View Full Version : Jarrad Schofield

Pages : [1] 2

pinkus maximus
14 Dec 2004, 02:33
welcome to the club Jarrad

PortProudWA
14 Dec 2004, 07:12
welcome to the club Jarrad

Enjoy, (you dont quite have him yet, but I am sure you wont let me down)Freo are screaming for a midfielder, glad to see them pick him up. I reckon young Murphy must be wrapped to see Schoey at Freo.

Freo have the Carr and the Passenger now, well done!!

Port have the Cup and the Power!!

And geee another midfielder http://fremantlefc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=179168 :confused: lol totally lost the plot now!!

Ripper
14 Dec 2004, 07:53
And geee another midfielder http://fremantlefc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=179168 :confused: lol totally lost the plot now!!

You can never have too many midfielders. :)

You are up early.

Did you not sleep well?

Were you dreaming about the Dockers? :)

Moo
14 Dec 2004, 09:21
Official now.

masai
14 Dec 2004, 10:19
I reckon young Murphy must be wrapped to see Schoey at Freo.

Explain?.

Tall player worried about another roving player?.

Porthos
14 Dec 2004, 10:53
What a lucky bugger he is.

fat wombat
14 Dec 2004, 13:07
Fremantle Secures Schofield
7:19:30 AM Tue 14 December, 2004
Keith Black
fremantlefc.com.au

2004 Port Adelaide premiership player Jarrad Schofield today became a Fremantle player when selected by the club in the 2004 Pre-Season Draft.

Schofield, who turns 30 in January, was originally drafted by West Coast in 1992 and after 63 games with the Eagles was traded to Port Adelaide in 1998. Playing all 25 games in 2005, he has now played a total of 194 games, including 17 finals appearances.

Schofield is a high possession winner, accumulating 446 disposals in 2005 and has been training with the Fremantle side for the last two weeks and his addition to the side will bring pace and ball carrying ability along with a wealth of experience.

What the? He's got an early start to 2005 by the looks of things! He's played 25 games in 2005 and accumulated 446 disposals. That's pretty good going considering the year is 2004!

Port1978
14 Dec 2004, 13:19
So which WAFL club will he be going to?

fat wombat
14 Dec 2004, 13:27
So which WAFL club will he be going to?

I believe he'll be playing for Subiaco for the next 2 years :o

docker_azza
14 Dec 2004, 13:43
Port1978 So which WAFL club will he be going to?

So your happy about that?

Port1978
14 Dec 2004, 13:58
So your happy about that?

Do you mean am I happy that he's left Port, or am I happy that he'll probably be going to Subi?

Benno_900
14 Dec 2004, 14:10
Could the resigning of Schofield from Port Adelaide have anything to do with Josh Carr? He was very keen to play for the dockers.

masai
14 Dec 2004, 14:48
Could the resigning of Schofield from Port Adelaide have anything to do with Josh Carr? He was very keen to play for the dockers.

Re-phrase that, " his partner had him by the ..... and he was obliged to return to Perth, Freo offered him an option ".

Subi odds on for the premiership ........... Black Ducks have got botulism.

fat wombat
14 Dec 2004, 15:49
Does he have the pashion?

docker_azza
14 Dec 2004, 17:19
Do you mean am I happy that he's left Port, or am I happy that he'll probably be going to Subi?

the latter

Black JuJu
14 Dec 2004, 19:43
Re-phrase that, " his partner had him by the ..... and he was obliged to return to Perth, Freo offered him an option ".

You guys seem to be developing a taste for the pussy whipped....Schoie, Dessy, Black... ;)

PortProudWA
14 Dec 2004, 20:32
You can never have too many midfielders. :)

You are up early.

Did you not sleep well?

Were you dreaming about the Dockers? :)

errrrr der....its called getting up to go to work...or dont you know that four letter word. Yer dreaming about how stupid you are........

Chicken Stock, Beef Stocking.....then Freo = Laughing Stock.

Whats worse than a player leaving your club to go home..............
A player that wants to go home but his old "home" team wont take him, and his former team wont resign him for 2 years......and then you club takes a player that swore he never wanted to play for Freo. Now thats funny, You have just been taken for the ride, well no.....should say, schofield has just taken Fremantle for a ride, Enjoy the Journey!!

ImperialPurple
14 Dec 2004, 21:08
Perhaps you should concern yourself more with why so many players want to LEAVE your club.

Sheeds
14 Dec 2004, 21:15
Well I'll take the opportuntiy to wish Schoey all the best with Freo. I think he was dreaming if he thought a 1 yr contract was not fair, if he plays welll he gets another yr but if he wanted to go so be it. He gave Port good service but we have pleny of suitable midfielders waiting in the wings.

Im not sure in the logic of Freo going after him when they already had Bell, Haselby, M.Carr, Cook, Headland etc etc then went to the trouble to get Josh Carr as well as Black. But good luck to him, I think he has another serviceable year or 2 in him if he is switched on.

docker_azza
14 Dec 2004, 21:22
Schofield said on channel gossage news tonight that if Carlton or the Kangaroos picked him up, he would had strongly considered retirement because he wanted to play in WA.

Lion
14 Dec 2004, 21:29
errrrr der....its called getting up to go to work...or dont you know that four letter word. Yer dreaming about how stupid you are........

A player that wants to go home but his old "home" team wont take him, and his former team wont resign him for 2 years......and then you club takes a player that swore he never wanted to play for Freo. Now thats funny, You have just been taken for the ride, well no.....should say, schofield has just taken Fremantle for a ride, Enjoy the Journey!!

