View Full Version : Nine dumps Ian Chappell
Chappell dropped but Lillee walks
D.D. McNicoll and Malcolm Conn
November 24, 2004
LEGENDARY Australian cricketers Ian Chappell and Dennis Lillee have been sidelined from the game, with the former captain dropped from Nine's commentary team for Friday's Adelaide Test and the fast bowler quitting his top coaching position after a row with officials.
Lillee -- once Australia's leading wicket-taker -- ended a 15-year association with cricket's governing body after he was told he would be paid less for his role as the nation's fast bowling coach.
And Chappell -- one of the game's most influential captains -- is understood to have temporarily lost his place on the commentary team to accommodate Englishman Mark Nicholas. Cricket experts say the move is strong evidence the former England A captain is being groomed to take over the network's lead commentary role from Richie Benaud.
Lillee, 55, the president of the West Australian Cricket Association, said he was tired of fighting with the Cricket Australia board. "The reality is that every time I negotiate with the board they try to negotiate me down," an angry Lillee told The Australian yesterday.
"I am sick and tired of having an Indian arm wrestle with them every time contract negotiations come around."
Nine's upheaval comes as the 74-year-old Benaud, the network's face and voice of cricket since 1977, is rumoured to be retiring in the next 12 months.
Chappell, 61, who played 75 Tests for Australia and who captained the side prior to the Kerry Packer-funded World Series Cricket revolution in the mid-1970s, has been a key member of Nine's team since he quit first-class cricket in 1978.
Asked how he felt about being sidelined for his home state Test yesterday, Chappell snapped, "You'd better check with the producer" -- before abruptly ending the call.
Nine's spokesman Jamie Campbell later said Chappell had not been replaced and had, in fact, requested to be omitted from the Adelaide Test coverage.
"Basically the commentators get together and decide who will commentate where," Mr Campbell said. "Ian Chappell requested not to be sent to Adelaide."
But a furious Chappell has told friends he is angered at being left off the eight-man commentary roster for the Test at his old home ground.
I realise the headline is a little misleading but surely Ian would be requesting a commentary gig in Adelaide.
Bombers_Forever
24 Nov 2004, 06:28
They should chop Chappell for good. He is boring. They should punt that Pommy Mark Nicholas too.
We want MORE RICHIE!!!!!!!!!!! :D
Richie is a senile old man.
Get Roy & HG into that commentary team.
About time Chappell was dropped.Now it's time to flick the South African/English/Sri Lankan/Zimbabwe git Tony Greig.
Then ditch 'Mr Plasvision'.
Keep the new Pommie bloke.He's actually a bresh of fresh air.
Superpom
24 Nov 2004, 07:06
oh, Chappelli given the big 'e', although he seemed to be a bit aggro in the com box over the brisbane test.
Mark Nicholas is a very good commentator, and a very good anchor as well, he presents and commentates for channel 4's coverage here after starting his career at sky.
I noticed that 9 tended to put him and 'Sir' Richie on together for the commentary stints, either that or it was just an impression i got, but its no surpirse as they work very well together for C4 here.
Didn't realise that Richie was 74, he's still #1 for me, I guess he may retire after the series here next summer?
Its obvious that Nicholas' connection with Benaud has got him on the gravy train that is a commentary berth for the aussie summer, and isnt that a gravy train we'd all like to be on?
Whilst it may not sit altogether comfortably that a Pom may anchor the coverage there, you could do an awful lot worse...
I thought 9 were losing the cricket anyway?...
bunsen burner
24 Nov 2004, 07:44
As long as they don't hand the reins over to Mark Taylor, I'm happy.
Russian
24 Nov 2004, 08:38
Richie's been rumoured to retire in the next 12 months for the last 5 years :rolleyes:
GrahamH
24 Nov 2004, 09:14
Whilst it may not sit altogether comfortably that a Pom may anchor the coverage there, you could do an awful lot worse...
Hence why it could be the reason Chappelli was "dropped". Its no secret that he is not a Pommie fan. Could he have had a falling out with Ch9 over this ???? I certainly agree he was very grumpy last weekend. Seemed to want to argue with anyone. (Even more than usual !!!)
