View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)
Manbearpig
16 Sep 2007, 10:51
Brad I appreciate your comments on here and think you put valuable input in to this forum.
I'm pretty sure, and you could probably find alot of people out there who would say i'm a lot more qualified than most to make a judgement on Rob's journalistic ability, and i stand by my comments.
I generally leave my posts to just pumping mansfield up, but i'll back my mate to the hilt, not just becuase he's my mate, but because he IS a great journo.
And like i said .. I like Dirty, but i don't think at ANY time during that article, did rob step out of line.
I guess we can all agree to disagree on this.
I think he blatantly stepped over the line with almost inferring he's not human.
And the sooky la-la lines about how he's been treated poorly by Dirty in the past.
Where's the public interest in publishing that, and damaging a man's reputation?
And its arrogance on his part for implying that he's as important as the football coach that he is trying to get a quote from.
Great little interview with Dave Williams on One Fm just ended, said should he take the Kyabram gig on he will stick to radio only, as unlike the print media he has the right of reply . . . . . was a good chat to listen to.
Seymour big come from behind win in the 3rds over Echuca sees them advance to the GF.
All tied up in the 2s at half time - 7.2 (44) apiece.
Grandale
16 Sep 2007, 13:43
Seymour big come from behind win in the 3rds over Echuca sees them advance to the GF.
All tied up in the 2s at half time - 7.2 (44) apiece.
Yeah, I toddled off to the TAB at three-quarter-time of the Jimmy Hirds as the Murray Bombers looked over the line. Was delighted to receive a phone call while I was trying to spot a winner at the Devonport dogs informing me that the Lions had in fact got up.
As for the Twos, Seymour looked home at 3/4 time when trailing by just 8 points (they've got a 3-goal breeze in the last quarter) but Rochy has started much better in the last term. 7 mins in they currently lead by 16pts.
Grandale
16 Sep 2007, 13:44
Rochy has just kicked another behind then a goal.
Lead by 23 at the 10-min mark.
Grandale
16 Sep 2007, 13:50
Rochy has just kicked another behind then a goal.
Lead by 23 at the 10-min mark.
Game over! Tigers through to the granny - just kicked another to go 29 points up at 15 min mark
Manbearpig
16 Sep 2007, 14:15
Great little interview with Dave Williams on One Fm just ended, said should he take the Kyabram gig on he will stick to radio only, as unlike the print media he has the right of reply . . . . . was a good chat to listen to.
Cheers to that.
Rochy 2s, wooden spoon to first team into the granny. Crazy.
Swans 6.3 (39) leding Seymour 1.4 (10) early in the 2nd term.
Swans 7.3 (45) to Seymour 4.8 (32) at half time, Lions sound like they're getting into the groove but have been inaccurate.
20 minute mark 3rd term and Tim O'Keefe's 2nd goal has Seymour in front 7.12 (54) to the Swans 8.3 (51)
Saad goals on the siren to open up a 16-point lead. Seymour 9.14 (68) to Shepp Swans 8.4 (52). Eleven scoring shots by the Lions coulda been a greater margin.
bradrowe#32
16 Sep 2007, 16:15
Saad goaled on the 3/4 siren. I think they said Seymour were up by 16 points. Big quarter by the Swans, they have the breeze but Seymour have the momentum.
Swans players going crook at the umps after a free which allows the Broady boy Brett Spargo to run around and slot one!!!
Lions by 22 points
Swans are coming, 2 quick goals has it back to 10 points 10.14 to 10.4.
Lions by 5 points, musta been a thrilling last term, sounds like fans got their moneys worth. Leading stat getters Hooper and Colbert (Sey) 29 each, Looby 23 and Rachelle 21 for Swans.
Was the wind as difficult as the guys on the radio said - appeared both sides missed plenty of shots at goal, or was the pressure at a high level?
morphous
16 Sep 2007, 17:07
Lions by 5 points, musta been a thrilling last term, sounds like fans got their moneys worth. Leading stat getters Hooper and Colbert (Sey) 29 each, Looby 23 and Rachelle 21 for Swans.
Was the wind as difficult as the guys on the radio said - appeared both sides missed plenty of shots at goal, or was the pressure at a high level?
According to the radio the wind changed directions at half time. Also they said Saad had an injection into his hand before the game so that may be why he missed a few marks.
fat back pocket
16 Sep 2007, 19:24
According to the radio the wind changed directions at half time. Also they said Saad had an injection into his hand before the game so that may be why he missed a few marks.
Don't worry about the hand...no eating or drinking during the day is the key worry...
Footy08
16 Sep 2007, 19:46
Don't worry about the hand...no eating or drinking during the day is the key worry...
Yer fasting for 3 days before a game probably wouldnt set you up for the best game!
Grandale
16 Sep 2007, 21:22
Yeah, wind was very difficult. Probably about a 3 goal job which blew most of the day to the city end until half time in the seniors when it decided to change direction.
Penn, Hooper and Colbert would have been my best 3 Lions.
Wasn't paying as close attention to the Swans, but Looby gave Saad absolutely nothing and Rachelle threatened to win the game for them in the last quarter.
Trent Hotton won tonights Morrison Medal on 18 votes, Dohnt (Ech) and Storer (Mans) runners-up on 17. Seymour's Paul Scanlon led the voting with 21 but was suspended thru the season. Listened on the radio, top braodcast and the victory speech was pretty funny. Not a bad way to retire.
Up the road, four former GVFL filled the top 4 spots in the Murray FL medal - Matty Byers winning from Linc Wellington, Michael Stevens, Andrew Reid.