I think you're taking all this a little personally, just chill dude, you've got a great team with or without the players you've lost this season. So relax as everyone is having a nice discussion, no need to troll.

Lion
14 Dec 2004, 21:31

Well that's the big question, sounds to me like coming home was more important than playing footy going from the sports report.

But maybe once the season kicks in he'll show some passion on the field.

crazy_big_al
14 Dec 2004, 21:54

No he is a does not work hard enough.

Monk
14 Dec 2004, 23:35

Its amazing how bitter the PA fans are, get over it you won the GF. Quit with all the whinging.....

Moo
15 Dec 2004, 00:36
Schofield on 720 tonight stated that Port had offered him a 2-year deal just before the death knock of the pre-season but he simply did not want to stay.

Good old Port, we are fairly right on midfielders ...we will see how Pav and Polly go this year and if no good we can just hope Williams starts to ******** off some forwards.

voodoo_86
15 Dec 2004, 02:09
we will see how Pav and Polly go this year and if no good we can just hope Williams starts to ******** off some forwards.

hahaha I like it.

Heeeeere whitey whitey whitey.

PPWA is so bitter i'm getting the residual taste in my mouth just from reading her post.

PortProudWA
15 Dec 2004, 06:47
hahaha I like it.

Heeeeere whitey whitey whitey.

PPWA is so bitter i'm getting the residual taste in my mouth just from reading her post.

Bitter LOL, yer ok. I am bitter about losing schofield.
I hope we never lose Freo, with out them we would have nothing to laugh about. JC was a lose, but Schofield.....think again. And if you think they left Port because Choco p!$$ed them of, lol. They left for because they wanted to go home, and Freo was the only team willing to take them. As for Schofield....his mrs had him by the short and curlys...if you didnt pick him up, he wouldnt be playing footy at all, Freo was Schofields only hope!!

And hey IP, not concered about losing two players, wont make any difference to us....you should be concered that with the money you fork out that still after 11 years you have nothing!! Me I know my club will do it again....with or with out the likes of JC and Schofield!! Are you that confident about yours??

As for Whitey....he just signed a 2 year contract ;) . (and yer ripper, just leaving for work now incase you wondered, just finished one job..of to my next one ;) )

Enjoy the day people......I love you all keep up the good work!!!

ImperialPurple
15 Dec 2004, 08:23
Doesn't matter what spin you put on it, how many smileys and exclamation marks you use...

players still want to leave your club. Bottom line.

MrMeaner
15 Dec 2004, 08:39
Doesn't matter what spin you put on it, how many smileys and exclamation marks you use...

players still want to leave your club. Bottom line.

As they do all clubs. In fact, as they do in all enterprises. You can't please all the people.

Are you now saying that Carr did not want to go to Freo to be with his brother? Are you implying that there were other reasons? Please enlighten us in this regard.

Schofield, pfft! Lucky to get a game for us in the second half of the season. Before that he was good for us but, ultimately, he is a player on the wane.

ImperialPurple
15 Dec 2004, 09:34
Hit a nerve have we...?

When the Princess of Trolls stops coming on OUR BOARD to do something other than stir and put-down, then perhaps we won't feel the need to deliver come-backs.

Port is a successful club - good on them.
Port won this years GF - good on them.
Port has players leaving despite all this - why is that.

Frankly I don't know and I don't really care... but maybe some of the Port people, who despite the success they have had, still seem to want to play the "bully-boys" may want to ask that question. Maybe they don't. Like I said, i don't care.

But PPWA comes here with regular monotony to troll and shyte-stir. Fix up your own crap before dishing it out, that's all.

MrMeaner
15 Dec 2004, 09:40
No nerve hit. I am just attempting to highlight the flaw in your argument.

Again, for your benefit, each club will have players who want to leave for whatever reason. To think that you can keep 40-odd individuals happy at the one time is just naive. Thus, your 'comeback' is complete rubbish.

As for your problems with PPWA. That is something that I cannot comment on.

Kapow!!!
15 Dec 2004, 09:43
Hit a nerve have we...?

When the Princess of Trolls stops coming on OUR BOARD to do something other than stir and put-down, then perhaps we won't feel the need to deliver come-backs.

Frankly I don't know and I don't really care... but maybe some of the Port people, who despite the success they have had, still seem to want to play the "bully-boys" may want to ask that question. Maybe they don't. Like I said, i don't care.

But PPWA comes here with regular monotony to troll and shyte-stir. Fix up your own crap before dishing it out, that's all.

You are talking to the 40 year old psyco Port supporter from WA. Are I don't mean you're normal psyco, I mean bogan psyco with a massive hatred for purple. Trust me, both Docker azza and myself had the "pleasure" of talking to her via MSN...fun experience :rolleyes:

Port are losing players and only JUST broke even this year financially even though they won the premiership. Not only that but in the past two years when they were minor premiers they lost players and they lost money. How in the blue hell does THAT happen :confused:

MrMeaner
15 Dec 2004, 10:19
You are talking to the 40 year old psyco Port supporter from WA. Are I don't mean you're normal psyco, I mean bogan psyco with a massive hatred for purple. Trust me, both Docker azza and myself had the "pleasure" of talking to her via MSN...fun experience :rolleyes:

Port are losing players and only JUST broke even this year financially even though they won the premiership. Not only that but in the past two years when they were minor premiers they lost players and they lost money. How in the blue hell does THAT happen :confused:

Would you mind revealing your source regarding our supposed losses over the past couple of seasons? According to the club, we made a consolidated profit of $331,288 last year and $201,804 in 2002. That was whilst still paying our licence fee and reducing debt.

