View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)
What's that Doon, someone wanted to ``take it behind the shelter shed'' did they? That's crazy. BTW Doona, TAC Cup commitments precluded me from going to Shepp today and I got to see one of your Broady mates in Richie Douglas play for the first time. He didn't have his greatest day but you can just tell the boy's got class.
Hard to believe hey? Mate I was just sick and tired off the way this was heading - let's hope we all just stick to the footy hey. The Maffra thing was hard to believe, Trav was gunna go watch said Maffra were sure things - funny thing finals footy. Richie will go top 20, forget today obviously, got a lot of poise and has the smarts like Chipper - did the Cannons win? Didn't see Simon get knocked so dunno what happened. I accidentally deleted your 2nd email last Tuesday so I wasn't being rude I dunno what it read.
Congrats by the way . . . . you're post number 1000!!!
Grandale
18 Sep 2005, 20:48
I've raised the bat (first time in a while). So proud to be the 1000th post. A career highlight.
Simon's year has been ruined by injury. He could hardly run in the games he played late in the season. Might have just been a reoccurence of the problems he's had all year.
Cannons got pumped. 43 points was the final margin. They were never in the hunt. Dandy looked mighty strong. Saw both games and of the winners Dandenong were much more impressive than Gippsland.
bradrowe#32
18 Sep 2005, 23:20
I listened to a bit of the game today. Apparently Saad got dragged early and didn't have much influence? I heard in the 3Q that Saad and Collins were getting a bit agro and Collins was given a spell on the bench.
Was there any injuries or reports?
fat back pocket
19 Sep 2005, 10:33
Was a little surprised by the interest in Big Footy whe I arrived at the GVFL prelim final today. Seems many filter thru these pages regularly and for some reason were expecting some kind a confrontation between myself and a fellow BF correspondant - crazy if you ask me. I fully respect the ideas and loyalties of the chap in question, and even agree with a lot of his postings. If he thinks Im a tool so be it, but all along I have been an interested GV follower keeping an eye of footy happenings, what has taken place in the past week or so is crap.
I can promise you one thing guys, all this nonsense has gotten way out of hand. Whoever it is creating havoc by going under unknown identities pull up - you are creating unecessary tension amongst club mates in your own camp, when all the focus should be on is how the Lions will get over Euroa next Sunday and cap off an amazing season.
No one thinks your a tool Doona, we all know the person in question here, lets just focus on the decider this week. Who ever wins will break a fairly lengthy drought, so there should be a fair bit of celebration, excitement and relief for the winning club this weekend. Should be a great game.
Euroa have earnt favouritism, with a full list and a weeks rest, they will be hard to beat.
Travvy43
19 Sep 2005, 10:40
I read in the shepp news this morning online that Joe Amad did not play on the weekend and is out for next week too. Is this true??
fat back pocket
19 Sep 2005, 10:44
Great game yesterday, Mansfield just had one of those days where things didn't work out for them. Word is Tranquilli did his string again on the Friday night and Mark Jones had the flu all week. So it was gutsy for him to play, but it was a big loss, as Hot Dogs was spent by the last quarter when they needed their champ to blossom.
Hotton got them back in it in the 3rd, with rebound after rebound from the centre into their forward line. Matt Storer got heaps of it, although at times was a little inaccurate with his disposal.
Anderson kept Monster to 2 goals, Trewhella kept Saad to 2, so that was a very good display by both full backs.
The 5 mins of Saad domination was sparked by a bit of a cheapy from a mansfield bloke, nothing in it, but it fired Collins and Saad up, Mansfield got 2 50m penalties and a goal for their effort. But then Saad took two semi-hanger marks (were good, but not hangers), and finished both of them off, one right on the 3/4 time siren to give the lions a lead that was too much in the end for Mansfield.
3 or 4 good grabs yesterday, if anyone was there, which do you think was the best? The mark from the mansfield player on the wing in the last was a ripper, Patty Rattray took a beauty in the 3rd as well, 3 back with his gangly arms all over the place. And saad had his two.
Jimmy Hopgood's grab got mark of the day honours on 98.5fm, Patty Rattray took some strong grabs, and Saad's 3 third term efforts were spectacular without reaching Saad expectations.
They gave Mensch's long goal the nod, personally I thought Rob Douglas' running goal was hard to top.
Cant wait for Sunday, gunna be an ripper old fashion grand final, with plenty being said thru these pages and a rivalry that goes back decades. Expect some fireworks and some great football as well.
fat back pocket
19 Sep 2005, 12:01
Jimmy Hopgood's grab got mark of the day honours on 98.5fm, Patty Rattray took some strong grabs, and Saad's 3 third term efforts were spectacular without reaching Saad expectations.
They gave Mensch's long goal the nod, personally I thought Rob Douglas' running goal was hard to top.
Cant wait for Sunday, gunna be an ripper old fashion grand final, with plenty being said thru these pages and a rivalry that goes back decades. Expect some fireworks and some great football as well.
It was hopgood was it. It was a ripper. Definitely the best mark of the day.
