View Full Version : Swans fans - tell us about yourselves.
CharlieG
22nd February 2005, 16:50
I've often thought that one thing this forum lacked was the community atmosphere that can be seen on the larger team forums. Now, as a new mod, it's one of my jobs to help build that culture here. The best way to start is, simply, to tell each other who we are. So I thought I'd get the ball rolling. Include as much or as little detail as you like.
My name is - you'll never guess - Charlie. I'm 18, I live in Melbourne (yeah, I guess that's not telling you anything) and I've supported the Swans since '94. My favourite players of all time were Mark Bayes and Paul Kelly. I was at the SCG when Plugger kicked his 1300th goal, and I was at Stadium Australia when PK and Dunks played their last game. They were the standout matches for me. I'm a uni student (first day today) at the University of Melbourne. I study history, politics and economics.
Cheers. :)
Cheer Red Blood
22nd February 2005, 17:08
Like Charlie my name is Charlie(Well actually it's Aubrey, but there are actual similarities between the mod and me) I live in Melbourne too, I was at Pluggers 1300th and Kel and Dunks' last game.I don't have as good puntuation as Charlie though.
Next.
robbieando
22nd February 2005, 22:12
Well, I'm Robbie and I'm also one of your new mods.
Basically I'm 22, from Melbourne and have side interests in Soccer (Rangers) Baseball (Mariners) and both forms of Rugby (Storm and Brumbies). I'm also the mod of the Rugby boards on here.
Classic matches that I have been at were the Port final in 03 (Great great day) and the game against Fitzroy in 95 when Lockett kicked 16 goals.
ben.carbonaro
22nd February 2005, 23:32
Hi,
My names Ben, 19 and am a Tafe student studying Professional Writing & Editing. Have been a swans man all my life.
Two of my favourite games are the draw at Telstra Dome against St Kilda and Plugger's 16 against Fitzroy at Whitten Oval.
Sid
27th February 2005, 17:44
My name is Sid and gee its hard to guess everyones names here. Im 21 on the 31st of march and I started slowly getting into the swans in 97 (thankfully missing the 96 final). I am chinese and came here (sydney) when i was 8. Started following league but noticed that AFL is the better game.
I enjoy all sports but mostly AFL and soccer. Havent really been to any special games as i only go to about 4-5 games per season. Im doing my last year at Uni of NSW as a software engineer and I work for a car leasing company, doing IT for them. If anyone wants to save on their vehicles through a novated lease, let me know.
My website is http://members.optusnet.com.au/ziasheng
The main page is just for me and contains links that i find useful, but other pages 'may' be more interesting.
ChubbMuff
1st March 2005, 16:28
Hi, my name is Ev and I have been following the Swans since '99 when I signed up with my old man.I'm 32. We also saw plugeers 1300th goal, Kelly and Dunk's last game. My favourite players are Willo and Kirk - I was at Kirk's first game (or at least the first time I can remember him) at the SCG against the Kangaroos.
Hard to pick a favourite game I saw live, but St Kilda last year was right up there. I remember we played Carlton about 2 or 3 years ago at the SCG at were getting flogged. There was a d*#khead supporter amongst us who was giving the Swans heaps, really counting his chickens. We came back strong in the last quarter and ended up winning, the look on that guy's face was priceless. A top day, the game did not mean much (not a final) but has just stayed in my memory.
Minkus_Swan
1st March 2005, 20:16
My name is Andrew - mine's a bit more difficult to find out!
I'm 22 and I've been a supporter of the club since taking up the game in 1991. I'm originally from Adelaide and moved to Sydney (via Canberra) in 1988. I remember my first game at the SCG - which was against Hawthorn and us getting flogged (ahh those early years!!!). My most memorable game that I've witnessed was in 94 against the saints. When Plugger (as a saint) went on a rampage and killed us (and Caven). Of course we lost, and all my mates and I burnt an effigy of Lockett in our backyard. THe worst game was the Grand Final, I bought a tape of it a few years ago - but I've never watched it - it's just too painful.
I just recently returned from living in the UK for the past 6 months, travelling around and working. It was an amazing journey and experience and I recommend that everybody does it at least once in their lives. Although being away during the second half of the footy season was unbearable. Listening to streamed audio at 5am half a world away, at times just wasn't enough. I plan to return overseas in the next few years (after witnessing a swans premiership of course!) to work and travel for an extended period.
skipper kelly
3rd March 2005, 18:20
My name is Skipper, but you can all call me steve. Im not very popular on these boards, mainly because not many get my humour,(maybe because its not funny) but small things amuse small minds. Most think I either racist, homophobic or just generally a redneck. This is far from the truth, as those that know me, know me as a loveable, caring and friendly family man who will do anything to help someone in need.
I am a long time South Melbourne supporter who made the transition to follow Sydney. Although my heart was broken at the time, I have moved on. The irony of it all for me is that I was born in Sydney, so in some ways I dont feel like Im supporting a foreign team.
We will be there this year. Trust me.
ROK of Gibraltar
20th March 2005, 19:25
My name is ROK but many call me Mr Lobster. I have been on the bandwagon since 1995 when league imploded, I moved from Sydney in to AFL territory and started working for a die hard South Melb/Sydney supporter.
I don't post much here but I think that Skipper Kelly is funny. It is a matter of personal pride that once on RWO I was asked in a PM if I was in fact Skipper Kelly.
CharlieG
20th March 2005, 20:05
I don't post much here but I think that Skipper Kelly is funny. It is a matter of personal pride that once on RWO I was asked in a PM if I was in fact Skipper Kelly.
Who on earth thought that? :eek:
Bloods
20th March 2005, 22:06
Hi, My names Gerard.
I'm 18. I started to go to the footy in '93 as my old man had been a South Melbourne supporter all of his life. The first swans game I attended was Rd 5 1993 against Fitzroy at Princes Park, we got killed. The week after we played North, and got belted again. McAdam and Longmire both kicked 10 I think. It didn't matter, I was sold forever. I haven't missed a swans game in Melbourne since that Fitzroy game. I was there the day the big fella kicked 16 (that was just unbelievable) and at the GF. Made the trip up for both preliminary finals, and went accross to Adelaide for the final against Port. The day we beat Port is probably the best day I've ever had at the footy.
JF_Bay_22_SCG
22nd March 2005, 15:33
Hi gang,
My name is Julian. I'm 31 years of age and live in Sydney's inner west. I've been a Swans supporter since 1983 (despite having lived in a staunchly rugby union household. Not only do I help make the banner for each Sydney-based match, but I travel the length and breadth of the country to support my team.
My other interests are football (soccer to the uninitiated), basketball, foreign languages.
