View Full Version : lorry angwin to broadford fc?
aimar21
24 Dec 2004, 13:35
is this correct? thats the whisper
Wasn't there something in the news last season (2004) about Broadford footy club regarding them playing it very rough and having dubious characters as footballer and being sponored by a bikie club and other clubs not wanting to play them bacause of all Sounds like young Angwin has found his right level. He wouldn't want to have quick fingers in the dressing rooms at this footy club otherwise he will end up in the barrel in the Yarra. There should be plenty of suppliers of his special medicine at this club maybe this could be his match payment.
MadRyan
24 Dec 2004, 15:43
Wasn't there something in the news last season (2004) about Broadford footy club regarding them playing it very rough and having dubious characters as footballer and being sponored by a bikie club and other clubs not wanting to play them bacause of all Sounds like young Angwin has found his right level. He wouldn't want to have quick fingers in the dressing rooms at this footy club otherwise he will end up in the barrel in the Yarra. There should be plenty of suppliers of his special medicine at this club maybe this could be his match payment.
ugh, shut up.
Wayde Petersen
24 Dec 2004, 19:25
ugh, shut up.
Bac's right though, Angwin and Broadford do seem like a match made in heaven (the new coach Ross Andrews, is an absolute tosser, so there you go), the Vigilante's Motor Cycle Gang sponsor the club beacause they use thier ground to host the Broadford Music Festival, and they use thier weight to intimidate other clubs, such as blocking the entrance to Stanhope's dressing room to stop them from beating Broadford in a Heathcote League Grand Final in the mid 1980's, (they lost anyway, and my Uncle was one of Stanhope's better players), and various other indiscretions.
Personally, I don't know why they don't just go to the Riddel League and play against Kilmore etc, why go and play in a league where most of the clubs hate you and want you out?.
(the new coach Ross Andrews, is an absolute tosser, so there you go), .
Wayde What's Ross Andrew's background? How old is he? Where is from?
I'm just wondering if it's the same guy I played with years back.
Snickers
26 Dec 2004, 10:57
if it is true...... that angwin is going to broadford that will suit his drug addiction well.............. :confused:
The Fanatic
26 Dec 2004, 22:42
Bac's right though, Angwin and Broadford do seem like a match made in heaven (the new coach Ross Andrews, is an absolute tosser, so there you go), the Vigilante's Motor Cycle Gang sponsor the club beacause they use thier ground to host the Broadford Music Festival, and they use thier weight to intimidate other clubs, such as blocking the entrance to Stanhope's dressing room to stop them from beating Broadford in a Heathcote League Grand Final in the mid 1980's, (they lost anyway, and my Uncle was one of Stanhope's better players), and various other indiscretions.
Personally, I don't know why they don't just go to the Riddel League and play against Kilmore etc, why go and play in a league where most of the clubs hate you and want you out?.Riddell League..?? We don't want them,or him!!
outback jack
27 Dec 2004, 01:02
are you guys talking about the dud the crows and blues drafted??? does he still have the nerve to play footy?? i'd thought he wouldnt want to show his face in public
Wayde Petersen
29 Dec 2004, 20:48
are you guys talking about the dud the crows and blues drafted??? does he still have the nerve to play footy?? i'd thought he wouldnt want to show his face in public
Yep, the very same. And BTW, Ross Andrews was the bloke who got clobbered by Dean Lupson in the 1990 GVFL Grand Final, that king hit got Lupson suspended for a year, he coached Nagambie last year, and EVERYONE hated his guts.
Although thier president Ray Heers, is trying hard and is a good president (He was a good footballer for Mernda in the DVFL), unfortunately the task of turning Broadford around is task too great for one man.
pekay-norwest
31 Dec 2004, 08:40
are you guys talking about the dud the crows and blues drafted??? does he still have the nerve to play footy?? i'd thought he wouldnt want to show his face in public let the bloke go,we live in a society where drugs are rampant,even kids as young as 13 are getting stuck into the same stuff as Angwin.if he was at an AFL club still and was using drugs,thats a problem.but weekend footy is a different story altogether in my opinion.if a player that took drugs of any description and therefore wasnt allowed to play for his club,the amount of forfeits per weekend would be ASTRONOMICAL.especially in sydney,but thats the way i see it anyway.but on a side note,id hate to play this Broadford mob.the mongrel that comes with my white line fever would have me killed.
Lawrence ANGWIN to Broadford ? Good luck to him if he does go. No more bikies associated with the club, a new level of professionalism at the club, new President ... and it's not Ray HEERS although he is on the committee.
Who are some to judge ANGWIN without the facts ? Wayde's from Dhurringile/Murch, perhaps he got the facts thru the prison grapevine ?? Talking of people with 2 heads from Rushy, what about the 3 headed tribes from Murchison. You're not just narrow-minded, you've tripled the treat.
Always interesting to read the thoughts of others, particularly those who seem to know everything about everyone else's club (and individuals) yet know very little in reality. "That's a man with his finger on the pulse", you ask yourself. The only question is "Who the hell is Wayde PETERSEN?". Apparently his uncle was one of the best in the Stanhope win over Broadford in the mid 80's, well that is some claim to fame isn't it, good on ya Wayde.
As for the Riddell, the club would have unanimously voted not to go there.
There's my 5 cents for the Waydeometer to penetrate and decipher.
You wouldn't happen to be the new president of this club would you? You must be hungry for players or publicity by recruiting Angwin you are just reinforcing sterotypes/thoughts about your club by recruiting guys like him to play for you.
Deeds speak louder than words lets see what happens at your club in the next few years!
No BAC, as a matter of fact I wouldn't be the new George Dubya of Broadford. I just happen to know what is really going on down there. Those 'stereotypes' you speak of have endured for years with many other parts of our good state, just like the 'western suburbs' stereotypes. I hope it doesn't endure and the club is doing its' best to rebuild an image tarnished by a VASTE MINORITY of 'supporters' and a couple of on-field incidents, 2-3 other clubs and one Herald-Sun reporter. And by the way, the club has not sought publicity and doesn't want it, it was started by the 'big footy' rumour mill.
