View Full Version : ING Cup: Victoria vs Queensland @ Ballarat

Pages : [1] 2

Bombers_Forever
2 Feb 2005, 09:51
Squads for the match on Sunday the 9th of February:

Victoria Cameron White (capt), Adam Crosthwaite (wk), Matthew Elliott, Ian Harvey, Brad Hodge, David Hussey, Brad Knowles, Michael Lewis, Andrew McDonald, Jon Moss, Graeme Rummans, Shane Warne.

Queensland Jimmy Maher (capt), James Hopes, Martin Love, Clinton Perren, Craig Philipson, Brendan Nash, Wade Seccombe, Andy Bichel, Nathan Hauritz, Ashley Noffke, Mitchell Johnson, Shane Jurgensen.

Victoria need to win to stay in touch with second place. A formidable line up after thier Pura Cup win and the fact one S. Warne is in the side. Victoria beat Queensland at the Gabba a month ago and have a good record against the Bulls.

While QLD have sewn up a home final, going into the final with losing form won't be good. Would think Jurgensen or Johnson will be 12th man, depending on the pitch. Johnson's return against NSW resulted in a first ball wicket, but he did conceed about 4.5 runs an over. These two will be fighting for a spot in the final.

Homer Jnr
2 Feb 2005, 10:37
Johnson definately in I would hope.

corporal
2 Feb 2005, 11:13
Can someone tell me how Rummans keeps getting a game, he has a strike rate of about 30 and he doesn't score any runs anyway.

grayza
2 Feb 2005, 12:01
Rummans is the rock in the middle order for the Vics...they have the opening rock in Elliott who can score quick runs also, Moss Hodge and Huss all bat reasonably quickly but if quick wickets fall Rummans is there to play a Bevan-type innings

i wouldnt question his spot in the ING cup side, he recently made 233* in premier cricket of something like 280 balls, he is a handy batsman who improves the composition of the side

Jaymin
2 Feb 2005, 12:13
NSW conspiracy again making the Vics play away from their beloved home ground.

Another ready made excuse if the Vics lose.

corporal
2 Feb 2005, 12:30
Rummans is the rock in the middle order for the Vics...they have the opening rock in Elliott who can score quick runs also, Moss Hodge and Huss all bat reasonably quickly but if quick wickets fall Rummans is there to play a Bevan-type innings

i wouldnt question his spot in the ING cup side, he recently made 233* in premier cricket of something like 280 balls, he is a handy batsman who improves the composition of the side

Making district runs is great however he has only made 137 @ 27 (his average was boosted by an unbeaten 50 early in the season which has been his only meaniful contribution in my eyes). Also he has failed at crucial times when he should have played his Bevan like innings. He doesn't seem to rock like to me.

I'd rather see Klinger get a shot down the order.

Cleavy
2 Feb 2005, 16:14
NSW conspiracy again making the Vics play away from their beloved home ground.

Another ready made excuse if the Vics lose.

as long as we don't get rolled for 50-odd again...

gerta
2 Feb 2005, 16:39
a game this sunday in ballarat??? Unless suzie can give me some more info i think it will be very wet down there so i wouldn't be batting first...

ben.carbonaro
2 Feb 2005, 16:50
a game this sunday in ballarat??? Unless suzie can give me some more info i think it will be very wet down there so i wouldn't be batting first...

What sort of information are you after ?

Check out www.bushrangers.com.au

gerta
2 Feb 2005, 17:54
What sort of information are you after ?

Check out www.bushrangers.com.au

The weather benny boy, the weather... I think that could definitely play a significant role in the game should it start on sunday...

ben.carbonaro
2 Feb 2005, 17:56
The weather benny boy, the weather... I think that could definitely play a significant role in the game should it start on sunday...

Yes, most certainly gerta. There have been suggestions they might struggled to get a result, let alone any sort of reuslts even if they do have to use the Duckworth/Lewis forumla to calculate some sort of target.

gerta
2 Feb 2005, 18:00
Yes, most certainly gerta. There have been suggestions they might struggled to get a result, let alone any sort of reuslts even if they do have to use the Duckworth/Lewis forumla to calculate some sort of target.

I've got more chance of playing pick up sticks with my butt cheeks than there being a game of cricket that gets a result in ballarat on sunday...

ben.carbonaro
2 Feb 2005, 18:07
I've got more chance of playing pick up sticks with my butt cheeks than there being a game of cricket that gets a result in ballarat on sunday...