JF
Schneiderman
22nd March 2005, 21:58
My name is Robert (prefer Rob) and I am 30. My wife and I have three beautiful children, two of which are also card-carrying members (the youngest is only two weeks). We both go to pretty much all of the home games each year since 2000.
Favourite games of all time include the 96 PF, the 2002 (?) game we kept the Roos to about 32 points (even WITH Carey, whom Dunks obliterated that night), the Port Final (naturally) and then the PF against Bris (even though we lost the night was HUGE).
LittleSchneider
25th March 2005, 10:45
firstly - congrates Rob on the recent birth of your third child!!!
Hi, Im Victoria (Vic), im nearly 19, live in Sydney and attend Sydney Uni studying Sports and Exercise Science / Nutrition for the next 5 years. I have been a swans fan since 2003 and before then have been a Waratahs/Wallabies supporter from 1997 till 2004 and refuse now to support the sport due to how they treated Matthew Burke! (Burke Deserved Better!)
Joined the Swans bandwagon after being forced to watch the opening match of the 2003 season by my friend. During the match I noticed that the game is a very quick moving game that requires great skill, endurance, speed, intelligence and vision and have been mad about the sport ever since. My favourite player is Adam Schneider.
I am English/Irish (Extremely long story behind this) but prefer to be Irish, embarrased to be English and am attempting to learn Gaelic.
I play hockey for NSW, used to play cricket, swimming, cross country, waterpolo and gymnastics.
Sid
25th March 2005, 19:08
firstly - congrates Rob on the recent birth of your third child!!!
Hi, Im Victoria (Vic), im nearly 19, live in Sydney and attend Sydney Uni studying Sports and Exercise Science / Nutrition for the next 5 years. I have been a swans fan since 2003 and before then have been a Waratahs/Wallabies supporter from 1997 till 2004 and refuse now to support the sport due to how they treated Matthew Burke! (Burke Deserved Better!)
Joined the Swans bandwagon after being forced to watch the opening match of the 2003 season by my friend. During the match I noticed that the game is a very quick moving game that requires great skill, endurance, speed, intelligence and vision and have been mad about the sport ever since. My favourite player is Adam Schneider.
I am English/Irish (Extremely long story behind this) but prefer to be Irish, embarrased to be English and am attempting to learn Gaelic.
I play hockey for NSW, used to play cricket, swimming, cross country, waterpolo and gymnastics.
Do u support ur Uni in aussie rules? We are pretty big rivals with you in the SFA. We being UNSW.
LittleSchneider
26th March 2005, 08:37
Well I play Hockey for UTS. hehehe - cause the sydney uni hockey club is pretty poor. But will play for them in uni games.
But...I do support SU in all other sports - especially AFL. So maybe we will have a friendly rivalry going here - bring it on! :) ;)
Sid
27th March 2005, 20:40
You going to uni games this year? Its at tamworth (ANU) and i think AUGs are in brisbane.
luvin_nick_riewoldt
28th March 2005, 22:35
Magenta]hay guyz :) im chloe and im just about 16 i have lived in WA all my life, i was bought up in a house full of different supporters my mum went for north melbourne, my dad for sydney and now my yonguer sister for richmond but all my other relatives pressured me into going for eagles but i admired my dad and followed his footsteps and now i am glad of it and i am proud of ma sydney bois and will [/FONT] neva even think about leaving their side well hope 2 talk 2 u all again mwah xx
LittleSchneider
31st March 2005, 09:49
Yeah Im going to the Tamworth games - representing Sydney Uni Cumberland. The AUG you have to be selected for cause Sydney combines all its campuses - want to go, let you know
ScottH
31st March 2005, 12:00
My name's Scott and I'm an alcoholic!
ScottH
31st March 2005, 12:02
My name's Scott and I'm an alcoholic!
Actually I'm not but it did get your attention. :D
Been on the bandwagon since '82, when they moved to Sydney, had never heard of them before. Then I moved to melbourne but still support them,
music_2000
31st March 2005, 13:55
I think its time I edited this. Well I'm Kris and I love the swans, always have always will, because it was a family thing. I grew up in the riverina watching both aussies rules and league. I had neighbours who were mad essendon fans and I sort of liked them too but my stepdad and many classmates were keen swans fans. my interest in sports as a whole kinda went downhill when I got my playstation sadly (back in 98). I would watch the odd game but that would be about it. it wasn't until about 2003 that I went to a swans game. In 2005 I finally started watching games in all codes and also got a job in sports promotions (i have since left the job) so I never missed a single swans game that year. I did miss the one point loss to richmond because I was attending an NRL game though.
Nowadays I'm a keen swan and Aussie rules is the game I follow most passionately. it is the only game where my family can all support the same team. I have read up on the whole history of the swans to catch up on what I missed and never saw. In the grand final edition of "inside football" I even wrote to mad swans fan Jim Main thanking him for writing all those books on the swans and footy and for all the folks like him who stuck by the swans regardless of their ladder position and he was touched
as 2007 dawns upon us I'm excited. we have Spida and regardless of what Lethal Leigh has said we still have as gooder chance as ever of making the finals
Jeffers1984
31st March 2005, 16:51
I do sports promotions for a crust. I basically work with most of the major sports teams from all the major sports i.e league, union etc and YES I WORK for the swannies so I'll be at most of their home games this season. yeah in terms of other sports my union team is the waratahs and my league team is the Broncos but ill generally watch ANY match
You work for cobra right? Cause i did the promotions stuff last year.
Anyway, I'm Jeff, 20 and i've followed the swans since 95 when i lost interest in the rugby league because my Penny Panthers weren't doing crash hot. i've been a member since 2003 and sit in Bay 29 (YOU ROCK) in the brewongle concourse being as loud as i can be, and then some.
I currently work in chippendale for a telecommunications company and have been there for 6 months.
music_2000
1st April 2005, 08:12
actually the company I work for is Centrix maybe they changed their name or somthing :confused:
Jeffers1984
1st April 2005, 11:56
actually the company I work for is Centrix maybe they changed their name or somthing :confused:
ahh centrix, Cobra is the head group. Centrix is Dave Owen's company right, based out in surry hills?
I worked for SPA marketing which was in the same building as Centrix. Apparently there's been a huge turnover of staff there, is that correct?
Ed_Gein
4th April 2005, 14:00
My name is chris, everyone calls me billy, i have supported the swans since 1994, and the best game ive been to was Richmond vs Sydney Rd4 in 1996 at Waverly Pk when we beat them by a point and Essendon in 97. The Roos in 96 when we flogged them by 79 points was a good game as well. Havent been to a game since Kelly and Dunkley's last game. :rolleyes: That is all.
music_2000
4th April 2005, 14:06
yeah some of the newbies couldn't take it, some of the others found better positions and some people preffered to find jobs that were not comission based but last week we had 20 or so newbies. also there are always people getting sick etc and they call up at the last minute and say they can't make it anyways...
