View Full Version : draft top 10 - who do they remind you of

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

worthy
31 Dec 2004, 06:41
just wondering from those that have seen these guys play.
what current or past afl players do those picked top 10 remind you of.

OldSchool
31 Dec 2004, 07:13
just wondering from those that have seen these guys play.
what current or past afl players do those picked top 10 remind you of.
I'll give you the Hawks ones.

Roughead - Croad/Penny
Franklin - Goodes
Lewis - Waters

Lockyer24
31 Dec 2004, 09:40
Deledio - Anthony Banik

worthy
31 Dec 2004, 09:44
I'll give you the Hawks ones.

Roughead - Croad/Penny
Franklin - Goodes
Lewis - Waters

cheers mate :) is that chris waters ex wce

OldSchool
31 Dec 2004, 10:06
cheers mate :) is that chris waters ex wce
No it's Beau Waters who's at the West Coast

OldSchool
31 Dec 2004, 10:07
Deledio - Anthony Banik
Not funny. More like Goddard.

rota69
31 Dec 2004, 10:20
deledio-chris judd

tambling-daniel wells

leonmagic
31 Dec 2004, 10:22
I've heard Egan being compared to O'Loughlin a few times by actual experts, eg. Sheehan (Kevin, not Mike obviously).

OldSchool
31 Dec 2004, 10:42
I've heard Egan being compared to O'Loughlin a few times by actual experts, eg. Sheehan (Kevin, not Mike obviously).
Egan might have a bit more leap on him than O'Loughlin but it a good comparison

soapy
31 Dec 2004, 10:44
Deledio - Adem Yze
Roughead - David Schwarz
Griffen - Lenny Hayes
Tambling - Peter Matera
Franklin - Jared Brennan
Williams - Trent Croad
Lewis - Cameron Ling
Meesen - Darren Jolly
Russell - Robert Murphy
Egan - Xavier Clarke

Snickers
31 Dec 2004, 11:59
Deledio - Adem Yze
Roughead - David Schwarz
Griffen - Lenny Hayes
Tambling - Peter Matera
Franklin - Jared Brennan
Williams - Trent Croad
Lewis - Cameron Ling
Meesen - Darren Jolly
Russell - Robert Murphy
Egan - Xavier Clarke

Griffen must be good then! :D

OldSchool
31 Dec 2004, 12:06
Probably the 2nd best player in the draft if not the best. Hayes is a good comparison.

Snickers
31 Dec 2004, 12:10
Probably the 2nd best player in the draft if not the best. Hayes is a good comparison.
I get the feeling Griffen has been underrated (as in not much said about him), very much like Lenny.

Bentleigh
31 Dec 2004, 12:36
I get the feeling Griffen has been underrated (as in not much said about him), very much like Lenny.

He is not underrated what so ever. He is widly consitered the most likly to become a superstar out of the lot. Along with the abilty to play very good football in his first year.

TheGeneral
31 Dec 2004, 12:42
If Egan is like Xavier Clarke he's going to need a lot of work.
Jordan Russell I hope turns out more like Nigel Lappin than Robert Murphy.
According to the "experts" Meeson's more like Charman or even Troy Simmonds if the claims that he can play forward are true.
Burley Griffin description by Wisbey likens him to Buckley.

Snickers
31 Dec 2004, 12:46
He is not underrated what so ever. He is widly consitered the most likly to become a superstar out of the lot. Along with the abilty to play very good football in his first year.
Compared to the talk and the hype around Deledio and Tambling there hasnt been much said . All i hear on this boards are about Deledio and Tambling, the Bulldogs supporters stay quiet about Griffen, (which is fine) so therefore not much has been said really.

Bentleigh
31 Dec 2004, 12:53
Compared to the talk and the hype around Deledio and Tambling there hasnt been much said . All i hear on this boards are about Deledio and Tambling, the Bulldogs supporters stay quiet about Griffen, (which is fine) so therefore not much has been said really.

There has been alot of talk about the kid. He was easily a top 3 pick, close to no. 1. If you believe what you read on these boards 14 odd clubs had him as their no. 1 choice in this draft.

Do a serch for 'Ryan Griffin, the perfect footballer' and tell me if ya reckon he hasnt been talked about.

sinepari
31 Dec 2004, 12:59
deledio-chris judd

tambling-daniel wells
Full marks for wishfull thinking. Im not quite sure if he is a judd!

liz
31 Dec 2004, 13:06
Egan might have a bit more leap on him than O'Loughlin but it a good comparison

O'Loughlin might have had a bit more leap on him when he was 17yo too - before chronic knee tendonitis set in.

