View Full Version : OT: Anyone go shopping today?
Just a question was anyone stupid enough to go shopping today?? i work at Woolies at Glenelg and it has been packed there all morning! like massive lines since when i started at 9 until 12 when i came home on my lunch break.
snap-shot
24 Dec 2004, 12:18
Did you the shop open at 12am?
I did my food shopping last night around 5pm. It was mad house then. I was planning on doing it this afternoon - thinking things might have died down. But I'm sure glad I didn't do such a foolish thing.
Xmas shopping was done and dusted a week ago, now I have enough food for an army over the long break.
Don't work to hard Adam! ;)
Blue Red and Gold
24 Dec 2004, 12:33
I did my Xmas shopping on tuesday and it was like central Baghdad, it was dog eat dog nobody gave an inch, and that was just in the car park :eek:
I hate shopping at the best of times but this was just ridiculous, I just wanted to punch someone.
snap-shot
24 Dec 2004, 12:41
I did my Xmas shopping on tuesday and it was like central Baghdad, it was dog eat dog nobody gave an inch, and that was just in the car park :eek:
Yes, the car-park that's when we should have not gone into the shopping malls. The car-park was just the start. People parking in parks that weren't even parks! Running down anyone and everyone. Trolleys just about up everyones' ar$e! very very crazy indeed.
macca23
24 Dec 2004, 12:44
Just a question was anyone stupid enough to go shopping today??
Yes, just on my way now, and if I don't hurrry up and get off the computer, I'm gona have to deal with the wrath of the missus!! ;) :p
Nup. I finished my shopping yesterday having not bought a thing two days earlier.
Ahhh, the relief.
No 1 Draft Pick
24 Dec 2004, 13:06
Merry Xmas everyone - hope you have a good day tomorrow
adelaide_girl
24 Dec 2004, 13:12
SOOOOO over christmas, spent 8:30-5 on saturday, 11-4 on sunday, and all day tuesday, I mean it's not like I don't know 12 months in advance that its christmas ffs. Then this morning after haveing a chamagne breaky, decided to finish the food shopping :eek:.
What is with people my goodness never knew what rude was til this morning.
Anyway Merry Christmas my fellow crow peoples, and hope that 2005 brings health, wealth and happiness to all of you. :)
Mad Dog
24 Dec 2004, 13:56
Just went to get a last minute thing at Harris Scarves.........this dude comes over the P.A. saying that EFTPOS is down Statewide 'cos every ********er on the planet is trying to use it....and please have cash ready !!!
WTF !!!
ahhhhhh - it's al part of the adrenalin rush !!
picked up a boogie board for my daughter !!
heading down to Middleton next week so hopefully the novelty will have worn off by then and I can use it !!!!!
:o
AngelEyes
24 Dec 2004, 13:58
Just got back from work. Packed full with people. Had to deal with 5300 + customers (well according to sales) one on one today within 5 hours...
On the plus side a couple of girls from work, that didnt even have to, got me a signed Guy CD cover. It's so beautiful of them to do it, because they didnt have to and they are as big as fans as me and could've got all their Guy things signed! I feel so honoured...."To Danielle! Love Guy Smile Always" :) Oh my god; Guy Sebastian knows my name.....:o
Mad Dog
24 Dec 2004, 14:01
To Danielle! Love Guy Smile Always" :) Oh my god; Guy Sebastian knows my name.....:o
OMG...you're famous !!!
AngelEyes
24 Dec 2004, 14:10
OMG...you're famous !!!
Hey I'm famous with him and that's all that matters! :o
For anyone that wants to see it (http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v622/danij148/guy3.jpg)
Mad Dog
24 Dec 2004, 14:14
Hey I'm famous with him and that's all that matters! :o
For anyone that wants to see it (http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v622/danij148/guy3.jpg)
...be still my beating heart........ :cool:
...no really that's quite impressive - seriously...I'm just taking the ******** that's all.