This year, we did not 'barely break even' but posted a proft of $332,337 before having to pay $220,000 in sub-licence fees to the SANFL. Even then, a profit of $112,337 after that distribution is healthy (obviously, winning the GF helped us in that regard). Especially so, considering that we had to make considerable injury payments this year.

Source 1 (http://portadelaidefc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=128331)

Source 2 (http://portadelaidefc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=179760)

Are you saying that our board are lying to members?

Jars458
15 Dec 2004, 10:35
Its amazing how bitter the PA fans are, get over it you won the GF. Quit with all the whinging.....

They can't. Its the Port tradition. A player is a legend when they are with Port but as soon as they go elsewhere, they are soft or can't play etc etc.

Its pathetic.

ImperialPurple
15 Dec 2004, 10:47
No nerve hit. I am just attempting to highlight the flaw in your argument.

Again, for your benefit, each club will have players who want to leave for whatever reason. To think that you can keep 40-odd individuals happy at the one time is just naive. Thus, your 'comeback' is complete rubbish.

As for your problems with PPWA. That is something that I cannot comment on.

Mate, understand this: The ONLY thing this is about is Princess Troll of Port.
If you can't comment on that - then move on...

And you yourself have supported my "argument" (in inverted commas because I am so not interested in you, your club or having a cyber-argument with someone...) by saying that "of course we can't keep everyone happy - people will always want to leave". I never, not once, at all said that it didn't happen to other clubs - just pointed out that it happens to yours. You agreed. So tell me where does this make my "argument" flawed?

It seems that Port people absolutely refuse to believe that there is anything other than perfection emanating from their club. All clubs have issues they need to deal with. My point from the beginning is, and will remain, deal with your own "stuff" before you come trolling on other people's boards flinging crap around.

If you wish to support my "argument", then tell me my "argument" is flawed, all the while ignoring the reason for the "discussion" in the first place... well go ahead. Seems we have little else to say to one another.

purplesoul
15 Dec 2004, 10:55
You are talking to the 40 year old psyco Port supporter from WA. Are I don't mean you're normal psyco, I mean bogan psyco with a massive hatred for purple.

That sums it up. Oh, you forgot, over smiley using bitch.

fat wombat
15 Dec 2004, 10:56
I'll be watching our new feeder club with great interest in the future! You keep developing them, we'll steal them!

For those Port fans that haven't seen it already, Rabbit Proof Fence was a great flick!

Kapow!!!
15 Dec 2004, 10:57
Would you mind revealing your source regarding our supposed losses over the past couple of seasons? According to the club, we made a consolidated profit of $331,288 last year and $201,804 in 2002. That was whilst still paying our licence fee and reducing debt.

This year, we did not 'barely break even' but posted a proft of $332,337 before having to pay $220,000 in sub-licence fees to the SANFL. Even then, a profit of $112,337 after that distribution is healthy (obviously, winning the GF helped us in that regard). Especially so, considering that we had to make considerable injury payments this year.

Source 1 (http://portadelaidefc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=128331)

Source 2 (http://portadelaidefc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=179760)

Are you saying that our board are lying to members?

From wehavethepassion (thanks to error 404) from the AFL website (I think):

1. West Coast Eagles; $2,800,000
2. Brisbane; $2,180,000
3. Collingwood; $2,070,456
4. Geelong; $1,220,000
5. Adelaide; $1,200,000
6. Fremantle; $1,100,000
7. St Kilda; $1,000,000
8. Essendon; $649,000
9. Kangaroos; $140,000
10. Hawthorn; $101,000
11. Sydney $100,000
12. Melbourne; $25,000
13. Port Adelaide (break even)
14. Western Bulldogs $-693,364
15. Carlton $-900,000
16. Richmond $-2,194,974

As for your board lying to your members, well, they're worried about their business, of course they're gonna lie to cover their ar$e!

MrMeaner
15 Dec 2004, 11:06

2. Brisbane; $2,180,000
4. Geelong; $1,220,000
5. Adelaide; $1,200,000
6. Fremantle; $1,100,000
7. St Kilda; $1,000,000
8. Essendon; $649,000
9. Kangaroos; $140,000
10. Hawthorn; $101,000
11. Sydney $100,000
12. Melbourne; $25,000
15. Carlton $-900,000
16. Richmond $-2,194,974

As for your board lying to your members, well, they're worried about their business, of course they're gonna lie to cover their ar$e!

I'm referencing figures coming from audited accounts, not some numbers that you think come from the AFL website. I know which ones I am more confident are correct.

Besides which this was not some peeing contest between our clubs. I do not give a fig whether other clubs make a profit or loss or break even.

ImperialPurple
15 Dec 2004, 11:11
I do not give a fig whether other clubs make a profit or loss or break even.

I tend to agree with you on that one... although as a supporter I do feel it is slightly more comfortable knowing your club is making a few bucks rather than haemorrhaging huge losses. But I couldn't care about what other clubs are making / losing.

MrMeaner
15 Dec 2004, 11:19
Mate, understand this: The ONLY thing this is about is Princess Troll of Port.
If you can't comment on that - then move on...

And you yourself have supported my "argument" (in inverted commas because I am so not interested in you, your club or having a cyber-argument with someone...) by saying that "of course we can't keep everyone happy - people will always want to leave". I never, not once, at all said that it didn't happen to other clubs - just pointed out that it happens to yours. You agreed. So tell me where does this make my "argument" flawed?

It seems that Port people absolutely refuse to believe that there is anything other than perfection emanating from their club. All clubs have issues they need to deal with. My point from the beginning is, and will remain, deal with your own "stuff" before you come trolling on other people's boards flinging crap around.

