View Full Version : Big Fev? top 10 AFL?
blackcat
9 Mar 2005, 15:42
Seeing Fevola's development, I think he is the best full forward in the comp, and maybe better than Reiwoldt. I think he has surpassed Lloyd. The only question mark is his attitude and off the field dedication.
Number one on the Carlton list, I think so, but I am not a Carlton supporter.
Have to be top ten AFL if Reiwoldt is a popular 1, and if he had the mentality of the others I could not see why he cannot be the most influential player in the league. Inabashed Fev fan.
Don't really like the blues tho, sorry to say.
Funkalicous
9 Mar 2005, 17:10
He's probably the best player in the league........duing the preseason. He starts every year like this, but a season is a long time and Fev will have his ups and downs as per normal. What he has to do however,is make sure his 'down' games are at a higher standard than in the past. If he does that he'll probably be a top 10 AFL players.
Seeing Fevola's development, I think he is the best full forward in the comp, and maybe better than Reiwoldt. I think he has surpassed Lloyd. The only question mark is his attitude and off the field dedication.
Have to be top ten AFL if Reiwoldt is a popular 1, and if he had the mentality of the others I could not see why he cannot be the most influential player in the league. Inabashed Fev fan.
I think Fev is more talented than any other FF out there, but he is yet to show the consistently that Lloyd displays. 2005 could be his defining year with Blue's midfield looking more potent and the highly talented Whitnall starting to dominant at CHF again which relieves some pressure. :)
stevo#24
9 Mar 2005, 20:01
when he is on fire he could kick 10 goals in a match and plays bloody brilliantly he is obvisoly carltons best forward
worthogs
9 Mar 2005, 20:29
Better ff that Fev (at the present time)
Hall
Lloyd
GTrain
even Richo
and big Nick if he plays at FF
All are more consistent and have their head screwed on. When Fev decides to play he is great to watch. If he pulls his head in over the next few years he will be up there with the best Goal kickers
even Richo
All are more consistent and have their head screwed on. When Fev decides to play he is great to watch. If he pulls his head in over the next few years he will be up there with the best Goal kickers
Are you f'ukin serious?
Blues_Man
9 Mar 2005, 20:47
Hall
Lloyd
GTrain
even Richo
LOL the irony of a geelong supporter talking about full forwards :rolleyes:
worthogs
9 Mar 2005, 20:51
Why we have had 2 of the best in the history of the game. I would take Fev in a flash I just think he is not the Best yet nor in the Top 10
Bronx Bomber
9 Mar 2005, 20:58
Hall
Lloyd
GTrain
even Richo
WTF Richo consistant????? Has his head screwed on???????????? this is news to me and probably most other people!
worthogs
9 Mar 2005, 20:58
Are you f'ukin serious?
So where do you rate him?
Bronx Bomber
9 Mar 2005, 21:01
So where do you rate him?
Higher than Richo, mmmmmmuuuuuuuuuuccccccccccchhhhhh higher than Richo!
worthogs
9 Mar 2005, 21:02
Ok Richo may be the exception to this (Im no fan of The big girl). Actually Richo is what Fev could be in a couple of years if he doesnt pull his head in.
Blues_Man
9 Mar 2005, 21:06
Why we have had 2 of the best in the history of the game. I would take Fev in a flash I just think he is not the Best yet nor in the Top 10
and i agree ..but he could be
worthogs
9 Mar 2005, 21:15
and i agree ..but he could be
And I with you. Looking at the FF's going around. IF he wanted to he could easily be the next benchmark within 3 seasons. Lloyd is too busy going for the soft frees and throwing grass, Hall is getting on a bit, Tarrant isnt a Ff rectum, the Cats, Doggies, Crows, hawks, Port, dont have a FF to spit on at the moment, so it is primed for him to do something (depending on delivery to him, which is a bigger problem). He may only have challenges from the likes of Bradshaw, Nick Revolting etc
That game against Port at AAmi last year, really showed what he can do if he really wants to
Next we'll have a Weagles supporter chip in. :)
worthogs
9 Mar 2005, 21:18
Well they do have atalent for getting Midgets to play at FF
Blues_Man
9 Mar 2005, 21:19
nah they are all too busy up in the general board talking up their backline ...apparently glass is better than Scarlett and Mal Michael combined :rolleyes:
Bentleigh
9 Mar 2005, 21:20
Richo > Fev
For the record;
- Richo 3.6 goals a game.
