View Full Version : OT: What Happened To Beer
Capitalist
12 Jan 2005, 12:22
To make it relevant – With the SANFL thinking of allowing drinking back to the seats and CUB becoming the Crows New sponsor over West End – My Question is what happened to beer drinkers, going out these days most people are drinking RTD or Spirits in a glass
I went out on Saturday and My Mates and I were drinking Pints of beer and we stuck out like a sore thumb, I Admit that I often drink Bundy as well but even at the front bar of a pub there are more people with Crusiers and the like than Beer. This goes to Women as well (all though I do prescribe to the saying “classy chicks don’t drink beer” for my GF anyhow!! :D )
So what happened to the Beer Drinking Aussie? :confused:
To make it relevant – With the SANFL thinking of allowing drinking back to the seats and CUB becoming the Crows New sponsor over West End – My Question is what happened to beer drinkers, going out these days most people are drinking RTD or Spirits in a glass
I went out on Saturday and My Mates and I were drinking Pints of beer and we stuck out like a sore thumb, I Admit that I often drink Bundy as well but even at the front bar of a pub there are more people with Crusiers and the like than Beer. This goes to Women as well (all though I do prescribe to the saying “classy chicks don’t drink beer” for my GF anyhow!! :D )
To many lollipop alcohol drinks available these days in so many pretty colours.
Wasn't all that long ago when you hardly ever did see a female in a front bar of a pub let alone drinking beer in one.
ps, don't for one moment think that i'm a male chauvinist sexist bigot. :cool:
Plenty of us, up in the Sunshine State. And nothing at all wrong with the ladies drinking beer.
SpringChoke
12 Jan 2005, 12:41
We're dieing. A mate of mine asked me the other day if I wanted to go shopping to take advantage of the sales - ohhh the shame of it all....Mates going shopping/going out for coffees - where will it end....
Capitalist
12 Jan 2005, 12:49
We're dieing. A mate of mine asked me the other day if I wanted to go shopping to take advantage of the sales - ohhh the shame of it all....Mates going shopping/going out for coffees - where will it end....
yeah I agree - I had a wierd experience like that the other day, a few of mates and I were all going to out and a couple of them (not as is a couple couple but 2 ) asked what I was wearing out - I was like dude WTF is your problem ??
it is even more worrying with rumours like West End Draught and southwark are being closed down
captain ebert
12 Jan 2005, 12:57
you port supporter, you...... a true retrosexual by the sounds - good on ya too - too many blokes turning into women i reckon.
No 1 Draft Pick
I remember my week working in London for a big US Investment Bank (which are normally the last bastion of masculinity with hardly any females - certainly none on the trading floor. And the head of trading was actually a former US porn star! Serioulsy. But I digress). The lads were sitting around talking about what moisturiser they wear at work and then at night. I could NOT believe my ears. When is the last time you and your mates have sat around the bar discussing cosmetics :eek: :eek:
Blue Red and Gold
Its a sad state of affairs in deed, its about as bad as going to the schutzenfest and drinking cider :eek:
Always been a beer drinker, but I have been known late in the night to throw down a quick cruiser, get some sugar into me so I can start again on the beer.
captain ebert
12 Jan 2005, 13:00
The lads were sitting around talking about what moisturiser they wear at work and then at night. I could NOT believe my ears.
far out - thats just too much.
Blue Red and Gold
12 Jan 2005, 13:01
it is even more worrying with rumours like West End Draught and southwark are being closed down
I have heard this too in regards to West End, it is quite worrying. I know West End is not the best drop going around far from it, but it our beerm its our state beer. I know it is owned by Lion Nathan and all that, I dont care, West End is a South Australian beer and it would be a shame for it to be closed down.
Capitalist
12 Jan 2005, 13:16
far out - thats just too much.
if Capt E isnt being Sarcastic - this would be the first time I agree with him cause damn..
as for drink cider at the Schuzenfest thats a disgrace, why bother going ?
I actually went to a food and wine festival and people were complaining that there was only wine (and a few softies for the kiddies) - I'm like der its a food and WINE festival !!
I also think the problem lie with how cheap the lolly waters are and the goon bags - $35 for 24 beers is getting steep if you can get 12 litres of goon for a fiver
No 1 Draft Pick
12 Jan 2005, 13:23
if Capt E isnt being Sarcastic - this would be the first time I agree with him cause damn..
