View Full Version : Weston Creek Upsets premiers
WCL
12th March 2005, 09:20
The Weston Creek football Club (wooden spooners of 20040 have upset the reigning premiers Belconnen, by 30+points in round one of the pre-season comp in the AFL Canberra Comp. While Tuggeranong (2nd off the bottom 2004) pushed a full strength Ainslie team all the way. Shaping up to be a fantastic season, hopefully the "creek" keep going all the way to september glory.
understudy
14th March 2005, 10:14
The Weston Creek football Club (wooden spooners of 20040 have upset the reigning premiers Belconnen, by 30+points in round one of the pre-season comp in the AFL Canberra Comp. While Tuggeranong (2nd off the bottom 2004) pushed a full strength Ainslie team all the way. Shaping up to be a fantastic season, hopefully the "creek" keep going all the way to september glory.
Your taking this is indicative of the real season? Not sure what sort of team belconnen have this year but they looked very ordinary on friday.
Who won out Weston creek and tuggeranong?
Quenbeyan on Sunday (narrowly losing to swans and beating wagga) looked good and eastlake (beating wagga) and swans (narrolly beating tigers) looked good as well.
Overall the football looked of a much higher standard on the sunday!!!!!!!!!
WCL
14th March 2005, 14:21
Tuggers beat the Creek by 40pts and look pretty good this year.
My top four this year would be:
Queanbeyan
Ainslie
Wagga
and either
Belconnen
or Eastlake
understudy
14th March 2005, 16:46
Tuggers beat the Creek by 40pts and look pretty good this year.
My top four this year would be:
Queanbeyan
Ainslie
Wagga
and either
Belconnen
or Eastlake
Thought Wagga looked ordinary on Sunday myself..
It'll be more like ...
Queanbeyan
Eastlake
Belconnen
Ainslie
---------
Wagga
Tuggg
WC
for mine!!!!!!!
3rd Grade Maggy
16th March 2005, 15:16
Pretty big achievement really isn't it ... beating a side with three players from last years Grand Final. The Pies sent their full strength side down to Wagga to play against Wodonga in a real practice match - not the 50 minute rubbish AFL Canberra have seen fit to dish up this year.
Belconnen will be there when it counts again ...
WCL
16th March 2005, 17:50
mate who said they wouldn't be! I mean fair dinkum can't you give us a break, we have won 3 game in 5 years and hear you are scoffing at a reasonably hard fought victory, albeit against a (possible) 2nd rate Belconnen side. All you magpie supporters are the same. It would be good for footy if Belconnen got no where near the finals this year. Just because teams such as yourselves have bigger chequebooks than Weston Creek means that of course some of your players are going to be a level above, but there is no reason for you to bag a good victory that we at Weston Creek are pretty proud of. :mad:
3rd Grade Maggy
17th March 2005, 11:20
Spins and cycles mate. I remember back in the late 90's when we were rubbish and you lot were up top you paid the crap out of us. Club put a five year plan into place and did what they needed to do to get to the power position they are now in. Nowhere near as much money involved as Eastlake, Queanbeyan or Ainslie involved either.
I look forward to your lot having a crack this year. If you were only more proactive in pinching the Marist kids as they were coming through you would have such a better junior base to rely upon - instead Eastlake get them all. FWIW I expect you guys to not come last this year ... better? :o
WCL
17th March 2005, 14:16
Yep
Phil Doyle
22nd March 2005, 21:38
Up the Creek!
understudy
23rd March 2005, 10:34
Yep looks like they are up the creek
Belconnen looked average on friday against ainslie also
fabulousphil
23rd March 2005, 14:23
Spins and cycles mate. I remember back in the late 90's when we were rubbish and you lot were up top you paid the crap out of us. Club put a five year plan into place and did what they needed to do to get to the power position they are now in. Nowhere near as much money involved as Eastlake, Queanbeyan or Ainslie involved either.
I look forward to your lot having a crack this year. If you were only more proactive in pinching the Marist kids as they were coming through you would have such a better junior base to rely upon - instead Eastlake get them all. FWIW I expect you guys to not come last this year ... better? :o
I remember when West Canberra(b4 joining with Belconnen)had the biggest junior club in ACT by a mile, 3 or 4 under 8s,9s and 10s then filtering down to a couple of teams in the older grades, this was when the outer suburbs of Beconnen were being developed. The first grade side could not win a game and even went to play in the monaro comp one year.
Westies had the clubhouse and pokies and Belconnen had better management and players but lost their clubhouse at jamison through incompetence- so they got married and got better. :D