- Fev 3.3 goals a game.
Blues_Man
9 Mar 2005, 21:22
Richo > Fev
For the record;
- Fev 3.3 goals a game.
lol watch this space Bentleigh i think that ratio is about to change somewhat
Bentleigh
9 Mar 2005, 21:23
lol watch this space Bentleigh i think that ratio is about to change somewhat
We will see wont we.
Fev is a very good player. As is Richo.
Richmond would far prefer Richmond to goals to be shared around rather than relying on Richo to kcik 4 a game.
Blues_Man
9 Mar 2005, 21:32
We will see wont we.
Fev is a very good player. As is Richo.
Richmond would far prefer Richmond to goals to be shared around rather than relying on Richo to kcik 4 a game.
I agree the sooner the tiges stop relying solely on Richo as their main goal kicker then the better both the club and Richo will be for it
Bronx Bomber
9 Mar 2005, 21:40
Richo > Fev
For the record;
- Fev 3.3 goals a game.
Yeah thats about right for Richo 9 shots at goal and 3 goals 6 behinds is his return.
For the record
- We have seen the best of Richo, and he is 30 and on the decline.
- Fevola still has alot to offer and is still only 24
Bentleigh
9 Mar 2005, 21:50
Yeah thats about right for Richo 9 shots at goal and 3 goals 6 behinds is his return.
Having more shots on goal would make him a better player aye?
65 goals, 50 points isnt a bad return from the big man.
.For the record
- We have seen the best of Richo, and he is 30 and on the decline.
- Fevola still has alot to offer and is still only 24
Seeing as Richo kicked 65 goals in 18 games, 3rd best in the league id say his he is in his prime.
Bronx Bomber
9 Mar 2005, 21:55
Having more shots on goal would make him a better player aye?
65 goals, 50 points isnt a bad return from the big man.
Seeing as Richo kicked 65 goals in 18 games, 3rd best in the league id say his he is in his prime.
Seeing as Fev kicked 63 in 20 games he aint doing bad either!
People forget Fev is still young.
Hes kicked 60-odd goals the last 2 seasons and looks primed to be the elite full forward in the league for many years to come.
His kick for goal beats any other full forward in the league hands down (and yes even pretty boy Lloyd's kick). The way he presents himself down the corridor and takes overhead marks with 2 blokes pressing down on him just shows how good he is.
Has been known to crack the sh*ts on occasion but hell, he actually produces some dammed fine 2nd efforts most of the time and work pretty hard on keeping the ball in the forward line.
His form during the preseason cup and the way Pagan has used him up the ground is extremely exciting and I would say without a doubt right now, if I had 1 choice of a full forward to draft for the immediate and long term future it would be Fevola.
And as for Richardson, history will go to show that his name is not even worthy of being mentioned in the same sentence as Fevola.
Bronx Bomber
9 Mar 2005, 22:30
And as for Richardson, history will go to show that his name is not even worthy of being mentioned in the same sentence as Fevola.
Thank you for clearing that up.
94_Eagles
9 Mar 2005, 23:45
Well they do have atalent for getting Midgets to play at FF
How many seasons has Fev kicked over 60 goals again?
I'm not convinced Fev has surpassed any of the elite forwards in the game. Brilliantly as he has gone in the past fortnight, Mentally i still think he is suspect.
People forget Fev is still young.
Hes kicked 60-odd goals the last 2 seasons and looks primed to be the elite full forward in the league for many years to come.
His kick for goal beats any other full forward in the league hands down (and yes even pretty boy Lloyd's kick). The way he presents himself down the corridor and takes overhead marks with 2 blokes pressing down on him just shows how good he is.
Has been known to crack the sh*ts on occasion but hell, he actually produces some dammed fine 2nd efforts most of the time and work pretty hard on keeping the ball in the forward line.
His form during the preseason cup and the way Pagan has used him up the ground is extremely exciting and I would say without a doubt right now, if I had 1 choice of a full forward to draft for the immediate and long term future it would be Fevola.