The Captain has mentioned a new years resolution was to cut down on his (formerly abundant levels of) sarcasm so I reckon we give him the benefit of the doubt.
With the Captain behaving, where have all the trolls gone? You almost start missing PowerKnob :eek:
http://www.emerchandise.com/images/p/SMP/pdSTSMP0006.jpg Puffters !!!!
yeah I agree - I had a wierd experience like that the other day, a few of mates and I were all going to out and a couple of them (not as is a couple couple but 2 ) asked what I was wearing out - I was like dude WTF is your problem ??
The West End thing could be right. A mate is working down in Ad at West End and has taken a job back here because of the strife down in Ad.
portentous
12 Jan 2005, 14:01
I don't drink beer. I'm much too classy! :)
What'll happen to the Riverbank display if West End leaves? Oh the shame, the shame....
I don't drink beer. I'm much too classy! :)
What'll happen to the Riverbank display if West End leaves? Oh the shame, the shame....
A classy Port supporter.............huh? So you really are a Crows girl.
portentous
12 Jan 2005, 14:13
A classy Port supporter.............huh? So you really are a Crows girl.
Nah that's just noddys' sad little fantasy..... :p
macca23
12 Jan 2005, 14:18
Nah that's just noddys' sad little fantasy..... :p
Noddy has many many fantasies ......... ;) :D
I'm a regular Pale Ale drinker. Although I must admit half the time I switch over to rum during the evening. If you want to find all the beer drinkers, go to a country pub or footy club. There's plenty of us around! :D
Markthirtytwo
12 Jan 2005, 14:59
you port supporter, you...... a true retrosexual by the sounds - good on ya too - too many blokes turning into women i reckon.
Isnt it metrosexual now :D
Markthirtytwo
12 Jan 2005, 15:04
Used to be a bundy man but had to give it up for medical reasons. It used to make me drunk.
Can only drink the light stuff, bugger :mad: :mad:
But a beer is a beer, another Coopers please. ;)
Noddy has many many fantasies
Sadly that's all they are these days. :(
But i can still dream that maybe at least one of my fantasies can turn into a reality. :)
Preferably while i'm still able to enjoy it.
Used to be a bundy man but had to give it up for medical reasons. It used to make me drunk.
Can only drink the light stuff, bugger :mad:
But a beer is a beer, another Coopers please. ;)
Your not alone Mark. :(
Although i have been hitting the Crownies a fair bit lately light ale is now my usual intake.
Capitalist
12 Jan 2005, 15:37
I must admit half the time I switch over to rum during the evening.
see thats what I do I can never work out why after drinking enough been to keep me ********ing till the next day I change over to Bundy when the benefits are going to be minimal,
the only problem I have with drinking bundy the whole night is thats it, you cant move back down the drinking ladder (lucky I have a few cans in the fridge for when I get home)
I'm a regular Pale Ale drinker. Although I must admit half the time I switch over to rum during the evening. If you want to find all the beer drinkers, go to a country pub or footy club. There's plenty of us around! :D
Cheers Cobber. :) & welcome back to our board.
Nah that's just noddys' sad little fantasy.....
Sad little fantasy :confused: :eek:
Never have them always have happy joyful fantasies. :)
captain ebert
12 Jan 2005, 15:53
Your not alone Mark. :(
Although i have been hitting the Crownies a fair bit lately light ale is now my usual intake.
they should be known as "crow-nies" now.
portentous
12 Jan 2005, 16:01
Sad little fantasy
Never have them always have happy joyful fantasies.
Sad because it'll never happen....... :p
Too much information about the rest tho........ :eek:
Cheers Cobber. :) & welcome back to our board.
Cheers Noddy http://www.fordaustraliaforums.com/forum/images/smilies/sm_beer.gif and all the other beer drinkers.
It was a while ago that I joined, although I didn't really leave, just not visited that often. I know I put up a post in the introductions thread, but that would have been over a year ago. I'm a moderator on a Ford forum and that takes a bit of my time! Even though it's not as big as this forum.
NikkiNoo
12 Jan 2005, 17:17
all this complaining about not drinking beer anymore - try going through life not being able to drink alcohol at all! pfftt only thing I'm worried about is the christmas lights/show along the torrens, what's gonna happen to that, it's just so tacky i love it.
ps did anyone return the baby jesus that got stolen last year from this crib?
Macca19
12 Jan 2005, 17:21
The main problem is beer is considered a yobbo drink in my opinion. Most people that go out these dayswould rather look "cool" drinking their vodka lemon limes and Jack and cokes whilst wearing their latest youthworks outfit.
