Devonport 13.20.98 - Latrobe 9.6.60 Att: 1010 at Latrobe Rec. Ground
Easter Saturday: 26/3/05
East Devonport 14.15.99 - Smithton 12.4.76 Att: 650 at Girdlestone Park
Wynyard 21.6.132 - South Launceston 9.11.65 Att: 531 at Wynyard Oval
Burnie Dockers 21.15.141 - Penguin 10.8.68 Att: 830 at Penguin Rec. Ground

Bye: Ulverstone

WCL
26 Mar 2005, 15:57
Looks like the games so far in the NTFL have been good with all teams competitive. Good crowd at latrobe, any idea of how many they got to windsor.

The SFL really needs to take a leaf out of the NTFL's book, if the SFL was as well organised as the NTFL then the SFL would get double what they get to the NTFL. The average attendance for the NTFL last year was 750, with some games drawing over 2,000 patrons. Whereas the SFL was around 400-500 with some games drawing 1,500.

They are blatantly obvious facts, if the SFL woke up to themselves they could have a good competition.

WCL
26 Mar 2005, 16:13
Have you seen the NTFL website (www.ntfl.com.au) good website, has everything you need to know without over cluttering. The SFL website is okay, but it has so many catergories i.e match preveiws, match reveiws, umpires, links about the AFLST and many more. None of these ever get updated, it would be a fantastic site if everything was updated frequently.

WCL
27 Mar 2005, 18:53
Who won yesterdays games?

The Scarecrow
27 Mar 2005, 19:44
Should be reported tomorrow.

WCL
27 Mar 2005, 19:59
Thanks for that, it is shaping up to become a good season in the NTFL, I hope Launceston Blues do well this year.

Where would they play the GF if it was an all launceston Grand Final.

The Scarecrow
27 Mar 2005, 20:26
Aurora Stadium I would guess, or move it to Youngtown.

Kingpin
27 Mar 2005, 22:25
I'll post some scores when the media actually give us some :rolleyes: ..............*waits*

The Scarecrow
27 Mar 2005, 22:57
You'll be waiting until Tuesday mate.

The Scarecrow
28 Mar 2005, 22:58
Winners are as follows (no scores yet)

Devonport
Wynyard
East Devonport
Burnie.

WCL
29 Mar 2005, 07:07
Good to see the swans get up. Other games went pretty much to plan.

WCL
29 Mar 2005, 19:10
Devonport 13.20. 98
Latrobe 9.6. 60
Crowd 1,010

Northern Bombers 13.13. 91
Launceston Blues 11.13. 79

East Devonport 14.15 99
Smithton 12.4 76
Crowd 650

Wynyard Cats 21.6. 132
South Launceston 9.11. 65
Crowd 531

Burnie 21.15 141
Penguin 10.8 68
Crowd 830

all up a good round of footy with all teams resonably competitive, Wynyard look to be in with a chance this year and the usual contenders Burnie, Devonport and all 3 Launceston teams are in with a chance.

The NTFL really have got their act together, they have basically shoooed the devils away and are now concentrating on building their comp. If the SFL was half what this comp is then they would be 1000 times better off.

Jerome
29 Mar 2005, 21:01
What happened to Scottsdale?

The Scarecrow
29 Mar 2005, 21:08
They are now in the NTFA (I think it's that league)

sherb
29 Mar 2005, 21:45
That is a good website there for the NTFL, as an ex North Launceston lad I will have to check out the results each week.

I do find it amazing that in these times only one of the clubs themselves appears to have its own website though.

I really haven't followed northern Tassie footy enough in recent years, who would be favourite this year? Burnie again?

Does the Deloraine club still exist? Back when I played footy in the north, Deloraine had its own senior club and association.

The Scarecrow
29 Mar 2005, 22:00
Deloraine left the league last season and joined I think the NTFA, or NTFU.

Burnie would be the favourites, I don;t think they have lost many from the premiership side.

www.ntfl.com.au is the NTFL website, it also has contacts from the league if you have any enquries.

Kingpin
30 Mar 2005, 00:03
as an ex North Launceston lad I will have to check out the results each week.
Ahhhhh - An old Robin!!

I do find it amazing that in these times only one of the clubs themselves appears to have its own website though.
I suppose Tassie's a bit different to the mainland though in that regard. Not a great active supporter base for any of the clubs, therefore most of the websites wouldn't get much traffic.
Burnie I know has its own site (long-since updated from memory), and in the South, Hobart Lions, North Hobart, Kingborough and Glenorchy have thier own sites.
Hobart's is by far the biggest, and recently had to have its forums wiped after the club got such a bucketting from fans over changing its colours and emblem.
The rest receive little or no traffic.

