View Full Version : Darwin Grand Final

Nt Bomber
19th March 2005, 21:26
For those who interested St Marys won their third premiership in a row this afternoon by coming from behind half way thru the last quarter to defeat Wanderers by 28 Points.

The Chaney medal winner was Wanderers Todd Cooke. Lucas White kicked 4 for St Marys.

St Marys was coached by Damian Hale who is now leaving to coach the NT
Thunder Under 18 team.

Wanderers was coached by Mark Motlop. Shannon Motlop played last week and was BOG. As the Demons drafted him he was unavailable for the GF.

Other players who played today who may have played in your league include.

Karl Lohde, Luke Eldridge, Haydon Wilson, Nick Ingall, Jared Ilett,Peter Macfarlane, Danny Nolan, Brad Nordhausen, Mccabe Brothers And three Rioli's.

Waratahs defeated Palmerston in Reserve Grade.
Saints defeated Wanderers in Under 18's.

ben.carbonaro
20th March 2005, 00:54
Thanks for the info mate, much appreciated.

Always good to know what goes on up north footy wise during what is our summer down here in Victoria.

Andrew Lovett
20th March 2005, 07:51
For those who interested St Marys won their third premiership in a row this afternoon by coming from behind half way thru the last quarter to defeat Wanderers by 28 Points.

The Chaney medal winner was Wanderers Todd Cook. Lucas White kicked 4 for St Marys.

St Marys was coached by Damian Hale who is now leaving to coach the NT
Thunder Under 18 team.

Wanderers was coached by Mark Motlop. Shannon Motlop played last week and was BOG. As the Demons drafted him he was unavailable for the GF.

Other players who played today who may have played in your league include.

Karl Lohde, Luke Eldridge, Haydon Wilson, Nick Ingall, Jared Ilett,Peter Macfarlane, Danny Nolan, Brad Nordhausen, Mccabe Brothers And three Rioli's.

Waratahs defeated Palmerston in Reserve Grade.
Saints defeated Wanderers in Under 18's.

What is Cameron illet doing this year he was impressive in the carnival last year why he didnt get picked up i dont know

Nt Bomber
20th March 2005, 08:56
Playing for Port Adelaide in the SAFL.

His brother Jared won the Nichols medal this year which is the competitions equivalent of the Brownlow.

HitEmHardFreo
22nd March 2005, 11:46
One of the better NTFL GFs in recent times this one. 10 lead changes thru'out the match and all players giving their all. Wanderers were spent in the final term and that's what cost them. Cooky had to drag himself off late in the final quarter that's how much he put in.

As much as I wanted the Eagles to win -- and I reckon they were sentimental favourites with the majority of the crowd -- you have to hand it to the Saints.

I thought the Eagles should have gotten someone to pick up the Saints' Iggy who plugged the hole in defence as loose man. He stopped a few forward forays and repelled the attack in that final quarter. He needed to be made accountable with an extra Eagles player up forward. But Wanderers couldn't convert enough in the last term. They sure missed S. Motlop's finish in front of goal.

As much as it is a horrible spectacle in footy, would you forgive a coach (in this case, Wanderers') if he instructed his side to flood their defence, when they were 8pts up late in the last? If ony just to make sure? It is the GF after all.

*ABC Darwin usually have video copies of NTFL GFs for sale. $40 each if I remember correctly. I'll be getting one of this game.

Nt Bomber
22nd March 2005, 20:32
Whether you love them or hate them. You have to admire St Marys record over the past 20 years.

Always seem to find that something extra to win the close ones. Most of their
recruits each year seem to suit the NT style of football.

Even their Under 18's won after scraping into the finals.

Rupert
22nd March 2005, 21:57
Congratulations to St Marys winning again. Last year I was following Rupert Betheras. Did Andrew Hill (Wang) play again in the GF. Congrats to all the Boys.

Nt Bomber
24th March 2005, 06:20
Congratulations to St Marys winning again. Last year I was following Rupert Betheras. Did Andrew Hill (Wang) play again in the GF. Congrats to all the Boys.

Didnt play in Darwin this year.

Insider
24th March 2005, 07:02
Does Craig Turner (Daryl White's cousin) still run around up in the NT League ?

I recall him playing for Mitcham in the about 1999 and he was an absolute superstar.

Nt Bomber
25th March 2005, 09:52
Didnt play this season.

For some reason not a lot of Alice Springs players play in Darwin in their off season.

mitch_fc
26th March 2005, 13:23
a few from my club played up there. Adam McGloughlin (spelling), Mick Polley, Balraj Singh (no longer at our club) all at warratahs. there were a few aboriginals who played with us from up there, such as Simon Munkara, MArk Lee Thompson, MArk Puatjimi and JR.(not sure of his actual name, John something.) Tim Watson, my coaches brother, apparently played very well also.

Nt Bomber
26th March 2005, 15:04
a few from my club played up there. Adam McGloughlin (spelling), Mick Polley, Balraj Singh (no longer at our club) all at warratahs. there were a few aboriginals who played with us from up there, such as Simon Munkara, MArk Lee Thompson, MArk Puatjimi and JR.(not sure of his actual name, John something.) Tim Watson, my coaches brother, apparently played very well also.

Watson had a good season and polled well in the medal.Mark Lee Thompson played for Wanderers in the Grand Final and went well.

Simon Munkara and JR play for Darwin Buffaloes.

Waratahs were beaten in the Preliminary Final.

Heard Polley got himself in a bit of trouble off the field while in Darwin

DaMan
2nd April 2005, 16:42
"go The Eagles"