As for new blood, lets get Kerry O Keefe in there :eek:
Karbassiyoon
24 Nov 2004, 09:15
two names come to mind to help channel 9 to glory days.
Roe.
Buck.
A few words pop into my head when thinking of Richie:
gaunt
decrepit
haggard
dilapidated
Retirement isn't one of them though. He's got a couple of years left in him at least.
sick of chappelli, they need a new face in there
billy bermingham could just slot in and do the whole lot for a day
Ray Nolan
24 Nov 2004, 09:25
Richie is a senile old man.
"The corpse that talks" is how he's known 'round ours.
johnnyhoward
24 Nov 2004, 09:31
i always just assumed that Richie would die on the job.
ARDENSTREETforever
24 Nov 2004, 09:36
Mark Nicholas was fantastic in the first test... hes accurate, not boring, and actually gets a little excited when something good happens.... unlike Chappell.
INS: Mark Nicolas, James Brayshaw, Kerry O'Keefe
OUTS: Ian Chappell, Simon O'Donnell, Richie Benaud (Retired)
silky-smooth
24 Nov 2004, 09:47
Get Roy & HG into that commentary team.
That would be bloody great :D :D :D
johnnyhoward
24 Nov 2004, 09:48
Mark Nicholas was fantastic in the first test... hes accurate, not boring, and actually gets a little excited when something good happens.... unlike Chappell.
Richie is quite boring as well, he never gets excited and should be dropped anyway.
I would also like to see Commetti in the box for at least a couple of matches, maybe some one-dayers. He commentated an Australia A game last summer.
dr nick
24 Nov 2004, 10:39
Drop Chapelli, Tubby and Heals, they are all woeful, especially the last 2.
year of the roo
24 Nov 2004, 10:47
Richie is quite boring as well, he never gets excited and should be dropped anyway.
I would also like to see Commetti in the box for at least a couple of matches, maybe some one-dayers. He commentated an Australia A game last summer.
Oh yes, Cometti would be quite a coup! James Brayshaw would also be a good addition.
In: Cometti, Nicholas, Brayshaw
Out: Chappell, Benaud, Grieg
Ch9 used him for a couple of seasons covering the ING Cup games about 4 or 5 years ago.He'd never fit in with the current ch9 commentators because he's actually entertaining.
I liked KOK's names for the 2 umps last week - Morgan Freeman [Steve Bucknor] & Waqar Younis [Aleem Dar]. :D
larrikin
24 Nov 2004, 12:12
Oh yes, Cometti would be quite a coup! James Brayshaw would also be a good addition.
In: Cometti, Nicholas, Brayshaw
Out: Chappell, Benaud, Grieg
You beat me to it
Loved Commetti and Brayshaw together last summer in a couple of ING games - they just sound so proffesional while still being extremely entertaining
Sideshow Fev
24 Nov 2004, 12:55
Benaud for prime minister :D
PowerKop
24 Nov 2004, 12:58
Yep like the look of that. Kerry would be fantastic. How much does this all sound likew the 12th man - Richie retiring in 12 months, competition to take his spot in the CCP (Central commentary position), in ands outs in the team. Chappeli could turn into a Max Walker!
I am not sure I could put up with his laugh.
Great catch by the man in the crowd hee hee hee hee hee hee hee hee hee hee hee hee hee hee hee hee hee hee hee hee hee didn't spill a drop of beer hee hee hee hee hee hee hee hee hee hee hee hee hee hee hee hee hee hee he could get a game for England hee hee hee hee hee hee hee hee hee hee hee hee hee hee hee
Interesting that they are bringing at outsider (Mark Nicholas) in to do Richie's role. The 12th Man didn't see that one coming!
GrahamH
24 Nov 2004, 13:16
Interesting that they are bringing at outsider (Mark Nicholas) in to do Richie's role. The 12th Man didn't see that one coming!