Yeah, I understand what you mean Gerta. I think some other people would do something similar with thier own butt cheeks :D

London Adelaidian
2 Feb 2005, 18:23

BOM (http://www.bom.gov.au/cgi-bin/wrap_fwo.pl?IDV17101.txt) to the resuce :)

If the drainage system is semi decent there you *may* get a result.

ben.carbonaro
2 Feb 2005, 18:26
BOM (http://www.bom.gov.au/cgi-bin/wrap_fwo.pl?IDV17101.txt) to the resuce :)

If the drainage system is semi decent there you *may* get a result.

Yeah true, I don't think it's like the MCG but Eastern Oval is a good surface and has hosted state/ international tour matches before as has the city oval.

Cleavy
2 Feb 2005, 18:28
A no result in this game, a Tassie defeat and a WA victory might make the race to be the 2nd finalist a lot more interesting

gerta
2 Feb 2005, 18:34
Just looked at the forecast for sunday and it looks clear... Clear but very very cold... But they will have heaps of rain before then so i'm guessing the pitch will be a bit under prepared...

gerta
2 Feb 2005, 18:36
Oh and also the forecast for Ballarat tomorrow 40 - 80 mm ;)

Suzi better start building the ark ;)

Jaymin
2 Feb 2005, 19:45
Hey Suzi!

Can we all crash at your house on the weekend? I've got it all planned!

Arrive Saturday afternoon.
Meet your family.
Saturday night we can paint the town red with your umpiring mates.
Sunday we can go and watch the mighty Vics play!

What a dream weekend!

Karbassiyoon
2 Feb 2005, 19:53
can this game be moved to melbourne? mind you, if it rains anywhere in victoria this sunday it will simply follow the cricket to wherever it'll be played

Lenny29
2 Feb 2005, 20:16
Hey Suzi!

Can we all crash at your house on the weekend? I've got it all planned!

Arrive Saturday afternoon.
Meet your family.
Saturday night we can paint the town red with your umpiring mates.
Sunday we can go and watch the mighty Vics play!

What a dream weekend!
Like Saturday afternoon will be long enough to meet the entire family.

eddiesmith
2 Feb 2005, 20:20
They will struggle to get a game on Friday Night for the VB final at the MCG, that should be moved to TD

Dont see how the ground would be unplayable. Will stop raining by Friday Night out there. Gives them a day or so to get it right. Will be a ******** pitch though

ben.carbonaro
2 Feb 2005, 20:42
They will struggle to get a game on Friday Night for the VB final at the MCG, that should be moved to TD

Dont see how the ground would be unplayable. Will stop raining by Friday Night out there. Gives them a day or so to get it right. Will be a ******** pitch though

Agree with all of your comments Eddie.

However, the pitch in Ballarat is actually not that bad a few guys from ym club have played representative cricket on it before.

eddiesmith
2 Feb 2005, 21:39
Squads for the match on Sunday the 9th of February:

Victoria Cameron White (capt), Adam Crosthwaite (wk), Matthew Elliott, Ian Harvey, Brad Hodge, David Hussey, Brad Knowles, Michael Lewis, Andrew McDonald, Jon Moss, Graeme Rummans, Shane Warne.

:eek: :eek: There is no god. Please, please, please tell me he is taking over Welsfords drink duties and not getting a spot in the XI. We surely couldnt be throwing away the ING cup now by including this ugly, no talent hack. :mad: Only Thornely is worse

BTW, How do you know the sides for a match being played in 2008? Or even the fixture?

ben.carbonaro
2 Feb 2005, 21:54
:eek: :eek: There is no god. Please, please, please tell me he is taking over Welsfords drink duties and not getting a spot in the XI. We surely couldnt be throwing away the ING cup now by including this ugly, no talent hack. :mad: Only Thornely is worse

BTW, How do you know the sides for a match being played in 2008? Or even the fixture?

Cricket is different in the fact that looks are not as important as they are in football.

eddiesmith
2 Feb 2005, 22:00
Looks aside, he is still the ********test player on Victorias list

Karbassiyoon
2 Feb 2005, 22:05
:eek: :eek: There is no god. Please, please, please tell me he [Andrew McDonald]is taking over Welsfords drink duties and not getting a spot in the XI. We surely couldnt be throwing away the ING cup now by including this ugly, no talent hack. :mad: Only Thornely is worse

you know what eddiesmith, i used to think you got a hard time from other users

but if you're going to bash redheads, then i declare you my enemy!

ben.carbonaro
2 Feb 2005, 22:08
you know what eddiesmith, i used to think you got a hard time from other users

but if you're going to bash redheads, then i declare you my enemy!

