View Full Version : Kevin Bartlett

GoTeam2-0-0-4
24 Dec 2004, 00:02
Aren't all the guys he doesn't like outta the club. Why won't KB come back?! Surely that would play a big part in turning around the reputation and pride in the club to where it once was!!!

Hammerfire
24 Dec 2004, 00:19
His ego, that's why.

madtiger2005
24 Dec 2004, 07:02
if Rex jumps on, then hopefully he drags KB with him ;)

L84AD8
24 Dec 2004, 08:06
Iam glad someone posted this topic as I have always been fascinated as to how one ex-champion player could harbour all that bad blood for a club he gave so much for on the field and the club did for him as well.
As a footy follower I tend to this must run much deeper and there must be a bucket load of issues that are not public, because on the surface it just seems KB is sooking. Shimma did it at the roos and has slowly gone back to the club, Shawy still takes pot shots at us in his media roles but essentially comes back to the club, I actually hope to see KB go back to the Tigers purely from a footy purists perspective its always a good thing.

If Casey could motivate him to embrace the club again, one would think that it would do wonders in uniting the club and help to lift Tiger morale even further given your success in the draft.

tiger of old
24 Dec 2004, 09:12
Who?

cheers!

Calavaray
24 Dec 2004, 11:06
Iam glad someone posted this topic as I have always been fascinated as to how one ex-champion player could harbour all that bad blood for a club he gave so much for on the field and the club did for him as well.
As a footy follower I tend to this must run much deeper and there must be a bucket load of issues that are not public, because on the surface it just seems KB is sooking. Shimma did it at the roos and has slowly gone back to the club, Shawy still takes pot shots at us in his media roles but essentially comes back to the club, I actually hope to see KB go back to the Tigers purely from a footy purists perspective its always a good thing.

If Casey could motivate him to embrace the club again, one would think that it would do wonders in uniting the club and help to lift Tiger morale even further given your success in the draft.
I still haven't heard what the players thought about him as coach, and we're talking over 15 years now, so it makes it hard to make a judgement call on his decision. I think he feels betrayed and he will never forgive us. I believe in the end though, it is his loss, and not ours!

oxx
24 Dec 2004, 11:26
******** the little balld prik.

He symboloises the past attitude of thinking he's bigger than the club.

I hope he never returns to Punt road

1980GFVideo
24 Dec 2004, 13:50

I agree!!!!!!!!!!!!. Its not what you were on the field back then, its what you are as a person today.

The club is bigger than the individual mentality is what we need back at the club. He does not personify that.

Why doesn't he get in contact with a few players whose careers were cut short because of injuries and never had the opportunity to have a career at all.

Darth_Tiger
24 Dec 2004, 13:53
he played for tommy hafey not for richmond. he has said so himself.

oxx
24 Dec 2004, 16:50
I guess selfish player leads to selfish man.

He's now just ANOTHER past player.

IDGAF
24 Dec 2004, 17:13
I guess selfish player leads to selfish man.

He's now just ANOTHER past player.I`ve stuck KB in the same box as Kevin Sheedy and labelled it "self-serving tools no longer relevent to the RFC " and stuck it the cupboard with all my other old relics that i no longer care for

Tigerrific
24 Dec 2004, 18:31
KB was my favourite player as a kid and it would be great to have him back at the club. The guy is an absolute legend and makes me remember the days when the Tigers really were a power

I heard him say once that he had given a lot to the RFC and basically doesn't want to give any more, that's fair enough but can't you not be involved and also not be estranged at the same time?

I think it has just got to the point that he has been so stubborn for so long and he just can't change now. It a pity because he is missing out too. :(

wagstaff
25 Dec 2004, 16:49
I still haven't heard what the players thought about him as coach, and we're talking over 15 years now, so it makes it hard to make a judgement call on his decision. I think he feels betrayed and he will never forgive us. I believe in the end though, it is his loss, and not ours!

