View Full Version : Essendon District Football League

Pages : [1] 2 3

caveman
6 Dec 2004, 09:57
I have seen several messages here and there but can someone give me a run down of players coming in and players leaving the EDFL?

I follow West Coburg and have a soft spot for North Coburg so if there is any info on these clubs that would be great! :)

My North
8 Dec 2004, 17:09
Maribyrnong Park is my team

Pantsless
8 Dec 2004, 17:53
I have seen several messages here and there but can someone give me a run down of players coming in and players leaving the EDFL?

I follow West Coburg and have a soft spot for North Coburg so if there is any info on these clubs that would be great! :)

I umpire in the EDFL so I have no team, but a mate plays for NCS and he tells me that Simon Whittle has left OP and gone back home to NCS.

SonOfScray
8 Dec 2004, 18:55
Maribyrnong Park is my team
I played a bit of footy at Marby over the years before venturing over to Nobs last season. Love that club, all my mates play there and am thinking about heading back either this season or the next depending on how my preseason goes.

Pantsless
8 Dec 2004, 20:06
I played a bit of footy at Marby over the years before venturing over to Nobs last season. Love that club, all my mates play there and am thinking about heading back either this season or the next depending on how my preseason goes.

Will they have a team next year?

The whispers were that they were going to be cut from the league as they had too much trouble last season fielding junior sides.

EDFL rules say that each team must field 7 teams a year.

And of course Sydenham-Hillside join the league next year making 11 in B grade.

Longy413
8 Dec 2004, 21:34

Be interesting to see how they go. The Hillbillies do have a lot of local support, could have a big effect on how Taylors Lakes go next season, in terms of players lost......would make for an interesting local derby.

The_Flying_Egg
8 Dec 2004, 22:48
I umpire in the EDFL so I have no team, but a mate plays for NCS and he tells me that Simon Whittle has left OP and gone back home to NCS.

Who's your mate at North Coburg? I play there as does B1954

Simon Whittle hasn't come to the Bops yet, he hasn't been at any trainings, but he is being talked too. I hope we get him though, it seems like theres a pretty good chance he will come. He almost came last year as did Alex Tortora from Greenvale but they both fell through at the last minute. Apparently we're talking to about 10 or 15 players including Simon Whittle and Travis Potts, who won a B and F for us

And Ross Teranova has left Pascoe Vale for Roxburgh Heights

Pantsless
9 Dec 2004, 04:41

Simon Whittle hasn't come to the Bops yet, he hasn't been at any trainings, but he is being talked too. I hope we get him though, it seems like theres a pretty good chance he will come. He almost came last year as did Alex Tortora from Greenvale but they both fell through at the last minute. Apparently we're talking to about 10 or 15 players including Simon Whittle and Travis Potts, who won a B and F for us

My mate is Vanders..I played my juniors at NCS as well.

As for Terra....will RP have seniors next year?

My North
9 Dec 2004, 08:43
Yes Roxburgh Park will have seniors next year along Sydneham Hillside. Apparently the coach of Roxburgh Park is former AFL Player John Rombotis and Jarrod Molly is the assistant coach. Also Peter Daicos has somethinf to do with the coaching at Roxburgh Park next year. You Can see the Collingwood connection

Longy413
9 Dec 2004, 09:28
Yes Roxburgh Park will have seniors next year along Sydneham Hillside. Apparently the coach of Roxburgh Park is former AFL Player John Rombotis and Jarrod Molly is the assistant coach. Also Peter Daicos has somethinf to do with the coaching at Roxburgh Park next year. You Can see the Collingwood connection

Collingwood have withdrawn their association.

My North
9 Dec 2004, 10:10
fancy that. guess it did not work out

Longy413
9 Dec 2004, 10:24
fancy that. guess it did not work out

Yeah. Not sure of the reason's behind it, but I'm sure Roxburgh Park are happy.
Their facilities are awesome, got everything they need.

Pantsless
9 Dec 2004, 10:56
Yeah. Not sure of the reason's behind it, but I'm sure Roxburgh Park are happy.
Their facilities are awesome, got everything they need.

