View Full Version : American Idol
choc_a_holic
25 Feb 2005, 22:51
Noooooo not again :mad:
Kenny_01
26 Feb 2005, 09:29
Is it on TV again? My bro has some season 4 eps on his computer and most the top 12 girls are hot. And they can sing.
silky-smooth
27 Feb 2005, 11:48
I can't stand the Australian version, let along ANOTHER season of American.
Surely you make a show like this once, possibly twice, then let it finish on a high.
Now they're just flooding everyone with yet another season.
Alkaline
27 Feb 2005, 14:24
Silky, Your Avatar is how i feel about these idol shows :mad:
Cassius_Clay
27 Feb 2005, 17:52
boring boring boring
just a bunch of no hopers in a tv show.....what can get worse
wait..... BIG BROTHER :eek:
choc_a_holic
27 Feb 2005, 21:19
I think AI series number 1 million is replacing Aussie Queer Eye?
luke2177
28 Feb 2005, 07:35
I think AI series number 1 million is replacing Aussie Queer Eye?Haha.. really?
What a shock - the Aussie Queer Eye experiment didn't work! :eek:
boring boring boring
just a bunch of no hopers in a tv show.....what can get worse
wait..... BIG BROTHER :eek:
My mate is in the final 30 of BB. :)
choc_a_holic
28 Feb 2005, 17:33
Hehe Yeah, I did prefer the American Queer Eye anyway, what about you Luke?
Top 30? Big deal :p
hotdogandsauce
28 Feb 2005, 17:39
enuff is enuff of these bloody pop idol shows....cant wait 4 the day when dont have to put up with such inane crap...let alone it been american....thanks 10 you bunch of flogs....
Stakerz
28 Feb 2005, 18:36
Hehe Yeah, I did prefer the American Queer Eye anyway, what about you Luke?
Top 30? Big deal :pMe?
Cassius_Clay
28 Feb 2005, 18:39
My mate is in the final 30 of BB. :)
good on him....he might just win the easiest $1,000,000 on TV
luke2177
2 Mar 2005, 14:50
Hehe Yeah, I did prefer the American Queer Eye anyway, what about you Luke?Can't say I watched the American version either mate. But you just knew the Aussie version of the show was doomed from the moment it hit the drawing board. :)
good on him....he might just win the easiest $1,000,000 on TVIf the people in the house like him, and the voters at home like him, He will win.
choc_a_holic
2 Mar 2005, 18:01
No stakerz, the other luke!
Bombers_Forever
3 Mar 2005, 07:03
I must admit I like American Idol (can't stand the Aussie one, the X Factor etc). Just for the laugh factor- some of the contestants last night were hilarious. :D
I just wish some of these peoples parents and friends had of told them they were no good, a long time ago.How embarassing.
Bombers_Forever
3 Mar 2005, 09:00
I just wish some of these peoples parents and friends had of told them they were no good, a long time ago.How embarassing.
The sad thing thier family and friends told them they were good. That is the worst thing about it! :D
Scrimes1234
3 Mar 2005, 09:47
The show is just pathetic now & I guess it always has been. Needs to be taken off cause it's not entertaining! Reality TV has had its day.
Bombers_Forever
3 Mar 2005, 10:24
The show is just pathetic now & I guess it always has been. Needs to be taken off cause it's not entertaining! Reality TV has had its day.
I don't mind US Idol but the fact our TV stations think local version will work is amazing. Starstruck, that X Factor think and the Queer Eye thing all bombed and have failed for a reason. Some reality is good (*cough* Amazing Race *cough*) but there is such a thing as overkill
Sports Capital
4 Mar 2005, 19:30
I reckon they should just send Simon Cowell around the world to hear everyone sing. That'd be magnificent tv. He'd just abuse everyone, it'd be great. But alas, it is unlikely to happen.
3rdEchelon
4 Mar 2005, 21:58
Simon Cowell is the only reason i watch the show, and the first 2 or 3 episodes at that. Those people who obviously cannot sing and say that they want to be the next American Idol need a big dose of reality, and Simon is the one to give it to them.
It's the best part of the entire series, Simon and his antics. The show is boring when the singers are good. ;)
choc_a_holic
8 Mar 2005, 14:57
I don't watch it, full stop.:D
Roobunny
9 Mar 2005, 10:40
I'm happy that American Idol is back on - you usually have better singing talent than those on Australian Idol and the X Factor has become the most boring show on TV...my god, why do we need 3 nights of Kate C interviewing 5 people?!