He certainly would be better than Darrell ********ing Eastlake or Max (er I mean Mike) Walker :D
johnnyhoward
24 Nov 2004, 13:24
He certainly would be better than Darrell ********ing Eastlake or Max (er I mean Mike) Walker :D
:D
BTW, did anyone hear Warnie in the box last summer? The bloke tried to add some personality to the call, but got dragged down by his co-commentators. Nicholas and Warne might be a decent combo when he retires I reckon. One fine analyst who can sense excitement, and a larrikin.
Adrian Shelton
24 Nov 2004, 13:30
Get Stacky back on the box too.
Stacky,Skull,Nicholas and Roebuck can take over the telly anytime they want.
Sylvia Saint
24 Nov 2004, 14:51
Thank God they got rid of Chappell. So bloody dreary.
The commentary box needs excitement, which is why Tony Greig and Bill Lawry are living legends. I quite like Mark Nicholas too (has anyone else noticed this guy knows bloody everything when it comes to cricket?).
And I know I'm in the minority here, but I enjoyed Slater and Jones during the India series. Get them to Nine!
the_mighty_pies_3733
24 Nov 2004, 15:19
Get rid of bloody Healy. Is it just me or has he seemed really biased towards the Aussies. I reckon Mike Walker should get the gig! Or Jim Waley!
Russian
24 Nov 2004, 15:24
Benaud signs for three more seasons
Wisden Cricinfo staff
November 24, 2004
The voice of Australian cricket will be heard for at least three more seasons after Richie Benaud accepted a deal to stay in the commentary box. Speculation of Benaud's retirement had grown to the extent that an apparent successor had been agreed in Mark Nicholas, the former England A captain.
But Nine today ended the rumours that Benaud, 74, was hanging up the microphone and beige jackets. "Richie is an icon of Australian cricket and he has signed a contract to stay on for another three years," the spokesman Jamie Campbell said. "He loves the game. Cricket is his passion and his life and he has no intention of stopping as a commentator any time soon." Campbell said there was no point discussing potential replacements for Benaud, who started with the network in 1977.
Campbell also said Ian Chappell was being rested from the Adelaide Test as part of the commentary team's rotational policy, a method under consideration for Australia's bowlers. "There are three different teams coming to Australia this summer and overseas commentators will be used," Campbell said. "As a result we have Tests where the commentators have the chance to take a break." Chappell was reportedly angry at the move.
----
Chappell says he didn't request to miss the game and it's a rotation policy they're using because they have more commentators than they need. He'll be back for the next game and basically the article's a load of made up ********
Ricketts
24 Nov 2004, 15:42
ian chappell out.
best. news. ever.
:D :)
DOG GOD
24 Nov 2004, 17:28
Get NAVJOT SINGH SIDHU in there!!!!!!!!
topjars
24 Nov 2004, 17:41
I reckon they should fleck the Kiwi :mad: who keeps talking about Sexes and Spanners
London Adelaidian
24 Nov 2004, 18:15
Mark Nicholas is the captain of the commentry team over here for Channel 4. He seems to do an okay job I think. From what I saw of the Gabba test on Sky he did seem to be a breath of fresh air.
Would be interesting to see him do Richie's job - on both sides of the world!
And I could understand Chappelli being a little p*ssed orf with that decision - drop for your home test :(
PieClive
24 Nov 2004, 18:26
Chappell getting the sarse is the best thing to happen to Australian Cricket since Boonie made the test side. Just don't replace him with brother Greg.
Next chop Taylor and Healey.
Time for a change of all the team - except Richie, let him retire gracefully.
Get some new blood so we don't have to cop that whiney, annoying upward inflection that so many of them have mastered over the years or the nasally drone of Healey.
Could be tough on Billy's next CD though.
Mark Nicholas, the former England A captain
Former England A captain - now there's a claim to fame!
PowerKop
24 Nov 2004, 19:30
Another 12th Man has to be released now. Richie signs on for three more years and demands changes be made - new blood coming in. Could bring in some absolute stinkers and have guys like Chappeli, Bill and TOny spewing cos they think their getting the arse. A classic 12th man in the making.
Karbassiyoon
24 Nov 2004, 19:50
deano and slats > tubby and heals
bunsen burner
25 Nov 2004, 04:29
deano and slats > tubby and healsBut they're still crap. Jones and Slater are reknown tossers. So much so that they both got dropped from the test team for nothing else than being giant big penises.