I agree with Robbie Douglas' goal, he isn't a proven goal kicker, but finished his hard running to perfection. Menschy's goal was also good. At a time where teams were going blow for blow.
FOOTYBOSS
19 Sep 2005, 14:23
Mate seconds will be out after the weekend anyway
still lasted longer than seymour seconds and not a bad effort for this team to lose a preliminary final considering they hadnt won a game for 2 years. To go down by 10pts is a fair effort. The main game is this week though and we will see what happens then..
Travvy43
19 Sep 2005, 14:39
As reported last week, did anyone see any clubs giving grand tours to prospective playeys of what the GVFL has to offer??
Grandale
19 Sep 2005, 15:20
I read in the shepp news this morning online that Joe Amad did not play on the weekend and is out for next week too. Is this true??
Yep, Amad didn't play yesterday and is no chance this week either.
Did a string in the 2nd semi.
still lasted longer than seymour seconds and not a bad effort for this team to lose a preliminary final considering they hadnt won a game for 2 years. To go down by 10pts is a fair effort. The main game is this week though and we will see what happens then..
Yeah not a bad effort . . . should never have placed Marshall into defence, lost a lot of drive out of that decision and the match. Magpies looked good when on the attack but as soon as the red headed one moved back some of that run and drive disappeared.
Well my tip at the start of the year for Mansfield to go back to back has gawn to sh it. Ill tip Euroa to get up next week by a few goals, and Shepp to win the 2s.
Is everyone heading up to the game on Sunday?? Ill be there with a good crew, should be a great spectacle, cant wait to see the crowd.
cheers
Kirbs would never go to Broadford, just as whisper as he is related to the wife of the bloke they're tipping will coach the Roos in 2006 (Skip Bray).
I know it's only rumours but this Kirby thing has gotten legs down Broady way. Spoke with his cousin today who confirmed the approach was made by the prospective Broadford coaching candidate.
Grandale
19 Sep 2005, 17:14
Tell us this Doona, how's the reaction in Broady re Big Bazza's indiscretion?
jmain14
19 Sep 2005, 17:20
Thanks mate. I'll also be telling my kids that I played a game with Robbie Miller too. It's been a great thread.
I'm feeling pretty dodgy at the moment, as I knocked off a slab with Girfdog last night!
ha ha. yeah I am feeling very second hand today too. massive one y'day / last night. speaking of girfdog - did you hear the news that stevey is going to be a father??
Tell us this Doona, how's the reaction in Broady re Big Bazza's indiscretion?
Be lying to say it's not a hot topic. Was at the game Friday night and saw Goose McGuire on the deck but still haven't seen footage. Can't see the Swannies winning without him, but the way the judiciary has performed this season I spose it's anyone's guess as to the outcome of this one.
bradrowe#32
19 Sep 2005, 17:51
ha ha. yeah I am feeling very second hand today too. massive one y'day / last night. speaking of girfdog - did you hear the news that stevey is going to be a father??
I may have heard a rumour.
who's girfdog?
Samtrish
19 Sep 2005, 19:03
Well my tip at the start of the year for Mansfield to go back to back has gawn to sh it. Ill tip Euroa to get up next week by a few goals, and Shepp to win the 2s.
Is everyone heading up to the game on Sunday?? Ill be there with a good crew, should be a great spectacle, cant wait to see the crowd.
cheers
Think you may be wrong with the 2nd's tige19 Benalla to get over the line in a thriller & Stevey Daniels boys to win with Saad Saad kicking a bag ready to set the game alight & to answer a few critic's
jmain14
20 Sep 2005, 10:29
who's girfdog?
ry rass.
fat back pocket
20 Sep 2005, 10:40
Think you may be wrong with the 2nd's tige19 Benalla to get over the line in a thriller & Stevey Daniels boys to win with Saad Saad kicking a bag ready to set the game alight & to answer a few critic's
Sam you have been correct on many occasions, and I reckon you could be right with the Senior game, but unfortunately the Bears will get up, and they will get up easy. Don't take too much notice of the game earlier in the year, or the first final, Shepp missed many stars due to them playing seniors.
They are expecting Drew Shadbolt back into the side who didn't play against Euroa, maybe even one or two others, Benalla will get beaten in the air, Shepp has many good marking options in Dudgeon, Shadbolt and Mason. Then there is Newman and Burgess. And a hard running midfield.
Expect Shepp to win by 30+ points.
Seymour won't carry injured into big one
By Mark Brown
September 20 2005
Shepparton News
Seymour will give its litany of injured stars until the 11th hour to prove their fitness in the lead up to Sunday's Goulburn Valley Football League Grand Final against Euroa.
Matt O'Keefe (shoulder), Matt Penn (shoulder), Mark Pilling (hamstring) and Joe Amad (hamstring) will have until match day morning to stake their claim for a berth in the Lions' final 21.
However, Seymour coach Steve Daniel expects only one to come up.
"Pilling is the best chance," Daniel said.
"He's probably 80 per cent. It's been three weeks since he did his hammy so he should be close."
