View Full Version : Is it time for a generation change at 5AA
thesouthernend
15 Feb 2005, 20:11
KG is 60+, Cornes is 55 + they are really last century's men. They are ultra conservative, pro the establishment and anti change. KG is by far the worst, he defends the SACA to the death way past any logic. His sycphantic laugh just grates on me now. Cornsey needs a younger partner who can challenge him intellectually. I believe their time has come , what do we think?
Count Zero
15 Feb 2005, 20:14
Dead right. They are sounding tired and stale. The show is on auto-pilot, they are just going throught the motions. If they re-broadcast shows from the same time last year, no-one would know the difference.
If they re-broadcast shows from the same time last year, no-one would know the difference.Maybe we could suggest it, and they can donate the money saved to my penis enlargement fund.
Paralowiepower
15 Feb 2005, 20:20
Totally agree, time to pull out the cheque book and partner Cornsey with Dwayne Russell before Sen take away most of their listeners.
They could play the interview with Mcleod every night to save money! Sorry, they already do that
Powerstufff
15 Feb 2005, 21:03
The good
They have an encyclopaedic knowledge of SA sport of the last generation, even a fair bit of the people and events of the generation preceding. Add to that extra viewpoints through KG cruising sport on Fox, while Cornsey still gets out and involved with amateur sport.
The bad
Their format is stale. KG varies from doddering to sharp. They fawn over people on air, then slag them off later. The anti Victorian stuff is destructive.
Conclusion
With SEN coming in they may be forced to update their format. A bigger panel? KG and Cornsey to do and hour a night with newer personalities hosting? I just don't think their knowledge and connections should be wasted.
dreamkillers
15 Feb 2005, 21:24
We don't have a problem with them up here as we never hear from them apart from places like this.......... :D
Porthos
15 Feb 2005, 22:25
I wouldn't worry about it until the Power have a couple of ex-players looking for a gig. You'll only secure the lifetime services of Chris McDermott or someone of that ilk if you get rid of KG or Cornesy now.
Ford Fairlane
15 Feb 2005, 22:37
According to the crowies McDermott is black, white and teal blooded now anyway. It's Wildy I wouldn't want to put up with. But at least when they did the show over summer, there wasn't the relentless sledging of callers with alternative viewpoints that you get with KG & C. That's what I find really grating and tiresome with them these days. Even moreso than KGs harpy like shrieking about the crowies.
Just on McDermott, there was always the interesting rumour about who the first player from another club was who called Alberton to pledge support to Port had we got in with our 1990 bid to join the AFL ... :cool:
Porthos
15 Feb 2005, 22:39
Wildy + McDermott = KG & Cornes - funny.
They are a bit sensationalistic (or perhaps at one extreme or the other on every topic would be a more accurate description) which has been OK seeing as they appeal to anti-Victorian sentiment. Now that a channel with a bit of substance has hit the scene they may be up a certain creek without a paddle...
...which is good.
portentous
16 Feb 2005, 07:39
A job for C_B_A and I?? :)
Muunky Tuunk Man
16 Feb 2005, 07:44
KG is 60+, Cornes is 55 + they are really last century's men. They are ultra conservative, pro the establishment and anti change. KG is by far the worst, he defends the SACA to the death way past any logic. His sycphantic laugh just grates on me now. Cornsey needs a younger partner who can challenge him intellectually. I believe their time has come , what do we think?
I believe their time has come too. KG's continual defensiveness of Lleyton Hewitt, Shane Warne etc is very tiresome and the show in general lacks the spark it had in recent years. I now find myself listening to SEN and flicking over to 5AA in the ad breaks.
spice18
16 Feb 2005, 09:00
I agree with most of the sentiments aired already, but I think the show will go on by virtue of its past prominence. True, KG&C sound like they are locked in a time warp, but the fact is (as boring and repetitive as they are) their show remains the only source of genuine uptodate news re Power and Crows. I sometimes listen to SEN and to me their programs are'nt focused enough on events in SA to threaten 5AA. Even the Boys Next Door (to KG&C??) with Aiston, Bicks & Primus on Saturday mornings doesnt have the desired penetration yet. They get a head start (830am) but they are not interesting enough so I still change to the same old boring 5AA crew from 10am. A generation change is required, but that may have to wait until we have a bona fide Power personality with a profile to dominate/host the show as an equal, not a sidekick (somebody put your hand up!!). KG&C appear safe for a few more years because there doesnt seem to be a very viable alternative at this stage.