Agree totally, you shouldn't be giving anyone a hard time about thier physical apperance and in particular, first-class cricketers.

eddiesmith
2 Feb 2005, 22:08
I though you already had when I bashed Thornelys 200???

ben.carbonaro
2 Feb 2005, 22:10
I though you already had when I bashed Thornelys 200???

Let the boxing bout and verbal stoush begin !!!!! :D

eddiesmith
2 Feb 2005, 22:10
Agree totally, you shouldn't be giving anyone a hard time about thier physical apperance and in particular, first-class cricketers.

Its got nothing to do with their physical appearance. Its just they are ********

ben.carbonaro
2 Feb 2005, 22:15
Its got nothing to do with their physical appearance. Its just they are ********

Do you mean cricketing ability ?

Don't want to start a verbal stoush here, just want to talk cricket like everyone else who uses this particular board.

eddiesmith
2 Feb 2005, 22:16
Yes, they have no cricketing ability. McDonald is hopeless, cant bat, cant bowl,cant throw. Should go to NSW to join Snorely

ben.carbonaro
2 Feb 2005, 22:18
Yes, they have no cricketing ability. McDonald is hopeless, cant bat, cant bowl,cant throw. Should go to NSW to join Snorely

You mean Thornley ?

Thornley, must be that bad he was played for Australia A before and obviously the selectors have had them in thier thoughts with regards to the Australian one-day side in future.

You are having a go at them and questioning thier ability, how about you have a good about playing first-class cricket it aint easy to make it ?

Jaymin
2 Feb 2005, 22:20
You mean Thornley ?

Thornley, must be that bad he was played for Australia A beafore and obviously the selectors have had them in thier thoughts with regards to the Australian one-day side in future.

You are having a go at them and questioning thier ability, how about you have a good about playing first-class cricket it aint easy to make it ?

I feel a NSW conspiracy theory coming on shortly.

eddiesmith
2 Feb 2005, 22:22
After watching those Aus A games, i cant believe Snorely plays One Day cricket. Does any player in the history of the game have a worse strike rate?

I still got plenty of time to show im better than them :D If they can play first class cricket then there cant be much quality around in the all rounders that play district or grade cricket in Vic and NSW. Maybe I should become an all rounder

ben.carbonaro
2 Feb 2005, 22:25
After watching those Aus A games, i cant believe Snorely plays One Day cricket. Does any player in the history of the game have a worse strike rate?

I still got plenty of time to show im better than them :D If they can play first class cricket then there cant be much quality around in the all rounders that play district or grade cricket in Vic and NSW. Maybe I should become an all rounder

Don't get too cocky or over confident ok ?

ben.carbonaro
2 Feb 2005, 22:26
I feel a NSW conspiracy theory coming on shortly.

Yeah, even though I am a Victorian just making a general comment about playing first-class cricket and the fact that not everyone can play it, despite the fact that some people think anyone can.

Jaymin
2 Feb 2005, 22:34
Yeah, even though I am a Victorian just making a general comment about playing first-class cricket and the fact that not everyone can play it, despite the fact that some people think anyone can.

Not directed at you :rolleyes:

ben.carbonaro
2 Feb 2005, 22:39
Not directed at you :rolleyes:

Alright, sorry to get involved Mr Jaymin.

Bombers_Forever
3 Feb 2005, 05:31
3 pages and the game is 3 days away! :p

ben.carbonaro
3 Feb 2005, 08:51
3 pages and the game is 3 days away! :p

Yeah, I know interesting that considering half of it is me and Eddie going hell for leather about two particular cricketers in Messers McDonlad and Thornley.

SorryIHammerChicken
3 Feb 2005, 18:39
McDonald is a dud. Sure, he makes runs in district cricket but he has not the technique to play Australian first class cricket and should move to Zimbabwe to pursue a test career over there.

silky-smooth
5 Feb 2005, 17:07
Start times around Australia for the match tomorrow:

07:00 am - 02:30 pm (AWDST)
09:30 am - 05:00 pm (ACDST)
09:00 am - 04:30 pm (AEST)
10:00 am - 5:30 pm (AEDST)

*Perhaps this could get stickied before it slips onto the second page again, and I find something utterly useless in an attempt to bump it. ;)

Unwritten_Law
5 Feb 2005, 17:10
Carn the Bulls.

I wrote the season off a couple of weeks back but Tassie can still fall into the final with a bit of luck.

