View Full Version : Adelaide Crows Supporters Group.
maccas_no1
30 Dec 2004, 20:01
I am calling on all 2004 Members of the Supporters Group In Adelaide and Melbourne not to rejoin in 2005. You now ask why????
1. The group only looks after a very few member's they are the so called 'clicky' group they are the only people who get looked after, they are generally those who are on the committee. I dont feel members are getting value for money for the effort that they put in.
2. The group in Melbourne get's no thanks for the work they do and the effort that is put in, a majority of the time, the group from Adelaide comes to Victoria takes over and allows the member's in Victoria no rights and get nothing from their membership.
3. Like alot of people have mentioned at games in either Adelaide or Melbourne the group has no passion and no enthusiasum, this needs to change and only a huge clean out of the 'clicky' group will change that.
This is nothing personal this is the better for the group as a whole at the moment members have no voice to change things, the group is in decline and it has to stop, this is only way they may wake up and that is simply not to rejoin, for you guys in Victoria I am planning next year to take sit else where as a group and I can bet you we will be louder and prouder and more passionate than those bunch of ****************s from Adelaide.
Mad Dog
30 Dec 2004, 20:14
what happened Maccas_no1....??
JF_Bay_22_SCG
30 Dec 2004, 20:30
Politics in a Cheer Squad? Never heard of that before. ;)
As much as the Crows SC has been extra-cordial to me on my trips to Adelaide, I have heard the same thing from quite a few people.
The Crows Cheer Squad was at its best when Nick Bowles ran it. Big flags, docket rolls, people with mullets (wel it is Adelaide! ;) ), awesome curtain banners.
It is sad to see little more than just those shocking floggers and the "Crows SG" sign at match.
You club should really be the passionate in the land, with the supporter base it has at its disposal. But sadly, just like the Eagles further west, it unfortunately isn't.
Good luck Macca. But try to keep things inhouse as much as you can bud...
JF
PS:- Meet you at the Shed at West Lakes for the Crows-Swans mstch mate?
maccas_no1
30 Dec 2004, 20:39
Im not sure why the group has headed this way but change is needed I have emailed and spoken to the committe but nothing has changed, the group in melbourne is very disorganised and is not being run by the right person, I was running the group up until the end of the 2003 season, for some reason they didnt want me to run the group anymore and one of the 'clicky' group peole were told to run the group. I think some people are too comfy in their positions on the committee, they have been there far too long and the whole group needs a fresh outlook. I have been a member of the group for 6 yrs.
AngelEyes
30 Dec 2004, 21:57
Why start a cheer squad revolution when there's no hope? I suggest to stop being bitter about it Marty and move on. (right now you're saying your not bitter and you have moved on, but to still be going on about the cheersquad, yes I know it cut you deep but it was a year ago...nearly, I think..)
Sorry again Marty but I had to say it.
maccas_no1
30 Dec 2004, 22:57
Why start a cheer squad revolution when there's no hope? I suggest to stop being bitter about it Marty and move on. (right now you're saying your not bitter and you have moved on, but to still be going on about the cheersquad, yes I know it cut you deep but it was a year ago...nearly, I think..)
Sorry again Marty but I had to say it.
It's not a personal thing, it is to try and benefit the group as a whole and the members of the group, if we keep paying our money for nothing in return why be a part of it????? While the committee get everything all the invites to AFC functions and the same people go and nobody else gets a look in, the same people get praised, yet the little people probably the ones that put in the most effort arent thanked :( The group in Melbourne has had no thanks for the last two seasons not even a mention from the President Darryl Carter in the past two CSG Yearbooks, you look through the photo's in the Yearbook it is only members of the committee nobody else it's only acknowledging about 15 people in a group that has over 200 members pretty poor effort.
Capitalist
31 Dec 2004, 08:07
well macca - start a revolution or a new group something - looking in from the outside the Adealide Cheersquad would be one of the quietest and unoriginal of most of them so maybe a fresh group would help !!
Markthirtytwo
31 Dec 2004, 08:55
Why not start a BF Supporters Group. Just have it between ourselves.
