View Full Version : Tigers thrilled to get tambling!!!!
itsintheblood
22nd November 2004, 08:56
Tigers thrilled to get Tambling
22 November 2004 Herald Sun
Jon Anderson
RICHMOND coach Terry Wallace has no doubt the Tigers have claimed the best two young footballers in the land to play in the yellow and black.
Terry's Tiger cubs: Richmond coach Terry Wallace welcomes (from left) No. 1 draft pick Brett Deledio, Richard Tambling and Danny Meyer.
Picture: Tim Carrafa
Bar none.
Kyabram star Brett Deledio was always the short-priced No. 1 at Saturday's national draft, but Wallace rated Aboriginal speedster Richard Tambling a very close second.
Addressing a 300-strong crowd at president Clinton Casey's Hawthorn mansion yesterday, Wallace revealed he had "cried" on the shoulder of his assistant coach Brian Royal after first meeting Tambling at Punt Rd.
"Such a talent and good young bloke and yet I knew we weren't going to be able to draft him with pick four," Wallace said.
"We had decided on Brett Deledio with our first pick, but that was a very, very close choice between he and Richard Tambling. So to be able to draft Richard is an absolute bonus."
The Tigers had committed to Deledio with their first pick and fully expected, like most of the football community, for Tambling to be taken at No. 2 by Hawthorn.
When the Hawks chose Jarryd Roughead, it meant Tambling was available given the Western Bulldogs were desperate for Ryan Griffin, who they selected at No. 3.
Tambling was as surprised as anyone in the room when his name wasn't read out by Hawthorn.
"I was very surprised as I was pretty much told by Hawthorn that I would be going there," Tambling said.
"And I stayed a couple of nights with Gary Buckenara (Hawthorn's recruiting manager) when I came to Melbourne in Grand Final week.
"I knew Richmond really wanted me, but they just didn't think I would get through to them.
"There was a fair bit of noise in the room when Hawthorn read out their first choice, and I guess people were surprised."
After Hawthorn had ignored Chris Judd in the 2001 draft with its first selection, it was generally thought they would take the safe option and go with Tambling, who is regarded as a ready-made and explosive midfield talent.
Instead they went for a highly promising key-position player in Roughead, and the merits of that decision won't become clear for two or three years at least.
For Tambling, it was a "buzz" to be standing alongside Wallace and Deledio, despite Richmond's political uncertainty.
Although he remains a proud Northern Territorian, Tambling can't wait to move to Melbourne and start doing what he does best -- playing football.
Unlike many of his mates who play in Darwin, Tambling has made tackling a large part of his game.
"Up in Darwin we don't have that much tackling, so I have really concentrated on that part of my game," the 181cm Tambling said.
"I've just got to put some more weight on, but I've gone from 68kg to 75kg in the last few months, so that's a good sign."
CyberKev
22nd November 2004, 09:17
I would have thought that they would be thrilled...
What is the point to posting a patently obvious article that anyone could read in the newspapers?
itsintheblood
22nd November 2004, 09:20
I would have thought that they would be thrilled...
What is the point to posting a patently obvious article that anyone could read in the newspapers?\
Dunno, just bored and excited I guess. Sorry if you couldn't give a stuff but after a year of misery us tiger fans are pretty pumped with the draft.
CyberKev
22nd November 2004, 09:24
\
Dunno, just bored and excited I guess. Sorry if you couldn't give a stuff but after a year of misery us tiger fans are pretty pumped with the draft.
Fair enough, I'd be pretty happy with things too.
itsintheblood
22nd November 2004, 09:26
Fair enough, I'd be pretty happy with things too.
You guys did ok. Don't worry about that. But I'm still pinching myself you didnt take tambling.
Lidge
22nd November 2004, 09:27
Gotta say I'm thrilled that North picked up the best Under 18 kid (Jesse Smith) in the land with pick 42 ;) who won't have the pressure that comes with being 1st pick, the media scrutiny and a bunch of feral supporters spitting on him when he makes a few mistakes.
itsintheblood
22nd November 2004, 09:53
Gotta say I'm thrilled that North picked up the best Under 18 kid (Jesse Smith) in the land with pick 42 ;) who won't have the pressure that comes with being 1st pick, the media scrutiny and a bunch of feral supporters spitting on him when he makes a few mistakes.
You are a real tossa.
peejay
22nd November 2004, 09:58
Now he is the best???
Jesus he has gone (by the media reports i have read) from a top twenty to a top dozen to a top ten to a top 5 but this is the first time i have herad him called "the best"
Now who is putting pressure on who???
Nightwolf
22nd November 2004, 09:59
Tambling is getting more attention than Deledio!!
morgoth
22nd November 2004, 10:04
Every club is talking it up at this stage, time is the only true indicator of hwo these players will go.
The Tiges are talking it up more than most cos they are broke and need members/sponsors to get on board. Nothing wrong with it but don't get too excited. Most of these kids are a good three years away from being consistent performers.
Lidge
22nd November 2004, 10:25
Now he is the best???