S Wrench
16 Sep 2007, 22:45
Trent Hotton won tonights Morrison Medal on 18 votes, Dohnt (Ech) and Storer (Mans) runners-up on 17. Seymour's Paul Scanlon led the voting with 21 but was suspended thru the season. Listened on the radio, top braodcast and the victory speech was pretty funny. Not a bad way to retire.
Up the road, four former GVFL filled the top 4 spots in the Murray FL medal - Matty Byers winning from Linc Wellington, Michael Stevens, Andrew Reid.
any idea who won the seconds league medal?
Alley cat
16 Sep 2007, 23:07
The wind blew to the benalla (east) side of the the ground for the best part of three quarters, swans had a massive advantage with kicking with the the wind for most of the game but fell short. As usual Saad was scragged and manhandled. :thumbsd:
thegame
17 Sep 2007, 09:50
Josh Wilson would have to be one of the most over rated recruits that the swans have picked up over the last ten years?? Yet if you ask him he will tell you he is one of the best ruckman to play the game!! anyone else agree???
Whats the height and weight of Joshua Wilson???
wizza_2
17 Sep 2007, 10:55
Cheers to that.
Rochy 2s, wooden spoon to first team into the granny. Crazy.
Any reports from this game saw a couple of players went off??
Also any injuries?
If any of you fellas read the KDFL thread then you would have noticed a little while ago there was a lot of discussion on Perry Meka - mostly negative comments about the big man...Well apparently he was at it again yesterday at the Swannies-Lions game at deakin. Wasn't at the game but heard there was quite a big scuffle after the game with Meka being provoked and retaliating.
Can anyone shed more light as to what happend?
If any of you fellas read the KDFL thread then you would have noticed a little while ago there was a lot of discussion on Perry Meka - mostly negative comments about the big man...Well apparently he was at it again yesterday at the Swannies-Lions game at deakin. Wasn't at the game but heard there was quite a big scuffle after the game with Meka being provoked and retaliating.
Perry was trying to have sex with a goat, the scuffle broke out when one his followers wouldn't act the goat.:eek::thumbsu:
uwishuwereme
17 Sep 2007, 11:45
Whats the height and weight of Joshua Wilson???
He's about 6'5 and about 110kg. very muscly but not very fit.
He is very athletic tho. but only started playing footy at 18.
Will get better as he gets older!
Is also very hard to match up on
The wind blew to the benalla (east) side of the the ground for the best part of three quarters, swans had a massive advantage with kicking with the the wind for most of the game but fell short. As usual Saad was scragged and manhandled. :thumbsd:
well there's not many excuses in that post.
How can you say Saad was scragged and manhandled all day, and the other guy that said he may have had an injection in his hand and thats why he dropped his marks,
Could it possibly be that he was just beaten ya stupid cok rider
morphous
17 Sep 2007, 12:24
well there's not many excuses in that post.
How can you say Saad was scragged and manhandled all day, and the other guy that said he may have had an injection in his hand and thats why he dropped his marks,
Could it possibly be that he was just beaten ya stupid cok rider
Judging by the radio comms there were a few marks that he dropped where normally he would have swallowed them but yes it did sound like Looby owned him yesterday.
A couple of guys at work this morning said there was some verbal stuff going on between Perry and some other chap after the game, but didn't mention a scuffle.
Grandale
17 Sep 2007, 13:32
Judging by the radio comms there were a few marks that he dropped where normally he would have swallowed them but yes it did sound like Looby owned him yesterday.
That's exactly the way it was Morph.
Looby didn't give him an inch but on the odd occasion Saad did get away he just didn't seem to be too crisp with his hands. Whether that was because of his injury or that he was expecting to be clobbered because he had been played so closely all day who knows.
The Lions should actually be ecstatic they won yesterday with the main man not having much of an influence.
nickydal26
17 Sep 2007, 15:03
who won the 3rds B n F?
thegame
17 Sep 2007, 15:03
He's about 6'5 and about 110kg. very muscly but not very fit.
He is very athletic tho. but only started playing footy at 18.
Will get better as he gets older!
Is also very hard to match up on
How old is Wilson?
Is he the biggest in the league?
Wasn't Shep suppose to get a young ruckman from Darwin that was rated higher than Wilson?
morphous
17 Sep 2007, 15:18
How old is Wilson?
Is he the biggest in the league?
Wasn't Shep suppose to get a young ruckman from Darwin that was rated higher than Wilson?
Wilson came from the NT comp.
FOOTYBOSS
17 Sep 2007, 15:22
who won the 3rds B n F?
It was a tie between Daivd ferrier of Echuca and Alec Young of Kyabram.
Could someone post the team of the year
centreman
17 Sep 2007, 19:03
B: Colin Durie (Ech), Lochlan Veale (Swans), Michael Hare (Swans)
HB: Dylan Butler (Ech), Tim Looby (Swans), Matthew O'Keefe (Sey)
C: Matt Storer (Mans), Paul Scanlon (Sey), Ashley Watson (Roch)
HF:Lucas White (Swans), Matt Forys (Utd), Duane Hueston (Utd)
F: Steve Cox (Moor), Saad Saad (Sey), Jason Rachele (Swans)
Foll: Trent Hotton (Mans), Michael Barlow (Utd), Brendan Liddell (Sey)
Inter: Adrian Dohnt (Ech), Marc Harrap (Shepp), Simon Ryan (Swans)
Coach: Peter White (Swans)
Captain: Trent Hotton
centreman
17 Sep 2007, 19:04
Wilson came from the NT comp.