Except it's in Roxburgh Park....

A couple of new derbies next year.

Crazyburn v RP
Syd-Hillbillies V Taylors Lakes

rednugget
9 Dec 2004, 11:48
I know a few blokes who are going to play for Hillside next year, a few from Tulla they will be pretty average next year alot of the players are leaving after their drop from A grade.

SonOfScray
9 Dec 2004, 15:17
Will they have a team next year?

The whispers were that they were going to be cut from the league as they had too much trouble last season fielding junior sides.

EDFL rules say that each team must field 7 teams a year.

Should be right, but the junior situation is certainly not healthy, the bottom age juniors are getting stronger in numbers but u16/u18 players are sparse. I played most of my footy in undermanned u18 sides at Marby after heading over from Abers who had players missing out every week. There are just too many Clubs in such a close area, and too make things worse they all flock to Clifton Park due to their solid junior reptuation which they deserve.

Marby are a proud senior club, they'll keep battling away.

SonOfScray
9 Dec 2004, 15:24

Is that the Terranova who went to St Joes?

Been putting the hard word on a few boys from Nth Coburg to play u19's at Nobs next year. Uzsicnki still down there?

Bulldog1954
9 Dec 2004, 15:47
Is that the Terranova who went to St Joes?

Been putting the hard word on a few boys from Nth Coburg to play u19's at Nobs next year. Uzsicnki still down there?

Joe Uzsicnki? As far as I know he's still here

M29
9 Dec 2004, 17:05
Joe Misiti is back at Keilor Park. Not suprisingly he's asked for no match fee and will play for free.

Top bloke.

My North
10 Dec 2004, 09:47
Marby had once a upon time a good junior sides with numbers in every age group from under 10 to Under 18. What went wrong was that everybody want to play for Abers because they were an A Grade Team in the seniors and also in the higher under age groups as back then the Under 18 and Under 16 played in where you seniors played. (e,g If Marby Seniors played B Grade then its Under 18 and Under 16 played B Grade no matter if they won the grand final. There was no promation. I think that has changed now)

Pantsless
10 Dec 2004, 10:46
Marby had once a upon time a good junior sides with numbers in every age group from under 10 to Under 18. What went wrong was that everybody want to play for Abers because they were an A Grade Team in the seniors and also in the higher under age groups as back then the Under 18 and Under 16 played in where you seniors played. (e,g If Marby Seniors played B Grade then its Under 18 and Under 16 played B Grade no matter if they won the grand final. There was no promation. I think that has changed now)

The U/18's are aligned with the senior sides.

16, 14, 12 and 10's are aligned on Sundays.

My North
10 Dec 2004, 12:19
The U/18's are aligned with the senior sides.

16, 14, 12 and 10's are aligned on Sundays.

the under 16 were also aligned with the seniors as well a few years ago. This later got change

schimma_20
13 Dec 2004, 09:45
I know a few blokes who are going to play for Hillside next year, a few from Tulla they will be pretty average next year alot of the players are leaving after their drop from A grade.

Is that senior or reserve players going to Sydneham?
At least six senior players have left Tulla 2 to Keilor park,2 to Abers,1 to Strathmore and 1 to the WRL included in the above is the capt, 1st & 2nd b&f winners.

Dog Town
13 Dec 2004, 17:21
Fair chance East Keilor are going to lose a couple of highly paid 20 year olds that they recruited last seasonPretty keen on having a year back with there mates from all reports.

The Shev
13 Dec 2004, 22:26
Fair chance East Keilor are going to lose a couple of highly paid 20 year olds that they recruited last seasonPretty keen on having a year back with there mates from all reports.

Kakour or someone?

sugark
14 Dec 2004, 06:36

Who would these highly paid 20 year olds be, I dont think there are any at EK

Pantsless
14 Dec 2004, 18:38
Not a player, but Slammin Sam Kekovich is No 1 ticket holder at Glenroy.

GFC's plan is that they will be in A grade in 2006.

M29
14 Dec 2004, 19:08
Who would these highly paid 20 year olds be, I dont think there are any at EK

$20 a game would be highly paid round are way.

