View Full Version : VAFA fixtures for 2005
FitzroyRamone
7 Dec 2004, 14:37
Does anybody know when the VAFA fixtures will be finalised?
Check around Christmas time FR
FitzroyRamone
7 Dec 2004, 14:55
Thanks for the info Pazza. I need to put in for weekend leave passes with the missus, best getting in early!
Hahaha..so that's your excuse ;)
I'm going to be down there tomorrow night (the umpires are having a Christmas BBQ with thanks to the VAFA Executive)..I'll ask some questions while I'm there :D
rightfoot_sloth
8 Dec 2004, 08:32
Pazza - Do clubs have to put in for games at Elsternwick Park before the fixture is released ? Or do they review the fixture and decide which game would be best suited i.e Local derby for a game at headquarters.
Thanks
dogman22
8 Dec 2004, 11:31
Pazza - Do clubs have to put in for games at Elsternwick Park before the fixture is released ? Or do they review the fixture and decide which game would be best suited i.e Local derby for a game at headquarters.
Thanks
Pazza - sorry to steal some of your thunder here!!
rightfoot_sloth, the clubs can put in requests to the VAFA, similar to what AFL clubs put in, regarding fixturing. This doesn't mean that the request will get done!!
Regarding games at EP, which are mandatory for all A and B Section clubs, they are allocated by the VAFA, after considering clubs requests.
Didn't work out all that well for my team last year (NOBs), who were fixtured to play Old Essendon, our closest geographical rival, in a home game at EP. The OEG game is traditionally our biggest home match for the year - the battle for the Moonee Ponds Creek Cup (and Fletcher's Gherkin!!)
No worries dogman :D
I do notice that more clubs in lower grades are taking up the offer of playing matches at Headquarters these days, which might help them further down the track.
Hornet23
9 Dec 2004, 12:56
While on amateur footy, I was just wondering whether it would be possible to get a few more Old Xaverians on the VAFA executive next year? I like the club, admire them greatly and have nothing but respect for Bourke, Sholly and Davina CC but the current makeup is becoming farcical!
rightfoot_sloth
9 Dec 2004, 13:57
Currently on the www.vafa.com.au it states that all fixtures will be released on the 20/12/04 for the season of 2005.
Eddie Woloschek
11 Dec 2004, 06:52
While on amateur footy, I was just wondering whether it would be possible to get a few more Old Xaverians on the VAFA executive next year? I like the club, admire them greatly and have nothing but respect for Bourke, Sholly and Davina CC but the current makeup is becoming farcical!
Well perhaps now the VAFA might do something about the putrid facilities at Elsternwick Park!
Cough cough...wtf? The facilities are 10 times better now than what they were when I started umpiring in 1997!!!!
eddiesmith
12 Dec 2004, 22:28
The facilities are ok, not that great for watching footy at though. Good facilities for the umpires which is all that matters
How did the BBQ go? Was to busy so could make it. With all the storms around last week, what was it like down at the bad weather capital of Metropolitan Melbourne?
Eddie Woloschek
13 Dec 2004, 11:16
The facilities are ok, not that great for watching footy at though. Good facilities for the umpires which is all that matters
Seating? Players' change rooms? shelter? after match facilities? surely the lure of HQ is better facilities than are available at home. EP doesn't have them, compared with most A and B Section grounds.
How did the BBQ go? Was to busy so could make it. With all the storms around last week, what was it like down at the bad weather capital of Metropolitan Melbourne?
Wasn't too bad eddie!!
They got 37 down for the night and another 30 rang up Benny saying they couldn't make it.
Saw the training program for the fieldies and boundaries and you poor buggers are going to be dead by February..they even want training to be done during the week between Christmas and New Year's!!!
We're losing Doc from the boundary to Albury for a year and there's been other changes to the advisor team across all areas.
As to the point about the facilities, the addition of the umpire's pavillion is good for the functions being held..I know Elsternwick don't mind the fact they are there, as they hire the umpire's rooms out for after-match functions (thanks for the cash boys!)..and the grand final brunch is always full.
It could do with some more sheltered areas, but, part of the money has to come from Bayside Council..so no hope!
eddiesmith
13 Dec 2004, 19:07
What are you Pazza? Field, Goal or Boundary? I go for the lazy option myself
Goals mate..after 155 games I don't think I could make the move (anyone who has seen me bounce will know why!)
eddiesmith
13 Dec 2004, 19:37
My bouncing aint that bad but my fitness is shocking though and I rarely get to training. Probably why Im stuck down in D-Grade atm. Next year I might actually be able to go to training so might get to move up the grades
Cool...just as long as you stay for a half a dozen after training!
eddiesmith
14 Dec 2004, 20:52
I gotta drive, no drinking for me
:D
Damn! Oh well I'll drink your share then
ben.carbonaro
17 Dec 2004, 22:24
The longest road trip in the VAFA has come fruition with us (Rupertswood) having to travel down to take on Peninsula OB. Might have to be an overnnight like an the pros !!!
Hahaha...nice to know that Rupertswood need to have accommodation cash to help 'em out :D
Officially, the release of the fixture to the public has been delayed until after 3pm this Tuesday.
dogman22
20 Dec 2004, 07:31
The longest road trip in the VAFA has come fruition with us (Rupertswood) having to travel down to take on Peninsula OB. Might have to be an overnnight like an the pros !!!
Good thing the VAFA isn't set up like most other comps with the U19's playing before the reserves and seniors, otherwise it would be an overnight trip!!!!
Good to hear from you again Ben, hope all is travelling well at Rupertswood.
Fixtures up.
Round 1 highlights in A Grade:
Uni Blues v St. Kevins in the premiers battle