Dear Fanatic, I don't think Broadford would wish to partake in the Riddell League anyway, what were you thinking ? Since the departure of the following : Craigieburn, Sunbury, Melton, Melton South, Broady Utd, Gisborne, Darley and the list goes on, even the disbanding of Moomba Park, you have the weak remnants of an old RDFL Div.2 competition. I think North Fawkner could come out of their graves and field a side to be competitive in the RDFL. Don't flatter yourself ! And I couldn't agree more with the comment on 'Who is Wayde PETERSEN?'. Who is he and what has he ever done ? Know-alls, can't beat 'em !!
outback jack
2 Jan 2005, 00:53
let the bloke go,we live in a society where drugs are rampant,even kids as young as 13 are getting stuck into the same stuff as Angwin.if he was at an AFL club still and was using drugs,thats a problem.but weekend footy is a different story altogether in my opinion.if a player that took drugs of any description and therefore wasnt allowed to play for his club,the amount of forfeits per weekend would be ASTRONOMICAL.especially in sydney,but thats the way i see it anyway.but on a side note,id hate to play this Broadford mob.the mongrel that comes with my white line fever would have me killed.
I dont care about his drug use, its just the fact that he lies out of his arse to absolutely everyone, begs for another chance and then goes and does it all over again. If i had been humilated in public like he has i honestly dont know if i could show my face like he is. Maybe he'll come good, u never know though ;)
Outback Jack's at least got a bit of it all right, if a footy club takes him on and shows him a bit of guidance he might end up further down the right track, if nobody does take a chance with him and show him the way, who the hell will and then where will he end up ?? Give the bloke a go, even supposedly reformed armed robbers, drug dealers etc get given a second/third chance by country/suburban clubs.
Geez Wayde, I didn't realise you'd played for Panton Hill and Mernda, you must be a legend, I'll ask some of my mates, possibly a Butterworth or two, to see just what sort of champion you were ??
Where's Wayde PETERSEN ???? Haven't heard from him for a while, is he trying to figure out what is really goin' on ????? Lorrie ANGWIN is apparently speaking to Seymour anyway ..... :eek:
How is Broadford looking, they have lost a few players to Tongala(Baker, Fonua's), but what about others from last year, heard Ruckman Bernie Hourigan might be on the move, also onballer Kevin Brown(did he win the B&F). Whats news there other than Angwin?
Baker and Fonua's to Tonny, Billy Neilson to Yea. Other Neilson bros on board, picked up Mark Smith from Avenel, a couple of ex-Bundoora boys hopefully coming along, Chris Dunne back from Balranald with Brett Slade, couple from here, couple from there, Bernie is staying, Browny is staying, Bruni is staying as a/coach. Things looking ok for the Roos I think.
ok, yeah doesnt sound too bad a this stage again, finals material. Smith is a good player from Avenel(Strong marking smallish forward) and Dunne will be a big boost.
What were the results in the B&F there last year?
ok, yeah doesnt sound too bad a this stage again, finals material. Smith is a good player from Avenel(Strong marking smallish forward) and Dunne will be a big boost.
What were the results in the B&F there last year?
Fonua, Brown and Bernie 1,2,3. Already replaced most of the lost souls. Should be ok.
Rednecknow
5 Jan 2005, 19:47
Rosco, Hank or Viper
Did any of you see Avenel last year and see a stocky red head kid Ackehurst play? Not sure how many (if any) games he got in the ones.
Rosco, Hank or Viper
Did any of you see Avenel last year and see a stocky red head kid Ackehurst play? Not sure how many (if any) games he got in the ones.
Redneck, I cannot recall anyone by that name playing for Avenel. How old is he ? There is a stocky red head kid in the U18's going up to the seniors 2005.
Rednecknow
5 Jan 2005, 21:36
Well he just turned 21, so that cant be him, thanks anyway Rosco
Matt Ackenhurst wore No.38 if that helps, only seen a handful of KDL games, Rushy Avenel, and Avenel in one of the finals were a couple, but cant recall him. Got this info from the kdfl website(www.kdfl.com.au),Was his first year at the club last year, arrived from Seaford. 4 Senior games 0 goals and 13 reserves games 0 goals.
Hope this helps redneck.
Rednecknow
6 Jan 2005, 17:01
Thanks Hank thats huge, i saw him get a BOG in a 16s GF (along side Paul Johnson WCE now Melb.) and just thought he always looked raw from lack of experience, with a few games under him he would be a pretty solid player. Good to see hes getting some games in the ones.
Hank, know a bloke who says he knows you ! :cool:
PS : Who is 'WAYDE PETERSEN' ? He sounds like a talented and knowledgeable man, like to get him to my club ..... :rolleyes:
Get back to me when ya can Wayde, we'll discuss finances ! :rolleyes:
Very good rosco, who would this bloke be?
GoHoppers
10 Jan 2005, 08:37
Word from the north is that someone has bankrolled the Roos with 30,000 up front, why else would Dunne give up 1,000 a week to come home? How many blokes have played at Broadford for nothing in the past? No wonder they always battle financially, the locals demand top bucks to travel 2 blocks to training. A guy at our club (Colbo) went to Uni with a Broady dude who said there's a lot of frustrated old memebers at the minute. Most of them hope the presence of Rosco5 as a reputed coach can help stabilise things onfield, and hopefully the boardroom brawling might stop also.
GoHoppers
10 Jan 2005, 09:05
Baker and Fonua's to Tonny, Billy Neilson to Yea. Other Neilson bros on board, picked up Mark Smith from Avenel, a couple of ex-Bundoora boys hopefully coming along, Chris Dunne back from Balranald with Brett Slade, couple from here, couple from there, Bernie is staying, Browny is staying, Bruni is staying as a/coach. Things looking ok for the Roos I think.
