View Full Version : National Under 17's Jan 3-14th Tasmania

Thunderstruck
22 Dec 2004, 14:59
Just thought I'd get this thread going, hopefully SA can do better than they did last year. Stronger team this year.

SA:

Kirk Pascoe
Trent Pascoe
Steven Marks
Ryan Porter
Pat Connelly
Scott Gillies
Henry White
Ryan Sawade
Erik Laubscher
Tim Davey
Corey Knight
Rohan Bock
Josh Draper

Watch out for the Pascoe brothers, they are top class, Trent is already playing A grade and performing quite well, right arm fast bowler and Kirk who is only 15 is one serious gun in the making, prolly the most raw talent of the entire team.

Marks is a good allrounder, and Porter is also a fairly ok batsmen.

White goes to my old school, dominated school cricket and scores runs at ease as well as bolwing a bit. Not sure on the rest.

Star
22 Dec 2004, 15:09
Watch out for the Pascoe brothers, they are top class, Trent is already playing A grade and performing quite well, right arm fast bowler and Kirk who is only 15 is one serious gun in the making, prolly the most raw talent of the entire team..

Any relation to Lenny?

Bresh
22 Dec 2004, 15:12
I've heard that this team is pretty rank, seriously lacking in batsmen. Having said that, you'd think they'd fair OK in div 2.

mudshake
22 Dec 2004, 15:26
who's in the Vic side?

Skooks
22 Dec 2004, 19:32
W.A Side

Jordan Usko (Captain, Midland Guildford)
James Newnham (Joondalup)
Luke Towers (Melville)
Michael Johnson (Scarborough)
Nathan Coulter Nile (Fremantle)
Michael Inness (Trinity College)
Brian Shields (Joondalup)
Andrew Strijk (Joondalup)
Tim Monteleone (Subiaco Floreat / Trinity College)
Glen Stockden (Joondalup)
Paul Donaldson (Albany)
Kieren Sanders (Melville)
Ryan Duffield (Gosnells / Wesley College)

I play with all of these guys, i was in the last 30 myself for the W.A under 17's side (im only 15)

Jordan Usko: Very good bat, left handed and can hit it extremely hard. Bats a bit like that Birt guy for tasmania. Is a handy bowler aswell. Plays 1st grade for midland guildford

James Newnham: Good High Order Batsmen. has dominated for joondalup in the 17's this year with an ave of 46

Luke Towers: Very Good top order batsmen. Opens for melville and averages 54 the 3rd best in the 17's competition.

Michael Johnson: Has been keeping for the firsts in scarborough (team that Justing Langer plays for) for quite along time now. Is a very good keeper has extremely quick hands and is one of the best batsmen in W.A already scoring a couple of 50's at first grade level. Watch out in 5 years time this kid could be playing for Australia. As a predessecor of Gilly

Nathan Coulter Nile: Super Fast. IS the fastest bowler for his age in WA even faster than the opening bowlers at under 19 level. Faced him in the nets and it is not a pleasent experience. He is tall gets bounce and he has a scary sort of action pulling all his weight through the crease and using his long run up to lumber up tp the crease and Hit it extremely hard. I would be surprised if there was any faster in the under 17's championship

Michael Inness: Was a surprise to get into the team. Can bowl and bat yet he is known for his dashing qualities when opening for trinity college

Brain Shields: Very good bowler, Very Good Batsmen. He bowls off spin and gets drift and turn and will bowl probably one or two bad balls every 2-3 overs. Shieldsy is also a very accomplished batsmen averaging over 40 in the under 17's district competition. Can be used as a specialist spinner batting at 5-7.

Andrew Strijk: Very good top order batsmen averages 42 in the under 17's district comp. He is mainly a sweet timer off the ball and always bats within himself. Is very patient and can stay at the crease for long periods of time. Works the ball around and plays a bit like a damien martyn, etc

Tim Monteleone: Plays for my club side subi floreat and recently scored a ton on the weekend 112 to be exact. Batted well and did not give many chances. Monte was sighted at a yound age to be a talent and since has been picked in just about every rep side i can remember. Although he was picked in these sides he did not have the greatest of years and mostly got in on talent and merit for peforming at the right times, when in the year he had not played well at all. But this year is different. He has batted well opening, avergaing about 40-50 and he bowls left arm off spin, with him bowling the best i have ever seen him bowl. He has been getting good flight and actually turning the ball which in other years have been a problem. Hopefully he can have a good Carnival and all his talent come through as the Waca selectors would be hoping for.