Daniel rated the other three players a 50-50 chance at best to line-up against the Magpies.
Daniel said he would not run the risk of taking underdone players into a grand final.
"We won't go down that road," he said.
"There's a lot at stake and you can't afford to take an injured bloke in and have him last 15 minutes.
"It reflects badly on the player and it reflects badly on the coaching staff.
"If they can't get through all the fitness tests, they won't play."
Seymour will train in Melbourne tomorrow night before having a final session on Friday at Kings Park.
Daniel took the opportunity yesterday to fire the first psychological shot in what promises to be a ripper clash.
"All the pressure's on them isn't it?" he said.
"Everyone's expecting them to win in a close one, so we can just go out there and play.
"They've only lost one game for the year and how often do you see a side have a week off and then trip up in the grand final."
The Euroa-Seymour grand final will be played at Deakin Reserve on Sunday.
Grandale
20 Sep 2005, 11:13
Be lying to say it's not a hot topic. Was at the game Friday night and saw Goose McGuire on the deck but still haven't seen footage. Can't see the Swannies winning without him, but the way the judiciary has performed this season I spose it's anyone's guess as to the outcome of this one.
Doona, you mark my words, the big man will play. I guarantee it.
He only needs the tribunal to downgrade either reckless conduct to negligent or behind play to in-play and his demerit points will be below 100.
It's a certainty that they'll at least downgrade the behind play section as the Swans had the ball and Bazza will claim he trying to free himself of ``Eddie'' to make a lead, which surely has to be considered in play.
Don't worry, he'll be there and the Swans will cream `em.
fat back pocket
20 Sep 2005, 12:12
Doona, you mark my words, the big man will play. I guarantee it.
He only needs the tribunal to downgrade either reckless conduct to negligent or behind play to in-play and his demerit points will be below 100.
It's a certainty that they'll at least downgrade the behind play section as the Swans had the ball and Bazza will claim he trying to free himself of ``Eddie'' to make a lead, which surely has to be considered in play.
Don't worry, he'll be there and the Swans will cream `em.
If they down grade one of those, he would still have to plead guilty, is that correct? A down grade of one of those would take him to like 125 points, a guilty plea means 25% less, so its like 93 points = slap on the wrist.
Grandale
20 Sep 2005, 13:06
Yeah, and he will plead guilty. It's just like a jockey appealing the severity of a suspension.
93.75 will be his amended points reading, I think.
He'll play.
Travvy43
20 Sep 2005, 13:12
Backt to he GVL boys.
Tongala vote to leave the GVL has gone to clubs. Any inkling on which direction clubs will go with their votes. I guess the GVL have reccommended clubs vote for the blues to stay int he comp, but which way do you think clubs will vote.
fat back pocket
20 Sep 2005, 13:14
Yeah, and he will plead guilty. It's just like a jockey appealing the severity of a suspension.
93.75 will be his amended points reading, I think.
He'll play.
We all know you know every little thing about the good old horses.
fat back pocket
20 Sep 2005, 13:18
Backt to he GVL boys.
Tongala vote to leave the GVL has gone to clubs. Any inkling on which direction clubs will go with their votes. I guess the GVL have reccommended clubs vote for the blues to stay int he comp, but which way do you think clubs will vote.
Its a tough one for everyone, Tongala have been a dominant force in the netball, but the same can't be said in the footy unfortunately. Will be interesting to see what happens.
The Murray clubs have to vote as well don't they?
Travvy43
20 Sep 2005, 13:23
I theink the murray league clubs do have to vote, but i cannot see any holdups with that part of the process.
Hopefully for the blues sake the process does not drag out, coach required asap.
What are the odds of an old fashion donnybrook on the field this Sunday? Is there history between these two lots of bullant lads, do they all get along or was it one group to Seymour and the others to Euroa?
Grandale
20 Sep 2005, 14:01
Backt to he GVL boys.
Yeah, sorry Trav. It staggers me that it's gone to the clubs. Fair enough if it was regarding a club wanting to come into the league, but it makes no sense as Tonny want to leave.
Could not possibly see the GVL clubs stand in their way if leaving is what they want.
Grandale
20 Sep 2005, 14:04
What are the odds of an old fashion donnybrook on the field this Sunday? Is there history between these two lots of bullant lads, do they all get along or was it one group to Seymour and the others to Euroa?
Probably more chance of a blue in the crowd between FBP and some of the other Euroa boys that contribute to this forum.
I think Seymour's Melbourne recruits and Euroa's Melbourne recruits actually get along reasonably well. Haven't heard anything that would suggest they detest one another, anyway.
fat back pocket
20 Sep 2005, 14:21
Probably more chance of a blue in the crowd between FBP and some of the other Euroa boys that contribute to this forum.
I think Seymour's Melbourne recruits and Euroa's Melbourne recruits actually get along reasonably well. Haven't heard anything that would suggest they detest one another, anyway.
Yeah not sure about that Grandale. Not sure if Grainger and a few Seymour lads see eye to eye. And i think that is the same with Matt Collins and a couple of Euroa's melbourne boys.