You might be talking about Justin Sutherland at United, who was last year rated by an ABC commentator during the grand final coverage as "the best bigman in the competition".
I'm not sure if they were in Darwin at the same time though.
footy luver
17 Sep 2007, 20:35
Yeah, wind was very difficult. Probably about a 3 goal job which blew most of the day to the city end until half time in the seniors when it decided to change direction.
Penn, Hooper and Colbert would have been my best 3 Lions.
Wasn't paying as close attention to the Swans, but Looby gave Saad absolutely nothing and Rachelle threatened to win the game for them in the last quarter.
they were my 3 best as well grandale you old fart.also throw in scanlon for his last half and king and okeefe for his first 3 quarters untill rachelle touched him up in the last 1/4.that heap of crap sutherland played ok.to bad he cant palm the ball.it would be hard to rove to him.seymour nearly cost themselves by playing to wide.they did not square it up enough through the middle.they will be hard to beat.
thegame
18 Sep 2007, 11:22
You might be talking about Justin Sutherland at United, who was last year rated by an ABC commentator during the grand final coverage as "the best bigman in the competition".
I'm not sure if they were in Darwin at the same time though.
No it wasn't Sutherland cause he was already at the Swans!
I think the young fella they are talking bout was at the same club as Wilson in Darwin!
Just received word that Matt Sharp came runner up in the league medal up in Cairns. Apparently was leading all night and got pipped by one in the last vote of the night.
Interesting to see if the the GV boys stay up there or head home. The standard of footy is pretty good, and the facilities and grounds are excellent.
I think the young fella they are talking bout was at the same club as Wilson in Darwin!
Originally Posted by centreman http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=8808451#post8808451)
I'm not sure if they were in Darwin at the same time though
Read the posts a bit closer next time champ there is more then 1 Sutherland running around
uwishuwereme
18 Sep 2007, 14:52
Yeah the fella's name was Brad Stephenson. Played with Wilson. Only just turned 21. Same size as wilson although better footy brain.
He got a good job working with the government up there and stayed.
Plays for Wanderers in Darwin.
Will Lucas White play this week? Both teams are carrying in a few injuries.
I think the Swans will be too strong though
thegame
18 Sep 2007, 15:59
Yeah the fella's name was Brad Stephenson. Played with Wilson. Only just turned 21. Same size as wilson although better footy brain.
He got a good job working with the government up there and stayed.
Plays for Wanderers in Darwin.
Will Lucas White play this week? Both teams are carrying in a few injuries.
I think the Swans will be too strong though
Thanks for that mate!
Would it be worth it for other GVFL clubs to true and lure him down?
....all hail the great man Peter White! As I have stated before, easily the most prepared, thorough, knowledgeable, tactical and aggressive (when required) coach I have played for.
Yes the detractors will say the Swans have great talent which makes it easier but the man can seriously coach. Footy aside..a funny man to share a few cans of loud mouth soup with. Well done Choppa...great work mate.
Morphous, React! is heading up the Hume this weekend...going to sound out your brother for an intro and then help cheer the swans over the line.
morphous
18 Sep 2007, 19:36
....all hail the great man Peter White! As I have stated before, easily the most prepared, thorough, knowledgeable, tactical and aggressive (when required) coach I have played for.
Yes the detractors will say the Swans have great talent which makes it easier but the man can seriously coach. Footy aside..a funny man to share a few cans of loud mouth soup with. Well done Choppa...great work mate.
Morphous, React! is heading up the Hume this weekend...going to sound out your brother for an intro and then help cheer the swans over the line.
I'll hopefully join you for a few in a weeks time if all goes to plan.
Manbearpig
19 Sep 2007, 08:13
From today's SheppNews:
Keeping things under control
Teo Pellizzeri puts the hard questions to bigfooty.com administrator "Fred" over the Internet.
TP: Why might people be willing to share the information they do under private aliases on the Internet when they'd keep it hush-hush in person?
Fred: Probably because if they get it wrong using an Internet alias there's no real embarrassment whereas if you're talking to friends they'll remember.
The Internet is an impersonal way of communicating with others and many people are quite different on the net compared to real life.
TP: What sort of control does Bigfooty have when it gets personal, especially in a district footy thread?
Fred: Even at a district level it's hard for the moderators to know the truth of what's said.
Apart from what the moderators see, we rely on other posters pointing out things that are untrue or could be hurtful to a person or club. Posters that make a habit of breaking the rules are suspended or banned.
TP: Why do you think Bigfooty is proving such a popular means of communication for Goulburn Valley league fans compared to some of the other leagues?
Fred: The GVFL is a major league that has a large following and naturally attracts many posters.
Bigfooty, being the largest forum for AFL with a strong regional footy focus, attracts the most numbers.
TP: What in your opinion is the biggest AFL story ever to have been broken/leaked on Bigfooty?
Fred: The biggest story to have broken on Bigfooty was a few years ago when we had the All-Australian team posted a week before it was announced. It certainly attracted the attention of the AFL.
TP: Does it annoy you to see columnists/journalists take material that has been posted off Bigfooty without attribution?
Fred: It's a compliment really. There are some mainstream footy journalists that are registered members, while others are just readers. There have been cases where deliberate `red herrings' have been posted and it's made the papers.
Manbearpig
19 Sep 2007, 08:23
Surely an expose on bigfooty in the Shepp News coming the week after some severe bagging of Rob Harris is just a coincidence?
roman sandal
19 Sep 2007, 08:34
By Teo Pellizzeri
They don't have swords or shields, ride valiant steeds or sail the seven seas.