If you wish to support my "argument", then tell me my "argument" is flawed, all the while ignoring the reason for the "discussion" in the first place... well go ahead. Seems we have little else to say to one another.

Just to quickly address your assertion that I supported your argument. I did no such thing. Your argument was based on the premise that Port noone should be wanting to leave Port. I quote:

By stating this, you imply that there is something wrong with the club. But then, maybe I am giving you too much credit in thinking that you are capable of sub-text. It just ********s me to see someone throw innuendo around and then duck for cover when someone pulls them up on it.

As for not being able to comment because it is about PPWA. What utter crap. You made comments about my club not just an individual. That is where I came in. Again, look at your posts. Attacking an individual by attacking the club that he/she supports is attacking them with a blunt instrument. It will ensure that others who take umbrage at the comments will also weigh in.

Ultimately, I have as little regard for your club as you do for mine.

purplesoul
15 Dec 2004, 11:24
As for not being able to comment because it is about PPWA. What utter crap. You made comments about my club not just an individual. That is where I came in. Again, look at your posts. Attacking an individual by attacking the club that he/she supports is attacking them with a blunt instrument. It will ensure that others who take umbrage at the comments will also weigh in.

That may be true, but personally I wouldn't go weighing in on an arguement where a fellow Freo supporter went trolling other teams boards. Especially if they were a total fickwit like vinegartitsWA.

MrMeaner
15 Dec 2004, 11:28
That may be true, but personally I wouldn't go weighing in on an arguement where a fellow Freo supporter went trolling other teams boards.

Yeah, I get the feeling that I should adopt that policy. There I was, thinking that I was making a fairly uncontroversial point supporting my club and then I get into this! :eek:

purplesoul
15 Dec 2004, 11:38
Yeah, I get the feeling that I should adopt that policy. There I was, thinking that I was making a fairly uncontroversial point supporting my club and then I get into this! :eek:

I don't think anyone is having a go at you personally, you just don't the history of that particular poster, although you probably have an inclination of Freo supporters thoughts on her after this thread.

ImperialPurple
15 Dec 2004, 11:39

You obviously represent the upper echelons of IQ of supporters of your club (but don't come the "you're dumb" thing with me friend... it won't wash) - we are dealing with the Queen of Trolls, far below you in the pecking order of Port Supporters with a Clue.

Yes, it happens to all clubs, but in the last two years, when you have been so successful, you have had three high profile players leave your club. That is a fact which can not be refuted. I can not see any other club in the last couple of years, who have had players who would be in their best 22 ask to leave like they have from your club. Whatever the reason... But again, that is not the issue here.

If you choose to read between the lines, create your own implications, inferences and sub-text - well again, go right ahead. I was merely asking someone who trolls our board and our club with constant and regular monotony to look in her own backyard.

Once written, any text or piece of literature is no longer the property of the writer - it exists for each and every reader to bring their own experiences and realities to it. If your reality is to read it from the point of view that "she's saying there's something wrong with my club", then I suggest that that is your issue, not mine.

Malibu#27
15 Dec 2004, 13:04
Schofield on 720 tonight stated that Port had offered him a 2-year deal just before the death knock of the pre-season but he simply did not want to stay.

Good old Port, we are fairly right on midfielders ...we will see how Pav and Polly go this year and if no good we can just hope Williams starts to ******** off some forwards.

Yes they did offer him a 2 year contract towards the end. First year of the contract was on a reduced number, the second year was at (just over) AFL base salary, but to be re-negotiated based on 2005 performance.

In other words - if he had an ordinary year next year he would have been looking for a second job packing shelves in 2006 to make ends meet.

So when Jarrod says that he "simply did not want to stay" ... what he means is "he could get more money at Fremantle, without the pressure to perform".

any other spin on this is a blatant lie.

MrMeaner
15 Dec 2004, 13:28
You obviously represent the upper echelons of IQ of supporters of your club (but don't come the "you're dumb" thing with me friend... it won't wash) - we are dealing with the Queen of Trolls, far below you in the pecking order of Port Supporters with a Clue.

Yes, it happens to all clubs, but in the last two years, when you have been so successful, you have had three high profile players leave your club. That is a fact which can not be refuted. I can not see any other club in the last couple of years, who have had players who would be in their best 22 ask to leave like they have from your club. Whatever the reason... But again, that is not the issue here.

If you choose to read between the lines, create your own implications, inferences and sub-text - well again, go right ahead. I was merely asking someone who trolls our board and our club with constant and regular monotony to look in her own backyard.

Once written, any text or piece of literature is no longer the property of the writer - it exists for each and every reader to bring their own experiences and realities to it. If your reality is to read it from the point of view that "she's saying there's something wrong with my club", then I suggest that that is your issue, not mine.

With regard to the bolded part of the quote above, I apologise if I overstepped the mark in that regard.

In relation to losing three high profile players, if you're referring to Schofield as one of those players, I would take issue with that. Thus, it is only two not three (please disregard if you are referring to another player that I cannot think of at the moment). I agree with you that to someone on the outside of Port looking in, even losing two players may look concerning. In my view though, I was concerned about how the Stevens thing happened. However, I can understand Carr's move and (to a lesser extent) Schofield's (which I see as being purely self-interest). Now, if there were a flood of our key players - say, if Tredrea, Cornes x 2, Burgoyne x 2 all up and left - then that would be a problem.