Both teams will no doubt reallise how much their clubs need the flag, to break the drought, but to justify the $$ spent on bringing blokes from Melbourne up and into their club. So it will be a big day, with the weather expected to be perfect, there should be a bumper crowd on hand to see it all unfold.
With so much on the line for both clubs, I think you would expect a donnybrook or two, both clubs will no doubt hire the services of a doctor few the odd stitch or broken nose. Should be a rip snorta.
Grandale
20 Sep 2005, 15:01
Yeah, not surprised that you are more in the know than I, FBP, even though you're a Melbourne fella that has nothing more than a passing interest in the Lions.
Should just add more to the day then, hey.
Here's the question, no matter which side wins, where they gunna do their celebrating? Probably be more convenient for either side if they did it in melbourne's north.
fat back pocket
20 Sep 2005, 15:31
Yeah, not surprised that you are more in the know than I, FBP, even though you're a Melbourne fella that has nothing more than a passing interest in the Lions.
Should just add more to the day then, hey.
Here's the question, no matter which side wins, where they gunna do their celebrating? Probably be more convenient for either side if they did it in melbourne's north.
I see on Seymour's website that they have sunday planned at their club rooms. And you would suggest both teams would stay in the town until at least Tuesday. Support major sponsors - which is generally the local booza.
Both clubs will have to make the most of this opportunity if they win, as you never know what will happen after this. There could be another 15 year drought. The more they make of it, the less chance of such a long drought you would expect.
Are you going to be there Grandale - there is talk of a relative of yours to MC the after party. Well, i heard he is first on the list to be asked. Not confirmed yet.
Thats a tad disappointing, was hoping Saad and Collins would provide some entertainment once the game is done and dusted.
Grandale
20 Sep 2005, 16:27
Yes FBP, I'll be there with bells on. Wild horses couldn't keep me away.
And you might wanna hurry if you expect this apparent relative of mine to do some MC work. The granny's only five days away. Hate to be too organised.
FOOTYBOSS
20 Sep 2005, 16:51
Thats a tad disappointing, was hoping Saad and Collins would provide some entertainment once the game is done and dusted.
What sort of entertainment you talking about? Both havent done much against the euroa backline this year. I think saad has kicked 5 on 3 outings and collins 3 in 3 outings. collins did look restricted in his movements on sunday.
Grandale
20 Sep 2005, 17:07
What sort of entertainment you talking about? Both havent done much against the euroa backline this year. I think saad has kicked 5 on 3 outings and collins 3 in 3 outings. collins did look restricted in his movements on sunday.
Haha. Underestimate them at your own peril, Footyboss. Euroa folk would want to keep their finger crossed either of them doesn't pick this week to turn on it.
If they do it'll be curtains for the Maggies.
FOOTYBOSS
20 Sep 2005, 17:27
Seymour won't carry injured into big one
By Mark Brown
September 20 2005
Shepparton News
Seymour will give its litany of injured stars until the 11th hour to prove their fitness in the lead up to Sunday's Goulburn Valley Football League Grand Final against Euroa.
Matt O'Keefe (shoulder), Matt Penn (shoulder), Mark Pilling (hamstring) and Joe Amad (hamstring) will have until match day morning to stake their claim for a berth in the Lions' final 21.
However, Seymour coach Steve Daniel expects only one to come up.
"Pilling is the best chance," Daniel said.
"He's probably 80 per cent. It's been three weeks since he did his hammy so he should be close."
Daniel rated the other three players a 50-50 chance at best to line-up against the Magpies.
Daniel said he would not run the risk of taking underdone players into a grand final.
"We won't go down that road," he said.
"There's a lot at stake and you can't afford to take an injured bloke in and have him last 15 minutes.
"It reflects badly on the player and it reflects badly on the coaching staff.
"If they can't get through all the fitness tests, they won't play."
Seymour will train in Melbourne tomorrow night before having a final session on Friday at Kings Park.
Daniel took the opportunity yesterday to fire the first psychological shot in what promises to be a ripper clash.
"All the pressure's on them isn't it?" he said.
"Everyone's expecting them to win in a close one, so we can just go out there and play.
"They've only lost one game for the year and how often do you see a side have a week off and then trip up in the grand final."
The Euroa-Seymour grand final will be played at Deakin Reserve on Sunday.
Seymour not carrying injured blokes into the game this week. A bit of a contradiction on previuos finals games where players have been getting jabs to get through the games. Surely reid and collins are carrying injuries as well as both looked proppy on sunday at deakin. will be interesting. I believe they will carry a few into the game. Amad would be in doubt with a one week hammy wouldnt he?
Yep, Amad didn't play yesterday and is no chance this week either. Did a string in the 2nd semi.
There you go boss, the word from Grandale . . .
Grandale
20 Sep 2005, 17:59
There you go boss, the word from Grandale . . .
Yep, forget Amad and O'Keefe's the other one the Lions may very well be without.
ry rass.
is he having a child? Hows the girl, Gemma? He isnt married is he? Rowey reckon he would of let out a couple of nors after he found that one out.
