View Full Version : Hard Men At The Dogs
For my first post on Big Footy, I would like others thoughts on our ability to intimidate other teams. In my opinion we only have a few players able to cause heart flutters with their attack on anyone who gets between them and the ball. Those players being Harris, Hahn, Robbo and Granty with a special mention to Minson who is currently undergoing his hard man apprenticeship. Anyone else have any nominations?
Dry Rot
21 Jan 2005, 14:30
Hargrave's shown a bit.
Freezing
21 Jan 2005, 14:32
another vote here for Ryan Hargrave. Could be in for a good year, may have more responsiblilty down back.
Go_The_Coon
21 Jan 2005, 14:40
Birss granted is very brave but hardly intimidating and Hargrave can take a hit but rarely dishes one out.
Freezing
21 Jan 2005, 14:49
Birss granted is very brave but hardly intimidating and Hargrave can take a hit but rarely dishes one out.
ask Heath Black whether he finds Hargrave intimidating, :D
BulldogMike
21 Jan 2005, 14:55
Darcy and Bandy i'd add to that list.I also think Guido,Cooney and Faulkner have that ability as well.
McMahon. Seriously, we are hardly a menacing team of no-necks these days.
pumpter
21 Jan 2005, 16:05
For my first post on Big Footy, I would like others thoughts on our ability to intimidate other teams. In my opinion we only have a few players able to cause heart flutters with their attack on anyone who gets between them and the ball. Those players being Harris, Hahn, Robbo and Granty with a special mention to Minson who is currently undergoing his hard man apprenticeship. Anyone else have any nominations?
There is a big difference between being hard at the ball and being intimidating. Chris Grant is the ultimate footballer and gentleman and has put his body on the line for the Dogs on countless occassions but i don't know if he intimidates anyone. Ditto for several other players (Birss, Robbins, West etc). I reckon we only have 3 intimidating players - Minson, Hahn & Harris. Minson and Harris are loose cannons and fairly unpredictable as their tribunal appearances attest. Hahn is intimidating as he craves body contact and rarely comes out 2nd best. Someone like Robbins is inspiring due to his bravery but unfortunately he is often injured due to some of the courageous things he does.
Gilbee9
21 Jan 2005, 17:11
I think Koops is also another Hard man, he is always trying to lay vicious bumps and shirt fronts, his attack on the ball is very good also.
Aquamarinejewel
21 Jan 2005, 18:01
ask Heath Black whether he finds Hargrave intimidating, :D
Yep, Hargrave's punch won me over. :D
SonOfScray
21 Jan 2005, 18:18
We have no hard men in the true sense of the term at the dogs. Minson is developing into one, Birss and Shaggy have the attitude and Harris is establishing himself as an opponent not to be taken lightly in a physical contest.
Perhaps the players mentioned will really cement themselves as hard nuts in '05, I think they certainly have it in them but perhaps have not had that side of their game encouraged or ad the appropriate senior role models to learn from.
We need to encourage a bit of a mongrel attitude in these Dogs.
Bulldog1954
21 Jan 2005, 20:02
Mitch is definitely a hard man (certainly not there for his disposal). He is a bash and crash type player and is incredibly willing to put his body on the line. He is as hard as anyone
wedesweiler
22 Jan 2005, 01:34
If my memory is not mistaken, did Mitch Hahn get reported in his first game of AFL?
dogupya
22 Jan 2005, 01:39
another vote here for Ryan Hargrave. Could be in for a good year, may have more responsiblilty down back.
I hope to god your joking!!! I try to refrain from knocking our own too much but Hargraves is dead set hopeless, he has shown nothing that would suggest he is going to be anything but a delistd player when his contract expires. Also, sniping a punch is not considered hard
SonOfScray
22 Jan 2005, 10:07
I hope to god your joking!!! I try to refrain from knocking our own too much but Hargraves is dead set hopeless, he has shown nothing that would suggest he is going to be anything but a delistd player when his contract expires. Also, sniping a punch is not considered hard
Shaggy was very impressive in his debut year, took some heavy hits but never shirked a contest and showed that he could be a handy running defender. Then he started getting jobs on the likes of neitz, Lloyd, Richo etc and had his confidence shot to pieces. The coaching staff IMO almost ruined him as a footballer, at one stage I was hoping we'd delist him so someone who was fair dinkum could pick him up and give him a decent go. His form towards the end of the year picked up, as did his confidence. He isn't the hard man that will make opponents pack their dacks but he will go in and make them earn it.
