Sorell - Anthony McConnon
Kermandie - Adam Henley
Channel - Craig Roberts
Dodges Ferry - Danny Ling
Huonville Lions - Michael McGregor
Lindisfarne - Jarrod Bennett
Claremont - (Pending)
Notes
Hobart Football Club have yet to announce to the media of thier change to the Lions, apparently it is to go before the SFL and AFL Southern Tasmania to be ratified, also awaiting the seal of approval from the Brisbane Lions.
Claremont Football Club are allegedly in serious trouble and the club may fold before the season even starts according to sources out that way. Sources say thet have had only 6 or 7 on the track so far at training.
Lindisfarne Football Club put in a submission to join the Old Scholars Football Association for 2005 but were rejected by them. According to inside sources, the Two Blues have had up to 45 on the track training, and have got a few ex-Hobart players over there.
The Scarecrow
6th December 2004, 17:56
Thanks for posting that mate, I added it to the forum, aswell.
Kingpin
6th December 2004, 19:59
Yep, no wuckers :)
LFC
7th December 2004, 09:15
Uh, the Hobart Lions was passed before the AFLST a fortnight before the members voted on it.
Something fishy seems to have been going on there.
Kingpin
8th December 2004, 00:22
Uh, the Hobart Lions was passed before the AFLST a fortnight before the members voted on it.
Something fishy seems to have been going on there.
Exactly.
And then they are wondering why so many of thier old fans have turned thier backs on them :rolleyes:
A lot of people had heard about that one, that's why not many actual supporters turned up to the meeting - basically because it was a done deal and nothing could have changed it.
Sinn
9th December 2004, 18:11
From AFLST Website.
News flash! Darryn Perry & Heath Sims have been appointed assistant coach at Lindisfarne. New coach Jarrod Bennett is said to be thrilled by the latest signings. Heath has been working hard on his skill work in the pre season an area where Simo has trouble, while Darryn has had speech lessons in an attempt to communicate better with his players in the only grey area in an otherwise faultless programme. All officials and players cant wait for seasons start
Kingpin
14th December 2004, 11:42
Star Hobart player Sam Unsworth has signed with Kingborough.
Unsworth was allegedly off to the SANFL but trained with the Devils before signing with Kingborough club.
The Scarecrow
14th December 2004, 19:51
I think we should add that to the AFLST site ;)
Sad news for Hobart.
Sinn
17th December 2004, 19:00
More rumours from the website
15 year old Lauderdale freak Tom Collier is apparently set for another big year in the red and black after he was alleged to have turned down multiple offers to join the Roos. It is understood he is keen to play senior footy this year to help his development and not be left in the underage. 16/12/04
It appears Jason Philp is going walkabout again. After a stable couple of seasons at Kingborough it is alleged he has gone to a former club Kermandie for a sizeable contract. 16/12/04
David 'Nuts" Douce, the former Latrobe and Hawthorn champion appears to be causing some rumblings down at Cygnet again. He alleges that he had a verbal agreement with Tony Cole that the bench coach position was his. Now he learns that this is not the case and that he will only be performing running duties. One has to wonder whether introducing the recent new members to the club is worth it. I'm sure that there will be further updates after Xmas. 16/12/04
bakerman
18th December 2004, 12:30
Star Hobart player Sam Unsworth has signed with Kingborough.
Unsworth was allegedly off to the SANFL but trained with the Devils before signing with Kingborough club.
Sam is from Kingston so he is just going to play for his home team.
Kingpin
18th December 2004, 16:12
Sam is from Kingston so he is just going to play for his home team.
That's correct. His father wanted him to sign with Kingborough last year but he ended up at Hobart to improve his chances with the Devils.
Apparently he has family down that way as well and has returned home.
Hobart have lost up to six regular senior players over what has transpired in recent times over the logo debate, and the way the whole thing was so poorly mis-managed.
There is considerable concern from some players over the future of the club as so many stalwart supporters, angered at the way the club had been hijacked, have walked out on Hobart for good.
Most agree that Hobart had to adopt some sort of logo for the interim whilst in the SFL, and were willing to go along with this so long as all options had been properly explored and the club's colours were retained. But unfortunately there were things that went on in the last few months leading up to the December 1st meeting that were absolutely inexcusable for a democratic organisation.
And the club will suffer untold long-term damage as a result of these things.
Sinn
18th December 2004, 17:06
By the sounds of it Kingborough has lost a few players that have followed new Channel coach Craig Roberts.
bakerman
19th December 2004, 14:04
By the sounds of it Kingborough has lost a few players that have followed new Channel coach Craig Roberts.
True but I dont think they are all Senior players for the Tigers, but will be good for Channel.
Sinn
19th December 2004, 17:40
What will happen to Sartori? He'd be close to retirement wouldn't he?
Sinn
20th December 2004, 18:05
Big Sam Unsworth has been snapped up by the Kingborough Tigers although Hobart have apparently kept their captain, the big number 44 Dan Gray. It's believed that Hobart have lost as many as 10 senior players from this season. The word is that former Tasmanian AFL player Luke Shackleton might be joining the new look Lions. 20/12/04
Apparently Brad Lang has signed with Kermandie after going missing in the latter half of the 2004 season. It remains to be seen whether the former Glenorchy ruckman will see out the season with the Robins. Meantime the word is that Jason Philp has become the new assistant coach with the Robins. Kermandie president Greg Beechey is said to be delighted. 20/12/04
Kingpin
22nd December 2004, 23:45
Promising young Hobart player Michael Clarke has signed on with Huonville Lions.
Clarke who had played with Hobart's Colts side and been a senior player in the last couple of seasons had also trained with the Mariners and Devils at various stages.
The lure of the bigger paycheck was cited as the reason for his departure from the TCA to the Regional League.
LFC
23rd December 2004, 06:51
Promising young Hobart player Michael Clarke has signed on with Huonville Lions.
Clarke who had played with Hobart's Colts side and been a senior player in the last couple of seasons had also trained with the Mariners and Devils at various stages.
The lure of the bigger paycheck was cited as the reason for his departure from the TCA to the Regional League.
This is what disappoints me with footy in the south.
The players don't earn enough money from football to make a living, or even supplement their own income, yet they are willing to leave a club who has brought them up, given them a place to play and obviously in this case, developed him into a pretty good player, just so he can leave them for an extra few dollars.
Why don't the players just want to play in the best league? They are the same ones who pi ss and moan when nobody comes to the games.
Kingpin
23rd December 2004, 11:48
This is what disappoints me with footy in the south.
The players don't earn enough money from football to make a living, or even supplement their own income, yet they are willing to leave a club who has brought them up, given them a place to play and obviously in this case, developed him into a pretty good player, just so he can leave them for an extra few dollars.
Why don't the players just want to play in the best league? They are the same ones who pi ss and moan when nobody comes to the games.
Couldn't have said better myself ;)
My personal take on it all is until such times as they dedicate themselves properly to enhancing the standard of the game here, they all should get a standard $70 a game. Having seen the standard of the football played here, I find it hilarious what some of them are being paid and what some of them are expecting.
A lot of them want to get paid like bigtime footballers but want to drink heaps of p*ss and eat lots of McDonalds and smoke the laramies like they're going out of fashion.
There's very little club loyalty these days, most of them are just in it for a few bucks - just look at Jason Philp, more clubs than Tiger Woods.
There's an awful of Andy Blignaut's running around playing footy in the South, and that probably explains why the NTFL thrashes the SFL every year - and we're so weak now they'd rather play the NTFA instead.
You were at the Grand Final weren't you LFC? That was a poor standard game and even though there was a pretty good crowd, they were subdued right the way through.
The TFL was better.
LFC
23rd December 2004, 12:30
Thats right, I was at all three major GFs down here last season, the Premier League, the Regional League, and the Old Scholars, and I reckon the crowd was the best in the RL grand final, probably because of the fact that two teams playing were in their third Grand Final against each other, taking into account that most of the Sorell players migrated from Lauderdale.