The Shev
14 Dec 2004, 21:35
EK aren't short of money M29. They got so much they don't know what to do with it.

Longy413
15 Dec 2004, 11:22
EK aren't short of money M29. They got so much they don't know what to do with it.

That's pushing it a bit isn't it?

harsh, but fair
20 Dec 2004, 18:28
Matt Witherden who played in Oak Park's losing gf team is going back to Corowa-Rutherglen in the Ovens and Murray.
He was one of their best players in the gf wasn't he?

My North
2 Jan 2005, 20:45
any other news??

Pantsless
3 Jan 2005, 07:24
Well, the draw is out.

14 teams in B Grade in a 17 game season should be interesting. Surely a couple of clubs will have to bite the dust.

Pantsless
3 Jan 2005, 07:26
any other news??

Also, none of the clubs have updated their website since the end of the season, some since the middle of last season.

Not really info, but the League is moving it's HQ from Airport West to Windy Hill and possibly starting to play match of the day at Windy Hill again.

snappytom
3 Jan 2005, 08:56
Is mairybynong parks home ground along the river?
I played for riverside stars back in the 70s,their ground was at the end of holmes rd behind what was then new tennis courts.
The other local side moonee imps played a bit further down the river where i think its now an athletics track.
there were 3 ovals there back then.

the first team i played for was AYC and they disbanded in 71 when i was still there.
their ground is now a golf course.
there was about 10 footy ovals on that golf course when i was a kid.

ive been in WA since 74 and rarely get back to vic anymore.

brings back memorys,and the league sure has changed by the sound of it..

Pantsless
3 Jan 2005, 09:44
Is mairybynong parks home ground along the river?
I played for riverside stars back in the 70s,their ground was at the end of holmes rd behind what was then new tennis courts.
The other local side moonee imps played a bit further down the river where i think its now an athletics track.
there were 3 ovals there back then.

the first team i played for was AYC and they disbanded in 71 when i was still there.
their ground is now a golf course.
there was about 10 footy ovals on that golf course when i was a kid.

ive been in WA since 74 and rarely get back to vic anymore.

brings back memorys,and the league sure has changed by the sound of it..

Yep, the Marby Lions as they are now called play there. I believe Moonee Imps changed their name to Aberfeldie Park and they've disappeared as well. The Lions have trouble retaining juniors as they all go up Waverley Pde to play for Abers who are in A grade.

Ascot Vale folded as well. I live in Ascot Vale and the two closest clubs are Marby and Parkside in the WRFL.

Other clubs you might remember. St Olivers changed their name to North Coburg Saints and now wear the Fremantle colours.

The league is expanding outwards. Taking Cragieburn and Jacana from the Riddell league and new clubs where there would have been nothing when you lived here. Greenvale, Roxburgh Park, and Sydenham-Hillside.

snappytom
3 Jan 2005, 10:03
I played cricket for aberfeldie.
the ground was behind the aberfeldie state school just off buckley st
it was the footy ground too.
is that still there?
i dont recall waverley pde

my first senior footy game as a 15 yr old was against ascot vale
i played on AFL thug/star ricky mclean ive still got some bruises to prove it :(

My North
3 Jan 2005, 11:13
Yep, the Marby Lions as they are now called play there. I believe Moonee Imps changed their name to Aberfeldie Park and they've disappeared as well. The Lions have trouble retaining juniors as they all go up Waverley Pde to play for Abers who are in A grade.

Ascot Vale folded as well. I live in Ascot Vale and the two closest clubs are Marby and Parkside in the WRFL.

Other clubs you might remember. St Olivers changed their name to North Coburg Saints and now wear the Fremantle colours.

The league is expanding outwards. Taking Cragieburn and Jacana from the Riddell league and new clubs where there would have been nothing when you lived here. Greenvale, Roxburgh Park, and Sydenham-Hillside.

Riverside Stars and Moonee Imps merged to know as Maribyrnong Park.

Its a shame that Ascot Vale folded. What happened there? I used to go to Walter St to watch Ascot Vale play there homes games.