portentous
16 Feb 2005, 09:09
It'll be interesting to see the next ratings and how it affects 5AA.
crazy_big_al
16 Feb 2005, 09:47
A job for C_B_A and I?? :)
i think u are on the money :D
portentous
16 Feb 2005, 09:51
i think u are on the money :D
You just wanna get the Clipsal girls to come in and sit on your lap.... :p
crazy_big_al
16 Feb 2005, 09:58
You just wanna get the Clipsal girls to come in and sit on your lap.... :p
at least u know it. It would have been quite cold for them the other night thou. they had hardly anything on :)
portentous
16 Feb 2005, 10:00
at least u know it. It would have been quite cold for them the other night thou. they had hardly anything on :)
Good of you to notice....... ;)
Crowked
16 Feb 2005, 10:02
Yep, its time.
Not just KG and Corpsey though, the CockRucci, McDermotitis and the great man Russ make for pretty ordinary listening too.
I'm tipping the introduction of SEN has signalled the end for 5aa as we know it.
I'm tipping the introduction of SEN has signalled the end for 5aa as we know it.Has SEN started yet? What's it like?
PowerKop
16 Feb 2005, 10:22
Havn't listened to the Crow show once since SEN came along, but rpobably will at times. Enjoy listening to Russ, but thats abou it. I wish we could get 3AW in Adelaide. I listen to it over the net occasionally and it is clearly the best sports show and AFL show, with a Port man in Dwayne Russell hosting it with Gerard Healy.
Powerstufff
16 Feb 2005, 10:32
I'm still rocked by the following:
I was standing by the canteen waiting for a beer and this gorgeous young blond was standing next to me. The beautiful Clipsal girls sauntered past, dressed (only barely) in their weird gear. The young girl next to me was watching them intently. I said "Don't worry, you'll be able to buy clothes like that in the shops Monday". She said "It's not the clothes, some of those girls must be 30! It's not a very good image for Port".
I have rarely felt my 47 years as much as I did then.
bringbackbucky
16 Feb 2005, 10:48
I dont know how anyone can listen to commercial radio anyway. 5 minutes of KG&Cornsey crap followed by 15 minutes of commercials!
TripleJ all the way for me!
Crowked
16 Feb 2005, 11:29
Has SEN started yet? What's it like?
Yes, its pretty good.
I still go back to 5aa occasionally to see whats going on but SEN goes round the clock, and covers all sports.
Heres what other Crows fans are thinking
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=153359
Crowked
16 Feb 2005, 11:37
I dont know how anyone can listen to commercial radio anyway. 5 minutes of KG&Cornsey crap followed by 15 minutes of commercials!
I can understand that, too many adverts and crap no doubt.
TripleJ all the way for me!
But not this. TripleJ = 50mins/hour of crap songs from bands that will never make it, because their crap like their songs. Cant think of a music station I wouldnt rather listen to.
bringbackbucky
16 Feb 2005, 11:44
TripleJ = 50mins/hour of crap songs from bands that will never make it, because their crap like their songs. Cant think of a music station I wouldnt rather listen to.
I take it you've never listened to the hottest 100 to see just how many fantastic bands triple j discovers and promotes each and every year.
If you are going to have an opinion, at least back it up with some of your own musical tastes - or are you too ashamed to admit to the rest of the world the embarrassment that must be your record collection.
Mad Dog
16 Feb 2005, 11:57
I agree it's time for a change........the problem is ...to what ????
The current format is tired and irritating, but I'm not sure the cupboard is bursting with viable alternatives. While I pity KG's gnarled existance and his blind loyalty to anything South Australian, I can actually stomach it more easily than Cornes's superiority complex. So if the same format was to remain - I would be in favour of getting rid of Cornes and retaining KG.
Who ???.....lets just start by ruling out Wildy and McDermott...they really are a poor man's Dad and Dave routine.......during summer I actually count the sleeps until ratings start again so we can have the other fools back....... :eek: The problem is in this town that after that - and after the SEN signings - the cupboard is pretty bare.
For this reason - I would favour retaining KG and Cornsey for now....but with a panel format. It's no coincidence that I generally listen to the Friday Footy show and the Saturday morning show for longer before switching off because the influence of Cornsey is diluted by the others ...Russell, Kerls, idiot Rucci, Stephen Williams (in the past). Cornsey is less likely on these shows to bull******** about yester-year, and brow beat callers because he is surrounded by others who have been there done that and tell him to shutup when required.
