View Full Version : Hart out again
zajicrow
10 Mar 2005, 17:53
hopefully the thread title didnt scare you if you didnt know, but Benny wont be lining up in the SANFL this week due to the Crows coaching staff taking extra precautions. Theyre giving him another weeks rest which is good news that they arent rushing him back.
In his press conference, Hart said some words that were very encouraging, basically along the lines of "I've never given a thought to hanging up the boots, and i am hell bent on overcoming this injury".
This probably means he wont be ready for round 1, but who cares. His hammy hasnt played up for 6 weeks so things are looking fine :cool:
:(
If he does play in Round 1 his match fitness will be seriously lacking
macca23
10 Mar 2005, 18:13
:(
If he does play in Round 1 his match fitness will be seriously lacking
That would be very surprising if he did. He's just not hardened enough and could easily re-injure the bloody thing. Round 3 or 4 would be a fair thing.
zajicrow
10 Mar 2005, 18:17
That would be very surprising if he did. He's just not hardened enough and could easily re-injure the bloody thing. Round 3 or 4 would be a fair thing.
Prefer him to come in round 4 and play most of the season instead of being rushed in the first week and playing a game here and a game 15 weeks later due to reinjuring it.
Stiffy_18
10 Mar 2005, 18:46
No point rushing him. As macca23 said I think round 3 or 4 would be appropriate time to expect him back if all goes well.
spindoctor
10 Mar 2005, 18:58
No point rushing him. As macca23 said I think round 3 or 4 would be appropriate time to expect him back if all goes well.
The hot tip is they'll play him this weekend...he'll be flown in via helicopter for his comeback, it'll be a big son et lumiere event...goiing to be amazing apparently, they've operated in secret and given him a latex hamstring so he will never break down again.
malcolm
10 Mar 2005, 19:08
face reality fellas - he's gorne
he was a champion and should retire gracefully
him & buckley are memories in terms of their super form
blackdiamond
10 Mar 2005, 19:22
Thats a bit harsh malcolm, I still think he has some good footy left in him.
Should Port have axed Primus the first time he was ever injured? Maybe West Coast should delist Judd if he bruises himself.
This is the first time in a long career that Hart has had injury problems, I'm confident he will overcome them and come back even better. Think Glen McGrath, I thought he was done with his ankle, but look at him now.
Crowked
11 Mar 2005, 07:28
:rolleyes:
Like Primus and Francou?
being in the middle has taken its toll on you malcolm
mymansyd
11 Mar 2005, 08:03
We all held our collective breaths this week hoping that Benny would make it through those 2 training sessions...and he did. What a relief.
If he rests this week, and then plays in the SANFL for a couple of weeks then maybe round 2 would be viable. If he's fit, in my mind, he's too valuable to delay till round 3/4. Let's face it, he's just as likely to re-injure himself in the SANFL as he is in the AFL.
p.s. I note with smirking interest that Thompson is still listed as 2 weeks away!
Can someone give us a detailed report into his current status. :rolleyes:
macca23
11 Mar 2005, 08:14
We all held our collective breaths this week hoping that Benny would make it through those 2 training sessions...and he did. What a relief.
If he rests this week, and then plays in the SANFL for a couple of weeks then maybe round 2 would be viable. If he's fit, in my mind, he's too valuable to delay till round 3/4. Let's face it, he's just as likely to re-injure himself in the SANFL as he is in the AFL.
p.s. I note with smirking interest that Thompson is still listed as 2 weeks away!
Allegedly playing for the port magpies in an internal trial next week.
Truck Rutten
11 Mar 2005, 08:36
You idiot. Form is not the issue with Ben. He's the sort of player who can come back from a lay off and look like he hasn't missed a minute of action. The problem at the moment is getting him on the park consistently, nothing to do with form.
baaaallllll
11 Mar 2005, 08:52
The best thing about having Ben Hart back will be him being able to pass on his experience to guys like Rutten. So even if he does comes back and is not as good as what he was I don't think it really will matter. Lets face facts I doubt we will win a flag in Benny's remaining playing days.
Jars458
11 Mar 2005, 09:29
So many Port adelaide clowns, so few bullets.
Good decision to give Benny another week.
I think one week in the SANFL will be enough for Ben to come back for us however we need to play it safe. Round 3 would be a good comeback date against the filth.