Just an idea to float out there, their or is it they're. ;)
Capitalist
31 Dec 2004, 08:56
very good idea !!
SpringChoke
31 Dec 2004, 09:01
If it includes p*ss ups at the Shed for those that are unable to attend away matches i'm in.
Capitalist
31 Dec 2004, 09:21
If it includes p*ss ups at the Shed for those that are unable to attend away matches i'm in.
even better idea !! - also you could like it to the unofficial crows website
Mad Dog
31 Dec 2004, 09:26
where do I sign ????
Capitalist
31 Dec 2004, 09:30
alright macca (or should I say Marty ?) - time to step up to the plate !!
I reckon you should try and see how many people are keen on this board - you might not get heaps straight away but this board would be a good place to start
portentous
31 Dec 2004, 12:37
Have you passed on your thoughts to the club? I'm sure they'd be interested. I'm a committee member of Ports' supporter club in Adelaide, but won't go near the Port Cheer Squad (too many ferals for my liking). Fortunately our groups seem to be run by great people but the club would be disappointed if ours headed down the path of "clickiness" I think. Given that it's an official "representation" of AFC, I honestly think you should air your views to an official at your club.
Paralowiepower
31 Dec 2004, 12:47
The thing is portentous, their cheer squad is the Crows supporter group, unlike at Port where the cheer squad and The Official Supporter Club are seperate.
It would be very hard for another group to gain Official status by the club.
But good luck anyway!
portentous
31 Dec 2004, 13:00
The thing is portentous, their cheer squad is the Crows supporter group, unlike at Port where the cheer squad and The Official Supporter Club are seperate.
It would be very hard for another group to gain Official status by the club.
But good luck anyway!
Time for a change then. Good luck with it guys.
maccas_no1
31 Dec 2004, 15:25
alright macca (or should I say Marty ?) - time to step up to the plate !!
I reckon you should try and see how many people are keen on this board - you might not get heaps straight away but this board would be a good place to start
Righto here we go anyone interested in forming a Bigfooty Crows Supporters Group PM me, it dont matter where you live this a group for all :)
maccas_no1
31 Dec 2004, 15:28
Have you passed on your thoughts to the club? I'm sure they'd be interested. I'm a committee member of Ports' supporter club in Adelaide, but won't go near the Port Cheer Squad (too many ferals for my liking). Fortunately our groups seem to be run by great people but the club would be disappointed if ours headed down the path of "clickiness" I think. Given that it's an official "representation" of AFC, I honestly think you should air your views to an official at your club.
No have never approached the club only tried to improve things by speaking to the committee, but to no avail, it's a hopeless situation.
lozstar
31 Dec 2004, 16:19
I know what Marty means... I'm a member of the Supporters Group, and went over with them on a bus to Sydney for the game at the S.C.G... They have their little group, and thats it.. Its fair enough if they want to be like that, but I thought they'd be not so clingy to only their group and offer to let others be involved seeing as they are all there for the one club.
Luckily, Blues_Girl was there with me, otherwise I'd have DIED of BOREDOM.. Seeing 90% of the girls on the bus/in their group trying to chat up Mark gets less funny each time it happens.
maccas_no1
31 Dec 2004, 18:12
I know what Marty means... I'm a member of the Supporters Group, and went over with them on a bus to Sydney for the game at the S.C.G... They have their little group, and thats it.. Its fair enough if they want to be like that, but I thought they'd be not so clingy to only their group and offer to let others be involved seeing as they are all there for the one club.
Luckily, Blues_Girl was there with me, otherwise I'd have DIED of BOREDOM.. Seeing 90% of the girls on the bus/in their group trying to chat up Mark gets less funny each time it happens.
Well you know what to do Loz bail out dont be apart of something you dont feel apart of, Mark, meh only 50+ yr old women or 14 yr old girls are interested in him.
Markthirtytwo
31 Dec 2004, 18:24
Well you know what to do Loz bail out dont be apart of something you dont feel apart of, Mark, meh only 50+ yr old women or 14 yr old girls are interested in him.