But it does not mean they are not warriors, the keyboard warriors of Bigfooty.com
An Australian Rules discussion website for all levels of the game, Bigfooty has a vast array of opinions about the national game.
Having started in 2002, Bigfooty is no secret to the football population of the Goulburn Valley; this year's Goulburn Valley league thread has more than 10 500 posts and 520 000 views, while the Kyabram league thread is at 5500 posts and more than 240 000 views.
But popularity does not guarantee quality; whether it's the Goulburn Valley, suburban or even AFL.
Bigfooty is a world where Carlton and Essendon are equal second on the all-time AFL premiership list, their 16 VFL/AFL premierships a meagre tally in comparison to Port Adelaide's muscular 35 SANFL/AFL flags.
Power fans on Bigfooty will proudly boast "35 flags - we exist to win premierships" prompting West Coast fan "Son of Reep" to attribute all WAFL flags before 1987 to the Eagles and reply with; "West Coast Eagles, 113 AFL/WAFL flags - we exist to make spurious claims about premierships."
It sounds stupid doesn't it, but it's the sort of argument that flies on Bigfooty and quite simply, is rarely resolved as new waves of users register and reignite old debates.
Bigfooty's credibility as a news source is also suspect at best given users generally have free rein to rumourmonger and speculate as much as they like, provided it doesn't overstep any existing court injunctions.
But there can be no doubt that the luminaries of the AFL print and digital media read Bigfooty and pick and choose ideas presented on the boards to end up in stories of their own.
On July 30 user "The Royal Sampler" started a new thread presenting an idea to eliminate tanking from the AFL; by August 7 the Herald Sun's Mark Stevens had regurgitated the same theory - but maybe great minds think alike . . . or Stevens posts as "The Royal Sampler".
While previously regarded as the home of competitive urinary pursuits, this year has shown that Bigfooty's credibility as a source of AFL scoops and ideas is becoming more recognised.
However, in district footy the respect for a Bigfooty scoop has always been there, provided you know enough player nicknames to identify who is being talked about.
Earlier this year the Goulburn Valley Fotoball League requested certain posts on Bigfooty of an offensive and personal nature be removed by administrators - the request was obliged, but it doesn't mean banter has been totally cut out of the discussion.
"I don't know why supporters use Bigfooty, I just think it shows their passion for Goulburn Valley football," league general manager Eric Bott said.
"I don't have an account, I never will," he said.
WHAT THEY ARE SAYING
An Ardmona fan gives his impressions on a KDFL match:
Originally posted by Naasdik
he wudda bin beta ifs he got out of the sqair a bite moor and if joey masters is our bist playa then we in troble nixt weak ang gibbo wuda bin stanhpes best playa givan four goals away threes good but
A Tigers fan hits out at Hawthorn:
Originally posted by Smash `N' Grab
Hawthorn supporters are a blight on bigfooty. Insecure trolls with not much to do.
A ropeable Goulburn Valley Football League follower on how The News covered David Williams' exit from Rochester:
Originally posted by ManBearPig
Why should anyone care about how David Williams deals with Rob fricken Harris?
Like he's the king of the GV or something.
He needs to get over himself. If he was any good at his job, he would have lasted longer in his forray into the big smoke.
David Williams is somebody in the GV, Rob Harris wants to be.
A poster hits out at being repeatedly reported to moderators in the Goulburn Valley under-18s thread:
Originally posted by nintedoboy#23
cheers to whoeva keeps putting in complaints against me. i'm just going to make a new one if this one gets deleted. guessing it's one of the little ky girls.
roman sandal
19 Sep 2007, 08:37
Surely an expose on bigfooty in the Shepp News coming the week after some severe bagging of Rob Harris is just a coincidence?
At least you got your name in the paper MBP
Manbearpig
19 Sep 2007, 08:39
At least you got your name in the paper MBP
Aww shucks.
Surprised they put that one in. Not really glowing of their man.
roman sandal
19 Sep 2007, 08:43
Aww shucks.
He must have a sense of humour
morphous
19 Sep 2007, 09:52
Aww shucks.
I'm jealous:(
From today's SheppNews:
Keeping things under control
Teo Pellizzeri puts the hard questions to bigfooty.com administrator "Fred" over the Internet.
TP: Why might people be willing to share the information they do under private aliases on the Internet when they'd keep it hush-hush in person?
Fred: Probably because if they get it wrong using an Internet alias there's no real embarrassment whereas if you're talking to friends they'll remember.
The Internet is an impersonal way of communicating with others and many people are quite different on the net compared to real life.
TP: What sort of control does Bigfooty have when it gets personal, especially in a district footy thread?
Fred: Even at a district level it's hard for the moderators to know the truth of what's said.
Apart from what the moderators see, we rely on other posters pointing out things that are untrue or could be hurtful to a person or club. Posters that make a habit of breaking the rules are suspended or banned.
TP: Why do you think Bigfooty is proving such a popular means of communication for Goulburn Valley league fans compared to some of the other leagues?
Fred: The GVFL is a major league that has a large following and naturally attracts many posters.
Bigfooty, being the largest forum for AFL with a strong regional footy focus, attracts the most numbers.
TP: What in your opinion is the biggest AFL story ever to have been broken/leaked on Bigfooty?
Fred: The biggest story to have broken on Bigfooty was a few years ago when we had the All-Australian team posted a week before it was announced. It certainly attracted the attention of the AFL.
