View Full Version : rookie draft updates
richcogs
14 Dec 2004, 09:20
when anyone has found out whose been picked just let us know on this page.
Nightwolf
14 Dec 2004, 09:28
Is that on today as well?
Bueller
14 Dec 2004, 09:29
Is that on today as well?
Yes.
richcogs
14 Dec 2004, 09:30
Sure is!
Apparently its on at 10.30am today.
Benno_900
14 Dec 2004, 09:32
Where can you hear/watch it? ********ing Sen talking bout cricket.
Round One
1 - Richmond: Will Thursfield
2 - Hawthorn: Ruory Kirkby
3 - Western Bulldogs: Rowan Nayna
4 - Collingwood: Benjamin Davies
5 - Adelaide: Ryan Nye
6 - Carlton: Daniel Batson
7 - Kangaroos: Joshua Gibson
8 - Fremantle: Joseph Kriger
9 - West Coast: Benjamin Sharp
10 - Melbourne: Brendan Vanschaik
11 - Essendon: Ryan Bain
12 - Sydney: Guy Campbell
13 - Geelong: Jarrod Garth
14 - St Kilda: Luke Mullins
15 - Brisbane Lions: Travis Baird
16 - Port Adelaide: Danyle Pearce
right here...
http://afl.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=180552
richcogs
14 Dec 2004, 09:48
National Bank's AFL Rookie Draft selections
10:46:50 AM Tue 14 December, 2004
Sportal
Round One
Selection Club Player Club
1 Richmond Will Thursfield Sandringham Pioneers
2 Hawthorn Ruory Kirkby Bendigo Pioneers
3 Western Bulldogs Rowan Nayna Dandenong Stingrays
4 Collingwood Benjamin Davies Western Jets
5 Adelaide Ryan Nye Peel Thunder
6 Carlton Daniel Batson North Ballarat Rebels
7 Kangaroos Joshua Gibson Port Melbourne
8 Fremantle Joseph Kriger Sandringham Dragons
9 West Coast Benjamin Sharp Oakleigh Chargers
10 Melbourne Brendan Vanschaik Murray Bushrangers
11 Essendon Ryan Bain Essendon
12 Sydney GuyCampbell Bendigo Diggers
13 Geelong Jarrod Garth Tassie mariners
14 St Kilda Luke Mullins Collingwood
15 Brisbane Lions Travis Baird Bendigo Pioneers
16 Port Adelaide Danyle Pearce Sturt
Round Two
17 Richmond pass
18 Hawthorn Clinton Young North Ballarat Rebels
19 Western Bulldogs Dale Morris Werribee
20 Collingwood Heritier O'Brien Claremont
21 Adelaide Jonathon Griffin East Fremantle
22 Carlton Jesse D. Smith Calder Cannons
23 Kangaroos Josh Thewlis Kangaroos
24 Fremantle Jack Juniper Glenelg
25 West Coast Beau Wilkes Claremont
26 Melbourne Matthew Warnock Sandringham VFL
27 Essendon Ben Jolley Calder Cannons
28 Sydney Luke Vogels Terang
29 Geelong Nick Batchelor Norwood
30 St Kilda Ed McDonnell Western Magpies
31 Brisbane Lions pass
32 Port Adelaide Rob Forster-Knight Port Adelaide
Ausgard
14 Dec 2004, 09:55
23 Kangaroos Josh Thewlis Kangaroos
should read
23 Kangaroos Josh Thewlis Sydney Swans
Nightwolf
14 Dec 2004, 09:55
Nice, Kirkby and Young!!!
Russian
14 Dec 2004, 09:57
Round Three
33 Richmond - pass
34 Hawthorn - Thomas Wilday (Perth)
35 Western Bulldogs - pass
35 Adelaide - John Hinge (Glenelg)
37 Carlton - Nick Becker (Calder Cannons)
38 Kangaroos - Scott McMahon (Woodville-West Torrens)
39 Fremantle - Ryan Crowley (Fremantle)
40 West Coast - Ashley Thornton (Peel Thunder)
41 Melbourne - pass
42 Sydney - Heath Grundy (Norwood)
43 Geelong - Tim Sheringham (Geelong Falcons)
44 St Kilda - pass
45 Brisbane Lions - pass
46 Port Adelaide - pass
Round Four
47 Richmond - pass
48 Hawthorn - Kristan Height (Box Hill Hawks)
49 Western Bulldogs -
50 Carlton - Aisake O'hAilpin (Ireland)
51 Kangaroos - Justin Perkins (Perth)
52 West Coast - Aaron Edwards (West Coast)
53 Melbourne - pass
54 Sydney - Stefan Garubba (Dandenong Stingrays)
55 St Kilda - pass
56 Brisbane Lions - pass
Round Five
57 Kangaroos - pass
58 Melbourne - pass
59 Sydney - Earl Shaw (Campbelltown)
60 Brisbane Lions - Josh Drummond (Northern Eagles)
Round Six
61 Sydney - Ed Clarke (North Shore)
62 Brisbane Lions - Marcus Allan (Northern Eagles)
Round Seven
63 Sydney - Andrew Hayes (Balmain)
64 Brisbane Lions - William Hamill (Mt Gravatt)
Round Eight
65 Brisbane Lions - Martin Pask (Western Magpies)
Round Nine
66 Brisbane Lions - Scott Harding (Morningside)
That is all
Nightwolf
14 Dec 2004, 10:01
Ok, who is Thomas Wilday??? Anyone know?
mattyc2422
14 Dec 2004, 10:05
Krissy Height! You little ripper.
