View Full Version : Pre-Game Preparation
TheSheik
5 Jan 2005, 15:10
I'm always interested to know how local cricketers prepare for their games. This covers any different eating preferences, their sleeping habits, when they start thinking about the game ahead etc.
So, to those who do play the game, what rigmarole (if any) do you go through prior to going to your game ??
For me, I do a bit of research on the opposition (all of the player & game stats are on the association website) on the Friday nite. On Saturday mornings, I only eat a light breakfast mid-morning, forego lunch but drink a litre of water before walking out the door at midday.
TheSheik
5 Jan 2005, 15:12
Forgot to mention that as a mid-20's tyro always out on the tear, I would get home at 3 or 4 in the morning pretty maggotted. This lead to me getting out of bed pretty groggy around 1130 and found it hard to stomach any food at all. This resulted in some lacklustre performances due to sleep deprivation and a total lack of concentration.
I normally wake up at 10 only to realise my whites are filthy from the week before. I then make sure the said oval is not on one of the many pages which has been ripped out of my street directory. The ensuing rush normally results in forgetting to pack food and water for the day.
PS - if i am prepared, i whack a 1.5L bottle in the freezer the night before, and only have a light breakfast. This was especially applicable for when the games started at 10. These afternoon games there is a temptation not to get your act together till Saturday morning
LarryLong
6 Jan 2005, 07:58
I like to have sex the night before, or the morning before. :D
Unfortunately my wife doesn't seem to care if (when) she upsets my routine. :)
I follow dr nick's routine with the whites, and I invariably turn up late, even missing the first ball on the rare occasion.
My side likes players to show up an hour or more before the first ball, and do a good warm-up in their whites. I think that's crap. I don't mind if my team mates get off on it, but I really think it is meaningless. I cop a bit from them, but I refuse to take them seriously. Its not as if we're playing tests out there.
I think that the professionalism and success of the Aussie side has fooled a lot of grade cricket clubs into thinking that you can't perform in a crap competition without the right attitude and a professional preparation. In grade cricket, it has more to do with ability. Preparation and all this sports psychology is an exercise in rhetoric, especially if you can't bat, can't bowl, and can't throw. :) I switch on when the bowler is running in, and the rest is meaningless.
My side likes players to show up an hour or more before the first ball, and do a good warm-up in their whites. I think that's crap. I don't mind if my team mates get off on it, but I really think it is meaningless. I cop a bit from them, but I refuse to take them seriously. Its not as if we're playing tests out there.
I think that the professionalism and success of the Aussie side has fooled a lot of grade cricket clubs into thinking that you can't perform in a crap competition without the right attitude and a professional preparation. In grade cricket, it has more to do with ability. Preparation and all this sports psychology is an exercise in rhetoric, especially if you can't bat, can't bowl, and can't throw. :) I switch on when the bowler is running in, and the rest is meaningless.
Ahhh... A kindred spirit! :D
TheSheik
8 Jan 2005, 08:27
I like to have sex the night before, or the morning before. :D
Don't we all !! :D
My preparation was a night out before, get to the oval an hour before , remember I was captain and go back to my home club get the gear, back to the oval stopping at the bottle shop for a carton/slab/box and ice.
Pack the esky , appoint someone else to get the gear out of the car and make sure there were 4 boxes in the kit, and make them wash them out.
Find scorebook , ring a mate to come down as we were short..toss the coin and bat first so as soon as I get out , rip the top off of a coldie.