View Full Version : All-time favourite Gameshow
Cove Cobra
9 Dec 2004, 02:08
Mine is Blankety Blanks.
Ugly Dave Gray rocks!!
And what the hell has happened to Noeline Brown???
gadj1976
9 Dec 2004, 08:23
BB first, daylight second.
And what the hell has happened to Noeline Brown???
Still hear her name mentioned from time to time, mainly because she is one of Kennedy's closest friends.
But yeah, Oz quiz shows reached their zenith with this pearler.
Sticky Moments with Julian Clary
Cheer Red Blood
9 Dec 2004, 09:15
Wheel of fortune....
Noddy Holder
9 Dec 2004, 09:29
Wheel of fortune....
I seriously hope you're kidding.
I'm not a big game show fan but yeah Blankety Blanks was good.
Family Feud, just for that 'be-bong' sound when people gave incorrect answers.
RoosLuver
9 Dec 2004, 10:22
I like two, Price is Right and Deal or No Deal.
Rusty Brookes
9 Dec 2004, 10:37
Blankety Blanks - one of the crassest and funniest shows ever.
Did anyone actually remember seeing Peter the Phantom Puller?
Man o Man
Sale of the Century
Amazing
Price is Right
Family Feud
Hot Streak
It's A Knockout
Somebody needs to bring this show back.
GOALden Hawk
9 Dec 2004, 12:44
Family Feud, just for that 'be-bong' sound when people gave incorrect answers.
Definitely - still a running joke amongst my mates when someone fails at something.
"And the survey says" - BE-BAW! Loved Rob Brough's permed mullet as well. Whatever happened to him?
Blankety Blanks would struggle to get air time these days, the family groups would be up in arms.
And surely Supermarket Sweep with Turps deserves a nomination? Or Family Double Dare?
Cassius_Clay
9 Dec 2004, 13:07
Amazing is the best game show EVER!!! Price is right is a close second
Deal or no deal is probably the worst.
Renegade
9 Dec 2004, 14:32
Press Your Luck hosted by Ian Turpie, i loved that as a kid with the 3 whammies.
BomberGal
9 Dec 2004, 16:11
Amazing is the best game show EVER!!!
I used to LOVE that show!
Um...used to be a big Catch Phrase fan, probably because I used to beat everyone else. These days I'm addicted to Deal or No Deal.
Hodgie15
9 Dec 2004, 16:24
i love the price it right
Cluedo finished i think about 10 yrs ago but was on late night time i think on channel 9
funkyfreo
9 Dec 2004, 17:16
The UK Blankety Blank with Mr Eurovision Terry Wogan was SUPERB!
I also was quite fond of the generation game.
But for all time enjoyment maybe A Question of Sport, with the late great Emlyn Hughes and the still great Beefy Botham as Team Captians.
Are we forgetting Blind Date? In both countries! Cilla Black!
The English It's a knockout was classic. And I used to like the Krypton Factor, and that space based one with the vortex maze at the end. Dang I can;t remember the game - there was a talking plant.
Mr Eagle
9 Dec 2004, 18:36
Anyone else remember Scavengers? English game show that was around on Ch Ten for a little while several years ago...set on a mock derelict space ship with two teams of two being led by the host around various 'scavening' events...final event each week was to get all the loot and both players across a big 'pool' and into the escape pod.
benny's buddy
9 Dec 2004, 19:40
My favourite kids game show was one on ABC, more than 10 yrs ago, it was called Vidiot. It has Scott McRae as host, and I think Edan Gaha for a while there. It was a top show.
I liked a show with Mike Hammond (?), it was called concentration, or something like that.
Also, I don't know whether it classifies as a gameshow or not, but Don't Forget Your Toothbrush was an ace show.
harry_hawka
9 Dec 2004, 20:49
Vidiot was a pearler! Used to give away some pretty decent prizes too!
Used to love Amazing as a kid, and always wished I could go on the show. In fact, I used to set up the lounge room as a maze sometimes and have races with mates in finding the designated keys! :o
Although it's not my favourite show, I don't think there's even been a better play-at-home type show than Catch Phrase. You can have heaps of people sit around and have a competition in the lounge room. Baby John is a legend - Still the best Wheel Of Fortune host there's been.