One of the things that attracts me to SEN is the panel format.....and I reckon it would be worth a shot on AA during the week to dilute Cornsey - and provide a different dynamic.
Problem is who ???
Those mentioned above are busy during the week......and I'm having trouble coming up with names.....Chin Ginneva, Lindner. A Jarman, Jameson, Paul Nobes, Darren Lehmann........ :confused:
thoughts, suggestions, public ridicule.........????.... :o
Ford Fairlane
16 Feb 2005, 12:04
As bad as KG&C are, Fewings and Popplestone were worse. And they had the added bonus of their rumour man who should've been called Stinky Pete cos his rumours were so on the nose.
Think yourself lucky that Popplestone stuffed up his application to SEN.
Porthos
16 Feb 2005, 12:19
Chris Dittmar is horribly underrated.
rubberman
16 Feb 2005, 12:28
Competition is good for anything. The ratings are law in the radio world. You don't rate, off you are. There is room for SEN and 5aa in this market. SEN provides me with an alternative too 5aa and I find myself listening to SEN more than 5aa, but seem to still turn over at 4pm to listen to KG and Cornes. I just don't listen to 5aa other than that. So it makes me think that many are doing the same thing. So I don't think that KG And Cornes' ratings will suffer as much as the other presenters on 5aa.
Crowked
16 Feb 2005, 12:36
I take it you've never listened to the hottest 100 to see just how many fantastic bands triple j discovers and promotes each and every year.
If you are going to have an opinion, at least back it up with some of your own musical tastes - or are you too ashamed to admit to the rest of the world the embarrassment that must be your record collection.
Not recently, I cant get past the frist 5 crap songs. I dont dispute they discover some talent. Its the crap they are submerged in that puts me off. For every good song there's 15 crap ones. You will find that those songs and talent that JJJ discovers end up on other stations too, with out the crap.
I listen to most radio stations for periods. At the moment I'm listening to Mix, they seem to have a pretty good blend of music from the 50's & 60's right up to todays new releases. Ive listened to MMM and SAFM but both tend to be a too repetative, so I move on after a while. In all, I'll listen to most music, from most era's, including todays.
A question for you, how many bands/songs does JJJ play that never make it. I think it would be an extremely high %.
bringbackbucky
16 Feb 2005, 12:47
A question for you, how many bands/songs does JJJ play that never make it. I think it would be an extremely high %.
I guess it depends on your definition of 'making it'. Thankfully, not very many bands/songs end up on commercial radio, and when they do, triple j have already moved on and are playing other songs by these bands and ithers, giving opportunity to australia's artists. I think you will find that almost every successful Australian band at the moment (not oz idol fakes) got their start through triple j. The likes of Powderfinger, Jet, Grinspoon, John Butler Trio, the Waifs, Missy Higgins, You am I, Spiderbait, the Living End etc all got their start through the support of triple j.
It truly is unrivalled when it comes to discovering and promoting australian music and has done so for the past 30 years! It is never repetitive and, getting back to my original point, has NO COMMERCIALS!!!! .... and no KG and Cornsey :)
Ford Fairlane
16 Feb 2005, 12:54
At the moment I'm listening to Mix, they seem to have a pretty good blend of music from the 50's & 60's right up to todays new releases.
I'm hoping you mean 70s and 80s ... no need to make me feel older than I already am, seeing as I know most of the 'older' stuff they play! :eek:
Mad Dog
16 Feb 2005, 12:56
Chris Dittmar is horribly underrated.
as a what???............and please don't say objective, credible radio talkback host...... :eek:
portentous
16 Feb 2005, 13:08
I listen to Nova, but anyway.......can't stand Ditts. Was hoping Troy Gray was gonna run the Trial Day.
BUT I'M AVAILABLE. Come on guys, pick me. About time we had a female voice on local radio. :)
Crowked
16 Feb 2005, 13:09
I'm hoping you mean 70s and 80s ... no need to make me feel older than I already am, seeing as I know most of the 'older' stuff they play! :eek:
Your officially old my friend. :p Definately heard the 50's & 60's mentioned a couple of times. More so the 60's. Nothing to be worried about, some of the best music came out of the 60's. Many of todays songs are just rewrites of old songs.
As long as you like the new stuff too, your still young at heart. Watch Rage mate, if you dont like the music the clips will make you feel younger, well, before your heart attack anyway. :)
Ford Fairlane
16 Feb 2005, 13:18
That makes me feel sooo much better ... :p (I like Rage when they show the old Countdown episodes - the real ones from the mid 70s)
Mitch Power
16 Feb 2005, 13:37
Totally agree. KG has to go and the replacement must be a younger bloke with a Port Adelaide background and who can match it intellectually with Cornsey. Someone like Abba or Dwayne Russell would compliment Cornesy well. David Wildy is also ok but doesn't have that Port Adelaide link.