Effes
31 Dec 2004, 13:17
Could you say Tambling is similar to Judd in terms of pace and also ability to win the ball in contested situations?

Infamy
31 Dec 2004, 13:38
Full marks for wishfull thinking. Im not quite sure if he is a judd!

Deledio moves a lot like Judd, and has that explosive pace
He won't be the pack breaker that Judd is though, his deficiency at draft camp was in the contact drills. He's not a receiver, but no Coughlan either.

He'll end up being a lot bigger than Judd too, he's 188cm/81kg at 17, Judd is 189cm/82kg at 21.

OldSchool
31 Dec 2004, 13:50
I get the feeling Griffen has been underrated (as in not much said about him), very much like Lenny. I agree with Bentleigh, Griffen was far from underrated and the Bulldogs can thank the Hawks for going into the draft looking for KPP rather than the best available. Huge mistake imo.
Griffen was close to being the best player but because Deledio might grown into a KPP he was rated slightly ahead. I think Griffen might actually end up a bit better player than Hayes and I know that's a big statement but he is an excellent talent. If he ends as good then he will be great for us but I just have the feeling he will be a bit better.

Infamy
31 Dec 2004, 15:05
I think its very possible we end up with a Deledio-Roughead-Griffen situation very similar to the Hodge-Ball-Judd of 2001
Only difference being that this year they were pretty different players. Hard to compare a Roughead to a Ball or even a Griffen for that matter

Griffen may not have had the long term injury concerns of Judd (I know his knee wasn't right at draft camp), but it would look like Griffen is the most likely to be a 200+ gamer of the lot, its just that Deledio probably has more scope for superstar status, which is why Griffen slipped to 3. Every chance he'll end up as the pick of the bunch though and in a few years everyone will be wondering why Richmond passed on a player considered by many to be the best at the time.

I certainly hope not though. Chances of both Dildo & Tambo not making it are pretty slim though so I'm sure we'll end up looking good out of it all.

Snickers
31 Dec 2004, 15:10
There has been alot of talk about the kid. He was easily a top 3 pick, close to no. 1. If you believe what you read on these boards 14 odd clubs had him as their no. 1 choice in this draft.

Do a serch for 'Ryan Griffin, the perfect footballer' and tell me if ya reckon he hasnt been talked about.
All im saying is...... has there been more talk about deledio or griffen??
DELEDIO.
Thats all i said, so stop following me around on each post i make and bagging me for having a say at what i believe in ok, Bentleigh.

Infamy
31 Dec 2004, 15:15
Only cause he was touted as the most likely #1 pick in all the mass-media coverage leading up to the draft
Its the same every year
Just because anywhere from 3 to 10 clubs thought Griffen was better doesn't change the fact that he wasn't likely to go #1

Snickers
31 Dec 2004, 15:25
Im saying it one more time......... There has been more talk about Deledio for whatever reason, whether it be because he was number one pick or anything, thats all i said.

Infamy
31 Dec 2004, 15:38
Not really, you said talk AND hype
There's just as much hype on Griffen, just that there's been more 'talk' on the others because of the #1 selection

Snickers
31 Dec 2004, 15:55
Not really, you said talk AND hype
There's just as much hype on Griffen, just that there's been more 'talk' on the others because of the #1 selection
There has been MORE hype around Deledio though!

Infamy
31 Dec 2004, 16:00

Sorry, but this is what you said.
You infer that there has been not much talk or hype about Griffen, which is patently false

Now you simple say there is has been more for Deledio, well no shiiit, he's was the predicted and actual #1 pick, what to you expect?

theorangeapple
31 Dec 2004, 16:03
i wouldnt be at all suprised if griffen turns out to be the pick of the draft. i heard alot of recruiting managers say he was their no1 pick, including crows and eagles.

deledio has a bigger upside than griffen, he is younger, taller and more athletic. however, he isnt quite as good as griffen yet from what i have gathered. the tigers are banking on natural improvement.

OldSchool
31 Dec 2004, 16:06
i wouldnt be at all suprised if griffen turns out to be the pick of the draft. i heard alot of recruiting managers say he was their no1 pick, including crows and eagles.

deledio has a bigger upside than griffen, he is younger, taller and more athletic. however, he isnt quite as good as griffen yet from what i have gathered. the tigers are banking on natural improvement.Spot on.
I think there was something like 6 or 7 clubs that indicated that they rated Griffen as their number 1. For the Dogs to get him at 3 is a bargin.