Jeffers1984
4th April 2005, 17:46
yeah some of the newbies couldn't take it, some of the others found better positions and some people preffered to find jobs that were not comission based but last week we had 20 or so newbies. also there are always people getting sick etc and they call up at the last minute and say they can't make it anyways...
yep that's just the way it is huge turnover for a job on pure commission. I lasted 2 months and i had enough. Long hours ******** days, just got sick of it. But mate best of luck with it, just don't annoy me at the swans games with your raffle ticket selling :p
SouthSwans
4th April 2005, 22:31
My name's Tom but my mates call me Shan. Dunno why. Someone said it and it stuck. I live in Melbourne and go to every Melbourne game. I go to half the games in Sydney aswell because my dad works there and the work pays for the expenses for flights and watever. I'm Benny Mathews's cousin, so I'm in the rooms a fair bit. I have a lot of autographed memorabilia and stuff. So yeh. Thats me. Cya in the forums :)
Sid
11th April 2005, 18:53
Yeah Im going to the Tamworth games - representing Sydney Uni Cumberland. The AUG you have to be selected for cause Sydney combines all its campuses - want to go, let you know
Haha, ur a cumbo! What sport are you playing? We met a lot of cumbos at the gong cos they stayed on the same level at the novotel.
Sydneyfan
15th April 2005, 00:09
Hi, my name's Ben. I'm 28 years old and originally from Sydney, although I'm currently in the city of Suncheon, South Korea teaching English. My aunt and uncle from Melbourne introduced me to Aussie Rules when I visited them during an Easter vacation to Melbourne when I was 8 and I fell in love with the sport, and started following the Swans. I must admit, my interest in Aussie Rules waned during my high school years in Sydney. Though, I lived in Melbourne for a year back in '95 where my interest in Aussie Rules rekindled.
I've been a big fan of the Swans ever since, though don't get to as many matches as I used to, being overseas and all!
meekaboy
15th April 2005, 18:27
It would seem that I am the Old Bloke here. Known as tez to most
people. Came to Sydney from WA and followed North Melb but when
Sth Melb moved up I became a Swans Supporter. Since 1982 I have
missed about 7 home games and have been back to Perth for every game
we have played there. I am the NSW Mgr of an Interstate transport
Co, married with 2 daughters {all Swans members} and look forward to
seeing the AFL premiership coming to Sydney.
Oh, I love red wine too.
Half Back Flanker
19th April 2005, 23:35
Hi...
I am a Melbourne based swan fan in my mid twenties. Family followed the swans for generations and I myself have since the late eighties when becoming aware of footy.
Moved to Melbourne from Tas in 89 and as than i was only going to the footy every so often it tok me ages to see my first win when at the ground (94 against Melbourne I think.)
Best moment watching the swans was plugger kicking the goal that put us in the grand final in 96....
The worst was being at the ground for the thrashing the kangaroos gave us at princess park i think in 93, we were coachless and were hopeless.
now I attend all games in Melbourne and a couple each year in Sydney.
look forward to sharing my opinions with you and reading yours.
Go Swans
Half Back Flanker
nicky
20th April 2005, 14:45
i'm 28 yr old F... have followed the swans from sth melb to sydney... love them
ben.carbonaro
20th April 2005, 21:01
This is just like my dad, he stayed with them when they moved in 1982.
Must have been hard to be a supporter up there, considering back then AFL was very much second fiddle to rugby league and union.
It's a credit to everyone involved with the Swans in what a great job thay have done in ensuring AFL football has a profitable market in the NSW/ACT region.
Vicswan
6th May 2005, 11:54
G'day everyone, my name is Patto (adam) and I am a virgin at this, being my first posting. I have followed the Swans since I can remember, now being 29. My grandparents both followed the Bloods and I was hooked, especially since the Swans were the only game to watch on a Sunday arvo. The best thing about that was; that if you had mates that did not barrack for the opposing team, everyone wanted the Swans to win!! I still remember the Capper days of '86 and '87, where we had Barry Mitchell, Gerard Healy, Greg Williams, Stevie Wright and the likes burning up the turf of the SCG. My mates and I used to drive through Friday nights up to the SCG from VIC to watch all Saturday night matches, but now the airfares have come down, we fly, but they won't let us bring our eskies on board! I was there whent he big fella kicked the big 1300 - funny how Mal Michael has moved on.
Buddhy
17th May 2005, 17:14
Hey everyone. I'm a 15 year old Swans fan from Perth. I've always liked the swans because when my dad came to W.A from NSW, he had to choose a footy team. I'm not overly impressed with our season so far, but I thought the win over Port was decent, and I hope it only gets better.
Buddhy
19th May 2005, 21:50
Lol, just saw that the Swans forum has by far the least amount of posts of the club forums. Where's the passion guys?
Minkus_Swan
20th May 2005, 08:59
Lol, just saw that the Swans forum has by far the least amount of posts of the club forums. Where's the passion guys?
If your looking for passion try RedandWhiteOnline.com (http://redandwhiteonline.com/forum/).
cruiser
24th June 2005, 14:13
Gday. My names not really cruiser and I've been a Swans fan since moving to Sydney in time for the 1987 season. Formerly from Adelaide, I was a Tigers man (Glenelg and Richmond). Made the swap from Richmond to Sydney when I realised that this great city and its surrounds (I now live on the NSW Central Coast) would be my home for many many years and I wanted to be able to regularly watch the team I support. Besides, I wasn't as fanatical about Richmond as I was about Glenelg. Now I'm fanatical about Sydney and long for the day when we see the Premiership cup hoisted by Sydney's captain. Which begs the question: who hoists it if we win it this year? :confused:
Bam_Bam
24th June 2005, 23:24
well as most of you will guess my name is not Bam Bam (I'd being chasing the parents with a deadly weapon if it was). I'm Tina. I've been following the VFL/AFL since I was 15. More than half my life, but didn't initially follow My true love the Swans until around 95-96. I was torn between the Swans and Essendon winning the prelim in 96, as I took a liking to the Bombers in 84-85 (good years for them). Really dumped league when the evil empire took over in the super league war and made the AFL my main interest.
Hubby bought me my first membership to the Swannies in 1999 after having stuffed up my knee in 96-97 and wasn't able to play soccer any longer (we played Sunday's which was the main day the Swans played in Sydney back then). Went to a few games in 98 so Hubby indulged me and here I am now. Have not missed a game in Sydney since and travel interstate when I can (work and other commitments hold me back from having a season travel pass).
My favourite player is Ryan O'Keefe (aka Pebbles - hence the user id). Have introduced my nephews to the game. One now has switched codes from league to rules, which his Aunty is more than happy about. I also have a niece from the other side of my family, who corrected her Mum with "I don't follow them (a league team) I follow the Swans :D .