Admittedly it's only from a second-hand source, but a player who played under KB as well as at other clubs wasn't too positive about him. While other coaches would conduct training sessions with an eagle eye to check which players were and weren't putting in, KB would often be distracted talking to fellow members of the match committee and hence, the training sessions often were allowed to drift down in intensity levels.

yetsla
25 Dec 2004, 18:12

Yeah man... good post. The era when he played was no good was it? You wouldn't want to go back to that sort of era?

Your an absolute ******** head. He played in how many Premierships?

The new attitude is much better...

Tigerrific
25 Dec 2004, 19:08
Hey everybody, Here is yetsla's email address from one of his other posts. Everytime you are searching the web and see an annoying mailing list lets all subscribe him. alstey@optushome.com.au

balmainforever
25 Dec 2004, 19:15
In my humble opinion, Richmond Football Club will never have success at any level until they can reunite all their past champions back to the club. At least Sheedy has not alienated himself from the club. He may have coached Essendon longer than he played for us but he still makes appearances as a past Richmond champion. The player who played 403 times for us in the VFL can't.
It really does show who is the bigger person and who is a spineless coward. Get over it KB and become the legend that Jack Dyer was.

oxx
25 Dec 2004, 19:38
With all due respect,
Sheedy is the most alien of past players and is living proof that they don't really give a stuff about the RFC.

Burn them all if they have an issue with the club - we dont need them -TRUTH.

yetsla
25 Dec 2004, 23:52
Hey everybody, Here is yetsla's email address from one of his other posts. Everytime you are searching the web and see an annoying mailing list lets all subscribe him. alstey@optushome.com.au

Sweet Action... now I can test out my new anti-spam email filter!!

Thanks lads - saves me the trouble!

Add me on MSN Messenger too - that same address! I'd love to chew the fat with some of you blokes...

JohnF
26 Dec 2004, 01:05
Would be great to have him back at the club for the supporters' sake and for sentimental reasons, but in so far as the hope that things will change on-field becuase of the morale boost KB will offer, I reckon that's just crap.

Heck, our greatest player and personification of the club died and we still couldn't win a game for him against the farrken Hawks! What's KB coming back going to do?

What we need is a good coach and good talented players wanting to forge their own history. KB coming back won't do a thing to get us out of the mire we are in.

And just another thing, if we were in a healthy position now, I bet 9/10ths of the people crying over KB wouldn't give a stuff that he isn't around.

froars
26 Dec 2004, 10:01
By our closet Richmond supporter Yetsla: Yeah man... good post. The era when he played was no good was it? You wouldn't want to go back to that sort of era?

Supporters love older players, but not enough as evidenced in the recent election. You can bring as many Bourke, Barrot, Clays, Bartletts or whoever back to the club - we're more interested in who we've got playing in 2005. We're more interested in what's happening at the moment, to worry about whether some old codger wants to come back to the club or not.

tiger of old
26 Dec 2004, 10:41
With all due respect,
Sheedy is the most alien of past players and is living proof that they don't really give a stuff about the RFC.

Incorrect.In fact Sheedy has always made himself availble to various RFC fuctions[football permitting].

cheers!

starkravenmad2
26 Dec 2004, 14:29
what differance does it make if bartlett or bourke or any of them dont venture to the club?IMO they were great servants to the club but their time been and gone,why have them at club bitching about in their day.time to move on and create future champions which is why the club has struggled for 20 years because what we have named champions lately are at most very good players...eg campbell, richo etc .at other clubs they wouldnt be champs just good honest players with a touch of class

TrewTIGER
26 Dec 2004, 15:54
Because if you go to Carlton/Collingwood you will find a champion in just about every corner, standing in front of a photo/portrait of another champiion. There is an aura of greatness and tradition. We have just about as many as these 2 but dont utilise this or encourage the greats to return. If you want to see past players photos you need to cram into a stuffy little museum. The bombers have a magnificent multi-tiered museum and until recently could run into people like King ******** (good thing he wasn't a ruckman they would've had to call him Big). I know just talking to Dyer years ago how awe inspiring he was and he was always at training and walking around the suburb. We need this type of indirect inspiration.

starkravenmad2
26 Dec 2004, 16:25
while that may be true how did past champs help carlton last few years or for that matter collingwood and id say essedons recent success had more to do with current champs in hird .sheedy etc than king richard