Glen Stockden: Another Joondalup boy. And another fast opening bowler hoo id suspect would bowl first change in this side. Bowls at a very good pace, probs about 10 km slower than couter and is very accurate will hardly bowl a bad ball in a 6-7 over spell. Also moves the ball off the seam at will and can get it to go both ways. A handful to face in the nets

Paul Donaldson: All Rounder. Dont know much about him coz he is from the country but what i do know is he has a good technique and can bowl at a fairly sharp pace.

Kieren Sanders: Fourth Best bowler in the league this year in terms of wickets and statistics. Is a very good bowler much like stockden bowls at a very good pace and is extremely accurate. Swings the ball quite alot and can move the ball off the seam on most occasions

Ryan Duffield: Opened agaisnt him in school earlier this year. Big lumbering action and is a bit of a slinger. Bowls a lot like Shaun Tait. Is probably the second quickest bowler in this side. Behind Coulter nile and will probably share the new ball with coulter. Gets a lot of bounce and i have to say is a bit of a loose cannon which can be scary up the other end when u have catapults coming down at u and the bowler doesnt even know/care where they will go. Left Armer so he will give a variety in the bowling attack aswell as the pace and lastly he swings the ball into the right hander which can be a handful at such pace. He also bowls a very good yorker and is not afraid to come around the wicket a bowl the ball directly at the batsmens body.

Well theres the W.A squad, i think its quite strong side and would not be surprised if it got very close to winning the championship this year. The only blue the selectors made was not putting me into the side. I am a leg spinner and as they have two offies in the side i should have been in there for variety lol. P.s i probably better than both the offies in the side, well at bowling anyway. And although they already have opening batsmen i could have slotted in the line up from 4-10 lol

Cheers thanks guys

ben.carbonaro
22 Dec 2004, 20:39
who's in the Vic side?

Have a look on www.cricketvictoria.com.au, don't exactly where to find it but it wil be there somewhere.

Freo Big Fella
22 Dec 2004, 23:54
W.A Side

Jordan Usko (Captain, Midland Guildford)
James Newnham (Joondalup)
Luke Towers (Melville)
Michael Johnson (Scarborough)
Nathan Coulter Nile (Fremantle)
Michael Inness (Trinity College)
Brian Shields (Joondalup)
Andrew Strijk (Joondalup)
Tim Monteleone (Subiaco Floreat / Trinity College)
Glen Stockden (Joondalup)
Paul Donaldson (Albany)
Kieren Sanders (Melville)
Ryan Duffield (Gosnells / Wesley College)

I play with all of these guys, i was in the last 30 myself for the W.A under 17's side (im only 15)

Jordan Usko: Very good bat, left handed and can hit it extremely hard. Bats a bit like that Birt guy for tasmania. Is a handy bowler aswell. Plays 1st grade for midland guildford

James Newnham: Good High Order Batsmen. has dominated for joondalup in the 17's this year with an ave of 46

Luke Towers: Very Good top order batsmen. Opens for melville and averages 54 the 3rd best in the 17's competition.

Michael Johnson: Has been keeping for the firsts in scarborough (team that Justing Langer plays for) for quite along time now. Is a very good keeper has extremely quick hands and is one of the best batsmen in W.A already scoring a couple of 50's at first grade level. Watch out in 5 years time this kid could be playing for Australia. As a predessecor of Gilly

Nathan Coulter Nile: Super Fast. IS the fastest bowler for his age in WA even faster than the opening bowlers at under 19 level. Faced him in the nets and it is not a pleasent experience. He is tall gets bounce and he has a scary sort of action pulling all his weight through the crease and using his long run up to lumber up tp the crease and Hit it extremely hard. I would be surprised if there was any faster in the under 17's championship

Michael Inness: Was a surprise to get into the team. Can bowl and bat yet he is known for his dashing qualities when opening for trinity college

Brain Shields: Very good bowler, Very Good Batsmen. He bowls off spin and gets drift and turn and will bowl probably one or two bad balls every 2-3 overs. Shieldsy is also a very accomplished batsmen averaging over 40 in the under 17's district competition. Can be used as a specialist spinner batting at 5-7.

Andrew Strijk: Very good top order batsmen averages 42 in the under 17's district comp. He is mainly a sweet timer off the ball and always bats within himself. Is very patient and can stay at the crease for long periods of time. Works the ball around and plays a bit like a damien martyn, etc

Tim Monteleone: Plays for my club side subi floreat and recently scored a ton on the weekend 112 to be exact. Batted well and did not give many chances. Monte was sighted at a yound age to be a talent and since has been picked in just about every rep side i can remember. Although he was picked in these sides he did not have the greatest of years and mostly got in on talent and merit for peforming at the right times, when in the year he had not played well at all. But this year is different. He has batted well opening, avergaing about 40-50 and he bowls left arm off spin, with him bowling the best i have ever seen him bowl. He has been getting good flight and actually turning the ball which in other years have been a problem. Hopefully he can have a good Carnival and all his talent come through as the Waca selectors would be hoping for.