TP: Does it annoy you to see columnists/journalists take material that has been posted off Bigfooty without attribution?
Fred: It's a compliment really. There are some mainstream footy journalists that are registered members, while others are just readers. There have been cases where deliberate `red herrings' have been posted and it's made the papers.
By Teo Pellizzeri
They don't have swords or shields, ride valiant steeds or sail the seven seas.
But it does not mean they are not warriors, the keyboard warriors of Bigfooty.com
An Australian Rules discussion website for all levels of the game, Bigfooty has a vast array of opinions about the national game.
Having started in 2002, Bigfooty is no secret to the football population of the Goulburn Valley; this year's Goulburn Valley league thread has more than 10 500 posts and 520 000 views, while the Kyabram league thread is at 5500 posts and more than 240 000 views.
But popularity does not guarantee quality; whether it's the Goulburn Valley, suburban or even AFL.
Bigfooty is a world where Carlton and Essendon are equal second on the all-time AFL premiership list, their 16 VFL/AFL premierships a meagre tally in comparison to Port Adelaide's muscular 35 SANFL/AFL flags.
Power fans on Bigfooty will proudly boast "35 flags - we exist to win premierships" prompting West Coast fan "Son of Reep" to attribute all WAFL flags before 1987 to the Eagles and reply with; "West Coast Eagles, 113 AFL/WAFL flags - we exist to make spurious claims about premierships."
It sounds stupid doesn't it, but it's the sort of argument that flies on Bigfooty and quite simply, is rarely resolved as new waves of users register and reignite old debates.
Bigfooty's credibility as a news source is also suspect at best given users generally have free rein to rumourmonger and speculate as much as they like, provided it doesn't overstep any existing court injunctions.
But there can be no doubt that the luminaries of the AFL print and digital media read Bigfooty and pick and choose ideas presented on the boards to end up in stories of their own.
On July 30 user "The Royal Sampler" started a new thread presenting an idea to eliminate tanking from the AFL; by August 7 the Herald Sun's Mark Stevens had regurgitated the same theory - but maybe great minds think alike . . . or Stevens posts as "The Royal Sampler".
While previously regarded as the home of competitive urinary pursuits, this year has shown that Bigfooty's credibility as a source of AFL scoops and ideas is becoming more recognised.
However, in district footy the respect for a Bigfooty scoop has always been there, provided you know enough player nicknames to identify who is being talked about.
Earlier this year the Goulburn Valley Fotoball League requested certain posts on Bigfooty of an offensive and personal nature be removed by administrators - the request was obliged, but it doesn't mean banter has been totally cut out of the discussion.
"I don't know why supporters use Bigfooty, I just think it shows their passion for Goulburn Valley football," league general manager Eric Bott said.
"I don't have an account, I never will," he said.
WHAT THEY ARE SAYING
An Ardmona fan gives his impressions on a KDFL match:
Originally posted by Naasdik
he wudda bin beta ifs he got out of the sqair a bite moor and if joey masters is our bist playa then we in troble nixt weak ang gibbo wuda bin stanhpes best playa givan four goals away threes good but
A Tigers fan hits out at Hawthorn:
Originally posted by Smash `N' Grab
Hawthorn supporters are a blight on bigfooty. Insecure trolls with not much to do.
A ropeable Goulburn Valley Football League follower on how The News covered David Williams' exit from Rochester:
Originally posted by ManBearPig
Why should anyone care about how David Williams deals with Rob fricken Harris?
Like he's the king of the GV or something.
He needs to get over himself. If he was any good at his job, he would have lasted longer in his forray into the big smoke.
David Williams is somebody in the GV, Rob Harris wants to be.
A poster hits out at being repeatedly reported to moderators in the Goulburn Valley under-18s thread:
Originally posted by nintedoboy#23
cheers to whoeva keeps putting in complaints against me. i'm just going to make a new one if this one gets deleted. guessing it's one of the little ky girls.
Is this for real or is someone taking the pi$$??? Why not get into the nuts and bolts of the KDFL and GV finals, maybe give Colbinabbin some wider coverage, whats the point in these articles???
We all know some journo's use this to source stuff, I myself have had info/rumours published etc in the past - but does Big Footy really warrant this kind of exposure. :confused:
The Chad
19 Sep 2007, 11:04
only so many stories you can run about the footy finals - it is a wednesday for starters and if you look at the pd grand final last week the shepp news ran i think 6 or 7 articles previewing the game on the thursday and friday
bradrowe#32
19 Sep 2007, 11:17
Is this for real or is someone taking the pi$$??? Why not get into the nuts and bolts of the KDFL and GV finals, maybe give Colbinabbin some wider coverage, whats the point in these articles???
We all know some journo's use this to source stuff, I myself have had info/rumours published etc in the past - but does Big Footy really warrant this kind of exposure. :confused:
I can't find it on their websitem, so perhaps someone is extracting the urine.
Pretty funny, nevertheless.
Manbearpig
19 Sep 2007, 11:23
I can't find it on their websitem, so perhaps someone is extracting the urine.
Pretty funny, nevertheless.
http://www.sheppnews.com.au/article.aspx?id=978658
I used to be critical of the country journo's for using our mail from these pages, then when ya read stuff that appears in metro papers as well it seems it's a common practice and must save truckloads on phone bills and fuel to sit at ya desk utilise these forums.