Mike Atherton is ok though.
two names come to mind to help channel 9 to glory days.
Roe.
Buck.
Didn't he slag off someone in the hierarchy at some point and thus got unofficially banned from Ch9 and it's ilk? Something to do with a harsh article
about sledging by Australian cricketers on a tour to New Zealand from memory.
And wouldn't Simon O'Donnell be unhappy about somone else being groomed for Richie's job.
Blue Red and Gold
25 Nov 2004, 08:27
Bring in South Australia's version of Eddie....James Brayshaw!
He is the man, funny as hell and seems to really enjoy what he does. adds some comedy and excitement.
Agree with everyone else, some new blood is required, enjoyed the pommie bloke. Dont want to get rid of richie though, it wouldnt be an Australian summer without Richie. He comes out with some ripper one liners!
Karbassiyoon
25 Nov 2004, 08:29
TV would change the way brayshaw would behave though
you wouldn't get triple M brayshaw on channel 9, or any FTA channel
and o'donnell was being groomed but it just hasn't worked out
Blue Red and Gold
25 Nov 2004, 08:38
TV would change the way brayshaw would behave though
you wouldn't get triple M brayshaw on channel 9, or any FTA channel
and o'donnell was being groomed but it just hasn't worked out
Not exactly the same, but he does bring some of that over to when he commentates the ING cup. He is not a stiff and doesnt mind having a laugh and cracking jokes that are actually funny.
O'Donnell, Taylor and Healy are all stiffs!
Superpom
25 Nov 2004, 08:44
What exactly does Simon O'Donnell do?
Think i've only ever heard him commentating once.
All we ever hear of him here is his monotone welcome to international viewers before he hands to the first commentators of the day.
Blue Red and Gold
25 Nov 2004, 09:24
He also hosts the cricket show during the lunch break, but I dont know if that counts towards anything.
stmookeyj
25 Nov 2004, 10:20
Healy to be rested for the Perth test. Apparantly according to the Hun Waqar Younis to join as the Pakistan expert as well.
PowerKop
25 Nov 2004, 12:57
Deano and Slats were fantastic on the Indian tour IMO.
Taylor is ********ing useless and should be given the arse now.
Healy thinks he knows everything, but he is a joke, give him the arse.
Bill and Tony are both characters and should be left on.
Chappelli calls a spade a spade and has some intersesting views, keep him in. Richie is past it, but keep him on cos he's Richie.
Simon Oddonell - ******** him off
That Pommy bloke - He seems ok. Gives a different perspective. Keep him on.
Kerry Okeefe must come in to add some entertainment to the call. The man just has so many funny stories and is the only reason why I listen to the ABC cricket coverage.
James Brayshaw - Would be a good inclusion. Must be given liscence to crack a few jokes and be a bit of a smartarse, like he is on the cage. Stir Bill and Tony up a bit.
So the commentary team would look like this:
Richie (CCP), Bill, Tony, Deano, Slats, Chappelli, Pommy bloke, O'Keefe, Brayshaw
Ins: Deano, Slats, O'Keefe, Brayshaw.
Outs: Tubby, Heals, Oddonell.
Of course there will be some guest commentators depending on who we are playing. Eg. Smith (NZ), Akram (Paki's), Boycott (Poms)
TigerCraig
25 Nov 2004, 13:10
Sound off, ABC on - Maxwell, Roebuck, O'Keefe, Jenner, Massie, G Chappell, Lawson (well maybe not Lawson). S**ts all over Ch.9
Matt123
25 Nov 2004, 18:32
Kerry Okeefe must come in to add some entertainment to the call. The man just has so many funny stories and is the only reason why I listen to the ABC cricket coverage.