None of the games were of a good standard, although the PL grand final wasn't too bad in that it was a close affair for the first half, it just gave nothing for the crowd to get into.
I think $70 is a fair amount per game down here, and know that most clubs that is the mid-ranked player payment here.
You would probably find that a number of clubs, especially in the regional league are way over the salary cap, and have been for a number of years..
The salary cap needs to be policed, and lowered in the regional league in my opinion.
Also, I feel there need to be incentives for playing football in the highest grade possible, the Devils are something to aspire to, but really, its no better than playing in a rep side, so there's got to be a better incentive.
I think you will find that a lot of players love to read their name in the paper, or see a goal that they kicked on the news or something like that.
More print and television coverage is required as far as I can see, the radio coverage would be ok, and would give people in their cars at the footy a reason to be there, but I think essentially, players want publicity. And there just isn't enough.
WCL
23rd December 2004, 13:55
Playing for the Devils is no better than playing for Devonport in the old Statewide league. They really could of made something of that if they (football tas) didn't stuff everything up. I reckon it was better than the old TFL but it just collapsed because no-one cared, by no-one I mean 10,000 more cared than they do now.
Sinn
23rd December 2004, 14:30
I'm not even sure Football Tasmania wants any of the leagues in the state to survive, you have clubs struggling to stay alive, you have players that aren't getting enough money to want to stay at one club, or even in the state. Most players don't even bother these days, you have players at teams that are lazy. And they wonder why interest in local football has fallen, who would want to turn up to a game and see one team smash the other?
It's time the league started to act more like big league, and not a country league, and start to try and rebuild Southern Football. Until some drastic changes are brought in, the Southern league will not see another 5 years.
Kingpin
23rd December 2004, 14:41
The sport here at the moment is in such a mess that I can't even begin to look at where we could start, to try and fix the problem. There are so many problems it could virtually unsalvageable.
You are spot on with the Regional Clubs being over the salary cap, there'd be at least one in the Premier League that's a fair way over it too let me tell ya' ;) - but they would be under-the-table payments.
I remember when Kermandie beat New Norfolk in 2000, there was substantial talk that Kermandie were WAY over the salary cap. But being a Huon club in a league run by Huon FA people, nothing was done obviously.
We really do need to get away from the SFL, it has such a poor name in the public in regard to being an amatuer competition. I suppose what they would really need to do is bring back the TANFL and try and stitch up some sort of media coverage, and proper sponsorship.
In regard to the ABC, for a few years we were getting THL Womens Hockey from Bell Street, then we would get TNL Womens Netball from Bartercard Stadium. In the past year or so we are getting VFL match of the day (usually between two Victorian clubs nobody here gives a crap about), I personally don't see why they dont show a "live last quarter" of the TANFL match of the day.
But the whole thing would have to be based on an improved playing standard, because putting the current SFL on television would probably do more damage to the sport's credibilty.
Things that might help get the local game back on the road to recovery
1) TANFL
2) All teams in traditional uniforms/colours/logo's
3) Good corporate sponsorship
4) Good playing standard
5) Increased TANFL salary cap (where allowable)
6) Increased media coverage (Newspaper, Radio & TV)
7) Closer alignment with the Devils.
8) Cuts ties with SFL.
Really, at the moment, what is there to get excited about in local football? Nothing.
Sinn
23rd December 2004, 14:52
The worst part is, it seems no one at AFL Tasmania, or even at the SFL are doing anything to try and fix this. They seem like they enjoy small crowds, and half the talented young players going off somewhere else to play.
Kingpin
23rd December 2004, 15:37
The worst part is, it seems no one at AFL Tasmania, or even at the SFL are doing anything to try and fix this. They seem like they enjoy small crowds, and half the talented young players going off somewhere else to play.
AFL Tasmania are only interested in crawly-bumlicking to the AFL and to Ken Gannon from the VFL - it's all jobs for the boys stuff.
The ********s that run the SFL are comfy with their AFL Tasmania payed salaries, these spankers couldn't even run the Huon FA properly and that's why the STFL (now SFL) started because of a mass exodus of clubs leaving the HFA to join the Southern Amateurs clubs in the new STFL.
In my association with the SFL 1998-2003, I have never seen such lazy, shoddy, unprofessional people running anything in my life - I can only shake your head at some of the things I've seen.
Although the TFL in its last days was quite ordinary, at least they had a go at trying to do things properly, they just let $$$$ take over from common sense.
Sinn
23rd December 2004, 16:15
I've been to some of the games, when I lived at Lindisfarne I went along and watched them, and saw a few players that I saw when I was younger in the TFL playing in the SFL for Lindisfarne, and other clubs.
There wouldn't be many players now days that would be considered in the old TFL, watching Brighton this year, I am amazed they are allowed in the league. I am annoyed at how the league is run, and how country footballers are allowed in the Premier League (Brighton) even the worst bush league over the main land is ran better then the SFL.
WCL
24th December 2004, 12:27
The best players in the SFL are many of the old "impact" bench players from the Statewide League and only about a 1/3 of the Devils team would be ahead of them. With the devils becoming a 1 town team they are really going to be in trouble when it comes to getting support as soon as the people get sick of them in a couple of years time.
The Devils are a team that have been thrust upon Tasmanians and now hobartians and they play in a glorified AFL reserves comp with no history and no relevence to the history that is Tasmanias crown jewel, Australian Rules Football.
Bring Back the TFL or say goodbye to football for good from this once proud and often famous footballing state.
All you interstaters be warned, if you do not keep your football organisation in check then you to will see your competitions slowly fade as well.
Sinn
25th December 2004, 16:50
Hobart Tassie Devils Part 2..
Kingpin
2nd January 2005, 16:38
2003 North Hobart Premiership player Brent "Froggy" Williams is training with and looks likely to play with Hobart in 2005.
Wild Pegasus
2nd January 2005, 18:19
Did he play in 2004? I didn't see him when I went to see North Hobart play.
bakerman
5th January 2005, 14:27
Did he play in 2004? I didn't see him when I went to see North Hobart play.
I hear that he had a year off and travelled.
He should come home to Kingbourough and play
Kingpin
6th January 2005, 01:07
I hear that he had a year off and travelled.
He should come home to Kingbourough and play
You can have him, and you can have Hobart's president as well - after all he's from down there.
Froggy's up there because he's good mates with Daniel Gray, and Gray coaxed him up to the TCA. You's can have Gray as well while you're at it.
Sell outs, the lot of 'em.
bakerman
6th January 2005, 08:37
You can have him, and you can have Hobart's president as well - after all he's from down there.
Froggy's up there because he's good mates with Daniel Gray, and Gray coaxed him up to the TCA. You's can have Gray as well while you're at it.
Sell outs, the lot of 'em.
Well someone is a bit ********ty.
Gray's dad played for Hobart but was from the Kingston area, so is Dickson.
It is good to see that the boys are playing where their dad's played. Shows some of the Hobart board some commitment.
Ease up Tiger !!
Sinn
6th January 2005, 13:44
Has he signed with anyone?
Kingpin
6th January 2005, 15:01
Well someone is a bit ********ty.
Gray's dad played for Hobart but was from the Kingston area, so is Dickson.
It is good to see that the boys are playing where their dad's played. Shows some of the Hobart board some commitment.
Ease up Tiger !!
You're damn straight I'm not happy with a few of them up there, and they know it - I let them know in no uncertain terms what I think of the whole thing.
There have been too many lies, too much concealing of the truth, too many hidden agendas - that's what angered me so much.
The lack of respect from the board shown towards those who saved the club eight years ago was apalling, as was the lack of respect shown toward any longtime supporter or former player who didn't agree with thier AFL alignment "vision".
Stacking what was supposedly a non-voting meeting, and then all of a sudden holding a vote.
Those who were pro-change heaping scorn on those who voted against.
Hobart will be a divided club forever now over this.