Snickers
31 Dec 2004, 16:11
Sorry, but this is what you said.
You infer that there has been not much talk or hype about Griffen, which is patently false

Now you simple say there is has been more for Deledio, well no shiiit, he's was the predicted and actual #1 pick, what to you expect?

Thats what i said.

COMPARED to!!!!!!!!!

I will explain it to you in BABY terms for you Richmond supporters...... it means that you look or listen about the two players and you make a judgment on who has had more media coverage etc.....
UNDERSTAND!!

And thats what i said.... I didnt say he wasnt being talked about at all. I said that he wasnt recieving AS MUCH media coverage or talk or hype surrounding him rather than Deledio.

blue boy
31 Dec 2004, 16:22
i heard that luke blackwell is havng a great pre-season

Infamy
31 Dec 2004, 16:56
Thats what i said.

COMPARED to!!!!!!!!!

I will explain it to you in BABY terms for you Richmond supporters...... it means that you look or listen about the two players and you make a judgment on who has had more media coverage etc.....
UNDERSTAND!!

And thats what i said.... I didnt say he wasnt being talked about at all. I said that he wasnt recieving AS MUCH media coverage or talk or hype surrounding him rather than Deledio.

You didn't say there hasn't been AS much, you said there hasn't BEEN much
Who's the one that needs things explained in baby terms? I'm having to remind you of what you wrote

deck
31 Dec 2004, 17:09
Franklin was talked up as being very chris tarrant like at the teal cup carnival.

Snickers
31 Dec 2004, 17:36
You didn't say there hasn't been AS much, you said there hasn't BEEN much
Who's the one that needs things explained in baby terms? I'm having to remind you of what you wrote
Well there hasnt BEEN much, COMPARED to Deledio. Thats what i have been saying this whole convo.

Infamy
31 Dec 2004, 18:33
Hence we come full circle back to the original point
There has been plenty of talk about Griffen both on forums and in the media.
From memory the front page of The Age when they had their draft preview had a photo of Griffen. I know he was up in the header at some stage, just not sure when exactly.
To say he hasn't had much talk or hype, even compared to Deledio is wrong. If you ask me he's probably even had more coverage than Roughead, as it turned out an earlier pick. There's been sweet FA about him since he was picked up.

sinepari
31 Dec 2004, 18:34
He'll end up being a lot bigger than Judd too, he's 188cm/81kg at 17, Judd is 189cm/82kg at 21.
Well then he's not like judd is he.Judd is too rare to be compared to.

Infamy
31 Dec 2004, 18:42
While women lie in this regards, when it comes to footy, size isn't everything
Not when it comes to comparing player styles anyway

Hammerfire
31 Dec 2004, 19:24
I wouldn't say Griffen is underrated, he was pick 3 and thus he was picked higher than Tambling.

I've heard a number of times that Deledio is a overall better and younger version of Goddard, but from a couple of games i've see him play i would compare him to Chris Judd.

Just take out Judd's pure inside midfielder skills and replace it with versatility around the ground and overhead marking.

F/D
31 Dec 2004, 19:31
Chris Egan=Rapheal Clarke

Snickers
1 Jan 2005, 01:45
Hence we come full circle back to the original point
There has been plenty of talk about Griffen both on forums and in the media.
From memory the front page of The Age when they had their draft preview had a photo of Griffen. I know he was up in the header at some stage, just not sure when exactly.
To say he hasn't had much talk or hype, even compared to Deledio is wrong. If you ask me he's probably even had more coverage than Roughead, as it turned out an earlier pick. There's been sweet FA about him since he was picked up.

Deledio has had way more coverage than Griffen, and yes, Griffen has had more coverage than Roughead i didnt say that he didnt did i.

Johnson#26
1 Jan 2005, 09:58
Chris Egan - Gavin Wanganeen
Roughead - Croad
Deledio - Hodge

Adam Iacobucci - Byron Pickett - take it from me.