I know I'm stretching it, but The Price Is Right is awesome. You absolutely cannot play along at home, but it's still addictive.
brampta
12 Dec 2004, 15:46
Press Your Luck hosted by Ian Turpie, i loved that as a kid with the 3 whammies.
THANKYOU. I have spent the last 10 years trying to figure out which game show that was.
Supermarket sweep was a fave too, givin away the Ladas teeheehee
Used to play Hot Streak during study period at school.
bring back Its a Knockout!
Press your luck was cool, just for the whammies.
Keynotes is the only musical one I can think of....
It's a Royal Knockout! Anyone remember that?
English gameshows are pretty cool tho. Saw a few when I was over there, cool guests and more chatting than 'games'.
Sexiano Ronaldo
12 Dec 2004, 17:43
Another Press Your Luck fan. Loved the whammie.
Gladiators comes in at a distant last.
Was there a kids game show named 'Now You See It' or something like that? It used to have a robot as the guy's sidekick.
I remember Now You See It....but not many details....
How about Double Dare? That was ok.
Physical Challenge!! :D
juzza316
13 Dec 2004, 10:44
I remember Now You See It....but not many details....
Now you see it was great!
Line 4, position 1 !!!!
brampta
13 Dec 2004, 12:24
oh man that is so 1989!!!
I definately remember Vidiot with Scott McCrae
I used to wish that I was back in primary school so I could go on a*mazing.
do the sandgropers here remember the junior eagles footy show?
gadj1976
13 Dec 2004, 13:14
Also, I don't know whether it classifies as a gameshow or not, but Don't Forget Your Toothbrush was an ace show.
I forgot about this one. personally, I reckoned it was a really good show. Anything that genuinely shocks people in a gameshow environment i reckon is good.
Does anyone remember supermarket sweep also hosted by Ian Turpie. what about All Star Squares and Battle of The sexes hosted by Ed Phillips. bring them back for a laugh and something to watch during the christmas holidays. :)
bucksisbest
17 Dec 2004, 18:14
Cluedo finished i think about 10 yrs ago but was on late night time i think on channel 9
Yes! I used to love that show.
They had the phone numbers you could ring on who you thought who'd done it and I think they showed the polling results before they revealed it.
I think a Daddo hosted it aswell.?
beckybiglands
17 Dec 2004, 18:49
The Main Event...
Vidiot...
Big Square Eye...
lioness
17 Dec 2004, 19:11
Sticky Moments with Julian Clary
Ah yes, great show!
I also like the Price Is Right, I have to admit. :o
It's A Knockout
Indeed. Top show.
beckybiglands
19 Dec 2004, 20:05
After seeing this thread I had to dig out the old "Its a Knockout boardgame" oh, good times were had
Thalidomide
19 Dec 2004, 21:37
Shafted
Kingpin
22 Dec 2004, 02:25
It's A Knockout
I remember that one, it was filmed at a soccer ground in Sydney which has been turned into a housing estate now.
Given that it's 4:30am and I can't be bothered looking, but if you search through Google, you will find a very good "Its A Knockout" website as a sort of dedication to the old show.
Kingpin
22 Dec 2004, 02:32
Keynotes is the only musical one I can think of....
Keynotes. Hosted by Richard Wilkins. Made in 1992.
Was on late night TV here in recent years and was one of the worst gameshows I ever watched, most of the contestants were badly dressed weirdos from the episodes I saw.
Still reckon Sale of The Century was a very good show until they stuffed around with the format too much and rooted it as a result.
grimlock
22 Dec 2004, 09:06
Although it seemed everyone else hated it, I loved Don't Forget Your Toothbrush.
It's a Knockout
Family Feud
Vidiot
Big Square Eye
Cassius_Clay
22 Dec 2004, 17:58
Although it seemed everyone else hated it, I loved Don't Forget Your Toothbrush.
remember that show...absolutely loved it :D