View Full Version : Thompson v Ottens (haha) v Simmonds
kangas_mate
22nd February 2005, 11:29
WHo would you most want in your side of last years traded big men?
Bentleigh
22nd February 2005, 11:30
For 2005, Thompson.
Ottens is the best of the 3 when in top nick, which is very rare but im fairly happy with Simmonds.
How bout Thompson for Knoble? :)
kangas_mate
22nd February 2005, 11:32
Thompson easily the best of the three IMO.
MarkT
22nd February 2005, 11:32
If I had to add one to the list it would be Ottens. He would have a far bigger upside. Whether he would produce or not is debatable but if he did he would be a far better prospect in either the ruck or as a forward.
Bentleigh
22nd February 2005, 11:35
Thompson easily the best of the three IMO.
Ottens is better than Thommo when both are going @ there peak.
For the record:
Simmonds26
Otten 25
THomspon 27
Not alot of differnece
local
22nd February 2005, 11:41
Let me see of the 3 to pick from we have:
Thomspon - suffers manic depression. Will be suicidal now that he is at North
Ottens - True under performer for 6 years. Will continue to play like a cry baby now at handbag city
Simmonds - Decent forward / ruckman who's best years are ahead of him.
Like.. Simmonds :rolleyes:
taraba
22nd February 2005, 11:46
Simmonds.
Blues_Man
22nd February 2005, 11:49
Thompson for me
benno87
22nd February 2005, 11:53
Ottens - True under performer for 6 years. Will continue to play like a cry baby now at handbag city
Simmonds - Decent forward / ruckman who's best years are ahead of him.
Like.. Simmonds :rolleyes:
Simmonds is one year younger than Thompson.
Longy413
22nd February 2005, 11:56
Ottens, his best is far beyond the other two and probably still hasn't reached his peak.
Bentleigh
22nd February 2005, 11:56
Simmonds is one year younger than Thompson.
I thought Simmonds was very average @ Melbourne and average at the start of his time at Freo.
Over the last 4 years he's come along way and I reckon will be a key link for the future Richmond side.
Ottens, his best is far beyond the other two and probably still hasn't reached his peak.
Might have peaked a few years ago :eek:
Allblack
22nd February 2005, 11:58
Would you rather be shot in your left temple or right temple?
Not exactly a hot auction this one.
Thompson has a history of inconsistancy and some serious personal issues.
Ottens is a serial underperformer and can see no reason for this to stop.
Simmonds came on a five year contract which is just plain ridiculous.
Wildman
22nd February 2005, 12:00
Ottens,has been and will be the best of the three.
mocaholic
22nd February 2005, 12:09
What was Simmonds doing getting pushed around by Wakelin? Isn't he supposed to be bigger and stronger?
And why isn't Jolley on the list?
Micketts
22nd February 2005, 12:09
All you Kangaroos fans who constantly knock Ottens because he wouldn't join your club are a joke. Your club wanted him alot more than they wanted Thompson - you can't deny that and there was a reason. Ottens was the first target of both Geelong and the Kangaroos so I'd suggest that is a slight indication who is better.
As for Simmonds I believe Ottens is better. I can't split Simmonds and Thompson.
theGav56
22nd February 2005, 12:11
I actually like them all. The only one that I can see being a gamebreaker though is Ottens, plus he seems like the best placed of them (that is he is the best match for the clubs need).
But for what it's worth am very happy that Fremantle didn't go further with the Snake auction; a five year deal for anyone below superstar level is historically a bad move. The house is well and truly mortgaged. It looked a little panic stricken from Richmonds end, but good luck to him and his dollars and good luck to Richmond. I'm tipping a 9th place finish sometime soon.
Good on Thompson for coming out about depression. Gutsy of him to do so.
Hearts to hearts
22nd February 2005, 12:14
All you Kangaroos fans who constantly knock Ottens because he wouldn't join your club are a joke.
I think there's just one, who has been talking a lot.
Look, most of us would like a bit of a chuckle if someone who thought he was too good for our club didn't achieve what they expected somewhere else, but after one wiz cup game? in the rain? give me a break.
rota69
22nd February 2005, 12:16
simmo
carlos' roos
22nd February 2005, 12:19
I was keen on getting ottens and i rate him, i rate simmonds and i rate thompson. All are good big men. I think any of the three would suit in the roos side. Now we have thompson i like him better
Choota
22nd February 2005, 13:25
To be honest, I don't think too highly of any of them. Three of the more overrated, overpaid players.