Billy Neilson will be a huge loss, both HDFL reps (Fonua and Neilson) gone, Neilson will be back but wanted to gain experience with his mate Chrissy Nolan before they tackle local jobs, respectable move!!! My mate heard the old timers wanted Doona to run for president in September, but he said he wanted to learn a bit more at Yea first, in a role reversal with Matty Finch. Personally after seeing him come through the thirds, many up here rate him as a footy bloke, but fair dinkum how could a bloke of 26-27 become a president, he should dust off the boots and have a crack before he regrets it. Is it the same Mark Smith from '96 flag side? He'd have to be 35 these days. Was an outstanding marking forward, but has struggled to put games together through injury over the past 3 years at Avenel. With Bruni, Angwin and now Smith into the mix, Ben Littlwood must be worrying, let's hope the Roos don't ruin another youngster's hopes of playing senior footy, and make him the player dragged every week (i.e Edwards, Redenbach). After 10? successive thirds flags, there's plenty of talent there without chasing and handing out big bucks to players who'll move on when the cash dry's up!!!
GoHoppers, that's the benefit of having people running the club who don't and won't go out and recruit people who are not going to be good for the club in the long term.
Money is not an issue for 99% of the blokes the club has spoken to. Players have been targeted to come back to the club, players known to others and players who have moved to the town. Different mind set to some other clubs in the HDFL I hear !! :eek:
Same Mark Smith, yes and an adequate replacement for Baker. :p As for Brent Litllewood, he will be a class player in 2005 who won't have to hold down CHF but rather be given the freedom to develop into a fine player, not an on-off bench type. Different mind-set at the club, that's what others in the HDFL will need to get used to.
BFNC is in the process of a big cultural change, EOS. :)
Word from the north is that someone has bankrolled the Roos with 30,000 up front, why else would Dunne give up 1,000 a week to come home? How many blokes have played at Broadford for nothing in the past? No wonder they always battle financially, the locals demand top bucks to travel 2 blocks to training. A guy at our club (Colbo) went to Uni with a Broady dude who said there's a lot of frustrated old memebers at the minute. Most of them hope the presence of Rosco5 as a reputed coach can help stabilise things onfield, and hopefully the boardroom brawling might stop also.
GoHoppers, I just read your first post on p.2 and I am glad to hear your thoughts and the rumour mill but I am also glad to hear there's not a hint of sarcasm or 'dislike' (for want of a better term) in your post that I have heard from so many other clubs and people. :)
The club is trying its' best to clean up the image and can only do so with the help of other clubs in the league. The people there aren't as bad as is reputed, other people I know who are new to the club for 2005 are pleasantly surprised by the level of enthusiasm and friendliness of the locals. I just hope other people in the league can be as open minded as yourself and give the club, players, supporters and all others associated with the BFNC and town a break, they need it.
As for the frustrated older members, they are working together with the new committee to overcome the 'issues' so that is a start. These issues occur at every club, BFNC is no exception.
With the ********** that happened in 2004 of course there will be side issues. Hopefully they will be dealt with correctly and we can all move on. :o
PS Dunne back for diddly, giving a bit back to the club, that is a fact. Good on him when he knows he can travel and get a lot better money elsewhere !
Very good rosco, who would this bloke be?
He's an interested observer of BF, maybe a journo/news reader from the radio, maybe 3SR even, he just said he knows who you are but didn't tell me. Anyway, that's about it.
GoHoppers
10 Jan 2005, 23:23
Rosco5 trust me there are lot of HDFL followers who hope Broadford do get their act together, they're not just a feared club for their supporters and at times players antics, but because in recent years they've been a very good footy side. I hear the majority of the "bad press" around September was driven by a Lockington parent who actually lives down your way. Does Doona Nolan still do the local sport down there? We often read his stuff and were impressed. Maybe he could be your man to write up something really positive a kick start ya season on the right foot.
Rebel31
11 Jan 2005, 00:00
They say the Fonua's go real good, and Baker is an out and out champion, but it seems the Kanga's are square with Dunne and Lawrence Angwin coming in, dunno much about Smith sorry. Didn't Slade play at Preston, must go ok also? I know coach Ross is claiming Dunne is to play for diddly, fair go Ross, he's never played without his hand out, apparently like a lot down that way, even loyalty comes at a price when Balranald was forking out a grand a week to him. We came up against Tim Webster last year at Yea and he goes real well, has he been offered diddly also to lure him back home or will he stay on with Billy Neilson and give the Tige's a full year's service? How will Billy Neilson go in the CGFL? I believe our mob have em round two. We up here all remember your time at Yea well Rosco5? 15 minutes in the sin bin on grand final day and you cost our arch enemy Yea the flag by a kick, it was a great day!!!
Fair enough Rosco, you probably know me also, have played against you.
All the best for the year ahead anyway. Is going to be a tough gig, but look to be recruiting well.
Bombers 2003
11 Jan 2005, 10:49
Riddell League..?? We don't want them,or him!!
Broadford were in the RDFL,when Harley Hammond was president of the RDFL.In fact Harley had been secretary of the Broadford club.And that's a number of years ago.In fact,Alan Ezard was still playing at Broadford in those days ,before he went to the 'Dons.
How would the supporters react in a game between Sunbury and Broady after the Sunbury boys punch the living daylights out of them??. That would be a sight, Broadford have the most feared supporters going around but if you have ever seen Sunbury play you would know how many nut jobs are on that side, you would be hard pressed to find a tougher team.
Charity match this year Sunbury vs Broadford :D , putting up a fundraiser game to help support the Tsunami tragedy, what a sight (shutters).
cheers
jmain14
12 Jan 2005, 09:33
hank, who the bloody hell are you?? at least tell me where you are from or how you know matt doolan??
