walker would get the Murray Bombres into the finals, and I don't think all is well at tatura.

hank1
18 Feb 2005, 20:44
Yeah Jock agree with you about Tat, think they might fall back towards the pack, and Rochester will also drop back a couple of rungs, but I think they will claw themselves into the finals. Shepp have a couple of recruits by the name of Mellington and Byers who are pretty handy so I wouldnt write them off lightly, although they will battle it out for a bottom 4 spot in the six with United, Benalla, Rochy. Although I have Ky and Mooropna still down the table I think they will knock off a couple of the top six sides during the year. Tongala will improve 4 or 5 goals but may still struggle to win a game, because everyone that was around them have improved atleast that.
Full Table
Seymour
Mansfield
Shepparton United
Shepparton
Benalla
Rochester
Echuca
Euroa
Mooroopna
Tatura
Kyabram
Shepp Swans
Tongala

Flat Track Bully
19 Feb 2005, 15:08
Couple of interesting things I heard this morning on 3SR...Kyabram coach Mark Adamson was being interviewed by the dodgy duo and revealed he'd had a knee reco in the off-season...

Played most of the second half of the season, with what he was told was caryilage damage...but no, it was a bung knee

He's keen to go round one apparently, but it may be later.

Also my spies at Benalla tell me A.Stevens may miss round one against Mansfield...

Flat Track Bully
22 Feb 2005, 19:07
More GVFL news...

Former Wang Rovers player and O and M rep Jeremy O'Brien will join GV club Shepparton for 2005.

He's recently moved to the area joining the league as its new operations manager under Eric Bott.

It's believed he knocked back assistant coaching roles

Having seen him a few times with Rovers, can say he's a very solid in and under type whose disposal by foot, like most who use their left, is polished.

He has a strong attack on the ball, and will complement thje Bears midfield Brigade which already includes a couple handy types called Ash and Byers (who have both played O and M in their time)

harsh, but fair
22 Feb 2005, 19:17
Well done Sandra Sully with the late news.
The story about O'Brien was in both the Shepp News and Border Mail 2day.

Flat Track Bully
23 Feb 2005, 02:36
Well done Sandra Sully with the late news.
The story about O'Brien was in both the Shepp News and Border Mail 2day.

Yes it was HBF, however for the benefit of those who receive neither the Shepp News or the Border Morning Mail, I thought it would be worthwhile to make this post.

You don't work for the Shepp News do you?

purple hills
23 Feb 2005, 08:19
More GVFL news...

He has a strong attack on the ball, and will complement thje Bears midfield Brigade which already includes a couple handy types called Ash and Byers (who have both played O and M in their time)

Are you trying to state that anyone who has played O&M should blitz in the GV league?? I believe GV to be stronger than O&M and has been for the last few years

Flat Track Bully
23 Feb 2005, 08:34
Are you trying to state that anyone who has played O&M should blitz in the GV league?? I believe GV to be stronger than O&M and has been for the last few years

Not at all...just interesting that Byers and Ash have also played O and M...as far as I'm concerned, having had close ties with both after the last four years, the GVL is much stronger.

Unfortunately there's no real gauge of that...

bradrowe#32
23 Feb 2005, 14:10
Here's a pretty good link of all the transfers to and from GV clubs:

http://goulburnvalleyfl.vcfl.com.au/memdb_transfers.asp

Rosco5
23 Feb 2005, 21:04
After hearing some of the rumours coming out of Euroa I'd suggest a lot of the locals are not at all happy with the off-season spending spree. This may cause some damage longer term to the depth of the club and locals staying to play in 2005 and onwards. Country clubs cannot survive year in year out paying non-locals. And yes Junkie, this is about Euroa (I do know a few players there) and it is the whisper !!

bradrowe#32
24 Feb 2005, 13:34
You seem to have a fair bit of history with Eurora, Rosco. I remember watching the 1990 GF and that was one of the most disgraceful things I've ever seen.

Rosco5
24 Feb 2005, 20:21
You seem to have a fair bit of history with Eurora, Rosco. I remember watching the 1990 GF and that was one of the most disgraceful things I've ever seen.

Brad, which bit ? Me only getting one kick for the game or other things that transpired after my only kick ..... ??? :mad:
I do have a history with that club, I've been speaking to a mate of Dean's on another thread about the 1990 GF and the fall-out from it tonight.
I know a few people there who don't spare the change at the moment telling about the comings and goings on there. I thought I would share that with you all for what it's worth. :D

bradrowe#32
24 Feb 2005, 21:43
As long as it was a decent kick.

Most stuff that happens on the footy field stays there, but I think that incident transgressed that.

I would be interested to hear your thoughts on the GF incident from Cairns last year.

jmain14
25 Feb 2005, 08:28
Most stuff that happens on the footy field stays there, but I think that incident transgressed that.
exactly bradrowe, as much as you can't really admit it on here rosco that incident was sickening and crossed the line by a long way. I was young at the time of watching that gf but I still think the king-hit from 'luppo' was the most disgaceful and dirtiest things I have seen on the footy field. whenever anyone talks about the euroa and rochy gf in '90 the incident always gets brought up first and is the main topic of conversation, outlining just how major the repercussions were. the result (euroa winning) usually gets brought up second, and I don't think I am just saying that because I am from rochy.

I also agree with luppo's mate on the other thread commending you rosco on coming out with your identity, however I also believe that it doesn't suit everyone here on bigfooty. I don't think you will disagree with that rosco, and understand that in the circumstances in your case it just so happened that way. being a discussion site people should be able to come on here and express their opinions without giving away their identity. people should be able to call things as they see it, and I am sure that everyone who happened to see that particular incident would agree that it was a pretty bloody dirty thing that luppo did.

bradrowe#32
25 Feb 2005, 12:18
How's things Noodles? Have you been wetting any lines lately?

jmain14
25 Feb 2005, 12:55
How's things Noodles? Have you been wetting any lines lately?
bradrowe32, I am not actually noodles but am one of his mates though. are you from rochy?? don't think mainy has been wetting too many lines but I'll ask him and get back to you. not a bad username either, if I had my time over again I probably would of went for terrythripp37.

bradrowe#32
25 Feb 2005, 13:12
I know exactly who you are. I'm good mates with Girf.

My username was a bit of a toss up between Terry Keayes, Athas 'Next Daicos' Hyrousalakis, Nick Hider, Scott Russell's brother Kym or Terry Hecker.

Might catch you in Rochy soon.

purple hills
25 Feb 2005, 13:23
bradrowe32, I am not actually noodles but am one of his mates though. are you from rochy?? don't think mainy has been wetting too many lines but I'll ask him and get back to you. not a bad username either, if I had my time over again I probably would of went for terrythripp37.

I can think of one thing mainy's been doing with lines and its definately not wetting them!! Apparantly he's been saving the wetting for something else and some swedish girls. Figure