If I had to choose one, i'd probably take Thompson back as his contract size and length would be closest to the right amount.
Three old-fashioned "not good enough as a ruckman, not good enough as a forward, but ok at both" players. They're not being paid accordingly.
Bentleigh
22nd February 2005, 13:26
To be honest, I don't think too highly of any of them. Three of the more overrated, overpaid players.
If I had to choose one, i'd probably take Thompson back as his contract size and length would be closest to the right amount.
Three old-fashioned "not good enough as a ruckman, not good enough as a forward, but ok at both" players. They're not being paid accordingly.
Shall we add Holland tot he poll champ?
bluesforever
22nd February 2005, 13:28
Simmonds by a mile over Ottens, but Thompson could probably be about the same as Simmonds, time well tell whos the most damaging.
Renegade
22nd February 2005, 13:30
Good to see Kangas mate still beating off over Thompson managing a goal in a wizard cup match. Thompson is a fruitloop who'll be suicidal at least 3 times this season playing for north. Ottens is suddenly in everyones doghouse because he was ineffective in his 2 quarters as a forward. Simmonds is a quality player and will be a big key for bitchmond provided richo doesn't severly injure him during one of his psycho attacks.
Allblack
22nd February 2005, 13:36
Good to see Kangas mate still beating off over Thompson managing a goal in a wizard cup match. Thompson is a fruitloop who'll be suicidal at least 3 times this season playing for north. Ottens is suddenly in everyones doghouse because he was ineffective in his 2 quarters as a forward. Simmonds is a quality player and will be a big key for bitchmond provided richo doesn't severly injure him during one of his psycho attacks.
you seriously have less IQ points than I have testicles
Choota
22nd February 2005, 13:39
Shall we add Holland tot he poll champ?
No, perhaps you should learn to read. The poll was to involve three overrated big men who were traded in the off-season yet are rated highly by those at their new club.
Holland was not traded, and nobody thinks he's any good. He can play out his career in the magoos the greedy bastard. Nice attempt to bring Hawthorn into the thread though. Really.
Motters19
22nd February 2005, 13:44
It's morons like you who make depression such a hard thing to admit to. Grow a brain ****************
Nightwolf
22nd February 2005, 13:45
It's morons like you who make depression such a hard thing to admit to. Grow a brain ****************
Agree....
hotdogandsauce
22nd February 2005, 14:12
as someone who has suffered through depression and fortunately come out the other side, i find this piece of tripe written from someone who obviously is ill informed, perhaps mate you need to speak to people who have gone through to gain a better understanding of its consequences...again another flog joins the queue on this site...
Infamy
22nd February 2005, 14:18
you seriously have less IQ points than I have testicles
You can't have an IQ of zero, its based on standard deviations
jackson_rules
22nd February 2005, 14:24
to true someone with depression needs support not that ********
dipper86
22nd February 2005, 14:28
hmm, i dont know why people are thinking simmonds is better than Thompson. i have never really seen simmonds dominate games, ive never really seen simmonds kick bags of goals, thompson has on a fair few occations,
Has simmonds dominated games in the ruck, i cant recall people help me. I know thompson has dominated in the ruck and one quiete a few games for Hawthorn in this role.
Tas
22nd February 2005, 15:24
All you Kangaroos fans who constantly knock Ottens because he wouldn't join your club are a joke. Your club wanted him alot more than they wanted Thompson - you can't deny that and there was a reason. Ottens was the first target of both Geelong and the Kangaroos so I'd suggest that is a slight indication who is better.
As for Simmonds I believe Ottens is better. I can't split Simmonds and Thompson.
You are still flying the 'neutral' flag? Why don't you just change it to Geelong? Everyone knows who you are and which team you support.
North looked at Ottens, Simmonds, Thompson and Jolly (not sure why he isn't on this list).
Ottens would have been good for us because we saw him as a ruckman predominantly and someone who could play forward secondly, this makes Ottens a good option. Geelong wanted Ottens as a forward and as a ruckman secondly, I do not think he has the same value in that secnario. He wont be rucking when King is in the side and it is unknown how well he will play as a forward.
Simmonds was a good second choice because his asking price is very low in comparison to Ottens or Thompson, for good reason, he hasn't set the world on fire at any club he has played. He would have been good because he would be relatively cheap in terms of trade BUT the length of his contract was way too risky for a player of his age and lack of onfield performance. He is a good handy player but risky giving a 26yo a long term contract who has best been competitive.
