View Full Version : Rochester Football Club
caveman
12th March 2005, 21:03
Hi Guys,
I just received an email from a guy at www.geocities.com/bendigofooty (http://www.geocities.com/bendigofooty) looking for info on Rochester F.C. This is what he wrote:
I am researching a book on the Rochester Football Club (in the GVFL) and was wondering if you have any information on the club. I'm looking for historical facts, photos, players and any other information. I have found very little information about them from the time they were in the Bendigo Football League (they left in 1972).
If you have any info post here and I will pass it on. Thanks guys.
Rosco5
13th March 2005, 09:40
Hi Guys,
I just received an email from a guy at www.geocities.com/bendigofooty (http://www.geocities.com/bendigofooty) looking for info on Rochester F.C. This is what he wrote:
I am researching a book on the Rochester Football Club (in the GVFL) and was wondering if you have any information on the club. I'm looking for historical facts, photos, players and any other information. I have found very little information about them from the time they were in the Bendigo Football League (they left in 1972).
Caveman, why don't you just ring the club, there are some blokes there that have been there for years and years and would be more than happy to pass on all their information, honour board info, funny stories etc etc etc.
I played there 1988-90 and my FIL, Kevin Shinners, coached there in the early 70's and won a league medal (after leaving Richmond - later to Dandy where he made the Team of the Century) before Rochy moved to the GVFL. Neither of us were remotely connected to the town funnily enough, just ended up there.
There are other blokes on BF who are from there including JMain and others who have played there over the years who could give you current names and contact details.
Flat Track Bully
13th March 2005, 13:13
Hi Guys,
If you can get a copy of the books "Great Goals", which was released in 1994 to celebrate the centenary of the GVFL, there's some fantastic stuff in there.
Ron Michael was the author.
jmain14
15th March 2005, 07:42
yeah like rosco suggested, i'd just ring the club and at least they should be able to point you in the right direction as to how to find information / history on the club. might be best to ring on a training night if you wanted to contact within the next couple of weeks. the presidents' name is barry powles - guess you could look his number up in the phone book. good luck.
tbtbtbtbtbtbtb
18th March 2005, 11:07
I think one of the best contacts at RFC for a quick, straight to the point yarn about the last decade would be an old timekeeper by the name of Acky Jones.
JMain wholly endorse your comments re: C McCarty on the GVFL thread - I have also heard that he is that way inclined and may have been exposing himself out the front of a wedding in Albury a couple of weeks ago...
jmain14
18th March 2005, 12:38
I think one of the best contacts at RFC for a quick, straight to the point yarn about the last decade would be an old timekeeper by the name of Acky Jones.
JMain wholly endorse your comments re: C McCarty on the GVFL thread - I have also heard that he is that way inclined and may have been exposing himself out the front of a wedding in Albury a couple of weeks ago...
my apologies caveman as tb is right on this one - I wouldn't worry about ringing barry 'speed' powles for further info on the club as you'd be far better hearing it from acky jones - he'll point you in the right direction. acky is well known for his contributions on matchday for the rfc. one day he goal umpired the 3rds and the 2nds, was official timekeeper for both of these games, minded the players' valuables whilst the players were out in the centre and still managed to keep a couple of slabs on ice for the 2's once the game had concluded. mind you, I don't think we deserved too many beers that day as we copped a 150 point pasting from one of the shepp sides from memory.
tb, I have mentioned numerous times on this site that I believe c mccarty swings the ball the wrong way - I just hope lisa finds out sooner rather than later.
tbtbtbtbtbtbtb
18th March 2005, 12:49
Acky Jones should be made a life member (if he is not already) and also out at LBU where he was also committed 110%
Lisa is not going to be a happy girl...
mitch_fc
9th February 2006, 14:44
my club is playing vs these guys in a practice match i believe. what league are they in, how did they go in 05, and who they have playing for them? any info on appreciated.
Doona2
9th February 2006, 14:53
my club is playing vs these guys in a practice match i believe. what league are they in, how did they go in 05, and who they have playing for them? any info on appreciated.
Would reckon Rochester will thump ya's, you are from Lower Plenty yeah?
ECHUCABOY
9th February 2006, 15:01
Acky Jones should be made a life member (if he is not already) and also out at LBU where he was also committed 110%
Lisa is not going to be a happy girl...
Be prepared for a long, long,long chat though with Acky buddy. Ohh Acky umpired a game of cricket this year where he gave the batsmen not out, becasue as he stated the ball was a "zooter".
It pitched half way down the pitched and hit middle half way up, but couldnt be given out cos it was a "zooter". Bloody funny.
kingfooty
9th February 2006, 15:48
my club is playing vs these guys in a practice match i believe. what league are they in, how did they go in 05, and who they have playing for them? any info on appreciated.sorry mitch but you better get ready to be absolutely flogged. rochy by atleast 20 goals.