C'mon Mainy get that thinking cap on, read some of my posts and put the jigsaw puzzle together. My name is on this site in a message somewhere
They say the Fonua's go real good, and Baker is an out and out champion, but it seems the Kanga's are square with Dunne and Lawrence Angwin coming in, dunno much about Smith sorry. Didn't Slade play at Preston, must go ok also? I know coach Ross is claiming Dunne is to play for diddly, fair go Ross, he's never played without his hand out, apparently like a lot down that way, even loyalty comes at a price when Balranald was forking out a grand a week to him. We came up against Tim Webster last year at Yea and he goes real well, has he been offered diddly also to lure him back home or will he stay on with Billy Neilson and give the Tige's a full year's service? How will Billy Neilson go in the CGFL? I believe our mob have em round two. We up here all remember your time at Yea well Rosco5? 15 minutes in the sin bin on grand final day and you cost our arch enemy Yea the flag by a kick, it was a great day!!!
REBEL, sorry I've been 'off-line' for so long down watching the Aussies pummel the Windies and all. (1) it's Tommy Webster and he doesnt know if he'll stay at Yea (2) Billy should go okay in CGFL (3) Dunney will play at Broadford for diddly, I can assure you of that (certainly not what anyone expects him to be putting his hand out for !) (4) less said about the CGFL granny and the fu^$#n :mad: woeful umpires the better, I know they got it wrong and know I didn't cost us the GF so my conscious is clear on that one anyway ..... :)
Q. time for you ??? Is 'Tim' Bayard playing at Alex this year ?
GO HOPPERS : introduce yourself to me when we play and I'll have a brew with you, good to hear some reasonable thoughts around. It is always a tough gig, whether you won the flag the year before or finished last but the enthusiasm's great, that's a start!
HANK : sorry but he didn't tell me who he thought you were or where you were from ?
TIGE : I'd probably rather play against Wodonga Raiders ;) , I've only got one score to settle in all my playing days. Sunbury though, they are a bit feral. Would get a decent crowd anyway .....
Cheers, Rosco.
Lorry, signed sealed and delivered. EOS. Good luck LA. :D :p :)
purple hills
20 Jan 2005, 10:23
Lorry, signed sealed and delivered. EOS. Good luck LA. :D :p :)
So how many $$ he cost Rosco??
GoHoppers
20 Jan 2005, 11:12
So how many $$ he cost Rosco??
Money means nothing to the folk down in Rooland. Baker's crew asked that he still get his $500 a week whilst suspended (some nerve), and with the Fonua's at $400 a pop each now out of the equation, and with Dunne agreeing to play for nothing according to Rosco5, young Lorry will be able to support his widely reported habits quite easily with what he will receive per match.
Any truth in the whisper young Littleword has been approached by Epping in the Diamond Valley club to play under 19's Rosco5?
Rebel31
24 Jan 2005, 15:48
[QUOTE=Rebel31] I know coach Ross is claiming Dunne is to play for diddly, fair go Ross, he's never played without his hand out, apparently like a lot down that way, even loyalty comes at a price when Balranald was forking out a grand a week to him. We came up against Tim Webster last year at Yea and he goes real well, has he been offered diddly also to lure him back home or will he stay on with Billy Neilson and give the Tige's a full year's service? QUOTE]
By Bill McCarthy
January 24 2005
Shepparton News
Nolan said Neilson had come from Broadford with some good ideas including a big commitment to fitness.
"Our main priority is to find a ruckman, which will enable players like Tommy Butterworth to play in a key position. However, we are finding it very hard to compete with clubs in the area that are offering big sums of money."
"We want players who will work hard at achieving a premiership for Yea."
This isn't about Webster is it Rosco5, my uncle played bowls against Broadford just before Xmas and heard that a couple of "silent sponsors" had kicked in $30,000 grand a pop, who's it going to if Dunne aint got his hand out?
GoHoppers
26 Jan 2005, 17:01
"my uncle played bowls against Broadford just before Xmas and heard that a couple of "silent sponsors" had kicked in $30,000 grand a pop."
We have received similar "mail" to the north Rebel31 regarding The Roos newly found fortunes. The word is the $30,000 chap aint a local, but comes from Kilmore and apparently doesn't support his local side in the Riddell League. Angwin must be seeing a truckload of it hey Rosco5 considering Dunne is playing for nothing?
What on earth could a minor club offer to a sponsor in return for $30,000?
Rebel31
27 Jan 2005, 12:22
"my uncle played bowls against Broadford just before Xmas and heard that a couple of "silent sponsors" had kicked in $30,000 grand a pop."
We have received similar "mail" to the north Rebel31 regarding The Roos newly found fortunes. The word is the $30,000 chap aint a local, but comes from Kilmore and apparently doesn't support his local side in the Riddell League. Angwin must be seeing a truckload of it hey Rosco5 considering Dunne is playing for nothing?
What on earth could a minor club offer to a sponsor in return for $30,000?
Alexandra tried to lure Adrian Baker for years, but even $400 a week never even batted an eyelid, so $30,000 wont keep too many happy there anyway. i heard last years coach Peter Tilley was on $500 a week non playing, so maybe Rosco5 is getting a bit of that 30 large. One game Tilley did play (reserves) he put a Bendigo bloke in hospital with about a dozen well time punches and got a two year suspension which in turn saved the club a few bucks late in the year.
Money means nothing to the folk down in Rooland. Baker's crew asked that he still get his $500 a week whilst suspended (some nerve), and with the Fonua's at $400 a pop each now out of the equation, and with Dunne agreeing to play for nothing according to Rosco5, young Lorry will be able to support his widely reported habits quite easily with what he will receive per match.
Any truth in the whisper young Littleword has been approached by Epping in the Diamond Valley club to play under 19's Rosco5?
Money means everything, that it does to some. Baker was only on half that but with all three gone the wallet does not automatically open up.
Angwin will be paid quite obviously and so will Dunny but what you think they are being paid and what is reality are two very different things.