For me when i go out, what i drink depends on how I feel, where i go (regarding price) and what ive eaten before hand. If ive had a big meal then I wont drink beer whereas if i hadnt eaten much then id prefer to drink scotch/bourbon
Stiffy_18
12 Jan 2005, 17:35
What I drink depends on the mood. Used to be exclusively a beer drinker. Now it depends on the mood but there is nothing like a cold beer on a hot day :)
Kane McGoodwin
12 Jan 2005, 17:51
I'm still drinking beer with my mates & plenty of it of late! :cool:
crows98
12 Jan 2005, 17:54
What I drink depends on the mood. Used to be exclusively a beer drinker. Now it depends on the mood but there is nothing like a cold beer on a hot day :)
Same for me, Iam exclusively a beer drinker now but it’s not like I am a yobbo or a loud mouth lout just like a cold beer.
Cannot go past a cold coopers pale ale on a hot day, very nice :)
macca23
12 Jan 2005, 18:18
ps did anyone return the baby jesus that got stolen last year from this crib?
No they didn't Nikki, even though there was a reward of 6 cartons of West End for its return.
All that proves is that Port supporters don't drink West End. ;) :D
Stiffy_18
12 Jan 2005, 18:22
No they didn't Nikki, even though there was a reward of 6 cartons of West End for its return.
:D
[QUOTE=macca23]No they didn't Nikki, even though there was a reward of 6 cartons of West End for its return.
All that proves is that Port supporters don't drink West End. :D[/QUOTE
Once again i find myself agreeing with Stiffy.
:D :D
Macca19
12 Jan 2005, 18:48
ill pay that!! :D
Okay, well, I realise this is pretty soft (though I've never pretended to be a man's man anyway) but I just think beer tastes disgusting. It's an acquired taste that I've just never acquired. Bourbon and coke for me, however, for the record, let me just state that I don't own anything from Youthworks and I'm not very trendy.
NikkiNoo
12 Jan 2005, 19:49
"that's champagne comedy!" :D
portentous
13 Jan 2005, 09:21
"that's champagne comedy!" :D
yeah we have taste. Coopers drinkers. :p
They replaced the stolen "baby Jesus" with a new one. It was there again when we had a look one night after the "Live" concert.
dyertribe
13 Jan 2005, 09:58
Interesting thread, lads.
I'm more often than not a beer drinker at home - usually buy a carton of Pale, Crownies or Boags every now and then. If not, I'll pick up a bottle of scotch or bourbon to have with coke, etc.
If I'm catching up with someone for a drink and a meal at somewhere like the Elephant, I'll usually have a pint or two of Beamish Red. At the Exeter or Austral I'll usually have pints of either Pale or Sparkers.
Back in my clubbing days, I'd usually go for JD and coke or lemonade and zambuca - but very rarely would I go for a pint of beer, for the simple facts that a small mixed drink is easier to handle in a crowd when you're being bumped into every which way (especially if it's your shout and you've got to get a few), and after a long night of sweating while walking around and dancing in hot and stuffy establishments, you don't tend to smell like a brewery as much compared to being on the lager all night.
Capitalist
13 Jan 2005, 10:13
See I like the fact that there is something to drink for longer,
sometimes you find yourself with nothing else to do but have a drink at the bar - it kind of sucks having 2 sips and its all over, get a good pint in your hand and you have a few minutes of entertainment - plus you can have a thoughtful look on your face while holding a half empty pint and people may see you as an intellectual !!
I tend to think (from my experiences) that age and location have a lot to do with it.
When I was 18 beer was it...wine was what ''poofters'' and women drank.. spirits were what alcos drank to top up for the am...and water was for dogs and fish
As I got older I started drinking Jim Beam and cokes especially at the TCs Gouger St $15 all you can drink nights...ohh illness ..so JB came my spirit of choice , but only to get smashed quicker..but if we were at the Finsbury, beer was it usually a schooner...or an echo (until we realised a pint was cheaper than an echo and held more beer) so location had a lot to do with it.
Local pub=Beer
Nightclub= Beer and JB chasers
Home=Beer
Oh and cobber welcome and go Nangas :D
Port1978
13 Jan 2005, 10:51
yeah we have taste. Coopers drinkers. :p
Exactly......Mmmmm.......coopers..... :cool:
So are you previously from the south east PerthCrow?