Jesus he has gone (by the media reports i have read) from a top twenty to a top dozen to a top ten to a top 5 but this is the first time i have herad him called "the best"
Now who is putting pressure on who???
Peejay....I used the 'best' tag on Smith just for the argument's sake. IMO there's nothing really between the top 5 picks - each clubs individual needs determine the draft order.
Media pressure and expectations are always on the No 1 pick, as prestige and publicity goes with that achievment. Point I was making that Smith will escape this pressure, and luckily there are 2 other higher profile F/S selections going around (Cloke & Ablett) which allows Smith to slip under the radar - all good for his development.
Who's the best of the drafted players - who knows? Won't be able to answer that question for a few years. It's all subjective and based upon personal opinions at this stage.
As to when Smith would have been drafted if not for the F/S rule (3rd round) I'm not a mind reader, but many so called 'experts' such as Sheehan the youth talent manager from the AFL rated him as a top 5 if available on the open market. Whatever his true value - no argument that he's the steal/bargain of this draft having used pick 42 on him.
And my basis for tagging him as the best kid in the country, I point to the Larke Medal he won this year for the All Australian U 18 carnival which we won as best player (and he missed a game through injury too!).
As you're justifiably happy with your draftees, so am I with this one for my club.
Thewlis Dish
22nd November 2004, 10:34
your a tossa llidge
Lidge
22nd November 2004, 10:40
your a tossa llidge
I know I should stop....but I can't help it....(hope I don't go blind) ;)
peejay
22nd November 2004, 10:47
Peejay....I used the 'best' tag on Smith just for the argument's sake. IMO there's nothing really between the top 5 picks - each clubs individual needs determine the draft order.
Media pressure and expectations are always on the No 1 pick, as prestige and publicity goes with that achievment. Point I was making that Smith will escape this pressure, and luckily there are 2 other higher profile F/S selections going around (Cloke & Ablett) which allows Smith to slip under the radar - all good for his development.
Who's the best of the drafted players - who knows? Won't be able to answer that question for a few years. It's all subjective and based upon personal opinions at this stage.
As to when Smith would have been drafted if not for the F/S rule (3rd round) I'm not a mind reader, but many so called 'experts' such as Sheehan the youth talent manager from the AFL rated him as a top 5 if available on the open market. Whatever his true value - no argument that he's the steal/bargain of this draft having used pick 42 on him.
And my basis for tagging him as the best kid in the country, I point to the Larke Medal he won this year for the All Australian U 18 carnival which we won as best player (and he missed a game through injury too!).
As you're justifiably happy with your draftees, so am I with this one for my club.
I see your point.
With regard to the results of the draft as i said to a carlton work mate this morning - I'll be happy when i see 'em on the ground and kickin' goals.
RodgerFox
22nd November 2004, 10:53
I want to know why Richmond, with all their high draft picks, aren't winning flags? I mean, anyone could coach that list to a flag.
Sorry, just getting a headstart on the all morons out there.
coasting
22nd November 2004, 10:56
The hawks overlooked Judd because they thought he had bad shoulders. They overlooked Tambling because they thought he wasn't tall enough. When will they learn just to take the best player available?
SCRAY72
22nd November 2004, 10:59
The way the newspapers have been reporting the aftermath of the draft you get the impression Terry Wallace was pick.1.
The guy just loves the limelight.
"Get out of the way Brett,Richard and Danny, I am supposed to be in this photo too."
Crowked
22nd November 2004, 11:04
So they should be they got the second best player in the draft for pick 4, a bargain no doubt.
Hawthorn? well their stupidity hasnt been altered by appointing a new coach. A really stupid decision IMO, one that will hurt as much as missing Judd, mark my words.
rampantswan
22nd November 2004, 11:08
\
awesome, you picked up an untried youngster with a heap of potential. You have heaps to look forward to now. Tigers for premiers 05. :cool:
itsintheblood
22nd November 2004, 11:51
awesome, you picked up an untried youngster with a heap of potential. You have heaps to look forward to now. Tigers for premiers 05. :cool:
You picked up a dud no 2 called brad ottens who's being paid a shchitload to do fckkall.
Who's laughing now?
CyberKev
22nd November 2004, 11:52
The hawks overlooked Judd because they thought he had bad shoulders. They overlooked Tambling because they thought he wasn't tall enough. When will they learn just to take the best player available?
Yawn,
They overlooked Judd because, prior to this not at all bold Bigfooty age of historical revisionism, a majority of football judges viewed Hodge and Ball as the better options at the time.
At no stage, did Hawthorn feel Tambling was too small for AFL footy, they just felt that outside midfielders (even ones of considerable quality) come along in numbers of 3 or 4 every year, whereas top notch kpp options come along once or twice per draft.
Outstanding young midfielders will almost invariably look better than outstanding young kpp types, but on occasions when the latter come on, they give you the edge in premiership terms. This is why Nick Reiwoldt won the AFLPA award so comfortably this season (despite Judd win the Brownlow as essentially the 8th best performer in the comp), and why Riewoldt, Tredrea & Brown are the most valuable footballers in the current competition.
