View Full Version : Eagles could be the next Brisbane
toulairene
19 Feb 2005, 17:52
Hey guys kangas supporter here, i been watching your side develop the last couple of years and let me tell you have a lot to look forward too.
Midfield is a dream with so much depth. Backline is developing nicely with youngsters. Your just missing that 1 key forward who can kick loads of goals, bad break with the wafl bloke who did his knee, i still believe you can work around it and dominate sides.
Something else i have noticed as well, out of all the young talls in the league, i think west coast have recruited some of the finest, compared to other sides some of your kids have allready built up strong bodies while others start out as sticks and progress, Kevin Bartlett also said it on the fox footy telecast last night, so much potential and yeah Michael Gardiner still to come back into the side is 1 was one of the most damaging ruckmen before his injury, expect him to play chf this season and dominate.
Their is no reason why this side cant dominate the afl sometime during the near future, by far the most exciting team in the league when on song.
Anyway as an outsider looking in im very impressed with your squad.
Good luck in 2005 a prelim finals appearance surely isnt that far away.
E2EK1EL
19 Feb 2005, 18:29
yeah well means nothing if we cant win on the road
Hey guys kangas supporter here, i been watching your side develop the last couple of years and let me tell you have a lot to look forward too.
Midfield is a dream with so much depth. Backline is developing nicely with youngsters. Your just missing that 1 key forward who can kick loads of goals, bad break with the wafl bloke who did his knee, i still believe you can work around it and dominate sides.
Something else i have noticed as well, out of all the young talls in the league, i think west coast have recruited some of the finest, compared to other sides some of your kids have allready built up strong bodies while others start out as sticks and progress, Kevin Bartlett also said it on the fox footy telecast last night, so much potential and yeah Michael Gardiner still to come back into the side is 1 was one of the most damaging ruckmen before his injury, expect him to play chf this season and dominate.
Their is no reason why this side cant dominate the afl sometime during the near future, by far the most exciting team in the league when on song.
Anyway as an outsider looking in im very impressed with your squad.
Good luck in 2005 a prelim finals appearance surely isnt that far away.
It would be nice. As it is I would be pretty disappointed without a prelim or at least one final victory.
The young talls look good, but they've looked promising for a while- its time for McDougall, Lynch, Staker and co to stop having potential and start producing.
Black JuJu
19 Feb 2005, 19:00
mmm that'd be nice...
coasting
19 Feb 2005, 19:48
We have good players in just about every position now, something we really haven't had since our premiership years.
Judd 4 Captain
19 Feb 2005, 23:56
the next brissie would b stretching it but you cannot deny that the team as a whole are progressing very well and as you say our position deficiencies are slowly being accounted for. I would say that this year and the next few we will be rock solid across the board.
bluey17
20 Feb 2005, 03:20
all i want from 2005 is a finals win, anything more than that is a bonus
i'm very excited and i've loved the way we've developed from the judge era to now
Black Thunder
20 Feb 2005, 20:36
yeah well means nothing if we cant win on the road
was definetaly something we were improving on though after last season.
I think not winning away from home is a combination of things
1) Having a running playing style very suited to Subiaco, it means we like the big grounds. But Subiaco is the biggest ground going around more or less, it means we don't get much a chance. I'd say if you listed all our away record of the past three seasons, i'd reckon our best would be at the bigger grounds.
2) Travel. Obviousbly there's a fair bit made of it and not much more needs to be saide.
3) Mentally. It become a bit of monkey on the back type thing. When we couldn't win in 02 and struggled in 03 and somewhat in 04, it's still been seen as a bit of a mental hurdle to cross.
We are really working on it though and definetaly improved in 2004.
What will definetaly help is the developement of KPP who become every so important on smaller grounds where the little men don't have as much rooms to use their main weapon - their legs.
We could be an absolute powerhouse, but we really need to play a tougher brand of footy, and further develop our KP's. The cattle is there it just needs to come along further.
It must also be remembered we are a young squad and all the dead wood has been culled. Basically every one is under 25 or their in the strongest 22. There's no guys any more like Michael Collica, David Sierakowski, Richard Taylor etc,.
jonny f muleus
22 Feb 2005, 13:22
ease up Big Cat, West Coast is a good team with a very good list at the moment, I even think they will make the four this year, however we wont see a team like Brisbane for quite some time....
I think this year McDougall will stand up and provide them with more firepower, Steinglien is a massive in for them to support Judd, Fletcher and Cousins
Don't know about being the next Brisbane, I'll be satisfied if they're the next Eagles.
I dont think its much of a secret anymore that were slowly but surely putting together a very good squad. We finally have quality depth which we havent had in a very long time and our talls are really coming along very well.
We have all the right tools to push on this year and make an impact in the finals. Lets hope we can, all we really need is a top 6 finish to ensure a home final. We rarely lose at Subiaco.