Hoping one day to have my own little ones to pass the passion onto and can't wait for the day that I tell them about and share with them the joy of seeing the premiership cup held aloft.
don't forget for further Swans talk go to www.redandwhiteonline.com we're a pretty friendly group of people (for those who have never been there).
Tuesday
26th June 2005, 18:43
Well, my Dad used to play league, so I grew up in a league household. The My brother went to school and rugby took over as the family's first 'footy' preference, which was fine by me. I never understood Aussie Rules, had no one to teach me and it was the game of the Mexicans, thus, I never really followed it.
The rugby wars and a poem by Bruce Dawe called 'Life Cycle' I had to study started the shift towards AFL. I went to my first game in 2002, and have been a fan ever since. I had planned to sign up as a member this year, though didn't as I work Sundays (eight of the 12 games this year are played Sundays). So I was resigned to watching them at work. Sigh. :(
Two days before we took on Essendon in Rd 7 this year, my Grandfather passed away. He was a big St George supporter, and had taken a liking to the Swans over the last few years.
Anyhoo, I had a lengthy discussion with him on the Tuesday about the team, the captaincy and the game, much to my Grandma's disinterest. Two days later, he was no longer here and I became a member. It is a sad story, but I only see the positives: this team and this game has already given me so much in return for my support. I do have quite a large amount of emotion invested in the team, but I find that it has helped me considerably. It just sucks to lose one you love in order to gain another.
So, although only a new member, I am having the time of my life immersing myself in the footy. I don't know what I am going to do next year when I'll be overseas though... perhaps cut short my trip and return home in time for the 2006 season? ;) I live by the cycle of the fooy season. Apparently, I am now officially a supporter. :D
rwfan83
26th June 2005, 20:49
Hi, I spend more time on RWO, where my username is sydfan83 ('83 being the year of my birth), than Bigfooty, but with that offline, thought I may as well post an introduction here :)
Like a few others on here, I'm also at uni (final year at UNSW), and after becoming increasingly interested in the Swans for a few years, I finally went to my first game in 2003, which happened to be the famous come-from-behind win against Melbourne at the SCG on Anzac Day :D :D
Became a member last year, and hate missing a home game (though I had to miss a couple because of uni and work). Looking back now, I find it embarrassing that I actually preferred watching Swans games at home on TV!
I also face Tuesday's dilemma of not being able to watch the Swans when I go overseas at the end of the year. It's not so much about missing the games - more that after 72 premiershipless years, there's always the fear that you won't be there to see it when they finally do win one!
eirinn
27th June 2005, 00:14
Ooohhh, I never pass up a chance to talk about myself :p
I've followed the Swans since 2000 (and the arrival of a certain player, though I now loathe to admit it as I often get classed as a "groupie"). I didn't go to my first game until 2003, but my true conversion came at the Collingwood match that year. I absolutely bawled after we lost, and have rarely missed a game since.
I'm now a dyed-in-the-wool fanatic, so much so that I am actually writing my BA Hons thesis on football in NSW. In fact, I am procrastinating on an assignment as I write...
Football has been a great source of entertainment, community and friendship over the last 2 years... With any luck, it will also be a source of considerable pride after the Swans (finally) win a premiership.
Oh, and my football biscuits are rapidly developing a following. At least, I'd like to think they are...
edit: I forgot to add: I am currently missing RWO like crazy. All of a sudden I actually have no reason not to do my housework. It's very, very sad. :p :D
Wardy64
28th June 2005, 13:30
:D Well, my name is Alex and I'm 41, have been an aussie rules girl all my life and followed Carlton from age 0 to 32 (Dads family Victorian and it was "the family" team). Sydney born and bred but have wandered aimlessly to various parts of this country over the years to work and play.
Came back to Sydney in 95 and started going to Swans games and have been hooked on them since.
Have been quite subdued with my barracking this year - but really let rip on Saturday night and had pretty much lost the voice by half time! I normally sit in the MA with the other members of the "unholy trinity" which will soon be a quartet as one of us is pregnant (and its not me) so another little swans follower is on the way.
Met another RWO person on Saturday night - son of Old Roy Boy - and yes its true I do live above a bottle shop! (yes I was asked that)
cheer cheer!
MiniKirk
29th June 2005, 10:34
G'day, My name's Stewart and I'm 18 and student commerce at Uni. I live in Adelaide but grew up in Sydney and i've followed them since about 1991-92. I was there at the 2003 qual against Port and remember what i missed to see Lockett's 1300th and haven't missed a Sydney game in Adelaide since i moved to the city. I've completely obsessed with football stats and the game since i tore my ACL when i was 15 (playing footy). Rarely miss a game on TV (if its televised over here) and can be heard shouting at the TV from 2 doors down. My favourite player for the passed few years i Kirk ecspecially when he was in a tagging role and shuttin down the oppositions best player week after week.
JF_Bay_22_SCG
29th June 2005, 11:08
Oh, and my football biscuits are rapidly developing a following. At least, I'd like to think they are...
They really rock. I forgot I had a couple of packets in my backpack after the Fremantle game. So the next day I had the pleasure of gobbling up by Kirky & Jude.
If there are Swans player biscuits being baked before the Geelong match, do save me a couple of packs.
JF
JF_Bay_22_SCG
29th June 2005, 11:12
[QUOTE=MiniKirk]G'day, My name's Stewart and I'm 18 and student commerce at Uni. I live in Adelaide but grew up in Sydney and i've followed them since about 1991-92. I was there at the 2003 qual against Port and remember what i missed to see Lockett's 1300th and haven't missed a Sydney game in Adelaide since i moved to the city. QUOTE]
Make sure you get tickets through the club when we play over there in a few weeks. I'll be over there, as I tbhink several other listees will be as well.
JF
Tuesday
29th June 2005, 11:37
They really rock. I forgot I had a couple of packets in my backpack after the Fremantle game. So the next day I had the pleasure of gobbling up by Kirky & Jude.
If there are Swans player biscuits being baked before the Geelong match, do save me a couple of packs.
:D And so Kirky and Jude were tasty, eh? ;)
The Good Lucky Footy Bikkie® Matchday Committee (GLFBMC) has decided that the red writing on white base works best, thus you'll be seeing some more of that. And the Bikkies will definitely be baked before the Geelong match.
The GLFBMC are unable to confirm actual numbers of Bikkies to be baked, as they do take a significant amount of time. We invest financially and emotionally in the product, devote a significant amount of time and have been known to sacrifice Friday/Saturday nights on the turps, just to provide some lucky people with some football-shaped edible hapiness.