Money is not as much of an issue for some, it doesn't matter what I say, I'm sure supporters from other clubs will all have their own preconceived ideas about how the club managed to lure this player and that.
Truth be known (or is that the rumour mill), Mounts and Colbo are both spending up plenty again for 2005, I couldn't give a toss quite honestly, there are more important things in country footy than the dollar. :eek:
At least we'll still have 'some' local talent in the side because of the kids coming up and players from the town returning in 2005.
PS : Littlewood was approached by West preston, he is staying at Broadford.
[QUOTE=Rebel31] I know coach Ross is claiming Dunne is to play for diddly, fair go Ross, he's never played without his hand out, apparently like a lot down that way, even loyalty comes at a price when Balranald was forking out a grand a week to him. We came up against Tim Webster last year at Yea and he goes real well, has he been offered diddly also to lure him back home or will he stay on with Billy Neilson and give the Tige's a full year's service? QUOTE]
By Bill McCarthy
January 24 2005
Shepparton News
Nolan said Neilson had come from Broadford with some good ideas including a big commitment to fitness.
"Our main priority is to find a ruckman, which will enable players like Tommy Butterworth to play in a key position. However, we are finding it very hard to compete with clubs in the area that are offering big sums of money."
"We want players who will work hard at achieving a premiership for Yea."
This isn't about Webster is it Rosco5, my uncle played bowls against Broadford just before Xmas and heard that a couple of "silent sponsors" had kicked in $30,000 grand a pop, who's it going to if Dunne aint got his hand out?
Rebel, it doesnt matter what I say there will be doubters. Chris has returned to Broadford to put something back into the club, end of story. There are no silent sponsors at the club and if we've got one for 30K that's great. We have not offered Tommy Webster $$, he's come to training a couple of times, that is all.
Hoppers, the rumour mill, the rumour mill !!!!! It ain't 30K and it isn't just for 2005. If we had a 30K sponsor that would make my day. You blokes ..... it's as if nobody else in the HDFL (or any other league for that matter) has a paid player ?????
purple hills
28 Jan 2005, 07:47
Mate just face it. Broadford's name is filth and its gonna take more than an off season to rectify it. I don't play footy against or even near broadford and they are known for being a trashy club in my area also.
jmain14
28 Jan 2005, 08:32
rosco5, off the hdfl subject - do you have any mates at rochy that you still keep in contact with and did you enjoy your time there??
Mainy, I spent 3 great years at Rochy and loved every minute of it, just a pity we couldn't win a flag in 89 or 90.
I caught up with a few blokes (Simon McCarty etc) on a footy trip in 99 (we went to a GV final at Rochy and then to the pub) and caught up with Robbie Miller and ex Prez Bert Aitken late last year.
Apart from that I haven't had much to do with the club although I obviously follow them pretty closely.
The other blokes I travelled with like Micky Gravina and Johnny Atley I haven't really spoken to for 1-2 years, life gets a bit busy with work and kids.
Great club and great people, if it wasn't for work and shifting around I would have loved to stay there but the travel just got too much.
Mate just face it. Broadford's name is filth and its gonna take more than an off season to rectify it. I don't play footy against or even near broadford and they are known for being a trashy club in my area also.
Purple Hills, god knows who you follow or play for but it is just that sort of attitude that hinders clubs regaining the respect of opposition sides, leagues and the general community.
Yes, it does take more than an off season, that's why soem of us took on the jobs. See what pans out and if you're ever in the area feel free to pop in and meet the people from the club you so quickly label as 'trash', you may find you are surprised.
I call them staunch and great supporters, not trash. :mad: Preconceived opinions based on other people's poor judgements ..... I sincerely doubt you'd be able to even find the joint on a map !!
purple hills
28 Jan 2005, 11:36
Well Rosco i really do hope you manage to bring them back to a respectable level and the club benefits from your leadership. Just stating that they wont be at that level for at least a couple of years and in that time if anyone slips up at all everyone will just turn around and say 'they havn't changed one bit'.
I'm also pretty sure that they'll be a strong club on field for years to come as the birth rate is apparantly quite high there. The teenage girls are doing their bit for the towns future.
jmain14
28 Jan 2005, 12:53
Mainy, I spent 3 great years at Rochy and loved every minute of it, just a pity we couldn't win a flag in 89 or 90.
I caught up with a few blokes (Simon McCarty etc) on a footy trip in 99 (we went to a GV final at Rochy and then to the pub) and caught up with Robbie Miller and ex Prez Bert Aitken late last year.
Apart from that I haven't had much to do with the club although I obviously follow them pretty closely.
The other blokes I travelled with like Micky Gravina and Johnny Atley I haven't really spoken to for 1-2 years, life gets a bit busy with work and kids.
Great club and great people, if it wasn't for work and shifting around I would have loved to stay there but the travel just got too much.
yeah its a great town and a great team to play footy for. I had forgotten about micky gravina - we had a pretty good side in the late 80's and early 90's hey. I can't really remember much from back then as I guess I was pretty young at the time but I can remember the '89 and '90 granny's. losing '90 I remember was particularly disappointing as was '93 in those circumstances. I really wanted us to win in '90 as I had stong hatred towards euroa that year - must have been lupson that got to me. he was a bit of a tool hey.
diggidog
28 Jan 2005, 16:34
!!
diggidog
28 Jan 2005, 16:37
We have received similar "mail" to the north Rebel31 regarding The Roos newly found fortunes.
And my Bosses brothers nephews schoolteacher heard that Tony Lockett is lining up for Huntly next year
just on the topic of 30 grand... Talking to one of the blokes at work and he's mate is high up in one of our local clubs... They were looking for a new coach and got told that one bloke they were interesting in wouldn't talk to them for less than 35 K
Go figure...
Well Rosco i really do hope you manage to bring them back to a respectable level and the club benefits from your leadership. Just stating that they wont be at that level for at least a couple of years and in that time if anyone slips up at all everyone will just turn around and say 'they havn't changed one bit'.