Glen Stockden: Another Joondalup boy. And another fast opening bowler hoo id suspect would bowl first change in this side. Bowls at a very good pace, probs about 10 km slower than couter and is very accurate will hardly bowl a bad ball in a 6-7 over spell. Also moves the ball off the seam at will and can get it to go both ways. A handful to face in the nets

Paul Donaldson: All Rounder. Dont know much about him coz he is from the country but what i do know is he has a good technique and can bowl at a fairly sharp pace.

Kieren Sanders: Fourth Best bowler in the league this year in terms of wickets and statistics. Is a very good bowler much like stockden bowls at a very good pace and is extremely accurate. Swings the ball quite alot and can move the ball off the seam on most occasions

Ryan Duffield: Opened agaisnt him in school earlier this year. Big lumbering action and is a bit of a slinger. Bowls a lot like Shaun Tait. Is probably the second quickest bowler in this side. Behind Coulter nile and will probably share the new ball with coulter. Gets a lot of bounce and i have to say is a bit of a loose cannon which can be scary up the other end when u have catapults coming down at u and the bowler doesnt even know/care where they will go. Left Armer so he will give a variety in the bowling attack aswell as the pace and lastly he swings the ball into the right hander which can be a handful at such pace. He also bowls a very good yorker and is not afraid to come around the wicket a bowl the ball directly at the batsmens body.

Well theres the W.A squad, i think its quite strong side and would not be surprised if it got very close to winning the championship this year. The only blue the selectors made was not putting me into the side. I am a leg spinner and as they have two offies in the side i should have been in there for variety lol. P.s i probably better than both the offies in the side, well at bowling anyway. And although they already have opening batsmen i could have slotted in the line up from 4-10 lol

Cheers thanks guys

An SF boy, you wouldn't know Ian Richardson and "Ped" Bobridge would you?

Divi18
23 Dec 2004, 07:19
who's in the Vic side?

Anthony Barton
Andrew Brindley
Kyle Clarke
Marcus Crook
Joel Davies
Michael Hill
Andrew McGuiness
Daniel Salpietro
Daniel Sartori
Dean Scheetz
Rees Thomas
Bryan Vance
Matthew Wilkie

kangaroo19
23 Dec 2004, 13:41
Scott Nichols from Tassie, watch out for him. All-rounder from University, made the Aus u/19 side last week.

Skooks
23 Dec 2004, 21:55
An SF boy, you wouldn't know Ian Richardson and "Ped" Bobridge would you?
Indeed i do mate

meh
24 Dec 2004, 06:26
With SA, i agree with bresh their batting is suspect. Last week, i had cricket training for Tea Tree Gully, and on the main oval there was a trial game going on, between State under 17's and U20's Adelaide Turf (for those who dont know thats a step down from grade cricket), and the adelaide turf side got all out for like 170 and the state side got bowled out for 150 and that included a partnership of 50 for the last wicket.

Players to watch out for:

Trent Pascoe- Not very tall but extremely quick, got measured at 146km/h.
Ryan Sawade- A good all rounder, solid bat and a quickish pace bowler.
Erik Laubscher- Only 15, good leg spinner, played U15 Australia and travelled to india.
Corey Knight- A damaging batsmen who can take attatcks apart, a danger for all other teams.

Thunderstruck
5 Jan 2005, 13:20
Havent had a chance to keep track of the latest scores so far, hopefully SA can finish fairly high up after a pretty disappointing finish last year.

Agree with Trent Pascoe, the guy is very quick, prolly quickest in land for his age.

Fitzy #1
5 Jan 2005, 15:13
Anthony Barton
Andrew Brindley
Kyle Clarke
Marcus Crook
Joel Davies
Michael Hill
Andrew McGuiness
Daniel Salpietro
Daniel Sartori
Dean Scheetz
Rees Thomas
Bryan Vance
Matthew Wilkie

I have played with and against a few of these guys n michael hill WILL play for australia when he is older he is only bottom age 17s n recently toured india with the australian under 15 side where he was capatin so this kid can play aswell as marcus crook kyle clark anthony barton n daniel salpietro

Thunderstruck
7 Jan 2005, 14:23
Damn seeing SA only managing a draw against the ACT.

Anyone got a link to the site that displays the stats etc like the Under 19's? Cheers.

mudshake
7 Jan 2005, 21:22
Cricket Victoria have Vics results on their web site. Its under "Development"
Also there is a little bit on the Tasmania Cricket Association web site. Don't know how much help that is. There was no play today by the way. Its a "lay day"