View Full Version : What a big weekend it will be in football!
Starting at 11:20am on Saturday with 1 v 3 in the VFL reserves, followed by the top two clash between Werribee and Box Hill Hawks. Sunday sees the Bulldogs try to keep their finals hopes alive while the Hawks try to get top spot. Should be some great footy in these three games and the two AFL teams usually provide a good contest.
Any Doggies from on here planning to see the VFL?
Good luck guys and here's hoping for a clean sweep to the Hawkers ;)
Originally posted by elt
Any Doggies from on here planning to see the VFL?
I'm hoping to make it for the 2nd half.
Westy Boy
17 Aug 2001, 09:59
G'day Elt,
I'm working on Saturday, so i doubt I'll be able to make it down to Box Hill for the VFL match.... gee I hate missing 10 goal wins :cool: :p
But if you and the other Hawk fans (Grendel, DCFC, Chris23) are up for a pre match or half time drink at the G on Sunday, I would be all for it... <blatant attempt at scoring a couple of free beers> would be great to meet up with some of the wittiest, most intelligent posters on bigfooty. </blatant attempt at scoring a couple of free beers>.
Reply here or PM me if ya wanna organise something, Elt. If I don't get a chance to catch up with ya's on Sunday... best of luck ... on destroying our season and another Chris Grant milestone game. :mad: ;)
BTW: Reckon Werribee might be a little too strong in the VFL matches .... but think the Dogs will be lucky to get within 5 goals in the one that counts... we live in hope though. :)
Cheers
Danny Chook Fan Club
17 Aug 2001, 13:57
Greetings Canines!
Grendel and elt have been tossing the Cricketers' around on my board, from about 12.00 onwards. I probably can't get there that early, but I'll be sure to stick my head through the door at some stage.
Go you Box Hill Hawks tomorrow!!! Matty Brewer! Matty Brewer! Mat-ty Brew-er!
As DCFC has already pointed out Grendel, Chris23 and myself are going to be at the Cricketer's Arms from around noon onwards on Sunday. So Westy it would be good to meet you and any other Doggies for a pre-match ale, I might even buy you that free one ;)
If you want to know how to recognise us, there is a pic at
http://media.rivals.net/media/jpg/2001071700381511.jpg
I'm the one holding the almost empty beer :)
I have a bad feeling you might be right about the VFL match but you never know. Should be good matches all three.
If the pic doesn't scare you off nothing will so I hope to see you there.
Chris_23
17 Aug 2001, 14:38
Yep, i'll be there. You've just given me a reason to drink....hang on, you don't need a reason to drink! :D I can be there at any time, i'll come back and check this thread for details. ;)
I'm a little concerned about Box Hill tomorrow. Werribee were too big and strong last time. Our youngsters are generally smaller types whereas the Doggies have recruited big fella's over the last few seasons. Hopefully there will be a big crowd and an entertaining 15 goal win for the Hawks. ;)
I'm fairly confident on sunday. The Hawks haven't been beaten by the Dogs since 1998 (who could forget Dunstall's 6 first qtr goals that day!) I think our strength against the Dogs has been our talls. The Dogs have a superior midfield but if we can hold our own through the middle then i'm confident of a 4 or 5 goal win.
All the best. ;)
GO ALL HAWKS!
Grendel
17 Aug 2001, 16:46
Hey Westy, still not sure why its this round and not the first time around (apologys for that) but looking forward to meeting up in 'person'. You bring the kahula i will bring the milk! Kidding. anyway check the thread in the doggie forum. The Cricketers just in case you didnt know is directly across from the Punt rd oval. Normally the Hawks blokes meet up at the back in the beer garden.
So hope to see and (any other Doggies fans) you there from noonish Sunday.
Hey Bullie ppl
Westy's bigfooty username has stuffed up (sorta like ya footy team;)), and he just wants to say he'll be there and he is looking forward to meeting you's all.
And he also would like to say
"QT rules"
I for some-reason agree :)