Once again, the GLFBMC thanks you, JF, for your support and encouragement. No doubt we'll make a special one just for you. Any requests? Matching B1 and B2 bikkies? They're my personal favourites! :p
rwfan83
29th June 2005, 11:40
I was there at the 2003 qual against Port and remember what i missed to see Lockett's 1300th and haven't missed a Sydney game in Adelaide since i moved to the city.
Gee you must have sat through some awful losses at Footy Park in that time - it must have been a great feeling especially for you after the 2003 QF v Port! :D I only saw it on TV, but it has to rank as my favourite memory of following the Swans so far.
Diego
29th June 2005, 12:28
Names Diego and I am a rambling nut.
People on RWO think I am a negative a-wipe but I call it passion and I don't give a flying f no more. I am really a nice guy when you meet me. Live in Melbourne, work a stones throw away from old Lakeside Oval and used to reside in Sid knees until Jan 2005.
Been following the swans since 86 (they came to my school and Dennis Carroll showed me how to handball) dropped off during the lean years (as I did with all the sports I followed..just turned 18 and was into other things) started watching the swans again briefly in 94 and got back into them in 95.
All I ever want from the swans is 1 flag before I die. Is that asking for too much?
MiniKirk
29th June 2005, 15:12
Yeah thanks for that JF_Bay_22_SCG
rwfan83 the best thing was that i wanted seats as close as possible to the ground and they gave me seats that were a few rows back from the Port Cheer squad!!! it was great.
rwfan83
29th June 2005, 20:36
the best thing was that i wanted seats as close as possible to the ground and they gave me seats that were a few rows back from the Port Cheer squad!!! it was great.
even better!!!
eirinn
29th June 2005, 21:23
Of course we have some spare for you, JF. And we do, of course, take requests. Last match, we had a plethora of Bon + Ryan cookies... and a few "Barry"s for her mum :p.
If anyone else would like to sample the culinary delight that are Bay 28 Good Luck Footy Bikkies, stop by Bay 28 (of course). Look out for a tall redhead with 24 on her guernsey. She's the distributor (and occasional icer, but that's as far as her talents go...) :p
BonBon
30th June 2005, 13:40
I only ate them because Erin and Tuesday force-fed me. :(
eirinn
30th June 2005, 20:20
I only ate them because Erin and Tuesday force-fed me. :(
You know you love them.
And you know who else loves them....
Tuesday
30th June 2005, 21:09
Look out for a tall redhead with 24 on her guernsey. She's the distributor (and occasional icer, but that's as far as her talents go...) :p
Pffff! I am all talent, Missy! ;)
I would like to think of myself as your muse. I inspire you to make the most gorgeous bikkies you can! Plus, I am practically an engineer after my efforts designing a new piping bag...
And if anyone wants to meet the Domestic Goddess who claims all responsibility for these Bay 28 Good Luck Footy Bikkies, she's the short one with rich brown hair who sits with the tall redhead. Lovely combination that. It would appear I am only the messenger... (don't shoot!)
and PS: my cookies look SO MUCH better than yours. You may have the domestic goddess bent, but I have the creative touch!
and PPS: Bonskis -- you make it sound like we could be charged with abuse of a minor! From memory, it was "OhMyGod! You SOOOOOOO have to make me and Ryan cookies!!!", quickly followed by "Do you have any more Ryan bikkies?" :p
rwfan83
30th June 2005, 22:08
This thread is getting weird. Footy biscuits? In the shape of Kirky and Jude? Child abuse by force-feeding? Cookie rivalry? This is almost as good as RWO, except for all the in-jokes that I seem to be missing ;)
eirinn
30th June 2005, 22:59
Maybe this (http://photos12.flickr.com/18662852_f30deef01e.jpg) explains something...
LittleSchneider
2nd July 2005, 15:47
:D And so Kirky and Jude were tasty, eh? ;)
The Good Lucky Footy Bikkie® Matchday Committee (GLFBMC) has decided that the red writing on white base works best, thus you'll be seeing some more of that. And the Bikkies will definitely be baked before the Geelong match.
The GLFBMC are unable to confirm actual numbers of Bikkies to be baked, as they do take a significant amount of time. We invest financially and emotionally in the product, devote a significant amount of time and have been known to sacrifice Friday/Saturday nights on the turps, just to provide some lucky people with some football-shaped edible hapiness.
Once again, the GLFBMC thanks you, JF, for your support and encouragement. No doubt we'll make a special one just for you. Any requests? Matching B1 and B2 bikkies? They're my personal favourites! :p
I want a dozen schneider bikkies! hehehe (no prizes for guessing my order!)
And I agree Bon - if you dont like it then leave and dont read it!
ScottH
7th July 2005, 05:55
When are mods gunna clean this cr@p up.
Seems there is one rule for one and another rule for others.
Diego
7th July 2005, 09:27
How pathetic has this thread become?
I want to read about other swans fans not about how the nice little clique from RWO make swanny biscuits etc etc. Well King Charles the sixty ninth...you have bigfooty mod powers..use them!!
Some of you even infect BigFooty with your useless chit chat that can be done by downloading MSN.
CharlieG
7th July 2005, 09:34
When are mods gunna clean this cr@p up.
Seems there is one rule for one and another rule for others.
Just spotted the way the thread has turned.
This thread is intended to be one where Swans fans can talk about their lives outside the footy if they wish - so I don't really see anything wrong with talking about the biscuits (I'd split the thread, but it wouldn't really belong on the Sydney board then).
As for the sniping - it's absolutely not on. If your post is deleted, you know why.
Diego
7th July 2005, 09:41
Just spotted the way the thread has turned.
This thread is intended to be one where Swans fans can talk about their lives outside the footy if they wish - so I don't really see anything wrong with talking about the biscuits (I'd split the thread, but it wouldn't really belong on the Sydney board then).
As for the sniping - it's absolutely not on. If your post is deleted, you know why.
So one rule for the RWO family and one rule for others.
CharlieG
7th July 2005, 09:48
So one rule for the RWO family and one rule for others.
... has there been anything in this thread that might indicate that the 'RWO family' is being given special treatment?
This conspiracy theory bulldust is getting very tiring.
CharlieG
7th July 2005, 11:04
You know what guys, you can complain all you like - elsewhere. I'm not going to let you ruin this thread with your pettiness... so you might as well drop it.
Matching Mole
27th July 2005, 09:17
My name's Adam - I've been posting here for about two months now, and thought I should finally add to this sticky.
I live in Sydney, about 15 minutes walk from the SCG - very sweet. I've been following the Swans for about five years, each year getting a little more interested in the team and the game, until I finally bought a membership this year - something I should have done ages ago. Until then I only attended games sporadically - now watching the Swans play on television for away games is painful.