Lack of quality kpp will ensure that this current West Coast side (as is) cannot win the flag, but you needn't worry about that because you have such a quality bunch of midfielders to console yourself with.
Meanwhile, back in the real world, Hawthorn finds itself light-on for kpp due to Rawlings & Thompson leaving in successive years, and old crocs Holland & Barker certainties to be shown the door when their conctracts expire at the end of 2004. The best players available were the players they took with the opening picks, and they should be applauded for forward thinking.
Tambling is an excellent "prospect", and while I would have loved to have him at the club, I'll be happier to not have him at the club filling in at CHF while opposition fans like yourself deride us for having a desperate dearth of key position players.
CyberKev
22nd November 2004, 12:00
... mark my words.
Okay.
I'm marking you with an F and sending you back to remedial class.
Kitty
22nd November 2004, 12:53
So they should be they got the second best player in the draft for pick 4, a bargain no doubt.
Hawthorn? well their stupidity hasnt been altered by appointing a new coach. A really stupid decision IMO, one that will hurt as much as missing Judd, mark my words.
Hope you are wrong but have a bad feeling the Tigers are going to make fools out of us with Tambling.
itsintheblood
22nd November 2004, 12:57
Hope you are wrong but have a bad feeling the Tigers are going to make fools out of us with Tambling.
Kitty, the way things are these days, football is a fast game which needs loads of fitness and talent. We're sadly lacking in these areas and Tambling/Deledio will be an awesome combination. The rules are simple. Clubs must choose the best available players at the draft. Deledio/Tambling were talked about as 1 & 2 for months now and I know wallace had sleepless nights as to who to pick. He would have creamed himself when hawthorn called out roughead at two, not that he's a bad player.
CyberKev
22nd November 2004, 12:57
How about we worry about that when, and if, it happens?
Ramma
22nd November 2004, 13:31
Kitty, the way things are these days, football is a fast game which needs loads of fitness and talent. We're sadly lacking in these areas and Tambling/Deledio will be an awesome combination. The rules are simple. Clubs must choose the best available players at the draft. Deledio/Tambling were talked about as 1 & 2 for months now and I know wallace had sleepless nights as to who to pick. He would have creamed himself when hawthorn called out roughead at two, not that he's a bad player.
Not so sure IITB. If the rules were that simple, we would have taken Tambling at 2.
Clarkson obviously identified our lack of KPP coming through, and ensured that we got the 2 best in the draft. With Thommo gone and Holland and Barker (now) obviously with only 1 year to go, we needed to stock on those sorts of players. Plough obviously went the way as you indicated. Who's right? I guess we'll know in about 2 seasons time.
Good luck to you with yours.
itsintheblood
22nd November 2004, 14:29
Not so sure IITB. If the rules were that simple, we would have taken Tambling at 2.
Clarkson obviously identified our lack of KPP coming through, and ensured that we got the 2 best in the draft. With Thommo gone and Holland and Barker (now) obviously with only 1 year to go, we needed to stock on those sorts of players. Plough obviously went the way as you indicated. Who's right? I guess we'll know in about 2 seasons time.
Good luck to you with yours.
I'm not talking about the AFL rules as they're written ramma, im talking about generally accepted recruiting rules of snapping up the best talent available. Not knocking roughead by any means cause he was destined to come to richmond and i would have been quite happy with his selection but all indications are tambling will be a sensation in the AFL and is pretty much ready to play.
CyberKev
22nd November 2004, 14:55
I'm not talking about the AFL rules as they're written ramma, im talking about generally accepted recruiting rules of snapping up the best talent available.
There are no hard and fast rules when it comes to drafting.
Moreover, the concept of drafting the best talent available cannot easily be separated from the reality that the talent concerned has to best meet your club's needs.
If Richmond should finish bottom next season and get another priority pick, would you find it acceptable for them to overlook gun tall options in favour of extra midfielders, merely because the midfielders were arbitrarily rated 1 & 2, while the talls were rated 3 & 4???!!!
Ridiculous!
Particularly when (with rare exceptions, ala Reiwoldt) gun talls are almost always rated a bit under midfielders at 18 years of age.
Yze_Magic
22nd November 2004, 14:58
Tambing is soft, just like Deledio
they will fit in well at Tigerland
davo dog
22nd November 2004, 15:00
The way the newspapers have been reporting the aftermath of the draft you get the impression Terry Wallace was pick.1.
The guy just loves the limelight.
"Get out of the way Brett,Richard and Danny, I am supposed to be in this photo too."
i was thinking the same thing. wallet will be advanced hair's next ad campaign number 1 pick
rampantswan
22nd November 2004, 15:05
You picked up a dud no 2 called brad ottens who's being paid a shchitload to do fckkall.
Who's laughing now?
And gave up pick 12 for him. We will see how good he turns out to be.....
Good luck with the 20% strikerate from the draft.
How many games has Wallace coached the tigers to a win in??
Answer = zero
You tiger supporters are the most fickle bunch, can't wait till you start spittining on him, tambling, deledio and the rest.
Hypocritical morons thought Frawley would be the saviour.