Cleavy
6 Feb 2005, 09:25
Vics off to a flyer
VIC 0/124 (18.5 overs) after Maher sent us in
Elliott 50* 63 balls
Moss 59* 59 balls

Cleavy
6 Feb 2005, 09:43
Elliott out to Hauritz for 56.

Vics 1/145 off 24ov.

Karbassiyoon
6 Feb 2005, 09:50
thank you jimmy

we need the double bonus, cmon vics

jagx00
6 Feb 2005, 10:44
The wheels are coming off a bit.
4/206 (39.5)
Hodge37*
Harvey 2*

red+black
6 Feb 2005, 11:07
5/235 after 45 overs, RR: 5.22. Hopefully we get at least 280.

red+black
6 Feb 2005, 11:10
VIC 5/243 (46 overs) - RR: 5.30

On target for a disappointing 265.
6 per over - 267
9 per over - 279 (i'll take this)

jagx00
6 Feb 2005, 11:14
I'm surprised Bichel wasn't given 10 overs, even though the openers got stuck into him a bit.

red+black
6 Feb 2005, 11:16
Victoria - 5/258 (48 overs)

red+black
6 Feb 2005, 11:19
5/269 (49 overs)
Hodge 76*

CA website scores down of course :rolleyes:

red+black
6 Feb 2005, 11:23
Vics 5/277 (50 overs)
Hodge 82*
McDonald 19*

Disappointing I reckon after having scored our first 100 off 91 balls. Doubt we'll get a bonus point, but just need the win.

jagx00
6 Feb 2005, 11:27
It is a bit disappointing. The pitch would appear to be OK, but Vics have a reasonable bowling attack and should have a good chance.
Still, Qld are not on top of the ladder for nothing.

Karbassiyoon
6 Feb 2005, 11:31
really disappointing - its gotta be a batsmans pitch too

all of a sudden the vics are vulnerable, and i'm not happy about it!

nicho_magic
6 Feb 2005, 11:58
Can someone tell me how Rummans keeps getting a game, he has a strike rate of about 30 and he doesn't score any runs anyway.
another moron who has little understanding of cricket and thinks that every player to play 1 day cricket should have a strike rate of 200

jagx00
6 Feb 2005, 12:27
Maher c/Warne b/Lewis 6
1/11 (2.3 overs)

Russian
6 Feb 2005, 12:46
3/24 after 7

Lewis 3 overs, 2/1

Maher, Hopes and Perren out for 6, 10 and 1. Knowles has the other wicket

red+black
6 Feb 2005, 12:48
I think we got this won now. Restrict them to 221 for the bonus point. 138 for two bonus points :)

Russian
I assume Nash was out there fielding for Love because Seccombe has come in at 5 to join Philipson.

Looks good for a double bonus point for the Vics

JUBJUB
Martin Love may not bat.He's had stitches in a thumb injury.

red+black
6 Feb 2005, 13:00
Lewis 5-2-8-2. Not bad eh?

red+black
6 Feb 2005, 13:15
5/48 after 15 overs !!!

red+black
6 Feb 2005, 13:28
ABC Radio have confirmed that Love won't bat, so effectively 6 wickets down.

Noffke 11*, Seccombe 7* with only Hauritz, Johnson and Jurgensen to come.

Unwritten_Law
6 Feb 2005, 13:46
Meh.

At least save the double bonus point! Equal points and vics ******** it in on NRR.

From memory, next round its SA v. Tas in Adelaide and NSW v. Vic in Sydney.

jagx00
6 Feb 2005, 13:52
Both games are on TV too

jagx00
6 Feb 2005, 13:59
Noffke out to McDonald.

6/83 off 24.4

Feb12 SA v Tas
Feb13 NSW v Vic

silky-smooth
6 Feb 2005, 14:01
I think we got this won now. Restrict them to 221 for the bonus point. 138 for two bonus points :)
Queensland 6-86 after 25.2 overs (Run Rate: 3.39)

red+black
6 Feb 2005, 14:05
7/94

jagx00
6 Feb 2005, 14:06
Hauritz out to Warne

7/87 (26.1)

eddiesmith
6 Feb 2005, 14:10
Knowing QLD they would send Love out to try and deny the double bonus Point

All I can say on this match so far is, Jimmy Maher is my all time favourite Captain

First the follow on, now putting us in. Great captaincy Jimmy

jagx00
6 Feb 2005, 14:18
Knowing QLD they would send Love out to try and deny the double bonus Point