Kenny_01
10 Mar 2005, 08:41
American Idol >>>>> Australian Idol >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> X Factor
King Corey
13 Mar 2005, 23:34
Is it on TV again? My bro has some season 4 eps on his computer and most the top 12 girls are hot. And they can sing.
Agreed. Some 'interesting' hotties rather than bottle blondes in there. Classy looking lasses.. wish I was over there to have a crack when they leave the set emotionally weakened from their eviction. ;)
luke2177
11 Apr 2005, 14:35
Need to vent some anger. Paula Abdul is American Idol's Marcia Hines.
Like Marcia, she is way too kind, and very rarely will her opinion be the "odd one out" of the three judges. In fact, I don't think she's ever disagreed with Randy (who is always the first judge to give his opinion).
Then when Simon is eventually allowed to add his thoughts, Paula will often talk over him and disagree - and tell him he wasn't listening properly or doesn't know what he's on about - then she'll re-affirm the contestant that they were brilliant, just in case their feelings were hurt by Simon.
For goodness sake, can't she just let Simon say what he wants to say - he's allowed to disagree with the other two if he wants. :eek:
Lady Lawrence
12 Apr 2005, 14:07
Has anyone noticed the way Seacrest and Cowell seem to make eyes at each other? Is there a story there that I have missed somewhere?
Paula makes Marcia look like an overly-critical perfectionist. I don't think I've ever heard her say a bad word about anyone on the show, no matter how pathetic their performance. She even managed to be complimentary towards Anthony last week, who gave the most ridiculous version of 'Climb Every Mountain' I've ever heard. Hideous was an understatement.
Plus she seems extra hyper this year, more so than last. Standing up, dancing along with the performers, it's like she's on drugs, or trying to make up for her hit-and-run charge by being extra nice and cheery.
Simon and Ryan don't like each other at all, not sure how much of that is for the cameras or whether it's a genuine dislike, but that goes back to season 1 I think.
And I was kinda disappointed to see Nikko go last week, outside of Vonzell, probably my favourite performer. It's especially disappointing when truly awful singers such as Anthony and Scott (a convicted criminal no less) are still there. Oh well.
luke2177
12 Apr 2005, 22:37
Paula makes Marcia look like an overly-critical perfectionist. I don't think I've ever heard her say a bad word about anyone on the show, no matter how pathetic their performance. She even managed to be complimentary towards Anthony last week, who gave the most ridiculous version of 'Climb Every Mountain' I've ever heard. Hideous was an understatement.
Plus she seems extra hyper this year, more so than last. Standing up, dancing along with the performers, it's like she's on drugs, or trying to make up for her hit-and-run charge by being extra nice and cheery.Thank you! For a while there I thought I was alone in my opinion on Paula. She is so annoying to watch and listen to, I just want to reach through the screen and strangle her sometimes! :o
Kenny_01
13 Apr 2005, 22:27
Nikko was awesome. How the german computer geek is still there is beyond me.
luke2177
27 Apr 2005, 15:27
What's been happening over the past couple of weeks? Can someone fill me in? I've taped the last two shows but won't have time to catch up... Who's left in the competition?
Bombers_Forever
27 Apr 2005, 15:51
What's been happening over the past couple of weeks? Can someone fill me in? I've taped the last two shows but won't have time to catch up... Who's left in the competition?
Go to Fox.com and then American Idol. The final 6 perform around lunchtime Thursday our time in the US- the results are 24 hours later. Basically Channel 10 caught up so we are level with the US.
All I know is the two rock guys are left, Carrie, Scott, the blond kid.........can't remember the last one.
Roobunny
27 Apr 2005, 15:59
www.realitynewsonline.com gives you great updates/reviews etc...it's also got a sister site Foxes on Idol almost totally dedicated to Idol
3rdEchelon
27 Apr 2005, 19:42
There's a claim in the papers over here today that a 24 yr old ex-contestant boned a 42 year old Paula Abdul in her home. As someone who is around the same age as the guy who alleged this, i'd say well done to him. If it was true that is.
grimlock
27 Apr 2005, 20:33
http://www.detnews.com/pix/2003/04/02/d01americanidol200.jpgThe dude in question
Got thrown out of the comp because when they found out he had assaulted his sister and resisted arrest.