To which Mark are you referring to young man. :o :confused:
maccas_no1
31 Dec 2004, 18:32
To which Mark are you referring to young man. :o :confused:
Not yourself unless you are Mark Williams the Vice President of the Cheer Squad, and the love of every 50+ woman or 14yr old girls dream :p
Markthirtytwo
31 Dec 2004, 18:43
Not yourself unless you are Mark Williams the Vice President of the Cheer Squad, and the love of every 50+ woman or 14yr old girls dream :p
The name is different but the image is about right. :D
maccas_no1
31 Dec 2004, 22:06
The name is different but the image is about right. :D
LOL :D
SpringChoke
1 Jan 2005, 17:37
Righto here we go anyone interested in forming a Bigfooty Crows Supporters Group PM me, it dont matter where you live this a group for all :)
Be careful when you say "it don't matter where you live" mac. Surely there must be a strict no weapons/moccasins policy for residents of Paralowie?
JF_Bay_22_SCG
1 Jan 2005, 19:21
Here is their website. (So get your poison darts ready everyone. ;-))
http://www.crows.com.au/
Whatever you guys say, I have always really liked their banners. I like the font of their lettering. But yeah, they have no flags, awful floggers, don't really cheer much. And as outsiders come across as a bunch of middle aged ladies, rather weird in the the Cheer Squad world I'd think.
I would suggest somebody take this thread to either the club or the SG commitee directly. Bitching about something behind people's backs only leads to nothing getting resolved. and greater public upheaval..
Good luck with it all. I'm interested in Cheer Squads and what they give to the all-over football experience.
Here is a good website about Cheer Squad culture. It sure is a good read, I reckon.
http://alf.magpies.net/
JF
maccas_no1
1 Jan 2005, 20:23
I would suggest somebody take this thread to either the club or the SG commitee directly. Bitching about something behind people's backs only leads to nothing getting resolved. and greater public upheaval..
Good luck with it all. I'm interested in Cheer Squads and what they give to the all-over football experience.
Agree with you totally on that point and in no way will I be doing any backstabing cause that is exactly the way the CS works and half the problem's in the group, the whole idea of this is to make the group better.
Markthirtytwo
2 Jan 2005, 09:57
Be careful when you say "it don't matter where you live" mac. Surely there must be a strict no weapons/moccasins policy for residents of Paralowie?
Include mullets and chardenhey!
maccas_no1
3 Jan 2005, 15:43
So far we have only three people who want to be part of the Crows BF Supporters Group we need more, this will benefit the club as a whole more vocal support ;)
markthirtytwo, capitalist and myself are in ;)
Capitalist
3 Jan 2005, 18:31
thats a little bit disapointing considering the noise that happens here I would have thought more people would be interested - I reckon I might try and get a couple of my non-BF mates to sign on !
So far we have only three people who want to be part of the Crows BF Supporters Group we need more, this will benefit the club as a whole more vocal support ;)
markthirtytwo, capitalist and myself are in ;)
what exactly have you got in mind for the supporters group ??
I would be happy to be involved but I need to know what the deal is before knowing whether I can commit or not.... :)
maccas_no1
3 Jan 2005, 21:29
what exactly have you got in mind for the supporters group ??
I would be happy to be involved but I need to know what the deal is before knowing whether I can commit or not.... :)
Not sure on all the details as yet but the plan is to get a group in Adelaide and a group in Melbourne and sitting together as a group, chanting and getting the crowd going, simply be better than what we have now with the lifeless Crows Supporters Group. There is alot of 'untapped' passion with the people on this board lets bring it out and benefit the club as whole :)
id be more than happy to get involved. i try to get the crowd going at games anyway but i could do with some help, i sit in the members and im only 20 so i do tend to stand out when i actualy barrack rather than this "well done Mark" BS that the oldies come out with or "go number 32", i swear if i hear them one more time i will die! My biggest problem is due to umpiring and work i cant always get to the games and that annoys me too, especially considering my brother gets my ticket and he just sits there and does nothing. sign me up for sure :)
maccas_no1
4 Jan 2005, 05:47
id be more than happy to get involved. i try to get the crowd going at games anyway but i could do with some help, i sit in the members and im only 20 so i do tend to stand out when i actualy barrack rather than this "well done Mark" BS that the oldies come out with or "go number 32", i swear if i hear them one more time i will die! My biggest problem is due to umpiring and work i cant always get to the games and that annoys me too, especially considering my brother gets my ticket and he just sits there and does nothing. sign me up for sure :)
Welcome aboard Roodog ;) Come on Crows fans join up!!!!!!!!