Yes. He is the funniest commentator I have ever heard. Im sure channel 9 could get the right sort of biscuits for him, if anyone heard his antics during the test match about the biscuits the ABC received. Also, he'll be able to criticise another news reader like he does on the ABC. Imagine him stirring up Tony Greig. Also, his classic line from the Sydney Test last summer:
"I think New Years is a hoax. The people you don't like on December 31 you still don't like on January 1."
utility
25 Nov 2004, 19:42
The ABC team basically has no weak links, whereas most of the commentators on Channel 9 are ordinary at best. Deano was good value on the Indian tour but I wasn't all that impressed with Slats. Imagine O'Keefe pairing up with Sidhu. :D
Black Thunder
25 Nov 2004, 21:39
yeah the channel 9 commentary has been getting a bit monotonous and same ish over the years.
Richie is still a good guy to have on board, even though he is looking very old and is prone to mistakes.
Mark Nicholas adds a new view, and is pretty good. No reason not to keep him because he does entertain a bit more.
Simon O'Donnell and Mark Taylor are boring as all get out. Should not be there.
Ian Healy is ok i reckon. Everyone seems to be bagging him out, but he reckon he does an ok job. Is a bit biased.
I think Tony Greig might be on the way out. He doesn't quite do it like he used to, but is a little more even handed when commentating. 50/50 whether he should be there. He is (and has been for about 3 years) prone to making some very very stupid remarks.
Bill Lawry can still do a good job. He's been around for a while, and has earned his spot there.
Ian Chappel knew what he was talking about. But was without a doubt the most boring of the lot - by far. Shouldn't be there.
Who else is there??
They do need a bit of a change, but it must be remember that guys can be very entertaining on radio, but completely different on tv. When on radio, your listeners have no visual stimulation so you have to give as good as description as possible and be as entertaining as possible for obvious reasons. When moving onto tv commentating some guys can get a little complacent and go into their shell and not be what they can be.....
But ch9 definetaly need a change up.
wagstaff
25 Nov 2004, 22:56
Richie is still a good guy to have on board, even though he is looking very old and is prone to mistakes.
Yes, I've been noticing his rate of mistakes has increased significantly over the past few years. And none of these mistakes are ever corrected by himself or fellow commentators (only Healy corrects himself on any regular basis out of the Ch. 9 commentators).
Benaud said a few years back that he had key people close to him who would tell him when was the right time to retire; obviously these confidants gave him the green light before he decided to go ahead with another contract.
All this kerfuffle and reshuffling with the commentary lineup seems to have been brought about by the fact that Richie's annointed successor - Simon O'Donnell - has proven to be not up to the task. I saw his morning segment with Richie on the first day of the Gabba Test and he was stilted and dreary beyond belief - if anything he's gotten worse at the role over the past couple of years.
Ian Healy was my favourite commentator until the last 12 months when he became increasingly abrasive and over-talkative on-air, if he can restrain that side of his commentary then he would be one of the best in the business.
London Adelaidian
26 Nov 2004, 00:20
So who's going to be there for the coin toss to see which team is kicking with the breeze tomorrow morning (or this morning in certain parts of Oz now)?
We don't see that with the international coverage. Just Simon O'Donnell trying to bore the pants off Richie for about 15 seconds before they go to the commentators for the first session.
oh, Chappelli given the big 'e', although he seemed to be a bit aggro in the com box over the brisbane test.
Mark Nicholas is a very good commentator, and a very good anchor as well, he presents and commentates for channel 4's coverage here after starting his career at sky.
I noticed that 9 tended to put him and 'Sir' Richie on together for the commentary stints, either that or it was just an impression i got, but its no surpirse as they work very well together for C4 here.
Didn't realise that Richie was 74, he's still #1 for me, I guess he may retire after the series here next summer?
Its obvious that Nicholas' connection with Benaud has got him on the gravy train that is a commentary berth for the aussie summer, and isnt that a gravy train we'd all like to be on?
I thought 9 were losing the cricket anyway?...
Mark Nichollas is all class, his commentary last year was 1st Class, he blends in with Channel9 better then he did with Sky New Zealand last year when Pakistan toured there.
They just didnt mix.