TrewTIGER
26 Dec 2004, 16:45
My theory on the Blues is that due to draft restrictions they have had to top up with handy, fringe players. They really need to rebuild.
Pies think they are better than they are and often play above themselves (supports my theory). They got brought back to the field this year.
Likewise the Bombers, though they do have a handful of great players and a coach that never lets them forget their destiny.
In any case, you can't be worse off with an aura of greatness surely?

starkravenmad2
26 Dec 2004, 16:54
not really disagreeing with u just think a lot of our on field sucess or lack of it comes down to the fact we havent had a champion for twenty years.and when i say champion i dont mean to disrespect anyone but the great sides have the real deal ....carey voss lynch hird loyd etc name one richmond player in same period who would hold their own with these.most will say richo but surely to be a champion to build sides around u should be able to kick

TrewTIGER
26 Dec 2004, 17:16
Can see where you come from Starkravenmad2, but seriously do you think a single champion makes a side win. Carey had a big support cast including a few very committed (but less talented) players. Your Longmires, Archers, Bells, Martyns, Kings, Stevens, Schwatters, etc had as much to do with it as him. Carey was the icing on the cake that gave them an extra edge. Had he alone played for us, we wouldn't have won many more games. In any case Weightman, Jess, Lee, Knights, Campbo, Brodders are all pretty good footballers who in a better side would have been valued higher. Flea & Disco would certainly have worn the champion tag. Where are they all though - McGhie, Turner - are they barred from the club or just not welcomed. Fly Royce Hart up from Tassie for a special event and show some of his highlights. I would say 80% of current Tiger fans haven't even seen 1 minute of his skills - there is film available.
Anyhow, I ramble -sorry

bac
26 Dec 2004, 19:34
Why are McGhie, Turner not welcome at the Tigers?

oxx
26 Dec 2004, 19:59
Incorrect.In fact Sheedy has always made himself availble to various RFC fuctions[football permitting].

cheers!

He doesn't give a rats about us TOO.

starkravenmad2
26 Dec 2004, 19:59
agree trew but i guess my point is our champions are other teams support cast so i agree with u saying carey would win us a few more games as would a voss hird etc ,imo we have lacked a leader of substance and we have had no one who could win us games against the better sides consistantly

tiger_chick
26 Dec 2004, 20:03
Yeah he may have been a club legend but he has turned his back on the great club that made him famous. KB doesnt realise that he is not bigger than the club and he is so critical of us on SEN - i refuse to listen to his show. After all, i agree with a previous post - Schimma returned to North and I think all people associated have gone - KB needs to massively decrease the size of his ego. If he wants to hold a grudge that goes back to the end of 1991 - let him. Like someone else said - ego is getting in the way. Its not gonna be the clubs loss - or maybe he will start jumping on the bandwagon once Terry gets us on the way to success again. At least Rex still shows some love and loyalty to the club as does Tommy. Unlike myself - Bartlett ISNT A TRUE TIGER.

sante
26 Dec 2004, 20:40
who actually ********ed off KB???

tiger of old
27 Dec 2004, 07:29
He doesn't give a rats about us TOO.
Im sure his mother would have given him a fat ear if that was the case
:D
Sheedy is very strong when it comes to history.He knows he owes alot to the RFC for what he has acheived as a footballer and a coach.

cheers!

IDGAF
27 Dec 2004, 09:07
Sheedy is very strong when it comes to history.He knows he owes alot to the RFC for what he has acheived as a footballer and a coach.

cheers!I`m with oxx on this TOO , i do agree there was a time when Sheedy felt he had a debt to the RFC for his standing in life and the game but he has said publically that he does "not" have a debt to the RFC .

You only have to look at his last two contract negotiations with Essendon . 5 years ago it was " Who do you love more , your son or your daughter " , this time around he could not have given a stuff . When quizzed about the possibility of a return to Punt rd. it was a flat no and he said " I do not even know anyone at that club anymore "

Whilst i think a fair bit of his disdain for us at the minute is due largely to Greg Miller , after 25 odd years at Essendon , i think we are pretty much just a distant memory to him , one that no longer interests the great man all that much .