Samtrish
20 Sep 2005, 20:43
FBP was it you that was seen shaking hands with Doona2 at deakin on Sunday or was my eyes deceiving me.
Also if Joffa can hold Grainger all game then this will definately have the cup back at Kings Park on sunday night. As I said before Saad Saad will perform on a big stage and with the minder Collins waiting in the wings if anything untowards is dealt out to Saad. A negative if they do not play are Penn & Joey I believe. Penn is so silky clean with is disposal into the forward line & Joey is like the General of the Centre but his able Lieutanent in Bernie H will take up the slack.
bradrowe#32
20 Sep 2005, 23:35
is he having a child? Hows the girl, Gemma? He isnt married is he? Rowey reckon he would of let out a couple of nors after he found that one out.
You going to the footy on sunday?
Nor!
fat back pocket
21 Sep 2005, 08:38
FBP was it you that was seen shaking hands with Doona2 at deakin on Sunday or was my eyes deceiving me.
Also if Joffa can hold Grainger all game then this will definately have the cup back at Kings Park on sunday night. As I said before Saad Saad will perform on a big stage and with the minder Collins waiting in the wings if anything untowards is dealt out to Saad. A negative if they do not play are Penn & Joey I believe. Penn is so silky clean with is disposal into the forward line & Joey is like the General of the Centre but his able Lieutanent in Bernie H will take up the slack.
Not quite, but, Doona is allowed to have his own opinion as I am. I have nothing against the young fella.
Just on Doona - who's corner are you going to be in on the weekend Doona?
I think Joffa has been below his best against grainger a couple of times this year. He had a good game last week. Grainger kicked 4 gimmy goals in the semi, wasn't a dominant display by any means. More lazy and lucky than anything, hardly left the goal square. Definitely an area Joffa could expose the Pie Loving full forward from Euroa.
Don't think Penn or Pilling will play, whilst Amad is already out. O'Keefe not sure.
Not quite, but, Doona is allowed to have his own opinion as I am. I have nothing against the young fella. Just on Doona - who's corner are you going to be in on the weekend Doona?
No handshake, FBP even suggested that Doona2 not be allowed within 100 yards of the Lions rooms. I'll definately be following Seymour, dont have any real interest at Euroa. For Seymour to win Grainger must he beld, and Haberman must stand up in the middle
ECHUCABOY
21 Sep 2005, 10:18
lets get some tips, what is the general feeling??
Toss of a coin stuff or is their a clear favourite?
jmain14
21 Sep 2005, 10:20
nah I think you may have got your wires crossed there wizzy. ryno isn't about to become a father nor is pumpa jess about to become an uncle. I don't think girf is still on with gemma is he rowey?? there will however be a little stevey rass running around in the not too distant future. carts will be an uncle he he.
Travvy43
21 Sep 2005, 10:36
Reading the shepp news this morning online and it seems that the GVFL have opted to not to install the player points system next year as an alternative to the useless salary cap system that was in place.
I dare say this would signal a sigh of releif for some clubs.
Grandale
21 Sep 2005, 10:42
If you were framing a market, Euroa would be $1.70 and Seymour $2.10.
They deserve to be for the simple fact they've won all three games against the Lions this year. Granted the most recent one was a classic that could have gone either way, but the Maggies won the previous two very comfortably.
That said, my allegiance to the Lions can't be broken and I'll be there cheering loudly for them as I was on that fateful September day in 1991.
Carna Lions!
Travvy43
21 Sep 2005, 10:50
and I'll be there cheering loudly for them as I was on that fateful September day in 1991.
when the beat the bleus, damn the lions, every time i walk into their rooms and see that flag hanging in their fooms it gives me a sick feeling.
good luck to them this week though. Even though he is an outside chance, i hope joey gets up, his hardness will be valuable in a grand final.
FOOTYBOSS
21 Sep 2005, 11:25
Not quite, but, Doona is allowed to have his own opinion as I am. I have nothing against the young fella.
Just on Doona - who's corner are you going to be in on the weekend Doona?
I think Joffa has been below his best against grainger a couple of times this year. He had a good game last week. Grainger kicked 4 gimmy goals in the semi, wasn't a dominant display by any means. More lazy and lucky than anything, hardly left the goal square. Definitely an area Joffa could expose the Pie Loving full forward from Euroa.
Don't think Penn or Pilling will play, whilst Amad is already out. O'Keefe not sure.
No need to leave the goal square when the big fella can thow him around like a rag doll and kick 4 ones. His not lazy just smart. Its not only him you have to stop up forward you have hyatt, bamford and smokey from the pack gibson.
Flat Track Bully
21 Sep 2005, 12:05
I know it's a grand final...but a 3-0 record in favour of the Maggies is hard to deny...
And no Joe Amad will be a huge loss for the Lions.
fat back pocket
21 Sep 2005, 12:45
No need to leave the goal square when the big fella can thow him around like a rag doll and kick 4 ones. His not lazy just smart. Its not only him you have to stop up forward you have hyatt, bamford and smokey from the pack gibson.