OldSchool
1 Jan 2005, 10:28
Roughead - Croad
Deledio - Hodge

Good comparisons

Hammerfire
1 Jan 2005, 10:35
Deledio - Hodge

Hodge - 184cm @ 20 1/2 years old
Deledio - 189cm @ 17 1/2 years old

OldSchool
1 Jan 2005, 10:51
Hodge - 184cm @ 20 1/2 years old
Deledio - 189cm @ 17 1/2 years old
What's the point you are try to make ? J26 thinks their footy abilities are similar.

Mr Miller
1 Jan 2005, 11:03
Deledio = Buckley/Pavlich
Roughead = Neitz/Jakovich
Griffen = Hayes/R.Harvey
Tambling = Wells/P.Matera
Franklin = Tarrant/Goodes
Williams = Croad/Harley
Lewis = Barnard/D.Harris
Meesen = Clark/Charman
Russell = Yze/Bowden
Egan = O'Loughlin/X.Clark

TheGeneral
1 Jan 2005, 12:09
Roughead - Croad
Deledio - Hodge

Iacobucci = Stephen Patterson.

tigers1au
1 Jan 2005, 12:27
Deledio - Chris Mainwaring, only taller
Roughead - Nietz, but not as quick over the first 5-10
Griffen - Buckley, without the fig jam
Tambling - Peter Matera, only smaller
Franklin - Ottens, he's nothing like Tarrent

Haven't seen the rest

AndSmithMustScore
1 Jan 2005, 14:31
Jordan Russell = Aussie Jones

Popey
1 Jan 2005, 14:35
Deledio = Buckley/Pavlich
Roughead = Neitz/Jakovich
Griffen = Hayes/R.Harvey
Tambling = Wells/P.Matera
Franklin = Tarrant/Goodes
Williams = Croad/Harley
Lewis = Barnard/D.Harris
Meesen = Clark/Charman
Russell = Yze/Bowden
Egan = O'Loughlin/X.Clark
god no

dascman03
1 Jan 2005, 14:43
deledio-chris judd

tambling-daniel wells

LOL

Judd has pace
End of story

TheGeneral
1 Jan 2005, 15:34
Jordan Russell = Aussie Jones
Jordan Russell = Joel Smith
Matty Lappin = Jones

Coughlan
1 Jan 2005, 21:48
LOL

Judd has pace
End of story

20-metre sprint
Danyle Pearce (Sturt) - 2.79sec
Richard Tambling (Southern Districts) - 2.87sec
Jordan Russell (West Adelaide) - 2.89sec
Brett Deledio (Murray Bushrangers) - 2.90sec
Jesse Wells (Burnie) - 2.95sec
Chad Gibson (Norwood) - 2.95sec
Tim Hill (Bendigo Pioneers) - 2.95sec
Chris Egan (Murray Bushrangers) - 2.95sec
Clinton Young (North Ballarat Rebels) - 2.97sec
Jarred Moore (Dandenong Stingrays) - 3.00sec

You were saying

I'll throw these in for you as well

Standing vertical jump
Chad Gibson (Norwood) - 73.0cm
Danyle Pearce (Sturt) - 70cm
Tim Hill (Bendigo Pioneers) - 70cm
Brett Deledio (Murray Bushrangers) - 68.0cm
Angus Monfries (Sturt) - 68.0cm
Matt Little (Calder Cannons) - 67.0cm
Jordan Lewis (Geelong Falcons) - 67.0cm
Richard Tambling (Southern Districts) - 66.0cm
Jayden Attard (Dandenong Stingrays) - 66.0cm
Dean Limbach (Calder Cannons) - 65.0cm

Running vertical jumpDanyle Pearce (Sturt) - 96cm
Chris Egan (Murray Bushrangers) - 94cm
Richard Tambling (Southern Districts) - 93cm
Brett Deledio (Murray Bushrangers) - 92cm
Dean Limbach (Calder Cannons) - 90cm
Tom Williams (Morningside) - 87cm
Danny Meyer (Glenelg) - 87cm
Chad Gibson (Norwood) - 86cm
Damien McCormack (Dandenong Stingrays) - 84cm
Ryan Willitts (Northern Knights) - 83cm

Bentleigh
1 Jan 2005, 22:17
Deledio - Hodge

Not sure bout that.

Id go with Goddard/Pavlich

Bentleigh
1 Jan 2005, 22:18
LOL

Judd has pace
End of story

Deledio doesnt have pace?

