View Full Version : Jack In The Box.
Freezing
30 Jan 2005, 21:17
which dog player do people think might suprise the AFL for all the right reasons in 2005. If you have been to see training, who looks like they are about to find another gear?
birssyboy40
30 Jan 2005, 21:23
Big Will and crossy, oh and birssyboy too :D .
Freezing
30 Jan 2005, 21:34
hehehe a bit of shameless self promotion, but i agree nonetheless.
i think griffin, ray.
fred cook
30 Jan 2005, 21:37
The Eagle and a close second Guido
Freezing
30 Jan 2005, 21:42
The Eagle and a close second Guido
interesting, i agree on Guido, not sure eagle has another gear, he has been on maximum overdrive in 04.
fred cook
30 Jan 2005, 21:52
interesting, i not sure eagle has another gear, he has been on maximum overdrive in 04.
Yep and he gets baged all the time on this board,I think once you get a bad name that is it, he also has been giving a hard time more so than "Cheap as Chips" and he nearly sent our club to the wall.Also for friggs sake enough of the Cameron monty swap that had nothing to do with him .
I reckon there are a few players who have been Jacks in the box but have super glued themselves into their box, and havent jumped out for awhile Luke Darcy,Rohan Smith,and Robbo to name a few.
Lets hope they free themselves.
Freezing
30 Jan 2005, 21:57
"I reckon there are a few players who have been Jacks in the box but have super glued themselves into their box, and havent jumped out for awhile Luke Darcy,Rohan Smith,and Robbo to name a few.
Lets hope they free themselves."
yes too true. i think matthew robbins is a likely forward... a bit too much of a risk taker for defense.
a few dogs have to find that crank, and pop out of that box, hehehe.
Aquamarinejewel
30 Jan 2005, 21:57
I just feel Harris will explode this season and for all the right reasons.
Gilbee9
30 Jan 2005, 22:10
Lindsay Gilbee. He will show all the other clubs why we rate him so high, I know for a fact Eade rates him aswell which is the opposite to his previous coach. Gilbee will finish top 7 in the B&F.
Freezing
30 Jan 2005, 22:15
Lindsay Gilbee. He will show all the other clubs why we rate him so high, I know for a fact Eade rates him aswell which is the opposite to his previous coach. Gilbee will finish top 7 in the B&F.
i think gil is a classic JITB candidate...at round 22 he looked like he was hoping the season had a few more rounds. i think gilbee, def. 1 to watch.
C.E.Lovett
31 Jan 2005, 02:06
I think it will be:
1. Gilbee
2. Bowden
Also jumping up from relative obscurity:
1. Brad Murphy
2. Will Minson
Gilbee will show that he is an immensely talented player. Patrick Bowden will improve on last year and this will be enough to turn him into a match winner.
Brady Murphy will be like St Kilda's Milne. Minson will be feared.
Skipper and McMahon will suprise this year.
Cyberdoggie
31 Jan 2005, 12:39
possibly even cam faulkner if he's fit enough this year.
he's got a touch of the mark west tackling about him, but he's got much better skills. Looked really unfit at times last year. Not much of a tank in him
Same applies to big will.
gilbs is a chance, cross will be a regular 1sts player and high possosion contributor, may steal a lot of scotty wests stats.
haven't seen griffen yet, so i'll wait and see.
i think cooney will step up a gear.
eagleton pfft! (i guess i'm a stuck in the box :( )
stefoid
31 Jan 2005, 12:51
Dunno which ones will find a gear, but it would be damn nice for the team if Bowdo and Skipper did step up big time
Year of the Dog
31 Jan 2005, 13:27
Considering the amount of flack he receives on here from time to time.... I hope Sammy Power proves to be a surprise packet for all the right reasons.
Brad Murphy a likely JITB if given opportunities.
SonOfScray
31 Jan 2005, 13:27
Skipper and B.Murphy to have reasonably high status outside the Club at the end of 2005.