Apart from that smart-arse Gray, there aren't any former players who's sons are up at Hobart, according to a couple of the boys, Dickson's gone back to Kingborough.
I feel more sorry for a lot of the honest players who got caught up in all of this, a handful of players (most who have fathers on the board) who agitated and then involved the rest of the playing list in it all.
Already ten players have gone from 2004.
Seems you are only allowed an opinion if you're new to the club, or a member of the clique.
Hobart will find out the hard way, what happens when you treat your supporters with contempt.
The Scarecrow
6th January 2005, 17:45
The future of Hobart lies where? As the Lions? Or will they change again soon?
bakerman
7th January 2005, 15:14
Apart from that smart-arse Gray, there aren't any former players who's sons are up at Hobart, according to a couple of the boys, Dickson's gone back to Kingborough.
I dont think Dickson would go to Kingbourough but I will try to find out for you all.
Tiger I know that you are a mad Hobart fan (be it former) and footy is an emotional game for everybody that loves their club. Unfortunatlly for Hobart they (the board) have decided to call them the Lions. This is the future of the club now. Im not saying it is right but that is the fact.
I know when kingbourough changed it's name from Kingston it caused a huge fuss. I know it is not on the same level as Hobart's name change but it shows that some boards can hold clubs at ransom for their own personal victory.
The Scarecrow
7th January 2005, 19:34
I guess some supporters (like myself) don't want to see their team change their identity. I was disappointed when Glenorchy were forced to change. I hated the whole Storm idea, as a football follower, I also hate the Lions idea, the jumper, the colours, are wrong for them.
Kingpin
8th January 2005, 12:54
I dont think Dickson would go to Kingbourough but I will try to find out for you all.
Yes, allegedly one of the Dickson boys has gone back down the Southern Outlet, not sure if it is Brent or his brother, who has previously gone down to Kingborough a couple of years ago, and come back to Hobart only to go back again.
Tiger I know that you are a mad Hobart fan (be it former) and footy is an emotional game for everybody that loves their club.
That's very true, and I have plenty of other things in life to get on with, but the overwhelming sadness of it all for me is, that I still wanted to be able to watch my team play in its proper colours and be able roar the Tigers home on the terraces like many of us did in the past. That has gone now, as are almost all of my mates that I stood with on those terraces and created so much mayhem with.
It's a very difficult thing to get used to, being that it is something that has been with you for your entire life, only to have it ripped away from you by people who are only doing it for thier own big-noting and futures in politics and business circles.
Unfortunatlly for Hobart they (the board) have decided to call them the Lions. This is the future of the club now. Im not saying it is right but that is the fact.
True, the board a lot of brand new members and a select group of handpicked players voted to do it. In most cases, almost everyone at Hobart was resigned to the fact that we had to adopt something new as a logo.
There were a number put forward over time, but the club was not willing to listen to any of these (contrary to what the club president says).
The idea of becoming the Lions was mooted as a nickname as far back as when they first submitted a proposal to join the STFL in late 1997, but the club were told that they couldn't because of a new merger between Huonville & Franklin that had become the the Huonville Lions. I was the person who proposed that new nickname, on the condition that we must keep our colours.
The reception at the time for this, was luke-warm at best.
This was what we proposed this year, make strong submissions to AFL Tasmania and the SFL to reinstate the club's original Tiger identity, be active in the media about the issue, like the way Glenorchy were - failing that adopt either the Lions or Panthers as a logo, and maintain the traditional colours of the club.
Trouble was, we had board members telling us they were fighting tooth and nail for the Tigers, but then coterie group members were overheard bragging about a full AFL-alignment, with the complete backing of this same board who were allegedly "fighting tooth and nail for the Tiger" being a "done-deal" several weeks before the members and supporters had even been informed of what was happening.
To quote the President's own words from a newsletter in April 2004:
"Even if the club does adopt another logo, Hobart's colours will always be Gold & Black"
"Liar, Liar, Pants on Fire"
I know when kingbourough changed it's name from Kingston it caused a huge fuss. I know it is not on the same level as Hobart's name change but it shows that some boards can hold clubs at ransom for their own personal victory.
I saw a few things which indicated that some were unhappy about the change of name. It would be on par with calling Hobart, Hobart City (which was privately mooted by the inner-sanctum of the club a couple of years ago - the members & supporters were once again, not told of this). I know one of your supporters down there very well who goes to every match, who said that they were struggling quite badly to get spectators to thier games - not as badly as Hobart mind you.
Kingborough still has its colours, its logo, its proper playing strip, and its tradition intact - Hobart's has been completely eliminated.
For a club which prided itself on its tradition, and its association with the TFL, that was unbelievably soft of them to sell out like that.
One of the reasons I will never forgive some of the players for this, is that it was good enough for Glenorchy's, Kingborough's, Clarence's or New Norfolk's players to continuously stand up for thier club's traditions - whereas Hobart's simply backed down and ran away whimpering like little puppies peeing themselves, the minute they were challenged on our tradition.
Politics has murdered football here, this is just another example. This is why crowds don't go, and clubs can't get people to be involved anymore. The people aspect of footy died in the arse a long time ago.
bakerman
8th January 2005, 19:55
Mate I can hear what you are saying.
I ventured onto the Hobart website and the comments I saw tells me that the club might struggle !! Who knows but only time will tell.
The Scarecrow
11th January 2005, 14:29
Been checking through the Southernfootball website and there hasn't been anything footnball related reported for a long while. No rumours have been posted there either.
Jasar
12th January 2005, 19:33
Just a quick one, Joel Careless is making his return to Glenorchy again this year. He's moved back from Queensland and has started training at Glenorchy. Should be a good pick up for us, as it will give us another option in defence.
Kingpin
13th January 2005, 16:23
Noticed in the local rag today, Claremont is having its first training run under senior coach Danny Barrow.
That's the first suggestion as to who thier coach is- no wonder that club's in trouble. :rolleyes:
The Scarecrow
15th January 2005, 16:31
Do they even still have a team?
The Scarecrow
15th January 2005, 19:28
Just a quick one, Joel Careless is making his return to Glenorchy again this year. He's moved back from Queensland and has started training at Glenorchy. Should be a good pick up for us, as it will give us another option in defence.
Will he stay more then a year this time? It'll be good to have him back, as it would be good to get Ben back at the club aswell.
Kingpin
15th January 2005, 22:23
Another VERY strong tip doing the rounds at the moment is that Brighton are negotiating with AFL club Hawthorn, to become aligned with them and be known as the Brighton Hawks.
This seems a rather curious move in a lot of ways, considering how staunchly Brighton hung on to thier colours to spite North Hobart, and also given how many of thier supporters stopped following them when they changed thier name from Mangalore to Brighton in the mid 90's.
Their on-field woes are caused by being a) not spending any money at all last year, and b) being based in a lonely, isolated one-horse town sort of area which makes it difficult to attract good players.
I can't see how aligning with Hawthorn is going to help them.
North Hobart have been pretty quick to pounce on this, stating that "a return to thier traditional jumper is imminent", and "negotiations are coming along nicely".
I KNEW this would happen. As soon as AFL Tasmania sends a bloke in to Hobart FC (who happens to be a former club President, and has had no involvement with club since they left the TFL) to cajole the club into changing colours with all sorts of sweeteners and promises, North would come out and basically be handed thier colours back.
And once again, Hobart is left as the only one with nothing...........How f*cking typical :rolleyes:
Sinn
15th January 2005, 22:26
AFL Tasmania needs to be re-done, and start agaiin, the league is suffering, so are clubs..
Jasar
16th January 2005, 18:49
Another rumour that I have heard over the last couple of weeks is that Glenorhcy have lost Brad Curran, Brad will playing with Dodgers this season, as well as a few other Glenorchy players with Danny Ling coaching them this year. So Glenorchy have gone from picking up Jamie Curran, to losing Brad. What going on at Magpie Land???? Will we have a competitive this seasons?
The Scarecrow
16th January 2005, 19:11
Who else have we lost? Sounds like a bad season ahead.