P1mP_Ju1c3
27 Dec 2004, 09:45
KB, were can u start wit KB, he should come back but he wont, thats sad, 4 Flagz, he should fink bout that.

tiger of old
27 Dec 2004, 09:47
I`m with oxx on this TOO , i do agree there was a time when Sheedy felt he had a debt to the RFC for his standing in life and the game but he has said publically that he does "not" have a debt to the RFC .

You only have to look at his last two contract negotiations with Essendon . 5 years ago it was " Who do you love more , your son or your daughter " , this time around he could not have given a stuff . When quizzed about the possibility of a return to Punt rd. it was a flat no and he said " I do not even know anyone at that club anymore "

Whilst i think a fair bit of his disdain for us at the minute is due largely to Greg Miller , after 25 odd years at Essendon , i think we are pretty much just a distant memory to him , one that no longer interests the great man all that much .
Maybe the case idgaf to a certain extent.however to say he dosent give a stuff about the RFC is abit of a broad assumption.He has mentioned in the past that one day he,d like to go back to Puntroad in some kind of capacity once he,s given up coaching.

cheers!

Fishfinger
27 Dec 2004, 09:49
KB, were can u start wit KB, he should come back but he wont, thats sad, 4 Flagz, he should fink bout that.He'd be finking 5 Flagz. :D

IDGAF
27 Dec 2004, 09:58
Maybe the case idgaf to a certain extent.however to say he dosent give a stuff about the RFC is abit of a broad assumption.He has mentioned in the past that one day he,d like to go back to Puntroad in some kind of capacity once he,s given up coaching.

cheers!Sorry TOO , the context of "couldn`t give a stuff " is in his lack of lack of interest in the Richmond coaching job this time around , not so much for the RFC in general .

He has mentioned before that he "may" return to punt rd. in some form or capacity once his coaching days are over but............. i think it is becoming increasingly unlikely to happen whilst G Miller is on board . There is quite obviously a fair bit of animosity there .

My main problem with K Sheedy at the moment is the constant little "broadsides" that he is firing our way lately . If he has a problem with Miller don`t you think that is something that he could sort out with him on a personal level and not have pot shots at us ? It for this reason that i think he is being questioned about his loyalty to punt rd. these days

tiger of old
27 Dec 2004, 10:31
He has mentioned before that he "may" return to punt rd. in some form or capacity once his coaching days are over but............. i think it is becoming increasingly unlikely to happen whilst G Miller is on board . There is quite obviously a fair bit of animosity there .

Sheeds never took a backward step while playing. i doubt very much he would take one in regards to weather to comeback to tigerland because of a personality clash with GM or any other.In fact he would see it as a challenge.lol.

My main problem with K Sheedy at the moment is the constant little "broadsides" that he is firing our way lately . If he has a problem with Miller don`t you think that is something that he could sort out with him on a personal level and not have pot shots at us ? It for this reason that i think he is being questioned about his loyalty to punt rd. these days
i have no problem with Sheeds taking pot shots at us.there is no malice remarks towards the club just general banter between 2 parties who will standup for what they believe in.

cheers!

IDGAF
27 Dec 2004, 10:47
Sheeds never took a backward step while playing. i doubt very much he would take one in regards to weather to comeback to tigerland because of a personality clash with GM or any other.In fact he would see it as a challenge.lol.

i have no problem with Sheeds taking pot shots at us.there is no malice remarks towards the club just general banter between 2 parties who will standup for what they believe in.

cheers!As far as challenges and GM not worrying Sheeds ? Why the lack of interest in the RFC coaching job then ?

And if he loves the RFC like a son or daughter why take pot shots at it ?

The first point is debatable but i do not agree with him having digs at us

tiger of old
27 Dec 2004, 11:41
As far as challenges and GM not worrying Sheeds ? Why the lack of interest in the RFC coaching job then ?

If your talking about the recent past it was more of a case that the club decided not to pursue Sheeds at all.we had to move on from the romantic notion that Sheeds will coach the club.

And if he loves the RFC like a son or daughter why take pot shots at it ?