Nangas will want to improve this year. In one of our B-grade games last season we won something like 31.22 to 0.0. At least they put something on the board in A-grade!
Ray Nolan
13 Jan 2005, 11:01
I'll put my hand up as a beer drinker. If I go out it's gotta be somewhere that serves good beer otherwise I'm simply not interested. So usually that means going to an English/Irish pub or somewhere that serves Coopers Pale. For me it always has to be drunk by the pint as well - preferably the Imperial version. I usually go around 4 pints per pub visit, more if I intend on getting pished. The only detour I make from the Beer is Cider if it's on tap (mmmm Bulmers!).
portentous
13 Jan 2005, 11:23
So are you previously from the south east PerthCrow?
Nangas will want to improve this year. In one of our B-grade games last season we won something like 31.22 to 0.0. At least they put something on the board in A-grade!
Go Port Mac! :D
Lived in Mt Gambier for about 10 yrs, Dad was V-P of West Gambier,dunno if they even still exist. Tarpeena used to be the "easy beats" tho when I lived down there.
Beer to start the night and then normally onto CC and Dry's.
Go Port Mac! :D
Lived in Mt Gambier for about 10 yrs, Dad was V-P of West Gambier,dunno if they even still exist. Tarpeena used to be the "easy beats" tho when I lived down there.
West Gambier are still going, in the Western Border League.
Tarpeena probably won't participate again in the Mid South East league. They haven't folded, but are "in recess". Means we're down to 9 teams and 2 less games each season because we need to have a bye. While they were still active, they were the easy beats.
portentous
13 Jan 2005, 11:46
West Gambier are still going, in the Western Border League.
Tarpeena probably won't participate again in the Mid South East league. They haven't folded, but are "in recess". Means we're down to 9 teams and 2 less games each season. While they were still active, they were the easy beats.
I'm surprised that Tarpeena and Nangwarry never merged. Thought it would have been quite logical given their on field struggles.
I'm surprised West Gambier are still going, it's always been a struggle for them to compete against Allan Scott funded East Gambier and the better supported North and South. Was talk about them moving to the MID SE comp at one stage.
The good old days, park the car on the boundary line and beep the horn when a goal was kicked. Can live without the trips to Portland, Casterton, Hamilton and Coleraine though! Nothing quite like country footy though!
BTW Is it safe to assume that "timmsy" has retired by now? Man mountain that bloke. Mid SE's answer to Grenville Dietrich!
I'm surprised that Tarpeena and Nangwarry never merged. Thought it would have been quite logical given their on field struggles.
I'm surprised West Gambier are still going, it's always been a struggle for them to compete against Allan Scott funded East Gambier and the better supported North and South. Was talk about them moving to the MID SE comp at one stage.
The good old days, park the car on the boundary line and beep the horn when a goal was kicked. Can live without the trips to Portland, Casterton, Hamilton and Coleraine though! Nothing quite like country footy though!
Becuase at a time when Nangwarry were struggling Tarpeena were doing ok..in the 90s Nangwarry won off the top of my head 4 flags and participated in 7 GFs..all based around their 85 senior colts side.And when 1 club dominates they dont want to know...
Was a great time following country football and have been to a few Mortlock League games here ...and it was a culture shock to see a hockey field and not Netball courts :eek:
Cobber heres a few posts of mine about country football
My nana lived in a small town who struggled year after year in the MSEFL but every friday night she made toffee apples and every saturday she was in the canteen for home games. She knitted rugs and scarves and beanies and donated a trophy every year. And as she got older and could do less and less, she was still in her car yelling honking abusing the umpires and opposition supporters. And always praising the boys no matter if they lost by 20 goals or 20 points.
1993 her year came..her husband who was the club trainer had been long gone and her own health was failing, sitting in the car as the finals drew near and maybe just maybe this was their year..making the GF was more than she could hope for and winning it was a dream, not only for her but for all associated with the town.
And as a mark of respect as the boys jogged around the oval knowing where her car was they ran up the incline leaning over the fence and raised the trophy and a mighty cheer as she sat there smiling.
She died 4 years later not really remembering the day anymore but everytime I mentioned it to her her words were always the same''grandad would have been so proud''
My first memory of footy wasnt so much SANFL but country footy especially the MSEFL. My nana lived in a small town which had 3 things..a pool a business and a football/netball team. The business employed enough people to start a footy side and the pool was for summer holidays.