What substance or relevance does it carry when the Big Footy moderator in question thru the article simply goes as Fred . . . . . Fred who??? Coulda at least gave Fat Back Pocket some airtime, he's added more colour than anyone to this great thread, or reward Fottyboss' loyalty over a sustained period with a mention.
What's next, a daily column with Big Footy's best GVFL, KDFL, PDFL or MFL quotes from the day prior. . . . I'd kill to be back writing sport and don't pinch this idea :D
Hey guys any chance of a quote in tomorrow's Shepp News ;)
Manbearpig
19 Sep 2007, 11:38
My brother actually sent Rob Harris an email to show his displeasure over the articles about Dirty last week and he replied personally asking whether the letter was for publishing purposes or just for his own feedback.
I think taking criticism on the chin like that from the public is fairly respectable.
Doesn't mean what he wrote wasn't shit though.
My brother actually sent Rob Harris an email to show his displeasure over the articles about Dirty last week and he replied personally asking whether the letter was for publishing purposes or just for his own feedback.
I think taking criticism on the chin like that from the public is fairly respectable.
Doesn't mean what he wrote wasn't shit though.
That is good form :thumbsu:
I had a local guy ring me week after week one season wanting me to bag out the local club (Broadford). Being a small local paper that ran about 5,000 copies a week I encouraged him to submit his thoughts in writing and Id be pleased to air them but the one or two isolated incidents he continued to go on about weren't relevant.
When he didn't want to do that, he took it upon himself to go to the national media, which in turn gave the Broadford Football Club some terrible press, a bad perception and something that thru the efforts of people starting back with Ross Andrews 3 seasons ago has taken quite some time to recover from.
Even the weak one's can hide behind keyboards, or drop anonymous phone calls that can be quite damaging which is why I found it hard that today's article a tad strange from a respected publication.
Sure mention the alias side of it but why not mention someone like Stanhope premiership player and current Tongala coach Darryl Harrison who is well known thru these forums and someone that people can relate to instead of "Fred" or "Nintendoboy" etc. Coulda grabbed a great quote from Hank1, who like me has used the PM service to his advantage in the past as a sounding board for advice from fellow coaches, to communicate with scouts who may go catch games or training runs etc - not to use these pages for some of the rot that we have to filter thru at times.
bradrowe#32
19 Sep 2007, 13:26
I used to be critical of the country journo's for using our mail from these pages, then when ya read stuff that appears in metro papers as well it seems it's a common practice and must save truckloads on phone bills and fuel to sit at ya desk utilise these forums.
What substance or relevance does it carry when the Big Footy moderator in question thru the article simply goes as Fred . . . . . Fred who??? Coulda at least gave Fat Back Pocket some airtime, he's added more colour than anyone to this great thread, or reward Fottyboss' loyalty over a sustained period with a mention.
What's next, a daily column with Big Footy's best GVFL, KDFL, PDFL or MFL quotes from the day prior. . . . I'd kill to be back writing sport and don't pinch this idea :D
Hey guys any chance of a quote in tomorrow's Shepp News ;)
Fred is the creator/admin for this site, so I guess they figured they may as well go straight to the top.
It's interesting the article talk about Mark Stevens' article that was 'inspired' by a bigfooty poster. I'm pretty sure Stevens used to write with the Shepp News in the early 90s?
bradrowe#32
19 Sep 2007, 13:33
I had a local guy ring me week after week one season wanting me to bag out the local club (Broadford). Being a small local paper that ran about 5,000 copies a week I encouraged him to submit his thoughts in writing and Id be pleased to air them but the one or two isolated incidents he continued to go on about weren't relevant.
When he didn't want to do that, he took it upon himself to go to the national media, which in turn gave the Broadford Football Club some terrible press, a bad perception and something that thru the efforts of people starting back with Ross Andrews 3 seasons ago has taken quite some time to recover from.
Even the weak one's can hide behind keyboards, or drop anonymous phone calls that can be quite damaging which is why I found it hard that today's article a tad strange from a respected publication.
Sure mention the alias side of it but why not mention someone like Stanhope premiership player and current Tongala coach Darryl Harrison who is well known thru these forums and someone that people can relate to instead of "Fred" or "Nintendoboy" etc. Coulda grabbed a great quote from Hank1, who like me has used the PM service to his advantage in the past as a sounding board for advice from fellow coaches, to communicate with scouts who may go catch games or training runs etc - not to use these pages for some of the rot that we have to filter thru at times.
It's a very strange article, but no doubt its timing is due to the recent heat over the Dirty/Rob issue.
I think BF provides a great forum for GV people to chat about what's going on. For that aspect, it can only promote the GV.
Most of us have been on here for 3 years (since this thread started) and know who each other are. There is an element that can be sometimes savoury (I'm guilty of that), but it's mostly in pretty good spirit. I reckon when issues arise, it's invariably is a new poster that doesn't quite understand the culture on here that starts it.
Trottyboya
19 Sep 2007, 14:48
Just read through the article and to be honest if I got a Shepp News this morning not knowing about this website Id be confused as to what it all meant. Worst thing about your reference to Broadford Doon as you know, is that the guy in question actually bragged about the attention he drew on the joint.
Duff Man
19 Sep 2007, 15:36
Just received word that Matt Sharp came runner up in the league medal up in Cairns. Apparently was leading all night and got pipped by one in the last vote of the night.
Interesting to see if the the GV boys stay up there or head home. The standard of footy is pretty good, and the facilities and grounds are excellent.
Thats great stuff from sharpy , and I have heard a few players will be heading up that way next year also. :thumbsu:
S Wrench
19 Sep 2007, 19:31
It's a very strange article, but no doubt its timing is due to the recent heat over the Dirty/Rob issue.