Has gibson played any of the finals, bit of a risk to play him if he's coming off a lengthy lay out.
Agreed with grainger, if he is good enough to sit there and kick 5, he is obviously a good player.
Must remember that not only do we have the excitment of a flag on the line, but we have two full forwards sitting on 96 goals each. Could have two blokes kick their hundreth in the same game. I bet you'd have to do a fair search for that to have ever happened, and in a grand final!!
Lets hope they both get there, but for the Lions sake, lets hope Grainger does it in junk time. And the mighty Lions are up by 25 points when he starts his four goals.
bradrowe#32
21 Sep 2005, 13:07
Euroa definately go in as slight favourites considering they finished on top; have defeated Seymour 3 times this year and have had a good rest over the finals.
SHould be a cracker of a game. Euroa by 3 goals for me.
FOOTYBOSS
21 Sep 2005, 13:27
Has gibson played any of the finals, bit of a risk to play him if he's coming off a lengthy lay out.
Agreed with grainger, if he is good enough to sit there and kick 5, he is obviously a good player.
Must remember that not only do we have the excitment of a flag on the line, but we have two full forwards sitting on 96 goals each. Could have two blokes kick their hundreth in the same game. I bet you'd have to do a fair search for that to have ever happened, and in a grand final!!
Lets hope they both get there, but for the Lions sake, lets hope Grainger does it in junk time. And the mighty Lions are up by 25 points when he starts his four goals.
Played in the 1st final against Mansfield. It would be more of a risk to play Pilling I would believe. Hasnt played for a while now has he or what?
I dont think to many leagues would have 2 blokes on 96 and looking like kicking a ton in gf. Could be very interesting day. Just hope it doesnt rain for the spectators point of view as its going to be a classic if the 2nd semi final is anything to go by.
I guess it may be hard to punt against the Magpies' 3-0 buffer thus far, but it counts for little this Sunday. Grainger is the key to Euroa kicking a winning score, and a lot rides on Bamford, whilst Seymour may have a few more avenues. Rattray was lively against Mansfield - and he was the Lions best at Euroa earlier this season with 12-13 marks. Saad is due for a big one, and Collins demands respect. Would be good to see both sides go in at full strenthg but it appears several Lions may run out of time. Sage and co. will have to be matched, but both Hooper and Douglas are on fire across half back to repell all day if need be.
Get on the Lions in a classic!!!
ECHUCABOY
21 Sep 2005, 13:56
fair to say that there is more pressure on the maggies then...........
bradrowe#32
21 Sep 2005, 14:39
Played in the 1st final against Mansfield. It would be more of a risk to play Pilling I would believe. Hasnt played for a while now has he or what?
I dont think to many leagues would have 2 blokes on 96 and looking like kicking a ton in gf. Could be very interesting day. Just hope it doesnt rain for the spectators point of view as its going to be a classic if the 2nd semi final is anything to go by.
Will you run out on the ground if they crack the ton?
I might if I've had enough beer by then. :D
Grandale
21 Sep 2005, 14:58
Just on the two guys kicking their 100th goals in the same game, it happened up on the Murray earlier this year.
Think it might have been the Central Murray League. Ricky Pumpa was one of the fellas that did it.
Wasn't a grand final, but.
bradrowe#32
21 Sep 2005, 15:05
Just on the two guys kicking their 100th goals in the same game, it happened up on the Murray earlier this year.
Think it might have been the Central Murray League. Ricky Pumpa was one of the fellas that did it.
Wasn't a grand final, but.
Did Pumpa play for Broadford in the Heathcote league a few years back?
He was a great player.
Inness#15
21 Sep 2005, 15:30
He played for Mount Pleasant in the HDFL and kicked a heap of goals for them. Good hands and didn't miss.
fat back pocket
21 Sep 2005, 16:25
fair to say that there is more pressure on the maggies then...........
Its been said already, euroa deserve to be favourites, clear cut favourites. Lions have nothing to lose, they haven't beaten euroa all season and with the injuries they have had throughout the season, probably deserve to be there, but Euroa after their season probably deserve to win and thus must be heavy favourites.
Lions will have to be at their best, whilst Euroa will have to be a bit down. Saying that, Saad hasn't fired a shot against Euroa this year, his 4 goals in the semi was very similar to Grainger, more due to good work up the field, and a bit of luck than good leading and a dominant display up forward.
Collins is the same, whilst Bamford was very quiet in the semi, but does he have the nerve on the big stage as a small forward? He could fire, if he gets the crowd on his side, he could sneak 4 or 5 home within a blink of an eye.
Should be interesting.
Lions by 1.
fat back pocket
21 Sep 2005, 16:27
He played for Mount Pleasant in the HDFL and kicked a heap of goals for them. Good hands and didn't miss.
Ok, who is this clown suposed to be Robert Inness from Seymour. I know him and he wouldn't put his own name down. Likes to go under the radar, especially with the girls!!