This is ridicilous, Lloyd is so much better than Fevola it aint funny. Until Fev has 6-7 seasons that are consistent then he can be labelled as good as Lloyd.
Right now?
Lloyd>>Fevola
luke2177
10 Mar 2005, 08:19
Hall
Lloyd
GTrain
even Richo
All are more consistent and have their head screwed on. When Fev decides to play he is great to watch. If he pulls his head in over the next few years he will be up there with the best Goal kickersIf we're talking about pure impact full forwards right now:
Favola > G Train
Fevola = Lloyd, Richo
Hall, Nick > Fevola
I'd say there's a fair chance Fevola will overtake the others (Hall, Nick) in the next 2-3 years. :)
Saying G Train and Richo are more consistent and have their heads screwed on moreso than Fevola is a bit outrageous, though. :rolleyes:
If we're talking about pure impact full forwards right now:
Favola > G Train
Fevola = Lloyd, Richo
Hall, Nick > Fevola
I'd say there's a fair chance Fevola will overtake the others (Hall, Nick) in the next 2-3 years. :)
Saying G Train and Richo are more consistent and have their heads screwed on moreso than Fevola is a bit outrageous, though. :rolleyes:
There is alot to get excited about Fev but lets try and not pump his tyres up too much until he has a few more runs on the board. I get the impression with Fev that too much hype can be bad for him.
worthogs
10 Mar 2005, 08:45
If we're talking about pure impact full forwards right now:
Favola > G Train
Fevola = Lloyd, Richo
Hall, Nick > Fevola
I think you are close on these although I think Lloyd is currently a better forward.
I really think for impact overall I would still take Hall above all else at the moment. Then Nick, and throw a bag over the rest of them, with Fev the one with the best future out of all ove them.
Fraser is more consistent than both Richo or Few but as for their heads yesou are right they all need to see a shrink, with Richo having extra time.
Bentleigh
10 Mar 2005, 15:57
Richo kicks more goals per game than Fev.
How is he not more consistant?
Fev = overrated on this board.
I rate FFs on the amount of goals they kick, as it is their job. I aslo consider the quality of delievery and how good/bad their team's midfield is. All that considered, Richo had a better year than Fevola last year and he was the better forward.
However, I find it funny for you to call Fev overrated when I have seen some of your posts (s well as other people's) referring to a one J. Borwn. He is more overrated than anything.
I'll give you this though: in terms of performances both Richo and Fevola are the more superior forwards than Brown is currently. Brown isn't consistent, and doesn't kick enough goals. And with a midfield that Brisbane has, he should be doing better.
Bentleigh
10 Mar 2005, 19:44
I rate FFs on the amount of goals they kick, as it is their job. I aslo consider the quality of delievery and how good/bad their team's midfield is. All that considered, Richo had a better year than Fevola last year and he was the better forward.
However, I find it funny for you to call Fev overrated when I have seen some of your posts (s well as other people's) referring to a one J. Borwn. He is more overrated than anything.
I'll give you this though: in terms of performances both Richo and Fevola are the more superior forwards than Brown is currently. Brown isn't consistent, and doesn't kick enough goals. And with a midfield that Brisbane has, he should be doing better.
Brown isnt overrated. He is a star. If I could take any one player on Richmonds list Jono Brown would be top 2/3 on my list.
He is the was a key cog in a great 3 time flag winning side. CHF is the game most important postion and i beleive there is no better than the lad.
Brown is as couragous as anyone in the league (the amount of packs he runs backwards into is amazing), still managed to kick 2.5 goals a game in a 'lean' year.
He appears to me to strighten up the team more so than any player in the league, has good skill and is a good kick for goal. The lad is arugable the strongest going around, is a huge, scary/intidating man. Sensational grab, takes the most marks in the league outside Riewoldt. However, id agrue estimate more are contested marks and closer to the sticks.
Fev of course isnt overrated, that was abit tounge in cheek. However, he isnt clearly better than Richo or the Essendon scum. Top 10 in the league is over doing it abit also.
dees_best
10 Mar 2005, 20:46
Fev's little finger > Richo
Nothing against Richo, Fev's just a bloody gun.
Would love him at Melbourne.
I wouldn't be surprised if he got 100 goals this season.