The football team were shockers but watching my nana abuse everyone not associated with her team and even bagging the umpires..especially when the umpire was her own son . She made toffee apples by the bucketload ..loved Friday nights and being the tester. Watching the mini colts and senior colts then the B grade and then the A Grade .From Robe to Pt MacDonnell everyone had to be there at 8.30 which meant as a mini colt player you were up at 6 if you played at Robe.
Hope this brings something back for you portentuos and cobber
BTW Is it safe to assume that "timmsy" has retired by now? Man mountain that bloke. Mid SE's answer to Grenville Dietrich!
He went to Robe and coached/played ..my brother played back pocket and tried to take him on one day :eek:
He was in a few West End ads IIRC... big big boy ..they used to say he was weight for age..eg 21 stone at 21 ..27 stone at 27 but fast and kicked somewhere in the region of 1500 goals
There was a great article in the Sunday Mail on him.. he was the first player IIRC in the MSEFL to play all 4 grades in the one day..thats as a 13 yr old
Lots of ''Timmsy'' stories but the one I like ..if you recall the pine trees around Nangwarry oval..he cleared them with a 6 ......big hit
portentous
13 Jan 2005, 12:16
He went to Robe and coached/played ..my brother played back pocket and tried to take him on one day :eek:
He was in a few West End ads IIRC... big big boy ..they used to say he was weight for age..eg 21 stone at 21 ..27 stone at 27 but fast and kicked somewhere in the region of 1500 goals
There was a great article in the Sunday Mail on him.. he was the first player IIRC in the MSEFL to play all 4 grades in the one day..thats as a 13 yr old
Lots of ''Timmsy'' stories but the one I like ..if you recall the pine trees around Nangwarry oval..he cleared them with a 6 ......big hit
yeah I remember the beer ads. You'd be awfully game to try and take him on, on the footy field or off it. He played a few seasons at Port Mac if I recall. Didn't know where he went after it. Yeah there's HEAPS of stories about him. A good friend of mine played with him down at Port Mac.
I used to play netball for West Gambier at the footy matches. It was the "done thing". All there was to do back then was netball and footy.....
Markthirtytwo
13 Jan 2005, 12:26
Back in my clubbing days, I'd usually go for JD and coke or lemonade and zambuca
Argh!! I hoped someone wouldnt bring up zambucca's.
Went to the last ski weekend a number of years ago and at the end the bar had to get rid of all the open bottles. Well the flaming zambuccas is the last thing I can remember then waking up in the drivers seat of a mini van in the car park the next morning. Surfice to say it took a half hour under the hot shower to get rid of the hypothermia I was suffering along with the rest of the agony. Never again. :eek:
Kane McGoodwin
13 Jan 2005, 12:29
I tend to think (from my experiences) that age and location have a lot to do with it.
When I was 18 beer was it...wine was what ''poofters'' and women drank.. spirits were what alcos drank to top up for the am...and water was for dogs and fish
As I got older I started drinking Jim Beam and cokes especially at the TCs Gouger St $15 all you can drink nights...ohh illness ..so JB came my spirit of choice , but only to get smashed quicker..but if we were at the Finsbury, beer was it usually a schooner...or an echo (until we realised a pint was cheaper than an echo and held more beer) so location had a lot to do with it.
Local pub=Beer
Nightclub= Beer and JB chasers
Home=Beer
Pub - normally beer, but if a long drinking session, will usually switch to CC & coke ... then shooters sometimes after that.
Home - mainly beer when it is warm & red wine when it is cold.
Yep, Timmsy went to Port Mac. I think the only time he played last season was against Robe! I highly doubt we'll see him on the field this season. Up till season 2002 he was still a regular player. He's currently the publican at the Bellum Bellum Hotel, south of Mt Gambier on the road to Port Mac. His son, who's still in the colts, played a few senior games for Port Mac last season, after transferring from Nangwarry. I don't know how he came to be playing for Nangas.
Timmsy can't move like he used to, but if the ball is delivered straight to him it's hard to stop him. There's too much of him to get around, or to get over if you try to spoil from behind!
dyertribe
13 Jan 2005, 13:17
Argh!! I hoped someone wouldnt bring up zambucca's.
It's my mate's drink of choice - his name is always on the door at The Church and the barstaff know him that well, all I had to do when it's my shout is hold up two fingers and point to him. They knew exactly what to make. Love it.