Jumpin' Jimmy
30 Nov 2004, 09:20
The best commentator is the Phantom Bill Lawry by a mile. Unlike the others he still has great eye-sight, gets genuinely excited and is always positive. "Got him, gone" is his catchcry and it sounds great. He used to get over excited when Victorians did something good but thankfully very few of them make the team these days.
johnnyhoward
30 Nov 2004, 10:30
yeh, especially now that Warnie is seen more as an Australian champion rather than a Victorian champion. A shame the test didnt finish yesterday so he could play for us. :(
Bill Lawry is a gun. I never get sick of that "got him!" catch phrase - its a classic. Tony's "Oh Yes, He's Out!" is another great catchphrase. Bill's about, 67 now? How many years will he have left you think?
BTW, can anyone tell me something funny or exciting that Richie has said recently? He just seems so bland at the moment and survives on past glory.
Can't wait for Michael Holding to come over with the Windies... "Pick me Richie man, the Aussies love listening to me. I sound so cool!"
monarch4
30 Nov 2004, 21:22
Where's billy birmingham when you want him..........you get all the voices thrown into one...........it's just not cricket hey :p
Mark Taylor is the worst one and should be changed. I turn the volume down when he starts. And Simon O'Donell always souns tipsy.
I too used to think tubs was the worst, but i think these days Healy usurps even him.
Agreed. Healy annoys me no end. Always giving batsmen and bowlers critical analysis during the call and loves to drop his own name.
loves to drop his own name.
It was funny watching a recent episode of the cricket show when he was on the boundary signing autographs for fans. Heals mentioned how popular he was going by the fair gathering of kids clamouring for autographs. You could hear him when O'donnell crossed to him and he asked some teenage kid - "So do you remember me playing".. "Nah not really". Left poor old Heals stumbling a little for words. "Oh (nervous chuckle) i'll sign your bat anyway". He didnt ask that question again.
Guess you had to be there.....
amnesiac
6 Dec 2004, 17:30
heals is just awful as a commentator. his constant keeper comments are just plain annoying.
taylor is by far the worst most dull commentator ive ever heard. he needs to go.
o'donnell is a champion, if anyone listens to him on sport927 they would know how funny he is. he tones it down for nines conservative audience which is a shame cos he can be so much more entertaining.
deano is good, but will stay at fox.
slats is better than heals and taylor easily.
o'keefe is like the rex hunt of cricket. he'll never fit in at nine. although he is mighty entertaining.
nines commentary definately lacks emotion and is not entertaining in the slightest. they certainly need someone whos not scared to be a little controversial. is bias necessarily a bad thing?
Want A Beer Mate
6 Dec 2004, 17:37
heals is just awful as a commentator. his constant keeper comments are just plain annoying.
taylor is by far the worst most dull commentator ive ever heard. he needs to go.
o'donnell is a champion, if anyone listens to him on sport927 they would know how funny he is. he tones it down for nines conservative audience which is a shame cos he can be so much more entertaining.
deano is good, but will stay at fox.
slats is better than heals and taylor easily.
o'keefe is like the rex hunt of cricket. he'll never fit in at nine. although he is mighty entertaining.
nines commentary definately lacks emotion and is not entertaining in the slightest. they certainly need someone whos not scared to be a little controversial. is bias necessarily a bad thing?
Bill lawry is in love with australia - he is the king
amnesiac
6 Dec 2004, 17:42
Bill lawry is in love with australia - he is the king
victorian too :p
Jumpin' Jimmy
6 Dec 2004, 19:24
One name not mentioned is Jeffrey Robert Thomson who surprised me with his commentary on the continent(India?) and from the West Indies last tour. Always known for calling a spade a spade at least he is not boring as bat******** like O'Donnell, Taylor and co.
Good to see Chappelli get a kick up the clacker. Great captain but must have worn too many bouncers. Takes himself far too seriously.
goal_umpire
7 Dec 2004, 10:49
We might hear the Chappell brothers on ABC Radio. That would be good to hear.
It would sort of be like fingernails down a blackboard.
pav_is_god
7 Dec 2004, 13:40
[QUOTE=NorthBoi96]Kerry O'KeefeQUOTE]
They should definitely get "skull" on the team.
You mean good like 'Gee, it'd be good to get a bullet to the head'?