View Full Version : Do you believe Geelong is OVER RATED
Want A Beer Mate
12 Dec 2004, 23:15
Yes or No
underthebridge
12 Dec 2004, 23:30
just a tad.
but then again, i think the eagles are being overrated, with some of the ladder predictions ive seen......
flagfor05
13 Dec 2004, 00:09
I'm sick of hearing this utter crraapp.
NO, Geelong are not over rated
Look at who they beat
Brisbane
Melbourne (who are supposedly good) NOTE TO SELF: They're not
and various others
For idiots who keep raising total utter pathetic topics just like these, pull out some tapes and watch how we play.
Some people don't learn.
Geelong finished TOP 4! And people think we are overrated.
leonmagic
13 Dec 2004, 00:11
I'm sick of hearing this utter crraapp.
NO, Geelong are not over rated
Look at who they beat
Brisbane
Melbourne (who are supposedly good) NOTE TO SELF: They're not
and various others
For idiots who keep raising total utter pathetic topics just like these, pull out some tapes and watch how we play.
Some people don't learn.
Geelong finished TOP 4! And people think we are overrated.
Settle down mate.
You had one good year after a few average ones, and all of the sudden you're a flag chance.
In this regard, GFC is overrated - but so are a few others.
IMO unless you won the flag, your nothing until Rnd.1.
Black JuJu
13 Dec 2004, 00:36
Yeah a bit around these boards, but usually only by moron fan boys that nobody really listens too anyway. Geelong have picked up loads over the last year, you've just got to pick out the better posters and ignore the rest.
Like the majority of this site really..
NIBBLER
13 Dec 2004, 06:40
If Melbourne are anything to go by, Gellong are overated. :p Let's see how they go this season, heh.
Yay,another Geelong thread.
LongBomb
13 Dec 2004, 07:11
Totally overrated. A complete pack of duds.
Terrible management.
Worst list of young kids in the comp.
Happy?
RodgerFox
13 Dec 2004, 07:20
In all seriousness, I do think Geelong are overrated.
But they aren't alone.
Let's face it, only 2 sides have won flags in the past 4 years, and only 3 sides have even played in Grand Finals.
Until Geelong, St.Kilda, Melbourne, West Coast etc. and all the other sides back up their good seasons, they are overrated.
I get a bit sick of people talking up flags as if they simply fall into your lap because you 'have a good young list'. It doesn't work that way, and it's disrespectful to the PAFC and Brisbane Footy clubs to suggest that is a foregone conclusion that Geelong, St.Kilda or whoever will win flags in the near future due to one good season.
In my opinion, the only two sides that aren't overrated are Brisbane and Port.
Cassius_Clay
13 Dec 2004, 08:15
i do think geelong are a little overrated
maccas_no1
13 Dec 2004, 08:19
No Geelong arent over rated, they are a great young side good coach and a bright future, be interesting though to see how Ottens fits in and if the loss of Graham has any effect I doubt it will. Geelong Top 4 no worries at all ;)
Crowked
13 Dec 2004, 08:27
No, they like the Saints are going to be the measuring sticks for the next 2-3 yrs.
morgoth
13 Dec 2004, 08:38
Most teams that win flags have either the best, or one of the best defences in the AFL and a solid centre line and a team with few weak links.
Based on that the Cats look OK with Kelly and Tennace to be added this year. IMO they will win a flag before the Aints.
Pie 4 Life
13 Dec 2004, 09:41
Defence: Check
Midfield: Check
Rucks: Check
Forwards: ???
Their not overated, I've tipped them for the premiership but they'll need to rebuild their forward line, ala ka Brad Ottens.
Unwritten_Law
13 Dec 2004, 09:55
Forwards: ???
It is CHF that is the big problem. We have good small forwards in S.Johnson, Chapman and whichever other midfielder is rotating through, Ablett, Kelly and Bartel mainly. Medium forwards are ok, Haynes and Gardiner are serviceable, improvement to come from Mackie and Lonergan. Kingsley cops a lot of crap but if he had a reasonable conversion rate, last year he would have had 55-60 goals, good enough for FF. Add King or Ottens lurking around in the FP and it leaves the one big hole at CHF.