Wake up Tiger supporters for another 20 years of mediocrity beckons :)
Mong
22nd November 2004, 15:06
Gee, I'm looking forward to seeing Tambling next year.
itsintheblood
23rd November 2004, 09:20
And gave up pick 12 for him. We will see how good he turns out to be.....
Good luck with the 20% strikerate from the draft.
How many games has Wallace coached the tigers to a win in??
Answer = zero
You tiger supporters are the most fickle bunch, can't wait till you start spittining on him, tambling, deledio and the rest.
Hypocritical morons thought Frawley would be the saviour.
Wake up Tiger supporters for another 20 years of mediocrity beckons :)
BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA
Ben Graham, your only real big man goal kicker has left you and now you're gonna rely on brad ottens to kick your goals??? BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.
You'll soon find out what he's all about.
itsintheblood
23rd November 2004, 09:23
Tambing is soft, just like Deledio
they will fit in well at Tigerland
But you'd salvitate at having the two best young talents in the land at the demons i'm sure. You've got the best no1 pick there anyway. Travis Johnson isnt it? BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA. Has he settled is gambling debts with beasley yet?
itsintheblood
23rd November 2004, 09:23
i was thinking the same thing. wallet will be advanced hair's next ad campaign number 1 pick
The obsession continues.
Ramma
23rd November 2004, 09:44
I'm not talking about the AFL rules as they're written ramma, im talking about generally accepted recruiting rules of snapping up the best talent available. Not knocking roughead by any means cause he was destined to come to richmond and i would have been quite happy with his selection but all indications are tambling will be a sensation in the AFL and is pretty much ready to play.
Yeah, I understand that.
My point is, there are no hard and fast 'rules' when it comes to drafting, obviously. We've made a calculated decision to take the two best KPP's because of our lack of depth in that area. Because it's generally accepted that KPP's take a little longer to mature, we are basically sticking to the philosophy of building the list over a period of time, and not re-hashing players. The comparisons to the 'Judd/Hodge' selection are nonsensical - Roughead and Tambling are different types of players - we've gone to where we need players. Risky? Maybe. But in 2 years time when we had no CHF, no FF, and nothing coming through, no doubt we'd look back at this and say 'Why didn't we?'.
nicolbolas
23rd November 2004, 10:04
Every club is talking it up at this stage, time is the only true indicator of hwo these players will go.
i agree, yet to see a club walk out of the draft and say, geez we really stuffed up today, although that would be refreshing
cheers
itsintheblood
23rd November 2004, 10:29
Yeah, I understand that.
My point is, there are no hard and fast 'rules' when it comes to drafting, obviously. We've made a calculated decision to take the two best KPP's because of our lack of depth in that area. Because it's generally accepted that KPP's take a little longer to mature, we are basically sticking to the philosophy of building the list over a period of time, and not re-hashing players. The comparisons to the 'Judd/Hodge' selection are nonsensical - Roughead and Tambling are different types of players - we've gone to where we need players. Risky? Maybe. But in 2 years time when we had no CHF, no FF, and nothing coming through, no doubt we'd look back at this and say 'Why didn't we?'.
I think you should have taken tambling at 2 and franklin at 4 just to cover all bases. Aside from crawford who's coming to the end and hodge, your midfield is very thin indeed.
CyberKev
23rd November 2004, 11:22
i agree, yet to see a club walk out of the draft and say, geez we really stuffed up today, although that would be refreshing
cheers
True...
But nor should they.
All clubs would draft in accordance with predefined needs and in line with preset selections and player availability at the time of each pick.
Every club would have an argument for why they traded like they did and would feel entitled to suggest that they did as well as they could under the circumstances.
Draft choices are always assessed (repeatedly) after the event when the benefit of hindsight allows every two-bob punter to let any unfortunate erring club to know they screwed-up in no uncertain terms.
Ramma
23rd November 2004, 11:47
I think you should have taken tambling at 2 and franklin at 4 just to cover all bases. Aside from crawford who's coming to the end and hodge, your midfield is very thin indeed.
Mitchell is a Rising Star winner, too! I'd probably say the same thing about your key defenders.
Heads or tails, IITB? You got the 2 best midfielders, we got the 2 best KPP's.
As I wrote, it takes longer for KKP to mature, therefore we are seeing through the rebuilding phase with an eye to 2006/7. No doubt we'll get another opportunity for an early pick or 2 next year to fill up on the midfield.
itsintheblood
23rd November 2004, 12:37
Mitchell is a Rising Star winner, too! I'd probably say the same thing about your key defenders.
Heads or tails, IITB? You got the 2 best midfielders, we got the 2 best KPP's.
As I wrote, it takes longer for KKP to mature, therefore we are seeing through the rebuilding phase with an eye to 2006/7. No doubt we'll get another opportunity for an early pick or 2 next year to fill up on the midfield.
Very true. Time will tell.
BulldogMike
23rd November 2004, 13:30
D.Meyer was one of the players gained from the Ottens deal so i am interested in how he goes.No doubt the Tigers will expect from him in the next few seasons.
Crumden
23rd November 2004, 20:08
Patterson was the other.