Pantsless
3 Jan 2005, 16:18
I played cricket for aberfeldie.
the ground was behind the aberfeldie state school just off buckley st
it was the footy ground too.
is that still there?
i dont recall waverley pde

my first senior footy game as a 15 yr old was against ascot vale
i played on AFL thug/star ricky mclean ive still got some bruises to prove it :(

Yeah..that's Clifton Park. Plagued with the problem of turning into a bog as soon as it rained. So they spent the first 7 weeks of the season replacing all the grass. It worked..it rained and the grass stayed there...except..the rass..well...it died! The entire ground was yellowish brown colour!

Pantsless
3 Jan 2005, 16:23

I live in Moonee Ponds and its a shame that Ascot Vale folded. What happened there? I used to go to Walter St to watch Ascot Vale play there homes games.

Not entirely sure, but it seems the whole area around Ascot Vale, Flemington, Kensington became filled with non-football people and the clubs didn't have anymore players. Ascot Vale was the first.

Flem-Ken in the WRFL hung on for a bit longer and I think they were the club that became the Hammerheads.

Moonee Valley have a similar problem although as long as they stay in A Grade, they sould be OK.

Rebel31
11 Jan 2005, 19:56

Has anybody snaffled the services of Johnny Taylor (ex Airport West) now that he's back from his cricket stint with the Western Warriors. Caught a glimpse of him at Carlton before Xmas and he'd be a nice strong marking option up forward for somebody.

TheSheik
11 Jan 2005, 20:07

I live in Moonee Ponds and its a shame that Ascot Vale folded. What happened there? I used to go to Walter St to watch Ascot Vale play there homes games.

Played junior footy against the Stars & the Wimps, they both gave me the $hits. Usually beat them though !!

As for Ascot Vale ?? There was a sign in the rooms that asked if all u/17 players would mind parking their cars outside the ground on training nights. This was in the days when you had to be 18 to get a drivers licence and these bohemoth's would roll up and have bigger beards than Mickey Moses. And were they dirty rotten snipers ?? Hell, I got given one of the worst squirrel grips ever from one of their dirty little pricks, near buckled me in half for 30 minutes. What else would you expect from a team that wears Essendon jumpers ?? I played against Ascot Vale in u/15 & u/17 and they were always rough games.

Pantsless
14 Jan 2005, 10:03
Brad Fox (ex-Essendon) has been appointed assistant coach at Glenroy as well as getting slammin Sam Kekovich as club patron.

I can see Glenroy climbing up the ladder next year as they seem to be throwing the chequebook around.

The Shev
15 Jan 2005, 11:04
It looks like they just reversed the fixture from last season.

snappytom
15 Jan 2005, 13:02
is there a pub at glenroy yet?

when i was young they werent game to build one between pascoe vale and broady

then the penthouse at broady was built selling courage beer and no one wanted to go there,gee was that the worst beer ever made?

kangas_babe
22 Jan 2005, 07:41
hey names nicole im a close friend of simon whittle and have spoken to him it is true that he has left oak park to go home to NCS football club to be with his brothers and to play along side his brothers

caveman
22 Jan 2005, 08:54
thats awesome news Nicole. Do you have any other news relating to the BOPS?
WHo else have they gained and have they lost anyone?

SonOfScray
22 Jan 2005, 09:22
Snappy Tom - my old man played at AYC u/17s 1966, 67, open age 68, 69, then Ascot Vale YCW 70, back to AYC he thinks then to Riverside Stars - coached by lenny Fox - retired 1972 - he wondered who Snappy Tom is - any other clues for him to try to work out if he knows you

kangas_babe
22 Jan 2005, 10:14
deleted

caveman
22 Jan 2005, 13:12
thanks Nicole. What can you tell me about these players? Are they old players returning? Art they high profile players? I wouldnt know.