Skull Von Krush
18th January 2005, 17:00
Any news on Langy?
The Scarecrow
20th January 2005, 02:58
The following are rumours that have been posted on Southernfootball.com.au (http://www.southernfootball.com.au)
Former Lauderdale high flyer Brad 'Jack Burton' Marsland has reportedly signed with the Friends Football Club for the season 2005. The former Hodgman Medallist is believed to be in fantastic shape mainly thanks to his brother Simon 'Highkick' Marsland's intense training regime. Attendance rates are sure to soar, because Marsland is a proven crowd pleaser. 18/1/05
Is there any truth that former Eastlakes/St. Kilda and Devonport player Kurt Heazlewood has signed with the North Hobart Demons for season 2005? Heazlewood is has been training with the Demons. His former Tassie Mariners team mate and Demons coach Brendon Bolton is keen to have "Snapper " running around North Hobart in 2005. Heazlewood is also on Tasmanian coach Matt Armstrongs' shopping list for 2005 but strong rumours say that Kurt has been offered a better deal at the Demons. 16/1/05
Jasar
1st February 2005, 15:38
Just a few Glenorchy Rumours that I've heard over the last week or so.
The new reserves coach is Todd Lewis, Todd Coached Richmond to a flag in the Old Scholars last seasons, and has also coached Uni. Should be interesting to see if he plays for Glenorchy aswell, he could be handy for us with all the players we have lost.
Another lost to Glenorchy is Jon Bowring, Jabba's knee injury from last year is taking longer to heal than first thought. he's running, but just not at full pace. So at this stage Jabba is out for the year. Which is bad luck for us.
Kingpin
2nd February 2005, 01:05
Just a few Glenorchy Rumours that I've heard over the last week or so.
The new reserves coach is Todd Lewis, Todd Coached Richmond to a flag in the Old Scholars last seasons, and has also coached Uni. Should be interesting to see if he plays for Glenorchy aswell, he could be handy for us with all the players we have lost.
Played for Hobart in 95/96 a small bloke, played on the wing a bit from memory. Was one of the 40 that walked out on Hobart in 1997.
Also played for Brighton in the old SFL for a fair while there.
The Scarecrow
4th February 2005, 18:41
From Southernfootball.com.au
As was reported earlier Brad Lang has reportedly signed with Kermandie ! Ex Huonville coach Nathan Longman has apparently defected from Huonville to join his old team mates, Adam Henley and Matthew Bernes along with Jason Philp allegedly coming back. 25/1/05
Also rumoured to be on the recruiting trail are long time easy beats Lindisfarne! The Blues have apparently signed Matthew Honey (ex Dosa, Glenorchy) and big Wayne Hogan (Swansea, Glenorchy North Hobart). They have allegedly enticed Allan Robinson (formerly Allan White) - ex Kempton, Claremont, Lauderdale, Kermandie and Shaun Goodsell and Mick Cassidy from Claremont. 25/1/05
Kingpin
6th February 2005, 04:13
Also rumoured to be on the recruiting trail are long time easy beats Lindisfarne! The Blues have apparently signed Matthew Honey (ex Dosa, Glenorchy) and big Wayne Hogan (Swansea, Glenorchy North Hobart). They have allegedly enticed Allan Robinson (formerly Allan White) - ex Kempton, Claremont, Lauderdale, Kermandie and Shaun Goodsell and Mick Cassidy from Claremont. (25/1/05)
Not surprised "Lizard" Hogan has headed over to Lindisfarne. He's a neighbour of mine, and one of his mates has some sort of involvement over there.
That was the same bloke who was telling me a month or so back that the Two Blues had recruited pretty well, and that a lot of ex-Hobart had headed over there.
Hogan was in good form at Swansea, and would be a good recruit for Lindisfarne in my opinion.
Matthew Honey won't be any added value to Lindisfarne. He was lazy at Hobart, lazy at Glenorchy, and was ok (but still lazy) in poor standard comp when he was at DOSA. Hasn't been anything since he left Clarence to join Hobart in 1996. Could've been a much better player than he is, if he wasn't afflicted by lazyprikkitis.
Other news that I've heard is that former Hobart player Shawn Satori has headed back to Channel for 2005.
Satori was a former Burnie Hawks and Sandy Bay player in the Statewide League, may have been a Southern Cat as well from memory, he coached Channel in 2001 before heading up to the TCA in 2002.
Former Devonport Blues, Hobart, Clarence & Kingston Premiership player Kyle Wilson is the Kingborough Reserves coach for 2005.
"Zinger" was the Senior coach at Lindisfarne in 2003-04 but left after failing to get the Two-Blues off the bottom of the Regional League ladder.
I would say he would have more success at Kingborough than at Lindisfarne, with the lack of professionalism at the Two Blues being a problem.
Kingpin
6th February 2005, 04:21
As was reported earlier Brad Lang has reportedly signed with Kermandie ! Ex Huonville coach Nathan Longman has apparently defected from Huonville to join his old team mates, Adam Henley and Matthew Bernes along with Jason Philp allegedly coming back. (25/1/05)
Looks like a lot of those former Glenorchy boys are $$$$$ chasing again :rolleyes: Capable of playing in a much higher standard comp.
Jason Philp :rolleyes: How many clubs has this guy played for in recent years?
More clubs than Tiger Woods this bloke. Again $$$$.
Jasar
6th February 2005, 17:36
Matthew Honey won't be any added value to Lindisfarne. He was lazy at Hobart, lazy at Glenorchy, and was ok (but still lazy) in poor standard comp when he was at DOSA. Hasn't been anything since he left Clarence to join Hobart in 1996. Could've been a much better player than he is, if he wasn't afflicted by lazyprikkitis.
Honey Lazy at Glenorchy??? His last run at Glenorchy he was one off our best players in defence and rightfully came runners up in the club best and fariest. Honey won't be playing at Linisfarne this year anyway, and if you knew why, you probably wouldn't be saying things like "Lazyprikkitis"!!!! And if he does pull on the boots this year, it just proves that he's not lazy or soft, but one of the toughest players in football at the moment.
The Scarecrow
6th February 2005, 18:38
Looks like a lot of those former Glenorchy boys are $$$$$ chasing again :rolleyes: Capable of playing in a much higher standard comp.
Jason Philp :rolleyes: How many clubs has this guy played for in recent years?
More clubs than Tiger Woods this bloke. Again $$$$.
More money, less training involved.
Kingpin
6th February 2005, 20:47
Honey Lazy at Glenorchy??? His last run at Glenorchy he was one off our best players in defence and rightfully came runners up in the club best and fariest.
Quite a lot of Glenorchy Storm people at the time used to tell me that. From when I observed him at Hobart at training and in matches he was lazy. And in matches Hobart had played against the Storm he moved less than Inzamam-ul-Haq for four quarters.
Same goes for what four or five players I knew from DOSA had said also, when he was there.
Honey won't be playing at Linisfarne this year anyway, and if you knew why, you probably wouldn't be saying things like "Lazyprikkitis"!!!!
Why not? Has he an illness or serious injury of some description?
If he makes it back from the above affliction described, no he wouldn't be called lazy.
But that's not the issue here is it? The issue being discussed was his perceived laziness on the track at Hobart, Glenorchy Storm and DOSA prior to any said illness or injury.
And if he does pull on the boots this year, it just proves that he's not lazy or soft, but one of the toughest players in football at the moment.
Didn't say he was soft at all. Said his committment wasn't as good as it could've been when he had the talent, and was at the right age (he'd be well into his 30's now wouldn't he?), for his football ability to take him further.
If he wanted to make a spirited comeback, Lindisfarne would not be the place to do it.
The Scarecrow
6th February 2005, 20:54
I would think playing for Lindisfarne would be a massive step down, might as play for DOSA.
Kingpin
6th February 2005, 21:41
From the North Hobart Football Club Forums:
North Hobart has applied to AFL South for full reinstatement of its original Red & Blue (Melbourne style) jumper.