arrowman
4 Jan 2005, 09:21
Well, I'll be in it in any way I can. I agree that the crowd needs a "gee up" but it's pretty hard when you're just one, I'd be better at it if I had some like-minded mates nearby!
(We'll get more help for the games when my daughter comes with me - she has no shame!) Not sure about how this "all sitting together" business could work, with season tickets / allocated eating etc, but I'm willing to give it a go.
A while back there was a thread where we talked about where we sit - this is useful information for a supporters' group.
I'm in Bay 131, Row U.
Capitalist
4 Jan 2005, 09:36
WEll being in the members may be an issue I never seem to sit in the same spot once, I also agree with arrowman that the crowd needs a gee up to get the noise back that has been missing for a few years now
maccas_no1
4 Jan 2005, 15:06
Not sure about how this "all sitting together" business could work, with season tickets / allocated eating etc, but I'm willing to give it a go.
Yeah that will be one issue we will have to try to overcome in Adelaide, Melbourne isnt to much of a problem we can sit near the players race on level 1 at Telstra Dome I can get hold of a seating plan of the 'G' and see where the best general admission area is where we can sit and same with Geelong and York Park in Tassie ;) At the moment we need interest, we need you guys to get involved we need to make the CSG stand up and be counted if we can get a group in Adelaide that is showing them up that would be great ;)
We also need new idea's for chants, slogan's etc.
Capitalist
4 Jan 2005, 15:29
I know its a long shot but you could try and recruit via KG & Cornsey, Cornsey is always crapping on about needing more noise !
Also I think that it would be better if people are not stuck together in a mass all the time, it would be good at interstate games but home games we just need to get people on the same wave length, that is making noise at the right time and if they hear someone taking the lead join in the noise
one no no is giving everyone a piece of paper and telling them to read it out at the game (some people did that at the rugby and it was really really crap)
You could also see if they will put it on the unofficial crows fansite that people on the board are trying to make
arrowman
4 Jan 2005, 17:18
...We also need new idea's for chants, slogan's etc.We had (I started) a thread on that last year, didn't get much outcome (apart from a bit of to and fro with the Centrals supporters ;) ). But these things don't happen overnight. Push too hard, too fast and you end up with something like the Port Adelaide club song ;)
To be quite honest, I'd rather just hear more noise (especially when we're behind) even if it is boring old "Adder-layde, clap-clap-clap". We have to at least get people opening their mouths first, then we can teach them some new words.
portentous
4 Jan 2005, 17:29
We had (I started) a thread on that last year, didn't get much outcome (apart from a bit of to and fro with the Centrals supporters ;) ). But these things don't happen overnight. Push too hard, too fast and you end up with something like the Port Adelaide club song ;)
To be quite honest, I'd rather just hear more noise (especially when we're behind) even if it is boring old "Adder-layde, clap-clap-clap". We have to at least get people opening their mouths first, then we can teach them some new words.
You can't teach a bunch of old dogs, new tricks..... :p
maccas_no1
4 Jan 2005, 18:17
We had (I started) a thread on that last year, didn't get much outcome (apart from a bit of to and fro with the Centrals supporters But these things don't happen overnight. Push too hard, too fast and you end up with something like the Port Adelaide club song
Over the last year I have been trying to start up a slow adelaide like they do a EPL games but hasnr be taken on, ohh I was also the inventor of Goooooooooooo Yooooooooouuuuuuuuuuuu Crooooooooooowwwwwwwwssssssssss :D