I think BF provides a great forum for GV people to chat about what's going on. For that aspect, it can only promote the GV.
Most of us have been on here for 3 years (since this thread started) and know who each other are. There is an element that can be sometimes savoury (I'm guilty of that), but it's mostly in pretty good spirit. I reckon when issues arise, it's invariably is a new poster that doesn't quite understand the culture on here that starts it.
ha yeah your right about that one rowey...what ever happended to kurt11? he was a spirited young fellow who is sorely missed!
bradrowe#32
19 Sep 2007, 20:29
ha yeah your right about that one rowey...what ever happended to kurt11? he was a spirited young fellow who is sorely missed!
Yeah that kid had all sorts of problems.:D
roman sandal
19 Sep 2007, 21:09
How did Peter White get coach of the year anyway? Brought in the forign legion and is an experienced campaigner and two first-year untried coaches finish one and two. What a joke I reckon.
its game on
19 Sep 2007, 21:14
He was about as popular as a fart in a crowded elevator.
uwishuwereme
20 Sep 2007, 09:09
How did Peter White get coach of the year anyway? Brought in the forign legion and is an experienced campaigner and two first-year untried coaches finish one and two. What a joke I reckon.
It should be the premiership coach that is name coach of the year. Considering that they have probably name the right coach anyway!
Although i do agree with you regarding the first year coaches.
But i would still rate White as the best coach going around our league this year!
You probably wouldn't be happy with the number of swans that featured in the team either??
Fred is the creator/admin for this site, so I guess they figured they may as well go straight to the top.
It's interesting the article talk about Mark Stevens' article that was 'inspired' by a bigfooty poster. I'm pretty sure Stevens used to write with the Shepp News in the early 90s?
Actually still have several articles written by the man from the 90 season.:thumbsu:
Who do u guys reckon deserves coach of the year? I think I'll go for Brad Hazleman - done exceptionally well for a 1st year coach followed closely by Bernie Haberman - He's done pretty well to get Seymour to the grand final again especially after losing so many players from last years side. Special mention to Peter Tossol and Mansfield for going as far as they did.
FOOTYBOSS
20 Sep 2007, 12:00
[QUOTE=Doona2;8833314]
QUOTE]
I dont think they would repeat many of my posts in a paper Doona, some have been contained some very bad language. But thanks for the mention.
Have you started recruiting for next year yet?
Duff Man
20 Sep 2007, 12:01
Who do u guys reckon deserves coach of the year? I think I'll go for Brad Hazleman - done exceptionally well for a 1st year coach followed closely by Bernie Haberman - He's done pretty well to get Seymour to the grand final again especially after losing so many players from last years side. Special mention to Peter Tossol and Mansfield for going as far as they did.
It is great to see first year coaches do really well in there first year and not being bagged , and Im looking forward to watching Peter White and the Swans in the next couple of weeks , with a list like the Swans and the coach of the year steering the ship they should win the big one . If they dont is he still coach of the year ??????
Wear The Fox Hat
20 Sep 2007, 12:09
It is great to see first year coaches do really well in there first year and not being bagged , and Im looking forward to watching Peter White and the Swans in the next couple of weeks , with a list like the Swans and the coach of the year steering the ship they should win the big one . If they dont is he still coach of the year ??????
Great Point , if he doesnt win it a first year coach will . What makes Peter White better than Brad Hazelman or Bernie Haberman .:thumbsu:
Juddy Blue Blue
20 Sep 2007, 12:11
how bout those rochy two's hey
does Big Footy really warrant this kind of exposure. :confused:
You KNOW it does! :D
Torp from 60
20 Sep 2007, 13:21
Tips for this weekend
Seniors:
SHEPP SWANS v United (Swans were good last week and deserve another crack at Seymour.
Reserves:
ECHUCA v Seymour (Murray Bombers to set up a cracking grand final next week vs Rochester)
Thrids:
ECHUCA v Shepparton (Echuca were stiff last week and will bounce back this week)
What do we all think?
Agree with all those selections.
Demons4ever
20 Sep 2007, 14:16
No doubt White is a top coach and why shouldn't he be with the great list at his disposal. Both the Swans list and the Lions have good depth. Hazelman has done a top job with a very basic list that played a lot of kids and no depth in twos. I think Tossol did a great job with what he had and would get my vote ahead of Hazelman.
I doubt if the Swans have depth, where did their twos finish this year?
morphous
20 Sep 2007, 15:28
I doubt if the Swans have depth, where did their twos finish this year?
7th. Missed out on the finals by percentage.
bradrowe#32
20 Sep 2007, 15:36
Tips for this weekend
Seniors:
SHEPP SWANS v United (Swans were good last week and deserve another crack at Seymour.
Reserves:
ECHUCA v Seymour (Murray Bombers to set up a cracking grand final next week vs Rochester)
Thrids:
ECHUCA v Shepparton (Echuca were stiff last week and will bounce back this week)
What do we all think?
I would agree with all of that. Here's hoping that Echuca 2nds have about 12 injuries and/or suspensions!
cellar dweller
20 Sep 2007, 16:11
It should be the premiership coach that is name coach of the year. Considering that they have probably name the right coach anyway!
Although i do agree with you regarding the first year coaches.
But i would still rate White as the best coach going around our league this year!
You probably wouldn't be happy with the number of swans that featured in the team either??
Tuff call to name a coach of the year.
Who decides the coach of the year?