How is landing one on the chin in a face to face, physical confrontation considered a snipe? Its how it is supposed to be done!
Freezing
22 Jan 2005, 21:41
Shaggy was very impressive in his debut year, took some heavy hits but never shirked a contest and showed that he could be a handy running defender. Then he started getting jobs on the likes of neitz, Lloyd, Richo etc and had his confidence shot to pieces. The coaching staff IMO almost ruined him as a footballer, at one stage I was hoping we'd delist him so someone who was fair dinkum could pick him up and give him a decent go. His form towards the end of the year picked up, as did his confidence. He isn't the hard man that will make opponents pack their dacks but he will go in and make them earn it.
How is landing one on the chin in a face to face, physical confrontation considered a snipe? Its how it is supposed to be done!
Agree with these comments. Ryan Hargrave is somewhat of a late bloomer, having gone through some serious illness in the past. His hardness at the ball, and willingness to back up a team mate are the reasons i think he is one of the dogs hard men. Eade has plans for Hargrave in our backline, he is a player that will benefit from the new coaching structure.
John Gent
24 Jan 2005, 10:23
Hargrave was also the one who squared up with Barry Hall after he belted Grant behind the ball.
He is the one player in the side who is prepared stand up and be counted.
Dog Town
24 Jan 2005, 15:36
Hargrave also bounced back up after being absolutely smashed in a contest against North in round 21.One thing you cant knock is his courage.
Hargrave was also the one who squared up with Barry Hall after he belted Grant behind the ball.
He is the one player in the side who is prepared stand up and be counted.
I was at that end of the ground I don't remember that at all. I'd say Smith was the only one that even said anything.
This is a pretty poor thread and people are kidding themselves. Things have to changed 100% for us to intimidate sides.
Hard men! ATM Who can you say of our player other teams are scared of?
Possibly Ben Harris and even then he has played 2 years.
Anja_Nees
24 Jan 2005, 19:11
I was at that end of the ground I don't remember that at all. I'd say Smith was the only one that remoting that even said anything.
This is a pretty poor thread and people are kidding themselves. Things have to changed 100% for us to intimidate sides.
Hard men! ATM Who can you say of our player other teams are scared of?
Not long after the Grant/Hall incident, Hargrave charged Hall head high in a very dodgy looking attempt to spoil. I think that is what he's talking about (and it was pretty obvious what his intent was).
You are, however, right about the change of attitude that is required. Put simply, a few blokes giving the odd dodgy bump behind play isn't going to put the fear of God into a team like Brisbane. We need the bulk of the side to be consistently hard at it and we need everyone laying hard bumps and tackles at every single opportunity.
Cross, Birss, and Boyd already do this and Cooney shows signs of it in his natural game (although he showed less of it in the latter stages of the season - a trend that will have to be reversed). Minson tries and probably already has this aspect of his game at a good level. Guido has made inroads.
The rest, including Bowden, McMahon, Power, Gilbee, Faulkner, Ray, and a number of other players (senior and junior) need to keep their heads over the ball always maintain a heavy and physical defensive side to their game. Cheap hits behind play won't scare a team, but playing a relentless physical game that they don't have the stomach to match will.
Not long after the Grant/Hall incident, Hargrave charged Hall head high in a very dodgy looking attempt to spoil. I think that is what he's talking about (and it was pretty obvious what his intent was).
Yes your right but it hardly what I would call "squaring up".
I thought we discussed how poor the response was afterwards the Grant incident.
Fossie 32
24 Jan 2005, 22:07
I think Darce and Harris come closest to being intimidating with Minson a very promising type. Granty goes in hard for the ball but is too fair to intimidate. Same for a few of the others. The rest are rather non - intimidating.
John Gent
25 Jan 2005, 09:04
Yes your right but it hardly what I would call "squaring up".
I thought we discussed how poor the response was afterwards the Grant incident.
That is precisely what squaring up is all about. That lets the opposition know that if you pull a stunt like that on one of ours you had better be looking behind you for the rest of the day.
You are correct that the immediate response was poor but blokes running in and pushing one another apart from showing the flag does nothing to itimidate.
Anybody who ever saw Whitten play knows that he was the master of the square up but he waited his time. Ask Kerley.
In terms of the bigger picture however, we come last on the intimidation ladder.