Bifrost
20th October 2007, 09:13
It's just not enough to reach the finals for the first time in six years for the Hawks bandwagon is it? They just have to keep slipping the boot into the spooner (obviously Richmond this year) to make themselves feel better about being pantsed in the semis.
Well good on you, champions. Here's to mediocrity and Hawthorn.
I was honestly enjoying Hawthorn's rise as a young team, having once thoroughly disliked them when they were the powerhouse of the 80s (much like Brisbane for me these days), but Hawthorn fans, mostly on this board, have changed my mind completely. Now, every time Hawthorn get beaten - by anyone - I crack a smile. Yes, even Collingwood.
It's not the players, it's not the coach, it's not the club - it's the fans. Not every fan, mind you, but the loundmouth minority on the Hawthorn bandwagon are just louder, bigger wankers than every other club and they make me vomit a little in the back of my throat.
So congratulations, Hawks fans - you've successfully made Hawthorn my least favourite team again. Not that you'll care, of course, because you'll have the Premiership Cup in 2009 right? Right? :rolleyes:
But just remember that I'm not the only one who wants to see your club lose because of your mouth and when that inevitable slide down the ladder begins and the bandwagon starts to empty out again just remember the words "loyalty" and "conetmpt". Most clubs attract both, yours only attracts one.
Warwick
20th October 2007, 09:32
Why would you bump a thread that makes Richmond supporters look like utter fools?
A couple of beauties by IITB in this thread. Not only is he criticising the non-Tambling selection, he has taken a shot at the Hawks midfield (all would get a game for Richmond now), and Brad Ottens.
Ouch. :o
bluespooner
20th October 2007, 09:33
I reckon if you actually read that thread the only loud mouths have been Richmond posters attempting to laud it over Hawthorn supporters. A thread started by a Richmond supporter, he also happens to be the only one dishing out abuse, and now congratulations by bumping the thread you've joined the abuse.
All done by Richmond supporters. And to make matters worse, it is a drafting decision and an argument that Richmond has got overwhelmingly wrong.
Hodgie_15
20th October 2007, 09:39
This thread would bring a tear to a glass eye. Quality stuff.
Probably goes to show we shouldn't jump the gun when it comes to the draft.
TheWiseOne
20th October 2007, 10:38
Addressing a 300-strong crowd at president Clinton Casey's Hawthorn mansion yesterday, Wallace revealed he had "cried" on the shoulder of his assistant coach Brian Royal after first meeting Tambling at Punt Rd.
I bet he is still crying that they pick Tambling
Jeremias
20th October 2007, 11:14
What an utterly pointless, yet hilarious bump :D
By a Richmond supporter, too!
HAHAHAHA! :D
Stephen2
20th October 2007, 11:33
Poor old Richmond... Does the club culture of stupidity and bad decisions leak out into their fans?!?
I can't stop laughing...
To the bright spark Richmond supporter that bumped this thread:
HA-HA and thanks for the laughs :thumbsu:
The Majestic
20th October 2007, 11:48
This thread would bring a tear to a glass eye. Quality stuff.
Probably goes to show we shouldn't jump the gun when it comes to the draft.
Though it won't stop supporters from doing so, they'll overrate a player so much that if the poor guy fails to deliver on the hype he is crucified.
gwono
20th October 2007, 11:52
Good pick up by Lidge with JWSmith
Crosby87
20th October 2007, 11:56
Poor bump. 2/10.
Richo83
20th October 2007, 12:01
:eek::o
I just hope we get it right from now on. No more Tamblings please.
Adpar
20th October 2007, 12:01
Tigers Supporter
HAHAHAHAHAAHA
If anyone other than a Tigers supporter bumped this would it have headed straight to Bay 13 for being a troll?
Hawkas_01
20th October 2007, 12:33
hahahahaha GOLD
TheWiseOne
20th October 2007, 12:38
Good pick up by Lidge with JWSmith
Yea i saw that :thumbsu:
Smith>Tambling :p
CyberKev
20th October 2007, 12:44
It's just not enough to reach the finals for the first time in six years for the Hawks bandwagon is it? They just have to keep slipping the boot into the spooner (obviously Richmond this year) to make themselves feel better about being pantsed in the semis.
Hmmm.
The tears just aren't coming, I'm afraid.
They might, however, if you could point me to your criticism of the veritable plethora of Tiger tragics mouthing to the max and freely slipping the slipper into Hawthorn over the 2005-06 seasons.
Hypocrisy run amok.
Adelaide Hawk
20th October 2007, 12:47
Well good on you, champions. Here's to mediocrity and Hawthorn.
I was honestly enjoying Hawthorn's rise as a young team, having once thoroughly disliked them when they were the powerhouse of the 80s (much like Brisbane for me these days), but Hawthorn fans, mostly on this board, have changed my mind completely. Now, every time Hawthorn get beaten - by anyone - I crack a smile. Yes, even Collingwood.
It's not the players, it's not the coach, it's not the club - it's the fans. Not every fan, mind you, but the loundmouth minority on the Hawthorn bandwagon are just louder, bigger wankers than every other club and they make me vomit a little in the back of my throat.