Kane McGoodwin
11 Mar 2005, 09:41
Unfortunately with stress fractures, the only remedy is rest - hence he has been doing basically bike & swimming work. We have to make sure he is over his injury, otherwise there will be a lot of long-term pain. Like Benny, I wouldn't be rushing him into the side & would use caution.
mymansyd
11 Mar 2005, 10:19
Allegedly playing for the port magpies in an internal trial next week.
That's good news, let's hope it's true. I think Scotty Thompson is going to be a very important part of this footy club by the end of this year.
Good call by Craig to give Ben an extra week or 2 as we would be spewing if he re-injured his hammy this week playing in Melbourne or for the Roosters in the local league.
zajicrow
11 Mar 2005, 13:02
So many Port adelaide clowns, so few bullets.
Good decision to give Benny another week.
I think one week in the SANFL will be enough for Ben to come back for us however we need to play it safe. Round 3 would be a good comeback date against the filth.
bout 5 port clowns per bullet. it would go straight through them anyway so just put em in a line and take one shot.
Round 3 would be good. He should play his first game at home so if he does have problems they dont have to worry bout travel etc etc.
mymansyd
11 Mar 2005, 13:46
bout 5 port clowns per bullet. it would go straight through them anyway so just put em in a line and take one shot.
Round 3 would be good. He should play his first game at home so if he
does have problems they dont have to worry bout travel etc etc.
Someone's been watching way too many Vin Diesel movies. :p
Mad Dog
11 Mar 2005, 13:49
Theyre giving him another weeks rest which is good news that they arent rushing him back.
......certainly wouldn't want to do that........
Mad Dog
11 Mar 2005, 13:52
*unravels note fresh from carrier pigeons leg*
*clears throat*
.......2 weeks away it seems... :cool:
malcolm
11 Mar 2005, 18:10
:rolleyes:
Like Primus and Francou?
actually most power supporters like me believe that at age 30 if primus or francou have any more serious injuries they should retire/be delisted at the end of the year
just like buckley or hart
or even mark stevens if today's injury is serious
ie at age 27/or 28 teams can give champions a lot of leeway - however after age 30 you do not come back to anywhere near a reasonable likelehood of playing injury free so retire !!!
Jars458
15 Mar 2005, 13:05
Was at training yesterday, Ben Hart was moving very nicely indeed.
Maric and Knights both trained as well and Knights in particular looked very handy.
mr snip
15 Mar 2005, 13:48
they reckon Knights will be a very handy late pick up
Crowked
15 Mar 2005, 14:29
actually most power supporters like me believe that at age 30 if primus or francou have any more serious injuries they should retire/be delisted at the end of the year
just like buckley or hart
or even mark stevens if today's injury is serious
ie at age 27/or 28 teams can give champions a lot of leeway - however after age 30 you do not come back to anywhere near a reasonable likelehood of playing injury free so retire !!!
Mate, they were both 29 going on 30 when they did their knees for a second time in 2 years. Hart is only 12 months older than they were and has a much less severe injury. He is a better chance to get back playing than either of them were, and their both are back playing. There is no way the crows are going to delist him with out giving him every chance, nor would Port given the same scenario. If your club lived by your theory Primus and Francou would have been retired last year because as with all major knee injuries their knee will never be the same, they will effectively carry it for their remaining time in the game. The fact is both can still play a role for the club even though they arent the players they were, and so can Hart for us.
Wayne's-World
15 Mar 2005, 19:22
Was at training yesterday, Ben Hart was moving very nicely indeed.
Maric and Knights both trained as well and Knights in particular looked very handy.
C'mon Jars your at training and no training report - Mods!!!! :p
Since your one of the few who have actually seen Knights train can you expand on your thoughts of his training.
PS I like rambling training reports ;)
maccas_no1
15 Mar 2005, 19:49
hopefully the thread title didnt scare you if you didnt know, but Benny wont be lining up in the SANFL this week due to the Crows coaching staff taking extra precautions. Theyre giving him another weeks rest which is good news that they arent rushing him back.
In his press conference, Hart said some words that were very encouraging, basically along the lines of "I've never given a thought to hanging up the boots, and i am hell bent on overcoming this injury".
This probably means he wont be ready for round 1, but who cares. His hammy hasnt played up for 6 weeks so things are looking fine :cool:
Its better not to rush him I'd rather him not be rushed and come back in round 3 or 4 and have a less troubles than to rush him and have him only be out again for another 4-5 weeks.
