View Full Version : Meyer vs. Monfries
richcogs
13 Dec 2004, 19:18
Any one seen them both play, who's better?
Andrew Lovett
14 Dec 2004, 08:14
Any one seen them both play, who's better?
Monfries is better, thats only because ive heard better things about monfries.
He ran 15km one game when he was 15 or 16. Meyer doesnt want to be in melbourne you can just tell
So its Monfries for me
Snickers
14 Dec 2004, 12:58
meyer is better but i have a feeling essendon will get more out of monfries.
crowsarethebest
14 Dec 2004, 21:34
hard to say both are very good players but im swinging to meyer BUT monfries might be a good long term player
vinnie_vegas69
14 Dec 2004, 21:54
From everything I've heard and seen myself, Meyer is better. Superb kicking ability. If he keeps working at it, he'll be one of the best in the AFL.
Monfries is a bit of a tweener, in that he's not a real inside or outside midfielder. IMO, he needs to pick a discipline and work at getting better at it. His disposal isn't quite up to scratch for a true outside midfielder, and his work ethic, ball getting ability and body aren't up to being a true inside midfielder at this stage.
I like Meyer between the two.
Hawka Deano
15 Dec 2004, 09:01
The age old debate of athlete v footballer. Monfries now, Meyer more scope for improvement.
vinnie_vegas69
15 Dec 2004, 09:21
The age old debate of athlete v footballer. Monfries now, Meyer more scope for improvement.
Not really, to call Meyer just an athlete is a big insult to the guy, as he is already an excellent footballer. I'll give you that Monfries does have a better natural football brain at this stage, but that's like saying Shane Crawford has a better football brain than Luke Hodge; it doesn't make Hodge just an athlete.
Monfries needs to bulk up a lot and will be a great player when he does. Goes in hard and gets the ball nad has great skills (both kicking and handballing) and having watched him play the last 2 years it has been really enjoyable seeing him improve. I am sad to see him leave Sturt and SA (bloody idiots SA teams cant pick local talent if it bit em in the ass).
I havent seem this Meyer kid, but Monners played about 6 or 7 games for for Sturt this year and played in our finals series too. Played well too. GUN :D
Bentleigh
15 Dec 2004, 15:16
He ran 15km one game when he was 15 or 16. Meyer doesnt want to be in melbourne you can just tell
So its Monfries for me
Meyer for me.
hard to say both are very good players but im swinging to meyer BUT monfries might be a good long term player
Im sure at 18 Meyer will be a good long term player also. Id reckon Meyer could be a abosute star and with less presure (Tambling & Deledio) could surpise a few.
Monfries sights set on seniors
Essendon’s number one draft pick, 17-year old Angus Monfries, will play senior football for the Bombers next year, according to former Footscray player and AIS coach Terry Wheeler. "Despite his age, he has the intelligence and the physical capacity to play senior football in 2005," Wheeler said.
Head coach of the Australian Institute of Sport - Australian Football League (AIS/AFL) program, Wheeler has no doubt that Monfries can make an impact in his first season at Bomberland.
"I would be looking for him to be playing in the second half of the year and I think he could play at least eight to ten games in his first season," he said.
Wheeler has had a major impact on Monfries development as a junior footballer. An AIS/AFL graduate, the South Australian first impressed Wheeler at a junior carnival two years ago.
"He stood out as a midfielder who could get plenty of the football. He had terrific hands and was very good in close and around the contest," he said.
"One thing that really impressed me was his versatility. He proved that he was not a one-dimensional player when he went forward and kicked goals, including five goals in one game."
Taken at selection 14 by the Bombers in the pre-season draft, Monfries attracted interest from as many as 12 clubs prior to the draft. But it was the Essendon that took a liking to his midfield prowess and leadership qualities and he was snapped up as their first selection.
Wheeler predicted the former Sturt player, who played five games in the seniors last season, would be a future star player for the club.
Wheeler believes the youngster’s intelligence on and off the field would benefit him at Windy Hill in 2005.
"He has the capacity to understand the game through his greatest strength – his intelligence. This attribute is not specifically related to the football field either, as I’m sure he will pursue a University degree when he settles in at Essendon next year," Wheeler said.
"The thing that really struck me about Angus though while he was at the AIS were his leadership qualities. I think that this is something that will only develop further at Essendon with experience," he said.
Monfries’ leadership virtues were rewarded earlier this year when he was named captain of the Australian under 17 side for the first test of the International Rules series against Ireland.