Negotiations have been put on hold, whilst negotiations take place between Brighton Football Club and AFL South.
____________________________________________________________ ____
I'm in two minds on this one, it would help the profile of football in the South if they were able to return to thier proper uniform from a public perspective (same as it would if Hobart was allowed) but on the hand, I hope Hobart blocks it if it comes to a vote, as they blocked Hobart from getting thiers back last year, the hypocrites.
Interesting how AFL South are virtually trying to coral Brighton into changing thier identity to suit North Hobart, but are treating Kingborough like a damn protected species, despite the fact that Hobart are going dowhill faster than a bob-sledding team.
I smell a rat..........again. :rolleyes:
The Scarecrow
7th February 2005, 15:09
I believe this will cause more problems then it would fix if North wore their old jumper again, I am going to be interested to see what comes about this move, and what the other clubs (Hobart being the main one) will end up doing.
Kingpin
7th February 2005, 20:25
I believe this will cause more problems then it would fix if North wore their old jumper again, I am going to be interested to see what comes about this move, and what the other clubs (Hobart being the main one) will end up doing.
Yes, and more strangely with Hobart losing thier identity, I came across an absolute doosy on the Hobart website straight from the President's mouth.
Hobart intend to wear something similar to Brisbane's BBFFC on the back collar, and also Western Bulldogs' FFC collar.
They intend to wear an HFC and a small Tiger head on the collar at the back :confused:
Not sure if the league and more to the point Kingborough will allow that, and it seems like a little token thing to try and woo back angry Hobart supporters.
It won't be wooing me back I can tell you, I think it's an insult wearing the Tiger on that disgusting jumper.
If it gets passed by the SFL, then the question remains, why couldn't they have worn it on the front? Why couldn't they have kept the Black and Gold colours?
It's getting more like a circus every week. That jumper will be busier than Grand Central Station at this rate.
The Scarecrow
8th February 2005, 14:38
I am not even sure the league know's what the hell they are doing these days, I mean I am sure Hobart could of only changed their colours and still be known as Tigers, with the Tiger head on the jumper. I am sure Kingborough could of worn the Tiger head on their jumper, as it is their current logo.
All I see happening if they let Hobart wear the small Tiger's head is a big row with the Hobart supporters with good reason, the league either should let Hobart wear the Tiger on the front of the jumper, or not let them wear it at all, they have to make a decision.
Kingpin
8th February 2005, 14:52
One disgusted Hobart supporter by the looks of things has sold all of his old badges on ebay, I noticed recently.
There were 1962-1966-1969-1970-1971-1980 Vice President's Badge, (We've got the same badge here :confused: ) -1982-1985 as well as an original 1965 North Hobart Robins badge.
Sold for $20.50. Luckily I have 1945 onwards.
HFC Badges on Ebay (http://cgi.ebay.com.au/was/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=2846&item=5161340002&rd=1)
Edit: I provided this link but the page has been taken down.
The Doctor '73
8th February 2005, 18:54
Apart from that smart-arse Gray, there aren't any former players whose sons are up at Hobart, according to a couple of the boys, Dickson's gone back to Kingborough.
I feel more sorry for a lot of the honest players who got caught up in all of this, a handful of players (most who have fathers on the board) who agitated and then involved the rest of the playing list in it all.
There aren’t many players at the moment who have had fathers play for the HFC but here are a couple you may have missed. Scott Reid’s, Mark and Cameron Beck’s fathers played for Hobart. Andrew Best and Nathan Free have had Uncle’s that have played for the HFC (and plenty of cousins in the latter’s case). New recruit Brendon Davis father also played for Hobart. I’m not too sure of any of the underage players.
The only players who I believe have fathers currently on the board are Andrew Lemm, Patrick Midson, and the Harvey’s. I don’t believe any of these players were at all vocal in support in regards to changing the strip. Maybe they have made comments since about trying to support the new colours but none of these to my knowledge were supporters of the change in jumper at all.
Sorry Tigers 1945 I’m not having a go at you or anything but I just don’t want you to place the blame on the wrong people. I agree that it must be hard for all the players in the middle of it all, as it seemed to be a “one in, all in” situations for the players run by a few people at the top. One of the biggest supporters of a change in colours and the first person to really put immense pressure on the players into following suit was Jock Macgregor. A non-Hobart person who isn’t with the club anymore and even went to the media to try and highlight his agenda at a time when the club should have been putting their full concentration on the finals campaign.
That’s terrible news in regards to the sale of the HFC badges I can understand why that person has sold the items, but it still breaks the heart. They may be extremely disgusted with what’s going on at the moment but I hope down the track that they won’t regret selling such great memorabilia.
Kingpin
8th February 2005, 19:47
There aren’t many players at the moment who have had fathers play for the HFC but here are a couple you may have missed. Scott Reid’s, Mark and Cameron Beck’s fathers played for Hobart. Andrew Best and Nathan Free have had Uncle’s that have played for the HFC (and plenty of cousins in the latter’s case). New recruit Brendon Davis father also played for Hobart. I’m not too sure of any of the underage players.
Nice to have you on board Doc :) I was speaking of 2004 Senior players. Stumpy Reid's (from the two's) father Jack played in the '73 Premiership, The Beck Brothers father had been around the club in some sort of description since around 1959. And of course Chilli & Diggem' have had family around the place since the club started, and you don't see many of them still following Hobart it has to be said. Besty hasn't pulled on the boots for awhile now.
Noddy Davis walked out when his son went to Clarence in 1998, and came back just in time for the December 1st meeting.
Just on Brendan Davis, he was a part time member of the infamous group of Hobart supporters that hung around with the drum-banging Steve "Jungle" Denehey on the terraces at grounds during the Statewide League days.
Interesting to note, not one of those supporters still follow Hobart, and all left in protest at some time or another within the last five years.
The only players who I believe have fathers currently on the board are Andrew Lemm, Patrick Midson, and the Harvey’s. I don’t believe any of these players were at all vocal in support in regards to changing the strip. Maybe they have made comments since about trying to support the new colours but none of these to my knowledge were supporters of the change in jumper at all.
The Harvey boys were certainly quietly respectful on thier thoughts and didn't try to play politician with the supporters, but there are certain others who in my opinion tried to badger supporters into voting Lions.
With rediculous statements such as "you're not true Hobart supporters if you don't vote this through, and we'll all walk out if it doesn't get over the line".
I know of some players (not mentioned above) who made phone calls to certain fans and members of the Old Players & Officials trying to corale them into which way to vote. There were other methods used as well to try and badger supporters into voting the board approved way.
Absolutely disgraceful situation, and I won't support quite a few of those current players for that very reason.
Sorry Tigers 1945 I’m not having a go at you or anything but I just don’t want you to place the blame on the wrong people.
No offence taken. I know exactly who the culprits are. I (and many others) won't be letting them have a very peaceful existence from now on, that's a given. I don't think they realise (through foolishness or blind arrogance) just how enraged some supporters are over this.
I agree that it must be hard for all the players in the middle of it all, as it seemed to be a “one in, all in” situations for the players run by a few people at the top.
Yes, that's exactly what it was. I knew quite a few players that were either pro-Tigers, or just plainly weren't interested in getting involved in the politics (they just wanted to concentrate on football) that were forced by either peer-group pressure, pressure from the board to get involved, oh and the threat of ostracisation, to vote for the changes.
As for those who currently run the club, they couldn't lie straight in bed any of them. That president is an absolute abomination, a typical politician who played politics within the club and totally stuffed it. That bastard wouldn't know the true meaning of the word tradition, or club-spirit. He was in it to further his political aspirations and to big-note himself.
The tradition, the colours, the jumper, the supporters all meant sweet-FA to him - and it shows.
All but one of the premiership flags being lost shows to me just how much they value it. All remaining Tiger memorabilia should be removed from the club and kept at the Brisbane Hotel. At least real Tiger supporters can still drink amongst the tradition (what's left of it at least). Very few want to come back to the TCA.