That is precisely what squaring up is all about. That lets the opposition know that if you pull a stunt like that on one of ours you had better be looking behind you for the rest of the day.
I doubt very much Barry Hall was shaking in his boots.
What Hargrave did just looked clumsy. I though a square up would have been putting Hall on the floor legally. Hall should have have got a free that incident.
Is that squaring up by giving the oposition another goal when we were already behind?
John Gent
27 Jan 2005, 07:21
No but having him removed to the interchange bench with claret pouring from his dial is.
Did that happen? Sorry
I was upset and had to contend with Local and Dry Rot crying.
whythelongface
27 Jan 2005, 09:42
This is an interesting thread.
Firstly this is an area where we are sadly lacking - players that have the ability to psyche out the opposition. This is a key aspect of any good football team and until we are feared by the opposition then we will always be underachievers. Sure we have some great talent but this goes wanting against opposition sides that are hard at the ball.
Past players such as Libberatore, Southern, Romero and Kretiuk to name but a few were hard players. They may not have been the most skilful players going around but the opposition sure knew that they were around. We need players like this or like Archer or Ricciuto - opposition players have a fear factor when playing these guys.
Currently in our squad there seem to be only one or two players with this ability and even that is debatable. I am talking of Harris and maybe Matty Robbins and Hahn who go in hard and put their bodies on the line (do opposition players fear playing on them? I doubt it). But they aren't in the class of the aforementioned players in this area.
whythelongface
27 Jan 2005, 09:46
Ching, Ching, Ching - you just can't get Ben Harrison out of your mind can you now!!! Yes you are thinking of Ben Harrison as being one of our hard men - not Brian Harris.
Dry Rot
27 Jan 2005, 10:14
Ching, Ching, Ching - you just can't get Ben Harrison out of your mind can you now!!! Yes you are thinking of Ben Harrison as being one of our hard men - not Brian Harris.
I have met Ching a couple of times and despite the cunning disguise, there is no doubt he IS Ben Harrison.
Explains everything.
whythelongface
27 Jan 2005, 10:21
I have met Ching a couple of times and despite the cunning disguise, there is no doubt he IS Ben Harrison.
Explains everything.
It certainly does explain everything - he is going for the sympathy vote - smart move thinking that if he bags himself out there will be people who will defend him and even praise him. This will make him feel a lot better about himself.
The old Ching is a cunning one!!!
Dry Rot
27 Jan 2005, 10:29
It certainly does explain everything - he is going for the sympathy vote - smart move thinking that if he bags himself out there will be people who will defend him and even praise him. This will make him feel a lot better about himself.
The old Ching is a cunning one!!!
And attracts the older discerning kind of woman at casinos.
Was talking to to Renae yesterday - we must all catch up.
whythelongface
27 Jan 2005, 10:32
Was talking to to Renae yesterday - we must all catch up.
Definitely - i have plenty of time on my hands now that i have quit my job.
No Mrs Boyd or Casino women for me anymore.
It's the new media girl all the way from now on!
BH
Explains everything.
Yes and
Sporty is actually Paul Dimmatina
Gnome is Peter Rohde
Birssyboy40 is Shane Birss
DryRot a termite
and
Whythelongface is Makybe Diva
Dry Rot
27 Jan 2005, 13:05
DryRot a termite
I've just had a very nice piece of oregon for lunch.
birssyboy40
27 Jan 2005, 17:41
Dam why did you have to tell everyone ching, i thought my secret was safe with you :( .
bogan4life
25 Jul 2005, 04:36
Well trying to find the first BHAS thread i found this, who are our tough men now.
Id say Minson Harris Griffen and Hargave a very tough guys.
Ps If any one can find the first BHAS thread i would love to see it.
ErnieSigley
25 Jul 2005, 09:06
Bandy and Bowden.
dogupya
25 Jul 2005, 09:51
Well trying to find the first BHAS thread i found this, who are our tough men now.
Id say Minson Harris Griffen and Hargave a very tough guys.
On thread page #1, enjoy.
fred cook
25 Jul 2005, 10:00
Yes and
Sporty is actually Paul Dimmatina
Gnome is Peter Rohde
DryRot a termite
and
Whythelongface is Makybe Diva
What happened to the Gnome seems when he achieved his goal to sack Rohde he just went away
I have heard on the grapevine that he might make a return and has Leon Cameron in his sights.
Borgsta
25 Jul 2005, 10:50
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=99821&page=5&pp=15
enjoy