Joffaboy
13 Dec 2004, 10:02
No they are not overrated.
Like the Saints and other 04 also rans, most people rated them about where they came, behind Port and Brisbane.
Cant be rated on past performances for a new season, but have a plethora of fine young talent, and Ottens to replace Grayham.
May struggle with more games away from Kardinia Park, but who knows, seemed to go OK when in the big smoke last season.
Unwritten_Law
13 Dec 2004, 10:09
May struggle with more games away from Kardinia Park, but who knows, seemed to go OK when in the big smoke last season.
We would play the same amount of games at KP I reckon.
8 at KP, 3 in Melbourne is the usual formula and without checking I'm pretty sure it is the same this year.
4 Interstate trips and 6 "away" Friday night games from memory.
Magpie Mick
13 Dec 2004, 10:16
Geelong are NOT over rated, They are a good team. However, Garry Ablett junior is definetely OVER RATED...
mighty_west
13 Dec 2004, 10:26
We'll only know by the end of next season whether Geelong can be labelled overated or not, going on '04 seasons form, definatly not overated.
Johnson#26
13 Dec 2004, 10:54
No, they are a very even and committed team, and play for eachother and their coach. they remind me of Collingowod in 2002, and they are a real flag chance and should not be underestimated. With the recruiting of Ottens, they are a genuine flag chance.
They have beaten the likes of Brisbane, Melbourne and St.Kilda, and have stood up well under pressure in Port Adeladie.
SensibleCommentator
13 Dec 2004, 11:28
NO they are not. People rate them top 4 and thats correct they have a fantastic backline and midfield.
IMO Thompson will be the rise and death of Geelong. Arrogant, stubborn man who doesn't spend enough time on his players well being. This will burn them in the end. Has his favourites and the rest can get fuicked in his mind. oh well ....
... imagine ...only if they had GT they could do anything :D
davo4030
13 Dec 2004, 11:57
Flagfor05.
Geelong are the most over rated team in history.
Hows the boxing going mate?
I think Geelong will be a good team in 2005. Their young players are only going to get better.
Fall Out Boy
13 Dec 2004, 12:04
We have 8 games at KP in 2005 mate, same as this year.
Only real changes to our draw are one less interstate game and a few more Friday nights, both probably due to our improved form.
Count Zero
13 Dec 2004, 12:07
No. I do not believe that Geelong are over rated. I rate them very highly and think that have the players and coaches to be around the top of the table for at least the next 4 years.
Fall Out Boy
13 Dec 2004, 12:45
There are actually very few of our supporters who are expecting a premiership next season, or some sort of dynasty to start.
As Black JuJu said, it's the vocal minority of fan boys that talk us up, and for some reason most of Bigfooty seem to think they speak for the entire supporter base.
Personally i would be disappointed if we don't make the top 4 again, and i'd like to think we can be a legitimate chance for the premiership although St. Kilda and Port are clearly the two teams to beat.
Destructive
13 Dec 2004, 12:53
No.
evertonfc
13 Dec 2004, 13:07
3-7.
Somewhere in there.
Depends on a lot of things; if everything went to plan, then maybe even higher.
LongBomb
13 Dec 2004, 13:55
IMO Thompson will be the rise and death of Geelong. Arrogant, stubborn man who doesn't spend enough time on his players well being. This will burn them in the end. Has his favourites and the rest can get fuicked in his mind. oh well ....
... imagine ...only if they had GT they could do anything :D
Quite a stupid comment considering all the the various off field dramas that have plagued St. Kilda in recent times.
GT's work on his players well being doesn't seem to be doing much good when they are constantly getting themselves into trouble.
But I completely respect Thomas as a coach and for his success this season which is more than I can say for yourself.
I find it laughable that certain St. Kilda supporters are constantly getting stuck into Thompson.
Definitely a case of sour grapes and pettiness. For all your hoopla, you are still 6-2 down in the last 4 years of home and away games against Geelong.