Went to the last ski weekend a number of years ago and at the end the bar had to get rid of all the open bottles. Well the flaming zambuccas is the last thing I can remember then waking up in the drivers seat of a mini van in the car park the next morning. Surfice to say it took a half hour under the hot shower to get rid of the hypothermia I was suffering along with the rest of the agony. Never again. :eek:
:D That's a real drinker's story that one.
Blue Red and Gold
13 Jan 2005, 13:30
I am a fan of zambucca, preferably the black zambucca but I have heard they have or are going to stop making it which sucks.
I cannot spend a whole night on it, or wouldnt want too, I like to have something in my hand, I dont think I would know what to do with my hand otherwise :o
AngelEyes
13 Jan 2005, 13:51
I'm more of a cocktail, spirit drinker myself. Not a big fan of the beer, however thats usually all that my guy friend's drink. Which is funny because they swear by West End....must be the only ones keeping them in business. ;)
the irish cream liquors are also a favourite of mine, but i only have little of them.
Markthirtytwo
13 Jan 2005, 15:59
It's my mate's drink of choice - his name is always on the door at The Church and the barstaff know him that well, all I had to do when it's my shout is hold up two fingers and point to him. They knew exactly what to make. Love it.
The story I related to earlier, the drink was burnt and you had to skull it and the fumes went donw you nose at the same time. Timed out. :p
crows98
13 Jan 2005, 16:24
Local pub = Coopers pale ale or Crown larger
At a nightclub is still beer but if I want to get smashed it will be Jim or Jack with coke will be my friend for the night but if I want to get paro I will just have Jim or Jack as a shot and have them quite quickly
When I go out for a counter meal at an English pub then it would have to be a pint of Double Diamond beer
Local pub = Coopers pale ale or Crown larger
At a nightclub is still beer but if I want to get smashed it will be Jim or Jack with coke will be my friend for the night but if I want to get paro I will just have Jim or Jack as a shot and have them quite quickly
When I go out for a counter meal at an English pub then it would have to be a pint of Double Diamond beer
Noticed a couple of references to English/ Irish pubs. What pray tell is wrong with Australian pubs with darest I say, Australian beer. Not having a go at any one , just can't get over every one or most paople on here only seeming to like Coopers ( a might fine drop ) or overseas beer.
portentous
13 Jan 2005, 16:38
I'm very well acquainted with Messrs Kahlua and Milk. Could go one right now in fact..........mmmmmmmm
crows98
13 Jan 2005, 17:15
Noticed a couple of references to English/ Irish pubs. What pray tell is wrong with Australian pubs with darest I say, Australian beer. Not having a go at any one , just can't get over every one or most paople on here only seeming to like Coopers ( a might fine drop ) or overseas beer.
Nothing wrong with a good Aussie pub a pint of Coopers Pale Ale rocks and is the first priority but the Slug N Lettuce is just something new it is a good pub and provides a great nights entertainment with the lads and puts on a good meal always helps.
PAfolwr
13 Jan 2005, 18:09
I'm a bit boring.
When out usually wine with meal (red) or light beer (Cascade) or straight Scotch (no ice).
When home heavy beer (Tooheys extra dry or Crown) wine with meal, straight Scotch or sometimes straight Vodka (frozen).
Although have been known to make the coffee taste better some mornings before work by stealing some Baileys. :D
Port1978
13 Jan 2005, 18:29
I'm very well acquainted with Messrs Kahlua and Milk. Could go one right now in fact..........mmmmmmmm
Or a brown cow......mmmmmmm.......kahlua & cream....... :cool:
SpringChoke
13 Jan 2005, 19:44
Here, here..I'm more than comfortable with the local front bar, or any front bar for that matter.
macca23
13 Jan 2005, 19:53
Nothing wrong with Aussie pubs - I've given them a fair hiding more than once in my day. ;)
The difference with the English/Irish pubs is that they cater for everybody. It's the local meeting place, not just for a great big p*ss-up. The meal menus are diverse and the food excellent, plus you get to meet some great people.
I loved 'em.
portentous
14 Jan 2005, 08:42
Well plenty of the amber fluid was consumed at the cricket last nite! Looked like XXXX. yuk!
Nothing wrong with Aussie pubs - I've given them a fair hiding more than once in my day. ;)
The difference with the English/Irish pubs is that they cater for everybody. It's the local meeting place, not just for a great big p*ss-up. The meal menus are diverse and the food excellent, plus you get to meet some great people.