Wisper
9th February 2006, 16:37
If you require some details check out the following (as posted on the GVFL website contacts list)
Rochester FC
5484 3478
PO Box 118
Rochester 3561
Barry Powles
barry.powles@mgc.com.au
Jeff Parry
jeffp@g-mwater.com.au
PS - you will get flogged
mitch_fc
9th February 2006, 19:23
ok sounds like fun, what league are they in??? we'll show yah how strong the DVFL is when a div 2 team comes out firing.......... maybe not.
mitch_fc
9th February 2006, 19:25
bendigo league.. i answer me own Q's
cosby
9th February 2006, 19:36
actually mitch they play in the goulburn valley league.
nesko_25
9th February 2006, 21:24
Has any body heard about rat cutriss? heard it on the grape vine that he may head 2 colbo
galloping gasometer
10th February 2006, 05:43
Has any body heard about rat cutriss? heard it on the grape vine that he may head 2 colbo
If Colbo need a wide receiver whos not affraid to have a shot at goals( similar ilke to Kevin Bartlett - wont handball) they should chase him. With all the inclusions at RFC this year will be at best borderline
Bazil
10th February 2006, 05:49
He would have a rough time playing LBU if he did, has quite a few mates out that way & has also trained with them before. I don't think they would let him off lightly !
ilovetogetblind
10th February 2006, 06:56
mitch, most are local Rochy boys, with 4/5 from Bendigo.
Finished 6th in '05, hoping to jump one or two spots this year. You??
In past praccy matches we have left out good players who have any niggling injuries so are never at full strength. Always try a few young/ressies players in these games to see how they go.
How you looking?
mitch_fc
10th February 2006, 11:23
Lower Plenty lost every game in DVFL div 1 last year with a very young side. we have a few old heads back this year, but have lost a couple of our better young players. we're looking to make the Div 2 GF at least this year.
nesko_25
13th February 2006, 20:41
With ash watson gettin delisted is he on rochys shoppin list or is he headin over 2 th wafl
ECHUCABOY
14th February 2006, 07:25
With ash watson gettin delisted is he on rochys shoppin list or is he headin over 2 th wafl
Playing for North Ballarat knowledge............:rolleyes:
nesko_25
19th February 2006, 16:20
So how many headed out corop 4 the trainin camp? who is lookin the goods out there?
CherryPie43
19th February 2006, 21:20
Hey Nesko_25......
You say Ash Watson may be coming over to the WAFL:eek:
How good is your info and to which club:confused:
I see Echuca Boy says he may be in the VFL:o
Can anyone firm up what Watson is doing?
ECHUCABOY
20th February 2006, 08:05
Hey Nesko_25......
You say Ash Watson may be coming over to the WAFL:eek:
How good is your info and to which club:confused:
I see Echuca Boy says he may be in the VFL:o
Can anyone firm up what Watson is doing?
Didn't i already confirm it dumbass, he's playing for north ballarat
ANT JESS
20th February 2006, 08:33
Minimal sleep on the weekend EB? thats the 2nd bitchy post from you today, living with two rochy chicks getting you down? :)
nesko_25
21st February 2006, 20:13
Ive heard rochy r in a bit of trouble this year with there 3rds, how r thay lookin heard a few arnt 2 sure whether they'll stay at the club if the struggle with the numbers
nesko_25
28th February 2006, 19:48
I was just wondering if anybody could fill me on Andrew "Cheiners" Palmer, Some rochy mates said he's a pretty handy player. Any more info would be great
ANT JESS
1st March 2006, 09:22
I was just wondering if anybody could fill me on Andrew "Cheiners" Palmer, Some rochy mates said he's a pretty handy player. Any more info would be great
Refer to the main GVFL Board nesko, if you haven't allready.
The Nest
1st March 2006, 09:34
Id reckon Rochester will be high up in 06. They have signed a couple more Bendigo boys from what I hear.
Elliot Bowen, tall strong CHB, if fit will go real well. The big red chook can play.
How did Lenny Schmidt and Jimmy Loughman go last year for the tigers??
joshooaa
18th March 2006, 13:27
Does Breden Hicks still play up there ( booga)??
OldShepp
23rd February 2007, 10:50
He is a rat..
what the ........
22nd August 2007, 20:30
whats evryones thoughts on rob touhey? rate him?
nintendoboy#23
24th August 2007, 15:49
whats evryones thoughts on rob touhey? rate him?
Knowing that Rob will read this Steven i'm going to give it to you straight.
Good player most of the time, is hard on himself which is good to see! He's very comitted to his football and always gives 100% which is what makes him the player he is. unfortuneatly he'll never be more than a good player becoz of his lack in leg speed, which he can't do too much about. I also think his disposal could do with a a bit of work! Dominates in the rochy 3rds when he plays back home, far too good for that competition! Good luck to Rob with his life and also his footy. :thumbsu:
jmain14
24th August 2007, 22:57
Does Breden Hicks still play up there ( booga)??
think his footy days may be over unfortunately. think he received an injection at the dublin customs that made him put on 20 kilos or so hehe. don't think boogsy would be as nippy around the packs as he once was...