The fact is that Bomber has built this playing group up from pretty much nothing. The ashes of the 'Ayres years'.
He has turned over nearly the whole list. Only 7 players remain from when he started as coach.
And he has done all this without any high or priority draft picks and without taking the club anywhere near the bottom of the ladder.
If you don't respect that, I seriously question your knowledge of the game.
No they're not but without Graham there's an even larger question mark over the key forwards.
Find a big key CHF and Geelong will be the real deal. With Ottens as a 3rd tall and Kingsley at FF that's good enough, provided there's a semi decent CHF.
If Kingsley kicks 55-60 and Ottens kicks 35-40 there's no problem, as Geelong gets enough from its small forwards and midfielders to cover it. Problem is it can all fall down at CHF without Graham.
Saint4Life
13 Dec 2004, 14:01
i dont think geelong beat st.kilda... we beat you twice :).. 2 to 1... :P (including wizzard cup)...
anyways they are an alright side, but i still believe we are a tad ahead, if you compare the prelim finals, who had to verse who and where.... :)
anyways next year will answer this topics question :)
WestCat
13 Dec 2004, 14:19
I honestly don't think that Graham will be as bigger loss as everyone expects. This is because, despite his size, he didn't really have much of a presence in the forward line with the exception of a couple of games. Graham played at his best when he was being more of a link man rather than a true CHF. His long kicking was an asset in that he could set up forward plays from the middle of the ground and this will be the main thing which we will miss next year. I believe someone like Charlie Gardiner can play this role as a link man and although he will have to be closer to the 50, he has very good hands and is very mobile, he is also good at setting players up with entries into the 50. I believe we can replace Graham, and that has been the main question mark as to whether we can back up after this year's success, so from that point of view, Geelong is not overrated. I, like many Geelong supporters, do not expect Geelong to win the flag next year but believe that we, along with probably 3 or 4 other clubs, are a chance.
an old brad ottens (form wise) from taking the next step, could still do it without him but if he comes good - scary
sabre_ac
13 Dec 2004, 15:12
Overated...Overachieved....
As did Melbourne.
Neither will go anywhere near top 4 next season.
WestCat
13 Dec 2004, 15:44
As did Melbourne.
Why not include StKilda in that statement?
Settle down mate.
You had one good year after a few average ones, and all of the sudden you're a flag chance.
In this regard, GFC is overrated - but so are a few others.
IMO unless you won the flag, your nothing until Rnd.1.
Same goes for St.Kilda
RodgerFox
13 Dec 2004, 16:16
Why are Geelong people so obsessed with St.Kilda?
LongBomb
13 Dec 2004, 16:19
C'mon Roger. Pot - Kettle ?
Over half your posts are about Geelong.
Talk about obsessed.
Karbassiyoon
13 Dec 2004, 16:20
now that graham has gone, kent kingsley will get the 2nd best defender instead of the 3rd best defender
the whole point of drafting ottens was that kingsley got the 3rd best defender and could be freed to kick 70 goals in 2005
that sure as hell aint gonna happen with kingsley playing on the 2nd best defender
the cats are overrated as a team, but bartel is massively underrated as an individual within that team
blues4flag
13 Dec 2004, 16:36
No they are not over-rated.
Want A Beer Mate
13 Dec 2004, 17:53
Because they have a team which is 10 times better than you and you and your fellow cats trying to believe otherwise is not only deluding yourself but setting you up for a big fall.
Want A Beer Mate
13 Dec 2004, 17:54
now that graham has gone, kent kingsley will get the 2nd best defender instead of the 3rd best defender
the whole point of drafting ottens was that kingsley got the 3rd best defender and could be freed to kick 70 goals in 2005
that sure as hell aint gonna happen with kingsley playing on the 2nd best defender
the cats are overrated as a team, but bartel is massively underrated as an individual within that team
Kingsley could not hit water if he fell out of a boat.
sabre_ac
13 Dec 2004, 17:59
Because StKilda are strong across the playing field , they have more top line youngsters that almost any two other sides combined.