The first point is debatable but i do not agree with him having digs at us
He takes pot shots at anything and anyone.that is Sheeds.But he would be the 1st one knocking at the door if we had a repeat of the save our skins.

cheers!

IDGAF
27 Dec 2004, 11:43
If your talking about the recent past it was more of a case that the club decided not to pursue Sheeds at all.we had to move on from the romantic notion that Sheeds will coach the club. Agreed

He takes pot shots at anything and anyone.that is Sheeds.But he would be the 1st one knocking at the door if we had a repeat of the save our skins.

cheers!Agreed ;)

Infamy
27 Dec 2004, 12:15
As far as challenges and GM not worrying Sheeds ? Why the lack of interest in the RFC coaching job then ?

Even Sheedy knows he's not going to stay in the coaching game long enough to commit to a long term rebuild and certainly not to follow through afterwards.

27 Dec 2004, 13:05
The RFC went all out for Kevin Sheedy in 1999. Every egg was put in the Sheedy basket at the expense of the club hedging its bets with other viable coaches such as Malthouse.

No-one can say for sure why he didnt join us. I reckon it was the good old fashioned fight between the heart and the head. The heart said Richmond, the head said Windy Hill.

Fact of the matter is, he stayed and we endured 5 years that have ranked as 5 of our worst ever. His time came and went.

Taking pot shots at us shows how much he still cares, or maybe regrets not taking the challenge. He doesnt give us the indifference Malthouse does.

oxx
27 Dec 2004, 13:34
Yeah man... good post. The era when he played was no good was it? You wouldn't want to go back to that sort of era?

Your an absolute ******** head. He played in how many Premierships?

The new attitude is much better...

U were in your Dads Bags wheile I was in Bahgdad u runny ********.

LMAOO@Having no life and not realising it.

Say the word u little butt plugger and I'll be there to mash your homosexual desires.

RexHill
27 Dec 2004, 15:25
U were in your Dads Bags wheile I was in Bahgdad u runny ********.

Persian rug salesman?
The tea towel you wore on your head must have been way too tight.

oxx
27 Dec 2004, 17:45

cheers!

Interesting point mate.

I'm positive I heard his dear mum (rip) tell us to forget about him as he was now a bomber.

He may know he owes us but when the time was right for us he wasn't there and good for him but dont dream and romaticise the fact.

He was needed and turned his back so to speak therefore elevating his status
to equal selfish prik with KB.

tiger of old
27 Dec 2004, 20:48
He was needed and turned his back so to speak therefore elevating his status
to equal selfish prik with KB.
a bit over the top. Sheeds had very good reasons to stay at Bomberland and was proven the correct one in 2000.
dont put sheeds in the same sentence as KB.We both know 2 totally different circumstances to why one still wont comeback to the club and the other not as much but still does.
And that final point is what you are missing.

oxx
27 Dec 2004, 21:58
I'd love to chew the fat with some of you blokes...

No thanks dooschbag.

You can chew on your fat alone.

oxx
27 Dec 2004, 22:22
a bit over the top. Sheeds had very good reasons to stay at Bomberland and was proven the correct one in 2000.
dont put sheeds in the same sentence as KB.We both know 2 totally different circumstances to why one still wont comeback to the club and the other not as much but still does.
And that final point is what you are missing.

Maybe your confusing a retirement plan with an eternal flame.
I'd say Sheeds is the better politician of the two but that is rather obvious as Kevin hasn't stopped working in a hands on situation since leaving us at the end of 1980 as assistant coach in a GF winning team.

25 years later we still debate wther he will return to the road of Punt.
25 YEARS !
Could it be a prodical son complex,could it be we like to believe in comparitive biblical parables to offer some kind of hope to an otherwise barren field of dreams ?

I'm not disputing that KS's circumstances were and are differnt to KBs but in comparison the end results of both their decisions have scored equally in proving niether were prepared to "plough" the "spud" field when the crop had rotted.

For whatever Sheeds reasons are I still admire the guy greatly,

I just no longer consider him a Richmond person.
He's not.
He's the coach of Essendumb and has been since 1981.
He's been one of them longer than he was one of us.

