View Full Version : How many players of Opposition test sides would make the Australian 11?
Bentleigh
26 Nov 2004, 15:22
Just off the top of my head -
India - 2
Tendulkar
Dravid
Sir Lanka - 1
Mulri
West Indies - 1
Lara
South Africa - 1
Kallis
None from;
England
Kenya
New Zealand
Pakistan
Zimbabwe
silky-smooth
26 Nov 2004, 15:44
Shaun Pollock?
Adelaide Hawk
26 Nov 2004, 15:51
Sir Lanka - 1
Mulri
Murali wouldn't make the Australian side, he would have been banned from bowling in underage cricket if he was Australian.
Bentleigh
26 Nov 2004, 15:53
Murali wouldn't make the Australian side, he would have been banned from bowling in underage cricket if he was Australian.
pls. dont go into this.
I hate him more than most of you people. Yes, he is a chucker and a cheat. But he would prolly get games instead of Kapsa.
McGrath
Gil'Pie
Warne
Murli
As good as WI of the 80's imo.
Bentleigh
26 Nov 2004, 15:55
Shaun Pollock?
You reckon?
How has he been going last 2 or 3 years? He was a very good bowler but id take Kaspa over him.
I think Tendulkar's day has passed. But in a general sense, any batsman who has an average of 50 + could get a run.
PowerKop
26 Nov 2004, 16:05
Freddy Flintoff. The best allrounder in world cricket
Bentleigh
26 Nov 2004, 16:07
I think Tendulkar's day has passed. But in a general sense, any batsman who has an average of 50 + could get a run.
Even the Indian commentators were worried about his batting when we were over their.
I dont think his day has passed. Just too much presure for him to be back. He didnt look anywhere near over that injury.
Bentleigh
26 Nov 2004, 16:08
Freddy Flintoff. The best allrounder in world cricket
Overrated tosser.
PowerKop
26 Nov 2004, 17:32
Overrated tosser.
Get lost he's a gun. Wait to the Ashes next year, he will dominate and he is a top bloke to.
surely Shoaib Akhtar rates a mention
docker_azza
26 Nov 2004, 17:59
Possible Candidates
South Africa
Kallis
Pollock
India
Tendulkar
Dravid
Pakistan
Akhtar
Sri Lanka
Vaas
Jayasuriya
West Indies
Lara
England
nil
New Zealand
nil
Bangladesh
nil
Zimbabwe
nil
Out of that list, Id go for Lara, Tendulkar and Vaas.
But why do we need these when Australia still flogs anyone anyway. ;)
matty_saints
26 Nov 2004, 18:06
England:
A. Flintoff
S. Harmison
Sth Africa:
J. Kallis
Pakistan:
S. Akhtar
India:
S. Tendulkar
V. Sehwag
R. Dravid
West Indies:
B. Lara
Sri Lanka:
Murali
New Zealand:
S. Bond (When fit)
Zimbabwe, Bangladesh:
None
blackcat
26 Nov 2004, 18:17
Vaughn (flogged us last time)
Hayden
Ponting
Lara
Tendulkar
Kallis
Gilchrist
Gillespie
Akhtar
Muralitharan
Mcgrath
Vaughn impressed me when he took us to the cleaners last Ashes. That is why I would have him. The rest pick themselves. Warne is not the bowler he was. Dravid might be rated number one on Wisden or PWC but he offers a 55 average and a poor strike rate, whilst all of the above are match winning batsmen.
Flintoff best allrounder, not whislt Kallis is averaging 50 and under 30 with the ball. He is underrated, on statistics (which Australians love) he should go down as one of the best allrounders of all time.
Vaughn (flogged us last time)
Hayden
Ponting
Lara
Tendulkar
Kallis
Gilchrist
Gillespie
Akhtar
Muralitharan
Mcgrath
Vaughn impressed me when he took us to the cleaners last Ashes. That is why I would have him. The rest pick themselves. Warne is not the bowler he was. Dravid might be rated number one on Wisden or PWC but he offers a 55 average and a poor strike rate, whilst all of the above are match winning batsmen.
Flintoff best allrounder, not whislt Kallis is averaging 50 and under 30 with the ball. He is underrated, on statistics (which Australians love) he should go down as one of the best allrounders of all time.
Not a match winning batsmen? :rolleyes: ....yep keep telling yourself that he DIDN'T make 170 odd to win the test match agaisnt Australia
PowerKop
26 Nov 2004, 18:50
Vaughan would make it as well as Flintoff from England and maybe Harmison. Bring on the Ashes, should be a great series.
dr nick
26 Nov 2004, 19:08
Should this be a world XI thread? If so, Hayden, Gilchrist, Ponting, Warne, Gillespie and possibly Martyn at the moment would make it. Other spots filled by Trescothick (better than Vaughan this year i think), Dravid, Murali, Pollock.. maybe others i havent thought much
golions
26 Nov 2004, 19:41
...maybe others i havent thought much
Well why don't you think about it a bit more and get back to us.
the_mighty_pies_3733
26 Nov 2004, 19:44
England
Steve Harmison
India
Tendulkar
Dravid
Laxman
South Africa
Pollock
Kallis
Windies
Lara
Gayle
NZ
Bond
Fleming
Sri Lanka
Murali
Vaas
Pakistan
Aktar
ul-Haq
Remember these are just players talented enough to get in at the moment. Obvioulsly not all would get in.
dr nick
26 Nov 2004, 19:52
Well why don't you think about it a bit more and get back to us.