kangas_babe
22 Jan 2005, 15:23
there all new players and i think they are all from other clubs i dont think they are high profiled players my dad used to be a president for bops but that was ages ago so i pratically know all the boys except for the new ones that have arrived and i dont know if they are high profiled players or not I know the coach and the assistant coach down at NCS fppty club there are great bunch of guys and the staff are a great bunch as well im a NCS girl thru and thru and been round the club for ages

kangas_babe
22 Jan 2005, 15:28
if you want to know anything about any of the other boys at the club i can tell u alot about them the site for NCS footy club is http://www.northcoburgsaints.com and if your wanting the link to the team list this is the link to it hope i could help http://www.essendondfl.com.au/TeamSelections/selected.asp?team=North%20Coburg%20Saints

caveman
22 Jan 2005, 15:52
thanks Nicole that is great. I played most of my juniors for West Coburg but I played Under 18s and a couple of reserves games for NCS so I have a soft spot for them.

colby68
22 Jan 2005, 18:12
Simon Whittle has been offered big bucks to play at Melton South and seeing that he has built a house in Sunbury thays where he could end up.Nicole Half the players on that list have been around the club a long time and are only reserve players.

kangas_babe
22 Jan 2005, 18:52
ok but i bet he ends up at NCS cause thats where his brother are and thats why when i spoke to him a week ago he said he was coming home to NCS he wont go to melton south footy club because hell probably reject the offer from melton south.

hey colby68 is your name lee by any chance

colby68
23 Jan 2005, 13:41
yes

kangas_babe
23 Jan 2005, 14:01
Did you have a gf by the name of amanda and know aaron turner

TheSheik
23 Jan 2005, 14:06
Did you have a gf by the name of amanda and know aaron turner

if he answers 'yes' to both of them I'm going to be very worried about the next round of questions.

Winkie size & colour of undies ??? :p

kangas_babe
23 Jan 2005, 15:10
no there wont be if he says yes then i know its him

caveman
23 Jan 2005, 17:14
with the steady improvement last season Nicole. What do you expect from NCS this year?

Pantsless
23 Jan 2005, 17:22
hey names nicole im a close friend of simon whittle and have spoken to him it is true that he has left oak park to go home to NCS football club to be with his brothers and to play along side his brothers

Hey Nic,

I was speaking to Vanders before Xmas and he said there was no chance that Simon was coming back to NCS at all.

That's all I know about it!

kangas_babe
23 Jan 2005, 17:55
we want a big season out of NCS footy club we need to make a big improvement and work hard as a team and play as a team and win more games then what we did last year we cant let the other teams keep defeating us we have to show that were a better side then what we have been over the years

My North
23 Jan 2005, 18:26
Last year North Coburg did improve and hopefully for them they can improve even more.

caveman
24 Jan 2005, 05:55
I think NCS are starting to get more confident and will improve as long as they work hard and dont think that it is just going to happen.

In saying that I dont think it will happen as the coaching staff are down to earth and fantastic. They should be aiming for finals or at least a 50-50 record this season. Go BOPS

colby68
24 Jan 2005, 14:51
No Nicole your thinking of the wrong guy.Im a x player from several years ago.

Reyes9
24 Jan 2005, 15:03
heres the list of new players that are at NCS and that have just joined us to play with us in 2005 and make our team successfull

*James Cuschieri
*Daniel McClaer
*Tim Romari
*Tim Hough
*Wayne Benbow
*Sam Sozzi
*Michael Cuschieri
*Bernard Nadar
*Abba Bakhach
*Nick Sardelis
*Ben Major
*Ben Thorneycroft
*David Clarke
*Tully Liakopoulos
*Dave Caruana
*Andrew Mammalitti
*Steve Baud
*Aaron Richardson
*Adam Smith
*Steve Borg
*Chris Eley

Your knowledge is astounding. All or most of these players played in 2004 and a some only played reserves. Some have even left the club before the 2005 season starts. One of the players on your list has been at the club since juniours and never left. Amazing stuff.

Please get a clue before you start sprouting out information you have no idea about.