I really haven't followed northern Tassie footy enough in recent years, who would be favourite this year? Burnie again?
Burnie.

Does the Deloraine club still exist? Back when I played footy in the north, Deloraine had its own senior club and association.

The Deloraine Kangaroos play in the NTFA. They drooped out of the NTFL a couple of years ago suffering player shortages.
Deloraine Association as well? That goes back a fair way Sherb ;)
There were a multitude of Associations around back then, most have goooooooooooone now

BTW - thanks for the updates WCL ;)

Kingpin
30 Mar 2005, 00:08
http://www.scotchwhisky.com/images/j_walker_logo.gifJohnnie Walker Trivia Question
What happened to Scottsdale?

Answer: Playing in the NTFA

This Weeks Winner Scarecrow, Warrane Tasmania.

sherb
30 Mar 2005, 00:41
Ahhhhh - An old Robin!!

Hehe, yes. I remember when North used to play Fly Robin Fly by Silver Convention through the tinny PA system at York Park. :D

I suppose Tassie's a bit different to the mainland though in that regard. Not a great active supporter base for any of the clubs, therefore most of the websites wouldn't get much traffic.
Burnie I know has its own site (long-since updated from memory), and in the South, Hobart Lions, North Hobart, Kingborough and Glenorchy have thier own sites.
Hobart's is by far the biggest, and recently had to have its forums wiped after the club got such a bucketting from fans over changing its colours and emblem.
The rest receive little or no traffic.

I see, thanks for that. A bit of a shame really, I'd like to be able to keep up with things at North via the web. But you are right, it is hardly worth the effort if it doesn't get the traffic. I see one of my old cricket clubs (Mowbray) has its own website though, although being kept up to date has not been always been of its greatest assets.

The Deloraine Kangaroos play in the NTFA. They drooped out of the NTFL a couple of years ago suffering player shortages.
Deloraine Association as well? That goes back a fair way Sherb
There were a multitude of Associations around back then, most have goooooooooooone now

Yes, I am going back a fair way. ;)

The Deloraine association back when I played comprised - Hagley, Red Hills, Meander, Mole Creek, Chudleigh and Elizabeth Town. Out of that list of luminary clubs I believe only Mole Creek still exists.

Deloraine back then actually played in the Esk Association, which has also gone down the drain.

Ah, those were the days, running through the cow pats on the Chudleigh ground. :D

Kingpin
30 Mar 2005, 01:00
Hehe, yes. I remember when North used to play Fly Robin Fly by Silver Convention through the tinny PA system at York Park. :D

"Fly Robin Fly, Fly Robin Fly, Jump up to the skyyyyyy" :D

The Deloraine association back when I played comprised - Hagley, Red Hills, Meander, Mole Creek, Chudleigh and Elizabeth Town. Out of that list of luminary clubs I believe only Mole Creek still exists.

Yes Mole Creek's still about, I'm not sure 100% but I *think* Elizabeth Town may be as well, don't quote me on that though.
My grandfather played for Elizabeth Town from 1945-48 I think. Came down to Hobart 1949 and played in the Reserves for Hobart in 1949-50.
Met my grandmother who was on the social committee back then and they married a couple of years later.
She'd be turning in her grave if she could see what's happened to Hobart now.

Megan
30 Mar 2005, 21:40
Hang about. Do Scottsdale boast two teams?

Because the Scottsdale Crows are in the NEFU, which starts round one Saturday week.

Kingpin
30 Mar 2005, 23:47
Hang about. Do Scottsdale boast two teams?

Because the Scottsdale Crows are in the NEFU, which starts round one Saturday week.

Yes they do, Megan.
Scottsdale Magpies (NTFA) and Scottsdale Crows (NEFU) :)
What ground do the Crows play at? Same ground as the Magpies?

Megan
31 Mar 2005, 20:53
That's a good question... I'm not 100% sure - there's only the one oval in Scottsdale to the best of my knowledge, so that'd be it for both of 'em I guess.

Actually yeah I think it is - 'cause last finals season Winnaleah got a final game at home because the oval in S'dale was being used, so I'd say it was being used by the Magpies instead of the Crows. Most of the NEFU finals are played in Scottsdale.