The next stage of Monfries’ development has already begun with the transition into senior football beginning with pre-season training program alongside his new teammates.
Wheeler is a strong believer in the boy from across the border, saying the next step will be just another challenge for him.
"At junior level, there is so much to deal with, skill acquisition and learning how to play the game but if you are good enough the rest will follow naturally," Wheeler said.
"His strength and leg speed will come and that is something I am sure John Quinn will work on during pre-season. I’m looking forward to seeing him develop in the next year or two."
So its Monfries for me
idiot! Meyer wanted to go to melbourne he said so before the draft. another ridiculous statement :rolleyes:
Snickers
16 Dec 2004, 08:10
idiot! Meyer wanted to go to melbourne he said so before the draft. another ridiculous statement :rolleyes:
easy boys.......
bOmBeR_BoY1
16 Dec 2004, 11:05
Your right, Meyer supported the Bombers as a kid and openly stated in the Advertiser a week before the draft that Essendon was his desired destination but questioned whether he would last until our first pick (14).
I've heard good reports about both, Monfries was expected to be in the top 10 but lasted until pick 14 which I'm obviously delighted about. Will be exciting to watch in the coming years which of these South Australians will stamp their authority on the competition, my prediction is they both will.
Coughlan
16 Dec 2004, 12:05
Meyer doesnt want to be in melbourne you can just tell
Where has this come from he has never said that he doesnt want to be in elbourne he has said the complete opposite. Has this all came fromthe barbeque at Clinton Caseys house where he didnt look that happy which was more then likely just shok that he has to move interstate
Bentleigh
16 Dec 2004, 12:10
Your right, Meyer supported the Bombers as a kid and openly stated in the Advertiser a week before the draft that Essendon was his desired destination but questioned whether he would last until our first pick (14).
Actually, he wanted to go to an Adelaide side as his first preferance. He seems very happy at Punt Road.
I've heard good reports about both, Monfries was expected to be in the top 10 but lasted until pick 14 which I'm obviously delighted about. Will be exciting to watch in the coming years which of these South Australians will stamp their authority on the competition, my prediction is they both will.
Meyer was widly touted to go at 6-10, footy draft had him at 9 i beleive, Im very happy to have him at Richmond.
bOmBeR_BoY1
16 Dec 2004, 13:19
Actually, he wanted to go to an Adelaide side as his first preferance. He seems very happy at Punt Road.
Meyer was widly touted to go at 6-10, footy draft had him at 9 i beleive, Im very happy to have him at Richmond.
Oh really...
http://www.theadvertiser.news.com.au/footy03/story_page/0,8747,11400205%255E25397,00.html
Bentleigh
16 Dec 2004, 13:34
Oh really...
Really.
He has stated numiours times he would be happy to remain in his home state.
who cares if he barrakes for essendon it wont effect his game he will be a star no questions asked.
bOmBeR_BoY1
17 Dec 2004, 14:03
who cares if he barrakes for essendon it wont effect his game he will be a star no questions asked.
Got anymore of those exclusive rumours of yours? Your one about Zantuck on the main board was a real stand out. Any dirt on young Angus? :rolleyes:
Johnson#26
18 Dec 2004, 14:38
Going on what I have heard, Meyer is the better player.
OneEyedHawk
19 Dec 2004, 02:17
I was very keen on picking up Monfries but from all reports Meyer sounds even better. Was a top 10 pick in most phantom drafts.
sounds to me like monfries is ready for senior footy next season, whilst meyer is still abt a stone and a half's body weight away from playing. Potential is a word i hardly get my rocks off from wen talking abt richmond, lets wait and see.. our record of developing talent is hardly top shelf :o
crowsarethebest
19 Dec 2004, 18:40
sounds to me like monfries is ready for senior footy next season, whilst meyer is still abt a stone and a half's body weight away from playing. Potential is a word i hardly get my rocks off from wen talking abt richmond, lets wait and see.. our record of developing talent is hardly top shelf :o
Well mate you have to hope and pray to god won't you? ;) i'm sure at least one of ur draftees will become a star
Given that they were in the mix with us for pick ten, I'd have preferred to have taken Meyer based on team needs.
I suppose that's the difference...what type does your team need the most?