Reyes9
24 Jan 2005, 15:05
there all new players and i think they are all from other clubs i dont think they are high profiled players my dad used to be a president for bops but that was ages ago so i pratically know all the boys except for the new ones that have arrived and i dont know if they are high profiled players or not I know the coach and the assistant coach down at NCS fppty club there are great bunch of guys and the staff are a great bunch as well im a NCS girl thru and thru and been round the club for ages

The sh*t that ommits from your mouth is amazing.

Like to inform us of all the other clubs these "new" players were at?

Dog Town
24 Jan 2005, 15:12
Kakour or someone?Sorry I meant Keilor as opposed to East Keilor.Always get those 2 mixed up.The players are Laurie and Heritage.They love it at Keilor but are still making there minds up.

caveman
24 Jan 2005, 18:40
has anyone got any news on West Coburg?

Bulldog1954
24 Jan 2005, 23:07
heres the list of new players that are at NCS and that have just joined us to play with us in 2005 and make our team successfull

*James Cuschieri
*Daniel McClaer
*Tim Romari
*Tim Hough
*Wayne Benbow
*Sam Sozzi
*Michael Cuschieri
*Bernard Nadar
*Abba Bakhach
*Nick Sardelis
*Ben Major
*Ben Thorneycroft
*David Clarke
*Tully Liakopoulos
*Dave Caruana
*Andrew Mammalitti
*Steve Baud
*Aaron Richardson
*Adam Smith
*Steve Borg
*Chris Eley

G'day Nicole

Not sure what your talking about here, not one of those players is new to the club, in fact some have been at the club for ten years. If these players are new, I should be considered new I've only been there for 6

For starters Chris is my first cousin and I bought down to play last season. Tully, Aaron and Steve Baud have left the club while Tim Romari is virtually retired. All the others either joined last season or the year before.

The only new players at this stage are Sam Stella and Mal Guiliteri from Greenvale

kangas_babe
25 Jan 2005, 07:37
Sorry for putting the list up there i Just thought all those were new players because i hadnt heard any of there names before around the club you all didnt have to have a go at me for my wrong doing i was only trying to be helpful sorry i wont add anything after this if this is how a couple of you feel sorry for wasting your time

caveman
25 Jan 2005, 09:17
Hi Nicole,

Keep posting here mate. Dont let it get to you as we know you were just trying to help out. I love chatting about the EDFL and NCS so keep posting!

Reyes9
25 Jan 2005, 11:56
Sorry for putting the list up there i Just thought all those were new players because i hadnt heard any of there names before around the club you all didnt have to have a go at me for my wrong doing i was only trying to be helpful sorry i wont add anything after this if this is how a couple of you feel sorry for wasting your time

Was only correcting you and trying to inform you that you should clear things through with people before giving others information that is either wrong or made up. No need to stop posting, I find it quite entertaining.

caveman
28 Jan 2005, 07:44
I hear West Coburg are trying to get Mark House to play even though he lives in Mulwala. Would be a shoe in for the B Grade best and fairest if he plays a whole season. Go West!!!

sainter12riewoldt
30 Jan 2005, 12:15
Joe Uzsicnki? As far as I know he's still here

He is still playing for bops.

sainter12riewoldt
30 Jan 2005, 12:21
thanks Nicole. What can you tell me about these players? Are they old players returning? Art they high profile players? I wouldnt know.

Peter 'Chuck' Stevens is still playing for us.

caveman
30 Jan 2005, 16:29
Any big recruits to BOPS this season?

Bulldog1954
1 Feb 2005, 14:24
Any big recruits to BOPS this season?

Not yet, although the club is trying to get the Potts brothers back

kangas_babe
10 Feb 2005, 14:40
simon whittle's application for transfer has been rejected by north bendigo

caveman
12 Feb 2005, 06:51
that is true Nicole but he does have the opportunity to apply again. He was going to transfer to North Bendigo but Oak Park rejected it.

Will be interesting to see what happens. There is no transfer to Melton South yet according to the Ballaraf F.L website.

kangas_babe
24 Feb 2005, 15:10
hello caveman

simon whittles transfer to melton south football club is in progress here is the link for you to have a look at

http://www.msfnc.vcfl.com.au/memdb_transfers.asp

nicole

diamond8
28 Feb 2005, 15:50
Surely the biggest 2 moves are at Moonee Valley where "The Loaf" Simon Minton-Connell has departed to join NOBs in the Ammos.