What else? Well, I'm not a part of the RWO "family" - I like posting amongst all different kinds of followers, rather than just Sydney fans. The existence of RWO means the Sydney board on BigFooty is comparatively quiet compared with other team boards, but I prefer the argumentative arm-wrestle of the fight over the mutual agreement of a shared interest. Nothing like bickering with Port fans on the main board.
And that's about it, really. All the way in 2005, rah rah rah, and so forth.
kamma
20th September 2005, 21:29
Growing up at my local primary school in Wollongong, with 99% of the other boys playing and supporting soccer and league.
i was a loner :p
Bondi Warrior.
22nd September 2005, 00:25
Hi my name is Bondi Warrior.I am 28 and live in Bondi Junction.I love AFL,Rugby League and Basketball.My teams are Roosters,Kings(NBL),Suns(NBA)and Sydney Swans.I've been a swans supporter since 96 and attend around 8-9 matches every year.
My favourite all time Swans are Kelly and Roos.Out of the current crop of players are Williams and Maxfield.
I also enjoy football(soccer)and my favourite teams are Sydney FC and Aston Villa.
I work in retail and enjoy reading,movies,listening to music and pro wrestling.
Cheers.
swansman
26th September 2005, 02:12
Go the Swannies!!!!
My name is Mike,I'm 41 and I live in Perth.I moved here from Sydney 7 years ago and I have been an avid Swans supporter since they moved to the harbour city.I grew up in a small NSW country town called Ungarie with the Daniher boys.Played footy with Anthony and Chris (Chris was captain of our premiership winning Under 17 team when he was 15...shows how good he was).I have a beautiful wife and 2 wonderful girls (4 yrs old and 1 yr old).No doubt future Swans supporters!! Yesterday was the most nerve racking day of my life. I woke up with butterflies in my stomach and I was nearly having a heart attack with 1 minute to go. Thank god for Leaping Leo!!! Living in Perth as a Swans supporter has been hell for the past week...but I can't wait to get to work on Tuesday and have the last laugh.
Cheer Cheer The Red And The White........... :D
blue_swan
26th September 2005, 18:21
hey my name is paul, im 16 and i live in sydney. born in melbourne i had carlton in my blood and then moved to adelaide where i supported the crows and then finally to sydney when i was 6 and have followed the swans ever since (95 or 96). i have been a member since '96 but still have a soft spot for carlton. i attend all home games and my favourite swans include schwass, kelly, lockett, o'loughlin and now hall of course.
before the swans made the PF in 2003 i was one of about 4 swans supporters at my entire school. however, since then all my mates and hundreds of others have jumped on the bandwagon. these are great signs for afl in syd and NSW, however i have to admit i cant wait until the preseason draft where carlton have picks 1 and 4!!!!!!!
Tuco
11th October 2005, 02:01
Hi. My name's Daniel. Just turned 30(mumble mumble mumble). Been on the Bandwagon since "VFL" was stamped all over the club merchandise. Which isn't really as long ago as it seems, I guess. Not really into bagging my own players. I'm more of a don't worry, you'll kick the next one kind of fan. That said, I'm about as loud and passionate as they come - but you'll never catch me swearing if there's kids around. :D
GCB85
25th October 2005, 14:52
Hi i'm Gavin. I'm 20 years old. born and live in melbourne. Fourth generation bloods supporter and relieved to have finally see them win a flag. Followed the bloods all my life and it feels great to finally support the premiers especially after all the rubbish i copped through school in the early 90's :thumbsu:
Daniel11
6th November 2005, 10:38
Hi guys,
I'm a uni student with the university of Technology, Sydney. (UTS)
I'm currently conducting market research on the sponsorship of AFL teams and I need 250 respondents on order to finish this study and get my university degree.
So if any anyone would be so kind as to go to this web site and fill in my questionnaire I would be really grateful:
http://surveys.uts.edu.au/index.cfm?surveyid=1267
MadSwansFan
23rd November 2005, 20:40
Hello, I'm Karen and I'm 14.
I don't usually go onto here very often but I've been a memeber on here for awhile...
Since I was born in Hong Kong and only came here in 1998 I wasn't really exposed to AFL as a young child.
I started watching AFL only in 2003, but already I am a huge fan. I LOVE the Swannies to bits, and my friends reckon during the footy season I should shut up about AFL, but seriously I can't restrain myself. I've been one of the lucky ones, following the Swans for only such a short time but already seen them win a premiership. I was brought along to the round 5 game at the SCG against the Demons in 2003, and I saw how exciting and great the game was and was instantly hooked. I went to a couple more games in 2003 then singed up as a junior member in 2004 and still am a member.
Carn the bloods!
Jeffers1984
24th November 2005, 09:22
Hello, I'm Karen and I'm 14.
I don't usually go onto here very often but I've been a memeber on here for awhile...
Since I was born in Hong Kong and only came here in 1998 I wasn't really exposed to AFL as a young child.
I started watching AFL only in 2003, but already I am a huge fan. I LOVE the Swannies to bits, and my friends reckon during the footy season I should shut up about AFL, but seriously I can't restrain myself. I've been one of the lucky ones, following the Swans for only such a short time but already seen them win a premiership. I was brought along to the round 5 game at the SCG against the Demons in 2003, and I saw how exciting and great the game was and was instantly hooked. I went to a couple more games in 2003 then singed up as a junior member in 2004 and still am a member.
Carn the bloods!
Good Stuff :thumbsu:
Great game to go to as your debut (10 goal last quarter).
For all the newbies, check out where most of us swans fans dicuss issues. www.redandwhiteonline.com
MadSwansFan
26th November 2005, 22:23
Good Stuff :thumbsu:
Great game to go to as your debut (10 goal last quarter).
For all the newbies, check out where most of us swans fans dicuss issues. www.redandwhiteonline.com
Yep...it was great, the 10 goals was the most memorable.
Its All Goodes
27th November 2005, 12:16
Hi, I'm Steve and I'm a Swans-aholic. Its been a long time since I've been to BigFooty but I regularly visit RWO.
I am 43, from Melbourne and I've been a Swans fan as long as I can remember, just like my dad and his dad before him. Now my sister and I are taking a whole new generation of supporters to the Melbourne games.
My early memories are of champions like Skilton, Bedford, etc, so I remember the not-so-good-old-days when we had champions players but lost more games then we won.
I remember being devastated when South Melbourne went to Sydney, but i have got over that loss, and I am even more passionate about the Bloods than I have ever been...and that was BP...Before Premiership!!
I will never forget being at the MCG on Grand Final Day...in many ways it was the most agonising of experiences - the last few minutes lasted forever, and than it became an absolutely glorious moment that will remain with me forever.