Anyway, enough from me. Best of luck for the pre-season. Here's hoping that we meet in round 1 with full squads to choose from.

doppo
15 Dec 2004, 13:36
Are you now saying that Carr did not want to go to Freo to be with his brother? Are you implying that there were other reasons? Please enlighten us in this regard.

Why was it not seriously considered that Matthew join his brother at Port?Apart from a period of about half a day of speculation, this was never a serious consideration.

Port1978
15 Dec 2004, 13:36
the latter
Mixed feelings about him going to Subi....obviously it's not really going to affect us if he plays most matches with the Dockers next season, but I don't think this will be the case. He'll probably end up playing quite a few games for Subi, & will probably be a good player for us....

ImperialPurple
15 Dec 2004, 13:50
With regard to the bolded part of the quote above, I apologise if I overstepped the mark in that regard.

In relation to losing three high profile players, if you're referring to Schofield as one of those players, I would take issue with that. Thus, it is only two not three (please disregard if you are referring to another player that I cannot think of at the moment). I agree with you that to someone on the outside of Port looking in, even losing two players may look concerning. In my view though, I was concerned about how the Stevens thing happened. However, I can understand Carr's move and (to a lesser extent) Schofield's (which I see as being purely self-interest). Now, if there were a flood of our key players - say, if Tredrea, Cornes x 2, Burgoyne x 2 all up and left - then that would be a problem.

Anyway, enough from me. Best of luck for the pre-season. Here's hoping that we meet in round 1 with full squads to choose from.

fair comments all around...

*smile, shake hands*

Rd 1 here we come, hope we kick some Port butt, we are in with a chance -as we always are these last couple of years - but won't be holding my breath for it...

purplesoul
15 Dec 2004, 13:53
fair comments all around...

*smile, shake hands*

Rd 1 here we come, hope we kick some Port butt, we are in with a chance -as we always are these last couple of years - but won't be holding my breath for it...

Doesn't it restore some faith in Port Power supporters! (other than vinegartitsWA).

Porthos
15 Dec 2004, 14:09
Maybe they were referring to Fabian Francis as the third (or first) high profile player to nick off. He was good.

purplesoul
15 Dec 2004, 14:16
Maybe they were referring to Fabian Francis as the third (or first) high profile player to nick off. He was good.

Pity we were able to stuff his career up.

dockertor
15 Dec 2004, 14:19
Pity we were able to stuff his career up.

More correctly a knee injury stuffed his career. Which was indeed a pity

YAKUZA
15 Dec 2004, 19:02
Go you whingeing bitches go!

purplesoul
15 Dec 2004, 19:07
Go you whingeing bitches go!

Heavy day on the pish Yak?

PortProudWA
15 Dec 2004, 21:44
Doesn't it restore some faith in Port Power supporters! (other than vinegartitsWA).

I feel the love, and its return to you all. :D :D (lots of smiles for you all)

*waves and leaves the room.....until next time ;) *

SYDpower
15 Dec 2004, 22:00
Hit a nerve have we...?

Now who's getting touchy?

SYDpower
15 Dec 2004, 22:08

2. Brisbane; $2,180,000
4. Geelong; $1,220,000
5. Adelaide; $1,200,000
6. Fremantle; $1,100,000
7. St Kilda; $1,000,000
8. Essendon; $649,000
9. Kangaroos; $140,000
10. Hawthorn; $101,000
11. Sydney $100,000
12. Melbourne; $25,000
15. Carlton $-900,000
16. Richmond $-2,194,974

Wrong! - Think you will find this is a bit inaccurate. And by the way if it is the AFL web-site this has been known to be wrong you know.

Moo
15 Dec 2004, 22:16
Yes they did offer him a 2 year contract towards the end. First year of the contract was on a reduced number, the second year was at (just over) AFL base salary, but to be re-negotiated based on 2005 performance.

In other words - if he had an ordinary year next year he would have been looking for a second job packing shelves in 2006 to make ends meet.

So when Jarrod says that he "simply did not want to stay" ... what he means is "he could get more money at Fremantle, without the pressure to perform".

any other spin on this is a blatant lie.

Malibu - I honestly think he would have stayed if this was on the table immediately, however he has had his little girl on the waitlist of a private school here for the last couple of years (and she can attend in 2005 - ? coincidence) so I think if we are being honest - it is more than $'s and ability to get a game.

I think once he had made his mind to go that was it.

Plus I know he is easing off in his career, however he was good enough to make your best 22 for the entire season and you thought enough to try and keep him (regardless of the contract details).

Summary - it aint a JC deal and he is far more important to us than you - undoubtedly in 2005 we have got better though and you have not (though you have put a few pennies away for the future).

There ....now is that OK by all of our Port visitors? - if not take your tooth and beanies and go home ;)

purplesoul
15 Dec 2004, 22:18
I feel the love, and its return to you all. :D :D (lots of smiles for you all)

*waves and leaves the room.....until next time ;) *

See ya on your next visit deb *waves to the port power supporter as it leaves*

docker_azza
15 Dec 2004, 22:25

Yes, I remember that well. Like Hoggy said she's a nutbag. I even copied and pasted the conversation on MS Word. I can show it if anyone interested.

purplesoul
15 Dec 2004, 22:27
Yes, I remember that well. A true nutbag. I even copied and pasted the conversation on MS Word. Ill try and upload it and sent it to people and Deb if interested.

Just hang on Azza, I'm friends with deb and am allowed to call it by name. I don't think you are so it's best you refrain from doing that.

Go port power.

dasler
15 Dec 2004, 22:33
My god Fremantle supporters are becoming more precious by the day.

docker_azza
15 Dec 2004, 22:37
Just hang on Azza, I'm friends with deb and am allowed to call it by name. I don't think you are so it's best you refrain from doing that.