Cyberdoggie
31 Jan 2005, 13:58
Considering the amount of flack he receives on here from time to time.... I hope Sammy Power proves to be a surprise packet for all the right reasons.
Brad Murphy a likely JITB if given opportunities.
that's the thing isn't it, there's quite of few of them all on the verge, that really need a few games but they will all have to fight it out to get in.
Will be interesting to see who rodney leans towards at the start of the year.
will he go for birss and gilbee and power, or try cam faulkner, brad murphy ryan griffen, farren ray.
Anja_Nees
31 Jan 2005, 14:58
Yep and he gets baged all the time on this board,I think once you get a bad name that is it, he also has been giving a hard time more so than "Cheap as Chips" and he nearly sent our club to the wall.Also for friggs sake enough of the Cameron monty swap that had nothing to do with him .
I reckon there are a few players who have been Jacks in the box but have super glued themselves into their box, and havent jumped out for awhile Luke Darcy,Rohan Smith,and Robbo to name a few.
Lets hope they free themselves.
To be fair, Eagle hasn't copped too much crap since he turned good. That said, up until half way through 2003, he was every bulldog supporter's whipping boy. I'll be more than happy if he can hold his form, but it would be nice if he could add a more physical side to his game.
This year, one of Skipper and Morgan will get a crack at CHB and whichever one wins out will enhance their reputation. I think Skipper has a better chance given his mobility and athleticism, but Morgs played a solid game there in the Wizzer last year and has played well there for Werribee.
Cyberdoggie
31 Jan 2005, 15:10
actually i still bag the living daylights out of him.
i think he's junk.
makes way too many mistakes, half his kicks are clangers, turnovers,
behinds or (my fave) kicked into the man ie spoiled. Has no right foot,
isnt' very accountable and can be shrugged off with a fly swat. Also can't mark above his head and has little or no defensive skills.
granted when he's not doing any of the above things he's a treat to watch. ;)
stefoid
31 Jan 2005, 17:14
i think he's junk.
isnt' very accountable and can be shrugged off with a fly swat. Also can't mark above his head and has little or no defensive skills.
ditto
Pembleton
31 Jan 2005, 17:30
i think he's junk.
Whatever the opposite of ditto is. :)
the dog catcher
31 Jan 2005, 18:11
These two came to mind for me. Cross has only begun to show a glimmer of what he is capable of. Big Will, he will make an impact this year much the same as Darc did before Scotty Wynd left. The eel will continue to improve but its a pitty he needed the knee op. Ill knock the scab off a stubby for you Birssy!
skooshtamart
31 Jan 2005, 20:58
Bowden & Hahn they are ready
Dry Rot
31 Jan 2005, 22:03
Is another interesting question who needs to step up for us to have a successful season?
I reckon Rocket will get our midfield working well, but we need a good second ruck and a good CHB. Minson and one of Morgan, Skipper and Wight?
If these guys step up I reckon we'll have a good season.
SonOfScray
1 Feb 2005, 09:47
Is another interesting question who needs to step up for us to have a successful season?
I reckon Rocket will get our midfield working well, but we need a good second ruck and a good CHB. Minson and one of Morgan, Skipper and Wight?
If these guys step up I reckon we'll have a good season.
Skipper has been handy when used as a 2nd ruck. A game against WCE where he regularly beat Gardiner in the ht outs comes to mind. I just want to see Skipper given a prolonged run with some direction to see whther or not he can make a position his own. I think he can.
Cyberdoggie
1 Feb 2005, 12:33
Skipper has been handy when used as a 2nd ruck. A game against WCE where he regularly beat Gardiner in the ht outs comes to mind. I just want to see Skipper given a prolonged run with some direction to see whther or not he can make a position his own. I think he can.
he's certainly capable, especially now that he seems to have some bulk.
he played a decent game against sydney this year and the previous year up unitl he got that punctured lung. Only problem was after the sydney game this year he had a dud of game. Looks a bit lost at times he does, really needs to get on the agro pills. That goal he kicked up there was sensational, outside 50 (probably only 50 there) on the left boot not running direct to goal, didn't even flinch, just knew what he had to do.