Round Three
42 Sydney - Heath Grundy (Norwood)
Wow, does this guy have leprosey or something? From possible first round pick in the main draft, fell all the way thru the draft, thru the second draft, and to round three of the rookie draft ! Hope he makes it, just to show em !
Robin Hood
14 Dec 2004, 10:10
Looks like St Kilda were the best drafters again :rolleyes:
Taking a reject in Mullins and a kid from the Western Magpies (a QLD team I believe) who Brisbane thought wasn't good enough to Rookie List with ANY selection.
Gee GT you'd be screwed if you didn't rely on freebies.
Mullins seems a quick fix and this QLD kid is a joke. Once again the Saints are selling their soul.
bangko-bangko
14 Dec 2004, 10:40
Looks like St Kilda were the best drafters again :rolleyes:
Taking a reject in Mullins and a kid from the Western Magpies (a QLD team I believe) who Brisbane thought wasn't good enough to Rookie List with ANY selection.
Gee GT you'd be screwed if you didn't rely on freebies.
Mullins seems a quick fix and this QLD kid is a joke. Once again the Saints are selling their soul.
Selling our soul?? How do you work that out. I'm sure you would have like to have had Guerra in your pathetic forward line this year (another reject picked up by Thomas).
I would say Geelong sold there soul by offloading loyal players to buy the overrated Ottens.
Porthos
14 Dec 2004, 10:56
NEWSFLASH: CFC to now become the Calder Blues.
Robin Hood
14 Dec 2004, 11:00
Selling our soul?? How do you work that out. I'm sure you would have like to have had Guerra in your pathetic forward line this year (another reject picked up by Thomas).
I would say Geelong sold there soul by offloading loyal players to buy the overrated Ottens.Guerra would struggle to get a game at Geelong. Geelong has plenty of his type. The problem is key forwards not midsized forwards - we have a bucketload of them.
Getting Ottens wasn't selling our soul.
Cheer Red Blood
14 Dec 2004, 12:13
But the Saints taking Mullins was....
Snickers
14 Dec 2004, 12:24
I would just like to say to my old captain ben davies..... congrats mate, you deserve everything good that comes to mate. Well done.
Snickers
14 Dec 2004, 12:28
Sydney got Andrew Hayes (thats not Lenny Hayes' cousin is it....?????) Because Lenny has a cousin called Andrew but he doesnt play for the team they registered on there. He plays for St. Bedes Mentone.
Robin Hood
14 Dec 2004, 12:28
But the Saints taking Mullins was....stupid.
The Clokes
14 Dec 2004, 12:31
"Snickers" what sort of player is Ben Davies, can you tell me about him?
vinnie_vegas69
14 Dec 2004, 12:37
Paul Chapman > Brent Guerra
Steve Johnson > Brent Guerra
Gary Ablett Jr, in the time he spends up forward > Brent Guerra
Guerra wouldn't have gotten a game if he was at Geelong.
I would say Geelong sold there soul by offloading loyal players to buy the overrated Ottens.
Loyal players? You mean Brent Moloney, the guy they traded to the team he supported as a child, the guy who's dream they made come true?
Yeah, they really sold their soul there.
However, to be fair, nothing St Kilda did suggested soul selling, however, Black for Fiora and Knobel walking out suggested the souls left without any input from St Kilda whatsoever.
mighty_west
14 Dec 2004, 12:47
Why would Brisbane pick a rookie with pick 15, pass on picks 31,45 & 56 and then use picks 62,65 & 66? :D
Robin Hood
14 Dec 2004, 12:51
Why would Brisbane pick a rookie with pick 15, pass on picks 31,45 & 56 and then use picks 62,65 & 66? :D
Brisbane can pre-select QLD players with its Rookie selections (similar to father son in the national draft)starting from the last pick and working forward. So 62, 65 and 66 would have all been QLD players. Selection 15 would have been a non-QLD player and they chose not to select any more players with 31, 45 and 56.
SkARkS_69
14 Dec 2004, 13:02
Told yas all that Ben Davies was told hed be selected by collingwood. There was one other correct statement and that was Hawthorn would pick up Kristan Height.... but i cant remember who it was that said it.
Snickers
14 Dec 2004, 13:25
"Snickers" what sort of player is Ben Davies, can you tell me about him?
He is a very determined player, runs off the back flank, in the midfield and can push foward. He is a very versatile player, very quick, and i was talking to him a couple of days ago and he is also building up on his frame, whilst keeping his speed up. Quality player, represented Victoria in the Under 16's Carnival, was selected for the Victorian Under 18's, but got injured. He went to Ireland to play International Rules against them....... and was one of the best players over there. Above all of his football abilities, he is a top bloke with a big heart, very down to earth and always has time for his mates. Collingwood wasnt the only club that had spoken to him, there were many others. Trust me...... excellent pick up, and i reinforce again, Congrats Ben you deserve it mate.
The Clokes
14 Dec 2004, 15:32
Thanks Snickers :)
skywalk750
14 Dec 2004, 19:49
I would just like to say to my old captain ben davies..... congrats mate, you deserve everything good that comes to mate. Well done.
Wait.. for him to have been drafted he would have been 18, making you.. 18, not bloody possible :confused:
Ok, who is Thomas Wilday??? Anyone know?
Tom Willday is a 196cm ruckman from Perth. Only lightly built at this stage but has plenty of improvement in him. Might be a very good pick.
Snickers
16 Dec 2004, 09:00
Wait.. for him to have been drafted he would have been 18, making you.. 18, not bloody possible :confused:
we played Under 16's togther.... he was top age 16's and i was bottom age. he was 16 when playing but i was only 14 during the season.