I'm also pretty sure that they'll be a strong club on field for years to come as the birth rate is apparantly quite high there. The teenage girls are doing their bit for the towns future.
PurpleHills, yes, there are some 'good girls' down that way, just a tad young though and I have already told the boys the 2 secrets to a good life :
1. always glove up and ;
2. never coach.
yeah its a great town and a great team to play footy for. I had forgotten about micky gravina - we had a pretty good side in the late 80's and early 90's hey. I can't really remember much from back then as I guess I was pretty young at the time but I can remember the '89 and '90 granny's. losing '90 I remember was pariculaly disappointing as was '93 in those circumstances. I really wanted us to win in '90 as I had stong hatred towards euroa that year - must have been lupson that got to me. he was a bit of a tool hey.
Mainy, I have got no idea who you are but give me a hint and I'll work on it or send me a PM. Forgotten Micky Gravina, he'll be devastated, good ol' Funky Mick Gravina (ie FunkyColMedina).
1990 we were 3-4 goals up, although I only know that from watching the video. 89 we were 3 up late in the last 1/4 until Shaun Hart kicked 3 on Funky Mick and Toot Morgan turned it on. 93 I obviously didn't play but a mate of mine who I used to go waterskiing with kicked the winning goal after the siren which was very disappointing after the boys had started the celebrations .....
Lupson : Macquarie dictionary meaning = "world's greatest f*@kwit", outdoes every other tool I have ever met in footy by a mile and now coaching Wodonga Raiders, god help their stupidity. At least if they do well the opposition will know he won't be playing in the GF.
PS : I still hate Euroa with a passion !!!!!
True Roscoe, Adam Houlihan did well to calmly slot that one through, had, had a very quiet day until then.
Yeah I was very surprised when I heard Lupson got the job at the raiders, with his history and reputation you would have thought they could find a better fit, who knows maybe he has matured!!
jmain14
31 Jan 2005, 08:06
True Roscoe, Adam Houlihan did well to calmly slot that one through, had, had a very quiet day until then.
Yeah I was very surprised when I heard Lupson got the job at the raiders, with his history and reputation you would have thought they could find a better fit, who knows maybe he has matured!!
hourihan wasn't it?? think adam houlihan played for geelong and richmond.
jmain14
31 Jan 2005, 08:12
Mainy, I have got no idea who you are but give me a hint and I'll work on it or send me a PM. Forgotten Micky Gravina, he'll be devastated, good ol' Funky Mick Gravina (ie FunkyColMedina).
nah rosco, you wouldn't know me as I would have been about 10 when you were playing at rochy. when I was referring to 'we' at rochy in that post I probably mislead you as all I did was go to the games and hope rochy won. I played my junior footy at rochy and locky but now play down here in melb.
No, didn't mislead me too much, I just thought I may have known your clan or played with a rello or whatever. Where are you playing in Melbourne ?
Hank, trusting him not to f#@k up is like trusting a pit bull terrier with your kids :eek: That's about as mature as Luppo will ever get unfortunately! :)
I just hope, for their sake, that I am wrong. Clubs and committees as a whole need to be held responsible for the decisions they make about who 'leads' and coaches a club and the players they employ. I any of these people do the wrong thing and the club's reputation is damaged because of it due to on or off-field incidents, then the people who employed that person need to be held accountable. At least that's what I think! I'm not saying don't give the bloke a go, but we'll just see what happens .....
jmain14
31 Jan 2005, 11:51
No, didn't mislead me too much, I just thought I may have known your clan or played with a rello or whatever. Where are you playing in Melbourne ?
play for the monash blues in the amo's rosco.
Hope you're not at work then Mainy, playing on BF ??
Yes Roscoe, totally agree, Got to be more impressed by the person than there footballing ablility. And Mainey it is Adam Houlihan(not the one your thinking of), won a Pattison Medal (GV 3rds medal) whilst playing for Kyabram and then got drafted to Essendon but didnt make the grade and ended up at Shepp, originally from Stanhope.
Bombers 2003
1 Feb 2005, 12:33
Lupson : Macquarie dictionary meaning = "world's greatest f*@kwit", outdoes every other tool I have ever met in footy by a mile and now coaching Wodonga Raiders, god help their stupidity.
If Lupson is a 'Fookwit',why did the Wodonga Rovers choose him as Coach?.There are some greater FWs in country football then him and most played at Sunbury eg'chook'Fedoruk.
If Lupson is a 'Fookwit',why did the Wodonga Rovers choose him as Coach?.
that is the mystery here bombers 2003. why would a club competing in a major country footy league appoint such a toss?? I wonder if the amount of players the raiders have lost this year coincides with his appointment.
If Lupson is a 'Fookwit',why did the Wodonga Rovers choose him as Coach?.There are some greater FWs in country football then him and most played at Sunbury eg'chook'Fedoruk.
Bombers2003, I'd forgotten my ol' mate Chook, yes you are on the $$ there !! I remember one day when he actually kicked me while I was on the ground ..... the ball was 15 metres away by then and then tried to knee my head into a goalpost. Quality person the old Chook.
And, yes, Luppo did coach Sunbury to a few flags but just how many did he play in ?? NONE, and that = f*$@wit. I have to agree with mainy, and not for the obvious reasons, why would a club appoint him considering his history ? Goes back to the fact that they will need to be held accountable if he does f&%^$ up, which for their sake I hope he doesn't !
pekay-norwest
8 Feb 2005, 09:07
Great club and great people, if it wasn't for work and shifting around I would have loved to stay there but the travel just got too much. Rosco5 99 GVF grand final was the best game of footy i reckon ill ever see,never seen such rough play look so fluent.we were there on a footy trip from Sydney,the locals looked after us,great atmosphere,great hospitality,great town,awesome footy.would kill to go back there.