Well if youd bothered with your own, your words might actually mean something instead of coming across as an arrogant so and so.
Heaps. A world 11 would beat Australia, even if it was played in australia
Bentleigh
26 Nov 2004, 19:59
Heaps. A world 11 would beat Australia, even if it was played in australia
Doubt it.
Don't think Vaughan would be worth a place & Flintoff probably has a bit more to do to make a serious case but Harmison should get in, I know Kaspa has been bowling well lately but Harmison woudl still be worth a place whoever he replaces.
blackcat
26 Nov 2004, 22:38
Not a match winning batsmen? :rolleyes: ....yep keep telling yourself that he DIDN'T make 170 odd to win the test match agaisnt Australia
talking about creating a world 11, I thought it was obvious my inference in his mode of compilation of runs, versus taking 2 sessions to bring up a ton, Rahul takes a little longer ;) . His record against Australia, this series gone notwithstanding is a testament to his ability. I think he struggled against Australia earlier in his career tho.
the_mighty_pies_3733
27 Nov 2004, 06:46
Harmison? No thanks.
C'mon! hes the number 1 bowler in the world at the moment. I dont think Australia realises how much he has improved.
stmookeyj
27 Nov 2004, 08:38
ENG
Vaughan (Replacing possibly Langer or Lehmann)
Harmison (Replacing possibly Kaspa, definitely in the 12 for Brett Lee!)
PAK
Shoaib
Maybe Youhana at his best
IND
Dravid maybe for Lehmann or even Martyn if the need arose
SL
Sangakkara would be handy if Gilchrist was ever injured or tired, but apart from him
Murali for Kaspa
BAN
Would anyone make a 1st Grade XI?
WI
Lara or Sarwan for Lehmann
RSA
No-one on current form, Kallis maybe in ODI's
ZIM
See Bangladesh
NZ
A couple may provide handy backups but doubtful that any would get in.
golions
27 Nov 2004, 10:08
Well if youd bothered with your own, your words might actually mean something instead of coming across as an arrogant so and so.
sorry mate, just having a gentle dig ;)
Johnson#26
27 Nov 2004, 11:28
Tendulker and Dravid, and possibly Sehwag.
Black Thunder
28 Nov 2004, 12:08
C'mon! hes the number 1 bowler in the world at the moment. I dont think Australia realises how much he has improved.
biggest problem is he has been getting wickets againts under performing teams.
Black Thunder
28 Nov 2004, 12:16
Bangladesh:
- none (only Habibul Bashar and Mohammad Rafqiue would good a FC gig in Australian - and then only at NSW or SA, maybe WA or Tas)
England:
- Andy Flintoff for Lehmann
- Steve Harmison for Kasprowicz
(as much as i think the above two's have over performed lately, they are doing the job and would have to be rewarded)
- Michael Vaughan and Langer are pretty much equal - can't split them
India:
- Rahul Dravid for Lehmann
- Virendar Sehwag for Langer
- Sachin Tendulkar for Martyn or Clarke
- Kumble for Kasprowicz
(imagine the batting line-up of Sehwag, Hayden, Ponting, Dravid, Tendulkar, Clarke/Martyn, Gilchrist :eek: )
New Zealand
- Stephen Fleming for Lehmann
- Shane Bond (when fit) for Kasprowicz
Pakistan
- Yousuf Youhana for Lehmann
- Shoaib Akhtar for Kasprowicz
- Tafueeq Umar and Langer are practically equal and can't split them
(Danish Kaneria would be 12th man and would come in for Ahtar or Gillespie if the pitch was a turner)
(Also quite a lot of pressure coming from Ul Haq, Shabbir Ahmed and Umar Gul but not quite good enough)
South Africa
- Jacques Kallis for Lehmann
- Herschelle Gibbs for Langer
- Sean Pollock for Kasprowiczz
- three way battle for two spots between Graeme Smith, Martyn and Clarke (Gibbs to bat at #4 if Smith was opted over one of the other 2)
Sri Lanka
- Kumar Sangakarra for Lehmann
- Muttiah Murilitharan for Kasprowicz
West Indies
- Brian Lara for Lehmann
- three way battle for two spots between Ramnaresh Sarwan, Martyn or Clarke
Zimbabwe
- none
biggest problem is he has been getting wickets againts under performing teams.
But who isn't an underperforming team in Test cricket these days?
Most of them are.
Just about the only 2 that are worthy batting line ups are Australia anywhere & India at home.
I fully admit that the jury is out on Harmsion but this summer in England all 7 tests were played on good batting pitches (the scores bare this out) against 2 sides who were clearly a lot stronger in their batting than their bowling.