Eitherway, let the kids have a crack at AFL first. Until then, the best AFL player from last year's draft was Chris Egan, until I say (admit) otherwise! :p
richcogs
13 May 2005, 15:33
I think Meyer is 2 draft picks better than Monfries :D
Footyman07
13 May 2005, 16:34
Well boys to put it simply, Meyer is better because he went to SHC
celtic_pride
13 May 2005, 16:42
Monfries looks pretty good so far from what I've seen of him, haven't seen much of Meyer
richcogs
13 May 2005, 16:44
Well last week Meyer played a bit over half the game (67 minutes) and got 12 disposals and 0 clangers, looks all class!
Thunderstruck
13 May 2005, 16:46
Ive seen a helluva lot of these two kids at junior level over here in Adelaide. Both are different, BOTH will be future stars of their clubs. To compare the two is like saying is this apple better than that orange.
Monfries has more leadership qualities as an individual thats where he comes out on top, Meyer is the quieter guy, gets the job done no fuss and in a polished manner.
If we were to compare the two I'd say that Meyer is the best kick of the footy out of the entire SA draftees from last years draft, even better than Griffen. A good leg at that. Will end up being a polished wingman I feel.
Monfries has more guts, and prolly goes in harder and has terrific hands and is a good finisher with his good kicking skills. Not as clean as Meyer however. For a kid of his age tho, u wont see many more so mature in the mind of the game, he simply has a terrific footy brain. Very smart and he holds an edge over Meyer there too, but only by a bit.
So in the end, Monfries is a tickle better ATM and always has been over his junior years but in 5 years time, come back and compare them then when they both have had a good amount of time in the AFL system.
Bentleigh
13 May 2005, 17:32
Monfries has impressed, looks a player.
However im very happy with Meyer. Hoping he will mature into a Dal Santo/Nathen Brown type.
With Cogs, Lids, Jacko, Bling & friends in the guts Meyer should take to a wing very well.
Bentleigh
13 May 2005, 17:40
Meyer thanks.
You should really buy a Richmond memebership :)
Because I said I would rather Meyer than Monfries?
You should really attend games :)
Meyer for mine.. classy classy player!
Lewis will be better than the both of them.
Bentleigh
13 May 2005, 18:14
Lewis will be better than the both of them.
Strange comparison.
Harold22
13 May 2005, 22:41
having played on monfries and witnessed both players first hand. id say meyer has better skills and is more athletic.. monfries, however is hard-working midfielder, in and under and a bigger motor than meyer. but if i had to choose, meyer would get the fans through the gate through his acrobatics. a player in the mould of a judd or dal santo is much more likely to attract fans than a marc johnson or paul licuria..
Meyer is a better athlete and has better skills. I would take Meyer but a bit too early to tell.
WhiteBoots
19 May 2005, 19:41
I like Meyer,
Stepped into the AFL training without missing a beat, although nor did Deledio. Meyer looks a class act. Good luck to him and Monfries
Bentleigh
19 May 2005, 19:57
Meyer = Dal Santo MK2
Fingers crossed.
dont compare him to dal santo, differnet players, just like monfries and meyer are different types
Bentleigh
19 May 2005, 20:05
dont compare him to dal santo, differnet players
They seem very similar players to me.
sants is poetry in motion ala black from brisbane, pure midfielder, glaring weakness one paced, meyer is an explosive player, was top 5 in last years draft camp in 20 metre sprints, will kick goals and will will alternate betweeen HFF, wing and HBF
Bentleigh
19 May 2005, 20:13
sants is poetry in motion ala black from brisbane, pure midfielder, glaring weakness one paced, meyer is an explosive player, was top 5 in last years draft camp in 20 metre sprints, will kick goals and will will alternate betweeen HFF, wing and HBF
Both are in the very top tier in terms of class.
OneEyedHawk
19 May 2005, 20:56
Meyer = Dal Santo MK2
Fingers crossed.
geez, what an amazing draft for richmond. :rolleyes:
By your estimations: Deledio=Judd, Meyer=Dal Santo, Tambling=greatest aboriginal of all time...
Ever wonder why you have zero credibility around here?
bettsie
19 May 2005, 21:33
So should you :)
Tigerbob
20 May 2005, 09:06
So should you :)
GOLD!!!!
Meyer is a extremely classy player, and he will be exceptional for years to come!!
Was an outstanding draft for us, Deledio, Tambling, Meyer and Pattison have already showed me they are going to be special players, just by the little things they do... Tiger supporters who expect too much from them this year have rocks in their heads, but look for the little things and consistancy and you will be pleased, I know I am....