Cuneyt
1 Jan 2005, 22:57
dascman03 is jealous :p

Cuneyt
1 Jan 2005, 22:59
Deledio - Hodge

If thats true then we stuffed up :o

OneEyedHawk
1 Jan 2005, 23:24
Franklin - Ottens, he's nothing like TarrentHaven't seen the rest
I have heard plenty of well-informed people compare Franklin to Tarrant and also Goodes so I think I'll take their opinion over yours. Never heard a single comparison to Ottens, from what I've seen of him and heard of him he is nothing at all like Ottens. Stupid comment.

metallichris
2 Jan 2005, 00:39
It seems that some people are taking this thread the wrong way. It's called 'draft top 10 - who do they remind you of'. Now that will come down to all different results because different people have different opinions. It seems that people are saying that other people's opinions are wrong, which just doesn't work because they're all interpreted differently.
Originally Posted by dascman03
LOL

Judd has pace
End of story
Deledio is just about as fast as Judd. In the 20m sprint, Deledio got 2.90sec, and back when Judd did it, he got 2.90 as well. So next time think before you speak.

Lajon
2 Jan 2005, 00:39
i heard that luke blackwell is havng a great pre-season

and that is relevant in this thread why??

tigers1au
2 Jan 2005, 06:30
I have heard plenty of well-informed people compare Franklin to Tarrant and also Goodes so I think I'll take their opinion over yours. Never heard a single comparison to Ottens, from what I've seen of him and heard of him he is nothing at all like Ottens. Stupid comment

I can see the how the goodes comparison might apply, but goodes is more thickly set than Franklin. Franklin is a tall, lean forward/ruckman. Who moves well and has nice skills, similar to Ottens(when healthy that is). And they both seem to have temperament problems ie. When the going gets tough they tend to look for a place to hide. You can delude yourself as much as you want about Franklin being like Tarrant if you want, but the first time you actually see him play you'll see that I'm right and will beg me for my forgiveness, which is pending, depending upon how much you grovel.

tigers1au
2 Jan 2005, 06:36
oh yeah, Goodes has much better footyball instincts than Franklin aswell.

Jabso
2 Jan 2005, 12:36
This is the playing style not if they're as good as or as bad as:

Deledio - Pavlich but quicker
Roughead - D.Schwarze
Griffen - Buckley but lighter
Tambling - Wells
Franklin - Goodes/Tarrant
Williams - B.Kinnear (if B.Kinnear was any good)
Lewis - Athletic Ling
Meesen - Charman
Russell - N.Lappin
Egan - X.Clarke/O'Louqlin in the midfield hopefully

As for Collingwood's other draftee here's what I've heard:
Rusling: Don't really know apart from the stupid carey comparison. Maybe a lighter but faster Pavlich?
Iaccobuchi: Picket and Licuria
T.Cloke: Ottens

TheGeneral
2 Jan 2005, 13:09
Anyone know who Jesse Dubbya Smith reminds you of? Perhaps Ben Hart
He would have gone top ten for sure and his career barring injury will surpass most of the players taken before him.

F/D
2 Jan 2005, 13:58
Tambling= A tougher version of Aker

F/D
2 Jan 2005, 13:59
Anyone know who Jesse Dubbya Smith reminds you of? Perhaps Ben Hart
He would have gone top ten for sure and his career barring injury will surpass most of the players taken before him.

He reminds me of a Clement.

OneEyedHawk
2 Jan 2005, 15:47
I can see the how the goodes comparison might apply, but goodes is more thickly set than Franklin.

Franklin is a tall, lean forward/ruckman. Who moves well and has nice skills, similar to Ottens(when healthy that is). And they both seem to have temperament problems ie. When the going gets tough they tend to look for a place to hide.

Firstly, Franklin is about 86kgs at 17 years old! How heavy was Gooodes at 17? As for the temparament problems, think your thinking of Richo there mate. Don't delude yourself into thinking you have gotten rid of that problem.

deck
2 Jan 2005, 17:59
You can delude yourself as much as you want about Franklin being like Tarrant if you want.

At the teal cup carnival all the scouts were calling him tarrant like and he was even asked in a interview about being compared to tarrant. Just out of interest how many games have you seen franklin play?

theorangeapple
2 Jan 2005, 18:12
mitch morton - nick dal santo; the common denominator being class. also watch out for mitch's foot skills they are pretty special. the roo's recruiting manager said he would be on a par with any other player picked in the draft incl deledio.

tigers1au
2 Jan 2005, 18:17
Firstly, Franklin is about 86kgs at 17 years old! How heavy was Gooodes at 17? As for the temparament problems, think your thinking of Richo there mate. Don't delude yourself into thinking you have gotten rid of that problem.