Away from footy i coach junior cricket and lately I have been buying memoribilia and watching DVDs...not sure why...hmmmmm
big_bazza
5th December 2005, 18:37
hey guys im new to this! im a mad swans fan from tassie! you may have seen me in other forums like sportal and cokemakeyourmark!
go you mighty swannys!
big_bazza
5th December 2005, 18:40
im a mentally mad swans fan from tassie! i live the swans. u may have seen me in other forums like sportal or cokemakeyourmark
big_bazza
5th December 2005, 18:42
heya guys im mad swans fan from daown in tassie! im new to this forum but hjave been in plenty of other ones
big_bazza
6th December 2005, 09:36
sorry about all 3 posts! im new here and it said it didnt work so i kept posting! i still didnt think it worked coz it said click on quick thread icon or something but it must have worked!
go you mighty swannys woooooooooo
pekay-norwest
29th December 2005, 08:05
Well I play Hockey for UTS. hehehe - cause the sydney uni hockey club is pretty poor. But will play for them in uni games.
But...I do support SU in all other sports - especially AFL. So maybe we will have a friendly rivalry going here - bring it on! :) ;)Boo to you and Sid....go NorWest Jets.my names Pete and ive followed the Swans since i was 2(1983)and play footy in Richmond.Remember back when local clubs used to get piles and piles of season passes to hand out to anyone who would take em.Ive been to the SCG when less than 1000 people were there,they asked us to move from end-to-end at each quarter to make it look like a half decent crowd.Fave games-in the 80s when the Swans smacked the Dons by about 25 goals,and the 96 PF(you can see me under the scoreboard-or at least i think so)keep your eye on NorWest Jets this year, the best looking guernsey in the land.
Sid
29th December 2005, 10:55
Boo to you and Sid....go NorWest Jets.my names Pete and ive followed the Swans since i was 2(1983)and play footy in Richmond.Remember back when local clubs used to get piles and piles of season passes to hand out to anyone who would take em.Ive been to the SCG when less than 1000 people were there,they asked us to move from end-to-end at each quarter to make it look like a half decent crowd.Fave games-in the 80s when the Swans smacked the Dons by about 25 goals,and the 96 PF(you can see me under the scoreboard-or at least i think so)keep your eye on NorWest Jets this year, the best looking guernsey in the land.
Haha, carn luffy and the bulldogs!
pekay-norwest
29th December 2005, 11:21
Haha, carn luffy and the bulldogs!We actually played in the 2nd Division this year,massive player losses from RAAF and other unforseeable problems forced us to relegate from 1st Division.But it all went well, we finished undefeated in H&A,lost the 1st Semi to Sydney Uni, knocked off your Dogs(priceless)and went on to defeat Syd Uni in the GF.We are trying to go back up for 2006,fingers crossed.But i watched Dogs v Pies at Village Green this year(a twilight game perhaps?)Awesome finish,i think Templeton had a shot from about 60 out to win,but sprayed it.Top game of footy.Were you there?
swans4ever
19th January 2006, 12:03
hi, im sarah. im 14 yrs old & a mad swans supporter. i live in melbourne & ive been supporting the bloods for my whole life. umm well this year im going to be joining the melbourne based cheer squad:)
well last year was the best year ever!! i was lucky enough to go to 3 out of the 4 finals games & each one of them was simply AMAZING, except that mark by leo in the grand final has gotta be the most memorable moment, also with davis' last second goal!!!
GO THE BLOODS!!
Carolyn
19th January 2006, 16:59
hi, im sarah.Hi Sarah
omg...I just noticed this thread...goes to show you how blind I am
I'm Carolyn and I'm turning 15 this year. I've been a Swans supporter since 2003 when Auskick came to my school and gave me my first taste of AFL.
I love the whole of the Sydney Football Club but my favourite players would have to be Tadhg Kennelly, Nick Davis, Luke Ablett, Sean Dempster and Adam Goodes.
I live in North-West Sydney and have a younger brother who also supports the Swans (though not as passionate as me). ;)
joshooaa
23rd February 2006, 10:26
Im Josh, 22. Followed the swans all my life as dad was South Melbourne.
Leo Barrys mark rates as the single happiest moment of my life.
Other Favourite games include the 96 prelim, beating richmond at warvely by a point in 96 ( the 1st game i ever went 2 where the swans won!)
And beating port in a final a couple of years ago.
LOVE THE RED AND WHITE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! FOREVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Nozzer
15th May 2006, 18:56
39 year old Swans fan here. Been a Swan all my life and recall watching games at the old Lake Oval with dad in the 70's when I was a tacker.
My all time fave Swans? John Rantall, Graham Teasdale, Stevie Wright, Daryn Cresswell, Plugger, of course, Paul "The toughest man alive" Kelly, Brett Kirk and Tadhg.
What did I do when we won the flag? I actually sat back in my chair and cried. I wasn't alone cause I found out later that Dad did as well. I'd almost given up hope we'd win one, back in the dark days when we were useless in the early 90s... It was just an outpouring of emotion.
What did I do today to the Richmond fan at work? I grabbed a collection tin I'd found somewhere, stuck a "Help Save The Punt Road Toothless Tiger" sign on it and went and asked him for a donation. Needless to say he didn't find it that amusing... But I did!!!
Informer
22nd May 2006, 15:50
I just love the passion here. My name is Mitchell and I am 28 years old. I have followed the swans all my life as it was passed on from my grandfather to my father and so on.
We are still celebrating the Swans GF victory. I feel sorry for my grandfather that hadnt seen a premiership for 70 odd years.
My favourite players over the years include Tony Morward, Mark Bayes, Mark Browning moving through to Sanford Wheeler, David Murphy and then onto Kelly, Plugger (although the incident with Caven pegged him back a bit) and now Magic, O'Keefe and big Baz.
Favourite games I have seen (in person) - unfortuneatly I dont get to too many but obviously the GF last year and another I can think of would be the Swans win over Carlton in 1995 (at Princess Park) when Carlton were thought to be unbeatable.
On TV the 1996 prelim was ridiculous and also the win against Port Adelaide in 2003. Following that I organised a road trip to Sydney to see us in the prelim against the Lions. Ended up being a tough trip home.
Also last years win against the cats. I was Bells Hotel in Sth Melbourne. The roof lifted off once the siren went!
timmeh
1st June 2006, 15:27
Hey, my name's Tim, I'm 18 go to Melbourne Uni and I live in Melbourne. I've been going for the swans ever since I figured out the difference between league and footy, moved down to Melbourne from Sydney about 8 years go. Hopefully we can win back to back flags! :)
natlovestheswans
2nd June 2006, 10:43
heh, how exciting.
I'm Natalie, 17 and i live in Sydney. The first game of AFL i ever watched was the 1996 preliminary final.. so yup, this is my 10th year supporting them and 4th year as a member.