I loved 'em.
Thanks Macca. No, I meant English / Irish pubs in Aus. Naturally when in Rome..................................
Well plenty of the amber fluid was consumed at the cricket last nite! Looked like XXXX. yuk!
Hey!
Markthirtytwo
14 Jan 2005, 12:50
Nothing wrong with a good Aussie pub a pint of Coopers Pale Ale rocks and is the first priority but the Slug N Lettuce is just something new it is a good pub and provides a great nights entertainment with the lads and puts on a good meal always helps.
The Fox & Furkin' ........hell up my way is always good for a good night out.
crows98
14 Jan 2005, 13:44
The Fox & Furkin' ........hell up my way is always good for a good night out.
Or the gully AKA the scully, but that’s more your original Aussie pub.
SpringChoke
14 Jan 2005, 13:51
Or the gully AKA the scully, but that’s more your original Aussie pub.
Black Rose Piano Bar.....Errrr I meant to say The Grand :o
From my days in Adelaide, the Seacliff was a mighty fine place to imbibe.Just the one beer of course.
crows98
14 Jan 2005, 14:46
From my days in Adelaide, the Seacliff was a mighty fine place to imbibe.Just the one beer of course.
Of course, we couldn’t possibility be glorifying drinking, could we,
Drink reasonably
Kane McGoodwin
15 Jan 2005, 12:12
Of course, we couldn’t possibility be glorifying drinking, could we,
Drink reasonably
Yeah, I drink reasonably well. :p
That isnt still going is it? The Black Rose ? Last time I walked down the stairs I found a lot of men , and a lot of women wanting to be men in there. We walked out backwards very quickly
Remember being in there after Glenelg won their first GF in the 80s and watching Cornesy drink cokes.
First time I ever left a nightclub and walked out into daylight..very hard on the eyes
SpringChoke
16 Jan 2005, 11:35
That isnt still going is it? The Black Rose ? Last time I walked down the stairs I found a lot of men , and a lot of women wanting to be men in there. We walked out backwards very quickly
Remember being in there after Glenelg won their first GF in the 80s and watching Cornesy drink cokes.
First time I ever left a nightclub and walked out into daylight..very hard on the eyes
"very hard on the eyes" in more ways than one.
Stinger...
18 Jan 2005, 14:26
the first time i had XXXX was at the Test Match this year...needless to say it will be the last time i drink it! Still Cannot believe that Adelaide Oval sells XXXX...i mean XXXX c'mon! I know sponsors blah blah blah, but still XXXX...id drink West End before XXXX...
Powerstufff
18 Jan 2005, 20:50
..... We're dying. A mate of mine asked me the other day if I wanted to go shopping to take advantage of the sales - ohhh the shame of it all....Mates going shopping/going out for coffees - where will it end? ....
..... I had a weird experience like that the other day, a few of mates and I were all going to out and a couple of them (not as is a couple couple but 2) asked what I was wearing out ....
Urgent therapy needed. PAFC clobber, season tickets and memberships coming a.s.a.p. Sit by your front door and listen for the sirens.
the first time i had XXXX was at the Test Match this year...needless to say it will be the last time i drink it! Still Cannot believe that Adelaide Oval sells XXXX...i mean XXXX c'mon! I know sponsors blah blah blah, but still XXXX...id drink West End before XXXX...
But, but.....................I really like XXXX.
Crowked
19 Jan 2005, 10:26
What happened to beer?
I know what happened to a few cartons of Boags over the Chrissy break. :D
It was for a damn good cause. I just wish I could remember what it was. :o
Stinger...
19 Jan 2005, 11:19
we all have different tastes rooboy...thats what makes everyone different :)
i just couldnt stomach it after id had 6/7 cups of it! its most likely a beer that would take a while for me to get used to...i reckon im too used to Pale Ale, Boags, CD etc ;)
SpringChoke
19 Jan 2005, 11:42
What happened to beer?
I know what happened to a few cartons of Boags over the Chrissy break. :D
It was for a damn good cause. I just wish I could remember what it was. :o
Welcome back Crowkie.
Crowked
19 Jan 2005, 11:53
Welcome back Crowkie.
Thanks mate, its good to be back on BF, sucks being back at work though.
Markthirtytwo
19 Jan 2005, 15:19
When in..................................... :rolleyes:
Well if you go to any of the Members bars not only do you not have to drink XXXX but you dont have to drink light beer :) Aah rank hath its privliges