Going to be an interesting game this Sunday
Will Amad play, if he does he will go out swinging, he has already signed with nortcote park cougars as coach next year. not sure if its playing or non playing coach
Pressure is on both clubs with Euroa only with one lost is hoping to get the priemership.
Rowey or JMain or Travvy, when was the last time a team went the year undefeated or with one loss
While plenty of pressure at seymour as they need to win this year as its their last chance, with most players fleeing as they have no money left.
If im not to hung over from the previous days excitment I may came up with some mates, that reminds me if i do, I better call off work on monday
Grandale
21 Sep 2005, 18:57
Its been said already, euroa deserve to be favourites, clear cut favourites. Lions have nothing to lose, they haven't beaten euroa all season and with the injuries they have had throughout the season, probably deserve to be there, but Euroa after their season probably deserve to win and thus must be heavy favourites.
Lions will have to be at their best, whilst Euroa will have to be a bit down. Saying that, Saad hasn't fired a shot against Euroa this year, his 4 goals in the semi was very similar to Grainger, more due to good work up the field, and a bit of luck than good leading and a dominant display up forward.
Collins is the same, whilst Bamford was very quiet in the semi, but does he have the nerve on the big stage as a small forward? He could fire, if he gets the crowd on his side, he could sneak 4 or 5 home within a blink of an eye.
Should be interesting.
Lions by 1.
Lions have nothing to lose, hey? It's a frickin' Grand Final! Both sides have exactly the same thing to lose...A PREMIERSHIP!!!
It's the most rediculous saying ever associated with finals football.
You going to the footy on sunday?
Nor!
No wont be there, maybe a little hard for me to get there. You going?
nah I think you may have got your wires crossed there wizzy. ryno isn't about to become a father nor is pumpa jess about to become an uncle. I don't think girf is still on with gemma is he rowey?? there will however be a little stevey rass running around in the not too distant future. carts will be an uncle he he.
Oh fair enough thanks for clearing that one up.
Reading the shepp news this morning online and it seems that the GVFL have opted to not to install the player points system next year as an alternative to the useless salary cap system that was in place.
I dare say this would signal a sigh of releif for some clubs.
They use the player points system in the Hume league, it was introduced a couple of years ago as the difference in the teams was huge. However once installed made no difference as there are heaps of ways around it and the not so successful clubs still found themselves at the bottom of the ladder.
The Broadford link I think refers to the Roos' last flag (1996) when Rik Pumpa was K.O'd by Gav Mutz. Rik was a freak, regularly kicked bags and I must admit he gave me bath and kicked 5 on me to half time one day, before jagging another 5 on Darren Cook.
Glad to see you could finally make it Rob, and I do believe Inness#15 is the big fella himself. Read back through the pages bert and see the hiding everyone has given ya!!
What are your thoughts on Sunday's game? You'd have to be an outside chance for Bamford still yeah?
Flat Track Bully
22 Sep 2005, 00:34
Lions have nothing to lose, hey? It's a frickin' Grand Final! Both sides have exactly the same thing to lose...A PREMIERSHIP!!!
It's the most rediculous saying ever associated with finals football.
How can you lose something you don't have?
Agree with you Grandale, both teams have the chance of winning a premiership and one is going to lose this opportunity. For someone to say they have nothing to lose is ridiculous and sounds as if they are happy to be runners up. I would imagine both sides at the start of the year would of been aiming to win the grand final as they were both classed as premiership contenders and had good sides available to them. I would be surprised to hear that they sat around at a team meeting thinking that a successful year involved coming runners up.
jmain14
22 Sep 2005, 10:25
No wont be there, maybe a little hard for me to get there. You going?
pretty soft by you wizz. would of thought you'd have saved your return ticket for this w'end.
next year I plan to use my return ticket in the last w'end in september to hopefully see the geelong/rochy p'ship double.
jmain14
22 Sep 2005, 10:26
Agree with you Grandale, both teams have the chance of winning a premiership and one is going to lose this opportunity. For someone to say they have nothing to lose is ridiculous and sounds as if they are happy to be runners up. I would imagine both sides at the start of the year would of been aiming to win the grand final as they were both classed as premiership contenders and had good sides available to them. I would be surprised to hear that they sat around at a team meeting thinking that a successful year involved coming runners up.
yeah well said by both grandale and wizz.
fat back pocket
22 Sep 2005, 10:30
In that case, both teams have nothing to lose.
The expectation is Euroa will win, and deserve to considering their stella season.
I think a lot people just want another cracking game like the 2nd Semi, if it is like that, i think the crowd will walk away happy. (except most of the losing teams supporters, but there has to be a loser).
Flat Track Bully
22 Sep 2005, 12:10
The above mentioned comment is hereby withdrawn...
Stand your ground FTB don't be weak as ****
Flat Track Bully
22 Sep 2005, 12:16
Stand your ground FTB don't be weak as ****
Healy off, Ellingworth on...weak as pi$$...run that by Dessy
bradrowe#32
22 Sep 2005, 14:40
Going to be an interesting game this Sunday
Will Amad play, if he does he will go out swinging, he has already signed with nortcote park cougars as coach next year. not sure if its playing or non playing coach
Pressure is on both clubs with Euroa only with one lost is hoping to get the priemership.