Jars458
16 Mar 2005, 09:00
C'mon Jars your at training and no training report - Mods!!!! :p
Since your one of the few who have actually seen Knights train can you expand on your thoughts of his training.
PS I like rambling training reports ;)
That was rambling for me! ;)
He was wearing 21 and for a minute i thought that Gallagher was back as he was very compact and his disposal was really spot on. Looked energetic and used the ball well which was all I could tell from the drills they were doing.
Very little competetive work as such and the disposal wasn't great even under little pressure.
Smith went against Gibson in a drill where the ball is kicked out to centre half froward and the big guys battle before the ball is run down to the other end of the ground through a guy in the centre square (Biglands was one who dropped a number of chest marks). Smith gave Gibson an absolute hiding.
At the other end I think Meeson and Maric were going at it and they both looked quite good.
One bloke had a shocking kicking style and a shocking mullet, I think it was Griffin?? Wasn’t impressed with him at all.
Perrie, Stevens Welsh Schuback, Watts, Kruger and Ladhams didn’t seem to be out there.
damn , i was looking forward to see hart donning the red and white this week :(
Jars458
16 Mar 2005, 09:30
damn , i was looking forward to see hart donning the red and white this week :(
I think he is playing this week. It was last week that he wasn't.
Markthirtytwo
16 Mar 2005, 09:33
Thats what I reackon. :cool:
Thank for god for that, we need a bit of positive feed-back at the moment after this mornings flip-flop decision from our club. :(
Stiffy_18
16 Mar 2005, 16:31
One bloke had a shocking kicking style and a shocking mullet, I think it was Griffin?? Wasn’t impressed with him at all.
Sounds like Rowan Andrews to me ;)
macca23
16 Mar 2005, 16:39
Smith went against Gibson in a drill where the ball is kicked out to centre half froward and the big guys battle before the ball is run down to the other end of the ground through a guy in the centre square (Biglands was one who dropped a number of chest marks). Smith gave Gibson an absolute hiding.
Thanks for the report Jars.
That's bloody frightening that Smith gave Gibson a hiding in a one on one. Gibson's even further away than I thought!! :eek:
As Stiffy said, that would be Andrews with the shocking kicking style - he looks like he went to the Paul Northeast school of kicking. :D
Griffin on the other hand is exceptionally skilled for a 6'6" lad and is an excellent kick of the ball.
Asgardian
18 Mar 2005, 01:07
Didn't you blokes hear the same news report about Ben Hart that I did?
on main board (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=158680)
Stiffy_18
18 Mar 2005, 18:38
Didn't you blokes hear the same news report about Ben Hart that I did?
on main board (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=158680)
Yeah we heard it :(
Apparently it was caused by re-injuring the hammy over and over again forming calcification. Thats whats been said a few times but I am no expert on the matter.
macca23
20 Mar 2005, 07:54
Talking about Ben, it appears that he had a good day in more ways than one yesterday according to Anthony Barich of the Sunday Mail.
The report said that Ben had a pretty good first 3 quarters of the trial and felt so good that he was wanting to play the last quarter as well.
However it goes on to say that
"Power ???? development coach Alan Stewart soon put paid to that, prompting Jarman to personally pull him off.
:eek: :eek:
Whatever turns you on, I guess!! :D
Stiffy_18
20 Mar 2005, 12:25
I picked that up as well macca. I had a great laugh reading that
Bockchoy67
20 Mar 2005, 15:00
That was rambling for me!
He was wearing 21 and for a minute i thought that Gallagher was back as he was very compact and his disposal was really spot on. Looked energetic and used the ball well which was all I could tell from the drills they were doing.
Very little competetive work as such and the disposal wasn't great even under little pressure.
At the other end I think Meeson and Maric were going at it and they both looked quite good.
Perrie, Stevens Welsh Schuback, Watts, Kruger and Ladhams didn’t seem to be out there.
Thanks for the report Jars.
I've seen Knights on a fair few occasions last year when I travelled up to Victoria for some of the Crows' games.
Always impressed me, especially in the TAC Cup Grand Final. I've spoken to several guys on the board about him and I always spoke with praise.
Disappointing to hear about Gibson's performance, especially considering he was against...Smith. :eek: :eek: :eek:
On the other hand good to hear about Maric getting back into the thick of things. I saw him twice last year and he was pretty impressive, especially in front of goal.
And yep, that's Andrews all right.