Monfries, watched a lot of video on the kid last year and he will be a good player in this league, saw him in a couple of VFL games and again the little things he did, (trapped a ball in a pack and fed of a handball to the advantage of a Bendigo player) shows me he is also quality! But for the sake of the post - I would take Meyer before Monfries. Then again I would of thought Meyer was in the top 5 - 10 in the draft, happy he fell to us!!!
:D
cschreuder61
20 May 2005, 11:18
Meyer = Dal Santo MK2
Fingers crossed.
Deledio = Judd
Meyer = Dal Santo
Pattison = Carey
Tambling = The best aboriginal player in the universe
Polo = Hird
that about sums you up eh?
Bentleigh
20 May 2005, 14:37
Deledio = Judd
Meyer = Dal Santo
Pattison = Carey
Tambling = The best aboriginal player in the universe
Polo = Hird
that about sums you up eh?
Deledio = Judd/Hird
Tambling = Paul Kelly/McCloud
Meyer = Dal Santo
Pattison = Darcy
Polo = Hyde
Nightwolf
20 May 2005, 14:50
Meh, Meyer has shown nothing to impress me yet...Monfries has
Bentleigh
20 May 2005, 14:54
Meh, Meyer has shown nothing to impress me yet...Monfries has
He will be devastated
TheGeneral
20 May 2005, 14:58
Jordan Russell will be greater than Meyer once he's unleashed and is quicker than Tambling. Russell just looks a classy player on the track and is being kept back until he's ready to debut, rather than being thrown in early like others.
Bentleigh
20 May 2005, 15:02
Jordan Russell will be greater than Meyer once he's unleashed.
All Carlton players unleashed this season have been sensational.
and is quicker than Tambling.
He is slower than Deledio, Tambling & Meyer. Not slow but as fast as the fastest.
Russell just looks a classy player on the track
He must be a star then.
and is being kept back until he's ready to debut, rather than being thrown in early like others
Because Carlton have such deapth eh?
TheGeneral
20 May 2005, 15:08
All Carlton players unleashed this season have been sensational.
No, worse than "Rubber Tits" Simmonds.
He is slower than Deledio, Tambling & Meyer. Not slow but as fast as the fastest.
Can you translate this for me? Russell was quicker than Tambling at the camp.
He must be a star then.
What's Meyer done? :confused:
Because Carlton have such deapth eh?
Not everyone comes in straight away and dominates the position they'll play in the seniors.
Bentleigh
20 May 2005, 15:15
No, worse than "Rubber Tits" Simmonds.
Rubber tits has been very solid in the majority of out 6/8 wins this season.
Can you translate this for me? Russell was quicker than Tambling at the camp.
Actully, no.
20-metre sprint
Richard Tambling (Southern Districts) - 2.87sec
Jordan Russell (West Adelaide) - 2.89sec
They are both quite fast. Lets leave it at that.
What's Meyer done? :confused:
A hell of alot more than Russel.
Not everyone comes in straight away and dominates the position they'll play in the seniors.
No, they dont.
Looks like a good player. Far inferior to Tambling & Deledio. Could be better than Meyer, could be worst. Looks like we are each happy with our picks.
Isnt is great having high draft picks? :)
I was sure Port would take whichever of Meyer or Monfires was still available at pick 11.
Having seen some of Adam Thomson (who Port chose @ #11) Im very happy with the clubs choice. :)
Good to see positive comments about the young SA lads.
TheGeneral
20 May 2005, 16:12
Looks like a good player. Far inferior to Tambling & Deledio. Could be better than Meyer, could be worst. Looks like we are each happy with our picks.
Isnt is great having high draft picks? :)
I'd prefer to Meyer and Russell to Egan who is like O'loughlin - can dominate for 5 minutes with great skill and pace but disappear for the rest of the match. Egan has already been disciplined by the Pies for being out late and methinks these are the reasons why the mighty blues may have passed.
Russell hits a target running full pelt which requires skill, whilst the great Simon Wiggins :rolleyes: last night struggled to hit a teammate whilst under no pressure. There is also no guarantee that Deledio and Tambling will be better performers than Russell. The odds are in their favor but Dal Santo slipped very low and would have gone higher in hindsight.
Saw the O'Hailpin's train last night and they are bloody quick for guys who are 6 foot 6 and 6 foot 7. They'll both play AFL and their footskills aren't bad for guys who are champion hurlers.