Rowey or JMain or Travvy, when was the last time a team went the year undefeated or with one loss
While plenty of pressure at seymour as they need to win this year as its their last chance, with most players fleeing as they have no money left.
If im not to hung over from the previous days excitment I may came up with some mates, that reminds me if i do, I better call off work on monday
I can't recall a side only losing once during a H&A season. I think Benalla lost 2 games in 2002, but I don't think it's happened in quite a while.
Well good work Euroa
Though they need to win this one to make it a successful year.
I reckon its going to come down to 4 quarters and could be anyones game.
If seymour win, will Saad go back and celebrate with the players, or will he just go home to Melb and count all the cash he has earnt during the year.
Euroa boys can you tell me if M.Maher is playing.
FOOTYBOSS
22 Sep 2005, 14:47
Will you run out on the ground if they crack the ton?
I might if I've had enough beer by then. :D
Might run out nude if I have ebough beer by then which is a fair chance..
fat back pocket
22 Sep 2005, 14:51
Where are you getting your info from Ya Man? Who ever it is, i don't think they know too much.
Don't you worry mate. Got a very realiable source
bradrowe#32
22 Sep 2005, 14:53
Might run out nude if I have ebough beer by then which is a fair chance..
I'll shout you a slab if you do.
Well good work Euroa
Though they need to win this one to make it a successful year.
I reckon its going to come down to 4 quarters and could be anyones game.
If seymour win, will Saad go back and celebrate with the players, or will he just go home to Melb and count all the cash he has earnt during the year.
Euroa boys can you tell me if M.Maher is playing.
Just asking about the maher thing cos I havent notice him in the shepp news lately. I remember him tackling a seymour lions player (in which i wont mention) in 3rds that nearly killed him. The player had a fit and had to go to hospital. He is not a well liked man in seymour. Most of the guys that played against him, are still after him.
FOOTYBOSS
22 Sep 2005, 15:34
Just asking about the maher thing cos I havent notice him in the shepp news lately. I remember him tackling a seymour lions player (in which i wont mention) in 3rds that nearly killed him. The player had a fit and had to go to hospital. He is not a well liked man in seymour. Most of the guys that played against him, are still after him.
Well if the guys cant handle a simple tackle he should go and play chess or something like that. Tackling is a part of football champ. I think the seymour boys should just concentrate on the game and not worry about whos playing.
Well he better watch his back then.
FOOTYBOSS
22 Sep 2005, 15:49
Well he better watch his back then.
well if someone hits from behind its a cowards act and its going back to 3rds football mate, get over it. Grow up you penis breath.............
FOOTYBOSS
22 Sep 2005, 15:58
I'll shout you a slab if you do.
Depending on where Im standing I will start from goal square and run to the other. Have the slab waiting.. Only if its not raining..
fat back pocket
22 Sep 2005, 16:22
Don't you worry mate. Got a very realiable source
Ok then.
fat back pocket
22 Sep 2005, 16:26
Not sure if YaMan is a seymour lad there Boss. When did this Seymour kid have a fit? Wasn't this year! Not sure if too many blokes in the current seymour side would recall the incident, or have it on their minds at the minute.
fat back pocket
22 Sep 2005, 16:33
Once again YaMan, inaccurate.
I know exactly who is coaching Northcote Park in 06, straight out of the horses mouth. And it aint Amad.
FOOTYBOSS
22 Sep 2005, 16:38
Not sure if YaMan is a seymour lad there Boss. When did this Seymour kid have a fit? Wasn't this year! Not sure if too many blokes in the current seymour side would recall the incident, or have it on their minds at the minute.
Im not sure either FBP.. I think YaMan smokes to much drugs the jamacian poof
FOOTYBOSS
22 Sep 2005, 16:40
Once again YaMan, inaccurate.
I know exactly who is coaching Northcote Park in 06, straight out of the horses mouth. And it aint Amad.
Gives us a name then FBP if it aint Amad
fat back pocket
22 Sep 2005, 16:46
Gives us a name then FBP if it aint Amad
Mate its not my place to give out the info. The club and president should do that. Not sure if its public knoweledge or not just yet, so i'd rather not say. But i can assure you from the best source, Amad is not coach.
ECHUCABOY
22 Sep 2005, 17:17
Fat back pocket is coaching!
What bout Yze can he coach? or just kick goals
pretty soft by you wizz. would of thought you'd have saved your return ticket for this w'end.
next year I plan to use my return ticket in the last w'end in september to hopefully see the geelong/rochy p'ship double.
Yeah mate only coming over for 9 months, oh well fair enough ill be sick of you by then anyway, ha ha ha. Get a birth as a groomsman at your sisters wedding did ya?
Fat back pocket is coaching! What bout Yze can he coach? or just kick goals
Word has it Yze will only kick goals when the $$$ are right and the club is a chance of success - otherwise he aint interested.