I don't know exactly how heavy Goodes was at 17 but I remember he wasn't as lean as Franklin.

At the teal cup carnival all the scouts were calling him tarrant like and he was even asked in a interview about being compared to tarrant. Just out of interest how many games have you seen franklin play?

All the scouts, just out of interest how many scouts told you this. I think you've been listening to pre draft hype, where player abilities tend to be blown out of proportion. Just for the record I've seen Franklin play a couple of times both in person and on tv, and it was pretty obvious that he's a different player to Tarrant.

OneEyedHawk
2 Jan 2005, 18:34
I don't know exactly how heavy Goodes was at 17 but I remember he wasn't as lean as Franklin.

Well I'm telling you right now he was as lean as Franklin, possibly moreso. 86kgs at 17yo, you wouldn't want to be any heavier than that.

tigers1au
2 Jan 2005, 21:30
Well I'm telling you right now he was as lean as Franklin, possibly moreso. 86kgs at 17yo, you wouldn't want to be any heavier than that.

mmm, I don't have the stats in front of me at the moment, but isn't Franklin around 197.5cm and goodes about 193cm(current height), as is Tarrant. So physically at least he looks leaner. And Goodes does have a very solid build.

team_x
3 Jan 2005, 08:03

Take it from you? Why? Did you read Wisbey's profile did you?

stefoid
3 Jan 2005, 10:24
20-metre sprint

Jesse Wells (Burnie) - 2.95sec

really? geez. this is a 195cm 94 kilo guy.

cschreuder61
6 Jan 2005, 13:38
Franklin - Ottens, he's nothing like Tarrent

Haven't seen the rest
franklin like ottens?
that goes down as the worst comparison i've heard.
No one's saying he's gonna be as good as tarrant but if he plays like anyone, that's who he plays like.

deck
6 Jan 2005, 20:03
All the scouts, just out of interest how many scouts told you this. I think you've been listening to pre draft hype, where player abilities tend to be blown out of proportion. Just for the record I've seen Franklin play a couple of times both in person and on tv, and it was pretty obvious that he's a different player to Tarrant.

All the scouts and coaches they interviewed during the teal cup carnival on fox footy. They even asked franklin himself in a interview about the comparrisions to tarrant. I think i'll take there view as there all most likely seen him play live more times than you.

tigers1au
8 Jan 2005, 18:22
All the scouts and coaches they interviewed during the teal cup carnival on fox footy. They even asked franklin himself in a interview about the comparrisions to tarrant. I think i'll take there view as there all most likely seen him play live more times than you.

Yeah I remember the interview, some reporter(not a scout) asked him about being compared to Tarrant and he said, 'no I'm nothing like Tarrent.' Fact is even comparing him to Ottens is being overly generous, he's more like a poor man's Troy Simmonds. The only other person I remember saying he was like Tarrant was Kevin Sheehan, who's job is to basically pump up interest in the draft as much as possible, and every prospective player according to him is a superstar. The only reason they compare him to Tarrant and Goodes is because they're Aborginal and play key position.

dipper86
8 Jan 2005, 18:54
Yeah I remember the interview, some reporter(not a scout) asked him about being compared to Tarrant and he said, 'no I'm nothing like Tarrent.' Fact is even comparing him to Ottens is being overly generous, he's more like a poor man's Troy Simmonds. The only other person I remember saying he was like Tarrant was Kevin Sheehan, who's job is to basically pump up interest in the draft as much as possible, and every prospective player according to him is a superstar. The only reason they compare him to Tarrant and Goodes is because they're Aborginal and play key position.

hmm. i could be wrong but i dont think tarrant is an aboriginal, lets get one thing straight here buddy, the bloke is 196cm athletic and has great skills, now thats alot to work with,
he sounds a bit like Richo but with skills, now i think thats a fair comparison.

Bentleigh
8 Jan 2005, 19:34
he sounds a bit like Richo but with skills.

Idiot.