The board were jokes when I tried to help them years ago, and they are still jokes now. Their arrogance and myopia when it comes to forseeing problems with loss of support and membership and is at best laughable, at worst a disgrace.
They are in the fortunate position now of being able to sit back and do very little (like they did every other year) and rely on Brisbane Lions money (it'll be intersting to see how much they reallyget) and AFL Tasmania handouts to get them out of trouble. Money from Brisbane won't buy Hobart supporters or members.
According to one influential person involved at AFL Queensland, Hobart will be lucky to get the drippings off of Brisbane's nose, but we will watch in anticipation.
Selling the soul of a club for a set of jumpers - typical of the lack of backbone at Hobart nowdays.
One of the biggest supporters of a change in colours and the first person to really put immense pressure on the players into following suit was Jock Macgregor. A non-Hobart person who isn’t with the club anymore and even went to the media to try and highlight his agenda at a time when the club should have been putting their full concentration on the finals campaign.
Absolute scum of a man. Worst coach Hobart ever had, not in win/loss ratio, but in the way he treated the supporters and members at the club, and his generally pathetic attitude toward the club itself.
Little wonder he's not particularly well liked by any club he ever played for. Good riddance to bad rubbish I say.
Dare I say, there might be a few former Hobart supporters who might attend a Huonville Lions game this year to let Jock know how he helped kill a great club. He needs reminding every now and then.
That’s terrible news in regards to the sale of the HFC badges I can understand why that person has sold the items, but it still breaks the heart. They may be extremely disgusted with what’s going on at the moment but I hope down the track that they won’t regret selling such great memorabilia.
Not good news, no. I still have all my badges here and old memorabilia and I will never sell it. I wouldn't give it to the club either, they'd probably lose it. But some supporters are so heartbroken over what's happened maybe they just want a clean break away from the club and its memories. After following the club my whole life, I never thought in my lifetime that I'd ever dislike Hobart, but at the moment I do. And I hate most of the people involved in the club. This, in my opinion is a completely different and "new" club.
Hobart will never be the sort of club it ever prided itself on throughout its history whilst the current people running the club have anything to do with it.
So I don't see those badges (or myself and many others) making a return to the terraces for many, many, many years yet.
maccas_no1
9th February 2005, 19:48
Glenorchy have released a new version for their club song:
Oh were from Glenorchy,
The Mighty Magpie's,
From Glenorchy,
In any weather you will see us risking head and chin,
fighting till we win,
will fight and fight till we win,
Oh were from Glenorchy,
The Mighty Magpies,
From Glenorchy,
Like the maggies of old,
were strong and were bold,
ohh the black and the white,
From Glenorchy.
Doesnt sound too bad what do other's reakon???
Will the supporters catch on????
The Scarecrow
9th February 2005, 20:43
Oh were from Glenorchy,
The Mighty Magpie's,
From Glenorchy,
fighting till we win,
Oh were from Glenorchy,
The Mighty Magpies,
From Glenorchy,
Like the maggies of old,
From Glenorchy.
It could catch on, though, I don't like it, I would rather 'We're Glenorchy Boys The Magpies'
The Doctor '73
9th February 2005, 20:54
Interested to see that on the Hobart Website that it looks like we will be able to wear the traditional strip for our game against Glenorchy to commerate our 60th Anniversay.
Could a bumper crowd highlight the point to officials that by retaining our tradional colours we could get an increase in supporters to our matches? Or if there is a lack of support will this prove the opposite?
Interested to know what people think. As I recall a few years ago Glenorchy were allowed to play in their tradional black and white gurnsey for a anniversary type match when they were still wearing their Storm colours on a regular basis, that they had a bigger crowd than usual support them in their match against Clarance.
The Doctor '73
9th February 2005, 21:06
Originally Posted by maccas_no1
Oh were from Glenorchy,
The Mighty Magpie's,
From Glenorchy,
fighting till we win,
Oh were from Glenorchy,
The Mighty Magpies,
From Glenorchy,
Like the maggies of old,
From Glenorchy.
What tune is thi suppose to be sang to? As there old one doesn't seem to fit?
The Scarecrow
9th February 2005, 21:10
Text Deleted
maccas_no1
9th February 2005, 21:16
Originally Posted by maccas_no1
Oh were from Glenorchy,
The Mighty Magpie's,
From Glenorchy,
fighting till we win,
Oh were from Glenorchy,
The Mighty Magpies,
From Glenorchy,
Like the maggies of old,
From Glenorchy.
What tune is thi suppose to be sang to? As there old one doesn't seem to fit?
To the tune of the Richmond song, Glenorchy supporters will have to get used to it I guess.
The Scarecrow
9th February 2005, 21:27
To the tune of the Richmond song, Glenorchy supporters will have to get used to it I guess.
I can safely say the Devils don't have the worst club song now..
The Doctor '73
9th February 2005, 21:33
Sorry had a mental blank there, should have known it was to the richmond song. I agree I don't think it will sound very good at all. Nothing butchers a club song more than trying to substitue in different words especially changing Ti-ger-land to Glen-or-chy.
The Scarecrow
9th February 2005, 21:34
Sorry had a mental blank there, should have known it was to the richmond song. I agree I don't think it will sound very good at all. Nothing butchers a club song more than trying to substitue in different words especially changing Ti-ger-land to Glen-or-chy.
Well I guess it's not as bad as changing Tigerland to TASMANIA :D but yeah, it's still going to sound crap.
maccas_no1
10th February 2005, 06:38
Well I guess it's not as bad as changing Tigerland to TASMANIA :D but yeah, it's still going to sound crap.
You being a fair dinkum, true blue Glenorchy supporter Davo will be singing throughout the year with gusto and pride, sure you will hear it alot this year ;)
Jasar
10th February 2005, 07:32
Oh were from Glenorchy,
The Mighty Magpie's,
From Glenorchy,
fighting till we win,
Oh were from Glenorchy,
The Mighty Magpies,
From Glenorchy,
Like the maggies of old,
From Glenorchy.
Well Done Macca, how long did it take you too think all that up?
The Scarecrow
10th February 2005, 12:45
You being a fair dinkum, true blue Glenorchy supporter Davo will be singing throughout the year with gusto and pride, sure you will hear it alot this year ;)
There will only be one Glenorchy club song :D I'm not sure how we will go this year, with the players we have lost.
Kingpin
10th February 2005, 21:03
Oh were from Glenorchy,
The Mighty Magpie's,
From Glenorchy,
fighting till we win,
Oh were from Glenorchy,
The Mighty Magpies,
From Glenorchy,
Like the maggies of old,
From Glenorchy.
:confused: Oh dear God, why???
maccas_no1
10th February 2005, 21:25
bwwwwwwwwwwwwhahahahhahahaha
Kingpin
11th February 2005, 22:59
Interested to see that on the Hobart Website that it looks like we will be able to wear the traditional strip for our game against Glenorchy to commerate our 60th Anniversay.
Could a bumper crowd highlight the point to officials that by retaining our tradional colours we could get an increase in supporters to our matches? Or if there is a lack of support will this prove the opposite?
Looks like I'll have at least one match to attend in 2005 then.
From what I hear, there are a fair few that are turning up for it - hopefully it is publicised.
Be interesting to see wether some of the more disenchanted supporters come to the game or not, if they do - it should highlight a few things (not that they'd take any notice anyhow), if they don't - that's it for Hobart.
I just hope for our sake's that people do rally back this time, because if they don't, well........................that's it really. :(
I'm just wondering wether they'll wear the jumper, shorts & socks, or just the jumper with the maroon Lions shorts and socks.
That may keep some away for appearing tokenistic.
As I recall a few years ago Glenorchy were allowed to play in their tradional black and white gurnsey for a anniversary type match when they were still wearing their Storm colours on a regular basis, that they had a bigger crowd than usual support them in their match against Clarance.