Bentleigh
10 Mar 2005, 20:50
Fev's little finger > Richo
Nothing against Richo, Fev's just a bloody gun.
Would love him at Melbourne.
I wouldn't be surprised if he got 100 goals this season.
Richo at his best > Fev at his best.
Granted, Fev is yet to hit his prime.
underthebridge
11 Mar 2005, 00:34
nah they are all too busy up in the general board talking up their backline ...apparently glass is better than Scarlett and Mal Michael combined :rolleyes:
since when does t_p's views represent all eagles supporters views? (even though, i have read what t_p has said, and it isnt that glass is better than michael and scarlett combined).
you fool
luke2177
11 Mar 2005, 09:05
Fev = overrated on this board.First of all, I respect your opinion - and I happen to like Richo as a player and he seems a top bloke off the field too.
But if you had to choose 3 words to sum up Richo's career to date, are you saying that the word "inconsistent" would not be one of them? :confused:
Badabing
11 Mar 2005, 22:19
First of all, I respect your opinion - and I happen to like Richo as a player and he seems a top bloke off the field too.
But if you had to choose 3 words to sum up Richo's career to date, are you saying that the word "inconsistent" would not be one of them? :confused:
Agree with your positive thoughts on Richo - I too like him and have at times secretly hoped that all of that "trade talk" of him coming to Carlton actually came true.
"under-achiever" would be another word to sum up his career to date. Having said that I actually hope he has a good season this year and finishes his career on a high. As long as he doesn't play too well against us ;)
worthogs
12 Mar 2005, 16:19
Agree with your positive thoughts on Richo - I too like him and have at times secretly hoped that all of that "trade talk" of him coming to Carlton actually came true.
"under-achiever" would be another word to sum up his career to date. Having said that I actually hope he has a good season this year and finishes his career on a high. As long as he doesn't play too well against us ;)
and Moody would be the third
Blues_Man
12 Mar 2005, 21:51
Fev did his top ten prediction no harm tonight ...well done FEV you legend !!
Top 10 not a bad call, i have to agree with you
starz top 50 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=158059)
Arsene Wenger
13 Mar 2005, 01:08
Bloody good performance from the Big Fev tonight..
not only him but the whole Carlton line up played super footy tonight....
Congratulations all round - It is good to see this super power back amongst it. With a bit of luck I reckon youl see some September action!
Reveler
13 Mar 2005, 02:08
meh, give a season full of tongihts form then you can rate him in the top 10. Till then he is just top 50.
Abaddon
13 Mar 2005, 09:20
meh, give a season full of tongihts form then you can rate him in the top 10. Till then he is just top 50.
err he kicked nearly 70 goals last season, and 50+ the year before... in a crap team...
:rolleyes:
killpies
13 Mar 2005, 11:15
Hall
Lloyd
GTrain
even Richo
You had me (in terms of have proven themsleves)until I read "even Richo". Fev's hissie fits have nothing on Richo, and at least when Fev has 10 shots for goal he will kick most of them. Funnily enough all those players(except big Nick who is a freak) are 3 to 5 years older than Fev. Compare them at Fev's age.... and no contest....Fev by a mile.
The Old Dark Navy's
13 Mar 2005, 11:28
Holy ********. You mean he has to kick 176 goals in the H&A season before you would rate him in the top 10?
Incredible efforts by Fevola who is playing like Tarrant in that he runs downfield and collects plenty of marks but then Fev also plays the traditional full forward role and leads out and takes contested marks inside 50 a little bit more than Tarrant. Racks up good numbers for a full forward all around.
We know he is quick over short distances but the time trial results don't do justice to the ground Fev is covering during a match.
Rockdj1966
13 Mar 2005, 11:37
I think you are close on these although I think Lloyd is currently a better forward.
I really think for impact overall I would still take Hall above all else at the moment. Then Nick, and throw a bag over the rest of them, with Fev the one with the best future out of all ove them.
Fraser is more consistent than both Richo or Few but as for their heads yesou are right they all need to see a shrink, with Richo having extra time.
Hows Ottens goin at the moment ?
Fevolaaaaaaaa has done very well with no support as long s he puts in for 4 quarters i am happy
Funkalicous
13 Mar 2005, 13:45
We know he is quick over short distances but the time trial results don't do justice to the ground Fev is covering during a match.