Rosco5 99 GVF grand final was the best game of footy i reckon ill ever see,never seen such rough play look so fluent.we were there on a footy trip from Sydney,the locals looked after us,great atmosphere,great hospitality,great town,awesome footy.would kill to go back there.
Pekay, come down to the 2005 GVL GF, I'm sure Mainy and a few others would be able to catch up for a beer.
I assume you're talking about the 99 and not the 89 GF ? :confused:
I don't know about GVL footy being rugged in the rubgy sense of the word but it is tough at times, depending on who you're playing.
Pekay, come down to the 2005 GVL GF, I'm sure Mainy and a few others would be able to catch up for a beer.
I don't know about GVL footy being rugged in the rubgy sense of the word but it is tough at times, depending on who you're playing.
lets hope you were talking about the '99 granny pekay as it was a much better result. yeah rosco, I'd usually be a certainty for a few beers on the sidelines at the gv granny. that said, rochy usually make the granny which unfortunately I can't see happening in '05 so I mightn't get there this year.
It certainly doesn't seem that they will with all the departures and a few blokes gettin' on a bit, but they usually come good. may have an 'off-year' but they've missed the finals once since 1988 so it hasn't been a bad run .....
PS : Lorry is coming to Broadford, we just got a little lost in other topics !!!
pekay-norwest
8 Feb 2005, 12:36
I don't know about GVL footy being rugged in the rubgy sense of the word but it is tough at times, depending on who you're playing. seen enough league up here to realise that Rules players do hit harder and more often,but honestly Rosco,that was brutal footy 99 Demons Tigers.i was only 18 and had a skinful,but for memory i remember 49 (Paul Brown-Dees-ex cats?) took a chest mark on fifty line,subsequently got pole axed,a bit of push and shove on the field was what us young city blokes were after,but when Dees and Tiges fans start doing it in the crowd,i s**t myself.every player without exception put their bodies in the worst possible places,no regard for their own safety, all wanted their hands on that cup.i have the Granny record on my table at home and think back to a game ill never forget.anyway,we have been told that our footy trip hotel in Newcastle wont let us back in 05,and we have been throwing up ideas such as Albury Wagga all the way up the Murray north and south.only early days yet,but i reckon i can convince the teams core(all ********heads) to get a bus and head for the Goulburn Valley.and ill hold you to that beer gents,as Shepparton is the place where i abandoned Tooheys and adopted Carlton Draught as my syrup.they had a special at the supermarkret opp. Mobil servo on the highway.19 blokes walking along the road with 2 cases each-MEMORIES!
[QUOTE=pekay-norwest]seen enough league up here to realise that Rules players do hit harder and more often,but honestly Rosco,that was brutal footy 99 Demons Tigers.i was only 18 and had a skinful,but for memory i remember 49 (Paul Brown-Dees-ex cats?) took a chest mark on fifty line,subsequently got pole axed,a bit of push and shove on the field was what us young city blokes were after,but when Dees and Tiges fans start doing it in the crowd,i s**t myself.every player without exception put their bodies in the worst possible places,no regard for their own safety, all wanted their hands on that cup.i have the Granny record on my table at home and think back to a game ill never forget.[QUOTE]
I can't really remember that game being so fiery, whether that is because we got a little smashed and can't remember much of the day I don't know. will have to take your word for it pekay, however I think you will find that the '90 gv granny was played in more of a brutal fassion. rosco may be able to back me up here.
pekay-norwest
8 Feb 2005, 15:39
[QUOTE=pekay-norwest]seen enough league up here to realise that Rules players do hit harder and more often,but honestly Rosco,that was brutal footy 99 Demons Tigers.i was only 18 and had a skinful,but for memory i remember 49 (Paul Brown-Dees-ex cats?) took a chest mark on fifty line,subsequently got pole axed,a bit of push and shove on the field was what us young city blokes were after,but when Dees and Tiges fans start doing it in the crowd,i s**t myself.every player without exception put their bodies in the worst possible places,no regard for their own safety, all wanted their hands on that cup.i have the Granny record on my table at home and think back to a game ill never forget.[QUOTE]
I can't really remember that game being so fiery, whether that is because we got a little smashed and can't remember much of the day I don't know. will have to take your word for it pekay, however I think you will find that the '90 gv granny was played in more of a brutal fassion. rosco may be able to back me up here.dont doubt it for a second,just watching the "state league" in sydney and then seeing that footy was a shock,no elbows or rough play,just hard at it.
Mainy, no disrespect to Pekay, but I didn't think he was old enough to see the 89 or 90 GF on a footy trip. I didnt see 99 as I was too drunk from my own GF win at that time. 1990 on the other hand did produce some very serious injuries, Adam Edwards broke his arm, or dare I suggest had it broken for him, amongst 3-4 other serious injuries. The price you pay when you play Euroa I s'pose. Head to Shepp Pekay, it'll be a long year for me so I'll be tonguing for a few cans by then and hopefully be nursing my own hangover ..... but we don't want to put the cart before the horse, we've got a lot of work to do !!!!! :rolleyes:
pekay-norwest
9 Feb 2005, 08:41
Mainy, no disrespect to Pekay, but I didn't think he was old enough to see the 89 or 90 GF on a footy trip. I didnt see 99 as I was too drunk from my own GF win at that time. 1990 on the other hand did produce some very serious injuries, Adam Edwards broke his arm, or dare I suggest had it broken for him, amongst 3-4 other serious injuries. The price you pay when you play Euroa I s'pose. Head to Shepp Pekay, it'll be a long year for me so I'll be tonguing for a few cans by then and hopefully be nursing my own hangover ..... but we don't want to put the cart before the horse, we've got a lot of work to do !!!!! :rolleyes: thats what i get for hanging with you old buzzards haha!no offense taken gents,was only 8-9 in those yrs.
thats what i get for hanging with you old buzzards haha!no offense taken gents,was only 8-9 in those yrs.
as was I pekay. don't think the old man let me drink that day.
madtiger
9 Feb 2005, 12:22
Is that Mark fedoruk you are talking about? was he one of the half a dozen or so players that went up to play a Mooropna a couple of years ago and raped and pillaged the club for money and spent half the year suspended?? yeah he was a class act he grabbed me on the crown jewels one game.