Which is why it's surprising they allowed Scott to stay in the comp considering his history of physical abuse.
Luke, if you couldn't be stuffed checking those sites, the final 6 are Bo, Scott, Anthony, Vonzell, Carrie and Constantine.
A couple of weeks ago they had a show where they had to sing a song from the year of their birth. Nadia got booted because she picked an obscure song, and her weak-ish voice finally caught up with her.
Last Friday was 70's disco/dance night I think, and we said goodbye to Anwar. Nice guy and great voice, but didn't have the charisma and as we saw, couldn't dance.
I still reckon the last three that have left were miles better than either Scott or Anthony, but alas, it is voted by the 'fans'.
Bulldogchick76
28 Apr 2005, 08:37
I think that Vonzelle has gotten better and better throughout the series. I can't believe that Scott and Anthony are still there- both very ordinary. Especially Scott with his 'whatever is God's will' rubbish that he keeps spouting.
Carrie is starting to get a bit boring, she lacks the charisma of Constantine and Bo.
That story regarding Mario is interesting- I thought he had pulled out for other reasons, judging by the gossip sites.
What's Scott's history of physical abuse?
He was charged and convicted (pleaded no contest) back in 2001 of beating his girlfriend. She and their son were granted a restraining order against him.
Scott just looks plain creepy.
Roobunny
2 May 2005, 09:44
He was charged and convicted (pleaded no contest) back in 2001 of beating his girlfriend. She and their son were granted a restraining order against him.
Scott just looks plain creepy.
I'm far from a fan of Scott but that's actually untrue he wasn't charged with beating his girlfriend, he was charged with disorderly conduct- he threw a phone and it hit her (but it seems that it actually hit a wall).
The girlfriend it seems didn't actually want the restraining order (it has since been lifted and they are on good terms) and the reason he faced the smaller charge of disorderly conduct was because his girlfriend actually wrote to the court on his behalf. (This information comes from a relative of Scott but has been backed up in other articles)
As sourced here - http://www.foxesonidol.com/cgi-bin/ae.pl?mode=1&article=article1693.art&page=1
Bulldogchick76
2 May 2005, 14:03
I am devasted that Constantine is gone! Definitely not the best singer, but plenty of charisma, and good looks (IMO, anyway!)
I cannot BELIEVE that Anthony and Scott are still there- very ordinary performances on Friday.
By rights, the final 3 should be Bo, Carrie and Vonzelle.
I'm far from a fan of Scott but that's actually untrue he wasn't charged with beating his girlfriend, he was charged with disorderly conduct- he threw a phone and it hit her (but it seems that it actually hit a wall).
The girlfriend it seems didn't actually want the restraining order (it has since been lifted and they are on good terms) and the reason he faced the smaller charge of disorderly conduct was because his girlfriend actually wrote to the court on his behalf. (This information comes from a relative of Scott but has been backed up in other articles)
As sourced here - http://www.foxesonidol.com/cgi-bin/ae.pl?mode=1&article=article1693.art&page=1
Okay, fair enough, but for the police to have become involved, must have been something reasonably serious.
He shouldn't be there.
Bombers_Forever
27 May 2005, 15:33
The winner was announced Friday morning our time and will be shown tonight.
Lets just say you can find out the winner by going to the Fox website.
thewhippersnapper
27 May 2005, 15:41
How is the talent in this show so bad considering the amount of people that Auditioned?
Roobunny
27 May 2005, 15:48
We're watching 2 different shows, the talent's been great!
Paulkanga2000
27 May 2005, 22:09
Just a question for regular Idol watchers
Has Guy Sebastian offically made it now that the song "angels Brought me here" was sung by american idol 2005 winner Carrie Underwood?
Paul
I don't know if having your song performed on American Idol would signify that, but it is a bit of a filip, a nice compliment, particularly as it was sung at the finale as well.
As for the winner, I was hoping Bo would take it out as I felt he was the standout performer over the competition, in all aspects. Carrie has a wonderful voice, but the charisma of Bernie Fraser.
Oh well, Simon was right all those weeks ago.
Bulldogchick76
30 May 2005, 08:07
The finale was great- I would have preferred Bo to win, although Carrie is more suited to the sappy single they chose for the winner.
The best moment EVER- was seeing the Hoff appear in the audience!!