From memory there were three games the GDFC wore thier traditional black & white uniform in, two against Clarence at KGV, and another at North Hobart in a night game. All looked to have much bigger attendances (certainly the night game did, as I went to it)
The difference between Glenorchy and Hobart is, that Glenorchy actually *wanted* to revert back to thier colours. Thier coach got in the papers, thier players always mentioned it when interviewed in the SFL Matchday Program, thier supporters and Past Players wanted it.
In contrast, Hobart made little or no attempt to regain thier colours, never got in the media trying to win support for a return to it, tried to play politics with fans and members to try and change the whole thing lock, stock and barrel, ignored fans feelings on the matter, treated the Past Players like sh*t, and it will backfire on them in the longterm.
I doubt many players and current supporters at Hobart would want to return to the Tiger tradition.
In my opinion, most of them aren't worthy of it.
The Scarecrow
13th February 2005, 17:55
We wore the black and white twice against North Hobart, and once against Clarence for the reopening of Glenorchy Hall of Fame. I really liked the jumper they wore during the game against Clarence.
maccas_no1
13th February 2005, 18:09
We wore the black and white twice against North Hobart, and once against Clarence for the reopening of Glenorchy Hall of Fame. I really liked the jumper they wore during the game against Clarence.
Believe Glenorchy are opening their Hall Of Fame up this year to not only include past players, but committee and dedicated member's, who have more than 10yr continous membership with the club.
The Doctor '73
14th February 2005, 17:57
I'm just wondering wether they'll wear the jumper, shorts & socks, or just the jumper with the maroon Lions shorts and socks.
That may keep some away for appearing tokenistic.
I'm pretty sure that they are going to use black shorts and socks from last years uniform. Whilst the socks won't be in the traditional hoop black and gold colours it shouldn't take too much away from the overall outfit.
I hope that a lot of people turn up to the match, especially decked out in the original colours of black and gold. No matter what the president or what other board members/players are saying at the moment, I believe if the crowd is big enough, especially compared to what the crowd usually is for a Hobart game, then both the AFLST or the club officials won't be able to ignore it.
The Scarecrow
15th February 2005, 03:35
Believe Glenorchy are opening their Hall Of Fame up this year to not only include past players, but committee and dedicated member's, who have more than 10yr continous membership with the club.
I seem to remember that in 2002 against Clarence was the day they reopened it, because they had a dinner there before the seniors game. We also wore a jumper that had the hall of fame with a magpie on it, I am sure I can find the logo that was put on the jumper.
Jasar
17th February 2005, 09:54
Havn't heard anything about including new players to the hall of fame. But I think they should include officals and supporters. You get blokes down at the club like Kevin Foster who should be in there. One thing, not sure if you agree though Scarecrow, what about Felly? Shane Fell was a legend at the club, and still gets talked about, should he be included to the hall of fame. Was he in the Glenorchy's hall of fame team?
Good to see the club has also picked up some players this year, we just seem to have lost heaps. Another one is Adam Ransley to Kermandie, also Kermandie picked up Former Glenorchy, Former Dosa Rhys Fleminham.
The new reserve's coach is a mystery, I had been told by upto 5 people that Todd Lewis was coaching them, not sure what has happen there though
The Scarecrow
17th February 2005, 13:16
Fell should easily have been added to the hall of fame, as should a few players, maybe they will add them this year?
The Scarecrow
17th February 2005, 13:18
The new reserve's coach is a mystery, I had been told by upto 5 people that Todd Lewis was coaching them, not sure what has happen there though
This is from the Glenorchy club notes that was reported on the league's website.
Glenorchy FC welcomes former Longford FC player Andrew Philpott to the Club as our new Reserves Coach for season 2005. Andrew is an experienced and well known player from the Launceston area who will greatly improve the coaching capabilities of the Club.
Jasar
17th February 2005, 13:42
This is from the Glenorchy club notes that was reported on the league's website.
Glenorchy FC welcomes former Longford FC player Andrew Philpott to the Club as our new Reserves Coach for season 2005. Andrew is an experienced and well known player from the Launceston area who will greatly improve the coaching capabilities of the Club.
I know I read that but Todd lewis was orignally hired. He was the only one that applied for the job. So something must have happen since the time he was appointed till the naming of a new coach.
The Scarecrow
17th February 2005, 13:44
There is also a rumour of Rainbird going to coach Brighton, but the site says that Splann is their coach, so someone has stuffed up somewhere.
Jasar
17th February 2005, 13:50
If you want a rumour then Scarecrow, here's a huge one. A few weeks ago, the Tasmania Devils almost lost their best player from last year. Matthew Javonvic (Sp?) was so p*ssed off with Matty Armstrong that he was will going to walk from the club. He's already stating that this will be he's last year for the devils and that next year he will be returning to Victoria and playing for a bush team. Hopefully to get his love of the game back. Sounds like another Langy story!!!!
The Scarecrow
17th February 2005, 17:44
Matthew Armstrong strikes again, I hear he is a very loveable bloke...NOT.
Jasar
18th February 2005, 11:48
I heard a huge rumour this morning regarding Glenorchy's captain, Jamie Kaye. Talk is that he has been stripped of being captain this year, and that he and a few other players have left the club in disgust and are playing for Brighton this year. Now this is only a rumour, and I hope it's not true, but if it is some of the players we could lose is huge. Jamie is engage to Dave "Disco" Kamaric sister, he's close friends with Chris "Swooper" Glenn, so there is two that would most likley go, who else could we lose?????
WCL
18th February 2005, 16:01
We are really going to struggle, the culture at Glenorchy must be 10 times worse than at Hobart, because remember we made a prelim last year and also regained our club colours. Absolutely shocking.
Kingpin
18th February 2005, 22:18
Had a good chat to Lizard Hogan today, he is training and will be lining up with Lindisfarne this year. He reckons that they'll be the big improvers and that Kermandie will be the flag favourites in the Regional.
Apparently Claremont's still in deep sh*t, as are Glenorchy.
Hobart will probably have a good year on the ground, but without a following.
Doesn't sound too good what's going on out at Glenorchy, hope for you blokes' sakes its only rumours at this stage, because it sounds like there's rifts developing everywhere.
Heard another story today of another couple of well-known longterm Hobart fans, will be going to watch Kingborough this year in protest, joining former mad Hobart fan Steve "Jungle" Denehey at "The Pit".
The Doctor '73
19th February 2005, 01:11
Heard another story today of another couple of well-known longterm Hobart fans, will be going to watch Kingborough this year in protest, joining former mad Hobart fan Steve "Jungle" Denehey at "The Pit".
This just points to how bad this whole thing with the jumpers was handled and the effect that it has caused. It was a terrible blow to the club when Steve left and it was a blight on the board at the time that they didn’t reveal to the players/supporters the real reason why he left. (Tigers 1945 you would know better than me at this but I believe it was due to the team manager at the time, he is now at Brighton, being incredibly rude to Jungle). Instead we were told that he left because we couldn’t officially be called the tigers and that he followed the tiger emblem. This caused great resentment by the players towards Steve as they felt that he had just left friendships behind due to something which at the time seemed trivial due to the fact that he had supported us with the same amount of gusto for about 1.5 seasons after we had changed our jumpers and lost our official tiger recognition. Unfortunately I can see the same thing happening this time if long time supporters do the same and go and support Kingston. Resentment will build up from all sides and it will create the situation where supporters may never come back even if we do lose the jumper after this season.
I just saw the presidents latest message on the Hobart website and it pretty much sums up the whole situation. In his actual work for the HFC I don’t disrespect him as much as a lot of other supporters do, as I believe that he does put in quite a few hours, but his people skills are absolutely terrible. Instead of trying to take a delicate approach to issues that need that sort of tact he seems to try and turn everything into union argument. He should not be posting on the guest book and especially try not to take cheap shots at anybody who questions the direction of the HFC. He should strictly only write club news.