So congratulations, Hawks fans - you've successfully made Hawthorn my least favourite team again. Not that you'll care, of course, because you'll have the Premiership Cup in 2009 right? Right? :rolleyes:
But just remember that I'm not the only one who wants to see your club lose because of your mouth and when that inevitable slide down the ladder begins and the bandwagon starts to empty out again just remember the words "loyalty" and "conetmpt". Most clubs attract both, yours only attracts one.
You really should put your baby rattle down when you're typing, it makes too much noise. What a sook.
Frederlick
20th October 2007, 12:49
Though it won't stop supporters from doing so, they'll overrate a player so much that if the poor guy fails to deliver on the hype he is crucified.
The funny thing is Tambling probably would have got developed properly anywhere else but under Richmond and Tanning Terry, who every year demonstrates just how little he understands about the bigger picture in footy. And then today they announce the indigenous institute! I mean what have indeginous players done for them lately? How about they worry about a Richmond sort the lsit out institute?
tigers4spoon08
20th October 2007, 12:55
Wake up Tiger supporters for another 20 years of mediocrity beckons :)[/quote]
totally agree. the tigers are the worst club in the afl.
bLuEbOy1984
20th October 2007, 12:59
Tigers thrilled to get Tambling
22 November 2004 Herald Sun
Jon Anderson
RICHMOND coach Terry Wallace has no doubt the Tigers have claimed the best two young footballers in the land to play in the yellow and black.
Terry's Tiger cubs: Richmond coach Terry Wallace welcomes (from left) No. 1 draft pick Brett Deledio, Richard Tambling and Danny Meyer.
Picture: Tim Carrafa
Bar none.
Kyabram star Brett Deledio was always the short-priced No. 1 at Saturday's national draft, but Wallace rated Aboriginal speedster Richard Tambling a very close second.
his probaly crying thinking his the shitest player they have picked up... LOL
macca231
20th October 2007, 13:19
We all know Richmond's recruiting is trash, just take a look at their list. Next they'll use pick 2 on some type of "project player" who will end up playing ammos in 3 years time. The Tambling over Buddy was a mistake, but other clubs also did that. The JON decision was just woeful. They now have the worst player in the league and used a 1st rounder to get him.
GUN-BARREL STRAIGHT
20th October 2007, 13:20
The funny thing is Tambling probably would have got developed properly anywhere else but under Richmond and Tanning Terry, who every year demonstrates just how little he understands about the bigger picture in footy.
Spot on. Tambling would have been a star at Port. I actually feel sorry for the kid.
And then today they announce the indigenous institute! I mean what have indeginous players done for them lately? How about they worry about a Richmond sort the lsit out institute?
Yep. Krak's gone, Tambling will probably be traded next year, Oakleigh-Nicholls is a hack. Maybe they feel compelled to draft the Indigenous boys so as to keep their Dreamtime at the G money-spinner alive.
benny_furs
20th October 2007, 13:22
You people have got no clue whatsoever.
You are a bunch of pathetic scum.
Tambling is an outstanding quality bloke around the club and when drafted Terry SAID it would be 4 years before we see what Bling is made of.
At the end of his 3rd season (injured in his first as well) he has played plenty of exciting football. He is already good. He will get better too.
This bloke will make all of you look like fools, mark my words, Tambling will be a star - he will prove ALL of you wrong so **** off.
FIGJAM
20th October 2007, 13:26
Yea i saw that :thumbsu:
Smith>Tambling :p
Did they have the opportunity to pick him up?
Cloke > Smith > Tambling
danzan22
20th October 2007, 13:27
One of my fav post from this thread :D
benny_furs
20th October 2007, 13:29
Check out this thread if you think Tambling is the worst thing to happen to our club since Fiora.
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=389700
Check other threads to realise that a majority of Tiger supporters have full support for Tambling and majority believe he will be a very good player.
It is Hawthorn who ****ed up by taking Roughead at 2. Franklin was the lucky leftovers at 5, but why should we ignore everything just because they ended up with the lucky leftovers.
macca231
20th October 2007, 13:30
You people have got no clue whatsoever.
You are a bunch of pathetic scum.
Tambling is an outstanding quality bloke around the club and when drafted Terry SAID it would be 4 years before we see what Bling is made of.
At the end of his 3rd season (injured in his first as well) he has played plenty of exciting football. He is already good. He will get better too.
This bloke will make all of you look like fools, mark my words, Tambling will be a star - he will prove ALL of you wrong so **** off.
For a short period of time he finally justified a spot in the best 22 of the worst team in the AFL. I wouldn't call that exciting. He was a gun junior who stood out because of exceptional athletic ability and now that his opponents have caught up he is nothing special. Just because your good at U/18s doesn't mean you'll cut it at AFL level. Next you'll be claiming Oakley-Nicholls has talent:rolleyes:
benny_furs
20th October 2007, 13:31
*double post, keyboard messing up*
benny_furs
20th October 2007, 13:35
Next you'll be claiming Oakley-Nicholls has talent:rolleyes:
The Richmond coaching staff have said that JON will be the best kid of the lot.