Crowked
16 Feb 2005, 13:59
Totally agree. KG has to go and the replacement must be a younger bloke with a Port Adelaide background and who can match it intellectually with Cornsey. Someone like Abba or Dwayne Russell would compliment Cornesy well. David Wildy is also ok but doesn't have that Port Adelaide link.
match it intellectually with Corpsey? Your kidding right. :)
Incidently Corpsey is the Port voice these days, you cant get much closer to the club than breeding players for em, they need another Crows voice to replace KG or it would become the Port show.
Ford Fairlane
16 Feb 2005, 14:25
match it intellectually with Corpsey? Your kidding right. :)
Incidently Corpsey is the Port voice these days, you cant get much closer to the club than breeding players for em, they need another Crows voice to replace KG or it would become the Port show.
Who better than ex crows captain Chris McDermott? Now make sure your fingers are working before you retort! ;)
afc9798
16 Feb 2005, 14:55
Who better than ex crows captain Chris McDermott? Now make sure your fingers are working before you retort! ;)
I was jokingly going to suggest Tony McGuinness, but some stupid people appointed him as an assistant coach, who was it now?
Oh well I guess it'll save 5AA a fortune in moisture absorbent microphone covers.;)
Crowked
16 Feb 2005, 15:25
:D
The alternatives arent so great are they? He's Ok but I dont know if I could listen to him for very long.
Whats happened to Stephen Rowe? :o
arrowman
17 Feb 2005, 20:39
Some excellent stuff in this thread; I hope for their sakes 5AA management are reading this! Overall, I think the assessment of the posters here is spot on.
I think the panel idea is excellent. KG & C just can't cut it for 3 hours, they need to mix it up a lot more. Absolutely correct that Cornes in particular needs to be diluted; he basically dominates the show now and he's best in small doses :)
Of the two, though, if I had to keep one I'd keep Cornes. KG is past it (if he was ever there in the first place)
Yes, the alternatives are thin, but you don't need to find one or two "stars" - on the other hand if you run through a variety of people and mix it up. Some we'll like, some we'll hate.
Personal story time:
I've called up a few times over the years and had one or two decent conversations with Cornes (KG is useless) but my favourite was:
I called just after 5:30. They said they were all full up, and would call me back, I was about third in line or something. I was out in the car, so I kept listening - it was over an hour before they took another call, they never called me back.
And throughout that hour plus, KG was regularly saying "so give us a call on 8224 000 - plenty of free lines". :rolleyes:
arrowman
17 Feb 2005, 20:44
PS But you have to remember the target demographic. 5AA wants the over 40s (more like over 50s).
(Which at my age, I think is insulting, and so should Powerstufff ;) but there you go)
And all the old ducks and old farts love KG & C and Russell and so on - or if they don't, they listen to them anyway just so they can talk about how much they hate them.
Sadly, KG & C are just in the right age group.
Pity - I think SEN and 5AA could complement each other quite nicely - if SEN wasn't such a total "visitor" to Adelaide, and 5AA got its act together.
- Oh, and if they both got decent transmitters so I could actually listen to them in the car. :mad:
Toots Hibbert
17 Feb 2005, 21:16
PS But you have to remember the target demographic. 5AA wants the over 40s (more like over 50s).
(Which at my age, I think is insulting, and so should Powerstufff ;) but there you go)
And all the old ducks and old farts love KG & C and Russell and so on - or if they don't, they listen to them anyway just so they can talk about how much they hate them.
Sadly, KG & C are just in the right age group.
Pity - I think SEN and 5AA could complement each other quite nicely - if SEN wasn't such a total "visitor" to Adelaide, and 5AA got its act together.
- Oh, and if they both got decent transmitters so I could actually listen to them in the car. :mad:
Does anyone listen to the Coodabeen Champions on ABC radio on Saturdays around lunchtime and on Sunday afternoons. I don't catch them as regularly as I'd like but they are really good value IMO. They have a good mix of serious comment and good p*ss taking. They cover not just footy but other sports and are aware that the universe extends beyond Melbourne.