Can't blame them really. They'd probably like to have Victoria out of the final.

eddiesmith
6 Feb 2005, 14:20
Cant wait to see Warnie on his favourite ground in the one day final

jagx00
6 Feb 2005, 14:40
I'm getting worried.
7/126
Lewis bowled out.

red+black
6 Feb 2005, 14:43
finally. 9/126.

seccombe 43
jurgensen 0

love is batting, harvey on a hat-trick

jagx00
6 Feb 2005, 14:43
Harvey gets Seccombe
8/126

jagx00
6 Feb 2005, 14:45
finally. 9/126.

seccombe 43
jurgensen 0

love is batting, harvey on a hat-trick

You seem to get the scores a lot quicker than I can from the website. Radio?

red+black
6 Feb 2005, 14:46
ABC radio

eddiesmith
6 Feb 2005, 14:46
13 runs to avoid giving up the double bonus point, Vics need to take 1 wicket before hand and they are in 2nd place

red+black
6 Feb 2005, 14:49
9/129, 10 runs needed

jagx00
6 Feb 2005, 14:50
ABC radio
Thanks.
I was stupidly listening to the TV.

eddiesmith
6 Feb 2005, 14:51
The Double would make next weekend a lot easier but we are playing the bottom side and we have the worlds best spinner on Australias best spinning track so a BP next week isnt out of the question, SA beating Tassie isnt out of the question either

red+black
6 Feb 2005, 14:57
9/135 :(

eddiesmith
6 Feb 2005, 15:00
9/136 now. still got 2 runs to play with

red+black
6 Feb 2005, 15:04
All out 139 :mad: :mad: :mad:

nicho_magic
6 Feb 2005, 15:08
All out 139 :mad: :mad: :mad:
do we at least get 1 bonus point

eddiesmith
6 Feb 2005, 15:10
We get 1 BP. Now we need SA to beat Tassie or get 1 more point than Tassie do next week against SA

red+black
6 Feb 2005, 15:10
yeah 1 bonus point, 2 would have put us in second place

red+black
6 Feb 2005, 15:11
Tassie play on Saturday, we play on Sunday, so we will know what we need to do to make the final. Go South Australia!

The SA v Tas game will be live on channel nine. Not sure about Sunday's game.

Fall Out Boy
6 Feb 2005, 15:19
Thanks Jimmy. Still love you :)

jagx00
6 Feb 2005, 15:19
Tassie play on Saturday, we play on Sunday, so we will know what we need to do to make the final. Go South Australia!

The SA v Tas game will be live on channel nine. Not sure about Sunday's game.

The CA website says that both will be on C9

eddiesmith
6 Feb 2005, 15:20
Sundays game will be live on CH9. We are playing NSW so of course its on TV. Good scheduling by CA for once, the 2 games that matter both on TV

JUBJUB
6 Feb 2005, 15:33
Thanks Jimmy. Still love you :)

QLD need to ban him from captaining against the Vics.

mcphee_is_a_gun
6 Feb 2005, 18:01
great bowling by Harvey and Lewis yet again, Go South Australia knock those Tasmanian's over!

SorryIHammerChicken
6 Feb 2005, 18:42
what is with Queensland? Are they victoria's b*tch? Ever since the 03/04 season the Vics have pulled off some great wins against them, the drought breaker at the Gabba, the belting in the Shield final, and this season despite victoria being in poor form against other teams.

i think the final last year still haunts Jimmy ;)

Lenny29
6 Feb 2005, 20:14
We absolutely desperately need to bring in Simpson and Hartley. Simpson's a better offie than Hauritz (although he bowled well today) and can bat, and Hartley's in terrific batting form and, although Seccombe's terrifc, the one day game's passed him by.

That, and hope to hell that the Vics don't make the ING Cup final!!

Jaymin
6 Feb 2005, 20:20
Good to see Moss getting some runs! If he could get his bowling back on track a ODI for ayt least Australia A is not out of reach.

Vics still a chance to win the plastic cup. Wouldn't it be funny if NSW knocked them over to ruin there chances.

mcphee_is_a_gun
6 Feb 2005, 20:21
We absolutely desperately need to bring in Simpson and Hartley. Simpson's a better offie than Hauritz (although he bowled well today) and can bat, and Hartley's in terrific batting form and, although Seccombe's terrifc, the one day game's passed him by.

That, and hope to hell that the Vics don't make the ING Cup final!!
I'm confident that if the Vics make it they'll win it but if Tasmania make it Queensland will take the competition out.