Thompson was a bit too pricey for my liking, but he has had reasonable on-field performances and even while suffering depression was relatively competitive without being sensational. I do not think he is asking for an excessive contract, he just wanted to start with a fresh new club, did not care who he played for.
Thompson is less of a prima donna than Ottens or Simmonds. Ottens was severely overpaid and accepted he had to have his contract based on performance, as soon as the contract was on offer he said it was not enough and left the Tigers but said he would not screw Richmond by letting them trade him for the best deal yet refused to go to clubs that could beat what Geelong offered on trade so screwed the club nonetheless.
Simmonds wouldn't play for Fremantle becase they wouldn't offer a long contract, if he plays well enough then he would be offered a new contract. He just seemed to be too worried that his future performance would not guarantee he would be playing football for more than 2 years so that concerns me.
So I am VERY glad we have Thompson. I am glad Richmond is happy with Simmonds and am glad Geelong are happy with Ottens.
leonmagic
22nd February 2005, 15:48
Good to see Kangas mate still beating off over Thompson managing a goal in a wizard cup match. Thompson is a fruitloop who'll be suicidal at least 3 times this season playing for north.
Gee, you man.
pav_is_god
22nd February 2005, 15:56
Simmonds is a handy player, nothing more nothing less.
Ottens can be awesome, but more often than not barely rises above mediocrity.
Thompson is good but inconsistent.
Who would I have in my side for 2005? I've gone for Thompson because he could play forward or back quite easily for us. Having said that, a ruckmen/forward like Simmonds (bloody merc ;) ) or Ottens would be a good back up for J-Lo and 211.
rick James
22nd February 2005, 15:59
What was Simmonds doing getting pushed around by Wakelin? Isn't he supposed to be bigger and stronger?
Don't know about Jolley. But Darren Jolly isn't that flash mate, not really in the league of even these three.
kangas_mate
22nd February 2005, 16:03
THis poll is surprisingly close.
I'd have though Thommo would ******** it in.
Easily the most dangerous up forward of the three. As good a ruckman as either of them also.
OneEyedHawk
22nd February 2005, 16:11
My preferred options would be:
1. Ottens
2. Thompson
3. Simmonds
Ottens by far has the biggest upside and I think with a change of scenery and a good coach will return to his 2001 form.
Thompson can dominate games but is very inconsistant. Is a better Ruckman than forward. With all due sensitivity, it is a gamble to draft at such expense(re.draft picks) a player with such well-known and documented personal problems. I have a feeling though he will be a great pick up for North.
Simmonds is OK I guess but doesn't really do much for me. Have never seen him really dominate a game. I think he will fill a role at Richmond and if the other talls fired it could be a pretty imposing and hard to match-up on forward line. His 5 year contract however was a mistake. Has the longest contract of any current AFL player which however way you look at it is wrong. Tigers should have learnt a lesson from the Gaspar, Holland, Mercuri and Daffy debacles.
Falchoon
22nd February 2005, 16:14
On pure football ability, Ottens by a street.
One thing about the other 2 are that they're not really good enough as forwards to be really dangerous and are at best servicable in the ruck, ie good back ups, though I'd think Simmonds would be ahead in that regard.
If I had to choose one for the Saints in order and without money considerations it would be,
1. Ottens
2. Simmonds
a distant no.3. Thompson, I've just never been a fan.
Sexiano Ronaldo
22nd February 2005, 16:16
Bye.
Fall Out Boy
22nd February 2005, 16:26
I'm happy with Ottens. Believe he has more talent and more scope than the other two.
Sure all three clubs are happy with what they ended up with.
Tas
22nd February 2005, 17:25
I'm happy with Ottens. Believe he has more talent and more scope than the other two.
Sure all three clubs are happy with what they ended up with.
I think skill-wise he is better than either Thompson or Simmonds but that is not the only consideration.
If he fails to achieve what is expected of him things could get very ugly. It may not come to that but if it does he would be a loose cannon at the club.
speedy
22nd February 2005, 17:43
Thompson will be the most effective forward out of the 3.
I was suprised with his mobility and how good his hands were in the wet. Originally I thought he would be just a servicible player for us, now I'm genuinely excited about what he may bring.
Cats fans may not want to admit it, but the coach publicly putting the heat on Ottens to perform this early is not a good sign.
Geelong will realise by seasons end that they recruited a ruckman.