Make of that what you will, but he is clearly highly rated by the people in the know. Can't be that bad can he.
macca231
20th October 2007, 13:37
Make of that what you will, but he is clearly highly rated by the people in the know. Can't be that bad can he.
The people who are "in the know" have put together the AFL's worst list. JON is one of the biggest duds in the league and if you don't believe me go and watch the VFL final against Geelong again.
philhawk
20th October 2007, 13:44
It is Hawthorn who ****ed up by taking Roughead at 2.
Sorry, we screwed up taking Roughead?
Last time I checked, we picked up a forward who kicked 40 goals in his third season.
Tell me the last time a 20 year old, tall Richmond forward other than Richo did that.
That says more about the Richmond coaching staff than JON.
macca231
20th October 2007, 13:48
It is Hawthorn who ****ed up by taking Roughead at 2. Franklin was the lucky leftovers at 5, but why should we ignore everything just because they ended up with the lucky leftovers.
Hawks had a recruiting model of taking KPs with their early picks. They got Roughead who has turned out pretty good and Franklin who is a star. The point is they actually had a model in place which justifies their selection. Dowler in 05, Thorpe in 06 etc, Ellis and Lewis are the exceptions
benny_furs
20th October 2007, 13:56
They got Roughead who has turned out pretty good and Franklin who is a star.
...and we ended up with Tambling who is pretty good and Deledio who is a star. We had a model for recruiting midfielders.
Look, the thread title is "Tigers thrilled to get Tambling" and I believe that most of us are still thrilled that we have Tambling at our club. Geez in the last week alone he has partly been responsible for securing us $2 Million, who bloody cares about Buddy, Richard Tambling is a great asset to our club. Call him a dud all you like, laugh all you like, he's a star in the making.
philhawk
20th October 2007, 13:57
...and we ended up with Tambling who is pretty good
Want to point out what he's actually done to label him 'pretty good'?
macca231
20th October 2007, 14:00
...and we ended up with Tambling who is pretty good and Deledio who is a star. We had a model for recruiting midfielders.
No actually that's not the case. Tambling isn't pretty good, and you certaintly can't compare him to Roughead. And Deledio is not a star, he has done nothing to warrant that nametag. He's done nothing in the middle, and at the end of last season turned himself into a semi-dangerous forward. Compare that to Buddy who almost won the Coleman and should have been AA.
Franklin>>>>>>>>>>>>>Deledio
Roughead>>>>>>>Tambling
If they re did the 04 draft Deledio would barely be top 5 and Tambling not even top 10
benny_furs
20th October 2007, 14:12
If they re did the 04 draft Deledio would barely be top 5 and Tambling not even top 10
See, we're dealing mostly with idiots.
Hawthorn trollers aren't idiots though, I expect them to act like they do because of passion and support. What pisses me off is how the rest of the supporters genuinely think our kids are crap. There is nothing we can do except wait for next season, just don't cry when we go over the top rubbing it in.
This time last year Nathan Foley was a dud youngster too, remember?
Tambling has been a good player for most of the season. He had a few poor games mid-season and was dropped. He is clearly - clearly - in our best 22 for a large portion of the year. Any doubters are either idiots or Hawks with passion, pure and simple.
"Deledio would barely make top 5" = pure idiot.
See.
philhawk
20th October 2007, 14:17
See, we're dealing mostly with idiots.
Hawthorn trollers aren't idiots though, I expect them to act like they do because of passion and support. What pisses me off is how the rest of the supporters genuinely think our kids are crap. There is nothing we can do except wait for next season, just don't cry when we go over the top rubbing it in.
This time last year Nathan Foley was a dud youngster too, remember?
Tambling has been a good player for most of the season. He had a few poor games mid-season and was dropped. He is clearly - clearly - in our best 22 for a large portion of the year. Any doubters are either idiots or Hawks with passion, pure and simple.
See.
Fair call, Benny.
macca231
20th October 2007, 14:20
See.
Well if I was going to have the first five picks in the 04 draft today, I would take:
1. Buddy Franklin
2. Matt Egan
3. Chris Knights
4. Jordan Lewis
5. Brett Deledio
I say barely becuase he isn't much better than Rosa, Roughead, Griffen and Rusling either
benny_furs
20th October 2007, 14:28
Well if I was going to have the first five picks in the 04 draft today, I would take:
1. Buddy Franklin
2. Matt Egan
3. Chris Knights
4. Jordan Lewis
5. Brett Deledio
I say barely becuase he isn't much better than Rosa, Roughead, Griffen and Rusling either
Thank you for reinforcing my point.
macca231
20th October 2007, 14:32
Thank you for reinforcing my point.
Franklin is clearly better than Deledio, no explnation needed.
Egan is the AA CHB, any club would pick him over Deledio
Knights is a gun, proved that this year, more promise than Deledio
Lewis is also a gun who has done more than Deledio
You can't keep talking him up because he is the number 1 pick, in reality, apart from a good first year, he hasn't done much. And the other guys named have done a lot more than Tambling. Are you saying you'd take Tambling over Roughead, Rosa or Rusling?