Go port power.

Hey, It might get up her nose.

purplesoul
15 Dec 2004, 22:37
My god Fremantle supporters are becoming more precious by the day.

Nah, it's probably just me.

fat wombat
16 Dec 2004, 00:20
Well it's official, he's under investigation. First Fabian, now this!

http://www.realfooty.theage.com.au/realfooty/articles/2004/12/15/1102787144558.html?oneclick=true

Schofield faces draft probe

By Craig O'Donoghue and David Reed
December 16, 2004

The Port Adelaide midfielder's move to Fremantle has sparked an AFL draft-tampering investigation.

Fremantle recruit Jarrad Schofield faces a $50,000 fine and his career is in jeopardy after the AFL yesterday launched an investigation into claims he had tampered with Tuesday's pre-season draft.

AFL investigations officer Ken Wood has been instructed to review Schofield's drafting. Schofield, asked on Tuesday whether he had told other clubs he would retire if drafted by a club other than Fremantle, said: "I left that to my manager."

Ron Joseph, Schofield's manager, did not return calls last night.

Schofield's father, Neil, contacted Kangaroos coach Dean Laidley to say Schofield would retire if picked by the Roos. The Roos had a pick before Fremantle and chose Lance Picioane.

AFL rule 17.1 (b) says that anyone who is part of any action "which would be likely to have the effect of preventing, hindering or discouraging a player from accepting employment with another club if drafted by that club" will be guilty of conduct prejudicial to the draft.

AFL football operations manager Adrian Anderson said the investigation would start immediately. "We just need to gather some facts about what has or hasn't happened and decide whether we need to do anything about it," he said.

The league has severe penalties for draft tampering, including:

- Fines of $50,000 for the player or $100,000 for a club.

- The club losing the services of the player for up to three years.

- The player being prevented from playing for up to three years and excluded from upcoming drafts.

- The club being precluded from up to four drafts.

Andrew McKay, Robert Pyman and Brett Chalmers were all found guilty of draft tampering in 1993. Chalmers was fined $30,000 and banned from playing for Collingwood for three years while McKay and Pyman received $10,000 fines. The trio all advised clubs they wouldn't play for them if drafted.

Fremantle football manager Steven Icke said he did not know Neil Schofield and wasn't aware that he had contacted the Kangaroos until after the draft. Kangaroos football manager Tim Harrington and Carlton football manager Grant Williams said they had not spoken to Joseph.

Icke said his club had nothing to hide.

"If they (the AFL) want to go down that path, it would be a wasted exercise," he said. "They can look into it, but it would only waste valuable manpower so close to Christmas.

"Jarrad knows that he plays in a national competition so he signs away the right to choose the club that he plays for.

"I think he was saying that if he'd been chosen by a Melbourne-based club he would have had to decide what to do. He... just wanted some certainty."

- West Australian

purplesoul
16 Dec 2004, 00:37
If a player has said that will retire rather then play for another club, they should just be banned from the league.

fat wombat
16 Dec 2004, 00:47
It'd be a sad way for him to end his career.

voodoo_86
16 Dec 2004, 00:47
Kangaroos just should have called his bluff.

Swans did it to that collingwood player (cant remember his name - but it was on that doco The Draft) and he ended up playing for them even though he said he wouldnt.

PortProudWA
16 Dec 2004, 06:34
Yes, I remember that well. Like Hoggy said she's a nutbag. I even copied and pasted the conversation on MS Word. I can show it if anyone interested.

Was our conversation that interesting was it that you had to save it??? Copy and paste and send to whom ever you want......Nothing I say in there will surprise anyone?? What a sad person you are, gee I wonder how many people you do that to, someone like you would be very hard to trust!!

School boys playing school boy games, it was your port mate Phatredge that set that whole thing up, he added me to messenger, then invited you to in....Why maybe to stir up a converstation, I have no idea.

Maybe you could be like IP and Purplesoul as well and start leaving private messages for me, must have really hit a nerve with quite a few and left a mark!!

Well I dont have time for any more games......do we have to start to get serious do we!! Time for work, maybe some of you should try it sometime, you might learn a bit more and learn to talk footy instead of slanging!! Dear me, I might get banned from the Freo board......guess I can live with that ;)

Enjoy the journey!!

ImperialPurple
16 Dec 2004, 08:04
Maybe you could be like IP and Purplesoul as well and start leaving private messages for me, !

now, now... you and i both know that my PM to you was perfectly civil and had nothing whatsoever to do with you trolling our board. An honest and above board question from a POV of interest about your undying support for your club. In fact it even paid you a compliment or two... an open and could I say, almost friendly exchange ensued... where we shared some of our experience and history of supporting our respective clubs, and it was left at that. Don't now put a negative spin on it and make it sound like I was hassling you.

My only reference to you trolling has been in this thread. And you do troll and stir on our board, that you can't deny. Not one word was mentioned in that PM, or any that followed after that during that exchange. So at least keep the insinuations accurate.

YAKUZA
16 Dec 2004, 08:37
It'd be a sad way for him to end his career.

If that should prove to be the case and I very much doubt that it will or even if he and/or the Dorkers get fined it will be due mainly to his old man who is an absolute knobhead. He was a knobhead way back when Jarrod was at Wesley.

YAKUZA
16 Dec 2004, 08:40
I was under the impression that this topic is about Jarrod Scholfield!
Get back on the topic you idiotic fools and stop being bitchy!

ImperialPurple
16 Dec 2004, 09:03
If that should prove to be the case and I very much doubt that it will or even if he and/or the Dorkers get fined it will be due mainly to his old man ........