Cuneyt
22nd February 2005, 18:03
As good a ruckman as either of them also.
u just keep on going
sante
22nd February 2005, 18:33
I would say Ottens but he has just left us, so i voted Simmonds, as Thompson is crap
linga_is_no1
22nd February 2005, 19:53
Ottens is easily the best
Renegade
22nd February 2005, 20:38
as someone who has suffered through depression and fortunately come out the other side, i find this piece of tripe written from someone who obviously is ill informed, perhaps mate you need to speak to people who have gone through to gain a better understanding of its consequences...again another flog joins the queue on this site...
how was what i said ill informed?
I can understand what u said though...richmond fan and all
Motters19
22nd February 2005, 20:51
How was it not?
Coyote
22nd February 2005, 21:01
Fair point.
Wakelin is fairly scrawny and simmo is well built, he should of out bodied him in the contests.
Ausgard
22nd February 2005, 21:36
Close Poll !
Ottens if he is uninjured
Thompson if he is not depressed
Simmonds if the other two have problems
hotdogandsauce
22nd February 2005, 21:54
I can understand what u said though...richmond fan and all
well if you were informed about depression and its consequences, you wouldnt b making such stupid statements, i've got nothing but admiration for the player in question and hope that he is able to succeed at the roo's ...
despite who i barrack for (richmond fan and all) u need to speak to people who have suffered from this insideous condition, so infuture u wont come out with such silly comments....
LukeHodge15
25th February 2005, 11:42
ottens by a country mile
starz
25th February 2005, 11:57
Hard to pick who is the best of the three i think they are roughly the same.
Falchoon
18th July 2005, 20:07
so half way through 2005?
Thompson?
Sylvia Saint
Thompson easily. Then Ottens. Then Simmonds.
Awesome_Wells
Go Thomo!! :D
itsintheblood
18th July 2005, 20:14
WHo would you most want in your side of last years traded big men?
I thought we had a polls board.
Thompson will be fine until the roos start losing. Then we might see him become quite sad again.
cats2rise
18th July 2005, 20:19
On ability? Otto
On performance in 2005? Thompson
On doing better than everyone predicted? Simmonds
I think ottens is able to break a game more than the other two, but then this Year Thompson has been the best out of these 3. Simmonds is finding form of late which is good to see ans Otto is injured at the moment.
I think we are all happy with the trades, would there b room for Simmonds AND otto at richmond? Just wondering.
Anyway, im voting for Thompson on performance but also Otto on capability
_Ron_
18th July 2005, 20:22
Thompson
Then Ottens
Then Simmonds if was only one left who i'd then trade to Richmond for Deledio :)
_Ron_
18th July 2005, 20:24
Close Poll !
lol good post mate :D
jackson_rules
18th July 2005, 20:35
Close Poll !
i tend to agree but i think it would be much better to show the salary of each player and what the teams had to give up for them and in value for money simmonds would win hands down
Thewlis Dish
18th July 2005, 22:26
i tend to agree but i think it would be much better to show the salary of each player and what the teams had to give up for them and in value for money simmonds would win hands down
Not when you consider you've got him for five years.
bogan4life
19th July 2005, 01:31
What did each club give up to get these players?
Simmonds was pick 19 or something.
Thommo was for 2 first round picks.
Ottens was 2 first round pick.
Simmonds is the better Ruck man of the 3
Thommo is the better forward
Ottens is better at both.
If i had to pick one it would be Thommo because he is a better forward.
Thewlis Dish
19th July 2005, 18:17
What did each club give up to get these players?
Simmonds was pick 19 or something.
Thommo was for 2 first round picks.
Ottens was 2 first round pick.
Simmonds is the better Ruck man of the 3
Thommo is the better forward
Ottens is better at both.
If i had to pick one it would be Thommo because he is a better forward.
North gave up picks 10 and 26, Richmond gave up Fiora (but also had the first PSD pick to negotiate with) and Geelong gave up Moloney and pick 16 I think.
cbreban
19th July 2005, 18:30
Ottens or Simmonds.
The funny thing is that he'll end up playing more finals than Richo.
I don't think he'd be too depressed about that.
Oh, and it is Thompson. Nathan Thompson.
RoyalBlue
19th July 2005, 19:06
I thought we had a polls board.
Thompson will be fine until the roos start losing. Then we might see him become quite sad again.
We're lost plenty of games this year, Thomo has just keep on giving his all.
What's wrong with Thomo? Doesn't through enough tantrums? Too dependable? Not hot and cold enough?
Maybe it was the big five goals he snared against the finals pretenders Richmond?
nananana catman
19th July 2005, 19:24
Thompson has had the best year of the three, but I voted for Ottens because he is from Geelong. That is what you are supposed to do in these threads is it not?