OneEyedHawk
8 Jan 2005, 20:00
You are a complete moron! Firstly, a poor man's Troy Simmonds!! A poor man's Troy Simmonds would not be drafted and certainly wouldn't get a game. For any club. Can't even think of a comparison for Simmonds but he's definately a poor man's someone himself. "The only other person to say he was like Tarrant was Kevin Sheahan", well I think he knows a bit more about the draftees than you. No-one in Australia would know more about them than him and he was glowing in his praise for Franklin. As for Sheahan just pumping up all the players and the draft itself, what do you even say to that? If you truly believe that you are in more trouble than I thought.

dipper86
8 Jan 2005, 20:25
Idiot.

theres no need to get upset little boy.

deck
8 Jan 2005, 23:27

There were at least 3 people who likened franklin to tarrant when asked and none of them were kevin sheahan. And franklin was shocked when asked about the comparrisions to tarrant and down played it by saying he didn't think he was as good as tarrant and hoped he could be half the player tarrant is. The only person pumping up players is you as you seem to like to compare the tigers draftys to some champion players but want to down play the hawks draft picks. The compariosions are on there style of play not how good they are as players.

chipsticks
9 Jan 2005, 00:25
There were at least 3 people who likened franklin to tarrant when asked and none of them were kevin sheahan. And franklin was shocked when asked about the comparrisions to tarrant and down played it by saying he didn't think he was as good as tarrant and hoped he could be half the player tarrant is. The only person pumping up players is you as you seem to like to compare the tigers draftys to some champion players but want to down play the hawks draft picks. The compariosions are on there style of play not how good they are as players.

A voice of reason an unlikely source (as its from a Collingwood mouth) ;) just playing with ya mate

tigers1au
9 Jan 2005, 05:19
You are a complete moron! Firstly, a poor man's Troy Simmonds!! A poor man's Troy Simmonds would not be drafted and certainly wouldn't get a game. For any club. Can't even think of a comparison for Simmonds but he's definately a poor man's someone himself. "The only other person to say he was like Tarrant was Kevin Sheahan", well I think he knows a bit more about the draftees than you. No-one in Australia would know more about them than him and he was glowing in his praise for Franklin. As for Sheahan just pumping up all the players and the draft itself, what do you even say to that? If you truly believe that you are in more trouble than I thought.

Oh dear, I seem to have touched on a sensitive issue here, how dare I suggest that Franklin will be anything less than a superstar. 'Poor man's Troy Simmonds' might be a tad harsh, but considering Franklin's propensity for mental lapses I'm reluctant to concede even that.
As for Kevin Sheehan, he is glowing in his praise for every potential draftee, you only have to listen to him for five seconds to realise that. I hope I'm not in too much twouble for saying that.

It's gone from all the scouts to 3 people. We're both paraphrasing Franklin's comments but we both agree he didn't he didn't agree with the comparison. The rest is just drivel.

LukeHodge15
9 Jan 2005, 07:18
ratflmao .............. poor mans troy simmonds.......... put it this way im very happy with picking up franklin at 5 in the draft when he was projected to go 1 for the majority of the year. 88kg, 196cm and still growing, penetrating left foot, could play anywhere from wing 2 chf/chb and maybe ruck.
just hope u r just as happy with losing brad ottens(24 yr old great tap ruckman & key position contested marking forward (probably top 5 ruck in league) 4 troy simmonds on a 5 year contract.

just ask essendon and hawthorn about back ended 5 year contracts :rolleyes:

LukeHodge15
9 Jan 2005, 07:34
just be4 u get in2 me about ottens being in top 5 ruckman in the league
here is my list

1.gardiner..........fit the best ruckman in the game
2.evreritt...........stellar year last year........criminal he wasnt all australian
3.white.............great tap ruckman who gather plenty across half back
4.ottens............was a shining light 4 richmond IMO last year
5.darcy.............great around the ground ruckman, ruck rover. clearances etc
6.king...............shadow of his former self, watch out if he gets fit again
7.clarke/biglands..adelaide not one of the best at clearances 4 nothing
8.charman..........up and comer who never takes eyes of ball
9.fraser..............average year last year but maybe move forwrad with richards development last year.
10.sandilands.......learning every day
11.lade/brogan......great tag team of ruckman
saints........no
essendon...no way in hell.......huge fan of laycock though
nth...........no
carl ..........french is just an average ruckman who will shoulder much of load
syd...........goodes would be in top 10 but coach says he will never ruck again

honourable mentions
primus............question mark over his knees, but great leader and ruckman
cox................unlucky 2 miss maybe

theorangeapple
9 Jan 2005, 10:00
IMO there are similarities between tarrant and franklin. they are similar types on the footy field but they also resemble each other off the field. to be honest, i dont think anybody would be comparing franklin and tarrant if tarrant looked like cameron ling. goodes is a much better comparision both ability wise and likely position he will endup.