Agree... except I would have said Freo or Dockers... but we all know what to expect from yak there.

The AFL have to investigate to save some face with this one.

For anything to actually happen firstly to Schofield Jr and secondly to FFC, they would have to:

(i) prove that Jr put Sr up to it, or
(ii) prove that Jr knew about the call prior to it being made but did nothing to stop it, or
(iii) prove that Jr should have been responsible for rectifying a situation that was not of his creation after he found out it had happened
(iv) FFC knew about it and didn't stop it
(v) FFC found out after the event and did nothing to rectify the situation

Lots of ifs, buts, maybes, he saids, she saids, etc... I would think that the AFL would want to avoid something like this ending up in court where they would have to prove that Jr and / or FFC was in fact doing the wrong thing.

If he was, then he should suffer the consequences, absolutely, but you would have to think that it's unlikely. The Roos have said that they didn't speak to his manager so it was not official, there's nothing in writing... I'm not defending him, because at this stage I have no loyalty to him whatsoever, I just think that it would be a pretty hard case to prove.

As far as the club goes, everyone involved has stated categorically that the club knew nothing about it - you would have to hope that's the truth and that they wouldn't be dumb enough to get into something like this... Again difficult to prove liability you would think.

On the "logical" side of the coin (I know it's hard to bring logic into a discussion about the AFL...) - If you're 30, just played in a premiership, want to go home to play out the last couple of years of your career, then face the prospect of moving somewhere else again, how is it a crime to say... well I really don't want to go to Melbourne, I want to go home, so I'll just give the game away if that's how the scenario pans out.

Wouldn't a club rather know that player x will give it away if they pick him, so they can use the spot on someone who will be playing... if Norf picked him up, could they have held a gun to his head and say "you're playing for us whether you like it or not - no retirement for you buddy, until we say you're good and ready"... I would have thought a club would prefer to know.

Maybe that's just my "humanist" nature coming out, but players are just commodities in the business of footy aren't they...

ImperialPurple
16 Dec 2004, 09:10
Get back on the topic you idiotic fools and stop being bitchy!

You've admitted that you're just an old troll yourself Yak..

Pot. Kettle. Black.

Docker_Brat
16 Dec 2004, 10:50
I think this one is a bit different from the Brett Chalmers situation where he was starting out and wanted to play for Collingwood all along. Schofield is 30 and is putting his family first as he wants to raise his kids in Perth, I cant see a problem with that.

I don't think he was bluffing.

Docker_Brat
16 Dec 2004, 10:51
Can't people ignore that fat Port feral trolling over here? She was even deemed to be too feral for a Port forum and that's saying a lot.

Porthos
16 Dec 2004, 11:23
I think his motivation is different to the Brett Chalmers situation, but the same rules apply.

If the AFL want to introduce free agency for over-30s or something like that, then thats all good - I doubt anyone would disagree with it being introduced.

But right now that rule isn't in place, and as such not investigating this draft tampering would set a bad precedent.

ImperialPurple
16 Dec 2004, 11:34
not investigating this draft tampering would set a bad precedent.

Assuming guilt Porthos...

like so much on these boards guys are hung, drawn and quartered prior to being found guilty of anything.

Perhaps you should have said "possible" draft tampering... it's not even "alleged" as yet as the investigation is yet to begin.

But yeah, you're also right - the rules are in place so they should do the righty by following it through. Until changes are made, all players have to live and die (or should I say play or retire) by the rules. If he, or his manager has stuffed up, then hang him out to dry. Just reckon maybe the "unofficial father phone call" might be a bit of a grey area....

Porthos
16 Dec 2004, 12:22
A draft can be tampered with without it being charged as draft tampering. Its like the difference between an assault and someone being charged with Assault.

Even if blame can't be directly apportioned with a fine or whatever, there is no doubt that the draft has been tampered with.

Powerstufff
16 Dec 2004, 12:52
....When the Princess of Trolls stops coming on OUR BOARD to do something other than stir and put-down.....
PPWA cruises all the boards to dispense Alberton flavoured opinions. I suggest not getting too fired up. Even we cop it if we waver at all in what we say.
Good luck Schoey. Good luck Freo (within limitations).

Port1978
16 Dec 2004, 13:52
Can't people ignore that fat Port feral trolling over here? She was even deemed to be too feral for a Port forum and that's saying a lot.

I've been blocked from that site too.....all it says really is how pathetic the people running it are.....to be blocked for putting up information about the round 1 function next season is pretty pathetic.

And back onto Schofield....As much as I will not miss him at Port, I sure hope this isn't the end of his career.

Docker_Brat
16 Dec 2004, 14:06
I've been blocked from that site too.....all it says really is how pathetic the people running it are.....to be blocked for putting up information about the round 1 function next season is pretty pathetic.

And back onto Schofield....As much as I will not miss him at Port, I sure hope this isn't the end of his career.

I think I might come along to that ;)

Port1978
16 Dec 2004, 14:32
Because you want to see what an AFL premiership cup looks like, right? ;)

ImperialPurple
16 Dec 2004, 14:36
A draft can be tampered with without it being charged as draft tampering. Its like the difference between an assault and someone being charged with Assault.

Even if blame can't be directly apportioned with a fine or whatever, there is no doubt that the draft has been tampered with.

A fair comment Porthos, and yes I agree.

There was tampering via the phone call by Schofield Sr, I just think that people should be careful with labelling Jr guilty if he, in fact, is not. The facts about which none of us know, apart from an article which appeared in the paper.