Fortunately he has been replaced by the highly talented and extremely good looking Shane Sheppard.

No wonder Oak Park won't give any one a clearance - they're all leaving.

caveman
28 Feb 2005, 16:05
Sorry mate but who is Shane Shepherd? Can you give me a bit of a run down? Also is there anywhere on the net that shows clearences for the EDFL?

diamond8
28 Feb 2005, 16:09
Who is Shane Sheppard? That's like asking who's Elvis Presley?

Sheppard took a number of sides to the cleaners last year. Kicked 12 against the Valley and dominated when at CHF (Johnny Mc CHF of the year? I think not!)

Watch the Shep-Train choo-choo into town this year!

caveman
28 Feb 2005, 16:13
Did he play for Oak Park? Is there anywhere to access info on clearences in the EDFL? Mate I live in Bendigo and only get the scores up here.

Longy413
1 Mar 2005, 09:18
Shane Sheppard spent a couple of years on Essendon's supp-list about 5 years ago.

Rod Stroker
2 Mar 2005, 18:50
Go the Mighty 'Mores !
Hoping they will return to their glory days of a couple of years ago and snag another title :)

Longy413
3 Mar 2005, 06:15
Go the Mighty 'Mores !
Hoping they will return to their glory days of a couple of years ago and snag another title :)

I'm led to believe they have recruited pretty well. Clinton Runnells will be a good get.

diamond8
3 Mar 2005, 09:52
There have been some massive rumours regarding Strathmore and their ability to pay their recruits. Does anyone have thoughts on this?

Pantsless
3 Mar 2005, 09:57
There have been some massive rumours regarding Strathmore and their ability to pay their recruits. Does anyone have thoughts on this?

It's local footy. If they've got the money and they want to pay it then good luck to them.

purple hills
3 Mar 2005, 09:59
It's local footy. If they've got the money and they want to pay it then good luck to them.

Is Strathmore the club that Mick "Mercuri" Dodorico and Brad "Flash" Gordon used to play with??

diamond8
3 Mar 2005, 10:03
If they have the money that's great - but do they?

Pantsless
3 Mar 2005, 10:12
If they have the money that's great - but do they?

If they think they can pay them, then that's great...

If they think they can pay them, and they can't, then they'll go broke...players will leave, they can't pay good players, they'lll get relelgated, etc, etc....

Unlike the AFL, this is simple Accounting...no competitive balance fund in the EDFL.

diamond8
3 Mar 2005, 11:47
Thanks - but I was after a more informed comment. Preferably from someone who may know a little bit about the financial situation at Strathmore.

Junkie
3 Mar 2005, 15:02
Look, dunno how true this rumour is but I heard a whisper that Adam Pickering may be returning to his home town of Crazyburn?????

bradrowe#32
3 Mar 2005, 16:00
Hows Marby Park looking this year? I played out there in 2001 under Grayzy and am keen to see how the boys are shaping up this year.

Longy413
4 Mar 2005, 08:33
Thanks - but I was after a more informed comment. Preferably from someone who may know a little bit about the financial situation at Strathmore.

They are going alright.

SonOfScray
4 Mar 2005, 12:05
Hows Marby Park looking this year? I played out there in 2001 under Grayzy and am keen to see how the boys are shaping up this year.

Been getting good numbers on the track, have heard that they have picked up a few A grade players from Greenvale. Be good to see the Parkers get up this year, its been a while.

My North
4 Mar 2005, 19:29
Been getting good numbers on the track, have heard that they have picked up a few A grade players from Greenvale. Be good to see the Parkers get up this year, its been a while.

A few guys have came back from Moonee Valley as well. Time for Marby to step up in 2005

My North
4 Mar 2005, 19:35

have a ********eloads of money

caveman
5 Mar 2005, 06:41
Marby should definately improve this season but so will other clubs so it will be interesting to see how high they can climb.

ANyone have news on who or if West Coburg have recruited?