OldSchool
9 Jan 2005, 10:39
goodes is a much better comparision both ability wise and likely position he will endup.
Yep he's more like Goodes because of his athletic ability. He has KP height although he might be better suited to a flank early on.

Doggies05'
9 Jan 2005, 11:40
YES, deledio looks to be the most spectacular type player of this years bunch.
I think that alot of the time when people do this, take the more spectacular type players as this would birng excitement to the club and supporters never the less they often turn out to not be as good as the safe picks.
In 2001 Hodge looked to be the pick of the bunch with skill and pace etc although Ball who was picked just after became the better player as he is safe an talented.

In conclusion my instinct probes me to believe that 2004 draft will be some how similar to a number of previous years.

IMO, Griffen shoukd have been pick no.1 because when you have a no.1 pick that is just so valuable i would go with the safest option. Who you know is going to be a tremendous attribute to your club.

Well done to the Bulldogs recruiting mangers.

Infamy
9 Jan 2005, 12:56
just hope u r just as happy with losing brad ottens(24 yr old great tap ruckman & key position contested marking forward (probably top 5 ruck in league) 4 troy simmonds on a 5 year contract.

just ask essendon and hawthorn about back ended 5 year contracts :rolleyes:

Well you can't really compare it like that
We lost Ottens & Fiora for Simmonds, Meyer & Pattison

Simmonds contract isn't back ended anyway, its just 5 years. Yes long term contract can backfire, but he took a reduced salary to get the extended contract. It'd end up costing us the same over 4 years as it would have 5.

Skooks
9 Jan 2005, 18:40
Yeh if he reminds of Lenny he must be awesome

underthebridge
9 Jan 2005, 20:18
8.charman..........up and comer who never takes eyes of ball
9.fraser..............average year last year but maybe move forwrad with richards development last year.
10.sandilands.......learning every day
11.lade/brogan......great tag team of ruckman

honourable mentions
cox ................unlucky 2 miss maybe

unlucky to miss? i think you have severly under-rated him with this rundown of your top ruckman, i mean, fraser? hasnt proven anything as a ruckamn, sandilands? sure, he can get his hand on the ball, but what does he do with it? i think cox should be before clarke/biglands, other than that, i agree with your list.

Turtleman3
9 Jan 2005, 21:28
Tambling= A tougher version of Aker

I hope he is a quieter version as well.

Bentleigh
9 Jan 2005, 23:07
I hope he is a quieter version as well.

He does indeed seem a rather humble type.

Mong
10 Jan 2005, 17:31
I have only seen Griffen play once, for South Adelaide. Personally, he reminded me quite a bit of Simon Goodwin in style. Except that Griffen appeared duel sided with his kicking which Goodwin isn't. As others have said this isn't a comparison of ability, just style of game.

Mong

F-U
12 Jan 2005, 02:36
Lance Franklin is similiar to Tarrant in looks, but as far as talent goes... Tarrant is miles ahead. Franklin is a very overrated player. The only reason he went so early was because he was the only real full forward in the draft. Any other draft and he would of went around 30 if lucky..

chipsticks
12 Jan 2005, 09:33
Lance Franklin is similiar to Tarrant in looks, but as far as talent goes... Tarrant is miles ahead. Franklin is a very overrated player. The only reason he went so early was because he was the only real full forward in the draft. Any other draft and he would of went around 30 if lucky..

Wrong... "Possibly the most NATURALLY all-round gifted package in the past 3 years." - Colin Wisbey... Bet you feel like a DW now. Id take Colins expert opinion over yours any day of the week.

OneEyedHawk
12 Jan 2005, 18:59
Have you even been reading what has been said? No-one is saying that he is similar to Tarrant in talent. We are talking about playing style.
Pick 30 if he's lucky you reckon? Tell that Kevin Sheahan who said in his opinion will be the best player from this years draft. Or to Colin Wisbey (see above post).Was touted as the #1 pick for a good percentage of the year, but if you reckon he's sh**, well he must be!

theorangeapple
12 Jan 2005, 19:19
franklin is far from a sure thing, wiseby said that and clubs no that. but he was the best available at 5.

lance has some parts of his game which be sorely exposed at AFL. admitedly he has some aspects that will be outstanding at afl. its his ability at improving on those deficiencies that will determine how good he is.