Marc Shmurf 3
20th October 2007, 14:48
what i love most about Tiges supporters is that they still think they have a case for argument.
You watch Tampon will be good, bla bla bla...
Tampon will never be a better selection than Franklin no matter how good he turns out.
Fiora will never be as good as Pavlich, another error.
But what takes the cake is that they claim that we "tanked" this year, yet we still finished above them on the ladder. :o
Me thinks Tiges supporters should give up and start all over again. Its only taken you 28 years to get to this stage, another 10 + years and mediocre performances and rubbish excuses wont hurt will it???
Hawkas_01
20th October 2007, 14:52
no reply benny...
looks like you've realised your fighting a losing battle.
:D
TheGeneral
20th October 2007, 15:04
One of my fav post from this thread :D
These are my favourite posts.
Where is IITB's Iraqi Information minister when you need him?
BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA
Ben Graham, your only real big man goal kicker has left you and now you're gonna rely on brad ottens to kick your goals??? BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.
You'll soon find out what he's all about.
Tambling's comment about not doing much tackling in the territory speaks volumes for his lack of physicality and intensity at contests.
Yet NT's Joe Anderson is cut from a different cloth. :confused: :thumbsu:
A very average draft for Richmond.
The GOAT
20th October 2007, 15:05
bad bump
Aussie Joe
20th October 2007, 15:06
Yes, all teams were thrilled that the Tigers got Tambling;)
Deledio_Judd
20th October 2007, 15:35
Stupid bump, tambling was actually good then lol
adamania11
20th October 2007, 15:49
Can't believe we picked Tambling over Buddy...
But would we have picked Roughie over Buddy if the Hawks had got RT?
If we made a list of the stupidest bumps ever this would have to be one of them. I am embarrassed to support the same team as Bifrost.
The thread is kind of divided into two parts...
Verbeek
20th October 2007, 16:19
Why would you bump a thread that makes Richmond supporters look like utter fools?
A couple of beauties by IITB in this thread. Not only is he criticising the non-Tambling selection, he has taken a shot at the Hawks midfield (all would get a game for Richmond now), and Brad Ottens.
Ouch. :o
:D HAHAHAHA! LOVE this thread!!!!
But no surprises really when you realise it is IITB. He's the kinda bloke who'd do cartwheels when they "poached" McMahon.
The other funny thing ofcourse is that it was bumped by a Tiger supporter. Im tipping it was Greg Miller :D
Blasé
20th October 2007, 16:42
Franklin is clearly better than Deledio, no explnation needed.
Egan is the AA CHB, any club would pick him over Deledio
Knights is a gun, proved that this year, more promise than Deledio
Lewis is also a gun who has done more than Deledio
You can't keep talking him up because he is the number 1 pick, in reality, apart from a good first year, he hasn't done much. And the other guys named have done a lot more than Tambling. Are you saying you'd take Tambling over Roughead, Rosa or Rusling?
Yeah, at this particular time it's a fair call.
But with long term vision, with Roughead I disagree.
Whilst I'm certainly glad we got Buddy, I'm still glad we've got Rough.
He's very much in the old fashioned mould key forward, who has made slow progress, making a noticeable impact this year. Yet, I still think he has a fair amount of improvement left in him, much the same way Leppitsch showed a lot when he was young, suddenly switched defensively he became a massive cornerstone to their defence. I see the same thing for rough, playing back mostly, and pinch hitting forward occasionally.
And whilst Egan has been impressive for the last 2 years, he was recruited as a mature player, meaning 2 things. He has no more scope of improvement like Roughead, and Egan's football life will be significantly less than Rough's.
Lastly for the subject of this thread.
Tambling is only about as good as Young in our team. A quick receiving midfielder who can do a bit of damage. Certainly would get a game for any team, but for such a high selection he should, and even more.
Richmond slipped up a bit on that selection, yet we did also on Judd, and in the end Richmond are going to end up with a pretty useful player. Swallow it and move on.
Mr.X
20th October 2007, 19:38
What pisses me off is how the rest of the supporters genuinely think our kids are crap.
We don't think your kids are crap, we KNOW they are crap
mulhollanddrive
20th October 2007, 19:46
LOL, What a good call by Yze_Magic, (The pioneer of BF sh1tstirring back in 2003) who said soft players like Tambling/Deledio fit into Richmond well.
Too true.
Gavin Excell
20th October 2007, 19:50
this is my favourite quote:
So in other words ignore what you see before your eyes, gnore the total ineffectual presence he delivers to the contest, ignore how he was brushed aside by the Geelong seconds side in the VFL grand final - you can ignore all that becuse-
RichosGuns
20th October 2007, 19:51
Franklin is better then Deledio...
But Deledio is better then anyother person in that draft and he is a year younger then most of them
Mr.X
20th October 2007, 19:53
Franklin is better then Deledio...
But Deledio is better then anyother person in that draft and he is a year younger then most of them
Wtf ????
mulhollanddrive
20th October 2007, 20:03
I think Jordan Lewis' output has exceeded Deledio's so far. I think Deledio has greater potential, but Lewis has performed better imo.