If he did that all the time - watch out.
Cyberdoggie
1 Feb 2005, 12:36
Whatever the opposite of ditto is. :)
hehehe,
ahh we'll see, i wouldn't be surprised to see cooney, west griffen, ray and crossy favoured over eagleton in the near future.
Cameron faulkner (hopefully!)
we all know how much talent the kid has, and how much of a hard worker he is out on the training track...i just hope he has an injury free season and show the afl world what he can do.
chels_09
1 Feb 2005, 15:05
Gilbee: with a new coach who might actully give him some decent game time and a hard preseason......I think he will show us what he has this season!
Harris: Seen him at the club a few weeks ago at a function...he was serving behind the bar....must say he is looking pretty fit and ready to go!!
Pembleton
1 Feb 2005, 15:41
hehehe,
ahh we'll see, i wouldn't be surprised to see cooney, west griffen, ray and crossy favoured over eagleton in the near future.
I am by no means eagles biggest fan, but...
He has been used successfully as a tagger, so the defensive skills are there.
He is one of the longest and flattest kicks in football, which means quick ball movement into the forward 50, very hard for defenders to stop. He has a tendency to miskick, but nowhere near as bad as you suggest. He is also hardly the lightweight in a contest that most seem to believe. Check out his stiff arm on Jason Johnson in the last qtr of the draw vs dons (gets a bit of play on fox), one instance does not prove a point, but it would be impossible for anybody as weak as eagle is supposed to be to do that.
For me the big question is whether eagle can play a balanced style of game. No coach of his has really asked it of him before. If he can adapt to that he'll remain a regular for a few years yet, if not he'll be struggling.
I am by no means eagles biggest fan, but...
He has been used successfully as a tagger, so the defensive skills are there.
He is one of the longest and flattest kicks in football, which means quick ball movement into the forward 50, very hard for defenders to stop. He has a tendency to miskick, but nowhere near as bad as you suggest. He is also hardly the lightweight in a contest that most seem to believe. Check out his stiff arm on Jason Johnson in the last qtr of the draw vs dons (gets a bit of play on fox), one instance does not prove a point, but it would be impossible for anybody as weak as eagle is supposed to be to do that.
For me the big question is whether eagle can play a balanced style of game. No coach of his has really asked it of him before. If he can adapt to that he'll remain a regular for a few years yet, if not he'll be struggling.
Hes a reciever, just like Johno. Both these guys midfield posessions come from handball recieves and uncontested marks. They both lay an insignificant number of tackles that stick. They both spend a lot of time forward of the ball. Their direct opponents always get an easy run.
Now Im not bagging them specifically because of that - but those are the facts. I think B.Murphy looks to be of the same type of player.
These types of players can be extremely damaging and force their opponent to man them up, but if they arent dmaaging and their opponents _are_, then they are a liability. And you cant have too many of these types of players on the paddock at the same time.
Johno can play his receiving game in much heavier traffic than Eagle, and he generally uses the ball a lot better - Eagle is indescicive and doesnt use his deadly left foot anywhere near enough. Johno can also be rested forward and provide huge headaches for the oppisiton. Eagle cant.
Yes eagle has been used successfully as a tagger - against oppostion recievers like Joel Bowden etc.. and we have won some of those matchups where Joel Bowden got 24 poseesions and kicked 1 goal and Eagle got 28 posessions and kicked 2 goals. thats a pretty specialized definition of 'tagging'
I think it will be:
Also jumping up from relative obscurity:
1. Brad Murphy
2. Will Minson
Brady Murphy will be like St Kilda's Milne. Minson will be feared.
yeah, like brad murphy alot!!! very very smart player good evasive skills and good footy brain. He may not be the quickest bloke around, but if your good enough your fast enough i say!! dont know about him being compared to milne though?? lets not degrade him
cyberdog
1 Feb 2005, 19:08
i hope tim walsh is our jitb.