How wierd is that? :confused:
2 months ago everyone was complaining about Fevola's fitness and now look at him. Maybe he just doesn't give a flying.... when it comes to time trials.
The Old Dark Navy's
13 Mar 2005, 13:50
How wierd is that? :confused:
2 months ago everyone was complaining about Fevola's fitness and now look at him. Maybe he just doesn't give a flying.... when it comes to time trials.
I'd say that is all it is. Fev announced right from the start of his career that he hates running. Perhaps that is why he struggled to get real game time in his early years, because he was a non-performer on the track.
Bentleigh
13 Mar 2005, 14:14
err he kicked nearly 70 goals last season, and 50+ the year before... in a crap team...
:rolleyes:
David Neitz did the same. Neitz top 10 in the league? I think not.
As much as I hate Lloyd he has kicked 96, 93, 105, 109 in 4 of the last 5 years. I would not rate Lloyd top 10.
scottydeewah
22 Mar 2005, 18:30
Out of the crop of current full forwards Fev is the only one we could have picked up out of the draft. If we had him, mate I couldnt beat off over him ENOUGH.
One thing though. I dont rate his Wizard Cup game as anything amazing. He played on a defender who was much smaller han himself who wouldnt have started on him in a real game or played on him the whole 4 quarters. I think Woosha set a lesson for Hunter and said no matter what you will live and learn today. This cr@p about him coming of age is just a joke. West Coasts coaching squad didnt take that game too seriously. I really do think he is a GUN fev, have had bets with mates in the past over his goal kicking prowess BUT lets ignore what he did in a practise match, because let me tell you WOOSHA is going for the big one and he was just practising.
bluesforever
22 Mar 2005, 18:48
[QUOTE=scottydeewah]Out of the crop of current full forwards Fev is the only one we could have picked up out of the draft. If we had him, mate I couldnt beat off over him ENOUGH. QUOTE]
lol, personally, i don't beat off over him... but if that's your cup of tea...
BluesBabe666
23 Mar 2005, 15:14
He's up there... i dont think his past dalliances can be held against him anymore. The guy is a panellist on the Footy Show (ok so its ******** but still), he is engaged to a girl that already has one kid, i think he's settling down and putting his all into the club, i think from 2005 people will start to forget the Fevola of old. He's had a taste of his worth, i dont think he'll stuff it up.
I think you Fev cynics should all watch this space!! :cool:
scottydeewah
23 Mar 2005, 16:48
lol, personally, i don't beat off over him... but if that's your cup of tea...
Actually I wouldnt, I dont have enough dicks and hands to go around after the ABLETT brothers ;) LOL
Bentleigh
26 Mar 2005, 16:35
Big Fev top 10 AFL
hmmm....
I think not.
macca_2111
26 Mar 2005, 16:51
After today he'd be lucky to make the top 50
blues4flag
26 Mar 2005, 16:55
Shutup, he had a bad day, everyone has a bad day. He'll bounce back.
Bentleigh
26 Mar 2005, 17:02
Shutup, he had a bad day, everyone has a bad day. He'll bounce back.
Not everyone is taked up top 10 in the league and better than Richo :rolleyes:
bReEe20
26 Mar 2005, 17:18
A bad day? Yeah right. Leroy was just too good for him!
Bentleigh
26 Mar 2005, 17:19
A bad day? Yeah right. Leroy was just too good for him!
Both Watt and Brown impressed.
Bentleigh
10 Apr 2005, 01:29
hmmmm.
The Old Dark Navy's
10 Apr 2005, 01:51
Definitely one of the top 10 .... full forwards in the comp.
hilly69
12 Apr 2005, 12:59
richo has kicked 10 goals this yr to fevolas 7 so hes kicked more goals, richo has had 29 marks to fevolas 11 so richo is being more of a target and kicking more goals i know who i would rather
Bentleigh
12 Apr 2005, 13:07
richo has kicked 10 goals this yr to fevolas 7 so hes kicked more goals, richo has had 29 marks to fevolas 11 so richo is being more of a target and kicking more goals i know who i would rather
Fev top 10 in the AFL in hindsite...