Personally, I reckon "meh" as far as whether Schofield plays for Freo or not next year. My concern is that the club stays clean through what will be a muck-rake.

Also from a fairness POV, that a player (regardless of who he is) is not labelled because of a situation he was not responsible for. But like I said... "meh" about him playing for us.

Of course, that would change if he kicks the winning goal to defeat Port by <6 pts in Rd 1 next year.....

ImperialPurple
16 Dec 2004, 14:54
Just as an aside... how many times do you reckon the F-word has been uttered, muttered, screeched and screamed around FFC HQ in the last 24 hours?

Should we be giving the folks at the Guiness Book of Records a call?

portentous
16 Dec 2004, 15:00
Yes I've been banned from that place too! Maybe we weren't feral enough?? There are some places I'd rather not visit personally, like jails, gutters and TPFP-all have much in common.

I hope Schoey does well for you guys, but we won't particularly miss him. More an indication of the quality of our list, and the youngsters who couldn't get a game last year than anything.

PortProudWA
16 Dec 2004, 22:03

If you want to attend you have to book it through me, and I'll tell you straight......You have two chances, none and buckleys!!

And yer IP our convo (pm) was civil, but you seem to have two faces.....one here, one there. Me, I am the same no matter where I am.....I am even worse if you meet me. I am as one eyed as they come, and IP you know how much!! And like Powerstuff said, even Port Supporters cop it from me if they waver.....To me my Club comes first!!

If Pav and Schammer had left you guys in the same circumstances that Carr and Schoey have left us......what you would'nt say something....You don't know until that happens to you, and one day it will ....maybe not those two but one day it will, and then and only then will you understand me (well maybe).
Are you that negative to out side comments, that is what is good about BF.....you get a bigger picture, you may not like it......but keep to footy!!

You tend to think there is something wrong with Port because 2 players left after winning a Grand Final.

Did you ever stop to think there maybe something wrong with your club, that they see it as and easy path home, a easy club to walk into for good money......Schofield sure as hell did. Not ever once has either Josh Carr or Schofield said that they see Freo as a successful club.....Peter Bell said it when he come back, but these two never have. They have put them selves before any club.....YOURS and MINE.

Schofield used your club, simple as that, and you let him! I would rather not have a player play for us, than one who never wanted to come there in the first place!! You can welcome him all you like, but if it was me, it would burn deep inside after knowing that he had said that he never ever wanted to play for Fremantle!!
Does he have the passion to play for you with his heart, no I dont think so.

Schoey.....he got greedy, he stuffed up and now we just have to wait and see what happens. Football is his job, and looks like now he may get sacked, and he has no one but himself, his dad and his manager to blame.

Moo
16 Dec 2004, 22:57
PPWA.....have a bex and a good lie down love.

Docker_Brat
17 Dec 2004, 01:03
Because you want to see what an AFL premiership cup looks like, right? ;)
Actually held the 1998 one and of course the 2002 SANFL trophy, I spent several minutes prising off the Port plaques with a screwdriver. ;)

Docker_Brat
17 Dec 2004, 01:04
If you want to attend you have to book it through me, and I'll tell you straight......You have two chances, none and buckleys!!

Oh you poor thing, taking this thar intarweb so serious like. By the way, you're on the wrong forum.. again.

Supporters from all over Australia are more than welcome, and please contact me for any questions.

I support the Hydey, so therefore I'm welcome. ;)

coasting
17 Dec 2004, 02:12

The Hyde Park Hotel, is that dump still open? You're a brave, brave man.

chris p79
17 Dec 2004, 06:21
How can you refer to the Hydey as a dump? You precious knob.
One of the best pubs in the world as far as I'm concerned. Great for music, great for watching sports, great staff, great location, great bottle shop, great people.....seriously, you're an idiot. :mad:

PortProudWA
17 Dec 2004, 07:24
Oh you poor thing, taking this thar intarweb so serious like. By the way, you're on the wrong forum.. again.

Supporters from all over Australia are more than welcome, and please contact me for any questions.

You can try and get in if you like......Our functions are for Port Supporters only. But try if you like, I know we have some blokes there that would love you to ;) I'd like to see that!! Are you really that desperate to see a Premiership cup.....ohhhh hang on I guess you are!!

On someone calling it a dump, it is by far the best hotel in WA for Football supporters of all teams, if Freo or WCE are playing interstate the game is always on live there!!
Most WA Supporter groups go there. St.Kilda, Collingwood, Essendon, Adelaide Crows, Carlton, Western Bulldogs. They go there because the Hydey does the best for football.

MrMeaner
17 Dec 2004, 08:30
Actually held the 1998 one and of course the 2002 SANFL trophy, I spent several minutes prising off the Port plaques with a screwdriver. ;)

Several minutes? Did you only get a couple of them? ;)

coasting
17 Dec 2004, 12:10
One of the best pubs in the world...

You can't be serious.

Docker_Brat
17 Dec 2004, 13:07
But try if you like, I know we have some blokes there that would love you to ;) I'd like to see that!!

Is that a threat? Hmmmm..

Port1978
17 Dec 2004, 13:08

It is far from a dump, it's a great hotel, especially for footy supporters. If you think someone's "brave" for going there then you must be a complete wuss.....but then you are an E-girls supporter, aren't you? :rolleyes:

Port1978
17 Dec 2004, 13:21
You can try and get in if you like......Our functions are for Port Supporters only. But try if you like, I know we have some blokes there that would love you to ;) I'd like to see that!! Are you really that desperate to see a Premiership cup.....ohhhh hang on I guess you are!!

Do I have to be the bouncer again? ;)