Sure geelong have a few handy youngsters and maybe a couple of top line ones, but list wise they are not as impressive as the saints and probally 5 other sides in the competition.
That said as proven last year Champion teams win premireships opposed to a team of champions, they may be up there again, but I wouldnt put money on it.
skywalk750
13 Dec 2004, 18:12
As did Melbourne.
Dont you barrack for fremantle? :D
I dont think Saints, Demons, Eagles or Cats are over-rated.
We rated ourselves this year to be lucky to make the finals, we came 4th on the ladder and came close to a grand final.
Because they have a team which is 10 times better than you and you and your fellow cats trying to believe otherwise is not only deluding yourself but setting you up for a big fall.
10 times better?
How does a bandwagoner like you come up with such rubbish?
Both teams are very even with St. Kilda's superior forward line edging it in front.
LongBomb
13 Dec 2004, 18:39
10 times better yet have still only beaten geelong twice from eight encounters in the last 4 years.
iameviljez
13 Dec 2004, 18:48
10 times better?
How does a bandwagoner like you come up with such rubbish?
Both teams are very even with St. Kilda's superior forward line edging it in front.
Yeh, that's my opinion too. It'll be interesting to see what happens when Harvey moves on (and now that Graham's moved on!) and whether Ackland can become a decent ruckman. Basically, I think that the first to fill those holes (ie a Harvey-shaped hole in the Midfield, or a Tredrea-shaped hole up foward) will be the first to win a premiership.
IMO Thompson will be the rise and death of Geelong. Arrogant, stubborn man who doesn't spend enough time on his players well being.
How do you know he doesn't spend enough time on his players well being ?
GT has done a wonderful job spending time on players well being.Has he taught them the difference between "Yes" and "No" yet ?
It would've said a few Saints a lot of trouble.
This will burn them in the end. Has his favourites and the rest can get fuicked in his mind. oh well ....
Who are these so called favourites ?
I could think of maybe 1,but even he does a reasonable job to earn his spot.
Doesn't GT have a favourite ? The bloke pictured in todays Hun at his wedding.
sabre_ac
29 May 2005, 14:42
As did Melbourne.
Let me just slightly adjust that, will most likely go top 4.
Both remain out of the race, over hyped youngsters and lacking in real fire power.
docker_azza
29 May 2005, 14:55
Geelong are still premiership favourites IMO.
The difference between Freos best and Freos worst form is massive. A week is a long time in football as the old cliche goes.
WestCat
29 May 2005, 17:16
Because StKilda are strong across the playing field , they have more top line youngsters that almost any two other sides combined.
Sure geelong have a few handy youngsters and maybe a couple of top line ones, but list wise they are not as impressive as the saints and probally 5 other sides in the competition.
That said as proven last year Champion teams win premireships opposed to a team of champions, they may be up there again, but I wouldnt put money on it.
I know this statement was made quite some time ago, but I would've thought that Geelong were stronger across the playing field. I think that St Kilda rely on too few, granted their fwe are very, very good, but I think Geelong are stronger across the field. St Kilda's first 5 selected players would be ahead of Geelong's first 5 selected, but Geelong's players selected in the 17-22 range would be far superior to St Kilda's.
ngbrown
29 May 2005, 17:17
They are a good team, just happened to have an off day.
rosejam
29 May 2005, 17:26
I know this statement was made quite some time ago, but I would've thought that Geelong were stronger across the playing field. I think that St Kilda rely on too few, granted their fwe are very, very good, but I think Geelong are stronger across the field. St Kilda's first 5 selected players would be ahead of Geelong's first 5 selected, but Geelong's players selected in the 17-22 range would be far superior to St Kilda's.
if both teams have a full list to choose from you are sadly mistaken....
by the way our highest possesion getter last night had 22 disps and our lowest three were 5 (Jason Gram a developing player that is outside our best 25), 6 (Brett Voss a backman who had a bad game), 8 (Raphael Clarke another young player on the fringe of our team)...not bad for a team that leaves its work to a few....
rosejam
15 Aug 2005, 18:35
so...