It's time,as Kb and others have said,to cultivate a new culture and the only way you can do that is to forget the past.

IDGAF
28 Dec 2004, 09:09
Maybe your confusing a retirement plan with an eternal flame.
I'd say Sheeds is the better politician of the two but that is rather obvious as Kevin hasn't stopped working in a hands on situation since leaving us at the end of 1980 as assistant coach in a GF winning team.

25 years later we still debate wther he will return to the road of Punt.
25 YEARS !
Could it be a prodical son complex,could it be we like to believe in comparitive biblical parables to offer some kind of hope to an otherwise barren field of dreams ?

I'm not disputing that KS's circumstances were and are differnt to KBs but in comparison the end results of both their decisions have scored equally in proving niether were prepared to "plough" the "spud" field when the crop had rotted.

For whatever Sheeds reasons are I still admire the guy greatly,

I just no longer consider him a Richmond person.
He's not.
He's the coach of Essendumb and has been since 1981.
He's been one of them longer than he was one of us.

It's time,as Kb and others have said,to cultivate a new culture and the only way you can do that is to forget the past.I think the essence of this whole debate lies in your final paragraph .

23 years of shyteness is more than just a hick up in our proud history , it is a whole generation lain waste .

Seriously , full respect to all past players of the RFC , particularily the ones that did have some success all those years ago , maybe a little less for the Benny Gales and Nick Daffy`s , but when the " Big 4 " trotted out the Clays and the Barrott`s .......... I don`t know about the rest of you but i found it a tad embarrassing , 30 - 35 years ago these blokes played for Richmond .

What do these blokes know about running a footy club in the AFL , clubs that have a turn over of 40 million bucks ?

Brian Wood ............ where did they drag him up from ?

Greg Miller was seen as the game-breaker throughout the whole election but i think that trotting out those old names did them more harm than good , but no-one will admit it .

My point is that there is such a gulf in our history , that it is time to draw a line in the sand and start afresh , forget about KB and Sheedy ,they are just relics of the past , the old culture is dead , we need to and create a new culture , create a new Richmond

cub
26 Sep 2005, 16:49
Sorry to drag this up - But noticed in the Sun centre spread KB wearing a Richmond "Members" cap. Didn't know he was still a member. :eek:

tigerdan
26 Sep 2005, 18:24
Sorry to drag this up - But noticed in the Sun centre spread KB wearing a Richmond "Members" cap. Didn't know he was still a member. :eek:
I don't know if that was meant to be tongue in cheek or not, but he is a life member, remember!

Goldust
27 Sep 2005, 12:04
HERE's the deal.

There is no "i" in team....or club.

But there is an "i" in Kevin.

Try getting on his radio program and disagreeing. You are quickly cut off!

I really don't know why we would want the guy back down there anyway. Why appease him?

He has lost all relevance. I am pretty sure it was him I heard say at the weekend while commentating the Under 18 grand final that "we have two young sides going at here".

Stating the obvious aren't we - it's a junior competition!

Forget him and channel your thoughts into real club legends.
:)

Fishfinger
27 Sep 2005, 12:55
Forget him and channel your thoughts into real club legends.
Perhaps you mean 'other' real club legends. (?)
KB is not only a real club legend, he is also one of the greatest. This fact doesn't change because you don't like his stance. :)

tigerarmyboy
28 Sep 2005, 16:34
he was siting in the outer southern stand on watching the grandfinal with his richmond cap on.

HAWKS HEROES
28 Sep 2005, 18:21
saw a picture in the sun of him at the grandfinal in amounst swan fans

True Thylacine
29 Sep 2005, 09:50
I actually think its great that despite his opinions on certain things he is never afraid to publically declare his allegance. He might be in dispute with the club but still a proud Tiger. That gets my vote, particuarly given the number that dont or have suddenly become instant Bombers, Demons or Eagles or whatever flavour suited them.

We also tend to forget that the club legends, (trust me its not just KB), mostly have huge egos which is actually what helped make them great to an extent. So when we feel the back end of it we have to live with the downside.