If you win the premiership probably you may have the team of the year and maybe not the coach of the year.
I think the best way to come up with a coach of the year would be have the coaches vote for it.
Lots of variables when concidering how a coach has coached including the team inherited. Success of a club has as much or more to do with the work of the committee.
IMO the coach of the year is the coach who got the most out of their playing group, but stuffed if i know how you are going to come up with a result.
It's a very simplistic argument you make when saying that it is all about depth. You don't just send good players out to do their own thing and hope they win, particularly if some are new to the team structure. If that was the case you wouldn't appoint any coach at all! What about strategies, preparation, uniting a team, forward structures, set plays etc? I don't know the other coaches but as I said the other day, i know Peter leaves nothing in the tank and I think you will find he meets all the expectations and accountabilities of a great coach.
roman sandal
20 Sep 2007, 20:34
It's a very simplistic argument you make when saying that it is all about depth. You don't just send good players out to do their own thing and hope they win, particularly if some are new to the team structure. If that was the case you wouldn't appoint any coach at all! What about strategies, preparation, uniting a team, forward structures, set plays etc? I don't know the other coaches but as I said the other day, i know Peter leaves nothing in the tank and I think you will find he meets all the expectations and accountabilities of a great coach.
No doubt. But what has he done better than Haberman or Hazelman. They have both done a better job than him this year I would think
gday guys dont really follow the gvfl, but wondering where the finals matches are for this week cheers:thumbsu:
GG Rides Again
20 Sep 2007, 21:52
No doubt. But what has he done better than Haberman or Hazelman. They have both done a better job than him this year I would think
Coach of the year - David Moon Rochester reserves coach - Wooden spooner last year to favourite for the grand final.
centreman
20 Sep 2007, 22:08
Coach of the year - David Moon Rochester reserves coach - Wooden spooner last year to favourite for the grand final.
You make a very good point
uwishuwereme
21 Sep 2007, 09:18
Yeah agree with you there!
uwishuwereme
21 Sep 2007, 09:25
Hazleman infront of Haberman.
Haberman only make the final decisions of what i have seen. I'd say Seymour has the best coaches of the League. Haberman has the best blokes on the sideline and rearly has to make a decision.
Does he live in Melb too?
Hazleman with the group he's had this year has done very well and will only get better with more experience.
In the next 2 weeks we will see who the best coach is! All the sides are very similar, it will be the coaching decisions that will be the difference.
Sorry for the essay:)
zero2hero
21 Sep 2007, 10:44
Tips for this weekend
Seniors:
Reserves:
Thrids:
What do we all think?
I've got no problems with those selections although i hope the lions get up in the ressies'. However i do take umbridge at the suggestion that the young Murray Bombers were, as you say, stiff. In what was a bloody good game of GV thirds footy Echuca seemed to have the game in their keeping being 5 goals up early in the last qtr and they thought they had done enough and seemed to stop running; To the the lions credit they started to run again at that point and got over the line, just my opinion Torp on what i saw so lets hope the can square off again in the big one next week. :thumbsu:
Manbearpig
21 Sep 2007, 10:49
I've got no problems with those selections although i hope the lions get up in the ressies'. However i do take umbridge at the suggestion that the young Murray Bombers were, as you say, stiff. In what was a bloody good game of GV thirds footy Echuca seemed to have the game in their keeping being 5 goals up early in the last qtr and they thought they had done enough and seemed to stop running; To the the lions credit they started to run again at that point and got over the line, just my opinion Torp on what i saw so lets hope the can square off again in the big one next week. :thumbsu:
Have to get over the young Bears first... Last time they played was a draw, so should be a ripper this week. Bears did well to knock off a fancied Tat team last week.
zero2hero
21 Sep 2007, 10:57
Have to get over the young Bears first... Last time they played was a draw, so should be a ripper this week. Bears did well to knock off a fancied Tat team last week.
Yeh look spot on MBP, those young shepp.bears boys seem to thrive on the September action and always seem to be right up there.
Sippawitz
21 Sep 2007, 15:44
Murray league BigFooty has rumours of Saad Saad coaching Moama. Any credence to this, or just the usual rumour mill stuff doing the rounds at this time of year?
nickydal26
21 Sep 2007, 22:47
does anyone know where the overall standings for the B n f for the league can be found
bradrowe#32
21 Sep 2007, 23:10
does anyone know where the overall standings for the B n f for the league can be found
Go to this website horse: http://www.gvfl.com.au/default.asp?ID=141
Grandale
21 Sep 2007, 23:14
Well what the flaming heck was he doing last year!!!!
Grandale
21 Sep 2007, 23:16
Absolutely. Echuca looked to have the Lions' measure countless times last week but they just couldn't put them away.
No side that manages to lose after leading by 27 points a few minutes into the last quarter can seriously consider itself "stiff"
bradrowe#32
21 Sep 2007, 23:43
Well what the flaming heck was he doing last year!!!!
Not coaching. He took a couple of thirds teams to the finals a few years back. GV life member and all round nice fella.
HawkeEye
22 Sep 2007, 05:10
Hey Boss, hope the drinking session hasnt killed you
Any news on who the new coach will be at the land of meat pies.
Heard a few players may be back from overseas duties.
Any new players the boys are attracting.
Should be an exciting game this weekend and next, good luck to all teams.
Murray league BigFooty has rumours of Saad Saad coaching Moama. Any credence to this, or just the usual rumour mill stuff doing the rounds at this time of year?
EDFL bigfooty has him going to Greenvale so could be leaving but i doubt it