Yeah good on young Angwin :p I reckon the best thing for him is to get on with it, although im dissapointed that Baker has done a runner especially to Tongala. Would have been good to see Anguin try and pinch baker's wallet and then lie to him. :eek:
As for Lupson, well it was pretty low but he achieved what he set out to :mad: It set the pies on the way and the rest is history. I must say that Rochy didnt even let up a whimper and throw a few after that.......so if you ask me they were to gutless to take home the silverware.
Yeah good on young Angwin :p I reckon the best thing for him is to get on with it, although im dissapointed that Baker has done a runner especially to Tongala. Would have been good to see Anguin try and pinch baker's wallet and then lie to him. :eek:
As for Lupson, well it was pretty low but he achieved what he set out to :mad: It set the pies on the way and the rest is history. I must say that Rochy didnt even let up a whimper and throw a few after that.......so if you ask me they were to gutless to take home the silverware.
Them be some harsh words Junkie !
I'm just glad to see that the same shizenhouzen that won them the flag in 1990 would nowadays end up with them playing with 15-16 players, which is what should have happened.
Yes, it is history but to say that 1990 Rochy side was a bit heartless is a bit harsh, some of the toughest players I have ever played with were in that side and the lack of retaliation actually got us back in the game in the second and third 1/4's.
A lack of legs in the last 40 minutes cost us the game and the fact that 2 players sat on the bench and couldn't come back on .....
But Badaginnie is close to Euroa I suppose.
PS : Broadford FC was told that they would not be readmitted to the league unless Baker departed, the club could have fought for him but he took it upon himself to depart for 1-2 years with a view to coming back rather than have the league hold the club to ransom. By the way Lorry is training well and should be an asset to the club.
Is that Mark fedoruk you are talking about? was he one of the half a dozen or so players that went up to play a Mooropna a couple of years ago and raped and pillaged the club for money and spent half the year suspended?? yeah he was a class act he grabbed me on the crown jewels one game.
Tige, I didn't know he went to Mooommoooopna to play ? It would be one and the same if what you say about him is correct ..... he is a strange one !!
Bombers 2003
10 Feb 2005, 11:06
In deed,itis the same Mark'Chook'Fedoruk.
yes GV Granny's are always a memorable day whether playing or watching, excellent set up having it on the Sunday after the AFL, what better Sunday session could u ask for. Dont think I've missed one since '90 and been lucky to play in a couple in that time(1-1 result).
P.S. That should give you a fair Idea who I am Mainy.
jmain14
10 Feb 2005, 13:59
sorry hank, still have got absolutely no idea. presume you played at rochy. what years??
jmain14
10 Feb 2005, 14:07
this lorry angwin thread is now on its 7th page and I'd reckon a maximum of 2 pages would conern lorry.
is lorry a good bloke rosco??
Madtiger i was speaking to one of the guys that recruited Mark and Matt Power and Chook to Mooropona and they most deffiently dont think they raped them for cash then took off, in fact they still maintain a fairly healthy relationship with the club.
Chook wasnt a bad player in his day and as good as a footballer he could be he was a much better fighter haha.
cheers
jmain14
10 Feb 2005, 14:48
********** sorry hank, I have worked it out now. now it all makes sense. what's going on?? how are stanhope shaping up??
I am not actually justin main by the way, just use his name. am friends with him though.
Yeah worked that out with one of the threads u wrote, but you would have been playing 3rds there when I was first at Rochy. Yeah shaping up ok at the moment, Hoota is playing and a couple others coming back. Scottie Hanson has got heaps of money at Rushy to throw around though so going to be hard to beat them again, especially with Stevie Rass carving up the midfield!. Are talking to a big name GV player who could put us in the ball park. Will wait and see. So where r u situated, playing footy?
jmain14
10 Feb 2005, 15:59
yeah stevey rass should be in for a big year I'd say. I'd say that scotty will let him do pretty much what he wants - something that he probably couldn't get away with at rochy.
I am situated in melb hank, and own a greyhound that has been mentioned on this site. think you ridiculed it at the time actually.
I haven't had much on at work lately, and it seems they are paying me pretty much to use this site.
Bombers 2003
10 Feb 2005, 17:13
Chook wasnt a bad player in his day and as good as a footballer he could be he was a much better fighter haha.
Wont disagree with either of those statements.
this lorry angwin thread is now on its 7th page and I'd reckon a maximum of 2 pages would conern lorry.
is lorry a good bloke rosco??
Yeah, a bit of a tangent here or there Mainy. For info Lorry is quite a nice bloke, had a lot of good chats with him. He admits he doesn't have what it takes to play AFL, the pressure of being drafted out of state and all that, pressures at CFC etc etc and he made mistakes. We all do, his just get documented a bit more than others. He is travelling along well, working hard and training hard. Looks a belter on the track, good hang time and hard at it. Hope he keeps going .....
yes GV Granny's are always a memorable day whether playing or watching, excellent set up having it on the Sunday after the AFL, what better Sunday session could u ask for. Dont think I've missed one since '90 and been lucky to play in a couple in that time(1-1 result).
You're obviously not from Seymour Hank, hahaha !!! Doin' better than me, I was 0-2 in 3 years of GV.
yeah stevey rass should be in for a big year I'd say. I'd say that scotty will let him do pretty much what he wants - something that he probably couldn't get away with at rochy.
I am situated in melb hank, and own a greyhound that has been mentioned on this site. think you ridiculed it at the time actually.
I haven't had much on at work lately, and it seems they are paying me pretty much to use this site.
Sorry to read your personal mail Mainy, but I did guess you were being paid to play on BF. I actually thought you were running the site at one stage !?!?!? Haha.