Pembleton
2 Feb 2005, 13:13
Hes a reciever, just like Johno. Both these guys midfield posessions come from handball recieves and uncontested marks. They both lay an insignificant number of tackles that stick. They both spend a lot of time forward of the ball. Their direct opponents always get an easy run.
Now Im not bagging them specifically because of that - but those are the facts. I think B.Murphy looks to be of the same type of player.
These types of players can be extremely damaging and force their opponent to man them up, but if they arent dmaaging and their opponents _are_, then they are a liability. And you cant have too many of these types of players on the paddock at the same time.
Johno can play his receiving game in much heavier traffic than Eagle, and he generally uses the ball a lot better - Eagle is indescicive and doesnt use his deadly left foot anywhere near enough. Johno can also be rested forward and provide huge headaches for the oppisiton. Eagle cant.
Yes eagle has been used successfully as a tagger - against oppostion recievers like Joel Bowden etc.. and we have won some of those matchups where Joel Bowden got 24 poseesions and kicked 1 goal and Eagle got 28 posessions and kicked 2 goals. thats a pretty specialized definition of 'tagging'
As i said, Eagle has never been asked to play a balanced style. You can hardly blame him for being a forward of the ball receiver when that is exactly the role he has been assigned. Also as i said, he will need to be able to adapt or he will struggle.
Eagle has only twice got 28 or more possies in a game, so perhaps my definition of tagging only looks specialised when you make up the stats to suit your argument. :) He definately did not play a free wheeling style when he was given defensive assignments in mid 2003. Although he clearly was also not a Libba hold your opponent to under 10 possies whilst barely getting a kick yourself type tagger.
To be honest, Eagle is neither hear nor there to me. He is a solid player who could struggle under Eade's style of play, but our fortunes in '05 do not ride on his contribution.
STARSHIPTROOPER
2 Feb 2005, 20:57
Lachlan Veal could suprise
Pembleton
3 Feb 2005, 09:18
Time for new material, your always negative tone is boring enough without using the same reference over and over again.
The last time he had an original post was when his post count showed "1"
Im a little surprised there has only been one mention for Jordon McMahon. Have the majority of supporters given up on him ?.
In my opinion he has more talent then just about every player mentioned in this thread. Let's hope Eade can get the best out of him. If he can he will become a very dangerous player.
Freezing
4 Feb 2005, 23:05
Im a little surprised there has only been one mention for Jordon McMahon. Have the majority of supporters given up on him ?.
In my opinion he has more talent then just about every player mentioned in this thread. Let's hope Eade can get the best out of him. If he can he will become a very dangerous player.
Yay! I totally agree, very under rated dog. Sure, he is light, but he puts in more than he is given credit for here. We must remember he didnt really do a preseason last year due to injury. He looks good this pre season. Could be J.Mac in the Box...
skooshtamart
4 Feb 2005, 23:32
DarthShipVader I know their is some good in you somewhere. Are we likely to get a positive comment from you. Surely their must some positive energy flowing through your veins.
Ps every two negative posts you make i take as a positive ;)
wedesweiler
5 Feb 2005, 00:04
I would love to see Cam Faulkner get an injury free run this year where he cements his position via his ability to lay a ferocious tackle, generate midfield drive or orchestrate winning snaps for goal!!
Wham Bam - ThankYou Cam !!
Cheers !
I think we are in for a cracker of a year with multiple JITBs
Remember when Chris Grant started? We all knew he was going to be great, but it took a few years of development before he consistently delivered the goods with the breathtaking performances we had been waiting for.
This will be the year that Robert Murphy delivers and blows the opposition apart.
Mitch Hahn will step up and be a dominant player, plus we have the leader of the pack - Adam Cooney.
If Darcy, Johnson, Smith & Grant still have the hunger, and can rediscover their drive from a year or so back there is no limit to where the club can go this year
Freezing
6 Feb 2005, 02:15
yes, good points, its time for a few guys to just find their feet, and pop outa that box.