*note to self: next year learn how to make links to photos to I can impress fellow posters*
looks like everyone's gone to the pub Angel Eyes.....45 mins and I'm out of here... :p
AngelEyes
24 Dec 2004, 14:17
looks like everyone's gone to the pub Angel Eyes.....45 mins and I'm out of here... :p
Heck, I'm in a shouting drinks mood! Might head down the pub too. :cool:
btw; the reason why I'm so happy (not only for the fact that its Guy) but because these two girls went out of their way to get me this signed by him...they didn't go to some promotion or signing session, they actually went through people they knew and took the time to even think of doing this for me. I'm so honoured and forever grateful to them :)
Mad Dog
24 Dec 2004, 14:23
Heck, I'm in a shouting drinks mood! Might head down the pub too. :cool:
btw; the reason why I'm so happy (not only for the fact that its Guy) but because these two girls went out of their way to get me this signed by him...they didn't go to some promotion or signing session, they actually went through people they knew and took the time to even think of doing this for me. I'm so honoured and forever grateful to them :)
so you must have let it slip once or twice that you don't mind the little Guy.. :D
crows98
24 Dec 2004, 14:32
Just got home from getting the fruit and veg from the central markets, holy cow man about 10,000 people in there today. Finished the important shopping last week, Myers loves my visa card or my visa card loves Myers not sure which one yet.
macca23
24 Dec 2004, 17:03
I feel so honoured...."To Danielle! Love Guy Smile Always" Oh my god; Guy Sebastian knows my name.....:o
As do we now, Danielle!! :cool:
I'm think you're going to have a good Christmas for sure now. ;)
I went with a couple of friends today and it was pretty busy. I really do wonder why people leave things right until the last minute.
NikkiNoo
24 Dec 2004, 18:43
giggle - funny how people do the food panic thing - that the shops will be closed how many days? so they have to buy out the whole store just in case the whole of adelaide turns up at their place to eat!
Merry xmas everyone and have a great new year - I will be offline until Jan 5th, sniff, sniff :( so I won't get to have lovely chats to you all, but Have Fun All
macca23
24 Dec 2004, 18:54
giggle - funny how people do the food panic thing - that the shops will be closed how many days? so they have to buy out the whole store just in case the whole of adelaide turns up at their place to eat!
Merry xmas everyone and have a great new year - I will be offline until Jan 5th, sniff, sniff :( so I won't get to have lovely chats to you all, but Have Fun All
And a really merry Xmas to you too Nikki.
Enjoy your new Year's Eve in New York as well (if I have that right) ;)
Just for curiosity, which country are you in at the moment?? :)
NikkiNoo
24 Dec 2004, 18:56
here at leeds, uk trying to think what the hell to pack for -12 degrees and still leave space for all the purchases :)
macca23
24 Dec 2004, 19:10
here at leeds, uk trying to think what the hell to pack for -12 degrees and still leave space for all the purchases :)
I'm sure you'll make room. My wife just started using my case when hers was chockers!! :D
the shops are now closed for 4 days :) im soo happy in needed a break after working however many days straight! i hate all the customers that came it like 3-6 just because they thought we closed at 6. not the 9 that we actually did, i didnt get a break because of them! it sucked.
Congrats roodog on putting up with me , the last minute shopper whose boss makes him work till 6.30.
But you know what PRESSURE PICKS PERFECT PRESENTS
Have you ever spent hours/days looking for something and walk past something twenty times thinking ''ooo I dont know'' and walk away. Bugger that go there with an hour left and a list , grab the first thing that looks good and walk out without looking back. Guaranteed 8/10 presents are spot on.
My philosophy anyway
As its not christmas here yet let me take the time to thank everyone for the warm welcome and look forward to good debate discussion and delerium when we win the unexpected game, and the sorrow when we lose the one we should have won
Good wishes to all and drive safely,drink safely and wear a rubber, it looks like its going to rain trolls
Kane McGoodwin
25 Dec 2004, 10:07
Just a question was anyone stupid enough to go shopping today?? i work at Woolies at Glenelg and it has been packed there all morning! like massive lines since when i started at 9 until 12 when i came home on my lunch break.
Finished all my pressie shopping Tuesday (which must be a record as usually leave things to the last minute). Only shopping I did yesterday, was 3 cartons of beer & 6x4 cruisers for our lunch Xmas-Eve party. Should have seen all the strange looks I got taking back down the Mall from Woolies.
PS RooDog, felt sorry for the poor buggars working at Woolies, as the were open til 9pm, which is a bit rough!
lozstar
25 Dec 2004, 12:11
Finished off all my Christmas shopping early in the week (thank god!)
Had to go down to elizabeth city centre last night to get a few things that we needed, and woah. BUSY!!!
Thank god i had finished it before christmas eve.
PS RooDog, felt sorry for the poor buggars working at Woolies, as the were open til 9pm, which is a bit rough!
yes, i didnt i knocked off at 530 but a close friend of mine was working in the city store until 8pm, felt sorry for her, wouldnt have been much fun. wouldve been so dead too because everyone thought we closed at 530 so it was a mad house until about then.
maccas_no1
25 Dec 2004, 19:12
Cant think of anything worse than shopping christmas eve*shudders* finished up my xmas shopping last week ;)