As a long-time supporter who feels like they are “stuck in the middle” like many others it is very depressing to see what is happening at the moment as in regards to on-field matters it’s looking very good. Whilst I don’t think we will be a big threat to the flag this year over the next few we can be a real force if we can retain most of the youngsters and coaching staff that we have at the moment.
Kingpin
19th February 2005, 02:21
This just points to how bad this whole thing with the jumpers was handled and the effect that it has caused. It was a terrible blow to the club when Steve left and it was a blight on the board at the time that they didn’t reveal to the players/supporters the real reason why he left. (Tigers 1945 you would know better than me at this but I believe it was due to the team manager at the time, he is now at Brighton, being incredibly rude to Jungle). Instead we were told that he left because we couldn’t officially be called the tigers and that he followed the tiger emblem.
The situation has been handled appallingly. Baker just doesn't get it at all, when faced with the hard evidence of the effects that this will cause.
It was IMHO one of the biggest blows of all to Hobart when "Jungle" walked out. I was one of the first people to find out when it happened, I went to training one Tuesday night and Ted Green told me he'd gone, I almost had to pick myself up off the changeroom floor when he told me that.
I had absolutely no inkling that he was about to leave, just that Angus Adams had been very rude and quite frankly a pain in the a*se to him.
The club was never the same after he left, ironically Adams tried to pull the same crap at Brighton and got told to leave, he is now Vice President of the AFL South (SFL). :rolleyes:
I must admit to abusing Denehey myself after he left, because I heard the same line as everybody else did. It wasn't until some years later that "Jungle" told me the full, real story. He walked and went to Kingston, whereas I threatened to belt Adams on numerous occasions. The board at the time we're by thier own admission, weak. Hobart has had this problem for many, many years though, that's probably why they are in the predicament they're in now.
This caused great resentment by the players towards Steve as they felt that he had just left friendships behind due to something which at the time seemed trivial due to the fact that he had supported us with the same amount of gusto for about 1.5 seasons after we had changed our jumpers and lost our official tiger recognition.
It certainly did cause a lot of hostility. I remember blokes like big "Coxy" spitting at him in a final up at Pontville one day.
I wasn't best pleased with him abusing our players after he left, and I'm still not. I felt that the players we had back then were fantastic, and it wasn't their fault at all. I noticed things starting to go awry when the board started to become over officious and heavy handed with supporters for wearing Tiger scarves, and singing Tigers during games. We lost quite a few over that, and gradually most of the others have left too.
The board were cooking brown biscuit in their undies everytime Kingston uttered a word, it was incredibly soft.
Unfortunately I can see the same thing happening this time if long time supporters do the same and go and support Kingston. Resentment will build up from all sides and it will create the situation where supporters may never come back even if we do lose the jumper after this season.
It's already happening now, sadly. There are supporters who are about as welcome as a n*gger in a Klan meeting around the club now, a lot of which have followed the club for 30-40-50+ years. It sickens me.
I personally will never follow that rubbish down the Southern Outlet as long as I'm still breathing, but a couple of others are, just to spite Phil Baker and co.
I just saw the presidents latest message on the Hobart website and it pretty much sums up the whole situation.
Yes, I just logged into it, and read it. What a terminal wally. His name is sh*t in the wider community because of Union dealings, and the football club is no different. He should be sacked immediately before he causes even greater longterm damage to the club. The power has gone to his head.
In his actual work for the HFC I don’t disrespect him as much as a lot of other supporters do, as I believe that he does put in quite a few hours,
I hate the rude, disrespectful, fat arseclown with a passion. The way he has treated a lot of very good people in that club is just pathetic. I won't tolerate anybody treating my colours, my jumper, my Tigers and my club with such appaling slap-hazardness. *Shaking my head*
But his people skills are absolutely terrible. Instead of trying to take a delicate approach to issues that need that sort of tact he seems to try and turn everything into union argument.
He has no people skills. Funny, how he was all nicey-pie to everyone when he was the humble barbeque chef at home-games, and even more nicey-pie when he became president. I noticed about halfway through his first season in charge just how much he was rapidly changing, I could see right through him after that. He had it ALL planned.
He used his Union tactics on the good supporters of our club and has forever split it in two. Some of his dealings with the Old Players & Officials Association beggar beyond belief, the lack of respect shown, and some of the threats made were just mind-boggling.
Baker even threatened to start up a rival Old Players & Officials Association encompassing 1998-2004 players only, if the HFC OP&OA didn't change its Tiger-head logo, to one with a Lion on it as well.
I for one (as are a great number of others), am/are fed up with this arse-clown destroying everything we all worked so hard to keep together during the dark years of Statewide football. We will never be finished with him. He'll be taking it to his grave - we have long memories.
He should not be posting on the guest book and especially try not to take cheap shots at anybody who questions the direction of the HFC. He should strictly only write club news.
For a so-called intelligent, smart man, politician extraordinaire, his postings and his level of grammar on that site are true reflection of him. A retard who has lots of money. "All the gear and no idea"
He has no respect for the "poorer people", no respect for players, be it former or current, no respect for achievements or tradition. He is a Union man/politician. Says it all really.
Grossly over-values his own self importance, and hoodwinked a lot of the more gullible people up there into believing it.
I've seen his efforts at writing club news items, he still can't keep his union style ramblings out of it.
As a long-time supporter who feels like they are “stuck in the middle” like many others it is very depressing to see what is happening at the moment as in regards to on-field matters it’s looking very good.
That's exactly what Baker wanted. And so did quite a few of those coterie group members as well. Polarise the club, and make the traditionalists walk out. Thus, having little opposition to steamroll ahead with any plan they wanted. Notice how many of those people didn't want to know Hobart in 1997/98? And notice how many haven't been around the club in years?
This is an AFL Tasmania, Hobart Football Club board (and select players), SFL, and Kingborough Football Club combined effort. AFL Tasmania wanted a team wearing the Brisbane Lions jumper in thier biggest Southern League to capitalise on Brisbane's success, and also to end the protests from Hobart supporters about losing thier identity. I hate Brisbane, I didn't like Lynchy much either - they can squarely shove their Lions up thier "ball and glass".
Kingborough and the SFL can get stuffed too, while they're at it.
Whilst I don’t think we will be a big threat to the flag this year over the next few we can be a real force if we can retain most of the youngsters and coaching staff that we have at the moment.
I think Hobart will finish in the top four, but probably not advance much in the finals. Depends on what the spirit is like in the camp. Won't help them playing to empty stands at the TCA week in and week out, with golf clapping supporters hardly uttering a squeak. That's not like the old Hobart, that's for sure. I will attend one game this year and will be making my feelings known in no uncertain terms......again :D
The Scarecrow
19th February 2005, 08:41
We are really going to struggle, the culture at Glenorchy must be 10 times worse than at Hobart, because remember we made a prelim last year and also regained our club colours. Absolutely shocking.
Bring on 2007, or 2008, or maybe 2010.
Kingpin
21st February 2005, 00:00
Rumblings at Cygnet after a “Wayne Carey” type incident that has surfaced in the last couple of days.
A three time premiership ruckman/benchwarmer has done a “Carey” with a three time premiership back pocket players' long time girlfriend. The back pocket player has stated that "If he plays I won't !" He is said to be taking at least two high profile players with him, one who had a year off last year with a broken leg and a best & fairest back pocket player. 18/2/05
Apparently Cygnet colts player Cameron Day has left the troubled regional league underage competition. After three disappointing seasons he is looking forward to playing a little closer to home perhaps with North Hobart. 18/2/05
Channel Saints 2004 underage most consistent player Scott Hay has moved north to play for the Ridgley Saints. 18/2/05
The news is that Brighton young gun Jimmy Plunkett has left the club to chase a flag in the ODFA with Oatlands. He is to be joined by Clarence gun Anthony "Aker" Atkinson. 17/2/05
Tom James has followed his Dad to North Hobart following Des' appointment as assistant coach of the Demons. With Tom leaving Brighton, ex-team mates Adam Stevenson and Leigh Muir have apparently expressed an interest in joining him. 17/2/05