In case anyone is not aware of this institution here's a link to Greg Champions website which describes the show and it's history. Highly recommended if you enjoy a bit of knowledgable fun.
http://www.gregchampion.com.au/Biog.htm
arrowman
18 Feb 2005, 08:35
Does anyone listen to the Coodabeen Champions on ABC radio on Saturdays around lunchtime and on Sunday afternoons.Not as often as I'd like, that's not good radio time for me, but yes, that is a great show. Recommend to all.
redandwhite4ever
18 Feb 2005, 14:23
Does anyone know if 5AA or SEN do live internet streaming , as Its too hard to listen to them on the radio on K.I.
I know you can listen to SEN online, I assume 5AA is in the same boat, unless they are still in the dark ages.
Ford Fairlane
18 Feb 2005, 19:27
SEN radio (http://www.3ak.com.au/)
5AA radio (http://www.fiveaa.com.au/)
birdmanptr
18 Feb 2005, 19:30
Does anyone listen to the Coodabeen Champions on ABC radio on Saturdays around lunchtime and on Sunday afternoons. I don't catch them as regularly as I'd like but they are really good value IMO. They have a good mix of serious comment and good p*ss taking. They cover not just footy but other sports and are aware that the universe extends beyond Melbourne.
In case anyone is not aware of this institution here's a link to Greg Champions website which describes the show and it's history. Highly recommended if you enjoy a bit of knowledgable fun.
http://www.gregchampion.com.au/Biog.htm
The only thing missing is tonys talk back that was very funny
5AA radio (http://www.fiveaa.com.au/)That link is just a link to the 5AA website, from which site they do NOT stream.
5AA are dinosauric ********wits who have decided in their infinite wisdom not to stream. Apparently it's not profitable. Try advertising, you idiots.
Ford Fairlane
18 Feb 2005, 19:42
That link is just a link to the 5AA website, from which site they do NOT stream.
5AA are dinosauric ********wits who have decided in their infinite wisdom not to stream. Apparently it's not profitable. Try advertising, you idiots.
That'll learn me to just assume! You do get really comprehensive, insighful bios of their presenters tho ... :rolleyes:
Toots Hibbert
18 Feb 2005, 19:45
The only thing missing is tonys talk back that was very funny
Do you mean Torchy? He still does it. Peter from Peterborough etc. Yes very funny.
Sandola
19 Feb 2005, 08:34
But sometimes you can get 5AA calls through afl.com? Pretty sure I've listened (in desperation) to them a couple of times when no one in Melbourne could be bothered to carry our games. So we just have to wait, once again, for afl.com to get organised?
portentous
19 Feb 2005, 09:43
I managed to pick up 5AA a couple of times from Templestowe Vic when we lived there. Had to be the right conditions tho.
I think 5AA stopped streaming a couple of years ago,can't remember why.
Capitalist
19 Feb 2005, 21:21
I try to avoid posting on the Power board to avoid "issues" but the 5aa thread caught my attention
I really do think it is a time for change on the sports show its becoming really really bad, however their drive show is better than SENs -I think i made my point on the crows board on how bloody pathetic SENS ability to involve SA is all we ever get is "for the adealide people" and "so how does that relate to victoria" when they are interviewing a SA person.
my problems is I really dont wont 5aa sports show ith mark aiston and Mark bickley - there is no good SA personalities out there to host a show unless its chris mcdermott and david wildy :eek:
Ford Fairlane
19 Feb 2005, 22:00
I try to avoid posting on the Power board to avoid "issues" but the 5aa thread caught my attention
I really do think it is a time for change on the sports show its becoming really really bad, however their drive show is better than SENs -I think i made my point on the crows board on how bloody pathetic SENS ability to involve SA is all we ever get is "for the adealide people" and "so how does that relate to victoria" when they are interviewing a SA person.
my problems is I really dont wont 5aa sports show ith mark aiston and Mark bickley - there is no good SA personalities out there to host a show unless its chris mcdermott and david wildy :eek:
Yeah SEN don't do much for me I'm afraid. I'm really not interested in hearing from a cross dresser or gender illusionist who plays for Eltham North or wherever.
Best thing to do is listen to KG&C for the first 10 minutes to find out if they have anything of value to say and then get out before you go crazy.
portentous
20 Feb 2005, 11:25
Yeah SEN don't do much for me I'm afraid. I'm really not interested in hearing from a cross dresser or gender illusionist who plays for Eltham North or wherever.
Best thing to do is listen to KG&C for the first 10 minutes to find out if they have anything of value to say and then get out before you go crazy.
I'd much rather listen to Green Day and Good Charlotte on the stereo than any of those twits... :D