My favourite player is definately Leo, has been for years now. But i also love Tadhg, Bazza, Teddy, LRT, Nick Davis, Adam Goodes, Kirky.. actually all of them.. haha. They're all great.
and yuh, that's it i guess.
swanny11
29th September 2006, 05:18
My name is Daniel...
People call me Mussen...
My first swans game (so im told) I was barely a few months old and the swans trounced Essendon by 163 points (236-63)... So immediately I assume I have to be good luck!
I have grown up in Sydney schools dominated by rugby union and I've played the game for many years. I have not played as much AFL, but have done significantly well in the code. I am a failed soccer player, though it remains my 2nd preference in regard to sport. I am a passionate Liverpool FC fan, not a hobby-ist like most Australians in regard to LFC. I hate Rangers, and like all LFC fans, Chelski, The Arse, Manure and the Blue Noses.
Significant Swans Matches I have had the privaliged of attending:
2005 Grand Final Sydney vs. West Coast MCG
2005 Semi-Final Sydney vs. Geelong SCG
2002 Round 22 Sydney vs. Richmond Stadium Australia
2003 Preliminary Final Sydney vs. Brisbane Stadium Australia
2003 Qualifying Final Sydney vs. Port Adelaide Football Park
2002 Round 9 Sydney vs. Essendon (First match at Stadium Australia)
2004 Round 11 Sydney vs. St. Kilda SCG (Saints Winning Run Ends)
2003 Round 21 Sydney vs. Collingwood Stadium Australia (Highest AFL Crowd outside Melbourne)
2006 Preliminary Final Sydney vs. Fremantle Stadium Australia
2002 Round 3 Sydney vs. North Melbourne SCG
1996 Grand Final Sydney vs. North Melbourne MCG
1996 Preliminary Final Sydney vs. Essendon SCG
1996 Qualifying Final Sydney vs. Hawthorn SCG
1998 Qualifying Final Sydney vs. St. Kilda SCG
1996 Round 14 Sydney vs. Geelong (Highest Ever SCG crowd to that stage)
1997 Round 22 Sydney vs. Geelong (Highest ever SCG crowd)
1997 Round 15 Sydney vs. Essendon SCG (1 point win in the re-match)
I won't continue to bore you. There are probably a few I've missed out on. I haven't missed attending a Swans home game in 3 years. I got expelled to watch them play in the grand final on the last day of school. I go to the same dentist as the swans. I have had the honour of being out and getting wasted with LRT after last years Grand Final.
In one day I will attend the 2006 Grand Final Sydney vs. West Coast at the MCG. We will win... Don't let anyone tell you otherwise.
p.s. Dont forget to chant "Up there for Sydney" on Grand Final day.
SWANNIES RULE
6th October 2006, 20:50
My names Luke, I'm 16 and I live in Perth.
VanBerlo=God
8th October 2006, 18:17
im justin, i live in melbourne, study IT at tafe & i am 21 years old.
i started supporting the swans at the start of 1996, so its been 10 years. some families enforce teams onto their kids, but i made my choice for the swans when i could of chosen collingwood or essendon or melbourne.
for about a 5 year period i couldn't follow the afl at all i wasn't living in an area where i could get tv let alone news papers
ever since 2001 i have been watching the swans again, been to a few matches this year, the melbourne & hawthorn matches in melbourne, had the privledge of watching the emotions of a cute hawthorn supporter turn from really happy to bawling her eyes out at the end of the match.
Next year will be my first membership year, ill be paying thru my ass to get the best one i can so if the swans do make another gf, and if there is a chance, i would like to be there. i would of been a member since 2001 if I had the funds to do so :(
my fav players are ablett, mcveigh, malceski, jolly & magic.
kate_australia
16th October 2006, 12:22
hey!
Im Kate, Im 19 and from Perth.
I moved here 3 years ago from Sydney, but followed NRL. But there is no such thing as NRL in Perth, so I started following AFL. I couldnt get into the Freo or West Coast teams, I just didnt like them for some reason. But I started to follow Sydney. And I have been obsessed ever since.
Its so incredibly hard to be a Swans supporter in Perth at the moment! Everyone has gone Eagle crazy!
SWANNIES RULE
16th October 2006, 13:40
Its so incredibly hard to be a Swans supporter in Perth at the moment! Everyone has gone Eagle crazy!
I know what you mean and I feel your pain.
GNCLongJack
18th October 2006, 19:15
I used to watch the Bloods at the Lake Oval, and then have a sandwich and a lemonade in the clubrooms with the players of BOTH teams and their families AND the umpires. In 1970, we managed to beat every team once, and made the finals, briefly. I was at the MCG, only to see Travis Payze of St Kilda play a blinder in Bobby Skilton's only final. I saw our ruck carried by a courageous 6' bloke (183cm), No. 17 I think called Russell Crow. The great No. 20 John Sudholz, our version of Doug Wade. No. 8 Tony Haenen having about 11 kicked on him by Hudson Sen., and Graeme John (father of Gareth) having 12 kicked against him by Peter H. in the same season. Our Brownlow Medallist, Peter Bedford also playing cricket for Victoria. '82 broke my heart, and I stood out of football,.....................but '96 still hurt SO BAD, and now a Hawthorn supporter for quite a few years now.......GF Day '05, I'm standing in a crowded melbourne pub, the final siren's gone, and I couldn't see for ages because of all the tears that refused to stop running down my cheeks. I was oblivious to everyone, except memories of the Chimp, Mopsy and co. The Bloods.................Congratulations and thankyou. Can you remember Bob Skilton shaking Ted Whitten's hand ? I can. I was there.
Number1Swansfan
20th October 2006, 14:38
My nickname is Spanner and I'm 32 yo Ex-Victorian living in Brisbane. I was born with a Red and White beanie on my head and I have Red And White blood running through my veins. I couldn't be anymore passionate about the Swans,(Cost me my marriage) but it gets lonely up here in Brisbane when they are playing without anyone to enjoy it with. If anyone up here is A MAD PASSIONATE Swans fan please message me and maybe we could hook up for the 2007 season, or if you know of any supporters club in Bris please message me, Spanner
Cheer, Cheer, the Red and the White.
JF_Bay_22_SCG
5th December 2006, 13:29
My name is Daniel...
People call me Mussen...
My first swans game (so im told) I was barely a few months old and the swans trounced Essendon by 163 points (236-63)... So immediately I assume I have to be good luck!
Significant Swans Matches I have had the privaliged of attending:
2005 Grand Final Sydney vs. West Coast MCG
Don't these pictures capture what it was like mate. I would have been all of 3metres away blubbering my eyes out when those pix were taken.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/swansbear/Swans%20pix/DanielMussenafterGF2005II.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/swansbear/Swans%20pix/DanielMussenafterGF2005.jpg
JF
vBulletin® v3.7.1, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.